Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 25, 2007
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 392 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
128
Mixed:
97
Negative:
167
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JackKNov 13, 2009
This is a disgusting film. There is literally nothing good about it. When it is not in horribly bad taste, it is poorly acted, poorly shot, and poorly written. There must be a line somewhere, and I contend that featuring a monster injecting This is a disgusting film. There is literally nothing good about it. When it is not in horribly bad taste, it is poorly acted, poorly shot, and poorly written. There must be a line somewhere, and I contend that featuring a monster injecting eggs into a woman about to give birth, killing the woman, destroying her child, and hatching a brood of aliens is the kind of thing that should be censored. Whoever made this film is beyond hope and should be condemned. This is worse, and more corrosive, than the worst kind of pornography. Shame, too, on HBO for running this film! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
1
PeterN.Jan 1, 2008
Not only was this a bad Alien/Predator movie, it was bad as any movie. This movie makes "Highlander 3" look passable. I rate it a 1 merely because a zero might be taken to mean that there was no thought in my rating this movie. The acting Not only was this a bad Alien/Predator movie, it was bad as any movie. This movie makes "Highlander 3" look passable. I rate it a 1 merely because a zero might be taken to mean that there was no thought in my rating this movie. The acting was wooden, the action was ridiculous, the story was garbage. Many of the ideas stolen from the previous films are now clichés. AVPR could be aptly named "Alien Movie" and promoted in the "Scary Movie" franchise. I loved Alien & Aliens, and loved Predator as well. They were great movies by great directors. These directors knew that suspense is better created when you don't show the Aliens/Predator early in the movie. Why not make the audience wonder? Maybe build up the fear? As far as I'm concerned, only two Alien movies have ever been made, and only one Predator. This movie was bad on whole new levels. It didn't only get bad as it went on. One might go so far as to say that it was geometrically bad! It was bad in every direction at once, and every direction spilt into multiple new ways of badness, and so forth, and so forth. The only suspense keeping you in the theater was wondering how they could possibly make it worse! Don't worry! They can... and they did! There's no real way I could possibly convey how bad this is with words. You truly have to see it to understand. In terms of knowing a bad movie when you see one, this movie will destroy your innocence. As much as I love the first two Alien movies, and the first Predator movie, please Hollywood, please let this die now. There will NEVER be another Alien or Predator movie that can not only live up to the first ones, but that can overcome the embarrassment of this one. Please let these die. They have no dignity. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
1
EricFeb 3, 2008
An insult to both original I.P's and to the intelligence of everyone in the theater.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
0
PeterK.Jan 2, 2008
Pure garbage.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TroyT.Dec 30, 2007
This was a huge disappointment. I went in at least expecting military versus aliens, but I got a generic story of a bunch of teens caught in the middle of a slasher flick. This movie does a huge disservice to the the Aliens movies, Predator This was a huge disappointment. I went in at least expecting military versus aliens, but I got a generic story of a bunch of teens caught in the middle of a slasher flick. This movie does a huge disservice to the the Aliens movies, Predator movies, and Alien vs Predator comics. If you go into this expecting nothing more than gratuitous gore, you'll be as pleased as you can be, but this film doesn't come close to touching Aliens 2 or Predator. The Giger factor alone can't save this movie from awful pacing, laughable acting, predictable script and badly shot battles. This movie may well kill both franchises. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JamesMJan 6, 2008
This movie was just complete trash. The plot was as tired and predictable as the melodramatic acting (usually a pinch of Stanavslavski in main stream theatre works a treat but this was just excessive.) Watching this film was like riding a This movie was just complete trash. The plot was as tired and predictable as the melodramatic acting (usually a pinch of Stanavslavski in main stream theatre works a treat but this was just excessive.) Watching this film was like riding a wave of idiocy, bad cliques and overused archetypes for 86 wasted minutes, only to be spat on the shore feeling bored and angry to have wasted $11.50. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MorganK.Apr 19, 2008
A total failure - as a long time fan of both series I still approached this hesitantly, considering how terrible the first AvP was, but this somehow was even worse. All the scenes are dark to the point that all the events are muddied and A total failure - as a long time fan of both series I still approached this hesitantly, considering how terrible the first AvP was, but this somehow was even worse. All the scenes are dark to the point that all the events are muddied and nonsensical, the premise is terrible, more time is wasted on Friday the 13th teenagers in half-assed exposition than anything you're remotely interested in actually seeing. The worst, though, is that even if you weren't going to make a good movie, you could at least make a fun movie - this is neither: dull, stupid, nonsensical, boring, plodding, etc. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MarcoP.Jan 2, 2008
One of the worst movies I have seen in a long long time. Complete garbage from beginning to end. What should have been approached with a B-Movie mentality has been reduced to nothing more than another variation of the tired old 10 Little One of the worst movies I have seen in a long long time. Complete garbage from beginning to end. What should have been approached with a B-Movie mentality has been reduced to nothing more than another variation of the tired old 10 Little Indians plot device where everyone is being chased and killed off one by one wth no regard to character development or anything resembling a decent story. The plot is hackneyed, the acting is atrocious and the less said about the bad CGI effects, the better. Please don't waste your time watching this dreck. If you must, simply just stay at home, pop some popcorn and watch a DVD double feature of Aliens followed by the original Predator. The experience will be far better than experiencing this crap-fest plus you'll save 12 bucks in the process. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RyencokeDec 26, 2007
Do you all smoke crack? This was the worst movie of the year. Visuals are horrible. Acting was the worst I have ever seen in a theatrical film. So so bad in many ways. Everyone in the theater hated it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LelandG.Dec 27, 2007
Not even sure if there is anything good about this movie. Camera work was awful, the fight scene were shot way to close. Acting was brutal. And the story was poor. I spent most of the time laughing at this movie. The best part of this movie Not even sure if there is anything good about this movie. Camera work was awful, the fight scene were shot way to close. Acting was brutal. And the story was poor. I spent most of the time laughing at this movie. The best part of this movie was the end credits, when most the people in the theatre started booing! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JakeH.May 24, 2008
I'm usually a big fan of the Alien series and Predator series and the first AvP movie, I couldn't see a thing in this movie too hard to follow.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AlecODec 26, 2007
It is dull, boring and utterly ridiculous. I never understood how people can include these types of uncreative junk as a personal favourite movie of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MarkM.Dec 26, 2007
A franchise killer! I love all of the Alien movies. (Yes, even AvP.) This was the worst.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JaysonDDec 27, 2007
This was garbage all though the lone predator versus the Aliens was awesome it was still dumb.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ThomCDec 27, 2007
No. Seriously. Take a dump. It's better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AndrewCDec 27, 2007
AVP 1 was much better. I was hoping they would work on some of AVP 1 shortcomings in this movie, but they did not work on any of them. They threw out all of the good aspects of AVP 1 and replaced them with all of the bad aspects to make this AVP 1 was much better. I was hoping they would work on some of AVP 1 shortcomings in this movie, but they did not work on any of them. They threw out all of the good aspects of AVP 1 and replaced them with all of the bad aspects to make this movie. I would barely consider this a Sci-Fi movie. It was more of a poorly written horror movie that happened to use Sci-Fi characters. This movie was a big letdown. AVP 1 had so much potential and I was hoping this movie would capitalize on that. It didn't even come close. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SpotSDec 25, 2007
If you have any -respect- for the Alien and the Predator franchises, then you will absolutely detest this movie. I actually almost walked out, and I am not the type to ever walk out on a movie. Dialog was cliche, plot was non-existent, and If you have any -respect- for the Alien and the Predator franchises, then you will absolutely detest this movie. I actually almost walked out, and I am not the type to ever walk out on a movie. Dialog was cliche, plot was non-existent, and they completely tore apart the established canon. You have been warned! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RyanG.Dec 26, 2007
I thought that it was impossible to make a follow up worse than Paul W.S. Anderson's Alien vs. Preadator, but bravo to the Strauss brothers for ruining my christmas.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DisappointedFanDec 26, 2007
The first thing I want to know is who are these FOX employees that are posting 8's 9's and 10's. Or to the individuals who are posting them, who is paying you? These fake posts are hilarious. I read one that says that this may The first thing I want to know is who are these FOX employees that are posting 8's 9's and 10's. Or to the individuals who are posting them, who is paying you? These fake posts are hilarious. I read one that says that this may be the best film of the year. Well, the reality is that this movie is a farce designed to milk the last pennies out of the franchise before it disappears forever. Once again I walked away from another ALIEN movie with my head hung low with disappointment. What a stinker of a movie. The first AvP was so much better and that is not sayinng much. Terrible acting and no plot development. There were even those cheesy lines that show up in every Predator movie. I thought the brothers Strause had enough sense to not do that. Guess I was wrong. One last thing, Greg and Colin, YOU'RE FU****NG FIRED!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TRuizDec 26, 2007
Listen, I was dissapointed in the 1st AVP movie that came out, because I thought that the director could have done so much more with such potential in these characters (the aliens/predators)...and I though it suffered from that "have to have Listen, I was dissapointed in the 1st AVP movie that came out, because I thought that the director could have done so much more with such potential in these characters (the aliens/predators)...and I though it suffered from that "have to have a heroine" syndrome, which was nothing like Ripley. However, having said that, AVP is an Academy Award Winner compared to this Horrific AVPR. I am a big Alines/Predator fan, so I know what I am saying here...it is not even worth the money to rent it, or even get it for free...in fact, it really messes up the images of both franchises ... why do they even let directors like this destroy such great SciFi material!? The human characters were not developed in any way, the story line moved Way Too Quick, yet it did nothing to develop the plot... it of course did not help the whole feel, the fact that all the events in the movie took place IN 24HOURS!... how the HELL does any Alien grow to full size and then some in that amount of time!? No Depth, Poor effects, Poor use of characters, no "emotional connection" with anything on screen - as corny as that sounds...people still loved Ripley! Just BAD...I want my money and time back...only redemed my $8 by sitting in on No Country for Old Men, or some such film...what I saw of it was Much Better by far! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
FrankR.Dec 29, 2007
Should not have been greenlighted. Horrible direction, acting, lighting, action sequences. If we notice one thing in the Alien franchise its that the bugs are resilient and resourceful. In this movie the acting is so bad you want the action Should not have been greenlighted. Horrible direction, acting, lighting, action sequences. If we notice one thing in the Alien franchise its that the bugs are resilient and resourceful. In this movie the acting is so bad you want the action to be good but the single Pred is an absolute killing machine wading through Aliens like they weren't even there. The PredAlien hybrid was a stupid idea and the AVPr vision of the character assured us of how stupid the idea was. The action scenes are all short. Like seconds long short and barely visible in the low light. A whole group of Army reserves get taken out in a 30 second long battle with the Aliens. First 4 movies plus AVP the humans are tough and resourceful enough to fight back on their own though they take heavy casualties. This time, on Earth, humans are weak, dumb, cowards. But one Pred saves the day. Hopefully the deus ex machina that puts 'Gunnison' out of its misery signals Fox's resolve to put this ill-conceived franchise marriage out of its misery. If the people who love the AvP movies want this marriage let them keep buying the comics and video games. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BuddP.Dec 29, 2007
This movie lead in only one category in 2007... the number of moments I said to myself "You've GOT to be kidding!?!?" This movie was complete DRECK.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SeriosityNov 18, 2012
One of the worst movies ever. The plot is preposterous, the characters are useless and ignored, and the dialogue could not be more uninteresting. Even the Alien and Predator parts are awful because of the terrible lighting. A complete abomination.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
8bitParadoxFeb 20, 2014
The first AvP was pretty tasteless, but not as much as this one. This was clearly just a cash out of the two popular sci-fi characters. The first AvP was passable because it was a simple flick for fanboys like myself to drool over, this isThe first AvP was pretty tasteless, but not as much as this one. This was clearly just a cash out of the two popular sci-fi characters. The first AvP was passable because it was a simple flick for fanboys like myself to drool over, this is just awful. The plot is boring, if there is any to start with. It was just a gruesome action movie with battles, and not even good battles. The only reason I didn't give this movie a lower score is the fact that I'm such a fan of the characters themselves that it's hard to fully tear them apart. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
The3AcademySinsOct 23, 2017
Laughably bad. A great movie to get a group of your friends together and laugh at. Easily the "Freddy vs. Jason" of the Aliens and Predator franchises. Our beloved monsters chase a bunch of teens and horror cliches through a small town. It'sLaughably bad. A great movie to get a group of your friends together and laugh at. Easily the "Freddy vs. Jason" of the Aliens and Predator franchises. Our beloved monsters chase a bunch of teens and horror cliches through a small town. It's as bad as you would imagine it would be. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
IanH.Jan 2, 2008
Just what I wanted action, violance, a few good scares so what of the acting if your looking for gone with the wind go somewhere else if anything make a third movie with no humans at all just aliens and preditors killing at each other for 90 Just what I wanted action, violance, a few good scares so what of the acting if your looking for gone with the wind go somewhere else if anything make a third movie with no humans at all just aliens and preditors killing at each other for 90 minutes with tons of scares and vioance. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
CharlesX.Jan 5, 2008
With all the positive/negative criticism floating about, perhaps it's time I offered a small quote from James Rolfe (aka Angry Video Game Nerd) when he reviewed 'Spider-man 3'. You might think it's off the topic, but what With all the positive/negative criticism floating about, perhaps it's time I offered a small quote from James Rolfe (aka Angry Video Game Nerd) when he reviewed 'Spider-man 3'. You might think it's off the topic, but what he says here might very well reflect how audiences are treating 'AVP:R'. Have a read: "No big blockbuster movie is immune to this. People like to complain. And believe me, I know all about that. When I play the Angry Video Game Nerd, I rip apart all kinds of games based on any flaws that I can find. Except I do it for the sake of entertainment. In the same way, critics and fans are picking 'Spider-man 3' to death. So you can either choose to be critical or not. Here's a question: say we cut out all those little annoying parts in the movie. Every flaw that's ever been commented on, we handle the villains differently, the sub-plots get removed or changed...anything, you name it. What will happen then? Will everybody be pleased? No. People will still find more things to dwell on. And no matter what the outcome is, every movie like this will be treated with mixed reactions. I can relate to the fact that it's impossible to please everyone." Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
smiffyApr 1, 2008
If this is as good as the first one it is sure to be a big hit. There is always somewhere where movies go over the line. There could be hundreds & hundreds of avp movies & i honestly gotta tell you i think that they would be great. I am a If this is as good as the first one it is sure to be a big hit. There is always somewhere where movies go over the line. There could be hundreds & hundreds of avp movies & i honestly gotta tell you i think that they would be great. I am a fan of the ailien movies & the predetor 1's . So yeah if this goes off as well as the first one it will be awsome. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PhilipJul 30, 2008
I enjoyed this movie, with those good special effects and all.. Well, looks like the whole world hates this movie, but I am one of the scarce fans who hope for AvP3.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PhilippeC.Jan 21, 2008
I am from Brazil, and i like this movie,with a weak story, but with many action. This a really blockbuster film to see every morning in my house. Good Movie. Good Movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BrookP.Dec 5, 2008
What on earth are you people thinking when you rate these films on the story. what are you expecting when you rent out or see a movie called aliens vs predator lol? sounds to me like your just in way too deep. Relax and enjoy a bloody fun movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ShatananshnashaJan 6, 2008
Mindless entertainment. I was in the right mood when I saw this movie, so it wasn't even that bad!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KanakoJ.Feb 2, 2008
I'm a big fan of the Alien series, and I feel that AVP 2 is about the best sequel they could have made. There are a lot more humans-on-aliens battles, and they certainly don't spare the bullets. It's super gory in the old I'm a big fan of the Alien series, and I feel that AVP 2 is about the best sequel they could have made. There are a lot more humans-on-aliens battles, and they certainly don't spare the bullets. It's super gory in the old traditions of the series, and much less watered down than Paul Anderson's vision. For fans of the franchises, this is a very enjoyable movie that has lots of cool, mindless fun. For those who don't like monster movies, or desperately need depth or intelligence in their filmic endeavors might want to steer clear. I, however, have loved these creatures since I was a kid and I say this a good addition to the series. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
NateFeb 4, 2008
Why do people want to care about the characters? Why do people care about the acting?This movie is pure nonsense but that is what was intended. With a title like Aliens vs Predator: Requiem, what are people expecting? This movie is just a Why do people want to care about the characters? Why do people care about the acting?This movie is pure nonsense but that is what was intended. With a title like Aliens vs Predator: Requiem, what are people expecting? This movie is just a way for fans of these two iconic movie creatures to see them tearing lumps out of each other and the rest is filler. I didn't care about the acting or the script or any of that...just switch off and enjoy a bit of quality action violence. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MattBApr 2, 2008
I personally don't see what people hate about this film. Is it a masterpiece? No. Is it better than the Alien and Predator films? Sorta....if you count Alien Resurrection. Is it better than the first AvP film? HELL YES. It's a I personally don't see what people hate about this film. Is it a masterpiece? No. Is it better than the Alien and Predator films? Sorta....if you count Alien Resurrection. Is it better than the first AvP film? HELL YES. It's a great action romp. Mindless fun. I think critics keep basing their reviews on each film being the next great Citizen Cane. This film is quite enjoyable, and, in my opinion, a great addition to the franchise! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SeanCMar 14, 2009
It was a good movie. Non stop action and a few scares. The fight sequences were well executed maybe slightly dark with a good scene involving the national guard and another good scene with the predator fighting the aliens in the hospital
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 20, 2007
I saw this movie last year and it rocks. It's so much better than the first one. Like 5 times better, maybe even 6. I can't wait to see it in the theater!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
VektaDec 26, 2007
Amazing. Intense, exciting massacre from start to finish. Effects and action sequences were some of top notch. Also a movie that ranks high with a huige death count, all throughout someone is dieing. Awesome sequel. Extremely Recommended.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
NickBDec 26, 2007
Saw it Xmas day. Great monster movie. It lacked depth for the poor human characters who were beings laughtered left and right, but we all know this movie's real star was the Predator and his hunt to contain an alien infestation, so Saw it Xmas day. Great monster movie. It lacked depth for the poor human characters who were beings laughtered left and right, but we all know this movie's real star was the Predator and his hunt to contain an alien infestation, so there ya go. Better than the first AvP and Alien Resurrection, I'd say. And the predalien was a worthy addition to the mythos of the Aliens. Warning: I wouldn't take little kids to this. Children, pregnant women, and even babies are made short work of in this film when the predalien takes up residence in the hopsital. Nice to see a horror film actually go for the jugular....gonna anger a lot of people who think that even an AvP film should be PC! Good bloody charnel fun. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TylerW.Dec 28, 2007
It is what it is, a movie about Aliens and Predators. There is a semblance of a plot there, and it gives the fans what they wanted. It does not have the good human relationships a la Alien, Aliens. This movie should be reviewed by fans and It is what it is, a movie about Aliens and Predators. There is a semblance of a plot there, and it gives the fans what they wanted. It does not have the good human relationships a la Alien, Aliens. This movie should be reviewed by fans and not critics because that is who it was made for. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoelW.Dec 28, 2007
Well developed characters, a compeling love stories, heart felt emotional experiences.....no! This is Aliens killing humans, and a predator killing all. What more do you expect from the franchise. The critics seem to expect Shakespeare or Well developed characters, a compeling love stories, heart felt emotional experiences.....no! This is Aliens killing humans, and a predator killing all. What more do you expect from the franchise. The critics seem to expect Shakespeare or Jane Austen, they complain about the exploitation of a franchise, please Predator had Arnie for pits sake. I loved this movie, if you want a Sci-Fi action movie with a high body count and great effects see this movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SteveR.Dec 30, 2007
The best movie in the series period. Absoute genius.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JuniorW.Dec 30, 2007
Good stuff. Back to the R raiting
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BenL.Dec 24, 2007
SO. SO. So. much better than the Lathan version.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Rakai'ThweiDec 25, 2007
This movie was perhaps one of the best I have ever seen. If anything, it may as well be the best movie of 2007!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DanL.Dec 26, 2007
MUCH MUCH better than Water horse!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DanP.Dec 26, 2007
For prentious movie snobs, this will not be another No Country for Old Men. For fans of the Alien, Predator and AVP universes--this IS better than Anderson's vision. The movie is homage to the previous movies and sets up the possibility For prentious movie snobs, this will not be another No Country for Old Men. For fans of the Alien, Predator and AVP universes--this IS better than Anderson's vision. The movie is homage to the previous movies and sets up the possibility for a higher budget sequel that could tie everything up niciely. Excellent popcorn movie for teens and adults. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
koonhJan 16, 2008
i liked the effects, gore, and the costumes. the best!!! why the hell would you give the movie a 0 just for there ******* story!!!!!!!!! its literally the best movie i've ever seen!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JackNOct 27, 2009
In my opinion, this is an entertaining film, but I won't deny that it is a bad movie. The action was good and the extended scenes were great, but the acting is bad, it's too short like the first film, and the alien and predator In my opinion, this is an entertaining film, but I won't deny that it is a bad movie. The action was good and the extended scenes were great, but the acting is bad, it's too short like the first film, and the alien and predator costumes must have been badly made as you can't see anything here. This is worth a rent if you and some friends want to get drunk, but I would only recommend that you buy it if it's in a box set. First time I saw this, I loved it, but it gets worse with each watch. AVP3 should only be made if Predators turns out good, and if they make an Alien 5 that is just as good as the first few films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Danh.Dec 26, 2007
The 9 is based on how entertaining the film is. Is it a B movie yeah but it offers fan of the series exactly what there looking for peolpe getting eaten by aliens or hunted by predators or the ill battles and the cool weapon. I didn't The 9 is based on how entertaining the film is. Is it a B movie yeah but it offers fan of the series exactly what there looking for peolpe getting eaten by aliens or hunted by predators or the ill battles and the cool weapon. I didn't hate the first one, but i didn't really like it, and all the people who were dissaponited with this one should be shot, because sequeals usually aren't 10 time better then predcessor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ColinFDec 27, 2007
CRITICS ARE IDIOTS!!! Above all else this movie ENTERTAINS and does a great job at that. There is a lot of cheesiness to it but on purpose and the fighting and special effects are really fun and true to the series. GO SEE IT!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DavidF.Dec 27, 2007
For me, this was potentially the best movie of the year. Why? because i love the franchise. It gave me exactly what i wanted to see, lots of humans dying, some hints as to how the canon universe came about. I can forgive the shortcomings For me, this was potentially the best movie of the year. Why? because i love the franchise. It gave me exactly what i wanted to see, lots of humans dying, some hints as to how the canon universe came about. I can forgive the shortcomings such as the too-close battle scenes to make up for the probably horrible models, because it was still a rollicking good tale to watch. To all those who can't see why only one predator came to earth, perhaps you should stop thinking like a human and take it from the whole 'death and the glory of the hunt perspective' he's a predator, he does what he wants. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ChristopherC.Dec 27, 2007
Good movie. I was much more pleased with this one than Paul Anderson's. Better executed, it was good to see familiar techniques used in the original movies. At this point, I'm just happy to see Predator still on the big screen! Good movie. I was much more pleased with this one than Paul Anderson's. Better executed, it was good to see familiar techniques used in the original movies. At this point, I'm just happy to see Predator still on the big screen! Stay loyal fans! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdamH.Dec 27, 2007
You know, I love how people give this movie a bad review. It's rather amusing considering how a good 90% of the people who have gone to see this movie have never played the game series and never read the books or the comics. Therefore, You know, I love how people give this movie a bad review. It's rather amusing considering how a good 90% of the people who have gone to see this movie have never played the game series and never read the books or the comics. Therefore, most reviews are ignorant. This movie upheld many aspects of AvP lore created by the games, comics, and books while holding its own story that was turned around from the shameful first movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MickG.Dec 29, 2007
AVP-R seemed to me like a B movie with outrageous action. The aliens and the predators were very well done and the crappy actors just provided cannon fodder for good monster fight scenes. If you liked the previous alien or predator movies, AVP-R seemed to me like a B movie with outrageous action. The aliens and the predators were very well done and the crappy actors just provided cannon fodder for good monster fight scenes. If you liked the previous alien or predator movies, then this movie is well worth the price of admission! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AceIsCoolProAug 13, 2010
I don't think it's really good. First off some of the actors sucked. Second off there should have been atleast 3 predators. Third off the Predator shouldn't have been the main species and look like a hero. Though Pred is better than alien inI don't think it's really good. First off some of the actors sucked. Second off there should have been atleast 3 predators. Third off the Predator shouldn't have been the main species and look like a hero. Though Pred is better than alien in my mind. The only good thing for the movie was that the pred got back on the aliens after avp 2004. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Andy92Sep 12, 2010
i admit this movie does not show any kind promising story however it delivers a lot in terms of action and it also delivers in restoring the original qualities of the famous alien species. the movie does fail in terms of acting and lightingi admit this movie does not show any kind promising story however it delivers a lot in terms of action and it also delivers in restoring the original qualities of the famous alien species. the movie does fail in terms of acting and lighting which had a big impact on the entertainment however it was a decent attempt Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
UndeadKing1231Jan 4, 2014
I liked AVP, but AVPR was just terrible. Everything is so dark you can't see anything. The acting is pretty bad. It is really dull in the beginning. The ending is terrible, and it creates plot holes in the Alien series. It felt like AlienI liked AVP, but AVPR was just terrible. Everything is so dark you can't see anything. The acting is pretty bad. It is really dull in the beginning. The ending is terrible, and it creates plot holes in the Alien series. It felt like Alien Fanfiction that happened to feature a Predator. There is a lot more I could point out, but I will leave it at this. If you are like me, one of the few people who enjoyed Alien vs Predator, and loves the Alien and Predator franchise, don't see this movie, it is bad. The only good thing this movie had going for it was the Predator. The Predator in this movie is probably my favorite Predator, but he felt like a side note. Only showing up occasionally to justify the movie title. So aside from a badass Predator, a couple decent fight scenes, and a cool fight between army members and aliens, this movie is just plain BAD. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Larry223Sep 11, 2014
Esta película es aburrida. Los personajes son aburridos, olvidables y algunos mal actuados. Ejemplo: en una parte un Alien mata a una persona en frente de otra persona y en ves de sentir miedo parece que esta mirando a la cámara, y cuando leEsta película es aburrida. Los personajes son aburridos, olvidables y algunos mal actuados. Ejemplo: en una parte un Alien mata a una persona en frente de otra persona y en ves de sentir miedo parece que esta mirando a la cámara, y cuando le preguntan que paso parece que en ves de miedo tiene frío. A mi me gusto un poco AVP1 por que al menos las escenas de acción eran buenas y algunos personajes memorables, me acuerdo de la protagonista, me acuerdo de el fundador de la corporación, me acuerdo de el arqueólogo (aun que no sus nombres, creo que ni los dicen xD) pero al final me pareció decente, sin embargo, esta película es lo contrario. En las escenas de acción la cámara se mueve mucho aparte de que esta muy oscuro y lloviendo a la vez. Los únicos personajes que me importaron eran el policía y el Predator, el resto me daba igual, hubiera preferido que el poli, Dalas y el predator hubieran escapado en ves de la niñita inútil, su madre aburrida, y el hermano de Dalas con Dalas. En la anterior habían unos cuantos errores que pensé que se solucionarían aquí como: que los Alien tardan de 1 a media hora en salir del cuerpo en ves de 2/5 horas como se ve en las películas de Alien. Aquí lo empeoraron, según parece el PredAlien puede poner huevos dentro de sus victimas y reproducir los Xenomorphos sin necesidad de una reina Alien. Le doy un 04/10 es dolorosamente mediocre, menos mal que hoy en día AVP1 y AVP2 ya no son canon en las franquicias Alien y Predator. Aunque seria genial que fueran del mismo universo y espero que en el futuro hagan un AVP canon como debería ser. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
OoshFeb 6, 2008
What a load of garbage, cliched in the extreme, terrible pacing, it's not even so bad it's funny. It's just plain bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KipMay 1, 2008
Too dark. Too Dark. TOO DARK! I generally cut films like this a lot of slack...but at least let us see what the heck is going on!!! I have the movie paused randomly as I write and the screen is 90% black with a about 8% dark blue, and 2% Too dark. Too Dark. TOO DARK! I generally cut films like this a lot of slack...but at least let us see what the heck is going on!!! I have the movie paused randomly as I write and the screen is 90% black with a about 8% dark blue, and 2% blue....I mean come on! I really wanted to like this, but geesh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AbilashPDec 28, 2007
It was such a typical story and the storyline itself was quite shallow... though its action scenes pretty good but over all it was quite a downer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanB.Jan 10, 2008
alright but the predator was over powered the predalien was cool and logical similar to the dog alien in alien 3 taking traits of the host species and that but why did seem bullet proof the most violent alien or predator movie so far the end alright but the predator was over powered the predalien was cool and logical similar to the dog alien in alien 3 taking traits of the host species and that but why did seem bullet proof the most violent alien or predator movie so far the end was very bizarre. and to the people who think it sucks you clearly did not understand the premise behind the movie two alien killing machines fighting and your like omg no charactor development it sucks Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
R.A.L.Jan 22, 2008
Entertaining, well edited, but inconsistent writing and performances annoy and the story becomes predictable. Plus, this is yet another PR campaign for the U.S. Armed Forces and all its belligerent, be-all-that-you-can-be BS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WilliamC.Jan 2, 2008
Who gives a sh.t about the storyline and stuffs. I only paid to watch those 2 creatures fight and thats what I got in this movie anyways. And if u play the videogame too, you would enjoy it much much more like I do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LeeC.Jan 28, 2008
Horrible horrible waste. bad acting, bad lighting and bad direction. the only good thing in this is they got the predator looking better than the first one. cutting from an alien fight to a soap opera what were they thinking. I didn't Horrible horrible waste. bad acting, bad lighting and bad direction. the only good thing in this is they got the predator looking better than the first one. cutting from an alien fight to a soap opera what were they thinking. I didn't care about any of these people and didn't care when they died. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
IsaacJan 2, 2008
I got exactly what I expected from this movie. Tons of slime, tons of blood, and plenty of hilarious/awful one-liners. If that's not you thing, don't waist your time. If it is, go see it on the big screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SalJan 30, 2008
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JarrodLJan 5, 2008
Far better than the first AVP. Rather than crafting a pg-13 letdown, this had the action and the violence that people expect when these 2 come together, and a bit less cheese. Not sure why so many people hate it, its better than Predator 2, Far better than the first AVP. Rather than crafting a pg-13 letdown, this had the action and the violence that people expect when these 2 come together, and a bit less cheese. Not sure why so many people hate it, its better than Predator 2, or Aliens 3 for that matter. Watching the predator hunt was cool, and the pred-alien, while a bit of a gimmick was still fun. Would have liked to see more of prdator homeworld and culture, but oh well. For the people that said this is more horror than sci-fi, well it took place on Earth, not in space. I thought this movie was less contained to set than previous entries.. and looked good for being rubber suits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
vahndDJan 8, 2008
Junk movie. I almost slept when I watched it. Good character the mix dna of alien and predator. I'd like to buy the action figure one
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KentCJan 9, 2008
Much better than the first AVP, which fell flat due to the PG-13 rating, both films were meant to be R rated. It did have some pointless, boring, and stupid dialogue, but that's to be expected. Decent acting by the adults, but the Much better than the first AVP, which fell flat due to the PG-13 rating, both films were meant to be R rated. It did have some pointless, boring, and stupid dialogue, but that's to be expected. Decent acting by the adults, but the younger actors, with the exception of Steven Pasquale and Johnny Lewis who did pretty well, were terrible. At times I actually felt bad for the people who died, which almost never happens in horror movies for me. These movies would be much better with less emphasis on the humans and more emphasis on the aliens and predators. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GoetheMApr 24, 2008
Ignore the stat skewing votes, this movie is about average. Crippled by the premise of of aliens on earth carried forward from its much worse predecessor by Paul Anderson, this movie at least manages to get the R-rated gore right. It was Ignore the stat skewing votes, this movie is about average. Crippled by the premise of of aliens on earth carried forward from its much worse predecessor by Paul Anderson, this movie at least manages to get the R-rated gore right. It was further acquitted by a surprise ending that one hopes sets the franchise back on the rails. Featuring the Predator as our silent protagonist is both ambitious and flawed. More to be watched than listened, "Wolf" is a ruthless character true to his roots, his methods are interesting to follow and fans are spared the Predator-human buddy movie travesty of AvP1. Humans are relegated to being cliched bystanders, so the largely mediocre dialog and sketchy characterization remains secondary to the action. A small American town is the stage and its hapless inhabitants and protectors are mere statistics in the titular conflict between species, which is the central focus here. Rather than let this be a drawback, the brothers Strause manage to stay true to the limited scope of their creation and keep things simple. The monstrous antagonist brings something new to both worn franchises. With blended shades of the Predators who repeatedly fail to contain it, the Predalien runs rampant through sewers, streets and buildings, sparing neither pregnant women nor babies, while threatening to spawn overwhelming numbers of xenomorphs. AvP:R might appeal to Predator fans more than Alien aficionados. But while this movie provides no more and no less than popcorn entertainment, it still isn't the Requiem Fox should be aiming for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DarkeverApr 3, 2008
Quite boring with a lot of pointless scenes. These Aliens aren't scary at all, considering that a single Preador disposes tons of them just by himself. The Predalien is so deludent that I almost forgot to mention it in this review. We Quite boring with a lot of pointless scenes. These Aliens aren't scary at all, considering that a single Preador disposes tons of them just by himself. The Predalien is so deludent that I almost forgot to mention it in this review. We get to see some cool moves, but overall the previous movie was better, and the Alien quadrilogy was MUCH better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ArthurAAApr 30, 2008
Tries to be as good as first.. fails Trys to be scary.. fails Good acting.. fails Crap ending.. success!! This movie is terrible, I actually started to surf the internet while it was on because it was so boring, earns 2/10 from me because of Tries to be as good as first.. fails Trys to be scary.. fails Good acting.. fails Crap ending.. success!! This movie is terrible, I actually started to surf the internet while it was on because it was so boring, earns 2/10 from me because of the average effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Apr 9, 2008
Good special effects, but not much of a plot. It is predictable and obviously there is nothing new with the critters, seen both of them before. It manages to entertain along the way but easily forgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TashaS.May 4, 2008
This movie sucks. Bad animation, not scary at all. The gore isn't gory enough, and the humans get in the way. A sequel that didn't even need to exist. Requiem truly 'wrecks' the idea of these characters being used. Steer This movie sucks. Bad animation, not scary at all. The gore isn't gory enough, and the humans get in the way. A sequel that didn't even need to exist. Requiem truly 'wrecks' the idea of these characters being used. Steer clear from this one people, you have been warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JakobMar 8, 2009
I am a big fan of all the alien and predator movies, i liked this movie. I really wanted this movie to be great but the directors made the movie cheap and maybe that's why it got dark, to hide they mistakes. I also think they rushedI am a big fan of all the alien and predator movies, i liked this movie. I really wanted this movie to be great but the directors made the movie cheap and maybe that's why it got dark, to hide they mistakes. I also think they rushed through the movie, if they ever make a third i hope it will astonish the fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WilliamTJul 23, 2009
If you're looking for a movie that you can just sit down and watch and have lots of gory fun while doing so, then look no further than AVP2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
jordanmDec 26, 2007
I think a nice even five fits this movie well; the acting and the characters were absolutly terrible...just terrible. The fight scenes were a bit anoying sometimes because lighting was lacking making it hard to tell whats happening. But on I think a nice even five fits this movie well; the acting and the characters were absolutly terrible...just terrible. The fight scenes were a bit anoying sometimes because lighting was lacking making it hard to tell whats happening. But on the plus side, nice to see an action/horror film that didnt try for the pg-13 rating, so lots of blood and gore. Also, i liked that there was no sappy ending with man and woman passionatly kissing or anything, all the couples are massacred! It was also nice that they didnt use the shaky camera and abrupt cuts technique that many moder action films do. So all in all, not great, not bad, entertaing, still way better than 300. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilS.Dec 27, 2007
Immeasurably better than the first movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilC.Dec 31, 2007
Ask yourself, why are you watching this movie? If it is for any other reason than to see Aliens and a Predator go toe-to-toe I guarantee you will not like it one bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattM.Dec 31, 2007
AvP: R is teh swweetest film in a decade. Aylesworth's brilliance on screen in transcedant. I can't wait for the next foray into this, possibly the greatest of all stories told by humans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkA.Jan 1, 2008
I liked this movie alot. It was much better than the original. THough i would perfer to see predator 3 and Alien 5 before another AVP,. But the ending left a sequel open so who knows.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.W.Jan 1, 2008
I'll give it a 10 to balance the bad reviews, at least a bit. I got wht I paid for and wasn't disappointed. You don't go to this kind of movie expecting Ingmar Bergman with photon torpedos, for goodness' sake!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChadS.Jan 1, 2008
"Alien vs. Predator: Requiem" reminds me of Mel Brooks' "Blazing Saddles" when the fourth wall was broken and the diegesis (in the case of the 1974 comedy classic, the film world of the old west) spilled over into other movie sets. The "Alien vs. Predator: Requiem" reminds me of Mel Brooks' "Blazing Saddles" when the fourth wall was broken and the diegesis (in the case of the 1974 comedy classic, the film world of the old west) spilled over into other movie sets. The cowboys fought among themselves, but soon found themselves knocking out the extraneous bystanders. That's exactly what "AVPR" is like. The aliens from "Alien" and the creature from "Predator" are interrupting another movie already in progress(take your pick: a teen romance or a domestic drama) as their personal agenda gets sidetracked by those pesky humans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Marc.D.Jan 1, 2008
It's infinitely better than the first. No way in hell is this movie worse than Alvin and the Chipmunks. The critics need to get the collective stick of pompousity out of their asses before I will give them an ounce of credibility It's infinitely better than the first. No way in hell is this movie worse than Alvin and the Chipmunks. The critics need to get the collective stick of pompousity out of their asses before I will give them an ounce of credibility following this debacle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ColinCJan 15, 2008
Personally, I thought this one was far inferior to the first one. Of course, after reading all the critics scores, I went in with pretty low expectations, so me and my buddy were able to enjoy it, although largely laughing at how bad it was Personally, I thought this one was far inferior to the first one. Of course, after reading all the critics scores, I went in with pretty low expectations, so me and my buddy were able to enjoy it, although largely laughing at how bad it was in parts. At various points in the film, I could practically see the script writer pulling his inspiration from other (better) films before. i.e. "Hey, I loved that scene from the original Posiden Adventure where two groups meet, both heading in opposite directions, both thinking their's is the one path to salvation. No one will remember that scene, so let's do that here!" It wasn't all bad though. Go in expecting clunky dialogue, bad acting, and all the rest, and you can actually get some enjoyment from watching a predator and aliens go at it. Not that it will ever happen now, but man, I would love to have scene what James Cameron would have done with this. Now that would have been awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulB.Jan 19, 2008
Lets start with a simple question- do you like Aliens, do you like predator. If the answer to those questions is no, or you havn't grown up, watched and loved both movies (and sequals) as many people my age, then really what are you Lets start with a simple question- do you like Aliens, do you like predator. If the answer to those questions is no, or you havn't grown up, watched and loved both movies (and sequals) as many people my age, then really what are you even reading this review for, and why are you contemplating watching this movie? Avid fans of both films will have a blast watching this - it's everything the first AVP film was not - mainly Aliens and Predators batteling it out in fully gory detail! I still havn't worked out how they managed to turn this concept into such a boring movie the first time around, but dont worry kids this short but sweeet flick more than makes up for it! The movie is fan fest from start to finish and at just over 93 mins keeps the plot to a minimum, instead letting the stars of the movie (ie the aliens) do the talking. The humans are almost superfluous to the story and at the end you wont really care about the ones that survived - you'll just be comiserating that the didnt put a few more predators in for good measure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChuckM.Jan 20, 2008
I agree, I hate movie critics too. Why cant they review movies in the context in which they are meant to be viewed. This is by no means on par with Alien, Aliens or Predator but they were different kinds of films, well the Alien ones at I agree, I hate movie critics too. Why cant they review movies in the context in which they are meant to be viewed. This is by no means on par with Alien, Aliens or Predator but they were different kinds of films, well the Alien ones at least. The splatterfest has been turned up to 11 since the first AVP, mainly real old school special effects as opposed to CGI and it's all the better for it. Don't listen to the critics, if you want some mindless scary fun and nonsense look no further. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichP.Jan 22, 2008
Awful in literally every department. The cast are abysmal and none of them seem destined for anything other than the career highlight of maybe making it as a patient on ER. The effects are appalling. Everything looks cheap and nasty. The Awful in literally every department. The cast are abysmal and none of them seem destined for anything other than the career highlight of maybe making it as a patient on ER. The effects are appalling. Everything looks cheap and nasty. The story is just completely rubbish and makes AvP1 look decent and cohesive. Everything is underlit so you can never quite see what is happening in the action sequences which is just as well as these are the most obviously rubber-suited aliens ever. As a fan of all four Alien and both Predator movies I found this film to be offensively poor. Thankfully I was too bored to really get angry about it. Utter trash. Worst film of the last ten years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelR.Jan 29, 2008
This is a putrid pile of festering remains of an animal that should never have been born. It smells so bad you could send it to the west bank and everyone would evacuate. It is an insult to the first two films in the way that George Bush is This is a putrid pile of festering remains of an animal that should never have been born. It smells so bad you could send it to the west bank and everyone would evacuate. It is an insult to the first two films in the way that George Bush is an insult to George Washington. The effects are something my kid sister would create if left alone with MS Paint for half an hour. The acting is horrible in a way that would make Brecht want to re-erect the third wall for fear of the cast's safety. I don't know enough foul words to describe this rancid mess. I would rather iron out the wrinkles in my foreskin with an industrial suit press than watch this movie again. If you have a couple hours to spare and nothing but this movie to watch - kill yourself. Seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimmyRJan 3, 2008
This movie was terrible. I could care less about any of the characters and was actually hoping they would all perish at the end. The only reason I even gave it a 4 was that they killed off usually safe characters (kids and Pregnant women) This movie was terrible. I could care less about any of the characters and was actually hoping they would all perish at the end. The only reason I even gave it a 4 was that they killed off usually safe characters (kids and Pregnant women) sick I know, but at least that was different.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChristianoT.Jan 5, 2008
Acting was not so great and the fighting seens were quite short. I enjoyed the idea of mixing the two franchises together but it has not produced quality results from AvP and AvP Requiem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradTJan 6, 2008
Critics piss me off. No it doesn't have the best character development or story of any movie. But it has F-in aliens and predators tearing shit up. I don't know what you people expect to get when you go see a movie like this. It Critics piss me off. No it doesn't have the best character development or story of any movie. But it has F-in aliens and predators tearing shit up. I don't know what you people expect to get when you go see a movie like this. It was extremely entertaining and I thought it kicked ass. 100 times better than the first one too, I thought that one was pretty shitty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DrewFJan 7, 2008
Let me get this out of the way. I actually ENJOYED the first AvP. It was stupid, yes, but at least it was entertaining and fairly well-constructed. The same cannot be said for it's sequel. I know alot of people are saying "You Let me get this out of the way. I actually ENJOYED the first AvP. It was stupid, yes, but at least it was entertaining and fairly well-constructed. The same cannot be said for it's sequel. I know alot of people are saying "You don't go into Aliens/Predator expecting good acting"..Why not? Pretty much ALL of the previous films HAD GOOD ACTING!!! This one did not...And the action sequences were filmed with no lights on...And the storyline just recycles every plot from any of the previous films, but much much more poorly...and the blond chick doesn't even get naked in an R-rated movie.. I mean, that says it all right there,doesn't it? Avoid at all cost. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeatherJan 7, 2008
This is an excellent movie. And what was expected? A blood/slimebath... why yes. That is what was in the preview was it not?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdrianH.Feb 13, 2008
One easy way to wreck two things i love in one hit . Avp was bad but had its good points, Avpr finishes what it started totally corrupting the brand to the point that may as well based it in dawsens creek . come on fox forget love One easy way to wreck two things i love in one hit . Avp was bad but had its good points, Avpr finishes what it started totally corrupting the brand to the point that may as well based it in dawsens creek . come on fox forget love story's, kids getting bullied, bad boys and good cops Aliens and predators is what we want , thats what it is called that is what u should give us . A very #### off fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
jdFeb 18, 2008
I really like most of the aliens and all of the predator movies. This was like a "B to a C" movie remake. Story line was a little worn out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HerbieHuskerFeb 19, 2008
Yawn...Same as the 1st one. Would of kicked butt if they has brought an army of predators down instead of 1 x cleanup guy
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NKFeb 3, 2008
The worst film I have ever seen, and I am a huge fan of the Alien series. It's so bad it's just beyond comprehension.
0 of 0 users found this helpful