Aviron Pictures | Release Date: April 12, 2019
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 61 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
4
Negative:
30
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
CinephileeApr 13, 2019
This movie is your typical good girl meets bad boy romance, so as for plot twists, can't say there were many. The acting was average at best, but it wasn't like the characters were exactly the most complex to portray, so I suppose the actorsThis movie is your typical good girl meets bad boy romance, so as for plot twists, can't say there were many. The acting was average at best, but it wasn't like the characters were exactly the most complex to portray, so I suppose the actors did their job. In addition, the characters either fit complete stereotypes or simply did not have any personalities at all. Side note: I refuse to applaud Anna Todd for making the movie "diverse". She made Tristan a girl, which would have been interesting had Pia Mia been on the screen for more than 4 minutes. Anyone else getting the same queerbaiting vibes as Riverdale? And representing the African American community with Landon wouldn't have been a problem had he had more duties than being the typical 'black best friend's stereotype.The biggest thieves of the screens were the two main characters, Tessa and Hardin. The movie focused much more on the romance between them rather than them as individual people with separate stories and personalities. For a movie that bragged about encouraging empowerment, they sure made Tessa seem dependent on Hardin and hinted at her being irrelevant without Hardin. I mean, a lot of romance movies are guilty of this, but still, it makes for some pretty unrelatable and boring characters, especially the female lead. Another side note: Josephine Langford is an okay actress, however the producers should have told her that her Australian accent came through way too much and asked her to do the scene again. The editing was a bit odd, including a lot of shots of characters just staring at each other and extreme close ups of body parts and objects. Jenny Gage was way too dependent on montages to save this film. In terms of plot, some of the character motives were lost in the fast-paced nature of the film. Believe me, it was incredibly too fast. This is something that happens a lot in book to film adaptations, since it is very difficult to cram what would be a 10 hour reading session in a 2 hour movie, but still, they could have tried a bit harder. Instead of trying to stuff a film with new scenes that have zero relevance, this movie should have at least tried to include scenes from the book that may have been a waste of time as well but at least they weren't brought out of thin air. This movie was, well, forgettable. Beyond average and disappointing. Overall, it just blends in with the rest of the teen romance genre, if anything being a flop to others in that category Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
GreatMartinApr 12, 2019
I am the first to admit that I am a sucker for a love story and the last couple of years I have gotten hung up on young adult love stories, where one is usually struck with a life-threatening disease such as "5 Feet Apart" and "The Fault inI am the first to admit that I am a sucker for a love story and the last couple of years I have gotten hung up on young adult love stories, where one is usually struck with a life-threatening disease such as "5 Feet Apart" and "The Fault in the Stars" so I suggested we go see "After" not knowing anything about it except it was based on a YA book.

There is no medical crisis in the movie but there is Tesa, a very good girl who is smart, has a boyfriend who she has known since she was 5, is pretty, follows the rules and is majoring in economics to make a living, though her real love is literature with a leaning towards Jane Austen. Walking into her dorm room this sheltered girl finds her tattooed, noserings, pierced, multi-colored hair roommate, not that there is anything wrong with that, is more than willing to educate the newbie. Tesa is played by Josephine Langford who does a fine job with what she is given to play.

Now you know a good girl like this with a roommate like Steph, played by KhadijhaRed Thunder, will meet the 'bad' boy and he shows up in the hunky body of Hardin, played by Hero Fiennes Tiffin, a nephew of actors Joseph and Ralph Fiennes. He has the looks of the former only more smoldering but not quite the acting talent of the former, though this movie really doesn't give him a chance to show any talent. Trying to make him a combination of Darcy and Heathcliff, and he quotes them both, the director and screenwriters let his character down.

With actors like Peter Gallagher as Hardin's son, Selma Blair as Tesa's mother, Meadow Williams Tesa and Landin's English professor and Jennifer Beals plus the young actors including Shane Paul McGhie, Inanna Sarkis and others the leads get good support but the director Jenny Gage and the script by Susan McMartin let the cast and the audience down.

The movie is agonizingly slow getting the love story started, goes off in a few directions that either lead nowhere or are dropped when they should have been expanded but the biggest letdown is when what motivates Hardin, one regarding Tesa and the other himself, is revealed which should have but doesn't move the audience.

(An aside: Allen and I were the whole audience!)

"After" is not a good movie due to the script and direction.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
virgen99Apr 13, 2019
La película super linda con una trama interesante. A mi me encanto!, esta claro que faltaron algunas cosas del libro pero obvio no va a ser exactamente igual por algo es una adaptación. Cambiaron ciertas cosas pero eso no quita el hecho deLa película super linda con una trama interesante. A mi me encanto!, esta claro que faltaron algunas cosas del libro pero obvio no va a ser exactamente igual por algo es una adaptación. Cambiaron ciertas cosas pero eso no quita el hecho de que la película llama la atención y sea buena. El elenco muy bien elaborado, Tessa y Hardin hicieron un muy buen trabajo para ser su primera vez siendo personajes principales. Ahora espero mi secula asdfghjkl Collapse
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
10
rebekah12Apr 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this movie is a classic romantic and ticks all the boxes for an amazing movie.This cast is amazing the chemistry between Hardin and Tessa is absolutly amazing, the way the kiss is always passionate and the way they look at each other is something everyone dreams of, the are amazing actors.This is the best movie I have ever saw and I really hope there is a second movie really soon and a third movie after that and as many as they need to do to finish the story.I have read the books and yeah there is some moments I would love to add but the movie is only slightly different from the book but in ways its better.The movie did transition fast and I wish they could have made it longer but that's because I wish t had lasted forever .Please give this movie the ratings it so deserves.I wouldn't change this movie at all aside from making it like 3 hours , every part of the movie sold me I think they are actually in love. The bet was better as it made it more about taking something more precious but it also contrasted with how much she truly changed him and how much he influenced her.After 2 please happen and more movie after movies after that with all same cast cause they made the movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
stezo2kJul 14, 2019
Great story and interesting characters. I was glued to my seat. I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
0987Apr 30, 2019
This happenes when you rely on trailer and got interesed to see this movie. After watching this movie, I felt completely dissapointed that I couldn't explain. This movie is completely awful, nothing exciting happens. Totally wasted 90 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Compi24Apr 24, 2019
Truly an anomaly in the purest sense, "After" is that rare "how did this ever get made?" type of movie that somehow manages to confound every sensibility in your head, whilst also making you feel like you as a filmmaker/screenwriter/etc. canTruly an anomaly in the purest sense, "After" is that rare "how did this ever get made?" type of movie that somehow manages to confound every sensibility in your head, whilst also making you feel like you as a filmmaker/screenwriter/etc. can truly make it in the business someday. Based in large part on -- I sh*t you the Hell not -- a One Direction fan fiction from author Anna Todd, this film not only represents an utterly woeful piece of original storytelling, but a decidedly problematic one. "Date sh*tty guys," the movie says. "It'll hurt, but it's the kind of hurt that you -- a useless, nothing of a little girl -- need," it says. Man, oh, man is there so much to hate about this brain-meltingly backwards film that somehow happens to be directed, produced, and written by predominately female filmmakers. To think that you could adapt a pathetic fan-fiction based on a sh*tty pop culture item that no one cares about anymore would be so laughable if it wasn't already so depressingly familiar. And it doesn't even work as a fan-fiction, considering how the litigious removal of the actual band members' names renders this concept into something that no self-respecting human being would ever care to find out about prior to watching. Without the fan-service fantasy in play, you end up with the vivisected trunk of a fan-fiction. Cardboard cutout characters. Tropes galore. A crippling misunderstanding of how to construct a cinematic plot. And a clubfoot of a thematic cancer at the end of this horribly-intentioned, ugly leg of a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
mohamad91hkJul 17, 2019
The movie is based on Anna Todd novel, and as I read, she is writing the sequel "After We Collided" which is planned for release in 2020, my message for Anna and the producers "Please don't do it", "After" is one of the worst romantic filmsThe movie is based on Anna Todd novel, and as I read, she is writing the sequel "After We Collided" which is planned for release in 2020, my message for Anna and the producers "Please don't do it", "After" is one of the worst romantic films I've ever seen, the movie's plot is so silly, most romantic movies focus on the emotional side to win audience's hearts, but in "After" there's nothing, even the ridiculous twist, it wasn't emotional at all.

Movie stars are Josephine & Hero, new young faces in Hollywood, I really liked Josephine performance, she was perfect, I hope to watch her in a movie better than this one, she has great potential.

Lastly, Don't waste your time, even if you like romantic movies, you can watch "Five Feet Apart", it's totally better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Mistermovies91Apr 18, 2019
This movie is bad, I mean really bad. If you think that "The Kissing Booth" is pure trash, you still haven't see anything. At least that movie try (with really poor results) to be light and fun, but this is really flat, pretentious,This movie is bad, I mean really bad. If you think that "The Kissing Booth" is pure trash, you still haven't see anything. At least that movie try (with really poor results) to be light and fun, but this is really flat, pretentious, inconclusive and terribly stupid, but "Fifty Shades of Grey" kind of stupidity (and that's saying something). How did they spend 17 million on this stuff? How? The only set scenes are literally just a class, two room and a lake. Plus, the one on this film it's the most ridiculous and surreal forced drama I've ever seen, "Twilight" by comparison is a cinematic masterpiece, and what the hell was that ending? Horrible. Just horrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
weskergamerJun 1, 2019
Bastante disfrutable, deja bastante por desear al final de la película pero es una historia bonita aunq no bien planteada.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NormalCriticApr 14, 2019
Terrible, al igual que el libro en el que se basa. Debe ser de lo peor que he visto en lo que va del 2019. La dirección y la actuación no tienen nada destacable, lo horrible es sin duda todo el guión y sus personajes incluyendo ese romanceTerrible, al igual que el libro en el que se basa. Debe ser de lo peor que he visto en lo que va del 2019. La dirección y la actuación no tienen nada destacable, lo horrible es sin duda todo el guión y sus personajes incluyendo ese romance pedorro. Fuera de esto aborrezco las películas que normalizan actos tóxicos. No la vean. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
pimpollo2May 2, 2019
It's just another romantic movie, with the sexy bad boy and the silly girl, it seems that they were not based on the books of this saga, it lacked toxicity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mxthiildxMay 18, 2019
This is one of my favorite movie ever, like it means so much to me. I’ve seen it 5 times in cinema already and i can’t get enough of it. Of course you have to read the books before watching it, you’ll understand more the story cause the movieThis is one of my favorite movie ever, like it means so much to me. I’ve seen it 5 times in cinema already and i can’t get enough of it. Of course you have to read the books before watching it, you’ll understand more the story cause the movie is kinda rushed (but still good) but don’t ever compare the book to the movie, do not expect the movie to be as good as the book for example. But yeah i love it forever. BUY THE DVD, OUT THE 9TH OF JULY Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Marko35Jun 6, 2019
An absolutely beautiful movie with an interesting plot and story. The film is emotional yet serous when it needs to be. Deserves this rating since it's also an independent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ScathashJun 26, 2019
Considering it's a movie based a book series, the movie just doesn't match the story. There are too many important things missing and there are too many differences between book and movie.
While watching the movie you can't even understand
Considering it's a movie based a book series, the movie just doesn't match the story. There are too many important things missing and there are too many differences between book and movie.
While watching the movie you can't even understand the essence of Tessa's and Hardin's relationship! Their personalities are there but they're completely muffled and softened!
The author once said After wasn't supposed to be a romance novel but a real life love story. In the movie that doesn't happen at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Ashlyn_Review48Jun 26, 2019
This movie is awful. The plot is meaningless, boring, cliche, and watered down. It is nothing special and is like any other romance series. The two characters have an unhealthy relationship and it is honestly disgusting that the movieThis movie is awful. The plot is meaningless, boring, cliche, and watered down. It is nothing special and is like any other romance series. The two characters have an unhealthy relationship and it is honestly disgusting that the movie fantasizes a relationship like that. The whole series promotes unhealthy habits. The characters seem to try too hard when they act. It's a bit dramatic that they fall in love so deeply with each other in just a few days. If you hear any good reviews of this movie it is probably just a crazy fan girl who thinks Hardin Scott is the hottest man on the planet. I mean if you are making a romance novel at least get a hot guy to play the lead. The books themselves are way too long for such a boring and cliche plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MaddiecJul 3, 2019
Amazing movie, I personally have read the book many times and started where it all began as a fan fic on wattpad and I can say that the movie definitely gave the book justice and i sat on the edge of the seat the entire movie so I definitelyAmazing movie, I personally have read the book many times and started where it all began as a fan fic on wattpad and I can say that the movie definitely gave the book justice and i sat on the edge of the seat the entire movie so I definitely suggest you watch it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Avs_32Jul 10, 2019
Hi,
I’ve read the books and after watching the movie I’ve got to say that they focused the plot on the wrong way. The movie was too much focused on how Tessa and Hardin fall in love. However, what made them fall in Love was their background,
Hi,
I’ve read the books and after watching the movie I’ve got to say that they focused the plot on the wrong way. The movie was too much focused on how Tessa and Hardin fall in love. However, what made them fall in Love was their background, their story, their family, their friends... and all of this is necesary to understand why Tessa and Hardin are who they are and why they behave as they do! In the movie you do not really get to know any of this so it seems like Hardin and Tessa have a strong sexual attraction and that’s it, when there’s so much more between them. The lack of background is so big So, I do not wanna be too harsh but the movie wasn’t driven is the right direction, sorry.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Natalie19Jul 13, 2019
Loved it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
dshorter21Jul 17, 2019
I had high expectations for this movie because I really thought the books were so good. The movie was basically half a page in the actual book and did not at all accurately depict the relationship between Hardin and Tessa. Honestly, the movieI had high expectations for this movie because I really thought the books were so good. The movie was basically half a page in the actual book and did not at all accurately depict the relationship between Hardin and Tessa. Honestly, the movie should have been rated r if it were an actual depiction of the book because there is no way the book is pg-13. I am very disappointed in this movie and how corny it was. There were way too many differences between the book and the movie and it is just sad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews