United Artists | Release Date: April 1, 1957
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 609 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
557
Mixed:
10
Negative:
42
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MattBrady99Dec 19, 2017
The power of movie dialogue really makes this movie a true classic.

The story to 12 Angry Men is one man on a jury stands alone in a case in which most are initially convinced one way but one by one may be convinced another way. 12 men in
The power of movie dialogue really makes this movie a true classic.

The story to 12 Angry Men is one man on a jury stands alone in a case in which most are initially convinced one way but one by one may be convinced another way.

12 men in one room just talking about one murder case and them sharing they opinions if the person that may have committed murder is guilty or not, now many things here could have went wrong, you got to have the best writer, the best director and the best actors to make this movie work and it payed off so well and I think this is cinema's greatest risk of doing something new with the story, giving it a twist and a edge and 12 Angry Men paid off brilliantly.

The acting from every singe actor in this movie all do realistic, believable, funny and serious performance's and they all add a lot of weight and drama to their character's. I wish I can bring up every single actors name in this cast but I'm not since these 12 of them and it's going to take up the all page and I can't talk about every singe actor and go into detail about them one at a time, but I can say that everyone in the movie did a flawless work of acting that's pure Oscar worthy and the kind of drama acting they should show kids in drama school. Nicely done fellas.

Sidney Lumet directed this movie and this has to be some of the best directing I've seen from this guy. He really added a lot to this movie when it came to story and characters and the back and forward they have with each other and it worked by his direction.

The characters in the movie (The Twelve Angry Men) don't really like each that much as in every scene they at each other's throat trying to confidence the other men in the room that the man is guilty for murder while that person and the other's bring up some really solid points that this man is guilty or not guilty for murder. As a viewer myself I got really interested in the case and trying to think if he's guilty or not, so this movie does a fantastic job of giving the viewer a opinion on the case and see if you think he did it or not.

For problems with the movie: I don't have any.

Overall 12 Angry Men is such a classic movie with excellent performances from everyone, the writing outstanding and the directing was some of the best. You haven't seen 12 Angry Men then I say go see it, it's worth your time.
Expand
21 of 24 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews
10
DexEngineerMar 15, 2021
Phenomenal movie. The story, the development, the emotions. Camera angles are brilliant. I watched this movie several times. If you want to watch a great movie, watch this one. It's not in color and it does not matter.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
tjhannnnOct 29, 2018
Despite the fact that ‘12 Angry Men’ was produced near 60 years ago, the messages it conveys is very much relevant to today’s world and society. It gives a lot of food for thought regarding issues of prejudice and is a prime example as to howDespite the fact that ‘12 Angry Men’ was produced near 60 years ago, the messages it conveys is very much relevant to today’s world and society. It gives a lot of food for thought regarding issues of prejudice and is a prime example as to how a negotiation should and should not be done. My main take away from this film would be the importance of keeping an open mind when approaching people and issues. We need to be constantly be aware of our own personal bias and think critically, never taking things at face value. Through this process, we can then be more enlightened and make wiser decisions and opinions. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
9
ChrisPaniaguaJun 15, 2021
A movie with a great message. A film that every movie lover is obliged to see.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
juancorderoDec 14, 2018
This film is, without any doubt, a masterpiece and one of the best films of all time. It is undoubtedly a must-see movie.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
KekoaminerJul 18, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 12 Angry men is one of the best works of American cinema. With its story that represents an accurate picture of what being on a jury can be like. It engages audiences with its murder mystery plot making every line of dialogue of somewhat importance to unraveling the truth about the mystery. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
8
MacsMusicDec 29, 2017
Can a movie about 12 angry men in 1 room for more than an hour be any good? Yes. Yes it can. "12 Angry Men" is a really cool movie that has lots of moments that made me say "Ahhhaaa!". The characters are really interesting and entertainingCan a movie about 12 angry men in 1 room for more than an hour be any good? Yes. Yes it can. "12 Angry Men" is a really cool movie that has lots of moments that made me say "Ahhhaaa!". The characters are really interesting and entertaining throughout, and some are really likable/hate-able, in a good way. I was interested for the whole movie, that alone makes it worthy of a few points. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
Moad1990Aug 9, 2021
Fantastic Movie .
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ErzenicoAug 18, 2021
This classic court movie gave me enormous suspence and thrill. What a masterpiece!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
thelolOct 3, 2017
Intense courtroom drama which has 12 very different people, all males, struggling with a murder case involving a young Puerto Rican boy that seems cut-and-dried. However, juror Henry Fonda does not believe it to be as sure-fire as it appears.Intense courtroom drama which has 12 very different people, all males, struggling with a murder case involving a young Puerto Rican boy that seems cut-and-dried. However, juror Henry Fonda does not believe it to be as sure-fire as it appears. He votes not guilty and what follows is a chain of events that will test the views, beliefs and thoughts of the other 11 members. Fonda is great, but Lee J. Cobb steals every scene (and that is not easy to do in a film like this). Ed Begley, Martin Balsam, Jack Warden, Jack Klugman, Joseph Sweeney, E.G. Marshall and John Fiedler are among the other individuals caught in a situation that is much more difficult than it appears on the surface. An excellent character-study that should be studied and embraced by all present and future film-makers. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
julianmiltonJul 31, 2019
I am a small business owner with more than 60 employees and this movie is part of our company orientation meaning that each new hire is required to watch this movie and discuss with this colleagues. It defines our company DNA: never acceptI am a small business owner with more than 60 employees and this movie is part of our company orientation meaning that each new hire is required to watch this movie and discuss with this colleagues. It defines our company DNA: never accept the majority opinion without your own input, always defend your point and never give in. Truly a masterpiece. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
MuraliJul 18, 2020
One if the greatest movie ever made, Sidney Lumet’s debut holds good even today, This Movie is a Perfect example of how to use limited resources - Space and use camera, lighting, framing and editing.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
eagleeyevikingJan 1, 2020
Sidney Lumet's use of styled realism, the tension that builds up from different personalities, and cracking dialogue make "12 Angry Men" a perfect masterpiece that is contemporary in any age.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
NoahboyOct 8, 2018
The story is flawless in every way possible. The acting is pretty good. The editing is pretty good. The character-development is spectacular. Nothing bad to say about it. It's the only non-documentary movie I would give a 10/10.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
MartyMcFlyOct 2, 2018
My score 100
Metascore / User score 96 / 94
Tomatometer / Audience score 100 / 97
IMDB 89
(96)
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
eva3si0nDec 19, 2020
12 Angry Men is perhaps the best chamber film I've watched. A real diamond of American cinema. Now they are no longer filming, and they are unlikely to be able to. 1 room and 12 people who are just talking. What can be called more boring in12 Angry Men is perhaps the best chamber film I've watched. A real diamond of American cinema. Now they are no longer filming, and they are unlikely to be able to. 1 room and 12 people who are just talking. What can be called more boring in the cinema than conversation? And in its simplicity, linearity and realism, there is a feeling that this is not even a film, but just a video shooting of what is happening. Magnificent cinema, the brightest example of art. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
gracjanskiApr 12, 2020
Classic movie with a very intelligent plot about the US court system and great dialogues. Everyone who loves movie should see this film.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
AndremaxFeb 4, 2019
Example that less is more, 12 Angry Men is ridden by only a scenario, 12 characters and a killing script, giving a show of dynamism in few resources.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
SilentTacticianFeb 21, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 12 men seated in a room discussing whether or not a man should be judged for is crimes. A movie that completely revolves around the characters and ideas rather than anything else. I adored this movie simply because it is a movie that appears to be so simplistic and yet is able to convey a deeper message than any other. The elaborate discussion of right vs wrong, justice vs. injustice, and the ability of humanity to deliver doubt. A personal favorite simply because it was able to keep me entertained while doing so little. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
BeatrixKiddoNov 9, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best movie ever ever ever ever ever made!!!! Period!!!!
If you don't like this film, not only you have no taste at all, but you have no idea about cinema. A masterpiece!!
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
YT96Nov 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 12 Angry Men illustrates the difficult process of arriving at a common consensus when 12 jurors were tasked to evaluate the innocence of an 18-year-old boy accused of first-degree murder. This movie, though stylistically simple due to the lack of scene changes, manages to provide an engaging watch by interweaving the intricacies involved in negotiations. Several techniques were reflected in the film, namely separating people from the problem, distinguishing positions and interests, and the importance of using objective criteria to invent and evaluate options. Definitely worth a watch. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
meopJun 27, 2020
Best movie of it's kind ever. The actors? Amazing. The story? Amazing. Watch it, now.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
AaronK33May 26, 2019
12 angry men did a great job representing the different characteristics and personalities that were involved in that room. It showed how hostile a jury can be even when evidence may seem so true, every angle must be examined. I loved how some12 angry men did a great job representing the different characteristics and personalities that were involved in that room. It showed how hostile a jury can be even when evidence may seem so true, every angle must be examined. I loved how some of the jury members would actually get so angry to the point that they would end up committing a murder! Throughout the entire movie you were just on your seat for what shocking new evidence or a point of view would change the minds of each jury member. It was funny to think it was 11 against 1 and that 1 man voiced his opinion so well that the rest of the group was able to change their stubborn results. If you have an opinion speak it! It could potentially save a life! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobMar 18, 2019
12 men in one room deciding the fate of another. What should be a boring movie is really a brilliant one. With an excellent script, The cast does a fantastic job selling their characters and the turmoil each one goes through as they12 men in one room deciding the fate of another. What should be a boring movie is really a brilliant one. With an excellent script, The cast does a fantastic job selling their characters and the turmoil each one goes through as they ultimately find their way to the truth. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Kai82Jan 22, 2020
This is the master class of film making, acting and directing. On the surface it is about 12 jurors that are counseling about a verdict in a murder case. On the inside it is as much about the jurors themselves, justice, life philosophies,This is the master class of film making, acting and directing. On the surface it is about 12 jurors that are counseling about a verdict in a murder case. On the inside it is as much about the jurors themselves, justice, life philosophies, psychology, group dynamics and responsibility. The whole movie takes place in just one room. There are no distractions and each misstep would hurt this movie badly. This is the ultimate strength of this movie. There are no mistakes, out of character moments, bad dialogues, wasted scenes or other errors. The cast and the acting is so close to perfection as possible. Each juror delivers his role in such a genuine way that I cant find a single flaw in this movie. If I praise the actors I must also praise the director Sidney Lumet. He should definitely have gotten more Oscars in his career (He made many great movies). I want also to mentioned that I first watched this movie when I was 12 or 13 years old just by zapping trough the channels. This was something that shouldn't work at this age. I stopped zapping and started to watch this movie with fascination. As I got older it got even better as I did understand many things more with my additional life experience. Overall this is a timeless classic that is deservedly highly praised and should be watched by everyone at least once. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
eli_fjrNov 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Intense but I think I liked it. At this point just watch it so you don't feel left out.... Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
TheSweBooDec 8, 2018
"IT'S JUST 12 MEN IN A ROOM FOR AN HOUR AND A HALF! BORING! 0/10!" This is why people love this movie haha. It is 12 different men with different outlooks on life being isolated in a confined space having to use the English language as a mean"IT'S JUST 12 MEN IN A ROOM FOR AN HOUR AND A HALF! BORING! 0/10!" This is why people love this movie haha. It is 12 different men with different outlooks on life being isolated in a confined space having to use the English language as a mean to compromise and persuade one another during a murder investigation for 90 minutes. Yes. Yet it's one of the most riveting movies I've ever seen, few movies have had me this invested. Seeing our main character, played brilliantly by Henry Fonda, at the start of the movie being completely alone voting against the execution one by one convincing the 11 other men to vote the same as him is an experience I think everyone should experience. During the final act I lost count of how many times I said "This **** guy" out loud. A very solid movie choice for a first black and white experience. Brilliant, just brilliant. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
wevertonaguiiarDec 13, 2019
Uma obra magnifica, com um dos roteiros mais poderosos da história do cinema. Este tipo de obra nos mostra que não é necessário nada em abundância para que se possa produzir um bom filme. É necessário apenas muito.. muito talento.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
devildarkheadFeb 21, 2018
This is a timeless classic. Stunning performace by the cast. For a low budget movie this is a suprising piece of entertainment.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
bertboy93Jun 28, 2020
The movie was a bit predictable, but the execution was so Damn good! Especially The ending! 9,5/10
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Cristofer21Aug 1, 2018
A very good movie with very few resources, the best directors are those who do more with less and that's why Sidney Lumet was a genius of cinema.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
jocelynxplOct 19, 2018
‘12 Angry Men’ does not use names and could be set anywhere. Each character represents the different characters in society and its deeply-rooted flaws. Hence, it paints a bigger picture of constitutional inequality and susceptibility to‘12 Angry Men’ does not use names and could be set anywhere. Each character represents the different characters in society and its deeply-rooted flaws. Hence, it paints a bigger picture of constitutional inequality and susceptibility to manipulation within the American judicial system that all countries can relate to, including Singapore. Hence, this movie serves as a poignant warning that everyone has a social responsibility to respect the judicial system as a platform to protect individual rights, regardless of background. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
DiptanshuOct 17, 2019
A Pure masterclass Piece of cinema!
Not even a single sec i felt it was shot in the single room with just arguments It's really gripping.Every single sec makes us feel We are going in a way Making the judgement of not guilty! Ending explains
A Pure masterclass Piece of cinema!
Not even a single sec i felt it was shot in the single room with just arguments It's really gripping.Every single sec makes us feel We are going in a way Making the judgement of not guilty! Ending explains the all when two different perspectives people are eager to make there point!It's really a Classic!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ManihOct 23, 2019
96 minutes, 12 men, in a room. But nobody said that it is boring film. Sidney Lumet is genius artist. I fund it when I saw Find me Guilty and I believe it surly when I saw 12 Angry men.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
NgRayApr 11, 2020
Exceptional utilization of symbolism, intentional framing, and cinematography to highlight the subtle but significant reaction of each juror's exchange. For a show that was created a long time ago, it is still able to teach valuable andExceptional utilization of symbolism, intentional framing, and cinematography to highlight the subtle but significant reaction of each juror's exchange. For a show that was created a long time ago, it is still able to teach valuable and relevant lessons to its viewers. ‘Prejudice always obscures the truth’. To uncover more than what meets the eye, the movie brought us on a journey from the start point of a seemingly undeniable crime, to the end point of feelings being opposite from the surface decision. What seemed to be an undeniable murder on the surface convinced 11 out of the 12 jurors to vote ‘guilty’, with juror 8’s vote of ‘not guilty’ causing an uproar that started the process of negotiation in an attempt to understand as much as possible before making a decision. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
ThejodjeremieOct 22, 2020
The movie is great because it's just 12 guys arguing about whether someone is guilty or not and it's very interesting.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
RadminMay 15, 2020
عالی پیشنهاد میکنم حتما ببینید شاهکار اور هنری
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
AndrewHordMay 29, 2020
Utterly spectacular film.It is about responsibility to all of us.Film tells us how it is bad to be apolitical .
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ShonnakanAug 3, 2020
12 angry men is basically a courtroom drama with diverse characters, brilliant screenplay, and a tight script-making it a flawless thrillride.The movie is about 12 people trying to decide whether a boy is guilty or not. It ultimately teaches12 angry men is basically a courtroom drama with diverse characters, brilliant screenplay, and a tight script-making it a flawless thrillride.The movie is about 12 people trying to decide whether a boy is guilty or not. It ultimately teaches us about the value of human life.It is perfect movie for me - a movie without any flows . Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
maniknathJul 28, 2020
it seems cool,very informative and protesting drama.i have ever seen like that before
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
AcidCasualSep 27, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I gave it a watch and oh boy. This movie is captivating from start to finish and in my opinion is perfectly cast.

The movie is set in one room for the whole duration, but because of the depth of dialogue and the constant need for the characters to convince each other - your imagination runs wild. You create the scenes and are brought along for the ride without seeing anything. It's like they found a perfect way of making a film, play out like a book.

There's one scene, towards the end where one character, whose been stubborn all the way through is starting to be really bigoted and crass. Each character slowly stands up and faces away from him, whilst he's ranting on...he's eventually left on his own, symbolising the whole groups shift in emotion. powerful.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
eusoulegal911Apr 18, 2021
Um dos meus filmes favoritos de todos os tempos! Uma obra simples, que consegue contar uma história muito fascinante e bem escrita, além de contar com excelentes atuações e uma incrível direção. Um filme completamente atemporal.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AJ_13Jan 23, 2021
It's impossible to make a more entertaining movie with 12 men shouting to each other in a room for 97 minutes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Olihowzer7Feb 27, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best directorial debut in history! Sidney Lumet has certainly directed one of the greatest films in cinema history with the script and screenplay made to perfection by Reginald Rose. A stellar and perfectly picked cast with Henry Fonda leading the line. A film very unlucky not to win best any Oscars but another great film in Bridge on the River Kwai just piping it however, I do think that 12 angry men should have won best writing over Bridge on the River Kwai however it still a complete classic which deserves all the praise in the world. What makes this film so good is that it is so compelling and edge of the seat action of a different sense to an action film. A film that continuously makes you think. A real classic and an extremely breathtaking film Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
gabacJul 22, 2021
bom demais, faz pensar sobre a ingenuidade do julgamento humano, pifio e falho
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
jamesfhallJan 20, 2022
In what is arguably one of the greatest films ever made, Henry Fonda gives what is possibly the finest performance of his career.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
royalguy07Apr 15, 2022
12 Distinctive Characters all played perfectly, predictable plotting but effective directing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisMar 28, 2022
There are a few wonderful courtroom dramas out there, Anatomy of a Murder, To Kill a Mockingbird and Witness for the Prosecution immediately springing to mind. 12 Angry Men is so brilliant, it could very well be the definitive courtroom dramaThere are a few wonderful courtroom dramas out there, Anatomy of a Murder, To Kill a Mockingbird and Witness for the Prosecution immediately springing to mind. 12 Angry Men is so brilliant, it could very well be the definitive courtroom drama on film. Sidney Lumet's direction is masterly, and although the action takes place on one set(an actual New York drawing room) there are a huge variety of innovative camera angles and visual set-ups. The screenplay is sophisticated and smart, and the story is compelling and intelligent. The film is also brilliantly made, and the acting is superb. Henry Fonda especially dominates the film, with an integrity that makes his character so wonderful, but the other actors are wonderful as well, Ed Begley, Jack Warden, John Fiedler, Lee J Cobb, Rudy Bond et al. are all impeccable support to Fonda. Overall, brilliant courtroom drama. 10/10 Bethany Cox Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BroyaxApr 20, 2022
Pour un film de Sidney Lumet, c’est étonnamment regardable. Il faut dire que le réalisateur de somnifères s’est limité à une heure et demi, ce qui est déjà conséquent pour un tel huis-clos procédurier. Ici, on ne suit pas le procès mais onPour un film de Sidney Lumet, c’est étonnamment regardable. Il faut dire que le réalisateur de somnifères s’est limité à une heure et demi, ce qui est déjà conséquent pour un tel huis-clos procédurier. Ici, on ne suit pas le procès mais on refait le procès en coulisses et on s’engueule… et surtout on assiste à un numéro de manipulation magistral !

Pensez donc, un homme seul retourne les 11 autres comme des crèpes ! au nom bien sûr de la lutte (finale) contre l’affreuse peine capitale et parce que cet homme seul est un bisounours à faire mourir de honte Jésus et potentiellement un communiste refoulé : on ne voit pas d’autre explication.

Car les faits sont tout de même patents et ressassés, puis balayés au fur et à mesure par des interprétations sujettes à caution et particulièrement discutables. Il aurait fallu une affaire bien plus ambigüe pour rétablir la balance et partant, le doute.

Ici, on a l’impression fort désagréable de s’être fait manipuler pendant une heure et demi : tout était écrit d’avance et les faits s’y sont pliés bien gentiment, ne nous laissant qu’une illusion de rebondissements qui n’en sont pas. Non, on avale pas de telles couleuvres : récusez ce film en définitive bien merdique qui se fout de notre gueule !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
All_ButTrU4Jun 29, 2022
For sometime I've known about this movie but had been unable to motivate myself to see it,this wasn't because of it's age but I felt it could really be figured out without needing to see it: the one juror would eventually convince everyoneFor sometime I've known about this movie but had been unable to motivate myself to see it,this wasn't because of it's age but I felt it could really be figured out without needing to see it: the one juror would eventually convince everyone and the young Puerto Rican boy would be saved. And sure as I presumed it would happen like that but this isn't a mystery. This is not a who dun it,instead it's a philosophical quandary on the the ethics of truth. It's objective is to show just how easily one's idea of the truth can change and what that can be done by which is especially relevant to the time period of the 50's. It effectively through exaggerated characters confronts classism, racism, macarthisim and generational divides without making it's intent glaringly obvious . Overall this classic is a gripping answer as to the power and fallacy of the legal system from the court appointed defense attorney with little care for the case to the nonchalance of life ending decisions by those who won't be affected asking us to extend the empathy we'd want to other's Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TouhidurApr 11, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best movie of the last century for me. The concept is just awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Onlyclassicvg1Sep 17, 2022
This film noir portrait of corruption and morally-compromised obsessions stars Welles as Hank Quinlan, a crooked police chief who frames a Mexican youth as part of an intricate criminal plot. Charlton Heston plays an honorable MexicanThis film noir portrait of corruption and morally-compromised obsessions stars Welles as Hank Quinlan, a crooked police chief who frames a Mexican youth as part of an intricate criminal plot. Charlton Heston plays an honorable Mexican narcotics investigator who clashes with the bigoted Quinlan after probing into his dark past. A memorable Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JoshummsApr 3, 2022
Excellent classic movie, I absolutely love how each character is unique and the journey that it goes through just sifting through each piece of evidence and finding reasonable doubt, it’s exhilarating and just a master class in how to makeExcellent classic movie, I absolutely love how each character is unique and the journey that it goes through just sifting through each piece of evidence and finding reasonable doubt, it’s exhilarating and just a master class in how to make unique characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pan_KrytykMay 15, 2022
Genialny, kapitalny, rewelacyjny. Po prostu trzeba go zobaczyć. Film bez efektów specjalnych, muzyki, nadprzyrodzonego budżetu... Film not dead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CassandratDec 14, 2021
12 Angry Men is an interesting and complete movie. This film is not the type of films that I watch in general... But I liked it because it's diversified and represents a lot of different subjects. The good actors that they are, like Henry12 Angry Men is an interesting and complete movie. This film is not the type of films that I watch in general... But I liked it because it's diversified and represents a lot of different subjects. The good actors that they are, like Henry Fonda, play very well their role. The film shows us that it can be complicated to take an important decision, when we are not the only concerned person. Indeed, throughout the film, with the different points of view of the 12 jurors, we ask us what will be the verdict of the accused, that creates an interesting plot for the spectators ! Also, there are a lot of biblical comparaisons that show us the believer aspect of the american society at this time. So, this film is interesting, because it stages different themes and aspects of the american society in the late fifties, and especially the fact to know to live in society and take decisions together. But it has also a critical vision about ideas of this time, which are very well staged ! I think that this movie can please those like plot and the art of debate ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
keliumDec 15, 2021
12 angry men is a very moving movie that everyone must see at least one time in their life. I think it’s one of the most powerful and inspiring movie that i saw. In this movie we learn a lot about how men can be in the society. There are many12 angry men is a very moving movie that everyone must see at least one time in their life. I think it’s one of the most powerful and inspiring movie that i saw. In this movie we learn a lot about how men can be in the society. There are many types of men, great or mean, with values and different ways to see the world. But mostly, we can see the moral and the empathy in each men. It’ an important message that people should be aware of. Between the intense deliberation and the suspense we are involved very quickly in the story. Even if we don’t have the certainty that the boy is guilty we want to believe that he is not and that juror 8 will convince all the other jurors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
elorrieDec 13, 2021
Such a really good film! I think this is a film that represents really good the racism during the 50’s, and it can make us realize that the society where we live is not that different. I love all the actors. Each represents a differentSuch a really good film! I think this is a film that represents really good the racism during the 50’s, and it can make us realize that the society where we live is not that different. I love all the actors. Each represents a different personality, which allows everyone to recognize themselves in at least on of these characters. My favorite is the juror number 8, He shows an example that everybody should listen: not to do as others do, but focused on yourself and make the choice that you want without listening other persons’s opinion. I really liked too, the fact that we can see the motivations which make the jurors change their votes. It shows us the thought that people had in this period, and makes us compare with the society where we live now, and see the different that there is, and sometimes they’re exactly the same, which proves that even in more that 60 years nothing change about people’s though. I recommend to 100%

Elorri E
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sarahhhhhhhhhhhDec 7, 2021
Firstly,we can all admit that 12 angry men is a masterpiece that has no day and age. That's the beauty with this film, it tackles issues that were and still are apart of our society. When watching it, you immidiately make connections withFirstly,we can all admit that 12 angry men is a masterpiece that has no day and age. That's the beauty with this film, it tackles issues that were and still are apart of our society. When watching it, you immidiately make connections with actuality, which can be a little shocking because observing that racism and discrimination still are things in which people believe may be a little depressing.But it also, on a more positive note, shows that there are solutions. Create communication and safe dialogue is one of them.People may not be obliged to be stuck with their values, they can share opinions and become more aware of what's surrounding them. Henry Fonda incarns with perfection this hope, his character tries to open dialogue and it actually works.This film shows the importance of being open minded and respectful of others, because as we can see in the film social interactions, especially when you are in a disagreement can easily become violent. I hundred percent recommend you this film that will make you question every little aspect of society and more precisely justice.
Sarah.H
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LilaasDec 8, 2021
12 Angry Men is an amazing movie committed against racism and death penalty. It shows us the important art of debating. The scenario is about a young boy who is accused to have killed his father, and 12 jurors who are supposed to decide if12 Angry Men is an amazing movie committed against racism and death penalty. It shows us the important art of debating. The scenario is about a young boy who is accused to have killed his father, and 12 jurors who are supposed to decide if he is guilty or not. At first, only juror n°8 votes not guilty and then he succeeds thanks to the power of language to convince the others that they can’t send someone to the death. This film takes us in the United-States during the 1950’s with the Cold War context, and a lot of racism and xenophobia in the society. The different characters, played by famous and talented actors ( like Henry Fonda), show the variety of citizens at this time. We can also find a lot of interesting religious references. So, at first, I had mixed feelings about this old movie, but then, when I saw it, I found it really moving and important because it struggled against death penalty and it shows the power of words. 12 Angry Men is a masterpiece and Sydney Lumet is a genius! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
maya_d64Dec 12, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm 17 and I was impressed by this movie. I really like watching movies in general because I don't have a favorite genre and I'm always open to discovering new things. However, I usually don't watch a lot of movies from the 1950s like this one and I was surprised to see that the topics discussed in 12 angry men are still very relevant today. The movie approaches serious and interesting issues in society such as racism, discimination, different social classes and death penalty with intelligence and humour. As a viewer of the movie, I felt involved in the debate, which allowed me to think like I was one of the juror. I never got bored of the whole movie even though it takes place in the same room so it's actually pretty impressive that it remains entertaining, and especially nowadays. Every little details of 12 angry men are well thought. I love how the juror 8 (Henry Fonda) managed to change the general opinion of 11 men, who all have different lives and personalities. My only advice would be for you to watch it, since it's also a classic of American cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
manonetcheDec 13, 2021
At the beginning, when our teacher told us that we will watch the movie 12 angry men, I was a bit skeptical because the film is very old and in black and white. However, after watching it, I changed my mind. The scenario is amazing. All theAt the beginning, when our teacher told us that we will watch the movie 12 angry men, I was a bit skeptical because the film is very old and in black and white. However, after watching it, I changed my mind. The scenario is amazing. All the actors are unbelievable especially Henry Fonda who plays juror n8. Also, every single characters bring something special to the movie, which is very great ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EloraaaaPDec 13, 2021
I think it’s a interesting movie. We can see 12 different personalities and throughout zoo movie they will surprise us. To meditate on racism and prejudices too often highlighted in identical situations. The film involves us through thisI think it’s a interesting movie. We can see 12 different personalities and throughout zoo movie they will surprise us. To meditate on racism and prejudices too often highlighted in identical situations. The film involves us through this story by asking us the same question as this jury “is he really guilty?” the 12 men have the life of the child in their hands and it’s emotion that prevail over reason. In my opinion it is more difficult to persuade than impose. This movie is full of humanity and I recommended it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LaurineEDec 13, 2021
The Sydney Lumet's 12 Angry Men film is a piece based on a debate between members of a jury made of 12 different social classes men. As a girl, I consider that it would be better to have some women in the jury because it's a little boring toThe Sydney Lumet's 12 Angry Men film is a piece based on a debate between members of a jury made of 12 different social classes men. As a girl, I consider that it would be better to have some women in the jury because it's a little boring to see just men, angry men who are shouting everytime. But I have a mixed opinion because even if there are some details that I dislike, and even if there are many tensions between the characters, we can understand their point of view about the accused of the murder all along the film, and by the way we can understand their background and their personnality. As a teenager, I liked this film because all the characters have different opinions, way of speaking and maybe I found inspiration on a few of them because they convinced me. So maybe it will help me to lead a debate in the future, and more usually to be sure of myself when I'll have to find a job, to convince people for something, because I would have learned some process, tips to speak easily. At the contrary this film help me to realize what I shouldn't do to speak, because some characters are shy, not confident and easily influenced. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
swannngDec 21, 2021
12 angry men is one of the most entertaining and interesting court room drama films that I’ve seen. Indeed, even if it was released more than sixty years ago it sounds very current and contemporary. Themes of racism, acceptance of the others12 angry men is one of the most entertaining and interesting court room drama films that I’ve seen. Indeed, even if it was released more than sixty years ago it sounds very current and contemporary. Themes of racism, acceptance of the others and their differences, death penalty, to quote only these ones, are approached by the director, Sydney Lumet, in a very pertinent way : every juror represents one or more aspects of the society or human characteristics, faint or praiseworthy. For example, we can find in the character of the juror #6 a representation of quiet workers who think that they don’t deserve to express their opinions, we can see too in the juror #8 the illustration of the Platonic idea that the debates and considered discussions allow to find the truth or the best thing to do to find a solution to a problem. 12 angry men is very deep because of that, but also because of the many parallels made with the New Testament of the Bible (for example, the jurors are 12 like Jesus’ apostles) and well-made camera angles and movements, which reinforce the multiple feelings that the director conveys by way of his characters’ behavior and speeches. In short, I think it’s not too much to say that 12 angry men is a piece of art of chief importance ; it’s very successful, especially for a first movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EmmaMmJan 3, 2022
Sidney Lumet's remarkable debut film « 12 angry men »is an essential film in our society where everyone judges each one expeditiously, where the emotional prevails over reason. Despite its time, the cinematographic techniques which are notSidney Lumet's remarkable debut film « 12 angry men »is an essential film in our society where everyone judges each one expeditiously, where the emotional prevails over reason. Despite its time, the cinematographic techniques which are not the same nowadays, this film knows how to transmit the desired emotions. Throughout the film he manages to make us think and doubt in the company of the jurors without ever getting bored. Jurors with very different personalities and a very strong character that brings this room to life in which they find themselves but also intrigued the viewer. Throughout this film we have the impression that we are participating in the debate at the same time as them, we listen to their doubts, their arguments, we even manage to ask questions. In this film it is not a question of certainty but of constant doubt about this accused young boy. To meditate on racism and prejudices too often highlighted in similar situations. A remarkable 1.5 hour film where 12 men manage to keep us going until the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
smohsenjafariFeb 21, 2022
Best black & white movie in argumentation & law & logic. This movie has at least location for camerawork. I saw twice this movie but am going to 1 time more at least.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews