Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 22, 1979
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1018 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
972
Mixed:
30
Negative:
16
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
TheUnknownBardFeb 18, 2013
This is just mediocre sci-fi horror movie with a lot of screamers and pointless scenes. Not saying it's bad, but it's so damn overrated.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Mar 17, 2013
Overall a very slow paced film. Effect were great for the day and I'm sure when this was new it was the scariest movie in the Sci-fi genre, but I originally only watched this in the late 80s, or early 90s so the same initial effect was lostOverall a very slow paced film. Effect were great for the day and I'm sure when this was new it was the scariest movie in the Sci-fi genre, but I originally only watched this in the late 80s, or early 90s so the same initial effect was lost to me. However it still adds allot of atmosphere and the Alien itself is truly menacing. Like I said before, my real grip with this movie is that its pacing is almost snail like. Even faster scenes seem to drag on. To me it feels like they just tried to stretch every scene just to hit some sort of running time target. Allot could have been cut from the movie, and I'm sure most wouldn't even notice, except for the fact that it would only be just under an hour long. Overall: A very good sci-fi thriller that could have been flushed out with some more character development rather than the ultra slow camera tracking. Very good, but equally flawed. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
btzneb92Aug 13, 2012
For a film made in 1979, the movie feels pretty timeless, now watching it in 2012, which gives a lot of merit to the film itself. Ellen Ripley is an engaging and strong female protagonist, and it was an interesting choice to make her behaveFor a film made in 1979, the movie feels pretty timeless, now watching it in 2012, which gives a lot of merit to the film itself. Ellen Ripley is an engaging and strong female protagonist, and it was an interesting choice to make her behave like an antagonist on the first half of the film. Good creature and make-up effects as well. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
BigZNov 5, 2014
Ridley Scott unleashing a trademark creature and series that would horrify for decades. Go back to the root and you find a solid bit of just plain good movie making. The story may move on the slow side but the build of curiosity and scaresRidley Scott unleashing a trademark creature and series that would horrify for decades. Go back to the root and you find a solid bit of just plain good movie making. The story may move on the slow side but the build of curiosity and scares relatively well. This is just a classic, there isn't much else to say. People argue that you have to consider the time it was made and while that is important and it may have a significant effect on the graphics and production value, the time is here and now and her and now I think it holds its own. It was slow and for that it lost some points while also being on the lower scale with few actors it is harder to stay grounded. This movie had all the right components though and it was made in the 70s...pretty hard to believe because there wasn't anything too obvious to age the movie. That's tough to do. As far as sci-fi horror is concerned, this is up at the top. Worth a watch. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
Jay777Jan 19, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a good movie but I hate it that the aliens exploded out of people that part goes to far but good sy-fi film
Warning: very intense jump-scares
I do recommend it but very intense
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
rockytopthadJan 28, 2022
Victimized again by overly high expectations! If I try really hard to channel an inner film student who is seeing this in historical blahblah then maybe. But on its face, in 2022, it’s not entertaining at any substantive level.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
sebastianaliAug 12, 2021
Alien tiene algunas cosas para destacar. Gráficamente es todo un espectáculo, efectos especiales impresionantes, escenarios tan detallados que se ven bien a dia de hoy, y un muy buen uso de las luces. Es increíble que una película actuada tanAlien tiene algunas cosas para destacar. Gráficamente es todo un espectáculo, efectos especiales impresionantes, escenarios tan detallados que se ven bien a dia de hoy, y un muy buen uso de las luces. Es increíble que una película actuada tan vieja (1979) pueda envejecer tan bien, salvo la ultima escena en la que muestran el cuerpo completo del alien, que si se nota que la trabajaron muy poco, pero todo lo demás es increíble. También debo destacar la atmósfera, que si bien en parte juega en contra (ya diré luego porque), la película mantiene muy bien ese nivel de tensión, sumado a que hay pocos jumpscares, realmente no te los esperas, y en cierta medida reduce así las situaciones cliches. Pero ahora a hablar de los puntos negativos. Y es que si bien dije que la atmosfera en cierta medida juega a favor, esto es a costa de dejar muy poco desarrollo de personajes y mantener muchas secciones con solo tensión y nada mas. En parte sentí que la película se estaba alargando artificialmente. La película dura 2 horas, y debo decir que la primera media hora la sentí muy de relleno. Si bien algunos podrían contraargumentar que la película intenta transmitir tension y suspenso (que en parte lo hace), esto es asi hasta el final, y a costa de no dar una historia llamativa, ni explicarnos cosas como el origen del alien o las verdaderas intenciones de la compañía con hallar el descubrimiento (por dar un ejemplo). Realmente la historia nunca se explota, es otra de esas películas de terror que solo buscan atmósfera, pero por tener solo atmósfera, al menos a mi, no van a lograr captar mi atención, quiero una buena historia también, y desgraciadamente muy pocas de su genero lo han logrado. Llega a tener varios cliches, incluso para su tiempo y algunos son muy predecibles, los personajes a veces actúan como tontos y, en resumen, se siente como la típica película thriller en la casa, solo que esta vez con temática futurista. No es que haya envejecido mal, simplemente es aburrida de ver y con un montón de cosas que podrían haberse explorado y explotado. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Webber123Nov 15, 2019
The second best Alien film, it’s not good as his sequel, but still, is watchable and great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KempMar 5, 2021
Maybe this really was special when it was made, but if so, it doesn't hold up.

Generic plot, underdeveloped characters, lackluster acting (apart from my boy Parker), horrible sound design, and hit or miss directing. The one thing that is
Maybe this really was special when it was made, but if so, it doesn't hold up.

Generic plot, underdeveloped characters, lackluster acting (apart from my boy Parker), horrible sound design, and hit or miss directing. The one thing that is still pretty impressive is the visual effects. This is a profoundly overrated movie, though very influential.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews