Twentieth Century Fox | Release Date: September 20, 2019
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 19 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
10
Mixed:
3
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
sherry18Sep 20, 2019
A Masterpiece. Brad Pitt deserve an Oscar for this and for Once Upon a Time in Hollywood. I really loved that. Max Ritcher is perfect.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
patnianSep 20, 2019
To be honest, a 9 is generous but it's in response to the ludicrously low scores submitted so far. Brad Pitt gives a measured, award worthy performance in an absorbing and genuinely thought provoking Sci-fi epic. It does require patience butTo be honest, a 9 is generous but it's in response to the ludicrously low scores submitted so far. Brad Pitt gives a measured, award worthy performance in an absorbing and genuinely thought provoking Sci-fi epic. It does require patience but is vastly superior to the overrated, ponderous Arrival that someone has compared it to. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondSep 20, 2019
As a big fan of space movies, especially of the 2001 ilk, I found this one highly entertaining. Brad Pitt is just perfect in the role, and even that curmudgeon Tommy Lee Jones is solid as his dad. The story is well-told, there's greatAs a big fan of space movies, especially of the 2001 ilk, I found this one highly entertaining. Brad Pitt is just perfect in the role, and even that curmudgeon Tommy Lee Jones is solid as his dad. The story is well-told, there's great action, and the message - the philosophy of the film is well developed and deftly delivered. Highly enjoyable - recommended. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
SouljklSep 20, 2019
Fantastic movie, it's one of these movies where you realize at the end how powerful the cinema can be!!
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
5
RPPJrSep 20, 2019
If you liked Arrival and Interstellar you’ll like Ad Astra. For me, all those films failed on a plot and character level because they were so focused on trying to “say something”. Theme needs to be felt organically by the audience via aIf you liked Arrival and Interstellar you’ll like Ad Astra. For me, all those films failed on a plot and character level because they were so focused on trying to “say something”. Theme needs to be felt organically by the audience via a character’s actions and the plot. When filmmakers hit us over the head with it by putting it in dialogue and voice over, it bores the audience. Except for critics who mistake that kind of movie making for deep art. There are a couple of touching moments and a couple of thrilling ones, but they are two few and far between. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
3
TorinHillSep 19, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible writing. The fact that this has an 80 calls these critics' credibility into question. My dude flew through the rings of Neptune, free-solo, using aluminum siding as a shield. I guffawed loudly.
He then collides with an orbiting ship going who-knows-how-fast, and arrests the impact with his... his hands.

An amazing budget squandered on grade school father issue|s.

Our collective intelligence has been insulted.
Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
1
rose_rdSep 19, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Once again, I am shocked at the degree of corruption among movie reviewers - it's quite evident that these people are either extremely purchasable or hopelessly pretentious. Ad Astra is the worst space movie to come out in recent times. Terrible writing overall, with shallow, one-dimensional characters who are about as memorable as the cold rice porridge I had this morning. Brad Pitt spends most of the movie rambling to himself about his daddy issues, and it all comes off as terribly pretentious - I don't even know what theme they were trying to explore with this movie, but it just fails. I don't even remember the character's name, despite the movie being very focused on the character's relationship with his father.

The science in this movie is bad enough that it was impossible to suspend any disbelief. Like Mr. TorinHill said, I could not help but gasp due to the sheer mediocrity of the scene where the main character grabs a thin metal shield and just...floats through the rings of Neptune, which are depicted as being an asteroid field a la Star Wars, about maybe a few hundred meters thick. It's a goddamn travesty and all of it is rather pointless and stupid, and contrasts with this movie's failed attempts at portraying itself as a science fiction movie with gravitas. Light speed and other factors are also completely ignored.

There is no main plotline. Through the course of the movie, the focus is either on resolving a generic world-ending crisis caused by an ' electrical surge' caused by an antimatter leak in a spacecraft in Neptune, which is the worst excuse for a fictional existential threat that I've ever seen, due to the exposition being pathetically weak overall - nobody ever explains why the spacecraft ever had any anti-matter at all. The protagonist's father spends decades either travelling to Neptune or doing research there, nothing is ever made clear. What's evident is that the character can just zip over to Neptune in a few months, which makes the other plotline, involving investigating his father's disappearance over Neptune (a decade after the fact) weak and pointless. Someone would have done it already. Anyway, there is no coherent plotline to speak off. It all ends stupidly and without meaningful resolution.

Disgusting. Weakest performance by Brad Pitt in decades, as someone else said. I want two hours of my life back.

One point for the Moon and Neptune visuals.
Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
4
SSRSep 20, 2019
Can't agree with average critical opinion on this. Couldn't have cared less about the characters. Story was a mess, or more so a mess of editing. Exposition so heavily laboured I was eye rolling (yes Brad, we know your dad is difficult!). TooCan't agree with average critical opinion on this. Couldn't have cared less about the characters. Story was a mess, or more so a mess of editing. Exposition so heavily laboured I was eye rolling (yes Brad, we know your dad is difficult!). Too long, or at least a lack of content. And I'm not put off by slow films; I like Solaris (both versions), Stalker, Blade Runner etc. Production was great, and a couple of nice set pieces, that's the best I can say. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
jackronnerSep 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spoiler Alert: if don't want to spoil your evening, avoid "Ad Astra" movie. Besides being slow, wooden in writing and acting and its plot making no sense, not since T-Rump has science been so utterly ignored. E.g., Within minutes of sending it, Pitt asks if they've received a response to his radio message to Neptune; it would take 8 hours at light speed before the msg was answered. And, 89 days to go 2.5 billion miles? A million miles an hour on average? The acceleration values would have splattered them over the bulkheads. They keep suddenly falling in space when there is no inciting force or gravity to account for it, etc. (same problem in the inaptly named "Gravity" with George Clooney). I'll bet the MIT message boards are exploding in laughter. Can't they ask someone with a smidge of knowledge before they produce this dreck? Did I mention it was boring? Astonished at the gushing professional reviews once again, especially since the writing was as subtle as a two-by-four to the head. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
xenogSep 20, 2019
A mission is sent to Neptune to search for extraterrestrial intelligence, as it is evident that this resource is dwnindling on Earth.

At the start of the twenty-first century Hollywood ran out of competent storytellers and writers, churning
A mission is sent to Neptune to search for extraterrestrial intelligence, as it is evident that this resource is dwnindling on Earth.


At the start of the twenty-first century Hollywood ran out of competent storytellers and writers, churning out a lithany of low quality films with flashy special effects. The arrival of computers led creators to believe that they no longer needed to write stories to accompany the moving images they produced. Films could not spark the imaginations of filmgoers, leading to progressive degeneration of people's cognitive ability. Our only hope was to set up a lunar base, and one on Mars, so that we could send a mission to Neptune in order to possibly get an extraterrestrial intelligence to send help before it was too late.


But it was too late. Roy McBride went to space at the end of the 21 century to deal with his daddy issues and save the mission sent out to find extraterrestrial intelligence. He got psychological evaluations every five minutes, as the creative black hole that consumed our planet left him in a state of psychological disarray.


By the time the aliens arrived at our planet they found billions of whining dumbed down ape-like creatures that entertain themselves creating and watching pointless movies on small screens manufactured by ancient automated robots that nobody understands anymore.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews