Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 24, 2019
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 605 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
374
Mixed:
123
Negative:
108
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Agent314May 24, 2019
A delightful, if blemished, adaptation of an original masterpiece. The best parts are all intact: wonderful songs with a modern arrangement, Bollywoodesque dance numbers, kid friendly themes, and big heart. The disappointing bits willA delightful, if blemished, adaptation of an original masterpiece. The best parts are all intact: wonderful songs with a modern arrangement, Bollywoodesque dance numbers, kid friendly themes, and big heart. The disappointing bits will likely not ruin it for adults and certainly will not bother your kids. Marwin Kenzari as Jafar is by far the most glaring problem with this film. Haters will obsess with Will Smith; however, you'll find his interpretation of the genie to be refreshing and hilarious. "Friend Like Me" is just as catchy and the new "Speechless" is brave and inspiring. I cannot imagine a better Jasmine than Naomi Scott. She is truly the standout in this film. Mena Moussad...well, he gets the job done, and that's really what keeps this film from being great - too many "adequate" performances.

The premature criticism of the CGI genie probably took everyone's mind off the rest of the CGI creatures. Rajah is spectacular and believable, the carpet will make you laugh, and Abu...Abu! He's the cutest thing you always imagined. Iago's role is vastly reduced in this reimagining, and that is a crime. But if that's a crime so is the voice performance of typically spot-on Alan Tudyk. I mean, WTF? I almost thought that parrot was a trained macaw until his dialogue. Really sad.

I'm not really sure if these films are targeted as nostalgia candy for adults or if they're supposed to have the same kind of appeal to older kids that the animated films have to children, but even though you'll walk out of Aladdin singing songs and smiling you will probably still be wondering if there's really a point to it. There's obviously nothing wrong with the original, and there's really nothing you can add to it. Except more box office...
Expand
21 of 27 users found this helpful216
All this user's reviews
8
GrachechkovskiMay 24, 2019
A nice family film with songs and dances, flawless performance of Will Smith and Plane Carpet, light humor, nostalgic music and a reference to Philip Kirkorov
20 of 26 users found this helpful206
All this user's reviews
7
chiisatinMay 25, 2019
As a fan of the original Aladdin, I was not disappointed. Will Smith delivered as genie and the rest of the main cast did a pretty good job acting their characters. different from the original, I reckon this movie is not for everyone becauseAs a fan of the original Aladdin, I was not disappointed. Will Smith delivered as genie and the rest of the main cast did a pretty good job acting their characters. different from the original, I reckon this movie is not for everyone because some aspects of this movie has subtle differences compared to the original which some people might find weird and uninteresting. The vocal performances were great, it gives a modern spin to the classic and still manage to provoke a sense of nostalgia. The visuals are charming, maybe a bit too colorful for my liking, but it still works. A flawed yet still very fun movie to watch Expand
16 of 21 users found this helpful165
All this user's reviews
8
joeyabukiMay 23, 2019
The best adaptation of Disney's live action movie. The first act is quite slow and boring, even improbable when they are chasing Aladdin at the beginning, you do not believe the world they want to put you through the eyes and he's jugglingThe best adaptation of Disney's live action movie. The first act is quite slow and boring, even improbable when they are chasing Aladdin at the beginning, you do not believe the world they want to put you through the eyes and he's juggling and absurd jumps (I give it a 6), but then when the Genius appears the movie rises. Will Smith is the best of the film, Mena Massoud (Aladdin) also does his performance very well, you believe in everything, Naomi Scott (Jasmine) does her part. Those last 2 acts are great (I give it a 9). The scenes don't happen in the same order as the animated one, besides there are 38 more minutes of songs and new scenes. You don't feel that Guy Ritchie is the director, it could have been any other. This story is Arabic but they changed it and it feels a bit Indian, more of Bollywood. The ending just surprised me, it's not the same one when Aladdin sets the Genie free. You have to go watch it Noowww. Expand
22 of 29 users found this helpful227
All this user's reviews
8
ChronoMakersMay 24, 2019
I was delighted by this new version of Aladdin! Comparing this movie to the original animated version, I found that this new version does some things better than the original movie (Defining Jasmine's character more for exemple) and theI was delighted by this new version of Aladdin! Comparing this movie to the original animated version, I found that this new version does some things better than the original movie (Defining Jasmine's character more for exemple) and the original does other things better (I mostly prefer the climax from the original movie although the remake one is still good).

But all in all, it's still Aladdin and therefore it's still a great movie! Also have to mention that I enjoyed Will Smith's Genie, it's a different take but it works! Go see it! It's worth it!
Expand
24 of 32 users found this helpful248
All this user's reviews
8
Moviereviewer15May 24, 2019
The performances by Will Smith, Naomi Scott, Mena Moussad and Nasim Pedrad along with the musical numbers and well-designed production values help keep Disney’s new live-action Aladdin from Guy Ritchie flying on the magic carpet to be reallyThe performances by Will Smith, Naomi Scott, Mena Moussad and Nasim Pedrad along with the musical numbers and well-designed production values help keep Disney’s new live-action Aladdin from Guy Ritchie flying on the magic carpet to be really enjoyable fun. Expand
21 of 28 users found this helpful217
All this user's reviews
9
versusMay 24, 2019
Great movie, it take me to my childhood again, i dont understand the bad reviews, but also i dont care about them, i just enjoyed the story, the songs, (classic and new ones), and the performances.
23 of 31 users found this helpful238
All this user's reviews
10
verrig0kunMay 25, 2019
First things first, I reckon that this film is underrated. A lot of people just hate it i do not know why. This is a really good story but remade to suit our days. Atmosphere is great and, maybe I do not understand something, costumes, actionFirst things first, I reckon that this film is underrated. A lot of people just hate it i do not know why. This is a really good story but remade to suit our days. Atmosphere is great and, maybe I do not understand something, costumes, action in movie are great either. Some characters were remade and became more interesting to look on them on the screen. Relations between characters are progressing during the whole film. And, nonetheless, OST is amazing. Someone can not like it, but, all in all, it is great. I could stay speaking about good sides of Aladdin for a real long time, but, long story short, just go to it and judje it by yourself. It would be a better thing to do, and you will not just waste your time by wathcing it, I hope you will get that amount of positive emotions as I did. Expand
19 of 26 users found this helpful197
All this user's reviews
7
tropicAcesMay 23, 2019
This was the first time Disney has remade one of their animated films that I loved growing up. And while no one will obviously top Robin Williams (nor should they try), Will Smith harnesses his Fresh Prince attitude and provides enough laughsThis was the first time Disney has remade one of their animated films that I loved growing up. And while no one will obviously top Robin Williams (nor should they try), Will Smith harnesses his Fresh Prince attitude and provides enough laughs and music to overcome some of Guy Ritchie's questionable choices. Expand
24 of 33 users found this helpful249
All this user's reviews
7
armartaryMay 25, 2019
Disney made a good effort on reimagining this film into live-action form. Colorful visual, great music, vocal and choreography, spot-on comedy. Although the acting was a bit rough at the beginning, the timing of some scenes were a bit weirdDisney made a good effort on reimagining this film into live-action form. Colorful visual, great music, vocal and choreography, spot-on comedy. Although the acting was a bit rough at the beginning, the timing of some scenes were a bit weird and it was not as griping as the cartoon, it was still a very enjoyable movie. I especially love Will Smith performance and I also love Aladdin's voice. Expand
18 of 25 users found this helpful187
All this user's reviews
8
virikaliMay 25, 2019
Better than most live-action disney movies. The emotional impact it lack (compared to the original cartoon is compensated by great comedy, choreography and lively visuals. The main actors/actress also did a good job in presenting theirBetter than most live-action disney movies. The emotional impact it lack (compared to the original cartoon is compensated by great comedy, choreography and lively visuals. The main actors/actress also did a good job in presenting their characters. Overall, a very enjoyable watch Expand
17 of 24 users found this helpful177
All this user's reviews
10
Lilikoli78May 24, 2019
Нет слов, это ностальгия, это воплощение старого доброго мультфильма, но совершенно по-новому. Я очень рада, что мало что изменили и придерживались традиционной картинки и сюжета. Масштабно, красиво, незабываемо. Актёры и их исполнение - вышеНет слов, это ностальгия, это воплощение старого доброго мультфильма, но совершенно по-новому. Я очень рада, что мало что изменили и придерживались традиционной картинки и сюжета. Масштабно, красиво, незабываемо. Актёры и их исполнение - выше всяких похвал. Спасибо за этот фильм! Expand
19 of 27 users found this helpful198
All this user's reviews
9
clee1May 24, 2019
SO GOOD. The movie blew my expectations out of the water. Visually stunning, loved the storytelling and characters, and the humor had me dying. 10/10 would see again. TRUST ME it is worth seeing. Don't judge by the trailers or what you hear online!
27 of 39 users found this helpful2712
All this user's reviews
10
birymainMay 25, 2019
An almost perfect adaptation of the original. Enjoyed almost every second of the movie. Though some parts were not as good as I'd hoped, the rest were pretty incredible.
15 of 23 users found this helpful158
All this user's reviews
10
EduardoGCorreaMay 23, 2019
O filme consegue reunir o melhor da animação com inovação. Adorei os atores, adorei a forma com que retrataram os animais. Também foi ótima a mistura musical e cultural indiana. Talvez os efeitos especiais do gênio não sejam tão bons, e oO filme consegue reunir o melhor da animação com inovação. Adorei os atores, adorei a forma com que retrataram os animais. Também foi ótima a mistura musical e cultural indiana. Talvez os efeitos especiais do gênio não sejam tão bons, e o Jaffar parece muito fraco.Mas da pra compreender o objetivo. No fim conseguiram recriar a magia do filme original. Expand
22 of 34 users found this helpful2212
All this user's reviews
10
SulstiMay 24, 2019
Colorful, brilliant, charming. I enjoyed every second of this movie but Jaffar could have been better.
35 of 62 users found this helpful3527
All this user's reviews
1
ctn1187May 24, 2019
Just awful. I gave it a chance. The kids that play Aladdin and Jasmine were actually decent but the rest is just bad. Just watch the original
16 of 48 users found this helpful1632
All this user's reviews
6
hannah26548May 28, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed this movie quite a bit. Yes, it cannot compare to the original animated movie with Robin Williams but Will Smith brought a whole new dimension to the Genie which I really liked. The story was a little stupid, with Jasmine actually becoming Sultan (I am all for feminism but this is just going too far) and Jafar was nerfed to make Jasmine look "stronger". If you ignore the token social justice tripe, the movie was enjoyable and brings back a lovely nostalgia of the amazing music brought to us by the 1992 animated marvel that we all fell in love with. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
6
marcmyworksJun 3, 2019
I feel if Disney is really going to reach a new generation of children, they need to stop dumbing down their films. The pacing is so quick at times that key lines such as 'Do you trust me', get lost in the mix. The new song 'Speechless',I feel if Disney is really going to reach a new generation of children, they need to stop dumbing down their films. The pacing is so quick at times that key lines such as 'Do you trust me', get lost in the mix. The new song 'Speechless', though a great message, gets lost as it is inferior in its modernity. You also don't realize how strong the relationship with animals is in the animated feature until they are pushed over as second tier characters. Overall a valiant effort but just doesn't really make for a memorable film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
weskergamerJun 1, 2019
Me sorprendió para bien está película. Al principio dude mucho porque me parecía q iban demasiado seguro pero me gustaron muchas cosas:
1-Will Smith como el Genio essorprendentemente bueno.
2-Jazmín y Alladin también son interpretados super
Me sorprendió para bien está película. Al principio dude mucho porque me parecía q iban demasiado seguro pero me gustaron muchas cosas:
1-Will Smith como el Genio essorprendentemente bueno.
2-Jazmín y Alladin también son interpretados super bien
3- Los efectos especiales se ven geniales y la banda sonora es tan genial como original
-1- Jaffar sería el único punto negativo q pondría ya q no me gustó para nada.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
scalisMay 30, 2019
Most entertaining live-action adaptation of a Disney movie. Great cast, nice choreo's, good tempo. Truly loved it!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Bwizzle731May 30, 2019
Really enjoyed the movie! If you like Disney movies then you will probably like this too.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
spongeswiftJun 1, 2019
Aladdin may have some issues in terms of pacing and character development but Mena Massoud, Naomi Scott, and especially Will Smith made this movie such a gem. I think it had a very slow start, I got a little bored but when Will Smith's GenieAladdin may have some issues in terms of pacing and character development but Mena Massoud, Naomi Scott, and especially Will Smith made this movie such a gem. I think it had a very slow start, I got a little bored but when Will Smith's Genie came on the screen, I knew I was in for an amazing flik. Jasmine's voice is so pure and powerful but her strength comes in her vulnerability. She takes some of the issues of that time head on with perfect musical scenes. The Genie wasn't a vocal powerhouse and neither was Aladdin but their voices were good enough to get a pass. It was a very long movie (2 hours) but it still ended very quickly. This movie surely isn't perfect but with charming music and great acting, it's worth your time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
YakusokuNoJiMay 31, 2019
It is not the Aladdin movie I would expect but it became better than I thought at first. A lot of it feels like a reboot but plenty of the original stuff is still in there. The pacing though is completely off. The moment the movie starts theIt is not the Aladdin movie I would expect but it became better than I thought at first. A lot of it feels like a reboot but plenty of the original stuff is still in there. The pacing though is completely off. The moment the movie starts the market it already feels like it has skipped something. Because it did - as the original didn't do it.

Some scenes were solved a bit better than the original but even if it was not important for the narration: What in the world were they thinking getting rid of Cobra Jafar? I think they tried to pay hommage to it because by the end they showed a living snake transforming into Jafar's new staff so that was kinda cool but you cannot just skip the final battle. The chase scene was pointless apart from "let's show them some action". How exactly did that scene work? Jafar already was established to be able to teleport people around making him an absolute idiot in that scene for not doing it. There really was no good reason to skip something as iconic as Cobra Jafar. I do mind that he was not an old menacing man but no Cobra Jafar was even worse, the actor was fine even if old Jafar would have been alot better for me. Jasmin was great even if her story was expanded and Aladdin and Genie were also fine. There was a really embarassing scene in the movie that was like "sort of different" in the old movie when Aladdinw as goofing around having problems to hold up his charade and this embarassing scene was kinda funny.

Still I would have done this movie very differently. And if they do Jafar's Return I hope they bring in Cobra Jafar for that.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
hobo701Jun 30, 2019
This movie would be so beautiful if it wasn't feminist propaganda. The songs are wonderful, Will Smith as a gyn plays really good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
dmg52598Jun 5, 2019
At first I wasn't sure if it was going to be good. But after watching the movie, I was speechless. It's super entertaining and hilarious at the same time. The actors did a very good job because they were so charming. Bonus on the music!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Shajac19Jun 1, 2019
This live-action remake does a perfectly serviceable job in retracing the source material just like all other Disney remakes have done before it. However, while the new cast does a fairly good job, minus the watered-down Jafar, this movieThis live-action remake does a perfectly serviceable job in retracing the source material just like all other Disney remakes have done before it. However, while the new cast does a fairly good job, minus the watered-down Jafar, this movie fails to capture all the magic of the original and leaves you wanting more. Will Smith portrays a fantastic Genie but his performance is hindered by the fact that its a slightly less interesting retread of Robin William's amazing original take on the character. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AdriabsMay 27, 2019
Despite the introduction of the plot feeling quite rushed and anticlimatic, once it picks up, it delivers an incredible, updated experience, maintaining the essence of the original while bringing new nuances. The already exsiting plot linesDespite the introduction of the plot feeling quite rushed and anticlimatic, once it picks up, it delivers an incredible, updated experience, maintaining the essence of the original while bringing new nuances. The already exsiting plot lines make more sense with a more argumented approach, and the new ones add a quit interesting dimension to the story and feel natural. The musical numbers still feel iconic and faithful to the original. A must-see for all fans of the iconic cartoon movie willing to truly enjoy this magic, nostalgic experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RicusstackerMay 31, 2019
Great movie. Fun to watch and fantastic experience all round. The music was of high quality and the casting was on point. I was impressed with Will Smith's interpretation of Genie and how he made the character his own. Worth the time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
edicMay 31, 2019
Wow! Aladdin is just pure entertaining. Your favorite songs are back as well with some new ones. Dances are enjoyable to watch. The only character that could have been better is the main villain. Will Smith is great for his role as the genie.Wow! Aladdin is just pure entertaining. Your favorite songs are back as well with some new ones. Dances are enjoyable to watch. The only character that could have been better is the main villain. Will Smith is great for his role as the genie. I couldn’t think of anyone else that is better for that part except for Robin William of course. CGI’s are good but not great. This is one the best live remake of Disney’s favorite animated movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RalfRathboneJun 1, 2019
Nice movie, better than expected. Jafar was nice, but definitely missed the humor he brought to the original. But the actor did a great job and looked fine as ****
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ElvisTekSitoJun 3, 2019
Está más o menos, la verdad no sé por qué Disney sigue y sigue haciendo Live Action de películas viejitas, deberían empezar a hacer algo nuevo, así como PIXAR ya la última secuela que va a hacer es Toy Story 4.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gracetheresiaaMay 28, 2019
I watched the movie just yesterday.
Was it the same as the animation? No.
Is it worse? Is it better? It is Aladdin, with a new take on it. The critics out are pretty rough but I say just watch it, enjoy it, have fun with it, be nostalgic with
I watched the movie just yesterday.
Was it the same as the animation? No.
Is it worse? Is it better?
It is Aladdin, with a new take on it.
The critics out are pretty rough but I say just watch it, enjoy it, have fun with it, be nostalgic with it. Just give the movie a chance.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
Greenwood0May 28, 2019
I was expecting something childish, I was entertained! Some changes in screen ratios between scenes made it less immersive.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
LivingTribunalMay 27, 2019
Honestly, I never thought this version would work. However, now I'm speechless.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
MohadinhoMay 27, 2019
Great movie ! As magic as the original 1992 animared movie nothing else to say just go watch it !!
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaMay 29, 2019
Aladdin is the best Disney Live Action adaptation to date. Face it, they are never going to be as good as their original animated counterpart. But by bringing their A game, Disney is the only studio that can deliver this sort of film. Sure,Aladdin is the best Disney Live Action adaptation to date. Face it, they are never going to be as good as their original animated counterpart. But by bringing their A game, Disney is the only studio that can deliver this sort of film. Sure, some of the special effects feel a bit wonky, but the return of Alan Menken, along with the writing team behind The Greatest Showman, delivers new materials that are great. The cast is perfect: but the stand out is Naomi Scott as Jasmine, what a star making turn. As per usual, it is a 'remake' so scenes are lifted directly from their animated counterpart, some with limited success. But for the most part, the film works very well. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
MattBrady99Jun 2, 2019
Some things are best left animated.

It lacks the energy and magic from the 1992 movie, which is strange to me because with Guy Ritchie directing I expected some chaos - just watch 'King Arthur: Legend of the Sword' or any other movie he
Some things are best left animated.

It lacks the energy and magic from the 1992 movie, which is strange to me because with Guy Ritchie directing I expected some chaos - just watch 'King Arthur: Legend of the Sword' or any other movie he directed. Also, Jafar sucks in this movie and it isn't Marwan Kenzari, just painfully miscast. The visual effects...yeah, lets not go there.

However, it is entertaining enough to sit through. Naomi Scott as Princess Jasmine really makes the role her own, especially during the musical segments. Mena Massoud is fine as Aladdin, but at times I felt like he tried to duplicate the animated version a little bit too much.

Will Smith as the Genie is easily the best part of the movie. Despite not having a solid singing voice, but Smith's charm shines through and most importantly made the character his own. It's funny that the biggest complaint that everyone had turned out to be the best part of the movie, all because of an unfinished effect.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
martynataniMay 25, 2019
Wonderful visuals, great musical performance, good acting, fun comedy. I enjoyed it very much
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1May 25, 2019
I enjoyed myself during this. Liked it better than the Beauty and the Beast remake. Course I think this remake had the liberty of the source material being a more lighthearted comedy, giving this adaptation's writers more breathing room.I enjoyed myself during this. Liked it better than the Beauty and the Beast remake. Course I think this remake had the liberty of the source material being a more lighthearted comedy, giving this adaptation's writers more breathing room.

This movie follows the basic plot points of the original, but it does a decent job of coming up with with some fairly good original jokes and other content. Jasmine (the Power Rangers movie's Naomi Scott) and Jafar (Marwen Kenzari) get more backstory and motivation, and the Genie (Will Smith) and Aladdin (Mena Massoud) have more time to naturally build their friendship.

The first ten minutes or so are a little top heavy. The events up to and involving Aladdin meeting Jasmine seem to be really fast forwarded, and it seems odd. This movie is 38 minutes longer than the original. Why the need for condensation? The One Jump Ahead music sequence definitely looks like they sped up the footage. The rest of the films mostly moves smoothly with a couple quick edits that seem odd. It definitely feels like Nasim Pedrad's character, a handmaiden named Dalia, and Billy Magnusson's Prince Anders had more stuff that was cut.

Will Smith is his old charming self. (It's been a while since we've see him go full Smith.) Massoud is a very likable Aladdin. Scott is a good Jasmine ,but some of her female empowerment lines don't work. I don't blame her, she just has some forced dialogue. (To clarify, I'm saying it doesn't work because of the script's execution and not the actual message.) Dalia, created mostly for someone else for Jasmine and the Genie to talk with, is a funny, slightly-off kilter character. Iago's character (Alan Tudyk) feels the most changed from the original. Here he sounds more like a parrot and talks in short beats. I didn't dislike it. You're never going to match Gilbert Godfried if you try to copy him.

Jafar is definitely the weak point of the movie. Yes, I did give props to his backstory but that is about it. The original was one of Disney's greatest villains, A wonderful combination of cunning, droll humor, and malevolence. This guy is either dull or sounds like he's a child throwing a brief temper tantrum that's just for show. Kenzari doesn't sound intimidating at all. (BTW: Having seen director Guy Ritchie's two Sherlock Holmes movies, what is with him and low-energy villains?) He's also there as the main figure representing society's attempts to silence Jasmine's strong female voice, and he just sounds so unnatural at these moments.

The movie looks great; very colorful and lavish. The musical numbers were well shot. Friend Like Me may be one of the most ambitious live action musical segments in a while. Yes, many fans of the original may be frustrated that the musical numbers or action scenes just don't match the strength of the original. (Their isn't even any giant snake Jafar, although I still felt the final act's action piece worked.) That's true, but by itself I say this is a likable mvoie.

They keep all the original songs except Jafar's Prince Ali reprise, which is so short anyway that I'll allow it. Friend Like Me and Prince Ali get a hip-hop revision to them, which actually works better than I expected. Not so much with Will Smith and DJ Kaled's rap version of Friend Like Me during the credits. Did not care for. Did Emma Watson's weak singing voice in Beauty and the Beast bother you? Prepare to be more disappointed. Both Smith and Massoud have weak voices. Whereas B&B had three new songs, we only get one here: Speechless, a song for Jasmine and done by original composer Alan Menken with Greatest Showman's Benj Pasek and Justin Paul. I really liked this one. Unlike her co-stars Naomi Scott's got pipes!

Overall, if you haven't been fond of the recent Disney remakes, this probably won't change your mind. But, I think the others will have a nice time.
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
9
dorkainurMay 25, 2019
I really enjoyed the movie, it felt both nostalgic and fresh.
I kinda liked all the performances but Jafar's.
Missed the "snake"...
Everything elsed worked perfectly fine, the songs, the performances, I really loved this film.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
nanohulkMay 25, 2019
Es una muy buena película divertida, entretenida pero con unos efectos falsos y un villano bastante débil no es para mi mejor que la versión animada ni el mejor live Action de Disney pero si es de las más rescatables
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
ThePeoplesVoiceMay 30, 2019
With the latest weird remakes and new adaptions I was relived to see this beauty on the screen. One of my favourite childhood story's full of music.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
toykenMay 26, 2019
I was pleasantly surprised. It was better than I expected. One of the better Disney live-action adaptation. I like the cast and their performances, the music was great, the choreography was pretty good and Will Smith as Genie really makes theI was pleasantly surprised. It was better than I expected. One of the better Disney live-action adaptation. I like the cast and their performances, the music was great, the choreography was pretty good and Will Smith as Genie really makes the film alive. The cinematography kinda feel weird to me at times, but overall I have no major complaint about the film. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
HairyChestMay 25, 2019
Jafar sucks and is just some random guy. he doesn't seem evil like the cartoon.Horrible casting of him. Jasmine shines and can sing really good, love her new song (my favorite part), Aladdin actor is perfect and sounds just like the AladdinJafar sucks and is just some random guy. he doesn't seem evil like the cartoon.Horrible casting of him. Jasmine shines and can sing really good, love her new song (my favorite part), Aladdin actor is perfect and sounds just like the Aladdin in the cartoon, and will smith did a great job as the Genie. The music arrangement for I can show you the world was not good, they should have left it the same as the cartoon. Overall It was a fun movie, GO SEE IT! Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
SeastepMay 25, 2019
This is the 1st review I have ever written. I am a huge Disney fan, especially 90’s movies. I was a little skeptical going in to this movie, even though I am a Will Smith fan. I just felt there was no way they could even come close to RobinThis is the 1st review I have ever written. I am a huge Disney fan, especially 90’s movies. I was a little skeptical going in to this movie, even though I am a Will Smith fan. I just felt there was no way they could even come close to Robin Williams, I was scared I would constantly be comparing characters. I LOVED it. There are a few changes with the script and a couple extra songs, but it didn’t change the storyline. I walked out VERY happy. This proves that they can make movies with no agenda, sex or cussing and it still be amazing. Great job, Aladdin. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
ed2co17May 26, 2019
I was honestly happily surprised by this movie. I didn't like a lot of things I saw in the promotional material, but let me tell you I was happy with it in the movie. I thought Jasmin and Jafar were great. The songs were really well done andI was honestly happily surprised by this movie. I didn't like a lot of things I saw in the promotional material, but let me tell you I was happy with it in the movie. I thought Jasmin and Jafar were great. The songs were really well done and the humor was perfect for families. I saw it with a diverse audience and they seemed to love it as well. At the end there was an applause. Will Smith did a great job and the chemistry with him and Aladdin was great. Honestly I'd say the critics are being too harsh on this movie or are unfairly comparing it to original. If you have the slightest urge to see it, I would recommend it. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
7
Happy-KMay 29, 2019
Its no secret that those Disney "Live-Action Remakes" are Cash-Grabs. At first i didn't wanted to Watch the Movie but as an little Fan of the Original i got interested after a while. Well i got to admit i kind of Like the Movie but theIts no secret that those Disney "Live-Action Remakes" are Cash-Grabs. At first i didn't wanted to Watch the Movie but as an little Fan of the Original i got interested after a while. Well i got to admit i kind of Like the Movie but the Animation Film is still better. What i like was the fantastic look of the Movie, i really enjoyed the Musical parts and the Main cast was really solid. Will smith as Genie did a good job without trying to recreate the Legendary Robin Williams Voice acting. But the Casting choice for Jafar was god Awful. Also The Movie was a little to long. In the First and Second ACTS i was on board but the 3rd ACT kind of lost me.
And being a Movie directed by Guy Ritchie i kind of missed his Style. There isn't anything what makes you realize "Yep, this man directed this Movie". I personally find this was a missed chance to let this Movie stand on his own two feets. A solid Movie but i wouldn't watch it a thousand times like the Original.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
WarcatzMay 25, 2019
The live action version of Aladdin is visually stunning and has a fresh new take. Will Smith makes the Genie character fun and fresh by updating the movie and adding his "Fresh Prince" persona to the character.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
8
KwasieMay 28, 2019
Outstanding visuals, a charming story, and good old-fashioned fun. Robin Williams as the Genie is a tough act to follow, but Will Smith added his own unique touches to the role.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
VersaladorJun 1, 2019
Não sei como conseguiu ser pior que o original de 1992... acho q o politicamente correto consegue fazer essas coisas. Jafar bonitão é a parte mais nonsense do filme.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
linkdk59May 29, 2019
I really enjoyed this film, more than I thought I would. Of course, Nostalgia plays a big role here for me, as I was a big fan of the first one. This film is definitely a fun moment, even though it still very close to the original story, withI really enjoyed this film, more than I thought I would. Of course, Nostalgia plays a big role here for me, as I was a big fan of the first one. This film is definitely a fun moment, even though it still very close to the original story, with a few new surprises but not too many. Now, did the original story need a remake, maybe not. But I believe that the way they have tweaked the story and the characters here and there is a good improvement storywise, as it fixes some of the original plotholes, and the whole film as a live action movie is a fantastic show, so it's definitely worth a watch.

The real question here might be : would I recommend the 2019 version to someone who would have never even seen the 1992 version? Yes, I think I would, the remade version stands on its own, the updated songs are a real treat, the story is still strong, and the actors are obviously all having fun The Genie is obviously the star here. But I will agree with other users and say that the story could have used more screentime and more Jafar. All in all, my real answer here would be that I would totally recommend to watch both films.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
RhaerayJun 3, 2019
Awesome remake! Was smiling all throughout the movie. My disney heart is happy ❤️
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
ileGTiMay 26, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Weird pacing, a weird new pop song inside a musical that should've been left for the end credits perhaps, an okay Will Genie, strong main characters, especially Naomi Scott who has a ton of potential for starring roles... oh and a weird soulless parrot robot. Although i almost started a ranting list here, i do have to say most of the time the movie had this good vibe, and it was enjoyable, but has its problems. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
7
Trineo99May 25, 2019
First of all, like all the other live-action remakes of classic Disney films, this one has changes to it and one of them was good and the rest was kinda bad. The only good one is what they did with Jasmine. Naomi Scott was incredible asFirst of all, like all the other live-action remakes of classic Disney films, this one has changes to it and one of them was good and the rest was kinda bad. The only good one is what they did with Jasmine. Naomi Scott was incredible as Jasmine and played her to absolute perfection to her abilities. But the thing I want to talk about is what they did with her character. Instead of keeping her the same as her animated counterpart they changed her so she better fit a strong female that should be seen more in film. She also had the best song in the entire film and I hope it gets nominated for best original song for the Oscars. The set design in this film was outstanding and just looked spectacular on the big screen. All of the sets looked like it was taken right out of the animated film and just increased. The costume design was also really good. Even though we already knew who the common people were and the royalty it still showed the status difference. Although I did hate how they made Aladdin have clean clothes. Now, the original songs are classics and everybody knows them and I hate how they changed some of the lyrics mainly with “One Jump Ahead” and “Prince Ali”. I do understand why they changed them to help fit the story but with “Prince Ali” one of the lyrics was changed and it pissed me off. I talked about how Naomi Scott is great as Jasmine but for the rest of the actors, it wasn’t the same. Now, I’m not going to hate on Will Smith as the Genie because he did accept a tough challenge of taking over for the legendary Robin Williams and he did make it his own but my main probably was with Mena Massoud and Marwan Kenzari, who plays Jafar. Mena Massoud was a decent Aladdin what he lacked was the singing ability but I will give him credit for putting himself out there. But, Marwan Kenzari just didn’t do it for me as Jafar. He pretty much was a boring villain who was two-dimensional. There were two big scene changes that just bugged me all because it affected the story and those were the opening scene and the ending. The opening made no sense because it was out of order and the ending just was a completely different ending that sucked. This film does keep the original message of always be yourself but it messes it up with one thing. Also, the CGI in this film is just bad. Nothing CGI really looked realistic in any way. There were lots of scenes in this film that awkwardly ended and transitioned to the next with no proper connection. I’m not sure if it was just me but the humour in this film was kinda weak. The score by Alan Menken was good at least. In the end, Aladdin (2019) doesn’t have the same magic as the original animated one and shouldn’t have been touched at all. It’s a good kids film but for people who grew up with the original, it’s not that good. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
9
creamerwhaleMay 25, 2019
A wonderful movie to watch with your family. Might not be as good as the cartoon and feels a bit different, but still a good movie overall
13 of 21 users found this helpful138
All this user's reviews
5
MLRMay 28, 2019
Has amusing elements, but overall it is kind of a mess. Not wild about the new ending. Not wild about the cultural changes. I know it is hard to make a live-action remake of a beloved animated classic, but maybe you shouldn't do that anyway.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
nateOstrikeMay 25, 2019
Brilliant. Absolutely loved it and I love Disney! Will Smith did such a great job and the song were so, so good. Takes me back to my childhood!!
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24May 28, 2019
Another live-action remake from Disney that struggles to find its footing within one of two realms; being different enough from the original and being as loyal to the original as possible. The difference between this and, say, this year'sAnother live-action remake from Disney that struggles to find its footing within one of two realms; being different enough from the original and being as loyal to the original as possible. The difference between this and, say, this year's "Dumbo" for example, is the sheer amount of iconography to transcribe from animation to live-action in either film. But that's about it. Like "Dumbo," the new elements introduced here are either horrifically ideated or just flat-out dull. Yes, Will Smith is trying. Yes, the visuals are palatable. There's just simply not much else here. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
CinemaCreedMay 29, 2019
Live-action Aladdin is a great movie. The main characters performance, Aladdin and Jasmine, captured the escence of the originals . As for the genie, don't expect him to be the Robin Williams version of course, it is just not possible. Yet,Live-action Aladdin is a great movie. The main characters performance, Aladdin and Jasmine, captured the escence of the originals . As for the genie, don't expect him to be the Robin Williams version of course, it is just not possible. Yet, Will Smith as the genie turned out to be realy good, adding his prince of belair persona to the character and the songs, which to my surprise worked pretty well. The real problem with the movie is Jafar, which is the only reason why I don't give it a 10. He lacks the evil, threatening villain traits of the original, that creppy lust he had for Jasmine and his hilarious relation with Iago. At least, the casting crew should have chosen a much taller, older and not hot actor. Still, watching the movie is a great experience, if you liked the original you'll enjoy the live-action version. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
LilydemarchMay 25, 2019
I LOVED IT. Maybe it's the 4D, maybe it's nostalgia or maybe Will Smith, the songs. I just loved it, best live action as of now. I can't wait to watch it again in 2D. If you loved the first movie, I think you will like this one.
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
4
MegaWarGreymonMay 29, 2019
So what can I say about this movie.... It's a fan edit of Aladdin for 2019. Let's start with the character. First Will Smith I am calling him Will Smith because that's what he is. He is as charismatic as usual but he is not playing aSo what can I say about this movie.... It's a fan edit of Aladdin for 2019. Let's start with the character. First Will Smith I am calling him Will Smith because that's what he is. He is as charismatic as usual but he is not playing a character he is playing himself. Aladdin is blend and lacks the personality of his cartoon counterpart, not a lot to say about this one. Jafar is miscast. He is not menacing or sleazy he is just there because someone had to be. Iago is waster. And Jasmine is no longer looking for true love she wants to be in charge. The song numbers are ok for what this movie is. In general the movie is a major let down. Aladdin is not the hero of his own story he is a side character. The movie is about Jasmine and her "rise to power". I say that because her motivations are changed to apparently reflect current year (2019). If they wanted to make a movie about her that's fine but why not go with a new take on it instead of changing the story. It worked for Maleficent why not do a movie called Jasmine and just run with it.
TLTR: If you are nostalgic for Aladdin just revisit the 1992 Disney classic.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
NETMUSICMay 28, 2019
'Aladdin' is a colourful, fantastic, and charming film that everyone needs to see on the big screen. Highly recommend!
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
9
JimboCritiqueMay 25, 2019
A beautiful heartfelt film. Colorful, vibrant and with a very talented cast. I am amazed the so called critics scored it low. As usual ignore them and pay attention to the audience score. A very entertaining film.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
8
Deanoseventy7May 25, 2019
Whilst some of the energy of the original isn't there (hard to capture that ol' animation magic), this live action remake is heaps of fun! Wil Smith does a great job giving Genie his own flair and fun whilst tipping his hat to the late, greatWhilst some of the energy of the original isn't there (hard to capture that ol' animation magic), this live action remake is heaps of fun! Wil Smith does a great job giving Genie his own flair and fun whilst tipping his hat to the late, great incomparable Robin Williams. Big tick from me! Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
D_Oh3May 27, 2019
Loved the movie. Songs, story and cast well done! They made just the slightest changes, and added some new content to make it feel like a new movie all while still feeling like the original Aladdin we know and love! Awesome job!!
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
Peppercat007May 26, 2019
Was so pleasantly surprised by this story... in many ways so much better than the original... just loved every second of it so heartwarming ... a definite keeper not like dumbo which was atrocious
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
RibsplitterMay 26, 2019
Wow. I can't believe how well done this movie is. The whole family loved it! Top notch performances, especially Will Smith!
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
8
minargitMay 25, 2019
Absolute charmer. It is far from perfect, but has high enjoyment value. I absolutely love Will Smith performance. I also enjoy the singing and the choreography. One of the better Disney live-action adaptation to date
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
5
BrunoVn00May 25, 2019
This is just as a cash-grab as these Disney live-action remakes can get. I'll do tons of comparisons to the animated movie because it deserves to be compared,this isn't an adaptation, this movie is really trying to be the same movie as theThis is just as a cash-grab as these Disney live-action remakes can get. I'll do tons of comparisons to the animated movie because it deserves to be compared,this isn't an adaptation, this movie is really trying to be the same movie as the animated one. It seemed that Disney didn't care in getting talented people to make this movie as good or better than the original, the direction is bland with no style, the cinematography is mediocre, this movie looked like an ad for some Aladdin Disneyland ride. Some CGI looked bad and hilarious, cheesy slow-motion in 2019, new characters and songs added were unnecessary, many of the characters lost their charisma and don't feel the same anymore compared to the animated version, the acting was cartoonish and the genie and Abu looked hilariously awful. Speaking about Abu, there's one reason why Disney's take on Aladdin SHOULD be ANIMATED: The animal characters of the original have no charisma or emotion in this movie because they CAN'T EMOTE! They're realistic animals! However I do liked some stuff. The acting is cartoonish and cheesy, making it bad for me but Will Smith as the Genie was actually good and pretty funny, mainly because his character is meant to be cartoonish, I thought Will Smith would play Will Smith but his performance was actually good #ForgiveMeWill. Some new comedy scenes were really funny and the best of the movie. That's about it for the good stuff.

Disney, please stop remaking your animated movies in live-action, I would've loved to see this movie remade but CGI ANIMATED! It would be cool to see classic Disney movies remade in 3D animation with the technology you now have! Making them live-action just takes away a lot of the "Magic" these movies had, like a vibrant color palette, exagerated movements and expressions, geniunely breathtaking visual effects, etc...
Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
10
DeependraMay 25, 2019
With tons of VFX, Aladdin is one of the most colourful live action movie. Naomi Scott & Mena Massoud played their respective roles perfectly. But, the actual showstopper throughout the movie is Genie aka will smith . *Take a bow* will, youWith tons of VFX, Aladdin is one of the most colourful live action movie. Naomi Scott & Mena Massoud played their respective roles perfectly. But, the actual showstopper throughout the movie is Genie aka will smith . *Take a bow* will, you are fantastic as usual.
10/10 for pure entertainment. ❣️
Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
10
MadBert91May 25, 2019
Excelente película, muy fiel a la original con un apartado técnico digo de mención.
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
10
ConficturaMay 25, 2019
Great soundtracks and great musicals and images! Must be seen in a quality cinema saloon. Will Smith's performance is amazing and dances, costumes are great.
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
10
evarattoMay 25, 2019
This film was just incredible!! It will bring you back to your childhood but at the same time it will surprise you!!
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingMay 25, 2019
Disney's vibrant live-action remake "Aladdin" is a magical carpet ride of lush visuals, great acting, and a whole lot of heart and humour.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
8
Sanel00May 26, 2019
Aladdin 2019 has got really good thing, new added, an inspired Will Smith as the Genie, a wonderful Naomi Scott as Jasmine but all this big theater never touches the original movie (P.s: the young Jafar is something crazy but funny to see)
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
7
eljonMay 27, 2019
Finally had a chance to watch it and it was surprisingly good. I don't see why people hate it because it's actually pretty decent. It may not be the great, but it's far from being bad. I felt like this was one of the better adaptations sinceFinally had a chance to watch it and it was surprisingly good. I don't see why people hate it because it's actually pretty decent. It may not be the great, but it's far from being bad. I felt like this was one of the better adaptations since there were some lackluster live action films like Dumbo, Beauty and the Beast and I feel like Aladdin was not one of them. Anyway, the music is really awesome. And once again, Genie is the star of the movie. And Princess Jasmine and Aladdin too. Jafar was kinda off, but he also did a good job. Some cons that I would give is that the film is a little bit rushed. It could have been better if the film was longer. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
SaintJames012May 28, 2019
Overall an OK movie. The musical numbers for the most part are good minus a few poor decisions for where to put them. Will Smith does great as a genie in his own right, and the actors for Aladdin and Jasmine were well chosen. I biggest gripeOverall an OK movie. The musical numbers for the most part are good minus a few poor decisions for where to put them. Will Smith does great as a genie in his own right, and the actors for Aladdin and Jasmine were well chosen. I biggest gripe with the movie is Jafar. In the cartoon movie, Jafar is a vizier who is driven by not only his own selfish desire for power, but also by the infuriating awareness that he is under the command off an incompetent leader. I'm sure this at the very least was something that many could relate to, as Jafar was clearly capable of leading, and extremely effective in his ways, albeit they were evil. But in this new movie, the Sultan is not an incompetent buffoon, and Jafar is not an older magistrate who exudes an aura of danger, knowledge, and evil. The sultan is quite capable, and Jafar is more akin to a young statesman who desperately wishes to rise above his station. In the end this does not feel like Jafar because what he is stated to be, and what he is shown and written as do not match.

The movie is ok, but don't get your hopes up too much.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001May 26, 2019
It's Aladdin yes. Was the live-action adaptation necessary? Well that's a whole different matter, pretty much like with every live-action adaptation Disney has made in recent years, yet here we are.

Personally I must say that I didn't
It's Aladdin yes. Was the live-action adaptation necessary? Well that's a whole different matter, pretty much like with every live-action adaptation Disney has made in recent years, yet here we are.

Personally I must say that I didn't dislike it. After all, it's basically the same story of the animated classic and on that side it has no problems, however, there's nothing extraordinary or something that goes beyond being just a different version of this well-known story.

Maybe kids and young people who haven't seen the animated film will find this version more striking but in general terms here there's nothing that Disney has not done previously in these sort of adaptations.

The quality is undeniable. The sets are awesome. The clothes are great. The musical numbers are also pretty colorful and nice.
The young protagonists work sufficiently good and they have chemistry and surprisingly Will Smith doesn't suck in a role in which he could have failed enormously.

Guy Ritchie delivers a fine film but only that. Is it enough? Yes, he didn't **** up and we know he could have done it. But as I said there's no outstanding element.

Aladdin it's a film that deserves your time, it might win your attention. After all it's still a show of entertainment but I definitely believe that the rest will depend of your own expectations and the respective enjoyment you might get out of it.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
FelmedkharMay 27, 2019
I thought it was so adorable and very well casted. Of course we cherish the old animated version, but this new live-action did the animated version proper justice. Highly recommend!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
LuciewardMay 28, 2019
Music was incredible, Naomi Scott hadn’t the perfect voice for speechless and the actor for Aladdin was exceptional.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
TomtagMay 28, 2019
We had so many live-action Disney movies recently like Alice in Wonderland (2010), Cinderella (2015), Maleficent (2014), The Jungle Book (2016) and recently was Dumbo (2019). There’s an upcoming Disney live-action movie as well and that wouldWe had so many live-action Disney movies recently like Alice in Wonderland (2010), Cinderella (2015), Maleficent (2014), The Jungle Book (2016) and recently was Dumbo (2019). There’s an upcoming Disney live-action movie as well and that would be The Lion King (2019). Most live-action Disney movies can never get better than the animated one and Aladdin’s one of them. First, the acting is kinda weak and bland. We had Mena Massoud as Aladdin. I know he tried really hard to be like Aladdin in the 1992 animated version. There’s also Will Smith as the Genie which was criticized online to be too blue but I didn’t think like that. In my opinion, he was pretty okay and funny as well, even though he couldn’t smash the role like Robin Williams. However, Naomi Scott stole the show as Princess Jasmine. She smashed it for a bit and I was kinda impressed as I said the performances were weak. Though the WORST in here was Jafar played by Marwan Kenzari. His voice was young and friendly, he wasn’t that evil but to be quite idotic and crazy and I had no favour for his roles. Yes, the movie was really entertaining with awesome magical special effects, Will Smith’s humor and more but each of those had problems as well as the musical. They didn’t lack any, but they made the musical more boring, more forgettable and less exciting. The music got lower and the creators got lazier and lazier. They also made the final battle worse. It didn’t take long and it was totally bright. Brightness here and there. Comparing to the animated version, it was totally dark and that’s how the final battle should be. Instead in this live-action, it didn’t take that long and people in Agrabah were like “look at my tricks here, see what I can do!”. They didn’t even pay attention that Jafar’s the ruler, not the Sultan. When Jafar turned into a Genie, he looked like a moron more than a powerful being. His face and hair, it was horrible. They also had new stuffs added to the movie. They were weird and annoying, also new characters as well like Dalia played by Nasim Pedrad. I didn’t see that character in animated Aladdin. She was okay to be added to make the movie funnier but the other new things are unnecessary. It made the movie boring and also took a bit long time and it was 128 minutes comparing to the 92 minutes of the animated Aladdin and it was almost perfect and almost the best Disney animated movie ever made. Personally the movie was kinda disappointing and didn’t live up to the hype. I could barely praise many parts of Aladdin. I bet Disney fans and other types of audiences would like it but Aladdin surely deserved to be mixed from me. It’s just a bland live-action like others. This is definitely not a whole new world! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
metalatraiuJun 12, 2019
the original scrypt literay revolved around robert williams. Will smith just through this moviue into the ground with a little bit of lgbt agenda
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
volozoJun 5, 2019
Idk I don't care about the flaws of the film anymore.

Also, I'm in love with Alan Menken's score. And the Speechless sequence literally left me speechless. :'(
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
FrozenFeverTinaMay 27, 2019
i really enjoyed this film not that it beats the animated classic but is it's own film and was a lot of fun with some funny moments that me laughing til i had tears. the famous whole new world scene was so beautiful and i have to say withi really enjoyed this film not that it beats the animated classic but is it's own film and was a lot of fun with some funny moments that me laughing til i had tears. the famous whole new world scene was so beautiful and i have to say with that revamped cover and full scene instead of clips online was better than the animated version's sequence. i found so beautiful that i teared up a bit. All of the actors did so well. Will Smith made a good Genie made it his own. i mean robin williams set the bar super high and who would want a shot for shot thing anyway?no one can copy Robin Williams, a legend The CGI actually wasn't bad. all of the music fits the pace of the movie. No one in theater i was in seemed dissapointed with the remake either and there were quite few other people. I think the character princess jasmine was given much more stronger role than the animated in terms of life goals,her costumes were so beautiful and colorful. i loved the sarcasm too not just her character but in few other characters that's what added to the humor. i would want to see it again but i most likely will buy on blu-ray/dvd when it does come out.i find so nice and interesting that most audiences loved it and rated higher scores than most critics on movie critic sites. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JphelimMay 30, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Aladdin was my favorite Disney growing up, this live version was beautifully done. Great cast, great chemistry. Chemistry between Aladdin and Princess Jasmine is electric, you sense the great love connection between the two as they stare and gazed upon one another. As well as the chemistry between Aladdin and the Genie; explosive. The classic songs from the original revamped and well performed. Will Smith paid homage to Robin Williams take on the Genie and added his flavor to it but didn’t tarnish Williams’ version. The new addition song in the live version speechless was passionately and amazingly performed by Naomi Scott which left me “speechless” at the end of her performance. Loved how strong and independent Jasmine is in this version and how Aladdin has got a little swagger to him. Overall an adventurous, fun, funny and entertaining film. Guy Ritchie did an amazing job directing this film. Was concerned when I heard he was to direct this film because his previous films were very different and almost the opposite of this type of genre but well done Guy Ritchie well done. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
fontenelebrunaMay 30, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is amazing. It’s reminds you in such a great way the original one but there’s a new personality in the caracters that got great. Jasmine is awesome! Aladdin is great and the genius is perfect! Will Smith is fantastic! The sings are great. It’s a lovely movie! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LolasuperstarMay 31, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Perfect like orange juice Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Wayne23678Jun 5, 2019
It was amazing!! Cant wait till ir comes out on dvd! Overall it was a spectacular movie Naomi Scott was amazing but we already knew that and Will Smith did an amazing job as Genie he proved everyone wrong.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
SickenlyMay 25, 2019
Not enough time in this world to explain how bad this movie was. At least I can say Will Smith tried to save this movie.
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
10
MovieAddictKZMay 26, 2019
Very good movie! Don’t be fooled by critics, go and see it You will definitely enjoy it!
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
10
mshardaMay 27, 2019
The movie is amazing. Do not compare it with the 1992 Animated version. The actors did a wonderful job. Will Smith killed it as the genie. Naomi Scott looked gorgeous as princess Jasmine!! The Movie is a great choice if you want to go outThe movie is amazing. Do not compare it with the 1992 Animated version. The actors did a wonderful job. Will Smith killed it as the genie. Naomi Scott looked gorgeous as princess Jasmine!! The Movie is a great choice if you want to go out with your family this summer and enjoy a nice plot and have a good laugh. Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
10
FacemanMay 25, 2019
It’s amazing to the point of I don’t know what to type. It’s fleshed out and given some new flavor.
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
10
masterluffyMay 26, 2019
Disney movies always make me speechless.. Totally awesome, The remake song of a whole new world really makes me chill
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
Fer05May 26, 2019
It was amazing! the music, costumes, actors, everything in the movie was really great!
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
movieworshiper8May 27, 2019
this remake wasn't perfect but it was a good movie. I enjoyed every minute. the special effect are good. the movie colorful and very funny. The biggest mistake was Jafar. The actor does not fit his role. (sorry for spekking)
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
420420May 28, 2019
It was better than the original!
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
1
JustBrutalMay 26, 2019
A menacing Jafar? Nope. A light voiced young boy. A Princess Jasmine that wants to escape from the pressure of forced marriage (a big problem in the part of the world this work is created in) nope, she actually wants to be the Sultan. AA menacing Jafar? Nope. A light voiced young boy. A Princess Jasmine that wants to escape from the pressure of forced marriage (a big problem in the part of the world this work is created in) nope, she actually wants to be the Sultan. A funny, likable, talented star as the heart of the film playing The Genie? Nope. Will Smith. Playing, well Will Smith. Hell he even becomes black, gives himself legs & makes Will Smith noises. Iheago being a strangely likeable sarcastic talking parrot? Nope. Pretty much a normal parrot. That then gets really big to chase people around. At least we will have Jafar turn into a massive Cobra at the end of the film to use Disney's CGI to great effect right?... Nah. That's replaced by that big parrot I mentioned earlier.
Summary: A pathetic, awful, cashgrab.
Expand
7 of 16 users found this helpful79
All this user's reviews
5
SpudsiiMay 24, 2019
Erm ye were to start the main actor seemed a little wooden in the roll of Aladdin, will smith did an ok job as the genie, but no one can fill the shoes of the original voice actor of the cartoon sorry.
overall fun for the kids but average at best.
14 of 33 users found this helpful1419
All this user's reviews
6
PilotreviewerMay 27, 2019
It’s a meh... story line is not that good the original is far better... most characters are dull except for smith... hope they did a better job 95% based on the original storyline. It felt like empty...
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews