Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 28, 2017
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1099 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
894
Mixed:
126
Negative:
79
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
JohnTYJul 24, 2017
Petrol head? Introverted teen? No attention span yet tolerant to loud noises and pretentious w@nkers? Then please don't watch this, it'll only encourage you.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
3
ScraperAug 8, 2017
Tarantino-like shots are almost to epidemic levels at this point. It's seems to be the medicine directors with poor scripts are taking. The film rarely lets it actors speak for themselves without constant sweeping pans or snappy close-ups onTarantino-like shots are almost to epidemic levels at this point. It's seems to be the medicine directors with poor scripts are taking. The film rarely lets it actors speak for themselves without constant sweeping pans or snappy close-ups on all small actions. All the same, the dialogue was pure meathead. Last one alive wins. I'm cool with that if I'm watching Rambo but I thought this movie was going to have a different angle. It devolved into a cheesefest so quickly. The glowing reviews for Baby Driver is a prime example or critical inertia. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
hootisOct 13, 2017
Looks like most of these reviews are bought out. Guess I can't trust metacritc anymore.

This movies was pretty boring. The conflict isn't explained, there bad character development. The motives aren't explained, everything just happens and
Looks like most of these reviews are bought out. Guess I can't trust metacritc anymore.


This movies was pretty boring. The conflict isn't explained, there bad character development. The motives aren't explained, everything just happens and you're supposed to find it interesting? There isn't anything appealing about this movie, it's just a continuous stream of action packed dribble. Watch if you like music movies and car chases. Put it on in the background if you want to keep your TV on.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
Raven25Jul 20, 2017
RATINGS ARTIFICIALLY INFLATED BY SHILLS. BEWARE.

The movie is not 'different' or 'unique'. It is a very poor man's version of Drive with Ryan Gosling. Almost identical plot. The difference is that it is cartoony and constantly blaring noise
RATINGS ARTIFICIALLY INFLATED BY SHILLS. BEWARE.

The movie is not 'different' or 'unique'. It is a very poor man's version of Drive with Ryan Gosling. Almost identical plot. The difference is that it is cartoony and constantly blaring noise (music?) throughout. The characters are effectively just unoriginal tropes. The attempts at being artistic were also a complete miss. The camera shots that attempted to be slick were poorly executed. The red filter used throughout the film made it look like a giant advertisement for itself with no substance. Completely over-engineered in a desperate attempt to be artistic. The chase scenes were also boring.
Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
1
CroBanjoManJul 10, 2017
Gratuitous violence, gets worse as the film progresses. Main character precocious, never-I-smile young man with incredible (read: unrealistic) driving talents. “The girl” has no other quality except for her looks, but hey, we were all youngGratuitous violence, gets worse as the film progresses. Main character precocious, never-I-smile young man with incredible (read: unrealistic) driving talents. “The girl” has no other quality except for her looks, but hey, we were all young once. Other characters (cardboard cutouts, more like it) are either stupid or sociopaths. Totally unbelievable plot, expanded beyond its meager realm of possibility in the first 3 minutes. All just an excuse to direct a few exciting car chasing scenes, last of the Mohicans I presume, since the self-driving ones are upon us. Movie is a tribute to the lost art of using a clutch, which most Americans don’t appreciate anyway, and a glorification of gun violence, which most Americans appreciate all too well. Music is too loud, and too widespread in its provenance to be memorable or exciting (who in their 20’s or 30’s has even heard of first Queen album?). With so much directorial drifting from stylish parody to serious dark movie to Bonnie and Clyde tragedy-drama to Shawshank-like redemption, the film did not even had a remote chance to be a decent one. Sorry I paid some good beer money to see it. Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
3
ccumvasSep 9, 2017
Main actors are overacting so badly and the story is so naive I barely made it till the end of the movie. Plus the music was massively overused. After 30 mins I stopped noticing it.

The main character (and his girlfriend as well) was acting
Main actors are overacting so badly and the story is so naive I barely made it till the end of the movie. Plus the music was massively overused. After 30 mins I stopped noticing it.

The main character (and his girlfriend as well) was acting cocky and self confident, like if he was really cool, while actually he wasn't.
It looked rediculously stupid.

I will never base my cinema plans on Metacritic and IMDb ratings again.
It's like in one moment everyone just lost the taste.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
BenardenJul 11, 2017
Embarrassingly bad.
"'Bullitt Chase Scene' meets 'Dancing Queen'"
No?? - We start with generic chase scene shots, sans connection, randomly stacked together. This "Getaway Porn" leads to bad " B" level novice film school scripting; - at
Embarrassingly bad.
"'Bullitt Chase Scene' meets 'Dancing Queen'"
No??
- We start with generic chase scene shots, sans connection, randomly stacked together.
This "Getaway Porn" leads to bad " B" level novice film school scripting;
- at which point I was ready to just get up and leave. This movie has the feel of being written & dirrected by someone who has Never seen a decent film.
Did someone bribe dozens of critics or did Guicifer" hack The Database?
Throw out the first hour and a quarter, focus on the last fifteen minutes and just start over
If you enjoyed the "drive-in twist contest scene" from Pulp Fiction then maybe this film is for you else avoid !

In closing, I an embarrassed to say I have seen this film
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
1
gunnyartJul 6, 2017
I only made it through the first 30 minutes before walking out and asking for a refund. Maybe it got dramatically better after I left but I doubt it. I did not remotely begin to care about the characters or plot (what little of it there was)
9 of 23 users found this helpful914
All this user's reviews
1
harsubaghJul 7, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. one of the dumbest movies i have seen all year. so he is waiting one 3 guys to rob a bank and he drives them away but i didnt see anyone notice what car they got into yet he still drives like he has the bank robbers. later in the movie, while fleeing, he gets another car so the cops wont know its thjem yet he still drives crazy to let all the cops know he has the bank robbers. the movie does stuff like this all the time. i had to leave before it was finished. stupid movie. the reviewer that left after 30 minutes is my hero. many like this movie because it is dumb fun, i guess. it just did not work for me. Expand
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
2
halo65Jul 10, 2017
This appears to be a homemade movie. If you watched the trailer you saw the best part. At the end of movie I asked attendant for refund, she said get in line it will be a long one.
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
0
ZoupSep 18, 2017
this is very probably the most stupid movie i have ever seen. there's no logic, no structure, no real meaning to this movie. i highly recommend you to watch in drunk/without a brain.
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
3
vgmkyleJul 11, 2017
It's inflated because this was a trap for pompous movie critics and they fell right into it. This movie is utterly pointless, has little character development or sensible story structure.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
3
MovieGal2016Jun 29, 2017
Cliche from beginning to end. Story is downright dull as the plot is one big one big chase scene albeit set to music. In my opinion, there's absolutely no chemistry between the main two characters and the two main characters are stiff andCliche from beginning to end. Story is downright dull as the plot is one big one big chase scene albeit set to music. In my opinion, there's absolutely no chemistry between the main two characters and the two main characters are stiff and boring to watch. Chase scenes are not original or unique - been there. The big stars (Jon Hamm and Jamie Fox, in particular) make this show somewhat watchable (but barely). Wait and rent. Expand
9 of 28 users found this helpful919
All this user's reviews
0
IHateEveryMovieJul 3, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Some young guy, Baby, always listens to his iPod and dances and stuff and he's a getaway driver and you better believe he's the best gosh darn getaway driver there is. Jamie Foxx is a jerk though and for some reason Baby thinks it's worth it to kill him and screw up a job and get everyone in the crew killed and himself arrested. Baby Driver is nothing special, don't know why people are going crazy for this one. Expand
10 of 33 users found this helpful1023
All this user's reviews
0
TheGreatCriticAug 17, 2017
Baby driver is by far the worst movie of the year, Edgar wright is a terrible director, creating three awful comedies and one terrible comic book movie, Edgar is an objectivily bad director and I will convince you why.

The story was awful,
Baby driver is by far the worst movie of the year, Edgar wright is a terrible director, creating three awful comedies and one terrible comic book movie, Edgar is an objectivily bad director and I will convince you why.

The story was awful, there is way too much energy and style put into this film, they also made that weird choice of putting the action in rythme with the music which made the action scenes compelling which I didn't appreciate. The soundtrack was awful, instead of putting random music that has nothing to do with the film (like suicide squad), here they decided to put a soundtrack that actually complements the film, this requires little to no effort and I'm ashamed that we as a human race accept this kind of filmaking.

The characters and actors were so bad that it made me cringe, they took cliched characters and actually made them likable and interesting, they actually made me feel invested in what was going on, I don't want that in a movie, earlier this year Transformers 5 showed awful characters and it made the movie so much better.

Stay away from this film, the story and characters were too interesting and the action and soundtrack was too unique and fun, it's one of the worst action films I've ever seen.
Expand
5 of 19 users found this helpful514
All this user's reviews
0
AndreiaPataJul 10, 2017
Depressing character development with such great cast. All were numb to their roles and worse, the so called baby does not even seem to realize it's own role.
5 of 23 users found this helpful518
All this user's reviews
0
Hawks2018Sep 30, 2017
What in the actual eff... This movie is supposedly an 86 rating? I was so looking forward to this, with Hot Fuzz and Shawn of the Dead being all-time favourites. I just turned it off after 45 minutes just astonished that something soWhat in the actual eff... This movie is supposedly an 86 rating? I was so looking forward to this, with Hot Fuzz and Shawn of the Dead being all-time favourites. I just turned it off after 45 minutes just astonished that something so annoying, so irritating, so bewilderingly, inexplicably effing *hopeless* could receive the combined rating it has. I am astonished at how bad this film is. A five minute car chase, which was OK I guess, just turns into this pathetic, empty dross. The lead character dances down the street like some 9 year-old in a McDonald's commercial, and then this 25y.o.-ish supposed adult calls himself "Baby", and expects everyone else to refer to him as "Baby" also.. Whole scenes play out with bonafide stars like Foxx and Spacey and they're just ...*nothing*, just these empty, bland conversations that don't make you give the slightest crap about what might happen next. And for the first 40 mins after the first chase, nothing does. The lead character is some sort of autist we're sposed to care about, yet you'll just be wondering how you got suckered into watching this sublimely incompetent, pointless mess. It's been 15 years since I've turned off a movie before the end, and I am pretty much effing angry that this pile of putrid nonsense cost me 40 mins of my life. Edgar Wright, you should be ashamed of yourself. The sycophantic reviewers tricking people into watching this garbage are lower than whale crap. Never again. Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
3
S0LiDJul 16, 2017
Not fun, bad selection of music (except War Pigs), just one decent drive scene, same script than 300 movies, bad main actor, absolutely boring movie... the only one good thing is Jamie Foxx
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
samil360Dec 11, 2017
SADLY for the first time I have been duped by Metacritic, I vowed never to trust rotten tomatoes after exactly the same thing happened years ago. I wasted my time watching a movie that was highly rated only to realize that the critics andSADLY for the first time I have been duped by Metacritic, I vowed never to trust rotten tomatoes after exactly the same thing happened years ago. I wasted my time watching a movie that was highly rated only to realize that the critics and website was bought in an attempt to overinflate a rating. For this movie to get an 86 score is DISGRACEFUL, this is the worst piece of garbage I have seen in ages. Terrible acting, terrible plot, the cheesiest and most unrealistic outcomes, unrealistic on so many levels. BEWARE DO NOT WATCH, I HAVE NEVER WRITTEN A REVIEW BUT THIS WAS SO BAD I HAD TO!!!!! Expand
0 of 10 users found this helpful010
All this user's reviews
1
gobhoblinNov 7, 2017
I legitimately hate this movie. It's a bad premise, the music is overbearing and obviously there because they wanted the Guardians crowd to love their movie for shallow reasons, the writing is very poor, the actors aren't convincing at all,I legitimately hate this movie. It's a bad premise, the music is overbearing and obviously there because they wanted the Guardians crowd to love their movie for shallow reasons, the writing is very poor, the actors aren't convincing at all, and the car chases weren't exciting at all. This was made for the lowest common denominator Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
olddocOct 20, 2017
Gratuitous car-chase movie stacked with unmemorable clichés. Think 'Drive' for people with an attention span of a fruit fly and a lazy music taste (except for one song, The Damned's Neat Neat Neat).
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
BurnerBoyDec 28, 2017
Basically a long, slick music video built on a basic, formulaic heist movie plot. Yaaaawwwwn.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews