Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 24, 2019
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 141 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
86
Mixed:
16
Negative:
39
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
tropicAcesMay 23, 2019
This was the first time Disney has remade one of their animated films that I loved growing up. And while no one will obviously top Robin Williams (nor should they try), Will Smith harnesses his Fresh Prince attitude and provides enough laughsThis was the first time Disney has remade one of their animated films that I loved growing up. And while no one will obviously top Robin Williams (nor should they try), Will Smith harnesses his Fresh Prince attitude and provides enough laughs and music to overcome some of Guy Ritchie's questionable choices. Expand
17 of 22 users found this helpful175
All this user's reviews
9
clee1May 24, 2019
SO GOOD. The movie blew my expectations out of the water. Visually stunning, loved the storytelling and characters, and the humor had me dying. 10/10 would see again. TRUST ME it is worth seeing. Don't judge by the trailers or what you hear online!
17 of 24 users found this helpful177
All this user's reviews
8
ChronoMakersMay 24, 2019
I was delighted by this new version of Aladdin! Comparing this movie to the original animated version, I found that this new version does some things better than the original movie (Defining Jasmine's character more for exemple) and theI was delighted by this new version of Aladdin! Comparing this movie to the original animated version, I found that this new version does some things better than the original movie (Defining Jasmine's character more for exemple) and the original does other things better (I mostly prefer the climax from the original movie although the remake one is still good).

But all in all, it's still Aladdin and therefore it's still a great movie! Also have to mention that I enjoyed Will Smith's Genie, it's a different take but it works! Go see it! It's worth it!
Expand
17 of 24 users found this helpful177
All this user's reviews
10
SulstiMay 24, 2019
Colorful, brilliant, charming. I enjoyed every second of this movie but Jaffar could have been better.
18 of 28 users found this helpful1810
All this user's reviews
10
EduardoGCorreaMay 23, 2019
O filme consegue reunir o melhor da animação com inovação. Adorei os atores, adorei a forma com que retrataram os animais. Também foi ótima a mistura musical e cultural indiana. Talvez os efeitos especiais do gênio não sejam tão bons, e oO filme consegue reunir o melhor da animação com inovação. Adorei os atores, adorei a forma com que retrataram os animais. Também foi ótima a mistura musical e cultural indiana. Talvez os efeitos especiais do gênio não sejam tão bons, e o Jaffar parece muito fraco.Mas da pra compreender o objetivo. No fim conseguiram recriar a magia do filme original. Expand
15 of 25 users found this helpful1510
All this user's reviews
8
minargitMay 25, 2019
Absolute charmer. It is far from perfect, but has high enjoyment value. I absolutely love Will Smith performance. I also enjoy the singing and the choreography. One of the better Disney live-action adaptation to date
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
evarattoMay 25, 2019
This film was just incredible!! It will bring you back to your childhood but at the same time it will surprise you!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
GrachechkovskiMay 24, 2019
A nice family film with songs and dances, flawless performance of Will Smith and Plane Carpet, light humor, nostalgic music and a reference to Philip Kirkorov
14 of 17 users found this helpful143
All this user's reviews
10
verrig0kunMay 25, 2019
First things first, I reckon that this film is underrated. A lot of people just hate it i do not know why. This is a really good story but remade to suit our days. Atmosphere is great and, maybe I do not understand something, costumes, actionFirst things first, I reckon that this film is underrated. A lot of people just hate it i do not know why. This is a really good story but remade to suit our days. Atmosphere is great and, maybe I do not understand something, costumes, action in movie are great either. Some characters were remade and became more interesting to look on them on the screen. Relations between characters are progressing during the whole film. And, nonetheless, OST is amazing. Someone can not like it, but, all in all, it is great. I could stay speaking about good sides of Aladdin for a real long time, but, long story short, just go to it and judje it by yourself. It would be a better thing to do, and you will not just waste your time by wathcing it, I hope you will get that amount of positive emotions as I did. Expand
13 of 16 users found this helpful133
All this user's reviews
9
martynataniMay 25, 2019
Wonderful visuals, great musical performance, good acting, fun comedy. I enjoyed it very much
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
Agent314May 24, 2019
A delightful, if blemished, adaptation of an original masterpiece. The best parts are all intact: wonderful songs with a modern arrangement, Bollywoodesque dance numbers, kid friendly themes, and big heart. The disappointing bits willA delightful, if blemished, adaptation of an original masterpiece. The best parts are all intact: wonderful songs with a modern arrangement, Bollywoodesque dance numbers, kid friendly themes, and big heart. The disappointing bits will likely not ruin it for adults and certainly will not bother your kids. Marwin Kenzari as Jafar is by far the most glaring problem with this film. Haters will obsess with Will Smith; however, you'll find his interpretation of the genie to be refreshing and hilarious. "Friend Like Me" is just as catchy and the new "Speechless" is brave and inspiring. I cannot imagine a better Jasmine than Naomi Scott. She is truly the standout in this film. Mena Moussad...well, he gets the job done, and that's really what keeps this film from being great - too many "adequate" performances.

The premature criticism of the CGI genie probably took everyone's mind off the rest of the CGI creatures. Rajah is spectacular and believable, the carpet will make you laugh, and Abu...Abu! He's the cutest thing you always imagined. Iago's role is vastly reduced in this reimagining, and that is a crime. But if that's a crime so is the voice performance of typically spot-on Alan Tudyk. I mean, WTF? I almost thought that parrot was a trained macaw until his dialogue. Really sad.

I'm not really sure if these films are targeted as nostalgia candy for adults or if they're supposed to have the same kind of appeal to older kids that the animated films have to children, but even though you'll walk out of Aladdin singing songs and smiling you will probably still be wondering if there's really a point to it. There's obviously nothing wrong with the original, and there's really nothing you can add to it. Except more box office...
Expand
14 of 18 users found this helpful144
All this user's reviews
8
Moviereviewer15May 24, 2019
The performances by Will Smith, Naomi Scott, Mena Moussad and Nasim Pedrad along with the musical numbers and well-designed production values help keep Disney’s new live-action Aladdin from Guy Ritchie flying on the magic carpet to be reallyThe performances by Will Smith, Naomi Scott, Mena Moussad and Nasim Pedrad along with the musical numbers and well-designed production values help keep Disney’s new live-action Aladdin from Guy Ritchie flying on the magic carpet to be really enjoyable fun. Expand
14 of 18 users found this helpful144
All this user's reviews
8
joeyabukiMay 23, 2019
The best adaptation of Disney's live action movie. The first act is quite slow and boring, even improbable when they are chasing Aladdin at the beginning, you do not believe the world they want to put you through the eyes and he's jugglingThe best adaptation of Disney's live action movie. The first act is quite slow and boring, even improbable when they are chasing Aladdin at the beginning, you do not believe the world they want to put you through the eyes and he's juggling and absurd jumps (I give it a 6), but then when the Genius appears the movie rises. Will Smith is the best of the film, Mena Massoud (Aladdin) also does his performance very well, you believe in everything, Naomi Scott (Jasmine) does her part. Those last 2 acts are great (I give it a 9). The scenes don't happen in the same order as the animated one, besides there are 38 more minutes of songs and new scenes. You don't feel that Guy Ritchie is the director, it could have been any other. This story is Arabic but they changed it and it feels a bit Indian, more of Bollywood. The ending just surprised me, it's not the same one when Aladdin sets the Genie free. You have to go watch it Noowww. Expand
14 of 18 users found this helpful144
All this user's reviews
9
versusMay 24, 2019
Great movie, it take me to my childhood again, i dont understand the bad reviews, but also i dont care about them, i just enjoyed the story, the songs, (classic and new ones), and the performances.
14 of 19 users found this helpful145
All this user's reviews
7
armartaryMay 25, 2019
Disney made a good effort on reimagining this film into live-action form. Colorful visual, great music, vocal and choreography, spot-on comedy. Although the acting was a bit rough at the beginning, the timing of some scenes were a bit weirdDisney made a good effort on reimagining this film into live-action form. Colorful visual, great music, vocal and choreography, spot-on comedy. Although the acting was a bit rough at the beginning, the timing of some scenes were a bit weird and it was not as griping as the cartoon, it was still a very enjoyable movie. I especially love Will Smith performance and I also love Aladdin's voice. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
8
virikaliMay 25, 2019
Better than most live-action disney movies. The emotional impact it lack (compared to the original cartoon is compensated by great comedy, choreography and lively visuals. The main actors/actress also did a good job in presenting theirBetter than most live-action disney movies. The emotional impact it lack (compared to the original cartoon is compensated by great comedy, choreography and lively visuals. The main actors/actress also did a good job in presenting their characters. Overall, a very enjoyable watch Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
7
chiisatinMay 25, 2019
As a fan of the original Aladdin, I was not disappointed. Will Smith delivered as genie and the rest of the main cast did a pretty good job acting their characters. different from the original, I reckon this movie is not for everyone becauseAs a fan of the original Aladdin, I was not disappointed. Will Smith delivered as genie and the rest of the main cast did a pretty good job acting their characters. different from the original, I reckon this movie is not for everyone because some aspects of this movie has subtle differences compared to the original which some people might find weird and uninteresting. The vocal performances were great, it gives a modern spin to the classic and still manage to provoke a sense of nostalgia. The visuals are charming, maybe a bit too colorful for my liking, but it still works. A flawed yet still very fun movie to watch Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
Lilikoli78May 24, 2019
Нет слов, это ностальгия, это воплощение старого доброго мультфильма, но совершенно по-новому. Я очень рада, что мало что изменили и придерживались традиционной картинки и сюжета. Масштабно, красиво, незабываемо. Актёры и их исполнение - вышеНет слов, это ностальгия, это воплощение старого доброго мультфильма, но совершенно по-новому. Я очень рада, что мало что изменили и придерживались традиционной картинки и сюжета. Масштабно, красиво, незабываемо. Актёры и их исполнение - выше всяких похвал. Спасибо за этот фильм! Expand
14 of 20 users found this helpful146
All this user's reviews
9
creamerwhaleMay 25, 2019
A wonderful movie to watch with your family. Might not be as good as the cartoon and feels a bit different, but still a good movie overall
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
birymainMay 25, 2019
An almost perfect adaptation of the original. Enjoyed almost every second of the movie. Though some parts were not as good as I'd hoped, the rest were pretty incredible.
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
4
JortigoMay 24, 2019
The design of the Genie is horrible, but his performance saves the movie.
In summary, it is a complete copy from beginning to end of the original animation.
Even the songs are the same.
totally forgettable
11 of 22 users found this helpful1111
All this user's reviews
2
MegatdoreMay 25, 2019
Honestly i went in thinking this was going to be at least avarge but it was somehow worse than the beauty and the beast remake its so unoriginal and bland. disney right now is just being lazy, they should make more new stories, so overall imHonestly i went in thinking this was going to be at least avarge but it was somehow worse than the beauty and the beast remake its so unoriginal and bland. disney right now is just being lazy, they should make more new stories, so overall im dreading the realse of the lion king remake i dont want disney to kill their own best movie (in my opinion) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
SpudsiiMay 24, 2019
Erm ye were to start the main actor seemed a little wooden in the roll of Aladdin, will smith did an ok job as the genie, but no one can fill the shoes of the original voice actor of the cartoon sorry.
overall fun for the kids but average at best.
10 of 21 users found this helpful1011
All this user's reviews
5
LatinCritic13May 24, 2019
Guy Ritchie's take on the beloved animated Disney hit Aladdin is not what you expect, instead, it was rather very cliché to watch. Especially when the writing feels so exhausting and intricate to follow in terms of building a whole new world.Guy Ritchie's take on the beloved animated Disney hit Aladdin is not what you expect, instead, it was rather very cliché to watch. Especially when the writing feels so exhausting and intricate to follow in terms of building a whole new world. Sorry Will Smith, it's not your fault.. Expand
9 of 21 users found this helpful912
All this user's reviews
4
amheretojudgeMay 24, 2019
Smith earns the respect with vivacious performance and is celebrated by an incredible fund, yet Ritchie's distraction could only last long enough for a three minute song.

Aladdin Ritchie is not using the best of it. What was highlighted in
Smith earns the respect with vivacious performance and is celebrated by an incredible fund, yet Ritchie's distraction could only last long enough for a three minute song.

Aladdin

Ritchie is not using the best of it. What was highlighted in the 90s animated version, that is definitely celebrated with Disney funding the makers with a room full of money and vfx artists coloring and glittering the screen with crowd pleasing fireworks and commercial artwork. What is ignored is the goofiness of the Sultan- the father of Jasmine played by Naomi Scott- and the devilishness of the antagonist. But what aches you the most, is our host, the titled character, whose innocence should have been empathetic, yet in here, the incompetence is pitifully.. well, pitied.

Along with dull writing- except for the obvious one-liners from Genie played by Will Smith that will still chuckle you- the detailing in the physical sequence that went by in the original version is majorly in scarce here. Now, the plus points. First of all, it is and will be eventually a Guy Ritchie film. Ergo, it has got style like no other Disney live version had. From daring to add a musical number in a chase scene to a brilliantly choreographed songs; dance is a major part of it and Mena Massoud is good at it along with Smith tapping to few beats.

New songs are added up and the old ones are updated with couple of new verses, which to me was like eating glass. And yes, I should not compare it to Robin Williams, but in my defense, they sang those songs and brought it that close, and no it is not an improvement. Smith's version is surely charming but is also anchored by a dull script. Aladdin is another passion project for Smith coming alive and he will rejoice it, the unsung ones will be the supporting actors along with the banner that chips up for a pretentious gold digging act as it fails to experiment with the art in the museum, once again.
Expand
9 of 22 users found this helpful913
All this user's reviews
4
DerekReideMay 24, 2019
I have given no faith or any sort of mercy for Disney's live-action remakes, only with the exception of 2019's 'Dumbo'. 'Aladdin', on the other hand, was the least interesting of the remakes so far, to me. There wasn't really anything new toI have given no faith or any sort of mercy for Disney's live-action remakes, only with the exception of 2019's 'Dumbo'. 'Aladdin', on the other hand, was the least interesting of the remakes so far, to me. There wasn't really anything new to this and that was one of the biggest drawbacks. Will Smith's Genie was okay but better than I thought he would be. Mena Massoud was decent, Naomi Scott was fine and Marwan Kenzari's Jafar reminded me of an angry 15-year-old. The beginning part of the film was okay but still fell flat in most areas. And the middle and end was either pretty quickly paced, or just paced so inconsistently. Some of Genie's jokes kept me somewhat entertained throughout the nearly two-hour runtime. I think the biggest complaint from me was the actual editing and how the setting looked. Not the practical set, because that was one of the best-looking sets I've seen, but the way they implanted the overly colored screen effect. If it was daytime, Agrabah and the desert just had this distracting shade of yellow and orange. If it was night, then Agrabah, the Cave of Wonders, and the desert had this annoying dark blue shade. Some CGI effects were okay, but it really all came down to the look and colors of the film. Costume design was fine, the production design was great, but I have no idea why Disney would spend all this money on amazing production design for a C- film. Overall, this film was exactly how I thought it would turn out for me. Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
1
ctn1187May 24, 2019
Just awful. I gave it a chance. The kids that play Aladdin and Jasmine were actually decent but the rest is just bad. Just watch the original
11 of 32 users found this helpful1121
All this user's reviews
3
Toybirdy13May 24, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not a good live action movie step ahead lyrics didnt match the scene like how the cartoon version did. he was literally walking around singing instead of running for his life. Jafar ruin the movie. no slave jasmine but we get a SFW jasmine song and she becomes sultan.... movie is called Aladdin not "Jasmine" cgi for carpet looks pretty bad i was hoping to see carpet mess with abu and thats how they meet but instead carpet ask for help and Aladdin was like "its a magic carpet." or something like that and they help carpet we don't get snake jafar instead a giant bird.. this movie doesn't improve the original. some of dialogue looked looked lifeless like they reading a script next to the camera man. will smith saved this movie for me. the actor that plays aladdin was ok his looks made him look like Aladdin same with the actress that plays jasmine. there is no slave jasmine scene or jester sultan getting crackers shoved in his mouth. instead sultan is almost made to snap his own neck which was kinda weird since this was supposed to be a children friendly movie but sultan looks possess and turning his head like it was about to snap and die. that went dark. should had slave jasmine instead but that would ruin her SJW song.. lol movie is not good. and they had a amazing Hitch scene with genie and aladdin which imo best part of the movie. Expand
3 of 20 users found this helpful317
All this user's reviews
2
keke222May 24, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Generaly I like the story of Alladin and is amazing in the book,but aparently I sow only the Disney version wich is not the real story. First : the movie is 40% a musical wich is a minus from the start, then the story is wrong in all aspects. The real story hapens in China not Arabia, Jafar is an african powerfull wizard has nothing in common with the Sultan,in the real story is a great magician who finds out about the lamp from his magic stuff, and he finds Alladin and tricks him, the real story is more amasing than this "good" story,Jafar colects magic relics it does not want to became Sultan, Alladin actualy has a diferent story with Jasmin. The book is more acurate,the actors are playing amazing the roles on screen, Will Smith is amazing. But no fault of the actors if the writers wants to change 90% of the real story of Alladin,plus Alladin story is one of the amazing stories of 1001 nights, I will chose the story of tricky Dalila anytime over Alladins.Another issue with the so called story of the movie is the conception that the gin can only grants you three wishes, in the book the one who owns the lamp is the master of the gin wich can grant him what ever wish he wants and as many wishes he wants,the logic in the movie fades, what you gona do with a lamp with a powerfull gin who can only grants you three wishes,whould you give away your lamp to another for another three wishes?Realy illogical that the master of the lamp only have a limited amount of wishes!Another problem in the movie who changed completely the story of Alladin is that the chance to release the gin,again the ilogical used here is that the gin can be released and transform in human. The story with the gin is that God created the angels the gin and the human, this are three species diferent,the gin is said to be created from fire,so logical a species can not become another species and why would you will give up your powers to became less powerfull?In the real book, the gin is bound by king Solomon to the lamp, can not be release,probabily the only think that gin can't do in the story is to unbound itself even if the master will grant him that wish,the gin is bound with powerfull SIGILS,no one can broke them but king Solomon.The gin in the story is neutral who is controll him but the only one who can enter in the cave as a prophecy says is only Alladin,the lamp is writen to be his until he touches it,after that Alladin can give the lamp or lose it the lamp will work the same with the new master, but only Alladin can aquire it at first. Made up beings are : the monkey, the parot of Giafar and the tiger from the palace.Why would you made up this animals?No ideea.Probably to continue the old cartoons about Alladin.I wonder if this people who takes the story and recreate them they even bother anymore to read the original story.And many more details not in the movie but in the book, the book is worth reading if you like storys. Expand
3 of 21 users found this helpful318
All this user's reviews
2
OlympMay 23, 2019
It’s got a flying carpet. It’s got an enchanted lamp. It’s got a shape-shifting genie.

But alas, the film settles for telling you a joke you’ve already heard and botching the delivery.
3 of 22 users found this helpful319
All this user's reviews
0
zacharyhasMay 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is legit terrible, what are you all smoking. Absolutely laughable in it's directing, production and almost everything. Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
10
DeependraMay 25, 2019
With tons of VFX, Aladdin is one of the most colourful live action movie. Naomi Scott & Mena Massoud played their respective roles perfectly. But, the actual showstopper throughout the movie is Genie aka will smith . *Take a bow* will, youWith tons of VFX, Aladdin is one of the most colourful live action movie. Naomi Scott & Mena Massoud played their respective roles perfectly. But, the actual showstopper throughout the movie is Genie aka will smith . *Take a bow* will, you are fantastic as usual.
10/10 for pure entertainment. ❣️
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MadBert91May 25, 2019
Excelente película, muy fiel a la original con un apartado técnico digo de mención.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JimboCritiqueMay 25, 2019
A beautiful heartfelt film. Colorful, vibrant and with a very talented cast. I am amazed the so called critics scored it low. As usual ignore them and pay attention to the audience score. A very entertaining film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LilydemarchMay 25, 2019
I LOVED IT. Maybe it's the 4D, maybe it's nostalgia or maybe Will Smith, the songs. I just loved it, best live action as of now. I can't wait to watch it again in 2D. If you loved the first movie, I think you will like this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FacemanMay 25, 2019
It’s amazing to the point of I don’t know what to type. It’s fleshed out and given some new flavor.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
brunojuggernautMay 25, 2019
Zero creativity. Will Smith performance is an insult. Lack of originality, bad acting, worst visual effects.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
acanovaMay 26, 2019
As a movie: Terrible cast, terrible acting, characters felt out of place, mediocre singing, and bad timing. Definitely a "B" movie.

As a remake: Some ties to the original but too many changes. Felt like a different story.

Disney should be ashamed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
CaptiosusMay 25, 2019
I went into this movie with very low expectations and I was still disappointed. I was expecting to hate Will Smith's Genie but, surprisingly, he was one of the few high points of the film. He made Genie his own and didn't just try to cloneI went into this movie with very low expectations and I was still disappointed. I was expecting to hate Will Smith's Genie but, surprisingly, he was one of the few high points of the film. He made Genie his own and didn't just try to clone Robin Williams and the role was all the better for it. Everything else, though.. just awful. Adding Jasmine's new, feminist pandering "I don't need no man, I'm a strong woman!", musical numbers ("Speechless" parts 1 and 2) not only felt out of place but also were cringe af. Nothing felt menacing about Jafar -- he felt like a SyFy b-rated TV movie villain. The visual effects were pretty damn good, at least. But I give the final word to my 8 year old who, as we were walking out of the theater, turned and said "That stunk, can I watch the cartoon when I get home?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dorkainurMay 25, 2019
I really enjoyed the movie, it felt both nostalgic and fresh.
I kinda liked all the performances but Jafar's.
Missed the "snake"...
Everything elsed worked perfectly fine, the songs, the performances, I really loved this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingMay 25, 2019
Disney's vibrant live-action remake "Aladdin" is a magical carpet ride of lush visuals, great acting, and a whole lot of heart and humour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ileGTiMay 26, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Weird pacing, a weird new pop song inside a musical that should've been left for the end credits perhaps, an okay Will Genie, strong main characters, especially Naomi Scott who has a ton of potential for starring roles... oh and a weird soulless parrot robot. Although i almost started a ranting list here, i do have to say most of the time the movie had this good vibe, and it was enjoyable, but has its problems. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trineo99May 25, 2019
First of all, like all the other live-action remakes of classic Disney films, this one has changes to it and one of them was good and the rest was kinda bad. The only good one is what they did with Jasmine. Naomi Scott was incredible asFirst of all, like all the other live-action remakes of classic Disney films, this one has changes to it and one of them was good and the rest was kinda bad. The only good one is what they did with Jasmine. Naomi Scott was incredible as Jasmine and played her to absolute perfection to her abilities. But the thing I want to talk about is what they did with her character. Instead of keeping her the same as her animated counterpart they changed her so she better fit a strong female that should be seen more in film. She also had the best song in the entire film and I hope it gets nominated for best original song for the Oscars. The set design in this film was outstanding and just looked spectacular on the big screen. All of the sets looked like it was taken right out of the animated film and just increased. The costume design was also really good. Even though we already knew who the common people were and the royalty it still showed the status difference. Although I did hate how they made Aladdin have clean clothes. Now, the original songs are classics and everybody knows them and I hate how they changed some of the lyrics mainly with “One Jump Ahead” and “Prince Ali”. I do understand why they changed them to help fit the story but with “Prince Ali” one of the lyrics was changed and it pissed me off. I talked about how Naomi Scott is great as Jasmine but for the rest of the actors, it wasn’t the same. Now, I’m not going to hate on Will Smith as the Genie because he did accept a tough challenge of taking over for the legendary Robin Williams and he did make it his own but my main probably was with Mena Massoud and Marwan Kenzari, who plays Jafar. Mena Massoud was a decent Aladdin what he lacked was the singing ability but I will give him credit for putting himself out there. But, Marwan Kenzari just didn’t do it for me as Jafar. He pretty much was a boring villain who was two-dimensional. There were two big scene changes that just bugged me all because it affected the story and those were the opening scene and the ending. The opening made no sense because it was out of order and the ending just was a completely different ending that sucked. This film does keep the original message of always be yourself but it messes it up with one thing. Also, the CGI in this film is just bad. Nothing CGI really looked realistic in any way. There were lots of scenes in this film that awkwardly ended and transitioned to the next with no proper connection. I’m not sure if it was just me but the humour in this film was kinda weak. The score by Alan Menken was good at least. In the end, Aladdin (2019) doesn’t have the same magic as the original animated one and shouldn’t have been touched at all. It’s a good kids film but for people who grew up with the original, it’s not that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1May 25, 2019
I enjoyed myself during this. Liked it better than the Beauty and the Beast remake. Course I think this remake had the liberty of the source material being a more lighthearted comedy, giving this adaptation's writers more breathing room.I enjoyed myself during this. Liked it better than the Beauty and the Beast remake. Course I think this remake had the liberty of the source material being a more lighthearted comedy, giving this adaptation's writers more breathing room.

This movie follows the basic plot points of the original, but it does a decent job of coming up with with some fairly good original jokes and other content. Jasmine (the Power Rangers movie's Naomi Scott) and Jafar (Marwen Kenzari) get more backstory and motivation, and the Genie (Will Smith) and Aladdin (Mena Massoud) have more time to naturally build their friendship.

The first ten minutes or so are a little top heavy. The events up to and involving Aladdin meeting Jasmine seem to be really fast forwarded, and it seems odd. This movie is 38 minutes longer than the original. Why the need for condensation? The One Jump Ahead music sequence definitely looks like they sped up the footage. The rest of the films mostly moves smoothly with a couple quick edits that seem odd. It definitely feels like Nasim Pedrad's character, a handmaiden named Dalia, and Billy Magnusson's Prince Anders had more stuff that was cut.

Will Smith is his old charming self. (It's been a while since we've see him go full Smith.) Massoud is a very likable Aladdin. Scott is a good Jasmine ,but some of her female empowerment lines don't work. I don't blame her, she just has some forced dialogue. (To clarify, I'm saying it doesn't work because of the script's execution and not the actual message.) Dalia, created mostly for someone else for Jasmine and the Genie to talk with, is a funny, slightly-off kilter character. Iago's character (Alan Tudyk) feels the most changed from the original. Here he sounds more like a parrot and talks in short beats. I didn't dislike it. You're never going to match Gilbert Godfried if you try to copy him.

Jafar is definitely the weak point of the movie. Yes, I did give props to his backstory but that is about it. The original was one of Disney's greatest villains, A wonderful combination of cunning, droll humor, and malevolence. This guy is either dull or sounds like he's a child throwing a brief temper tantrum that's just for show. Kenzari doesn't sound intimidating at all. (BTW: Having seen director Guy Ritchie's two Sherlock Holmes movies, what is with him and low-energy villains?) He's also there as the main figure representing society's attempts to silence Jasmine's strong female voice, and he just sounds so unnatural at these moments.

The movie looks great; very colorful and lavish. The musical numbers were well shot. Friend Like Me may be one of the most ambitious live action musical segments in a while. Yes, many fans of the original may be frustrated that the musical numbers or action scenes just don't match the strength of the original. (Their isn't even any giant snake Jafar, although I still felt the final act's action piece worked.) That's true, but by itself I say this is a likable mvoie.

They keep all the original songs except Jafar's Prince Ali reprise, which is so short anyway that I'll allow it. Friend Like Me and Prince Ali get a hip-hop revision to them, which actually works better than I expected. Not so much with Will Smith and DJ Kaled's rap version of Friend Like Me during the credits. Did not care for. Did Emma Watson's weak singing voice in Beauty and the Beast bother you? Prepare to be more disappointed. Both Smith and Massoud have weak voices. Whereas B&B had three new songs, we only get one here: Speechless, a song for Jasmine and done by original composer Alan Menken with Greatest Showman's Benj Pasek and Justin Paul. I really liked this one. Unlike her co-stars Naomi Scott's got pipes!

Overall, if you haven't been fond of the recent Disney remakes, this probably won't change your mind. But, I think the others will have a nice time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nanohulkMay 25, 2019
Es una muy buena película divertida, entretenida pero con unos efectos falsos y un villano bastante débil no es para mi mejor que la versión animada ni el mejor live Action de Disney pero si es de las más rescatables
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nateOstrikeMay 25, 2019
Brilliant. Absolutely loved it and I love Disney! Will Smith did such a great job and the song were so, so good. Takes me back to my childhood!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Sanel00May 26, 2019
Aladdin 2019 has got really good thing, new added, an inspired Will Smith as the Genie, a wonderful Naomi Scott as Jasmine but all this big theater never touches the original movie (P.s: the young Jafar is something crazy but funny to see)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BrunoVn00May 25, 2019
This is just as a cash-grab as these Disney live-action remakes can get. I'll do tons of comparisons to the animated movie because it deserves to be compared,this isn't an adaptation, this movie is really trying to be the same movie as theThis is just as a cash-grab as these Disney live-action remakes can get. I'll do tons of comparisons to the animated movie because it deserves to be compared,this isn't an adaptation, this movie is really trying to be the same movie as the animated one. It seemed that Disney didn't care in getting talented people to make this movie as good or better than the original, the direction is bland with no style, the cinematography is mediocre, this movie looked like an ad for some Aladdin Disneyland ride. Some CGI looked bad and hilarious, cheesy slow-motion in 2019, new characters and songs added were unnecessary, many of the characters lost their charisma and don't feel the same anymore compared to the animated version, the acting was cartoonish and the genie and Abu looked hilariously awful. Speaking about Abu, there's one reason why Disney's take on Aladdin SHOULD be ANIMATED: The animal characters of the original have no charisma or emotion in this movie because they CAN'T EMOTE! They're realistic animals! However I do liked some stuff. The acting is cartoonish and cheesy, making it bad for me but Will Smith as the Genie was actually good and pretty funny, mainly because his character is meant to be cartoonish, I thought Will Smith would play Will Smith but his performance was actually good #ForgiveMeWill. Some new comedy scenes were really funny and the best of the movie. That's about it for the good stuff.

Disney, please stop remaking your animated movies in live-action, I would've loved to see this movie remade but CGI ANIMATED! It would be cool to see classic Disney movies remade in 3D animation with the technology you now have! Making them live-action just takes away a lot of the "Magic" these movies had, like a vibrant color palette, exagerated movements and expressions, geniunely breathtaking visual effects, etc...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Deanoseventy7May 25, 2019
Whilst some of the energy of the original isn't there (hard to capture that ol' animation magic), this live action remake is heaps of fun! Wil Smith does a great job giving Genie his own flair and fun whilst tipping his hat to the late, greatWhilst some of the energy of the original isn't there (hard to capture that ol' animation magic), this live action remake is heaps of fun! Wil Smith does a great job giving Genie his own flair and fun whilst tipping his hat to the late, great incomparable Robin Williams. Big tick from me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ConficturaMay 25, 2019
Great soundtracks and great musicals and images! Must be seen in a quality cinema saloon. Will Smith's performance is amazing and dances, costumes are great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
WarcatzMay 25, 2019
The live action version of Aladdin is visually stunning and has a fresh new take. Will Smith makes the Genie character fun and fresh by updating the movie and adding his "Fresh Prince" persona to the character.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HairyChestMay 25, 2019
Jafar sucks and is just some random guy. he doesn't seem evil like the cartoon.Horrible casting of him. Jasmine shines and can sing really good, love her new song (my favorite part), Aladdin actor is perfect and sounds just like the AladdinJafar sucks and is just some random guy. he doesn't seem evil like the cartoon.Horrible casting of him. Jasmine shines and can sing really good, love her new song (my favorite part), Aladdin actor is perfect and sounds just like the Aladdin in the cartoon, and will smith did a great job as the Genie. The music arrangement for I can show you the world was not good, they should have left it the same as the cartoon. Overall It was a fun movie, GO SEE IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SeastepMay 25, 2019
This is the 1st review I have ever written. I am a huge Disney fan, especially 90’s movies. I was a little skeptical going in to this movie, even though I am a Will Smith fan. I just felt there was no way they could even come close to RobinThis is the 1st review I have ever written. I am a huge Disney fan, especially 90’s movies. I was a little skeptical going in to this movie, even though I am a Will Smith fan. I just felt there was no way they could even come close to Robin Williams, I was scared I would constantly be comparing characters. I LOVED it. There are a few changes with the script and a couple extra songs, but it didn’t change the storyline. I walked out VERY happy. This proves that they can make movies with no agenda, sex or cussing and it still be amazing. Great job, Aladdin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SickenlyMay 25, 2019
Not enough time in this world to explain how bad this movie was. At least I can say Will Smith tried to save this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ed2co17May 26, 2019
I was honestly happily surprised by this movie. I didn't like a lot of things I saw in the promotional material, but let me tell you I was happy with it in the movie. I thought Jasmin and Jafar were great. The songs were really well done andI was honestly happily surprised by this movie. I didn't like a lot of things I saw in the promotional material, but let me tell you I was happy with it in the movie. I thought Jasmin and Jafar were great. The songs were really well done and the humor was perfect for families. I saw it with a diverse audience and they seemed to love it as well. At the end there was an applause. Will Smith did a great job and the chemistry with him and Aladdin was great. Honestly I'd say the critics are being too harsh on this movie or are unfairly comparing it to original. If you have the slightest urge to see it, I would recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews