Twentieth Century Fox | Release Date: February 14, 2019
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1860 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,657
Mixed:
118
Negative:
85
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
djryangFeb 14, 2019
Overall good adaptation. They were able fo capture the spirit of the Mangas insane battles. These are some of the best visual effects ever, and the CGI is almost perfect in areas were its so seamless and you actually forget what your lookingOverall good adaptation. They were able fo capture the spirit of the Mangas insane battles. These are some of the best visual effects ever, and the CGI is almost perfect in areas were its so seamless and you actually forget what your looking at. Some parts of the story have been Hollywoodized but that was to be expected. Expand
49 of 54 users found this helpful495
All this user's reviews
9
jonhFeb 14, 2019
Once again, Cameron and Rodriguez visually immerse you in an incredible world - it's thrilling - and a little chilling - just to be in it. A solid story, great acting, and great action sequences follow, and overall a very satisfyingOnce again, Cameron and Rodriguez visually immerse you in an incredible world - it's thrilling - and a little chilling - just to be in it. A solid story, great acting, and great action sequences follow, and overall a very satisfying experience that made me want more. Expand
57 of 63 users found this helpful576
All this user's reviews
10
h22potterFeb 14, 2019
Went to see Alita for the second time last night we got to go to the pre-screening originally and loved it so much both times! Great interesting story, some awesome action sequences, and lots of heart. The CGI was fantastic, and the 3D wasWent to see Alita for the second time last night we got to go to the pre-screening originally and loved it so much both times! Great interesting story, some awesome action sequences, and lots of heart. The CGI was fantastic, and the 3D was probably the best 3d that I have ever seen, I'm normally not a fan of 3d but it was done correctly and it just made the experience even better. Expand
53 of 59 users found this helpful536
All this user's reviews
10
AlungFeb 14, 2019
This is just amazing movie! I am really love every damn second of this. Great story, great action, great score. You definetely need to see this, waiting for part two...
175 of 195 users found this helpful17520
All this user's reviews
8
IXIDeath_rowIXIFeb 14, 2019
Just saw the movie. Came out on the 5th at my place. I dare say it's one of the best anime-adapted movie ever made. The most successful for the US in my opinion. Especially how successful her iconic anime-eyes are brought to life. HeartJust saw the movie. Came out on the 5th at my place. I dare say it's one of the best anime-adapted movie ever made. The most successful for the US in my opinion. Especially how successful her iconic anime-eyes are brought to life. Heart warming father/daughter relationship between Alita & Ido. Very amazed & thankful by how much effort they put into the production to nail it as much as possible with some changes here and there. I wont be too nit picky...i dream for a Alita movie back when i fell in love with the manga, and so now here it is--dream come true! I wont say it's the best movie of 2019 though (i could be wrong), but it's most definitely not trash either. it's a good, fun, virtually explosive film painted by talented individuals! I was on the edge of my sit throughout the movie. Rosa Salazar and Cristoph Waltz's father/daughter relationship was very heartwarming.
My only regret was the moment i had to rush to the washroom when she got her new body.
As a fan of the original manga, i truly enjoyed it; although it's not perfect. And i look forward for the sequels!!
Expand
51 of 57 users found this helpful516
All this user's reviews
10
PhaedoAponiaFeb 14, 2019
The movie was well crafted and entertained throughout. I felt invested in Alita and her success. Definitely appreciated the cyber-punk feel and the attention to explanations that were unobtrusive and didn't overly complicate or overwhelm the viewer.
42 of 47 users found this helpful425
All this user's reviews
10
ElektrikFeb 14, 2019
Awesome movie. Went 2 times. Alita is beautiful. Nice world building, awesome 3d, loved the music. The most moving part of the movie is Alita itself. Must see.
42 of 47 users found this helpful425
All this user's reviews
9
rosensodenFeb 15, 2019
Stylish, fast paced action, very watchable. Best enjoyed on the big screen.
33 of 37 users found this helpful334
All this user's reviews
10
IphoneXVIFeb 14, 2019
If you are fan of the original comics(gunnm), then you have to watch this movie, and if you are not the fan of original comics, you have to watch this moive too^^, this movie is 'that good'.
41 of 46 users found this helpful415
All this user's reviews
10
jintapiaFeb 14, 2019
Ta shila la pelicula muy buenos efectos y emocionante, no es para personas que se enfocan en un argumento coherente pues el proposito de la pelicula es ser espectacular y tener accion pura y dura
40 of 45 users found this helpful405
All this user's reviews
10
mandi2kayFeb 14, 2019
Alita was amazing! The interesting storyline kept up the pace but still managed to give deep inflections and detail to the unique and heartfelt characters. Action and heart find a great compromise in Alita. The CGI is fantastic in AlitaAlita was amazing! The interesting storyline kept up the pace but still managed to give deep inflections and detail to the unique and heartfelt characters. Action and heart find a great compromise in Alita. The CGI is fantastic in Alita herself of course but also in the bodies and the environments. Rosa Salazar’s Alita was engaging and had a perfect blend of naivete and aggression. Waltz and Connelly's performances both were unique and nuanced, unforgettable! Just a fantastic movie, that leaves you wanting more. Expand
40 of 45 users found this helpful405
All this user's reviews
10
LunastraFeb 14, 2019
Nice work on CGI, specially modeling Alita and motorball scene. Motorball scene was really great, I couldn't lose focus on moive.
40 of 45 users found this helpful405
All this user's reviews
10
sgs42Feb 15, 2019
Holy cow what a ride! We watched it at the 3D IMAX and were blown away. The 3D is the best I've seen since Avatar, I'd dare say it's even better since the tech has matured. Can't wait for the sequel. Don't believe the critics this is a mustHoly cow what a ride! We watched it at the 3D IMAX and were blown away. The 3D is the best I've seen since Avatar, I'd dare say it's even better since the tech has matured. Can't wait for the sequel. Don't believe the critics this is a must watch film! Expand
40 of 45 users found this helpful405
All this user's reviews
10
Voodoo123Feb 14, 2019
+Exceptional anime to live action adaptation
+Great cast
+Excellent surround / OST +Incredible visuals -Having to wait for the next film! I came into the cinema unsure of quite what to expect... I was pleasantly blown away by what is easily
+Exceptional anime to live action adaptation
+Great cast
+Excellent surround / OST
+Incredible visuals
-Having to wait for the next film!

I came into the cinema unsure of quite what to expect... I was pleasantly blown away by what is easily Rodriguez's best film since sin city. The production cost is there on the screenn with a level of artistic spectacle unseen since the star wars prequels. Much of Iron city is there to draw the eye to and for me this is the first anime to live action film that doesn't completely butcher the source material. It feels about 70% accurate from the manga original with a bit of reshuffling and artistic license here and there. Above all the story just works and the cast are believable in their roles. If your'e a fan of the sci-fi action genre or even just James Cameron epics then this is for you! Glad to have seen this on the big screen but I cannot wait to see this in UHD 4k HDR when it releases in may for, god willing, an extended cut!!
Expand
47 of 53 users found this helpful476
All this user's reviews
10
NotZeldaFeb 15, 2019
I lose faith more and more in critical reviews. This movie was amazing in every aspect. I dont think you could delete a single scene, everything was perfect! Best movie i have seen in a long time. Would recommend to anyone and everyone.
39 of 44 users found this helpful395
All this user's reviews
10
FurtinFeb 15, 2019
Absolutely lovely work of art. Best 3D CGI integration and motion performance as of now. This is state of the art tech and done so very well. Must see for entertainment!
31 of 35 users found this helpful314
All this user's reviews
10
7horus7Feb 15, 2019
This movie was amazing.
Sad that Last Jedi gets critical acclaim with its moronic plotline and this movie gets a collective 'meh' from critics.
31 of 35 users found this helpful314
All this user's reviews
10
KolianFeb 15, 2019
I love the way the director delevoped the character. He's been successfully made not only the character fearless, but also considerate. The action sequences are also the essential elements of this movie and they executed them perfectly. II love the way the director delevoped the character. He's been successfully made not only the character fearless, but also considerate. The action sequences are also the essential elements of this movie and they executed them perfectly. I wish the script could be better knowing that it is almost impossible to build a 2-hour movie script based on a multi-volume manga to explain the whole story. But overall, this movie is marvelous. Expand
31 of 35 users found this helpful314
All this user's reviews
10
ParziFeb 15, 2019
Alita Battle Angel is what happens when Hollywood finally get an Anime film right, ive gotta say James Cameron and Robert Rodriguez should work more together because this film is incredible.

This film had heart and soul poured into its story
Alita Battle Angel is what happens when Hollywood finally get an Anime film right, ive gotta say James Cameron and Robert Rodriguez should work more together because this film is incredible.

This film had heart and soul poured into its story and you could tell that 1000 of hours of work have gone into making this film. They've pulled one of the best films this year with incredible visual effects and CGI work that give this film a beautiful setting and background.

The visual effect of Alita (voiced by Rosa Salazar) we're incredibly done giving detail in her eyes which made her character on screen look more like an actual human actress. Her character and acting is what made this film, they give her a human soul and a purpose with the writing which is so well done, it gives the audience an emotional journey of a young woman trying to discover who she is.

The love interest side of the film is so done right it doesn't feel forced as well which along with its action sequences as well as it supporting cast was nothing short of perfect. The story does a great job of not revealing too much to earlier as slowly building up characters so you understand the story and draws you into every moment, this is matched by the awesome fight scenes and great formidable villains of the film adding to incredible film.

This is one of those films that deserves a sequel and to be a successful film as of what they've realized here is one of the best live action anime films, with a damn near perfect if it was for slight pacing issue that doesn't really affect the film but is noticeable.

Does it live up to the hype? HELL YES this film live up to the hype this is a must to watch on the big screen hopefully were see a sequel come from it because it so needs it.
Expand
31 of 35 users found this helpful314
All this user's reviews
9
shadowfreak99Feb 14, 2019
Alita: Battle Angel is a visually stunning action-packed cyberpunk thriller, story has an emotional theme and its flawless CGI which makes it even more breathtaking. Each actions and fight move from the movie pumps adrenaline. It's one of theAlita: Battle Angel is a visually stunning action-packed cyberpunk thriller, story has an emotional theme and its flawless CGI which makes it even more breathtaking. Each actions and fight move from the movie pumps adrenaline. It's one of the best manga adaptation movie in the history. Thumbs up to the producers James Cameron, Robert Rodriguez and Jon Landau for making Alita character more interesting !! Expand
23 of 26 users found this helpful233
All this user's reviews
10
hantacoreFeb 14, 2019
Don't let yourself be turned down by the press reviews, and enjoy one of the best cyborg movies of the moment, far better than the Ghost in the Shell movie (for the ones who don't know the books, it's somewhere between Dark Angel andDon't let yourself be turned down by the press reviews, and enjoy one of the best cyborg movies of the moment, far better than the Ghost in the Shell movie (for the ones who don't know the books, it's somewhere between Dark Angel and Elysium). Of course, if you are more into cheesy love stories or historically accurate biopics, this one is not for you...

The adaptation is really good, with some nice workarounds allowing the story to be coherent and fast paced. Ido (Christopher Waltz) and Vektor (Mahershala Ali) are the perfect cast, the lesser known actors do a very good job along with Jennifer Connelly. The choice of a full CGI Alita is coherent, her expressions are well rendered.

For the manga lovers, you'll find the most iconic scenes of the first books, and a faithful Gally/Alita character. Some shortcuts have been taken to allow the narration to go fast enough, with subtle modifications, that the fans will notice, but that won't change the core of the universe of Gunnm

I would love to see the story continued, so please, please, make it a success :) remember that the best best parts of the lore are yet to come !
Expand
38 of 43 users found this helpful385
All this user's reviews
8
GrendizerFeb 14, 2019
Will keep it short. Overall I think they did a good job adapting a Manga/Anime. What I didn't like was the lower City being too clean and people living there, like it was an ok life. The contrast between the Scrapyard and Tiphares wasn'tWill keep it short. Overall I think they did a good job adapting a Manga/Anime. What I didn't like was the lower City being too clean and people living there, like it was an ok life. The contrast between the Scrapyard and Tiphares wasn't clear enough. A lot of the dialogue felt cheesy, cringey or bland. The presence of real danger, the charisma of some of the enemies, was for the most part of the movie missing. It wish the movie would have been a bit darker atmosphere wise. Expand
38 of 43 users found this helpful385
All this user's reviews
10
asuratyrFeb 14, 2019
The ratings will already tell you this: but it's a movie you'll either love or hate. When you watch it, it's clear that the source material is not western. They don't shy away from violence by the protagonist and don't feel the need to put inThe ratings will already tell you this: but it's a movie you'll either love or hate. When you watch it, it's clear that the source material is not western. They don't shy away from violence by the protagonist and don't feel the need to put in annoying comic relief characters.
Not every character is black and white, and that's what makes this movie awesome.
Expand
45 of 51 users found this helpful456
All this user's reviews
9
bnathanFeb 15, 2019
I don't know if the Critics just have tall poppy syndrome and want this to fail but this movie is VERY good. No not perfect but its got everything you want from a action adventure love story. A lot of the reviews said there was too muchI don't know if the Critics just have tall poppy syndrome and want this to fail but this movie is VERY good. No not perfect but its got everything you want from a action adventure love story. A lot of the reviews said there was too much packed into one movie and yes there was but in no way was it a mess, if a critic cant follow this story then they are just simple themselves and how do they have their jobs. I was expecting the roller ball bits too be too long and to make the movie drag but they are kept short and fit the story perfectly. A simple sum up of Alita.... AMAZING VISUAL and 3D, an action story with enough meat to it that you had to think a little (not War and Piece but not Mighty Morphing Power Rangers either), acting was good all around, good villains and characters. The only downside I really saw was the ended for me felt like a "hey lets end it here and hope we get to do a 2nd one" and had no real closure or finality. Don't listen to the critics do yourself a favour and go see this movie. Expand
37 of 42 users found this helpful375
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondJan 31, 2019
I knew nothing about Yukito Kishiro’s manga walking into my screening of Alita: Battle Angel, but I found the film to be gripping throughout. Perhaps only the ending left me slightly unsatisfied (for obvious and necessary reasons when you seeI knew nothing about Yukito Kishiro’s manga walking into my screening of Alita: Battle Angel, but I found the film to be gripping throughout. Perhaps only the ending left me slightly unsatisfied (for obvious and necessary reasons when you see it). Sure, there are some implausibility issues that critics are citing (and the film borrows story element from a number of other sci-fi sagas we’ve seen), but the characters of Alita and her love interest Hugo are entirely believable and compelling. And Christophe Waltz is fantastic. Ali and Connelly have smaller parts, but they’re terrific. I was concerned, after seeing the trailer, that the bulk of the “good vs. evil” action would be confined to the MotorBall arena, but it’s not the case. There are some amazing set pieces in this movie. The film’s action sequences and its visuals are absolutely fantastic. It doesn’t have a heavy “artificial” CGI feel to it at all. And at least in my theater, the 3D experience was better-than-perfect (I typically loathe 3D) – the screen didn’t look “grey” or “dim” like it does with most 3D movies. It was entirely bright and all the colors popped. I can’t imagine this film not doing extremely well with a younger audience, and I absolutely want more of this story. Expand
81 of 92 users found this helpful8111
All this user's reviews
9
goodfellas100Feb 14, 2019
I am baffled to see this classic movie get such mediocre scores?
I believe this will go down in cinema history as a classic film. The 3D is the best I've ever seen and the CGI just breathtaking. Sure, the story isn't exactly unique but the
I am baffled to see this classic movie get such mediocre scores?
I believe this will go down in cinema history as a classic film. The 3D is the best I've ever seen and the CGI just breathtaking. Sure, the story isn't exactly unique but the visuals are so stunning the film never tires and I'm looking forward to watching it again next week.
This is one you MUST see on the big screen in 3D.
Expand
36 of 41 users found this helpful365
All this user's reviews
10
sgsrulesFeb 15, 2019
Amazing movie. Hands down one of the best action movies I've ever seen. Don't believe the critics, go watch it and form your own opinion. Hopefully it will do well enough to warrant a sequel because there is so much more story to tell andAmazing movie. Hands down one of the best action movies I've ever seen. Don't believe the critics, go watch it and form your own opinion. Hopefully it will do well enough to warrant a sequel because there is so much more story to tell and Alita is a great character. Expand
36 of 41 users found this helpful365
All this user's reviews
10
chiramuFeb 15, 2019
This is the BEST live action adaptation of a manga imo :). It follows the original source material amazingling, and even if you don't know the original source material it still is an amazing film! James Cameron did a fantastic job writing andThis is the BEST live action adaptation of a manga imo :). It follows the original source material amazingling, and even if you don't know the original source material it still is an amazing film! James Cameron did a fantastic job writing and directing this, it flows incredibly well. Expand
42 of 48 users found this helpful426
All this user's reviews
10
KincFeb 15, 2019
I have had very high expectations for Alita: Battle Angel ever since this colab between Cameron and Rodriguez were first announced. Since Last Jedi I have decided not to watch any reviews before seeing the movie myself. I watched an earlyI have had very high expectations for Alita: Battle Angel ever since this colab between Cameron and Rodriguez were first announced. Since Last Jedi I have decided not to watch any reviews before seeing the movie myself. I watched an early screening yesterday and I were not disappointed. Reading up on some of the reviews after I were very surprised to find that especially the very first reviews from the press screenings were actually rather negative. For me this is one of the best Action Adventure Sci-Fi movies in a very long time. For me it is an easy 10. Expand
28 of 32 users found this helpful284
All this user's reviews
10
battleangelFeb 14, 2019
I was a bit skeptical about this movie. I was worried that it can end up as another 'college drama' with sci-fi background, typical product from Hollywood. But it's not! My impression was that this movie was divided between day time scenesI was a bit skeptical about this movie. I was worried that it can end up as another 'college drama' with sci-fi background, typical product from Hollywood. But it's not! My impression was that this movie was divided between day time scenes made by Cameron and night time scenes made by Rodriguez which together gives a nice mixture of two goods. I was surprised that they put so much in such short time and it does not make me feel like I don't know what's going on. I know Manga which helps a bit but there's a lot of small changes that have impact on the story and I'm pretty sure that even people who don't know source material will follow the story without any problem. Despite that there's a lot of small changes in the story it was done pretty well. Usually changes from original material are weak and sometimes even so radical that movie is an insult to original source. But here I enjoyed all of them because all changes were made with a taste and with a respect to the original manga. So I'm pretty sure that all or most fans of GUNNM will be satisfied as this is one of rare movie interpretations done well and are not an insult to a fan. For those scared about 13 (12A) rating: there's nothing to fear. Like Rodriguez said, you just have to change 'human' to 'cyborg' and you are free to do a lot more in the movie than current rating allows to. Of course it's not a slasher or horror with blood everywhere but it's not what this movie or manga is about in the first place. Visually movie is stunning but it's not a something that I care that much so beside that it satisfied my eyes I leave written review about it to others who may have more to say. I would love to see a sequel or even more movies from Cameron/Rodriguez duo in GUNNM universe. I'm giving 10/10 but I don't belong to people who focus on finding every single trivial issue to complain about. Life is too short to do that. I walked satisfied from the cinema, I was entertained and it's what is the most important for me to give a score to the movie. Expand
34 of 39 users found this helpful345
All this user's reviews
10
huytofuFeb 15, 2019
Amazing movie! I'm looking forward to the sequel. Do not listen to any critics who know nothing about the Asian source materials and who don't appreciate creating beautiful fantasy world and living in it
34 of 39 users found this helpful345
All this user's reviews
10
cwilder06Feb 14, 2019
First, some context: I loved the manga growing up. Much the same as I loved the manga of Ghost in the Shell, Blade of the Immortal and others that have received the movie treatment. I was an avowed comic book fan and loved Spawn, the MarvelFirst, some context: I loved the manga growing up. Much the same as I loved the manga of Ghost in the Shell, Blade of the Immortal and others that have received the movie treatment. I was an avowed comic book fan and loved Spawn, the Marvel Universe, Sin City, et all. Here's the thing though - I thought most of the Marvel Movies are just okay, Ghost in the Shell was outright bad, Sin City was at best mediocre, so forth. Outside of Nolan's Batman trilogy, Logan and a couple of the Marvel movies (Thor, namely) I've never thought a comic book movie truly did justice to the source material. I tell you this so you have context for where this review is coming from, I'm a comic book fan and nerd who has not liked almost any of the movies based on comic books.

Obviously you can tell based on my rating that I loved Alita. I thought they really nailed it and it disappoints me to see it dumped in February under the expectation of it being a flop. It further disappoints me to see the critical reception which I think is unjust. Hence why I'm going to the pains of taking the time to actually write a review (something I've only done a handful of times to date). Anyhow, here goes:

The Good (in roughly this order)
1. World Building: This feels like the most well realized fantasy world since Lord of the Rings or Blade Runner. The attention to detail, from inhabitants, to cars, to buildings all just feels really thorough. It makes the rest of what happens work so much better because you're willing to believe in the world they've created. 2. Set Pieces: Holy moly, there are just some jaw dropping set pieces. My friend and I were chuckling, whooping and in general just having a blast. They are some of the best action set pieces put on screen in a long, long time. 3. Acting / Characters: I expected pretty good acting given the pedigree of much of the cast (3 oscar winners?!). But Rosa Salazar crushes it. She humanizes a character, at times feeling petulant, foolish, brash but, nearly always, believably so. The characters don't get as much development as they deserve since there is just so much plotting, but it feels like there is a character who has a lot more about them that we don't know, which is a credit to the actors playing them. 4. Villains: The "big bad" feels appropriately intimidating. I love a good antagonist and he is appropriately mysterious and powerful as to make you feel he is an appropriate counterweight to the heroine and also makes you excited to learn more about him. 5. Effects: I am not a big effects person. In general I feel SFX fights lack weight and thus are forgettable. This is, unequivocally, not the case here. This movie probably as the best effects in general (from environment, to characters, etc) I have ever seen. It feels like another major step forward in that department. The Bad

1. Trying to do too much: They pack A LOT of story in here. There are more subplots than I can count. It's certainly never dull, but it also doesn't give the characters room the breathe. Which is a shame, since the characters are acted well and have interesting motivations/backstory (per the manga) which don't get their due as a result of how much they are trying to pack in. I would have gladly taken a trade off of a bit more character development for a bit less forward propulsion of the overarching story. 2. Plot contrivance: There are a few moments of "wait, how the hell did that person get there?" that really do require suspension of disbelief. They don't do enough to earn it and it feels forced for the sake of moving the breakneck pace of the story forward. They could have made it feel more natural with another 30-60 seconds of context. My strong suspicion is that was there but in an effort to keep the running time down after early testing they cut some of the set-up which left it feeling absolutely manically fast paced.
Expand
33 of 38 users found this helpful335
All this user's reviews
10
Shaylin96Feb 14, 2019
I was expecting way less than it was. Even tho there was a few cliches, I totally loved the plot! 10/10 is well deserved
30 of 35 users found this helpful305
All this user's reviews
10
NoUseMerkFeb 14, 2019
I went and saw this movie last night with my fiance at AMC Riverpark Square in IMAX 3D. I had high hopes for this film ever since it was announced and knew James Cameron was tied to the production. I was NOT disappointed! For the bestI went and saw this movie last night with my fiance at AMC Riverpark Square in IMAX 3D. I had high hopes for this film ever since it was announced and knew James Cameron was tied to the production. I was NOT disappointed! For the best experience, I highly suggest seeing it in IMAX 3D as it'll better immerse you into the world and characters.

I think they did a great job at setting up the story. Beginning with Alita's mysterious past and then throughout the movie unlocking her character and history. I enjoyed the father daughter relationship between Alita and Christoph Waltz character, Dr. Ido. And the love interest between Alita and Hugo seemed natural, and not forced. Rosa Salazar, the actress behind Alita (along with digital artists at WETA Digital) did an amazing job at bringing the CGI character to life. I never got an "uncanny valley" feeling from Alita (despite her manga inspired facial aesthetic). It's probably some of the best special effects in film thus far.

Speaking of special effects...from crafting the world, to the cyborg side characters, to the action/battle sequences, everything was spectacular. Again, seeing it in IMAX 3D really let's these things shine.

Overall, I highly recommend this movie to any fans of Sci-Fi / Fantasy. Definitely worth seeing on the big screen. I hope it does well at the box office too, as they perfectly set everything up for sequels. Such a rich world, characters, etc...would love to see more of it.
Expand
30 of 35 users found this helpful305
All this user's reviews
9
santiagodracoFeb 14, 2019
Critics....are blind. Not sure what they were watching but this was a great flick that was very well produced, acted and choreographed. I'd see it again in a second.

Looking forward to A2!
34 of 40 users found this helpful346
All this user's reviews
10
meefoxFeb 14, 2019
Amazing CGI, detailed world, amazing play.
Attractive, without any boring moments at all.
Totally it is worth to see if you like this kind of settings. p.s. On which basis all critics score nowadays is based on? Good think that you can
Amazing CGI, detailed world, amazing play.
Attractive, without any boring moments at all.
Totally it is worth to see if you like this kind of settings.

p.s. On which basis all critics score nowadays is based on?
Good think that you can blacklist it them.
Expand
31 of 37 users found this helpful316
All this user's reviews
10
MCTheMaxFeb 14, 2019
story is just above average, but what makes this movie so nice is the action scene, specially if you watch on Imax 3d or 4dx. I highly recommend this movie to the one who saw Avatar fun.(oh and Alita look really really pretty...movie tried tostory is just above average, but what makes this movie so nice is the action scene, specially if you watch on Imax 3d or 4dx. I highly recommend this movie to the one who saw Avatar fun.(oh and Alita look really really pretty...movie tried to follow original comics "gunnm" a lot) Expand
31 of 37 users found this helpful316
All this user's reviews
9
kyle_hydeFeb 14, 2019
The best anime live action movie ever Made.

Seriously after many failed attemps finally we have an adaptation that can translate well the essence of the original material. Rosa Salazar is gorgeous and really brings Alita to life. The action
The best anime live action movie ever Made.

Seriously after many failed attemps finally we have an adaptation that can translate well the essence of the original material. Rosa Salazar is gorgeous and really brings Alita to life. The action scenes are really well Made and the plot leaves you wanting More. I hope it gets a sequel.
Expand
19 of 23 users found this helpful194
All this user's reviews
9
onuxFeb 14, 2019
Excellent movie. Effects are fantastic and loved the story. Direction is really well paced and its an easy one to get engrossed in. Grab some popcorn and enjoy.
19 of 23 users found this helpful194
All this user's reviews
10
AuntoriousFeb 15, 2019
CGI was perfect, sometimes you forget most of the movie is made out of CGI. The action scenes were on point. Story build up is fast but acceptable. Very nice concept even if its from Manga adaption. I'd say one of the best Manga Live ActionCGI was perfect, sometimes you forget most of the movie is made out of CGI. The action scenes were on point. Story build up is fast but acceptable. Very nice concept even if its from Manga adaption. I'd say one of the best Manga Live Action movies I've seen. AWESOME Movie. Can't wait for the Sequel! Expand
19 of 23 users found this helpful194
All this user's reviews
10
ZblurFeb 16, 2019
This is the biggest cinematic event since Avatar came out. There is nothing more to say.
19 of 23 users found this helpful194
All this user's reviews
10
chry4Feb 15, 2019
I saw this on valentines day with my wife and we loved every second of it. Not only was it a great action film but the movie also had a lot of emotional weight to it that i wasn't expecting. People at the theater were literally cheering forI saw this on valentines day with my wife and we loved every second of it. Not only was it a great action film but the movie also had a lot of emotional weight to it that i wasn't expecting. People at the theater were literally cheering for Alita! I'm not sure what the deal is with the critics giving it low scores, go watch it at the 3D Imax if possible, it'll blow you away. Expand
19 of 24 users found this helpful195
All this user's reviews
10
3dLoverFeb 15, 2019
Wow, just Wow. Saw this at the imax with my friends, we where blown away by the effects and the set pieces.
19 of 24 users found this helpful195
All this user's reviews
10
movielover10Feb 15, 2019
I'm not sure what the coolade the critics where drinking becuase this is one of the best movies i've seen in a long time. My only complaint is that it left me wanting for more.
19 of 24 users found this helpful195
All this user's reviews
8
scott_324Feb 14, 2019
This movie has a solid, but somewhat simple, narrative and good performances overall. The action and visuals are great, especially in 3D. It's not a perfect movie but I'd definitely recommend it to any science-fiction or action fans. I hopeThis movie has a solid, but somewhat simple, narrative and good performances overall. The action and visuals are great, especially in 3D. It's not a perfect movie but I'd definitely recommend it to any science-fiction or action fans. I hope that it gets a sequel and they take things to the next level! Expand
18 of 23 users found this helpful185
All this user's reviews
10
mijachinAug 22, 2019
Alita Battle Angel is a refreshing movie out of all the recent fantasy full action blast or Hollywood repeating broken record of movies over and over. It is an original story that engages the viewer to the deeper and darker story behind theAlita Battle Angel is a refreshing movie out of all the recent fantasy full action blast or Hollywood repeating broken record of movies over and over. It is an original story that engages the viewer to the deeper and darker story behind the character Alita. Her innocence and eagerness to reach her full potential only highlights the bigger story she is part of. The details the graphics not only engage further but keep you asking for more. The story is set up as a sequel and boy I can not wait until the next one is made. Today movies are just like amazon items: we do not care what an expert may say but the reviews of those that actually seen it. Critics are a thing of the past. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RONSAIDITMar 5, 2019
I loved this film, i really got into the character of Alita. they spent time on the character of alita and you get to care about her. good action, good story, good film. bring on a sequel
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
8
Spot21Mar 3, 2019
The world is highly original, the CGI is gorgeous, and the story is interesting. Alita herself is a fantastic character that makes me care about everyone she interacts with. Props to Robert Rodriguez and WETA Digital for making such anThe world is highly original, the CGI is gorgeous, and the story is interesting. Alita herself is a fantastic character that makes me care about everyone she interacts with. Props to Robert Rodriguez and WETA Digital for making such an outlandish premise grounded and fun. Expand
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
10
PewPewLazerGunMar 6, 2019
Loved it from start to finish. Some of the best effects I have seen. Enjoyed the characters and plot as well.
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
10
BrickthegrimMar 14, 2019
Want to know how to make a strong, powerful character who is still human and relatable to both men and women?
This is how you do it. Rey and Captain Marvel havn't got **** on Alita.
13 of 15 users found this helpful132
All this user's reviews
9
snorlax634Mar 6, 2019
Great movie. The critics got this one wrong. I loved it, the wife loved it. A great sci-fi action flick, with a solid story and great acting. I hope there's another one.
13 of 15 users found this helpful132
All this user's reviews
10
LeventhanMar 10, 2019
A must-watch for fans of the original manga. The team has created a faithful adaptation - Kudos!
13 of 15 users found this helpful132
All this user's reviews
10
JeffMyNameIsMar 12, 2019
This was a great adaptation, stayed true to the original, and I really enjoyed it. My wife was unfamiliar with the source and liked it too. I'm looking forward to a sequel. They managed to introduce a cyberpunk dystopia with it's own uniqueThis was a great adaptation, stayed true to the original, and I really enjoyed it. My wife was unfamiliar with the source and liked it too. I'm looking forward to a sequel. They managed to introduce a cyberpunk dystopia with it's own unique lore without really sitting down with boring exposition and without ripping off anyone. There's good character development, some of it rather unexpected. The movie deals with a lot of trans-humanist issues without ever really hitting you over the head with it. Overall it was the best movie I've seen in a while, worth the big screen I think. Expand
13 of 15 users found this helpful132
All this user's reviews
10
RonRogersMar 14, 2019
Awesome CGI, great action, engaging character, super cool tech. I will see it again.
13 of 15 users found this helpful132
All this user's reviews
10
TERCIOMar 14, 2019
This movie is amazing, it has script problems, but nothing that hinders the fun, the main character Alita is enchanting, just as I was enchanted by the dystopic universe of the film, the visual effects is a marvel and the outstanding issuesThis movie is amazing, it has script problems, but nothing that hinders the fun, the main character Alita is enchanting, just as I was enchanted by the dystopic universe of the film, the visual effects is a marvel and the outstanding issues in the movie left me with the will to know more, I want more from Alita, looking forward to the next films. Expand
13 of 15 users found this helpful132
All this user's reviews
10
GenericJAMMar 15, 2019
Fantastic movie. Hollywood rarely gives us storylines so genuine. Go see it! It is currently being murdered by critics. Of course the source material is better than what we get on screen though I can't help but appreciate how efficientlyFantastic movie. Hollywood rarely gives us storylines so genuine. Go see it! It is currently being murdered by critics. Of course the source material is better than what we get on screen though I can't help but appreciate how efficiently they've condensed the storyline. Here's to a sequel. Expand
13 of 15 users found this helpful132
All this user's reviews
10
TipamFeb 26, 2019
Fantastic movie! I loved Alita's character of innocence which somehow balanced well with her warrior spirit! Beautifully depicted, well cast and acted, amazing action / fight sequences. Don't care that there are a ton of cliches, heavy CGI orFantastic movie! I loved Alita's character of innocence which somehow balanced well with her warrior spirit! Beautifully depicted, well cast and acted, amazing action / fight sequences. Don't care that there are a ton of cliches, heavy CGI or that the battles were roller-ball style - it all just worked and was thoroughly enjoyable. Expand
12 of 14 users found this helpful122
All this user's reviews
8
RabidprimateMar 9, 2019
This was a lot better than expected. Cgi was great but it usually is these days if you spend enough. The acting was very good though. Salazar was a great main and the support was strong all around. Well worth the money to see it on the big screen.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
ShlyywaMar 6, 2019
One of the best movies i've seen in a long time. I've read many critics and can say, if u dont know exactly whats going on (so if you dont know the anime/manga) it will be a very good movie. The expressions and the story from the figures inOne of the best movies i've seen in a long time. I've read many critics and can say, if u dont know exactly whats going on (so if you dont know the anime/manga) it will be a very good movie. The expressions and the story from the figures in the movie are very good also. Best movie since Avengers Infinity War for me 10/10. Hoping for a sequel. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
Jeffrey_the_RedMar 6, 2019
Alita is a good, well paced movie and a master's course in how to make a live action adaptation of an anime. For the most part very well acted (Alita, Ito, and Vector are especially good) with fantastic visuals and good action. The onlyAlita is a good, well paced movie and a master's course in how to make a live action adaptation of an anime. For the most part very well acted (Alita, Ito, and Vector are especially good) with fantastic visuals and good action. The only things that fell a little short for me were Hugo and the romance. Both seemed a little forced to me at times. They weren't lacking enough to detract from an otherwise great movie though. I enjoyed Alita start to finish and I'd happily go see it again. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
EddieRMar 6, 2019
Exactly what a movie should be... fun. Alita was endearing. The action was spectacular. The visual effects stunning. And I was surprised the movie had as much heart as it did. Will see again.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
bluesblueMar 7, 2019
As long as it is true to the original anime movie, ( Critics please note :which is what fans want) then yea it deserves top marks!
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
reviewerguy3Mar 9, 2019
Fantastic movie! Little late to see this one but glad I finally made it out. It's definitely worth checking out if you haven't seen it. Hopefully the sequel doesn't take forever to be released. Not a pro movie reviewer so going to leaveFantastic movie! Little late to see this one but glad I finally made it out. It's definitely worth checking out if you haven't seen it. Hopefully the sequel doesn't take forever to be released. Not a pro movie reviewer so going to leave it at that. :) Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
AKS90Mar 9, 2019
Great movie that takes its time developing the main character. The lack of politics is refreshing. Great Sci-fi!!
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
zap259Mar 9, 2019
I've now seen this five time, gets better each time. I rarely multi-view films. The sense of innocence radiated by Alita is outstanding.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
FjosMar 10, 2019
Loved the film, me and my wife watched it togheter. We were both impressed with the story and the characters. Alita is great and has a personality that we enjoyed watching unfold as the movie went on. We watched it in 3d and i personallyLoved the film, me and my wife watched it togheter. We were both impressed with the story and the characters. Alita is great and has a personality that we enjoyed watching unfold as the movie went on. We watched it in 3d and i personally don't like 3d, but Alita: Battle Angel is the best 3d movie i have ever watched in the cinema. Fantastic cyberpunk film. If you like cyberpunk. Go see it! Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
raufboldMar 9, 2019
Funny to see how critic try to drown the movie... Anyway, the plot is pretty trivial, to be honest - an amnesiac girl, fight against a corrupt authority, blah blah. It's pretty close to the original story though. BUT. Alita is an awesome andFunny to see how critic try to drown the movie... Anyway, the plot is pretty trivial, to be honest - an amnesiac girl, fight against a corrupt authority, blah blah. It's pretty close to the original story though. BUT. Alita is an awesome and instantly likeable character, visuals, world details and action scenes are amazing, main characters look alive and their emotions look genuine, they have good backstories and character development. Plot holes present, the pre-story is a bit rushed, but overall this was an interesting and really entertaining movie. Hoping to see Alita 2. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
JensKDKMar 9, 2019
I really enjoyed this movie. Liked the story, action was great, CGI was amazing. What an action movie is supposed to be imo. Crossing my fingers for a #2.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
RogueNihilistMar 9, 2019
Here's the point where you know that the critics were paid off to give Alita a poor review and then give a terrible movie like Captain Marvel a great review. I liked Alita. It did what Wonder Woman did and gave us a strong female characterHere's the point where you know that the critics were paid off to give Alita a poor review and then give a terrible movie like Captain Marvel a great review. I liked Alita. It did what Wonder Woman did and gave us a strong female character that we could rally behind and truly have and emotional connection with. All this done without forcing agendas (Captain Misandry). The story was actually good. You could follow what was going on and no, you don't need to read the manga to understand things as was stated by the shill critics. The acting is superb with maybe one exception, but it's a small exception. The animation was also very well done but that is to be expected from a James Cameron movie. The battle scenes were overthetop but done extremely well. Total eye-candy.

Really, not a lot bad to say about it. Totally worth a watch and maybe a second one. Also props to the team for their work with prosthetics for kids. I end with saying I WANT MORE!
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
dr3mew3vrApr 2, 2019
First off, if you're a fan of anime/manga or cyberpunk, stop reading this and watch the movie now! For the rest, this is a really good sci-fi action flick about a girl's search for meaning and purpose in the world.

I'll admit, it's not a
First off, if you're a fan of anime/manga or cyberpunk, stop reading this and watch the movie now! For the rest, this is a really good sci-fi action flick about a girl's search for meaning and purpose in the world.

I'll admit, it's not a perfect movie, and some action fans thought the dialogue was too melodramatic. Other complaints were that they crammed too much plot into the two hours. Then there's those critics who complained she was too sexualized, which wasn't the case at all. It seems more likely these critics were just writing articles just for clickbait.

However, if you go to the movie with an open mind, you'll definitely get a lot out of it. There is actually a deep philosophical & spiritual theme about what it is to be human weaved into this tale, since it retains the core essence of the original Japanese story.

Interestingly, people who complained about the big eyes beforehand really forgot about it during the movie. That's because Rosa Salazar's ability to act and emote with her face (not to mention the animator's work) really helps you fall in love with her character. IMO, she really deserves an Oscar for her performance.

I also really loved the father daughter relationship between Ido and Alita. It really felt like they were a real family with a rebellious teen asserting herself.

Of course the action scenes were fantastic! They are all filmed clearly without any shaky cam or too many cuts. In fact, many martial arts were used in the movie including Ip Man's Wing Chung and Bruce Lee's Jeet Kune Do.

Lastly, Junkie XL's soundtrack is amazing! I've been a big fan of his since he did Fury Road. I've since bought it and listen to it all the time. It has touching moments for the character scenes and hard hitting electronic music for the action.

This really is a must see in 3D if possible since it was actually filmed in 3D as opposed to added afterwards. But at this time, the theatrical run is almost over. So if it isn't playing in your local theater, do yourself a favor and buy it once home video is available.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
xsonicchaosFeb 28, 2019
The "translation" of a Japanese manga to a big screen action movie feels like Robert Rodriguez tried too much to make it as an awkward anime, while not much an original idea. But, as one who saw the 1993 anime, I think the movie is tonsThe "translation" of a Japanese manga to a big screen action movie feels like Robert Rodriguez tried too much to make it as an awkward anime, while not much an original idea. But, as one who saw the 1993 anime, I think the movie is tons better and actually has a point. Maybe that's why the anime wasn't that popular to begin with. As for a strong protagonist, props to Rosa Salazar for an unique, memorable, fun and amazing character. Will definitely watch again. Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
8
KunkMast3rFl3xMar 14, 2019
Alot of work went into this movie between the teaser trailer and the final release of the film and it shows. For everyone who complains about Grand Moff Tarkin in Rogue one or the De-aging in Disney/Marvel films, you will forget that you areAlot of work went into this movie between the teaser trailer and the final release of the film and it shows. For everyone who complains about Grand Moff Tarkin in Rogue one or the De-aging in Disney/Marvel films, you will forget that you are looking at a CG character here. The action is top notch. It's only fall backs are in pacing due to being packed full of world building and a rushed love story. But I feel this is an action film first, so it's a win. Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
10
mecheng03Mar 9, 2019
We went to watch this instead of CPT Marvel on its opening weekend. My wife and I weren't really expecting much of this movie but this was a really entertaining. It was so great to have exposition that wasn't forced down your throat or theWe went to watch this instead of CPT Marvel on its opening weekend. My wife and I weren't really expecting much of this movie but this was a really entertaining. It was so great to have exposition that wasn't forced down your throat or the characters telling you every plot/twist/turn. Also, we didn't know anything about the books and found it was very easy to follow the plot. The only reason its not a ten is the sappy teen drama was an eye roller a few times but honestly bearable to the BS most movies push at you. Very good character development and despite being CGI you actually walk away caring about the main character. So glad we watched this instead of Mayor McCheese Larson and her blank emotionless character that has no flaws/character development. Hope they make another movie!
EDIT: Watched it a second time and the teen drama aspect didn't bother me at all. I watched with hour long cartoon and they kept it pretty true to the source material. I'll get it when released on disc/digital and if they make a sequel I'll for sure see it. Great movie!
Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
9
Jameson777Mar 14, 2019
Not being familiar with the source material, I went in completely fresh and not knowing what to expect outside of the initial teaser trailer and was frankly blown away. There was not a single sliver of fat on this film -- lean, consistentlyNot being familiar with the source material, I went in completely fresh and not knowing what to expect outside of the initial teaser trailer and was frankly blown away. There was not a single sliver of fat on this film -- lean, consistently entertaining, and flowed elegantly, leading to a cliffhanger ending arriving far too soon. The performances were on point, particularly from the lead, with her impressively able to convey range and depth right through the CG effects. The love interest's performance was less impressive, but the rest of the supporting cast along with the photography direction, superb editing, excellently shot actions scenes that had me clenching, dying to stand up swinging and cheering, and cursing under my breath at the villains made for a supremely satisfying experience. You can bet I'll be picking this up on blu-ray and keeping an eye on any of Rosa Salazar's future projects. Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
9
ChristopheredwaMar 14, 2019
I've seen this movie 3 time. I'm thinking of seeing if for a 4th. Why is this note worthy?

1. I rarely make time to go to a theater to see a movie. Maybe once every 6 mo or more. 2. When I do go, it's even rarer that I see it in 3D. Some 3D
I've seen this movie 3 time. I'm thinking of seeing if for a 4th. Why is this note worthy?

1. I rarely make time to go to a theater to see a movie. Maybe once every 6 mo or more.
2. When I do go, it's even rarer that I see it in 3D. Some 3D movies are uncomfortable (giving me headaches or hurting my eyes), and unimpressive.
3. When I do see a movie in 3D, it's unprecedented that I see it a 2nd tme in 3D, let a lone a 3rd time.

Alita Battle Angel is an amazing movie, and good enough to motivate me to do all of the above. The CGI, and intricate detail in the machine parts was absolutely amazing. Especially in IMAX 3D. Except for some minor changes, it stayed close to the source material. The acting from most of the cast was top notch, and you really cared about the characters. The action was mind blowing, and Alita's journy from an amnesiac naive girl, to a badass warrior is extremely compelling. At no time in this movie was I bored in any of the showings, even after seeing it 3 times. I left the theater each time wanting more. This is by far the best live active Manga/Anime adaptation ever created. This movie deserves a sequel.
Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
10
ThionaakMar 15, 2019
At first I wasn't expecting much from this movie, even the eyes were uncanny valley for me. But, oh boy, I was wrong. The atmosphere, the cast and acting, the fighting scenes were one of the best I've seen. Great visuals. At points theAt first I wasn't expecting much from this movie, even the eyes were uncanny valley for me. But, oh boy, I was wrong. The atmosphere, the cast and acting, the fighting scenes were one of the best I've seen. Great visuals. At points the dialogue was somewhat strange, but considering that it's a manga adaptation I ignored it. Would watch again. Waiting for a sequel.
P. S. Fun Fact: the chocolate in that scene was made by Rodriguez himself.
Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
10
Lonewolf63Mar 15, 2019
I really knew nothing about Alita before going to see the movie. It was cyberpunkey and I liked the trailer. Was I in for a treat, this movie is fantastic. Some movies I really like when seeing, but afterwards I think about them and myI really knew nothing about Alita before going to see the movie. It was cyberpunkey and I liked the trailer. Was I in for a treat, this movie is fantastic. Some movies I really like when seeing, but afterwards I think about them and my opinion drops. This was the exact opposite, I loved seeing the movie, but the more I thought about it afterwards the more I liked it.

Go see it if you haven't. If you have go see it again.
Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
9
dharmaFeb 15, 2019
Writing a review here on this website about how the critics are wrong have been commonplace these days. Yet, many times it is indeed the case, especially with ALITA, which they slammed. What the critics did not get was the fact thatWriting a review here on this website about how the critics are wrong have been commonplace these days. Yet, many times it is indeed the case, especially with ALITA, which they slammed. What the critics did not get was the fact that Rodriguez and Cameron are making a 'live action ANIME'. The so called disjointed plot? If you read the manga, then it is a distillation of the so called episodic nature of the original work. Critics slammed something that they don't understand. They refer to Marvel flicks as accurate yet when Alita stays true to its original manga, they said differently. Suffice to say, Alita is spell bounding, with breathtaking effects that made you believe that an anime style character is alive and breathing. Kudos for Rosa Salazar for bring her A game here as the main character. This is also Rodriguez's best work in his career. Working with the great James Cameron does great wonders to his usual 'style'. Again, see this on the biggest screen possible. It is worth that extra ticket price. Expand
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
10
PinBBMar 11, 2019
Beautiful film, great visuals with a very powerful performance from Rosa Salazar. Definitely deserve a sequel to reveal more story.
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
10
tassakosFeb 19, 2019
Best 3D cinema going experience since Avatar. If you are a fan of anime and sci-fi action you will love this.
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
9
FuriousFillMar 15, 2019
I Loved this Movie, Great Action and Story. It was GREAT to see a NON MCU Action Movie. Cannot wait for the 3D BluRay. HIGHLY Recommend to see. It is not a waste of money or time just be ready for something different. It does have a couple ofI Loved this Movie, Great Action and Story. It was GREAT to see a NON MCU Action Movie. Cannot wait for the 3D BluRay. HIGHLY Recommend to see. It is not a waste of money or time just be ready for something different. It does have a couple of slow points but overall was great so i give a 9/10. I have a strong feeling this is going to be a Firefly style fan base in which when people finally see it they will love it so spread the love and tell your friends to see it Expand
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
10
KesterMar 16, 2019
Recent movie releases were not cutting it for me. I was mildly disappointed in all of them for similar reasons, and so I went to watch Alita: Battle Angel, hoping for something more out of recent movie releases. I wasn't counting on it to beRecent movie releases were not cutting it for me. I was mildly disappointed in all of them for similar reasons, and so I went to watch Alita: Battle Angel, hoping for something more out of recent movie releases. I wasn't counting on it to be honest, so I started with a negative attitude.


I got everything I wanted and more.


Alita does what Captain Marvel wanted to do. It gave us a strong female heroine who kicks ass. It gave us a person confused about their identity, but wanting to do good. However, where Captain Marvel got bogged down in the scope of itself - trying to do too much in too little time - Alita doesn't. It does more, actually, and fits it in nicely with the time it has. I don't even think Captain Marvel is a bad film either, Alita just does it better.

It asks questions like what it means to be human or female to begin with. Could humanity ever war between planets in our solar system? Can you love just the brain of a person? Then, after all that? It practically kicks those questions out of the way in epic battles and a whirl of a romance. Alita doesn't bother itself too much with the MANY philosophical conundrums of the movie, it sweeps through these problems, and moves along as much as it can. Its characters don't question these things too much, but rather accept them as part of their world and continue on with their lives. For some this may make it seem cheap. For myself however this made the world feel real, engaging, vast, and fresh. You'll feel like Alita has only scratched the surface of exploring an incredible new world of science fiction when you leave the theater. That is world building done right.

Furthermore, from its first scenes onward, Alita builds its characters properly, starting with the basics and moving from there. It doesn't try to be too extravagant, but it also doesn't give us bland and boring one dimensional people of cardboard. Almost every one of them has multiple motivations, faults, and desires which are demonstrated, giving us excellent characters to follow through the film.

And follow them you do, through awesome and beautiful sets and through incredible actions sequences. The CGI does its job of making the cyborgs never look completely human, while also making them look believable real, and this comes together for some jaw dropping action sequences that you half to see on the big screen.

So go and watch it, you'll have a world to explore, a heroine to cheer, and a spectacle to watch. Alita : Battle Angel delivers it all, and it is worth every penny and more.
Expand
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
7
I_Am_LegacyFeb 24, 2019
Quite a good movie, takes a good half an hour to really get going. I'll probably pick this up when it releases and watch it again. The main character is likable and the movie has its funny moments. The action is top notch however for me theQuite a good movie, takes a good half an hour to really get going. I'll probably pick this up when it releases and watch it again. The main character is likable and the movie has its funny moments. The action is top notch however for me the movie focuses a little too much on the relationship between Alita and another character personally I'm not all that bothered about that in these kind of movies but for people who like that this is definitely a film to watch. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
eshtazakiMar 8, 2019
Wonderful story, well told. Does not give too much so you wait in anticipation to find out who Alita is, where is she coming from, and why she got there in the first place. the Romance is good, you realy feel like she is a young girl tryingWonderful story, well told. Does not give too much so you wait in anticipation to find out who Alita is, where is she coming from, and why she got there in the first place. the Romance is good, you realy feel like she is a young girl trying to find herself in unknown place.Oh and when she finds out... would see it again, if they make a second movie, 150% going ! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
joejoegamer50Mar 5, 2019
this was a fun movie too watch. alot of action packed and good CGI grafics. alita was a great charecter and her fighting was amazing.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
MrDrEvilkinsMar 8, 2019
The trailers do not do this movie justice. If you are an anime fan, you will enjoy this movie.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
nightingle90Mar 9, 2019
it's definitely a good movie, no matter what critics say. Good directing, not bad script and nice work from Rosa Salazar
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
antockFeb 17, 2019
i've been a fan of the the manga, never watched the anime though. but the movie follows every important plot point that it covers pretty closely, and as a fan i'm very pleased by that
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
gon71Feb 18, 2019
I think this movie is the first one in history that realize to transform a masterpiece manga into a masterpiece movie. The 3D is fantastic, even better than Avatar and the development of the main character is perfect. This is a movie thatI think this movie is the first one in history that realize to transform a masterpiece manga into a masterpiece movie. The 3D is fantastic, even better than Avatar and the development of the main character is perfect. This is a movie that must be seen. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
AmaerFeb 18, 2019
Best western anime adaptation at this point. Can't wait DVD release and sequel. 100% I will watch again.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
CARLOSKAGUYAFeb 18, 2019
¡¡¡DESEO PODER VER LA SEGUNDA PARTE!!! ¡¡¡ME ENCANTARIA PODER VERLA!!!
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
StubbsieFeb 18, 2019
Speaking as a person that is not a fan of either manga or anime, I have to say I LOVED this movie I went to see it just because my friend wanted me to go with him and that James Cameron worked on it, I was very impressed with the movie. TheSpeaking as a person that is not a fan of either manga or anime, I have to say I LOVED this movie I went to see it just because my friend wanted me to go with him and that James Cameron worked on it, I was very impressed with the movie. The CGI was masterful and the fight scenes were some of the best I've seen in any movie out the past few years. The pacing is one of the major complaints I have of the movie a lot is thrown at you very quickly you need to piece together. The relationships were very quick to develop and were quite cheesy, Other than Alita I never really cared for the other character's because they were thrown in so fast and quickly moved away from them. I really recommend people go see the movie overall it has been one of the most enjoyable movies I have seen the last number of years, I really hope a second movie comes quickly from it and maybe a prequel to explain Alita's origin as that seemed very interesting. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
Rick_DFeb 18, 2019
What an incredible movie. Same "changing world" effect like Star Wars 1976 and Matrix: Hated by critics and loved by the audiences...!
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
TheGreatBuBByFeb 18, 2019
Phenomenal movie, enjoyable to all individuals. With a very high user satisfaction rate on all websites, the movie is truly a treat.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
MurdochellaFeb 18, 2019
I made an account at metacritic just to say that the "experts" critics are just angry because this movie has no political agenda like Disney movies. I confess i had no intention of wachting this movie because of the trailers, but i do notI made an account at metacritic just to say that the "experts" critics are just angry because this movie has no political agenda like Disney movies. I confess i had no intention of wachting this movie because of the trailers, but i do not regret it! I read the manga and i can say that this movie is very faithful and does not disappoint. It has hearth, breathtaking action, good romance and stunning visual effects.

Alita is so sweet, brave and inspiring, and i'm in love with her. Her big eyes are not a problem - the manga itself says she has special eyes. And despite being a cyborg, Alita proves to be more human than many of us.

I'm definitely looking forward to the next movie to explore this world. In the meantime, i'll watch it again in 3D!
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
substance123Mar 10, 2019
Everyone whos on the fence about seeing this, or doesnt want to see it due to the so called "Critics" please do yourself a favor and go see it. This is one of those movies you will regret not seeing in the cinema.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
AnimusVoxFeb 19, 2019
Faithful, dynamic, refreshing, good. Movie was an enjoyable experience and the universe definitely deserve continuation. Have a nice watch/read!
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
XayzerFeb 19, 2019
I absolutely loved it. It has a few small flaws which are completely overwhelmed by the positives.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
TitaniumshieldFeb 26, 2019
I watched this movie twice and I will watch it again. The story was really close to the source material and I appreciated the little details they changed in the movie and the overall flow. The action was amazing and I like the cinematicI watched this movie twice and I will watch it again. The story was really close to the source material and I appreciated the little details they changed in the movie and the overall flow. The action was amazing and I like the cinematic approach it took. Rosa's acting through Alita was great, loved it. This movie was by far the best adaptation of manga I have seen yet.
I'm really looking forward to seeing the sequels they have planned.
It's a must watch.
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
llFeb 20, 2019
Excellent throughout. Amazing animations, positive story line. Very relatable likely to people you might know.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews