Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 30, 2022
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 34 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
8
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JLuis_001Dec 30, 2022
Tom Hanks recently stated that he had only made four very good films in his career and, jokes aside, he's not helping himself much in that regard with roles like this one.
Especially falling short of what the original Swedish film achieved
Tom Hanks recently stated that he had only made four very good films in his career and, jokes aside, he's not helping himself much in that regard with roles like this one.
Especially falling short of what the original Swedish film achieved with such little and ease.

A Man Called Otto is a story you can easily get into, but evidently it will never be believable enough.
This is mainly because it all comes down to Tom Hanks' character.

He is an excellent actor and although his character is not supposed to be charismatic, he knows how to sell it perfectly, but at the end of the day there's very little to go to, and beyond any predictability, if the character doesn't overcome a certain barrier with the viewer, and by that I mean that you fall for his whole attitude, then the movie will do very little for you.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
bored13Jan 5, 2023
Doesn't quite connect. Good chemistry with the cast but overall the pacing and structure is very off putting. The flashbacks...
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
bertobellamyDec 30, 2022
After a year of terrible roles, Tom Hanks finally delivers us a more or less decent one. 'A Man Called Otto' is nothing extraordinary, but it certainly could have been worse. Although the story falls into melodrama — especially during theAfter a year of terrible roles, Tom Hanks finally delivers us a more or less decent one. 'A Man Called Otto' is nothing extraordinary, but it certainly could have been worse. Although the story falls into melodrama — especially during the insufferable flashbacks —, the chemistry between the veteran actor and Mariana Treviño — who looks comfortable and confident in her role — becomes the heart of the film; the bond they have generates some funny situations. Director Marc Forster and his team take a safe approach, resulting in a flat but entertaining film. A shorter duration would undoubtedly have been better Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PeculiarmomJan 6, 2023
I found the movie to be quite true to the spirit of the book. Tom hanks and Mariana Trevino are perfect in all their scenes. They just play off each other so well. It is tender, endearing, funny and inspiring. It is very life affirming. It isI found the movie to be quite true to the spirit of the book. Tom hanks and Mariana Trevino are perfect in all their scenes. They just play off each other so well. It is tender, endearing, funny and inspiring. It is very life affirming. It is pro people and I love that. Everyone needs caring people in their life and we really can make a difference in the lives of others if we try. If you’re breathing, you have a purpose. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
AmblerEdwardJan 13, 2023
This was a decent film but I question casting Tom and Rita casting Tom as Otto. We just saw Tom portray Mister Rodgers in this same city Pittsburgh. This film was almost as if Mister Rodgers had gotten dementia and turned into an angry,This was a decent film but I question casting Tom and Rita casting Tom as Otto. We just saw Tom portray Mister Rodgers in this same city Pittsburgh. This film was almost as if Mister Rodgers had gotten dementia and turned into an angry, bitter, hopeless man. A better actor selection would have given this film less of a distraction and ask for the audience. How about Ed Harris, Paul Giamanti, Michael Keaton, Chris Cooper or David Straithairn to name a few. This film was like Gran Torino Light in many ways. I get that his life was confined but they couldn't have shown the same house or street in the context of the neighborhood or an overhead view. Very short on locations for a city rich for a cinematographer to film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SRFJan 9, 2023
I agree with Richard Roeper that “A Man Called Otto” is “… a small and warmhearted gem”.
Yes, this film does tug at the heartstrings quite a bit, but it also deals with many different aspects of the human condition. In a believable way it
I agree with Richard Roeper that “A Man Called Otto” is “… a small and warmhearted gem”.
Yes, this film does tug at the heartstrings quite a bit, but it also deals with many different aspects of the human condition. In a believable way it covers such topics/issues as suicide, love, loyalty, friendship, loss/grief, forgiveness, and more. I was surprised that Tom Hanks was able to be so authentic in his role. The screenplay is excellent, as is the supporting cast, especially Mariana Trevino, who plays his pregnant neighbour. I would recommend this film to anyone who is interested in real human stories. Four of five stars from me!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BondiBuddhaJan 7, 2023
Tom Hanks is a gem. The greatest actor totally convinces you of their role, no matter how improbable. Mr Hanks is the supreme master of this, be it in Forest Gump, A Beautiful Day in the neighborhood, or this heart-warming wrench at the soul.Tom Hanks is a gem. The greatest actor totally convinces you of their role, no matter how improbable. Mr Hanks is the supreme master of this, be it in Forest Gump, A Beautiful Day in the neighborhood, or this heart-warming wrench at the soul. DO NOT MISS watching this.I laughed,I cried (more than once) and I had to wait to the very end of the film, just in case. Mortality has never been so joyful to watch. Do not listen to the critics who say it a predictable film in a predictable role. They have only watched the film superficially. Death is predictable for us all...it has to happen...but it makes life worth living, as this film so amply points out. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
PamS9Jan 6, 2023
Loved the emotion in this movie while also creating comedy moments in the darkest of times. Otto and Marisol can tell the whole story through expression. Best I've seen in a while.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
HabibiehakimJan 13, 2023
8.5/10
It is the first movie that i watch in 2023 in the theaters but not the first original 2023 movie that i watch in the theaters, A Man Called Otto starring Tom Hanks is an adaptation from both the novel and the swedish film which i never
8.5/10
It is the first movie that i watch in 2023 in the theaters but not the first original 2023 movie that i watch in the theaters, A Man Called Otto starring Tom Hanks is an adaptation from both the novel and the swedish film which i never read and watch so i can't really compare it to those two, and as the blind one i really really do think A Man Called Otto is a very nice touching little film that while it needs to be growing for me at first, it keeps working and working even more and i love it at the end, very very strongly perform by the great Tom Hanks and the rest of the supporting cast performance are just delightful and amazing, it's a 2 hours of an enjoyable, funny, and entertaining film with a very serious theme that when it touch on the serious theme it really hit me to the heart, A Man Called Otto flawed at a some places but overall i still have quite a good time with A Man Called Otto in the theaters and as a movie itself like i mention earlier, a very nice touching little film that fills with a great story, amazing performance by all the cast with their likable convincing good characters, also great music and good score, i love it and i highly recommended.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
evanbiddulphJan 14, 2023
So many tears, we absolutely loved this movie. Tom Hanks is a one of a kind talent! We were so glad we went to this movie for date night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryJan 17, 2023
Naturally, you'd expect an actor with a rep for being one Holllywood's nicest to be cast as this grumpy old man. Tom Hanks plays the title character who rigidly enforces his housing community’s rules and has never recovered from the loss ofNaturally, you'd expect an actor with a rep for being one Holllywood's nicest to be cast as this grumpy old man. Tom Hanks plays the title character who rigidly enforces his housing community’s rules and has never recovered from the loss of his beloved wife. As expected, people or events have to change his extremely negative attitude and this happens primarily in terms of a new neighbor, played by Mariana Treviño. Her delightful spunk provides the film's best comedy, esp. opposite the appropriately cantankerous Hanks. While the story is predictable, it's written and directed with integrity. It's based on a Swedish film called A Man Called Ove and much of the same sentiments apply. Both are well directed (this one by the highly accomplished Marc Foster), nicely acted and sweetly told. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Stream2BigScreeJan 16, 2023
Hey, Streamers! January seems to be the month where studios dump their leftovers and audiences have to scrape the bottom of the barrel for something worthwhile to watch. When I was not toiling away in the gym trying to stick to that NewHey, Streamers! January seems to be the month where studios dump their leftovers and audiences have to scrape the bottom of the barrel for something worthwhile to watch. When I was not toiling away in the gym trying to stick to that New Year’s Resolution, I ventured to the box office to see if this Tom Hanks flick was worth the price of admission. Who doesn’t like a grumpy old man being grumpy for two hours, right?!?! Anyway, A Man Called Otto got my attention, and here’ how it went.

A Man Called Otto is a based on a book by Fredrik Backman titled A Man Called Ove, which was turned into a Swedish film of the same name in 2015. Here, Marc Forster directs Tom Hanks as Otto, a curmudgeonly widower, who is fed up with everything, his neighbors, his neighborhood, his life. Everyone is moving on as things change around Otto, and he’s making some drastic choices about his life. When new neighbors, Marisol (Mariana Trevino), Tommy (Manuel Garcia-Rulfo) and their children, move in across the street, Otto gets pulled into their orbit and maybe begins to see new possibilities in life. Does his cold heart start to melt? You tell me. Grouchy hijinks ensue.

Tom Hanks slips into grumpy, grandpa mode to play Otto. He’s pretty good as usual. There isn’t much to Otto except that he’s unpleasant and kind of like the “Karen” of his neighborhood. There is a palpable sadness to the character that Hanks portrays. It isn’t until Mariana Trevino’s Marisol engages with Otto that the movie starts to come alive. Trevino is a force of nature and such a warm and inviting presence. It is no wonder Otto can’t resist her. The rest of the ensemble also begins to gel as well and shows how a neighborhood become a tight community. The emotions of the movie get heightened and really pull the audience in.

The film is too long. It could probably be 15-20 minutes shorter. It gets repetitive and I don’t think that the repetition adds anything to the story. There are also flashback sequences throughout that show the life of Otto and his wife, Sonya, that are illuminating but become intrusive. It is interesting to note that Truman Hanks, Tom’s son, plays the young Otto in the flashbacks. While the flashbacks are necessary to support the emotional resonance of the movie, I could have used less of them.

A Man Called Otto is a nice family movie. It shows how being neighborly can impact the lives of the community. While the story gets repetitive and is predictable, it does hit emotional highs that make the movie satisfying overall especially because of the performances of Tom Hanks and Mariana Trevino. This movie is not the kind of film that is necessary to be seen on the big screen, so I’d suggest checking it out when it comes to streaming. A handful of popcorn is enough for this one.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
januarysixteenJan 14, 2023
This movie is too sad. I don't cry at movies. But this daisy chains all the tragic events in life into one story. Plus multiple self-deletion attempts. Well done movie. But way too sad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GrungusJan 18, 2023
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this movie is a cynical product meant to manipulate older generations that yearn for the warmth and simplicity of their youth into rooting for a man who's there to save all these "poor colored folk" from themselves. Every character other than Otto felt like they were placed there in front of him specifically so he could fix them and show them "how they did it back in the good ol'days". "Look at this silly guy, he's overweight and effeminate and friendly, this man should be laughed at." "Get a load of this **** driving the truck behind our car stopped on a green light, why can this fool not understand I'm teaching this grown lady to drive in an unmarked car that does not specify she is a student driver in any way? I should throw him out of his truck for honking his horn and threaten to kill him because that's what this youngster deserves surely, he has long hair and tattoos and called me old!!".

"This man likes the color pink?? lmao, am I right audience?"

There are a lot of scenes in this movie that made it very clear to me that they were really feeding off that 50+ demographic. The one that annoyed me the most was the following;

Otto decides he's going to try jumping in front of a train. Before he can, another old man falls onto the tracks and helplessly lies there while a gaggle of teens and 20-somethings immediately take out their phones and start recording him, talking about their followers and speaking to each other as though what was happening around them was a spectacle that doesn't really involve them. There were a few shouts to get help here and there, but of course, our boy Otto is the only one with common sense in this crowd of wayward youth that have lost their way. Pokemon Go to the polls. He jumps down and saves the day.

A lot can be said about being young right now. It's scary and frightening in ways that people like me in their 30s can have a difficult time understanding or relating to. Technology truly can do a lot of damage to a person's perception of the world and the suffering of others. There are undoubtedly lots of **** brain-dead kids out there with no awareness or understanding of how to be kind to themselves and others. However,

I've met enough young people to know that the problem usually isn't that they don't care, or they aren't brave or capable of showing warmth and concern for other people, it's how and where they should direct that love and concern that has become incredibly difficult to navigate without strong guidance from well-adjusted parents and adults that are willing to listen to their kids and really pay attention to the media and personalities they intake. I don't think most kids would leave an old man to die on train tracks purely out of passivity and vanity. That scene in this silly movie made for easily influenced old people says much more about the older generations than the younger. Their inability to resist glossing over complicated issues with fish in a barrel, lowest hanging fruit jokes about how the kids are hopeless and the world is crumbling to **** because all the good people are old or gone. Their willingness to include minority groups in their films and tv shows, but only as an overcompensation for the jokes made at their expense, which would be more forgivable if they were the least bit clever or funny. Minorities are there to elevate their main vanilla character in some way and highlight how he's a hero who accepts everyone and everything as equals on the surface, while maybe unknowingly to the people who made the film, highlighting instead the roots of racism and other isms and phobias that they are so lazy and inept about hiding. Also, there was a cat in this movie that was only in the movie to suffer so Otto could get "awws" from the audience, being the superman of the neighborhood for all his goofy diverse buddies was not enough. Not a fan of that, if you have a hard time seeing animals in peril you should avoid the whole thing, it isn't worth it. The cat was cute though so it bumps the movie up a point.

I was planning on giving this one a 4 but it made my mom cry and she was happy to see it with me and I love her very much so I'll give it a 5. Perhaps despite itself, it serves a purpose in that.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
iCampoRamilJan 29, 2023
Parecía que iba a ser una comedia más, y lo es, pero con unos toques muy muy dark y unas magníficas actuaciones, además de un trasfondo de los que merecen la pena, el encontrarle un nuevo sentido a la vida.

· Cosas buenas: las actuaciones,
Parecía que iba a ser una comedia más, y lo es, pero con unos toques muy muy dark y unas magníficas actuaciones, además de un trasfondo de los que merecen la pena, el encontrarle un nuevo sentido a la vida.

· Cosas buenas: las actuaciones, Tom Hanks y María Treviño son muy muy buenos, la parte oscura que tiene le da un toque diferente, y los flashbacks, a contrario de todo el mundo, que no les gusta, a mi me gustan y es lo de da un buen hilo conductor a la película y su toque tierno, que nunca falte.
· Cosas malas: una vez que ves las costuras, no deja de ser bastante previsible. Si nos ponemos técnicos es muy televisiva y tiene poco cine.
· Conclusión: a mi me gustó mucho, no suelo ver mucho este estilo de películas, por eso no estoy saturado, pero si son de tu tipo, a lo mejor es un poco más de lo mismo.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alanpotter17Jan 21, 2023
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Com uma pegada natalina e proposta clean demais até para os padrões americanos, esse novo filme protagonizado e produzido por Tom Hanks me pegou de jeito.
Trata-se da história de Otto, um viúvo ranzinza mas que adora a ordem e o progresso, e por isso acaba se intrometendo na vida de muitas pessoas ao seu redor. Seus novos vizinhos, caracterizados até por caricaturas, são latino-americanos recém chegados, e se cruzam com Otto quando o senhor os vê tentando manobrar o carro (erroneamente, claro, e daí o incômodo de Otto). O marido é tomado como um anta, não sabe fazer nada, e a mulher aos poucos vai conquistando Otto pela culinária.
Cada vizinho tem com ele uma história, e é como se acompanhássemos a "A felicidade não se compra" para a geração tik tok: Otto, desgostoso com a vida, tenta suicídio diversas vezes, mas obviamente falha em todas, e aos poucos vai colorindo a vida pelas relações estabelecidas. Há por exemplo, o menino trans, a quem Otto acolhe meio que a contragosto, por ele ter sido aluno da sua falecida esposa, e não apenas com ele, mas com outros, Otto vai se permitindo se abrir.
Ainda tem a questão das imobiliárias, o que faz me lembrar mesmo de "A felicidade não se compra". Bem, mesmo que seja um filme de proposta batida, ainda consigo me emocionar com essas mensagens clichês. É bem feitinho, tem atuação ok (Hanks não está no seu melhor momento), mas é efetivo na mensagem. Emociona.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NipputripathiJan 21, 2023
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Awesome Work Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews