Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 43
  2. Negative: 3 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jul 31, 2013
    83
    2 Guns is a movie based on smart callbacks and sly flip-flops of loyalty, regularly interrupted by spasms of well-staged violence.
  2. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Aug 1, 2013
    79
    In a season stuffed with empty eye candy, 2 Guns comes along as something of a welcome burrito — plenty satisfying and hardly nutritious.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 1, 2013
    75
    The movie is loud, fun, quick moving, and features some nice acting turns.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Aug 1, 2013
    60
    Wahlberg and Washington are so good together, quips flying as fast as lead, that much is forgiven.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Aug 1, 2013
    50
    The movie has style but increasingly little sense.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jul 30, 2013
    50
    This is a here today, gone tomorrow trifle, albeit one with lots of gunplay. In midsummer, that may be enough, but it's still a shame that 2 Guns shoots so many blanks.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Aug 1, 2013
    25
    It's a complete mess, the spectacle of filmmakers blowing up their movie and everything in it, because they can't think of anything else to do.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 46
  2. Negative: 4 out of 46
  1. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Aight, so I saw this movie it had 1 gun in it. That movie was hella dope! but when I heard about 2 guns, man I was excited. I saw this movie opening night, couldnt believe what i was seeing!!! 2guns has everything! twice as many guns as the other movies, they getting cash and the explosions so realistic you can feel the burn.
    this movies 10/10 favorite movie.
    Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    Picture a comedic Alonzo from Training Day and a likable Mark Walhberg and you've got "2 Guns." if you like these actors, then you will like this movie. if you had an SNL skit with guys playing these two actors, then this is what you would get. These guys have great chemistry!

    of course the premise is silly and the events unrealistic, but that's not why you go to see this movie. You get to see two alpha males do badass stuff and make you laugh while they're doing it. Paula Patton is

    ravishing and it's great to see Bill Paxton, whom I haven't seen in awhile. he's good, too. very entertaining. I'd say, I was into the film better than 90% of the time. got my money's worth!
    Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    8
    This movie is an excellent movie everybody should go out and watch it as the plot is excellent and doesn't fail to entertain.trust me this movie is worth watching Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    6
    Not an academy award movie but I must say very entertaining... interesting story line and good acting with good dialog between the actors... well worth seeing Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2014
    5
    Entertaining movie with two leading actors who display great chemistry. There are several plot twists which keep the movie alive and make it a nice watch if you´re not asking for much. But it´s just that. It is the typical action movie made for male audiences (and straight) where women show their bodies more than males for no reason and a lot of violence happens. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2013
    5
    Cuando fui a ver esta película fui sin expectativas, lo cual me ayudó mucho a pasar un mejor tiempo. 2 Guns no es un filme que recordaremos de aquí a un año, pero tampoco es uno que odiaremos al instante. Pues su historia no es tan compleja, como tampoco es ridícula y esto la convierte en algo fácil de ver. En cuanto a las actuaciones me parecen que los actores principales disfrutaron su tiempo, porque hicieron un buen trabajo pero definitivamente no estaban buscando un Oscar con ello. Las escenas de acción no fueron acelerante, y su ritmo se encargaba de que no nos sintiéramos de esta forma. Buen negocio sin riesgos tomados. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    A painfully appalling attempt at the humorous, buddy/action genre. This thing falls drastically short of being any way entertaining. It has no story, poorly-drawn characters, irritatingly weak dialogue and boring action. Don’t waste your time. There are plenty of better buddy/action films out there. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews

Trailers