A24 | Release Date: October 21, 2022
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 87 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
69
Mixed:
10
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Melavin3Jan 7, 2023
Brilliant. A tender and tragic look at memories and grief. Past and present collide when 30 something year old sophie looks back on the trip she took with her father to turkey when she was 11. With a new found perspective she tries toBrilliant. A tender and tragic look at memories and grief. Past and present collide when 30 something year old sophie looks back on the trip she took with her father to turkey when she was 11. With a new found perspective she tries to understand and empathize with her father and his struggles. It's a beautiful movie in every meaning of the word. The emotions expressed in this movie are incrediblty hard to describe. The acting in this movie is some of the best I've ever seen. Paul Mescal is brilliant as Calum (sophie's father). Frankie Corio as 11 year old sophie is probably the greatest performance by a child I've ever seen. This film is melancholic and profound. Aftersun is a masterpiece and a movie I'll cherish. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
nnogohkoJan 6, 2023
I thought this movie was really powerful. The father and daughter relationship between Paul Mescal and Frankie Corio's character is so credible I didn't think for a second the lines written were fictional. I don't think I have seen a movieI thought this movie was really powerful. The father and daughter relationship between Paul Mescal and Frankie Corio's character is so credible I didn't think for a second the lines written were fictional. I don't think I have seen a movie that got me invested into the characters this much in a long time. Mescal and Corio are absolutely sensational in the film and I think both of them deserve oscar nominations. There were certain sequences that made me well up even if it wasn't a big tearjerking scene. It was just because of how well the performances and the camera subtly conveyed the emotions of the characters. The strangely detached relationship of father and daughter gave the film a sense of melancholy that really effected me. The film also looked gorgeous and everything leaped off the screen. I am so glad I got to see this in theaters. For me, it's my favorite film of 2022. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Grahambennett69Oct 24, 2022
A truly inspiring film. An emotional roller coaster of understanding the complex feeing of adolescents and how to have a significant and meaningful relationship with them. An amazing coming of age film.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
dtfinlaNov 17, 2022
best movie of the year hands down. Paul deserves an oscar for this heartbreaking performance.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
Mrcorleone0567Oct 23, 2022
Just unbelievable that this film exists, not expected to be that emotional impactful, Paul Mescal and Frankie Corio delivered the most powerful and impactful performances, the direction is magistral, and the ending, THE ENDING, is something iJust unbelievable that this film exists, not expected to be that emotional impactful, Paul Mescal and Frankie Corio delivered the most powerful and impactful performances, the direction is magistral, and the ending, THE ENDING, is something i will never forget.
Incredible Masterpiece.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
bertobellamyNov 23, 2022
'Aftersun' slowly unravels the pain under an apparent healthy father/daughter relationship. Charlotte Wells' extremely well-crafted debut gives no clear answers about what is troubling these characters, but the way it captures the fleeting'Aftersun' slowly unravels the pain under an apparent healthy father/daughter relationship. Charlotte Wells' extremely well-crafted debut gives no clear answers about what is troubling these characters, but the way it captures the fleeting moments of joy and sorrow is rewarding enough.

Paul Mescal shines as a loving yet tormented father, and Frankie Corio is a magnificent revelation; their chemistry together is off the charts.

Wells' visual resources are most impressive. The way she puts together the story feels like actual memories fused together with nightmarish thoughts, where the key to what's happening lies. But the best part is that it's up to everyone to decide what to make of it.

And this is what sets apart great films from common ones; they make you feel, remember and think and the same time. 'Aftersun' is a masterpiece about raw emotions and the moments we wish were never gone.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Nov 12, 2022
A woman reflects on a vacation she took with her father in Turkey as a child and tries to recall through faded memories and camcorder footage the man she saw as her father vs. the man she sees him as as an adult. Before even going into thisA woman reflects on a vacation she took with her father in Turkey as a child and tries to recall through faded memories and camcorder footage the man she saw as her father vs. the man she sees him as as an adult. Before even going into this gem, I had a gut feeling it was going to be special and tender in ways I couldn't quite describe or fathom. And after walking out of the theater in an almost trance-like state, I can confidently confirm that it's almost everything I imagined and expected it to be and then some. Gentle, tender, quiet, and subtly heartbreaking, it's a film that made me dig deep into several long-dormant memories and recollections of my childhood, family, divorce, relationship with my parents and especially my father during that time, etc. It's the rare film that's made me rethink and revisit so many long-buried and left behind memories that I either never had the answers to (and probably never will) and makes me see certain things in a new and different light (for better or worse.) Paul Mescal and Frankie Corio are such a loving and heart-melting pairing here as father and daughter. Although cryptic in parts, I believe it's one of those films where it's up to you to take away your own personal meaning from it, which I most certainly did. Overall, I'd say it's entirely possible that I've witnessed my new favorite film of the year so far, but it goes so much farther and deeper beyond that. It's a film I can tell that will almost certainly stay with and haunt me indefinitely (again, for better or worse.) Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
HerickDienerNov 27, 2022
Paul Mescal tem o terrível dom de me fazer terminar uma série ou filme com a pata de um elefante no peito, me impedindo de respirar, enquanto tento digerir o que acabei de ver. Foi assim com "Normal People" e agora com "Aftersun". Já FrankiePaul Mescal tem o terrível dom de me fazer terminar uma série ou filme com a pata de um elefante no peito, me impedindo de respirar, enquanto tento digerir o que acabei de ver. Foi assim com "Normal People" e agora com "Aftersun". Já Frankie Corio soube dar vida perfeitamente a uma menina na idade em que prestamos atenção minuciosamente aos detalhes, enquanto achamos que sabemos de tudo, mas ainda não vivemos nada.

Para mim, "Aftersun" foi um ótimo e silencioso filme sobre os espinhosos caminhos que percorremos, independente da fase da vida, criança ou adulto, nós somos um acúmulo de inseguranças, desejos e palavras não ditas.

Mas, acredito que a percepção pode variar de acordo com a experiência de vida de cada um que assistir.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
bronsonhatchDec 26, 2022
The entire time you are waiting for something to happen and when you reach the ending you realize everything has already happened, you’re only watching to see the cause not the effect. It’s amazingly shot, well acted, fantastically writtenThe entire time you are waiting for something to happen and when you reach the ending you realize everything has already happened, you’re only watching to see the cause not the effect. It’s amazingly shot, well acted, fantastically written and directed with real passion. The chemistry between Corio and Mescal are so strong they genuinely feel like father and daughter. Mescal delivers an incredible performance that has lots of great “subtle” acting and great “not-so-subtle” acting. Anyone who has experienced, or has close relations with some someone who has experienced depression can probably agree that Aftersun portrays it very well. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
alanpotter17Nov 27, 2022
É de um roteiro de extrema sensibilidade e competência em conduzir o pai e a filha naquele universo milimétrico, com um mise en cene espetacular. O filme basicamente trabalha um drama com suspense, mas por ser minimalista, tornou algumasÉ de um roteiro de extrema sensibilidade e competência em conduzir o pai e a filha naquele universo milimétrico, com um mise en cene espetacular. O filme basicamente trabalha um drama com suspense, mas por ser minimalista, tornou algumas cenas meio que gratuitas. A jovem está maravilhosa no papel. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
arsynicDec 31, 2022
The type of movie critics love: no plot, no interesting dialogue, nor humor, but it attempts to be profound. Not every movie needs to be an adventure, but it should tell a story. AfterSun’s concept fails because it’s self-reverence andThe type of movie critics love: no plot, no interesting dialogue, nor humor, but it attempts to be profound. Not every movie needs to be an adventure, but it should tell a story. AfterSun’s concept fails because it’s self-reverence and self-indulgence causes it to fail in its most basic task. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
MrakomorDec 23, 2022
This is cinema for generous patient people with big imagination, who are willing to fill in the the gaps and create whole other (better) movie in their minds.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Dec 23, 2022
I applaud the naturalness with which the performances register the events unfolding on screen, because this was crucial to how this film worked.
Not because of the chemistry of the characters, but because they kept you focused on moving
I applaud the naturalness with which the performances register the events unfolding on screen, because this was crucial to how this film worked.
Not because of the chemistry of the characters, but because they kept you focused on moving forward with the story, since at the end of the day, all we are watching is the vacation of a father and daughter that, without much conflict in between, would make you wonder more than once what was the point of watching it.

And that clashes with the enormous ambiguity of its plot, which is a double-edged sword, because one way or another, the film will have a very different resonance depending on the viewer and I think it will impact much more those who feel identified, which is not bad, but at least I see it within the overall perspective of its drama, and Aftersun is nothing more than a reconstruction of memories and how they tend to be manipulated by our own mind and we have the idea that something that happened at the time was nicer than it really was, and it is that when you face them with a different age and a different experience you understand perfectly well what it was, or in many cases you don't. That's why I think its conclusion is the part that left the most lasting impression on a large part of the audience.

A very enjoyable film, but I don't think it's worthy of the mark it's making.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
All_ButTrU4Dec 27, 2022
Aftersun:8.8/10
Charlotte Wells directorial debut is a hazy retrospective exploration of the relationship between father & daughter. It's a muted film that at moments swells with poignant moments of joy or emptying pangs of loneliness. And
Aftersun:8.8/10
Charlotte Wells directorial debut is a hazy retrospective exploration of the relationship between father & daughter. It's a muted film that at moments swells with poignant moments of joy or emptying pangs of loneliness. And though it feels like it's about the love they share it ultimately centered depression as it's main theme as we witness the father's doldrums be barely held during this final vacation with his daughter. I felt deeply attached to this story of a vulnerable emotionally detached young parents too trapped within their own fears to immerse themselves in the present . It's unflinching, sympathetic and all too real . Definitely the best film I've seen this year.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ODballin11Jan 3, 2023
The characters all flowed together like a good rock band Movie was a tear jerker as well Hope a lot of people get to see this movie
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
davemelbourne58Nov 15, 2022
Clever idea. Great acting from both leads, especially from the young girl, but unfortunately I just wasn't moved enough to recommend this movie
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
6
Brent_MarchantJan 13, 2023
It’s one thing for a movie to be subtle and nuanced, but it’s something else entirely to be enigmatic and cryptic. And, regrettably, the debut feature from writer-director Charlotte Wells delivers more of the latter than the former. ThisIt’s one thing for a movie to be subtle and nuanced, but it’s something else entirely to be enigmatic and cryptic. And, regrettably, the debut feature from writer-director Charlotte Wells delivers more of the latter than the former. This melancholic character study tells the story of a woman (Celia Rowlson-Hall) who looks back 20 years to a vacation that her perky 11-year-old self (Frankie Corio) took with her young and loving but quietly troubled father (Paul Mescal). In doing so, it explores the subjects of memory, parent-child relationships, mental and emotional well-being, and the various senses of loss we all experience over time, topics that the protagonist’s youthful counterpart may not have fully understood at the time but that her adult self now does. I wish I could say the same for myself, though; I often felt that I was being tasked to construct a narrative for the picture myself, based, essentially, on merely what was being shown to me, material that frequently comes across as underdeveloped and open to an array of interpretation in terms of both story line and character development. To put it simply, I didn’t feel I was given enough substance to work with to accomplish that task, and it often left me feeling wanting, abandoned by the filmmaker, and, ultimately, uninterested. And, to complicate matters further, the film’s poor sound quality regularly obscures the characters’ dialogue behind their thick Scottish accents, and its often-dark, overly muddled cinematography made some images difficult to decipher at times. What’s more, this offering’s camera work – aimed at simulating glorified home movies, a fitting approach for telling this story – is packed with innocuous material. Indeed, who really cares about sitting through endless footage of the characters engaging in mundane activities like playing video games, eating ice cream and attempting to sing karaoke? The “looking back in fondness” factor in these supposedly touching segments is a little too inane to engender truly heart-tugging feelings, constituting cinematic padding more than anything integral or meaningful to the overall story. Considering all of the advance glowing reactions I had read about this release, I was really looking forward to it going in. Unfortunately, though, I came away from it almost as sad and disappointed as the protagonist herself. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
AmblerEdwardJan 26, 2023
I thought this was a hugely overrated film. The critics are considering the flaws- unexplained and under-explained plot points as virtues and deft art. The subject matter and the location spots were cinematic, but too much of the canvas wasI thought this was a hugely overrated film. The critics are considering the flaws- unexplained and under-explained plot points as virtues and deft art. The subject matter and the location spots were cinematic, but too much of the canvas was left blank for the audience. How can you have a framing motif of the father dancing amid strobe lights and yet never reveal the import? How can the critics and the audience infer anything at all about the adult Sophie when nothing subsequent to the airport drop-off is shown? Are we to believe that like Morrissey signing " I've seen this happening in other people's lives, now it's happening in mine" that turning 30 is supposed to be a haunting spectre that will cast existential doom on every generation? I don't know. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SadamityJan 30, 2023
Nothing more powerful than memories. When your most precious memories also devastate you. This film is a masterpiece. It's heartbreaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RCardFeb 4, 2023
A very good debut! Excellent interpretations! It is autobiographical and that makes the movie touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews