Netflix | Release Date: December 11, 2019
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 316 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
144
Mixed:
87
Negative:
85
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
RalfbergsJan 12, 2020
While the trailer seemed really good and full of action and fun, while watching the movie it was a bit too silly and felt like even with all the budget etc like it doesnt take itself seriously enough - plus there were some really noticeableWhile the trailer seemed really good and full of action and fun, while watching the movie it was a bit too silly and felt like even with all the budget etc like it doesnt take itself seriously enough - plus there were some really noticeable product placement advertisements in it, which made it feel worse. And yeah I didnt know that it is Michael Bay's movie, but when seeing it at the end in credits I am not surprised. Basically action is good, but the plot itself a bit stupid and over the top. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
6
JoeCoolDec 23, 2019
It's not as bad as I feared, knowing it's a Michael Bay movie. It would actually be reasonably good were it not for the so obviously dumb Plot. A billionaire hires a bunch of officially dead people to bring down a dictator and replace himIt's not as bad as I feared, knowing it's a Michael Bay movie. It would actually be reasonably good were it not for the so obviously dumb Plot. A billionaire hires a bunch of officially dead people to bring down a dictator and replace him with his brother. The action is over the top with lots of explosions but I found it quite amusing. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
6
MallRat15Feb 18, 2020
Movie just felt very unfinished. Story had no pulse and just had too much over the top action. First scene of the movie was probably the best action scene in the whole movie. Ryan Reynolds was funny and had some memorable moments but otherMovie just felt very unfinished. Story had no pulse and just had too much over the top action. First scene of the movie was probably the best action scene in the whole movie. Ryan Reynolds was funny and had some memorable moments but other then him not many stand outs. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
spidercowNov 27, 2020
The start is very promising. You get the feeling of the Italian Job combined with a thriller heist like Smokin Aces. All of the character backstories are nicely built up but not overdone. Then we get to the main mission and it involves theThe start is very promising. You get the feeling of the Italian Job combined with a thriller heist like Smokin Aces. All of the character backstories are nicely built up but not overdone. Then we get to the main mission and it involves the dictator of a fake country, which I just found totally lame and cartoon-like. Also, they drag out this final act for far too long. Any political commentary about the evil holding people down is completely toothless because it doesn't have the guts to go after anything real, despite having style that is so over-the-top. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
PalpetineSheevMar 20, 2020
This is the absolute most Michael Bay film that Michael Bay has ever Michael Bayed!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
iLe2Apr 6, 2020
Switched straight from this movie to Judge Judy, and I stayed he there. Was trying the second time and it’s not happening. Big budget, clean shots... but that’s all it is. Story is not going anywhere, had some of the most random sex scenesSwitched straight from this movie to Judge Judy, and I stayed he there. Was trying the second time and it’s not happening. Big budget, clean shots... but that’s all it is. Story is not going anywhere, had some of the most random sex scenes and ends that are left loose all over. A waste of budget and respect Michael had accumulated over many years Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
GazMoviesSep 13, 2020
Meet a new kind of action hero, 6 untraceable agents, totally off the grid. They've buried their past so they can change the future. So this is Directed by Michael Bay and after the first ten Minutes, I'm like of course it was. The action isMeet a new kind of action hero, 6 untraceable agents, totally off the grid. They've buried their past so they can change the future. So this is Directed by Michael Bay and after the first ten Minutes, I'm like of course it was. The action is intense the explosions big and the cars are fast. Ryan Reynolds is just playing Deadpool again which seems to be all he can play now. He even does the narrating same as Deadpool. They are trying to replace a Fascist dictator in the Middle East with his brother that is the main plot of this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
shoulderoforionDec 20, 2019
I have seen much worse movies in this past year, 6 Underground was mindless, it's plot & writing eye roll inducing, but the action pieces were top notch, and if you can turn your brain off for 2 hrs, it's fun enough
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
6
Tbone3uDec 17, 2019
As Ryan Reynolds himself said this is the most Michael Bay-ist film of Michael Bay's career and I would agree. It has all the explosions, all the close-ups, all the shaky cam and everything related to Bay's work. I have to say though... it'sAs Ryan Reynolds himself said this is the most Michael Bay-ist film of Michael Bay's career and I would agree. It has all the explosions, all the close-ups, all the shaky cam and everything related to Bay's work. I have to say though... it's pretty good. I thought it would of been terrible but I ended up having a lot of fun. You just have to let go. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
6
delphinebackDec 20, 2019
not crazy good, but fun. If that's what you want you'll get it by watching this movie. Also lot's of neon green color. haha
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
JeffersonMDec 21, 2019
O filme é bom e divertido, ele não se preocupa muito com enredo. A história é vazia e até um pouco sem sentido, porem o filme vai na linha da tão consagrada saga Velozes e Furiosos, então assista o filme com o tom de critica baixo e seO filme é bom e divertido, ele não se preocupa muito com enredo. A história é vazia e até um pouco sem sentido, porem o filme vai na linha da tão consagrada saga Velozes e Furiosos, então assista o filme com o tom de critica baixo e se divirta com os absurdos inacreditáveis que é quase impossível acontecer na vida real. Resumindo esquadrão 6 é um filme que não se preocupa muito com a história e foca mais no impossível para entreter o público Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Jan 13, 2020
The Netflix movie 6 Underground is about an independent/off-the-radar task force trying to topple a dictator. Though light on substance, this turned out to be a crazily entertaining film.

If you've seen Michael Bay's Bad Boys movies, you
The Netflix movie 6 Underground is about an independent/off-the-radar task force trying to topple a dictator. Though light on substance, this turned out to be a crazily entertaining film.

If you've seen Michael Bay's Bad Boys movies, you know the director has no qualms about violence, but here he kicks it up to another level. Everything is up at11 out of 10 in this, and Bay makes the most of the R rating. There are some innovative action ideas in this. The movie also looks great. Overall, this is one of those Bay films where he leans into his best qualities and mostly avoids his worse. It doesn't hurt that this is written by Deadpool and Zombieland writers Rett Rheese and Paul Wernick.

Also being a Bay film, the plot isn't as strong as the action. It's pretty hard to believe the characters are able to stay off-the-grid as many of them exercise very little discretion throughout the film. Still, the plot is decent, not to mention the characters and villain. Admittedly the movie does lean into the character of Three (Manuel Garcia-Rulfo) either making too many jokes or stupid decisions. Still, he does have his moments. I went into this without a lot of expectations and was surprised. Recommended.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
nightstalker930Jan 8, 2020
Yes ok this is indeed very much a Michael Bay movie with his personal take on action, however in saying this there is indeed some good story and of course action here. Long story short I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, it's not a 10/10 but itYes ok this is indeed very much a Michael Bay movie with his personal take on action, however in saying this there is indeed some good story and of course action here. Long story short I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, it's not a 10/10 but it is nowhere near the low scores it is getting. 8/10 hope they indeed make another! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
BerikDec 16, 2019
It's a Michael Bay movie, so what are you exactly expecting? It's definitely waaaay better than any Transformers movie, but it is still abundant with all the dumb elements you expect from a Michael Bay movie.

The Plot: 6 people form a
It's a Michael Bay movie, so what are you exactly expecting? It's definitely waaaay better than any Transformers movie, but it is still abundant with all the dumb elements you expect from a Michael Bay movie.

The Plot: 6 people form a vigilante group to take out bad guys because they don't believe that the legal process will bring justice. They follow a billionaire who wants to bring down a dictator by replacing him with his liberal brother. What are the odds...

They do this by screaming out of place lines during action scenes, making jokes all the time, and shooting people that result in slow-motion shots of bullets piercing faces. The action is over the top, but nonetheless amusing.

It's dumb, there's no way around it. The characters are cliche's, the violence is so gruesome that is doesn't look realistic anymore, and there are lots of explosions. And in end, it was actually just okay. I give it a 6/10.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
WintxDec 28, 2019
Hey Reynolds tells you up front in the trailer - it's a Michael Bay movie! Relax and have fun. Actually the first M.Bay film I really liked. Deadpool meets Inception FX with a little John Wick. Amazing fun. Silly dialogue. Blow your brainsHey Reynolds tells you up front in the trailer - it's a Michael Bay movie! Relax and have fun. Actually the first M.Bay film I really liked. Deadpool meets Inception FX with a little John Wick. Amazing fun. Silly dialogue. Blow your brains out FX. Grab a bowl (popcorn) and settle in for a wild ride. Too bad it didn't go big screen first. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
JiggawattsDec 13, 2019
Ohhh what a **** *facepalm*

6 Underground proves once again that Michael Bay couldn't direct a decent movie to save his life.
14 of 21 users found this helpful147
All this user's reviews
7
bfoore90Dec 16, 2019
Michael Bay Unchained and Unfiltered. Ryan Reynolds can do no wrong here in this loud, convoluted, explosion filled mess. But on the flip side, it's an enjoyably loud, explosion filled mess
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
7
TheAquam8teDec 15, 2019
I enjoyed this movie. It is not by far my favourite or a masterpiece in any way, but I found myself enjoying the story and the characters much more than I anticipated. In shorts, it is pure Michael Bay, larger than life action scenes that areI enjoyed this movie. It is not by far my favourite or a masterpiece in any way, but I found myself enjoying the story and the characters much more than I anticipated. In shorts, it is pure Michael Bay, larger than life action scenes that are more or less un-ending, and being kind of idiotic, but I still found it more iteresting than most of Bay's other movies. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
3
ErimudFeb 4, 2020
The first 10 minutes are fine if you want to watch some explosions flipping cars. The script / dialogue are pretty bad, the story is all over the place with flashbacks, and the general directing is pretty poor. Every scene is spliced togetherThe first 10 minutes are fine if you want to watch some explosions flipping cars. The script / dialogue are pretty bad, the story is all over the place with flashbacks, and the general directing is pretty poor. Every scene is spliced together with 20 or more takes, which becomes all too apparent anytime the characters try to hold a conversation, it's jarring how many cuts a scene of dialogue has. It's quintessential Michael Bay. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
Tony1984May 13, 2020
Super violent in a nasty way with lots of special effects. Cardboard characters bar Ryan Reynolds who plays as usual Ryan Reynolds. Not really funny or even that good in the bash bang boom stakes. Michael Bay isn't good at being Michael BaySuper violent in a nasty way with lots of special effects. Cardboard characters bar Ryan Reynolds who plays as usual Ryan Reynolds. Not really funny or even that good in the bash bang boom stakes. Michael Bay isn't good at being Michael Bay anymore. Couldn't help but root for the irredeemably bad dictator who makes Pol Pot look sympathetic. Team America World Police minus the believability factor. Awful. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
BorgorosJan 18, 2020
My god what a stupid pile of commercials. Cars exploding and rolling like crazy by hitting coffeshop-chairs was fun though. Long time since I laughed this hard at "tough" actionscenes like the ones in this movie. The 90's CGI did also make meMy god what a stupid pile of commercials. Cars exploding and rolling like crazy by hitting coffeshop-chairs was fun though. Long time since I laughed this hard at "tough" actionscenes like the ones in this movie. The 90's CGI did also make me laugh. To think Bay directed The Rock, and now we get movies like this.... Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
arostislavnaJul 15, 2020
Just a B rated clone of the fast and furious, with nonsensical dialogue.

Nope!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
noelhoJan 21, 2020
Turd of a movie. Another incoherent piece of garbage from Michael Bay. I only watched it because of Ryan Reynolds, but even his charm and wit could not save this shipwreck of a movie.

If you like flashy visuals and nothing else, then this is
Turd of a movie. Another incoherent piece of garbage from Michael Bay. I only watched it because of Ryan Reynolds, but even his charm and wit could not save this shipwreck of a movie.

If you like flashy visuals and nothing else, then this is the movie for you.

Forget about story, pacing, editing, logic. It is barely funny, it isn't satire, it isn't even decent action and it was way too long.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
johanswehkDec 13, 2019
Monotonous and generic. Starts out pretty good but it only took about 5min before I lost interest in the first car chase and after another 15 it made a complete nosedive. Ryan Reynolds proves once again his whole repertoire consist of oneMonotonous and generic. Starts out pretty good but it only took about 5min before I lost interest in the first car chase and after another 15 it made a complete nosedive. Ryan Reynolds proves once again his whole repertoire consist of one character that he can "act". If you seen any of his past movies you know what I mean. The effects are pretty good but that's the only redeeming quality this movie has going for it. The team the movie revolves around is about as stereotypical as it gets, and I couldn't care less about any of them. I have no idea what happened in the last 40-45min because by then i had already completely lost interest and shifted my focus elsewhere. Expand
10 of 16 users found this helpful106
All this user's reviews
6
WyattRiotDec 13, 2019
The two universal truths to this movie: 1) The opening sequence is vintage Bay at his best, and 2) The storyline is it's weak point. The latter would not be a problem, and indeed it doesn't render the Bay-esque 10-angle-action-shots/secondThe two universal truths to this movie: 1) The opening sequence is vintage Bay at his best, and 2) The storyline is it's weak point. The latter would not be a problem, and indeed it doesn't render the Bay-esque 10-angle-action-shots/second opening sequences futile. However, the first Act writes cheques about the expectations of the rest of the movie that the remainder of the movie sadly can't cash. It almost does the job of being the genesis of Bay's answer to the Fast & Furious / Mission:Impossible franchise, albeit the wonderfully ridiculous over-the-top version, under the cover of Reynolds' idiosyncratic humour. Alas, the aforementioned weak plot is not only found wanting, but also wasting the opportunity of what could've been the start of something everlasting, if even a fun and exciting stand alone movie in its own right....this review would be longer but I'm still having to concentrate on the never-ending action scenes that are still somehow not over despite finishing the movie hours ago. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
7
youlooksotiredDec 19, 2019
Joyful, just easy to watch. So much violence for Netflix movie - nice change
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
7
Lite_em_upDec 14, 2019
This was a fun tongue in cheek action movie with lots of explosions, I think by now most people know what they're going to get from Micheal Bay and that's exactly what you get. If that doesn't appeal then perhaps Ryan Reynolds will.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
3
tropicAcesDec 13, 2019
He has to be trolling us. He has to be. There is no way Michael Bat continues to make films that get louder, more unfunny and nonsensically written by accident.
11 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
2
Dirtybacon27Dec 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had a tuna sandwich whilst watching this film, there wasn’t enough mayonnaise. Same could be said about this film, film had potential however lacked oomph. Expand
12 of 20 users found this helpful128
All this user's reviews
0
Kryptic57Dec 14, 2019
I can't fathom why people continue to give Michael Bay money to churn out the lumps of crap he calls movies. If you want to see something completely devoid of creativity or any shot lasting longer than 4.5 seconds while you send your brainI can't fathom why people continue to give Michael Bay money to churn out the lumps of crap he calls movies. If you want to see something completely devoid of creativity or any shot lasting longer than 4.5 seconds while you send your brain into a a vegetative state this two hour long cognitive enema is for you. Not even Ryan Reynolds charm can save this one Expand
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
8
eli_fjrDec 17, 2019
Enjoyed it for what it is: action bomb with witty dialog not to be taken too seriously. Wasnt expecting heart from a film with this much adrenaline. Michael Bay hate is real, just watch it and make up your own mind.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
JohnbusaDec 19, 2019
Achei um ótimo filme, divertido e cheio de ação, melhor filme de ação da Netflix, claro que tens seus defeitos tbm, história corrida, muitos cortes de cena e física praticamente nula, mesmo assim, suas qualidades superam os defeitos, ótimoAchei um ótimo filme, divertido e cheio de ação, melhor filme de ação da Netflix, claro que tens seus defeitos tbm, história corrida, muitos cortes de cena e física praticamente nula, mesmo assim, suas qualidades superam os defeitos, ótimo filme... Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
rwar64Dec 17, 2019
When I go watch a (Action) movie i'm not looking to be moved emotionally. I'm looking for non-reality craziness and this movies hit it on the head. ✔
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
BenlikemovieDec 17, 2019
Good movie!! I like the principal cast
The effect is good and we need a sequel
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
Charleebros05Dec 19, 2019
Dunno why folks are giving it a negative review. This was a very solid movie for me. One of the best I've seen on Netflix!
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
SENKRADDec 30, 2019
I thought it was a great action movie and worth a watch. Is it perfect? Of course not but is it good, I'd say it is.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
MnkayakgirlJan 3, 2020
It’s an action movie so high points for car chases, crashes, bullets flying, and kicking ass. It’s not the best plot of an action movie but it is worth the watch on Netflix.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
Hypes11Jan 6, 2020
If you're a fan of the 2010 action movie "The Losers" you're sure to have a reason to watch this. Honestly thought it was written/directed by the same people at first but turns out it's Michael Bay. When he's not involved with Transformers orIf you're a fan of the 2010 action movie "The Losers" you're sure to have a reason to watch this. Honestly thought it was written/directed by the same people at first but turns out it's Michael Bay. When he's not involved with Transformers or TMNT he can do some neat things (The Island was pretty good). Starts out way too jumpy for my taste but it quickly comes around. It's a fast paced, highly stylized action movie with lots of irreverant humor. Characters are one-dimensional and the actual plot is rather uninspired but nothing wrong with that from time to time. Refreshing to have a movie that focuses on style and sequence over substance once in a while. The film largely boils down to 3 or 4 lengthy (but exciting the whole time) action scenes and I am ok with that. Great for what it is. Don't watch it expecting Oscar-worthy material unless the Oscars is going to start recognizing stunt doubles and stunt coordinators and things like that. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
JAFOJan 15, 2020
A good fun popcorn Ryan Reynolds movie, a score of 7 is fair score for this movie, don't expect a perfectly written script or realism. This is a good time, good guy's going after the bad guy's movie, if you're after an action packed movieA good fun popcorn Ryan Reynolds movie, a score of 7 is fair score for this movie, don't expect a perfectly written script or realism. This is a good time, good guy's going after the bad guy's movie, if you're after an action packed movie then this is for you. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
GrianneDec 15, 2019
It's crazy stupid fun... wild action packed ridiculous over the top. It's an 80s style action movie but with Fast and Furious and John Wick sensibilities, crazy car chases bloody gunfights and violent deaths. It's not supposed to be anIt's crazy stupid fun... wild action packed ridiculous over the top. It's an 80s style action movie but with Fast and Furious and John Wick sensibilities, crazy car chases bloody gunfights and violent deaths. It's not supposed to be an Oscar winning film it's a fun stupid violent good time. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
7
SNEEGEDec 14, 2019
Pleeeeaaaase....don’t pretend like you do not want to watch this movie. Sure, it is not an Oscar candidate, but it far exceeds your run of
the mill expectations for a Netflix featured film. Ryan Reynolds notches a solid performance in a role
Pleeeeaaaase....don’t pretend like you do not want to watch this movie. Sure, it is not an Oscar candidate, but it far exceeds your run of
the mill expectations for a Netflix featured film. Ryan Reynolds notches a solid performance in a role tailored to his unique niche, peppered with his witty comic relief and excellent action sequences. It feels like the Italian Job meets the fast and the furious! Nothing more but to kick back and enjoy this blockbuster hit with your favorite peeps!
Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
0
RonaldoDArcadiaDec 14, 2019
OMG. For a comedy this film is to long. And the name should be 'Amateur Hour: Not Even Deadpool Can Save You'. Sorry Michael Bay, we have awesowe video-games today, we don't need your explosions anymore. Maybe you should reinvent yourself...OMG. For a comedy this film is to long. And the name should be 'Amateur Hour: Not Even Deadpool Can Save You'. Sorry Michael Bay, we have awesowe video-games today, we don't need your explosions anymore. Maybe you should reinvent yourself... in theather? Explosions would be a fresh move in theater. PS: But look this way, i'm here wasting time talking about the movie, right? So there is a crazy good side in this... probably? i'ts not, probably not. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
7
ThePeoplesVoiceDec 13, 2019
Just get a popcorn and turn off your brain. No super story arc or something like that. Just plain action and fun camera work with some bad jokes in between. We'll see how this one develops if there comes a part II.
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
3
FaxthtaxDec 13, 2019
Kept rolling my eyes trough this movie at the first half. Kind of knew what i was getting myself into.
Subpar $150 mil. Michael Bay production with all his trademark. It is a pretty explosive, violent movie. But damn the humor was pretty low.
Kept rolling my eyes trough this movie at the first half. Kind of knew what i was getting myself into.
Subpar $150 mil. Michael Bay production with all his trademark. It is a pretty explosive, violent movie. But damn the humor was pretty low. I laughed maybe once through this movie.
The plot is... well pretty mediocre. The start of this movie (that probably burned half the budget alone) tries to establish a background by jumping back and forth to get some sense of character development which turns the movie into a mess. Michael Bay has no clue on establishing back stories. But half way in it lets go and gets on with the story that is not much to get smart about.
The acting is OK but that's it. Reynolds is barely holding up this movie to be enjoyable. But the movie is typical Bay over-the-top production and bad humor lines.

And btw, who moors a yatch with an anchor if you are docksided?
Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
8
PurpleCrayon4UDec 14, 2019
A Fun Action Parody With Product Placement Galore - Combine multiple wise cracking performers, some of the best action scenes filmed this decade, blood blood body parts and blood, a preposterous story, unlimited access to film in some of theA Fun Action Parody With Product Placement Galore - Combine multiple wise cracking performers, some of the best action scenes filmed this decade, blood blood body parts and blood, a preposterous story, unlimited access to film in some of the most beautiful areas of the globe along with an unlimited budget....all orchestrated by action director God Micheal Bay - and you have 6 Underground. The in-your-face and over-the-over-the-top filming and performances can only lead one to believe this film is a parody of the Fast & Furious along with the hundreds of no-way-that-can't-be-real films we have seen over the years. Is this film visually stunning...YES! Funny....YES! A Micheal Bay Masterpiece....DEFINITELY! Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
jamestucker0507Dec 16, 2019
Loved it. Fast fun and funny. Just enough humanity to pull you in. Just wasn't enough I needed more.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
MaxPayneIsGodDec 13, 2020
Another Netflix gem lambasted by critics
6 Underground is non-stop action-fest full of wise-cracks and fantastic set-pieces.
It's not the smartest movie you'll see but it was a hell of a lot of fun.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MrBalboolJan 26, 2020
issa masterpiece of a film what can i say, michael bay never fails to live up to the hype, deadpool guy is funny
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
ProfAmateurNov 25, 2020
perfect example that a big budget is no guarantee for success. featherbrained humour, boring story. only the camera-work in the action-scenes are cool.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ChunkDumpDec 21, 2020
its been a while since i had fun watching an action comedy. the right amount of action with the right amount of comedy not drowning out the story. a maskless deadpool with his own flare. sequel please.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
mmallizzioDec 14, 2019
I love Ryan Reynolds, his charm and humor...not this movie. I felt like I was watching a TV commercial. Action sequence, flash cuts, cheesy love scene, product placement...rinse-wash-repeat. Action movies don't need to be complex to beI love Ryan Reynolds, his charm and humor...not this movie. I felt like I was watching a TV commercial. Action sequence, flash cuts, cheesy love scene, product placement...rinse-wash-repeat. Action movies don't need to be complex to be good, this was stinker. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
2
Pop_RivettDec 14, 2019
The best way to describe this film is "aggressively idiotic." Take everything you know about Michael Bay films - frenetic action, unnecessary explosions, inexplicably-placed shots of beautiful women, racial stereotypes, and anThe best way to describe this film is "aggressively idiotic." Take everything you know about Michael Bay films - frenetic action, unnecessary explosions, inexplicably-placed shots of beautiful women, racial stereotypes, and an epilepsy-inducing number of cuts per second, and then remove anything that made his other films even remotely bearable, then stretch a plot so thin and utterly beyond credibility over two hours, complete with unlabeled flashbacks, random and disconnected moments of character motivation, and dialogue that flits so rapidly between unfunnily glib to unbearably macho-melodramatic that it might give you mental whiplash. Not even Ryan Reynolds can improve the limpid dialogue and allegedly "comic" scenes.

Imagine the frenetic catastrophe that was the latest Transformers movie, then remove the charm of the Transformers themselves, and you'll be getting close.

It is a masterclass in awfulness. I feel like it should be in future cinema studies subjects with titles like "How to make a truly terrible film on a gigantic budget."
Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
1
allyftwDec 14, 2019
Complete and utter trash. Everything I hate about Michael bay turned up to 11.
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
0
ntrssDec 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is possibly the worst film I’ve watched in a long time and undoubtedly the worst film of 2019. The action is tasteless, excessive and unbearably childish with the first 20 minutes of the film being dedicated to a car chase that’s so badly edited it made me feel motion sick. It’s clear to see that Bay is a director that should never be left to his own devices with big moments that “gO bOoM” being prioritised over shot continuity, good writing, clear location and motive establishment and character development.

Bay’s attempts to call out the recent (and current) political climate in the Middle East come off as naive and offensive with a complete lack of taste or subtlety, the fact that a scene where Ryan Reynolds is concerned about drifting into a dog and a scene where a hospital full of children is bombed with gas is utterly unbelievable and throws another curveball as to what the purpose of this film is. I could go on for hours about how this film is awful so I’m going to end this review with the only saving grace in its entire 2+ hr runtime... STORROR. STORROR are a UK team of free runners who I personally love and have been supporting for a long time, they were the only reason I even tried to watch this film. Their choreography and execution is amazing yet severely underused throughout and footage from their own videos from their project “Roof Culture Asia” being thrown into the film completely ruining shot continuity of a scene. No disrespect to them as the project itself was great, but Bay’s choice to include it in his film was confusing and unnecessary.
Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
0
BarnyDec 15, 2019
it's fairly atrocious throughout the whole movie: the acting, cuts, cgi, music are an uneven mix of all sorts of rubbish found here and there. How did they spend 150 millions of dollars on this? In comparison, movies like Hardcore Henry orit's fairly atrocious throughout the whole movie: the acting, cuts, cgi, music are an uneven mix of all sorts of rubbish found here and there. How did they spend 150 millions of dollars on this? In comparison, movies like Hardcore Henry or even the dreaded Fast and Furious franchise appear like masterpieces. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
8
apannilssonDec 15, 2019
As far as action movies goes this one is very entertaining in a quirky over the top way. Just the kind I like. I hope they make more. I wanna get to know the characters more and get more crazy action.
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
0
egoBorderDec 14, 2019
A boring and unlikeable movie, which loses even more points for squandering a great cast giving a **** and some truly great production value. Unfortunately Michael Bay has never come out of adolescence and cannot make anything interestingA boring and unlikeable movie, which loses even more points for squandering a great cast giving a **** and some truly great production value. Unfortunately Michael Bay has never come out of adolescence and cannot make anything interesting out of what should have been a short made by some struggling young director trying to get his name out there. There are flashes of inspiration, mostly coming from the cast trying very hard to make something out of nothing, but there's no payoff to any of it. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
2
Fred12Dec 15, 2019
This movie is a senseless concatenation of one action scene to another... It must be some kind of unexplicable miracle or phenomenon that even after this superficial movie, at the end you can't even be sure you know what the story was aboutThis movie is a senseless concatenation of one action scene to another... It must be some kind of unexplicable miracle or phenomenon that even after this superficial movie, at the end you can't even be sure you know what the story was about (if there was any story). The plot is just about defeating some dictator, and thats it, the rest is Michael Bay... I used to like MB's action movies, but they get worse on each movie, the action cuts are so fast that its no fun to watch them, and character "playing" is just not present.. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
1
gereihingDec 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you want to learn the true art of torture, strap someone in a seat and make them watch this movie.

This middle school, food fight of a movie has so many things wrong and nothing really right. I will admit that I had to watch it twice because I fell asleep during the first viewing. So let's unpack a few things.

First, the camera work. Mr. Bey must have wanted to take a page from the Bourne movies, unfortunately the process did not play out. The actions scenes were so herky-jerky that I thought the way the stunts were filmed detracted from the story. Same when it came to building the characters. He was so intent on build a montage of shots at different angles, it appears he forgot that he must keep the camera still long enough for the viewer to develop some sort of bond. But unfortunately, this is were the script fails as well.

I once heard George Clooney on an interview. He said the most important part of a movie is it script. He was spot on this assessment. This script is nothing more than Deadpool on steroids with a very bad dialogue. I can see why there may be a drug problem in Hollywood. If I actually had to say some of these lines, I would probably have to do some sort of drug just to get through it.

Mr. Bey must have thought that if you threw in enough violence, absurd situations (such as using an eye to activate a person's iPhone and car crashes that the viewer would overlook the smaller things like character building, script/plot and camera work. He's wrong.

I would like to congratulate the entire cast on this movie. I would recommend that they call up John Travolta and ask him how he felt after the reviews for "Battlefield:Earth" came out. They all now have their own "Battlefield:Earth" to put on their resume.

If you have more than 2 brain cells and nothing to do, putting a spike in your head or setting yourself on fire would be much more pleasurable that watching this disaster of a movie. I gave it "1' because its Christmas.
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
10
ahind94Dec 16, 2019
I watched this movie knowing fine well what to expect and I absolutely loved every explosion filled, gun firing, car chasing moment of it. Don't watch this film expecting an in depth and fleshed out story with meaningful characters. It's justI watched this movie knowing fine well what to expect and I absolutely loved every explosion filled, gun firing, car chasing moment of it. Don't watch this film expecting an in depth and fleshed out story with meaningful characters. It's just a group of people killing bad guys (with a few hundred collateral good guys too)! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
OlivierPielDec 15, 2019
stopped 10 minutes in...in the middle of a car chase. Even dumb movies à la "Fart and the Fume-ous" have one good thing, the car chase. Michael Bay managed to even ruin the fun. Well done!
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
4
ziGihouseDec 15, 2019
Hmmm, about what is this movie? about nothing, i switch of after 20 minutes
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
8
FleshwoundsDec 15, 2019
One of the best car chases I've seen in the first 15 minutes. I liked the movie.
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
5
eagleeyevikingDec 18, 2019
"6 Undergound" is a typical Michael Bay film. It is entertaining and action-packed, yet full of terrible dialogue, paper-thin characters, and choppy editing.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
pootrey109231Dec 21, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This has to be the worst big budget movie I’ve ever had the displeasure of viewing a single frame of. The movie comes off as if every character is a ADHD middle schooler in an adults body. Constancy needless shot changes and the worst backstory exposition I’ve ever seen, it was the only time exposition left me more confused then I was before. None of the characters motivations make ANY sense and the action was so boring. I have no idea where the ludicrous budget went. The action in Birdemic was more enthralling and the constant swearing and racist undertones left a bad taste lingering . In half the scenes with blood it looked like either coffee or dilute red koolaid. The plot was one of the most derivative experiences I’ve ever sat though. It literally seems like you asked a redneck xenophobe who has only played the COD games and watched **** Bollywood action movies to write a action movie. Nothing makes sense, everything is slo-mo for no reason, constant **** EDM in the background an of course random sex scenes with nonsensical setups. This movies only audience is overexcitable children and stupid middle aged parents. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
2
bpcatchpoleDec 19, 2019
The first ten minutes are possibly 2019's worst. Awful, overdone car crashes, sexism, tropes, and generally bad dialogue. It's a switch your brain off kind of film for sure. Also.. all that violence?! why!? It's as Lynch said, we have becomeThe first ten minutes are possibly 2019's worst. Awful, overdone car crashes, sexism, tropes, and generally bad dialogue. It's a switch your brain off kind of film for sure. Also.. all that violence?! why!? It's as Lynch said, we have become accustomed to horrible violence and this proves it. Not worth a second. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
jpritchaDec 30, 2019
An absurdly stupid, hyper-violent/gory, overly serious, overly long, pro-'Murica propaganda piece that tries to bill itself as a comedy because it stars Ryan Reynolds.

The 2 most glaringly bad parts of this movie are its plot and editing.
An absurdly stupid, hyper-violent/gory, overly serious, overly long, pro-'Murica propaganda piece that tries to bill itself as a comedy because it stars Ryan Reynolds.

The 2 most glaringly bad parts of this movie are its plot and editing.

Plot:
The plot is not only bad, it's bad and doesn't know it's bad and doubles down on the seriousness of everything that makes it bad.

TL;DR
Nobody:
Vigilantes: Let's overthrow a dictator and install his democracy loving brother to bring the poor brown people of this fictional middle eastern country freedom! This will work great and it's not like there's decades of historical precedent on this kind of thing that would say otherwise!

This motivation is supposed to get us through over 2 hours of car chases, shootouts, poorly written backstories, painfully cringey dialogue, grisly deaths that mean nothing, parkour because why not that was a popular action trope in the mid 2000s right?, and a magnetized yacht throwing people back and forth (yep...).

Editing:
For a movie with a $150M budget, the editing is shockingly terrible. There are blatant continuity errors in pretty much every action sequence (the state of the car in the first sequence is the most noticeable, it jumps from being pristine to totaled in every other shot). Were they just hoping that if they made all of the cuts fast enough that nobody would notice or care? It's like they spent the whole budget on effects and then hired a few undergraduate film students to mash them all together on the remaining $5k they had left.

In Summary:
I keep wondering if we've hit peak dumb yet, but then something like this comes along and makes me reevaluate that thought.
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
GlagaireJan 3, 2020
This movie is so bad it makes you want to avoid other movies just in case they put you through the same suffering. In the 1980s when you wondered "How did this get made?" The answer was usually "too much money + loads of cocaine" but is thatThis movie is so bad it makes you want to avoid other movies just in case they put you through the same suffering. In the 1980s when you wondered "How did this get made?" The answer was usually "too much money + loads of cocaine" but is that still a thing? Well the evidence (6 Underground existing) suggests that, yes, yes it is. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
CujoMattyDec 28, 2019
I have to start with this. I don’t hate Michael Bay movies. I’m in my mid forties and have enjoyed many of them. The Rock, Armageddon, Bad Boys.......awesome. I didn’t even mind Pearl Harbour. I also am a big fan of action films, over the topI have to start with this. I don’t hate Michael Bay movies. I’m in my mid forties and have enjoyed many of them. The Rock, Armageddon, Bad Boys.......awesome. I didn’t even mind Pearl Harbour. I also am a big fan of action films, over the top violence and sex in movies. Thought this movie was going to check all my mood boxes. Michael bay movie? Grrrrreat!!! Ryan Reynolds?? I’m on board!!! People faking their deaths to band together and fight the worlds atrocities???? Cool cool cool cool cool cool cool cool coo.....

This movie however, somehow effed up the simple premise of a mindless action movie. To steal a word from my 20 year old son, it’s soooo extra.... Think every over the top action movie and add Motley Crüe levels of cocaine and you would be getting warm. It’s so completely over the top that it honestly feels like Michael Bay is taking a piss. Almost like a big middle finger to everyone who said his movies are mindless adrenaline action affairs with no substance. “You ain’t seen nothing yet” You could be forgiven for thinking Crank looks like an Oscar winning script next to this but here’s the thing. It’s not even really the plot or the script that’s the problem if I’m being honest. The story and premise are OKish, it’s the direction that makes this a dumpster fire.

It’s so convoluted with shaky camera cuts, flashbacks and other nonsensical scenes, that I was left with my head spinning half way through. The whole first act we spend so much time jumping through time that I thought I owned a Delorean. Then, I thought I was finally past the confusion. A pop up on the screen says “the present” followed by “you’re all caught up” NOPE!!! The film immediately jumps into a flashback of the CIA lady with no name. WTF?? You’re a liar Michael. I hate myself for saying this but what’s with the sex scenes? People just start having sex for seemingly no reason. It’s like Netflix called Bay and told him “we need more cowbell” (cowbell=sex in case you aren’t following) so he just threw the scenes in.

Lastly, The dialogue is insane. More specifically the one liners, which I’m not sure you can call them, because there is a billion of them. Schwarzenegger in Commando levels of bad.

So ya, I hated this movie.
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
XiaoGGDec 15, 2019
This is Ryan Reynolds worst movie since he made Green Lantern. This makes Green lantern look like an Oscar winning movie
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
8
RevOneEightDec 13, 2019
Beautiful movie. Love ryan Reynolds. Super fun action movie. Well worth watching.
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
2
imthenoobDec 16, 2019
A solid cast can't help the lack of plot and the lack of quality Michael Bay brings as a director. He overloads his films with needless explosions and action sequences that kills the thrill of it very early on. And try as he might, even RyanA solid cast can't help the lack of plot and the lack of quality Michael Bay brings as a director. He overloads his films with needless explosions and action sequences that kills the thrill of it very early on. And try as he might, even Ryan Reynolds couldn't save this movie. It's what you would expect a straight to Redbox action film to be. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
3
LynchioDec 17, 2019
A brain dead movie. About as pretty as a fireworks display with all of the explosions but genuinely hard to watch the whole film. Over the top cheese. Possibly even more over the top than Fast and the Furious. The plot is weak, the charactersA brain dead movie. About as pretty as a fireworks display with all of the explosions but genuinely hard to watch the whole film. Over the top cheese. Possibly even more over the top than Fast and the Furious. The plot is weak, the characters as awful. At one point the free runner grinds down a railing on a skateboard, to than jump onto a pillar to shoot a car with a grenade launcher. Just because they thought yeah this will look cool. One moment a cars wing mirrors are gone, next angle they're back, so the edit is about as deep and as detailed as the plot. This film is even worse than Green Lantern! Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
0
ShorterReviewsDec 19, 2019
This is probably the 2nd worst movie I've ever watched. The absolute worst? Transformers: The Last Knight. It's supposed to be a comedic pure action movie, I think.... The jokes are so poorly written, & the "action" is almost impossible toThis is probably the 2nd worst movie I've ever watched. The absolute worst? Transformers: The Last Knight. It's supposed to be a comedic pure action movie, I think.... The jokes are so poorly written, & the "action" is almost impossible to follow with the jarring 1,000 cuts of nothing happening. Also, the overuse of slow-mo is appalling. The dialogue is so so cheesy. The soundbites added in to fill space are redundant, too on the nose, & poorly mixed in. The cinematography style is straight out of 2007. They apparently got the music from a package deal with the cinematography. The wire work is extremely obvious. The CGI ranges from okay to poor & unbelievable (in a bad way). Characters, villains, & cars all teleport from one shot to another. There is no consistency throughout the entire movie. Did they not hire a script supervisor for this movie? Speaking of consistency, the characters act differently depending on the situations, & they seem to forget many things that have been said multiple times. How did someone watch this movie & think it was good enough to release? Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
StanaciousDec 14, 2019
Loved it! It’s like James Bond x 6 on steroids. If you like action you’ll love this
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
DinnyKDec 19, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Worth watching. Ryan Reynolds stole the show. Must watch. Awesome graphics. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
B3ckettDec 15, 2019
Movie feels like it's been made 10 or 15 years ago straight to DVD, before Reynolds became famous and now the creators want to cash in.
Michael Bay is great with short forms - like those he originated from - music videoclips. He lacks the
Movie feels like it's been made 10 or 15 years ago straight to DVD, before Reynolds became famous and now the creators want to cash in.
Michael Bay is great with short forms - like those he originated from - music videoclips. He lacks the ability to tell stories, just shoves CGI and other visuals into your face.

The story is ... well it's almost not there. It's just a bunch of scenes with the same people in them together. Think 5 seconds about a spy/assasin movie, then substract Mission Impossible quality from it and you'll have "6 Underground".

Reynolds' charm keeps this group of scenes together in some way, but the rest... you feel no connection to any of them or the story. Lost 2 hrs of saturday evening. Don't recommend.
Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
0
breezy808Dec 29, 2019
I honestly can't believe there was people that enjoyed this. The humor was completely cringe it felt like I was watching something that was targeted at highschool children while they're vaping while yelling "vape nation bro, 420swagyolo" andI honestly can't believe there was people that enjoyed this. The humor was completely cringe it felt like I was watching something that was targeted at highschool children while they're vaping while yelling "vape nation bro, 420swagyolo" and everybody is laughing cuz idk I guess its cool? I'm almost certain if you make it through the whole movie, you'll need to do a crossword puzzle or an intelligence test just to keep your brain sharp again Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
2
MrKaptakdaJan 11, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first ten minutes are a pain to watch. Different shots every 2 seconds, car crashes and explosions get 5 seconds worth and 20 in slowmotion. Dialogue is there because **** trees. Then the movie dumbs down a little bit. Introducing the characters and their backstories wich have been given exactly 6 seconds of thought. Some flashbacks as to how they've "died", added with the typical Michael Bay over the top action and explosions.

Then we finally get to the plot. Some more explosions, horrific deaths and a lot of shooting plus your occasional sex scene, which didn't even get me aroused. That says a lot.

Oh and in the end the dictator got lynched by a crowd and everyone lived happily ever after. Up to 7 Underground. lol.
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
1
SkuzzleJan 1, 2020
This has been Nr. 2 of worst movies 2019 after Hellboy and one rank above Dark Phoenix. What an attempt to combine almost every Bay movie in one while having a Reservoir Dogs inspired bunch of people trying to replay the plot of TeamThis has been Nr. 2 of worst movies 2019 after Hellboy and one rank above Dark Phoenix. What an attempt to combine almost every Bay movie in one while having a Reservoir Dogs inspired bunch of people trying to replay the plot of Team America.
Explosion here, car chase there, military themes come along of course, random sex scene, sad music while watching loved ones from the distance, sentimental one liners, weapons weapons weapons.
So what's left? Maybe an irge to buy an Alfa Romeo, Ferrari, Lamborghini, Captain Morgan, Lavazza Coffee and many more products advertised in the longest commercial I had to watch in my life!
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
4
TarunpatoliyaDec 23, 2019
What was the story? I'm so bored after complete the movie. But Rayn Raynolds is the best actor in this film. 6 Underground is a little bit comedy and some action scenes are very interesting.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
5
Bulletsponge69Jan 2, 2020
Way overhyped and overrated. Good actors , good idea for a plot poorly executed.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Dec 16, 2019
It's Michael Bay, Ryan Reynolds, action, a big budget and Netflix. That's all you need to know about this film.
The rest is on you.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
4
Mauro_LanariDec 14, 2019
(Mauro Lanari)
What is the lesser evil, an action without script or with a worn script? Immeasurably better "6 Underground" by the Sneakers Pimps (1996).
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
Lonejumper23Dec 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a fun movie! Come on.... the rocket from the RPG brushing the bad guys cheeck before it explodes......amazing! It's Micheal Bay and Ryan Reynolds giving us a great action movie. Story is weak but comes together in the end but the action is OVER THE TOP!!! Characters are great, good guys&girls, bad guys&girls and the ending is predictable. THATS THE POINT OF THIS MOVIE!!! Well done and have fun with this eye candy of action. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
JsacchiDec 14, 2019
It's pure action and free Bay style. It's amusing it's funny and spetacular.
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
10
madmad90Dec 15, 2019
This Movie is so much fun, i really got a lot of Deadpool Vibes. Ryan Renolds is funny and has a lot of depth in his character.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
KmeadeDec 14, 2019
Don't expect the most spectacular movie you've ever seen and this movie exceeds it's Netflix production title. You expect blockbuster when Michael Bay is involved and this delivers. The entire film was a adrenaline rush with one liners andDon't expect the most spectacular movie you've ever seen and this movie exceeds it's Netflix production title. You expect blockbuster when Michael Bay is involved and this delivers. The entire film was a adrenaline rush with one liners and surprising heart. Expand
4 of 21 users found this helpful417
All this user's reviews
5
Youngest_JettDec 15, 2019
Action. Character Development. Empathy. Excellent ... Melanie Laurent >> 10/10
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
1
jameshowlett89Jan 1, 2020
Couldn't make it past 10 mins mark lol, absolutely trash. Me and my gf decided it was enough after 10mins, shutdown Netflix and opened up crave and watched life of pets 2 instead, wasn't the best choice but easily better than this crap.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
4
HealingToolboxDec 17, 2019
I wasn't sure what I was watching til halfway thru. Then I realized this is Mission Impossible Michael Bay-style. If you are male and want violence, mayhem, destruction, and civilian deaths turned up to "11" this is for you. If you areI wasn't sure what I was watching til halfway thru. Then I realized this is Mission Impossible Michael Bay-style. If you are male and want violence, mayhem, destruction, and civilian deaths turned up to "11" this is for you. If you are female or an iNtuitive Feeler male, the more genteel charms of Tom Cruise's Mission Impossible retreaded with Michael Bay tires is likely to leave you cold after it's over. The primary value and primary point of view this exercise and all its gorgeous production values supports is: violence is good, violence is fun. To anyone with a iNtuitive Feeler conscience, this is going to feel like Armageddon turned up to "11" Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
4
WhiteWolf_1984Dec 17, 2019
This has the kind of full throttle action you expect from Michael Bay but apart from that the film is tacky, direct to video fare and a bad reflection on the once esteemed director. The action is solid with lots of real stunts and tangibleThis has the kind of full throttle action you expect from Michael Bay but apart from that the film is tacky, direct to video fare and a bad reflection on the once esteemed director. The action is solid with lots of real stunts and tangible explosions, CGI is thankfully at a minimum. I think the obvious budget restrictions have forced Bay away from CGI heavy action scenes which does help keep the action grounded and believable. The car chases are the best part of the movie because they're done with all real cars crashing and exploding. Secondly, the gun fights are well choreographed with loud shots and impact damage. Unfortunately, the overuse of dutch angles and "shaky" cam spoil the action, you get a nice few shots of some cool action sometimes in excellent slow mo and then you get distracted by the ridiculous camera work. It gets annoying by the end and the amount of lens flare and bloom usage is worse than in a JJ Abrams flick. The cinematography is amateur and dated. The editing and stupid amount of jump cuts is horrendous, every scene even the calmer scenes are visual jumbled messes. I think he wants the film to look flash and exciting but instead it's off putting and tacky looking. Bay needs to stop ruining the look of his films like this. The story is bad and dumb, it's a cheesy 80's cheap action movie storyline, a dictator mindlessly killing people, just embarrassing like a bad Rambo part 2 parody. The flow and pacing of the movie is all over the place, you have flashbacks to the characters pasts scattered everywhere and you flip flop from one location to the next way to much. The pace is slow fast slow fast........ it's dizzying! The movie shoe horns in a lazily done moral to the story which just falls flat and feels so out of place. Bay must think this film is higher thinking stuff when in fact it's just a below average action romp. The wit and humour of Ryan Reynolds slightly improve the watch but the rest of the cast are disposable with pathetic corny dialogue and eye rolling bad jokes. There are 3 big incredible set pieces during the just over 2 hour runtime which are really fun except for the irritating camera idiocy. The locales the film goes to are spectacular and the big explosions are well done, the pyrotechnics team did a great job. Without Ryan Reynolds or Netflix budgeting and streaming the film, it definitely would have gone straight past the cinema and onto dvd. If you didn't mind watching the last Transformers you might like this from Bay though it's a million miles away from his Armageddon or The Rock. Michael Bay has become a shadow of his former self and this film is evidence of the fact. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
DeadpoolwalksDec 13, 2019
Good as my favourite actor is Ryan Reynolds love this movie
2 of 16 users found this helpful214
All this user's reviews
10
SorcererSupremeDec 14, 2019
This movie is amazing. Everyone is absolutely on point. The action is amazing the acting is amazing and the story unique. It's a better version of The Losers. My only gripe would bethere not enough Dave Franco, however everything else makesThis movie is amazing. Everyone is absolutely on point. The action is amazing the acting is amazing and the story unique. It's a better version of The Losers. My only gripe would bethere not enough Dave Franco, however everything else makes up for it. The four lesser knowns, outside of Reynolds, Hawkins and Franco, are on par with top billed. Incredible. Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerFeb 23, 2020
With their latest attempt to be the first streaming service with a blockbuster action franchise just like the ones you can find on the big screen, Netflix gave $150 million to Michael Bay of Transformers fame (infamy?) and we might have justWith their latest attempt to be the first streaming service with a blockbuster action franchise just like the ones you can find on the big screen, Netflix gave $150 million to Michael Bay of Transformers fame (infamy?) and we might have just reached the peak of Bayiness as a result. 6 Underground feels like a comic book written by a bunch of 13 year olds. A group of people fake their own deaths so that they can save the world unburdened by things like laws or politics, but logic is what they really end up escaping.

The premise ends up not making any sense due to some questionable writing decisions. For example, if the billionaire responsible for assembling and leading the team also staged his own demise so that he could join them in the field, then who's funding these globe-trotting missions? There's no explanation given as to how he's able to maintain access to his fortune after being legally declared as deceased, and outside help isn't an option given that the whole movie exists on the concept that nobody knows that they're actually alive.

While the plot doesn't hold up under any sort of scrutiny you can analyze the action sequences down to the tiniest of details and not find a single flaw. As much criticism as they recieve, Bay's films are always meticulously crafted on this front. This is easily his most beautiful and violent work to date. The locales are stunning and his explosions have never looked better. Each setpiece is massive in scale yet every piece of twisted metal and drop of gore was placed there with calculated purpose. Even at it's most chaotic there's a method to the madness that is evident. The only thing to mar these displays are the number of graphic civilian casualties. The team of 6 Underground are going to save the innocents of this world no matter how many of them get in their way, darn it!

Honestly, I think the only thing that could hold this back from achieving its franchise potential is that it's impossible to actually care about any of the characters. Each one feels more like a skill than a real person. We learn why they join the team, but never who they are as people; what makes them tick. Even as charming and hilarious as Ryan Reynolds is it's his character that ends up making the least amount of sense out of all of this.

Still, I'd say at least one sequel is inevitable. It's not for everyone due to its vulgar nature and take-it-at-face-value plot, but those who enjoy high-octane, jaw-dropping action should enjoy 6 Underground for its spectacle as this is Bay's most impressive showing of blood and fire. Proving that as always with his movies the content is questionable, but the skill is undeniable.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
VickimageFeb 29, 2020
Let’s face it - the critics hate Michael Bay. So lets ignore them straight up. This is pure Michael Bay which means pretty much pure adrenaline. Yes it has got lots of frantic editing (why does Bay get pilloried by critics for this but theLet’s face it - the critics hate Michael Bay. So lets ignore them straight up. This is pure Michael Bay which means pretty much pure adrenaline. Yes it has got lots of frantic editing (why does Bay get pilloried by critics for this but the makers of Uncut Gems are called geniuses for exactly the same thing?) This is escapism with some truly amazing stunts (the magnet stunt is awesome). Put your brain in neutral and enjoy. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
mrc_brnDec 16, 2019
I feel bad for the actors for giving this flick a poor review, because it's not them. In fact their characters are the best part of the movie. What I didn't like - at all - is the confusing, disorienting and straight up poor cutting of theI feel bad for the actors for giving this flick a poor review, because it's not them. In fact their characters are the best part of the movie. What I didn't like - at all - is the confusing, disorienting and straight up poor cutting of the scenes throughout the movie.

The movie also strikes a very odd and inconsistent tone throughout, at times it wants to be smartass and even lighthearted, at times it wants to be Mission Impossible.
The bodycount and graphic vicious violence throughout doesn't lend itself to Ryan Reynolds lighthearted smart-ass-ness. A bit of a (gorgeously stylish) mess. Can't recommend it.
Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
9
HumaneFeb 14, 2020
I wade through so many awful movies that it is great when I find a good one. As with most Bay movies, the story is nothing spectacular, however the cast obviously got along very well and it shows in the movie, with them convincingly playingI wade through so many awful movies that it is great when I find a good one. As with most Bay movies, the story is nothing spectacular, however the cast obviously got along very well and it shows in the movie, with them convincingly playing well off each other.

The action is awesome, taking the John Wick style of action to the next level with extremely graphic violence, and the comedy element was such that I found myself grinning through most of the movie.

Kudos to the writers for although not having a very deep script, wrote the character interactions so well that you don't think too hard on the plot itself.

Recommended for those who love graphic action and need a good laugh.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
BitashSep 10, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like action movies, I have liked Bay movies in the past, First Transformers, Armageddon, Bad boys....so thought hey it’s 2019, maybe Bay read his critics and with the budget he had for this movie he can now offer us something magnificent.
I watched the first 30 min and the. Literally got angry...why can’t he give us a better movie with all that he has at his disposal?

Let’s talk about the good, amazing action scene in beginning, car chase is well done....ok I watched it and now let’s hope we can get something more out of this movie.....but nope...it just got worse.

Now let’s see what went wrong:
1. Ryan.R...he doesn’t have a huge acting range...just imagine he is exactly like he was in Deadpool...but I know Bay likes that humor so he probably encouraged it

2. He cast an Israeli actor for the Turkish dictator and the brother is casted by a Persian actor!!! With a Thick Persian accent! Nooo way! I can hear the Persian accent , these two don’t pass as brothers at all. Bad casting.

3. For a movie high budget movie editing is awful....continuity issues right away in the first car chase:
- the supposed female doctor doing surgery in the back of the car to remove a bullet from the other girl...yeah....she has scissors in hand and car is shaking and moving and these two have no seat belts and are somehow magically not thrown all over the place!!! Ok let’s move past that.....a scene she tries to take the bullet out and blood splashes in her eye ( yaaay more gory stuff), but wait...in the slo mo scenes she has blood on her chin! Not in her eye....what happened? Not even smear of blood around the eye in the following scenes! They must have been so focused on the stunt and action/ explosion scenes that no one realized the blood is placed in wrong area....they must have shot that scene so many times they forgot!!!

- Again the first car chase, they going around a round about in Italy, a sexy mom holding her baby is running away from the car with high heels, slow mo shows her with baby and bag on her shoulder...cut and splice to another slow mo and he has no bag on her shoulder!!!! Nooo way...that’s baaaad...come on Michael..no one caught that?...next a man drop his bag on floor as he tries to get away from car...slowmo...bag is not there, next scene, bag is there !!! Omg no way, done it 3x in 10 min.....awful 4. Unnecessary sex scenes, he does that in all his movies, I think he meets hot girls and says hey wanna be in my movie, I can use you, and just writes random sex scene in there for them! ..unrelated to anything in the movie...why? Cuz Bay likes sexy random chick shots with girls jumping into bed with Teddy’s and high heels! One min they are killing people, next sec they re having sex in the next room! Doesn’t make sense

5. He uses the group Storror for parkour scenes, why? Cuz they make the movie look cool, they are amazing but useless in the movie....they don’t contribute to anything in the movie but the fact that shots are cool. They create a movie with tons of cool shots and splice them together! 6. Constant hyper splicing the scenes, time flash causes confusion....one scene they re in Vegas and next min they suddenly in Paris? At end, Bay is laughing all way to the bank, he is giving his fans what they need, pretty shots an vivid colors, constant explosions, fast expensive cars, beautiful ladies, mindless sex. An his fans eat it up, he never has to change, the movie doesn’t have to make sense or even have a good plot. Shame , cuz he could deliver good movies if he could just read the critics point of view.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
nkukDec 22, 2020
This is by far one of the worst films I've ever seen. There aren't many films I can't watch all the way through, but this was one of them. It starts with a very Michael-Bay over the top car chase sequence which is watchable and then decendsThis is by far one of the worst films I've ever seen. There aren't many films I can't watch all the way through, but this was one of them. It starts with a very Michael-Bay over the top car chase sequence which is watchable and then decends into complete rubbish. The 'plot' is incoherent nonsense, the script is terrible and the pacing is all over the place. I grew bored of the movie really quickly, didn't care for any of the characters and had no interest in seeing where the story went, basically because there wasn't one, it was just a hot mess of dumb action sequences stringed together. Lifes too short to sit through this kind of garbage. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews