Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 15, 2005
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2233 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,093
Mixed:
73
Negative:
67
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
tbagurdrumset94Mar 4, 2011
I have not watched all of the Batman movies, so I can't really compare this triumph to the other films. I will say this: I was only able to stomach about 15 minutes of Batman Forever (the Schwarzenegger one) so... I guess it's safe to sayI have not watched all of the Batman movies, so I can't really compare this triumph to the other films. I will say this: I was only able to stomach about 15 minutes of Batman Forever (the Schwarzenegger one) so... I guess it's safe to say that this one kicked the other's hind quarters... pretty hard if I may add. The film is dark, edgy and well acted. The plot is good (not groundbreaking, but it really holds your attention). You will never be bored... or annoyed, like in Batman Forever. The best performances come from the effortless class of Michael Caine as Alfred, Cillian Murphy as the cold Dr. Crane and Liam Neeson as the main villain, Henri Ducard. Expand
26 of 32 users found this helpful266
All this user's reviews
10
AgustínL.Feb 7, 2006
Simply the picture what the batfans always were dreaming about. Nolan takes the more "realistic" superhero, and gives us much more than an action movie: a great movie no matters the genre.
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
Longbottom94Apr 26, 2013
One of the most fantastic parts of Batman Begins is how complex the film is. Nolan is not primarily concerned on making a entertaining comic book pic, but rather on making a intriguing art-house character drama. The number of deep, andOne of the most fantastic parts of Batman Begins is how complex the film is. Nolan is not primarily concerned on making a entertaining comic book pic, but rather on making a intriguing art-house character drama. The number of deep, and thought provoking themes brought up in the movie is something to be hold, considering how the campy Adam West version introduced many people to the character Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
nintendoid13Jan 16, 2011
I think this movie deserved more than a 70 but no more than a 90. If you're someone who is used to the Tim Burton style batmans like me, you know it had to take a lot of willpower to accept this Batman movie as one of theI think this movie deserved more than a 70 but no more than a 90. If you're someone who is used to the Tim Burton style batmans like me, you know it had to take a lot of willpower to accept this Batman movie as one of the «greats». The tumbler was really hard to get used to and Alfred made me yak. Although I did like the Scarecrow. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
AlecinoJul 27, 2011
After the disaster known as "Batman and Robin", I was worried this movie would tank. But nope. Batman has made one heck of a comeback. Poor Fantastic Four. This movie is believable and stays true to the comics. Best movie of the year. IAfter the disaster known as "Batman and Robin", I was worried this movie would tank. But nope. Batman has made one heck of a comeback. Poor Fantastic Four. This movie is believable and stays true to the comics. Best movie of the year. I don't want a reboot. Nolan's franchise is the best Batman franchise ever. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaOct 5, 2012
Nolan made another great film in Batman Begins and it completely changed the super hero genre and it also began the best trilogy of all time. So much to analyse so much to entertain and so many performances to savour.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 27, 2012
This was the start of a great realization of Batman and his world. The performances are sheer gold. It takes a somewhat darker tone compared to older Batman movies, a risk that payed off.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
RickJ.G.Dec 20, 2005
After being left for dead following the disastrous "Batman and Robin", the "Batman" franchise is back better than ever with "Batman Begins". The film's creator figured rightly that the only way to revive the franchise was to start all After being left for dead following the disastrous "Batman and Robin", the "Batman" franchise is back better than ever with "Batman Begins". The film's creator figured rightly that the only way to revive the franchise was to start all over again by retelling the legend of Batman's origins. Christian Bale is the first convincing Bruce Wayne/Batman for me. In "Begins", Bruce spends seven years traveling the world studying criminals and hanging out with criminals in prisons in search of revenge for the death of his wealthy parents at the hands of a homeless mugger. Along the way he meets Henri Ducard (Liam Neeson) and is taken in by a mysterious group of vigilantes known as the League of Shadows. Wayne eventually comes to reject the League's apocalyptic and immoral methods of cleansing the world of corruption and criminality. After rejecting the League's apocalyptic methods, Bruce creates the "Batman" crime fighting character. In the end, Bruce must successfully confront the League's plan to destroy Gotham in order for his "Batman" character to succeed in his mission to save his home city from corruption and crime. Bruce pretends to be a billionaire playboy in public as a front for not drawing any attention to who he really is after hours. This is incredibly disappointing to Bruce's love interest, idealistic junior DA Rachel Dawes (Who I think is played quite well by the much hated Katie Holmes). Michael Cayne is a suitable Alfred and seems to be popular with fans in the role. The best supporting character is Lucius Fox (Morgan Freeman), the Wayne Enterprises scientific genius who has the knowledge and possession of everything Bruce needs to become Batman. I really love it when Bruce sees "The Tumbler", a.k.a. the future Batmobile, an experimental military vehicle, and Fox seriously says to him "Oh, you wouldn't be interested in that". The writers of the film obviously did that line for laughs and it works every time for me. Near the end when Alfred says to Bruce that it might be time to do some more work on the foundations of Wayne manner, particularly in the area of the Bat Cave, I'm left wanting to see what happens afterward. I hope we see at least a couple more "Batman" films with Bale et al. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyR.Oct 5, 2005
Solid movie, honestly probably the best superhero movie to date next to spiderman. The darkness of the movie is perfect, it brings back the feeling of tim burtons dark movies of BATMAN!!! Great job Nolan, Christian Bale was a perfect batman.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
skyminsterMay 22, 2012
Batman begins is an awesome action movie, it's got exciting action, a great dialogue/script, a very good and interesting story-line and good acting by just about everyone in it. I haven't seen any other batman movies, but batman begins seemsBatman begins is an awesome action movie, it's got exciting action, a great dialogue/script, a very good and interesting story-line and good acting by just about everyone in it. I haven't seen any other batman movies, but batman begins seems like it's probably better, it's just such a great film! If you haven't already seen it, I recommend watching it, it's a really good film, seriously, it's one of the best super hero films, but one thing is even better: The dark knight, check out my thoughts of it on my review! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
jasir98Dec 24, 2012
Batman Begins is a good start to the dark knight trilogy, the acting is superb in it, the stunts are awesome, the pacing is pretty good, and most importantly it makes u believe in a world so believable. the only mistake it made was that theBatman Begins is a good start to the dark knight trilogy, the acting is superb in it, the stunts are awesome, the pacing is pretty good, and most importantly it makes u believe in a world so believable. the only mistake it made was that the storyline was a little bit too predictable. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
christhebeast42Mar 29, 2013
This is the first 2 hours of my favorite movie of all time, so you know its a ten. Everyone in this movie was excellent(Katie Holmes, I know, but I thought she was good for Katie Holmes). This movie is absolutely perfect in every way.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
kuzdiyenFeb 7, 2016
This is the one movie that revitalized superhero movies. Batman Begins made people watch comic book movies, take them seriously and paved the way for others such as The Dark Knight, Iron Man and Winter Soldier. What is so good about BatmanThis is the one movie that revitalized superhero movies. Batman Begins made people watch comic book movies, take them seriously and paved the way for others such as The Dark Knight, Iron Man and Winter Soldier. What is so good about Batman Begins is the fact that it doesn't feel like a comic book movie at all but a real crime thriller. Christopher Nolan directs it perfectly and puts his mark on the film. Christian Bale, Liam Neeson, Michael Caine, Cillian Murphy, Gary Oldman, Morgan Freeman and even Katie Holmes is amazing in this movie. It is very watchable and the story is the ultimate origin story with great villains and characters. I love this movie because of its strong acting, directing, action, score, characters and how it truly started a new era in cinema. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
AleksiK.Jun 9, 2006
After seeing the this I have restored hope of Batman films. I also thought, theres no better Batman/Bruce Wayne than Michael Keaton. Clooney and Kilmer SUCKED! Bale does a good job, I can't wait the sequel, where we see Joker.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisR.Dec 30, 2005
After bearing the burden of a franchise that had spun completely out of creative control, I finally rented the DVD. What an idiot I was... Why did I not see this in the theaters? Caine and Freeman firmly cement their personas, delivering After bearing the burden of a franchise that had spun completely out of creative control, I finally rented the DVD. What an idiot I was... Why did I not see this in the theaters? Caine and Freeman firmly cement their personas, delivering spot-on performances, Gary Oldman proves that he can quite simply out-character act anybody in the industry, and Bale, in a stunning turn -around physically from The Machinst, IS Bruce Wayne (P.S.: watch The Machinist. Bale reportedly ate an apple and a single can of tuna (while working out incessantly) to capture the physicality of the role. He then promptly assured producers that he could play the part in Batman Begins, and then proceeded to bulk out in SIX WEEKS . Neeson turns in an admirable peformance, and Holmes seems out of her element, but overall, this is the definative origin story which renders the previous Burton/Bruckheimer movies quaint, more or (VERY) less watchable, but utterly irrelevant. The 60's T.V. show was the coloring book, the previous franchise was the high school book report, and we now have the fully developed master's thesis of how a billionaire with a grudge and a horrible childhood trauma could resort to, and be facilitated in, swooping about Gotham, scaring the s*** out of criminals and audiences alike. I usually balk at the set-up for the inevitable next movie, but I actually cheered when Oldman's Gordon turned over the playing card... Kudos!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousJan 6, 2006
One of the best films of the year if you rate this movie a zero you have no life!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarkBDec 1, 2005
Christian Bale was far superior to any other Bruce Wayne attempt, although I did like Keaton (comic relief) Katie Holmes was pretty, but out of her league. Needed Charlize. The fight scenes were a bit of a blur, but the story was well done. Christian Bale was far superior to any other Bruce Wayne attempt, although I did like Keaton (comic relief) Katie Holmes was pretty, but out of her league. Needed Charlize. The fight scenes were a bit of a blur, but the story was well done. I enjoyed not seeing any 'over the top' stage whores.(Jim Carey) I actually should give it a 10 because it had Liam Neeson, is he bad in anything? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EliteF50Nov 12, 2010
Without a doubt, the best Batman movie ever made. I'm a huge fan of Keaton and the Burton films, but I simple cannot deny how perfect this film was. Batman Begins trumps The Dark Knight in every way imaginable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
PaxsterOct 9, 2010
Not quite up to The Dark Knight, in my opinion but still a good achievement for Nolan. The days of the dark and adult Batman were fully realised in this first adaptation by Nolan. Despite its darker element this move compared with its sequelNot quite up to The Dark Knight, in my opinion but still a good achievement for Nolan. The days of the dark and adult Batman were fully realised in this first adaptation by Nolan. Despite its darker element this move compared with its sequel is much more comic book orientated. But don't be put off by this, it is full of universal meanings and imagery that we can all relate to. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
sreekiranAug 21, 2010
the movie had fast screenplay. there were some boring scenes. the second half picks momentum. the climax was good.
story was imaginary. but nice execution. the thugs were upto the mark but not as great as joker. overall the movie is a good flick
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SasquatchFelixDec 16, 2010
This is the first true batman movie from the comics; and none of this tim burton/ george clooney zany nonsense that isn't really batman: Criminals are supposed to fear him not laugh at him. Also loved the inclusion of some of the moreThis is the first true batman movie from the comics; and none of this tim burton/ george clooney zany nonsense that isn't really batman: Criminals are supposed to fear him not laugh at him. Also loved the inclusion of some of the more inconspicuos villans too (scarecrow and raz al ghul) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheBearOct 18, 2010
A bold and stunning achievment from Christopher Nolan and Christian Bale who triumph where many have failed; a Batman film where Batman is the most interesting character on screen. It's a story which is a little slow but never boring andA bold and stunning achievment from Christopher Nolan and Christian Bale who triumph where many have failed; a Batman film where Batman is the most interesting character on screen. It's a story which is a little slow but never boring and Bruce Wayne's decision to don a costume and become Batman is believable. Outstandingly cast with great performances from Liam Neeson, Michael Caine and Morgan Freeman, however it is Christian Bale who thrives above the rest. Nolan is perhaps a little too shaky with the action but his handling of the characters and drama is perfect. Arguably the best comic book film of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 19, 2011
Pretty good for the most part. I think Scarecrow was a poor choice of a villian, Although it worked well plot wise - He just wasnt that good. Other then that it was a good film, Probably the best Batman film (yes even better then The Dark Knight).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ZANIACKJul 29, 2012
Batman Begins is the better Batman movie, but The Dark Knight is the better movie. That's my honest condensed opinion, I own both movies on blu ray and recommend them to just about anyone.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerFeb 12, 2011
This movie is one of the best Batman movies out there, it's good because it's surprisingly really realistic but still has it's classic comic book logic, the acting was great, as was the story, it's also darker than previous movies so theThis movie is one of the best Batman movies out there, it's good because it's surprisingly really realistic but still has it's classic comic book logic, the acting was great, as was the story, it's also darker than previous movies so the people who were upset with Batman and Robins lighter take on Batman, it's a great movie from beginning to end and a must see for Batman fans. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuJul 18, 2012
Batman Begins is the perfect start for Christopher Nolan's more cerebral take on the DC legend. It balances a more realistic approach, while still maintaining enough of a comic book sensibility to remain true to it's roots. The movie is wellBatman Begins is the perfect start for Christopher Nolan's more cerebral take on the DC legend. It balances a more realistic approach, while still maintaining enough of a comic book sensibility to remain true to it's roots. The movie is well written and acted, with tons of memorable scenes. Although the fisticuffs never quite measure up to the dialogue, Batman Begins is actually a bit more exciting in the action department than it's much-lauded sequel The Dark Knight. Although it doesn't quite match it's aforementioned successor in overall quality, it's still a great reboot and a great film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
denimbrcinaOct 13, 2011
The second best superhero movie of all time(so far) Because of this film i am a batman fan. Iim batman!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ovi_bzJan 8, 2011
It's just a Batman movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
stoner839Feb 21, 2011
Fantastic. Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer really nailed this one. You couldn't get a better Batman origin story if you asked Frank Miller to write it. (I'm looking at you, Batman: Year One. I love that graphic novel, but this filmFantastic. Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer really nailed this one. You couldn't get a better Batman origin story if you asked Frank Miller to write it. (I'm looking at you, Batman: Year One. I love that graphic novel, but this film borrows from it, while incorporating other Batman characters and improving upon it.) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJun 9, 2012
Batman Begins is the first of the Batman trilogy as created by Chris Nolan. It's the first film in Batman history that investigates the psyche behind the Bat himself. It's a great preview for things to come but at this juncture, the film hasBatman Begins is the first of the Batman trilogy as created by Chris Nolan. It's the first film in Batman history that investigates the psyche behind the Bat himself. It's a great preview for things to come but at this juncture, the film has a jarring tonal shift right in the middle. Started of as a psychological study, before succumbing to the usual super hero blockbuster template. Of course, all this exposition pays off in its next installment, The Dark Knight, but fans might need to take a look at this one again, as The Dark Knight Rises essentially concludes the story thread stared in this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Xavo24Aug 15, 2012
Batman Begins has given us a new perception of what a super hero can achieve in the cinema. Has become a comic book superhero in a dark thriller that manages to take advantage of important elements such as a good plot and good writing.Batman Begins has given us a new perception of what a super hero can achieve in the cinema. Has become a comic book superhero in a dark thriller that manages to take advantage of important elements such as a good plot and good writing. Christopher Nolan proves his talent again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RedWaggonMar 12, 2013
"Batman Begins" is undoubtedly one of the best films of the decade. The acting is superb, the music is carefully and artfully crafted into the film (at one point in the film an alarm is sounding in sync with the score), and while the whole"Batman Begins" is undoubtedly one of the best films of the decade. The acting is superb, the music is carefully and artfully crafted into the film (at one point in the film an alarm is sounding in sync with the score), and while the whole film can be taken very seriously, it just as entertaining as a superhero film should be. There is enough drama and characterization to make the action worthwhile, and enough suspense and buildup to keep you in your seat for the whole ride. This film's job is to take a flesh-and-blood human being with no superpowers and turn him into a superhero, and it does just that. To sum it up, "Batman Begins" earns the respect it deserves. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
What Nolan did here is something incredible; not only did he resurrect a then-dead franchise name, but he catapulted everybody's opinion of Batman to a more serious level. By using his Memento-style Non-linear storytelling techniques,What Nolan did here is something incredible; not only did he resurrect a then-dead franchise name, but he catapulted everybody's opinion of Batman to a more serious level. By using his Memento-style Non-linear storytelling techniques, beautiful cinematography, and insanely witty and provocative dialogue, Nolan created the most captivating superhero yarn to date. Christian Bale is almost objectively the best Batman actor. I've never seen any of the other Batman actors put as much effort into this role as Bale has. He really, and truly lifted this role off the proverbial page and he successfully managed to encapsulate the Batman/Bruce Wayne that Bob Kane and Bill Finger created. Every other actor in this movie is fantastic as well. Morgan Freeman, Liam Neeson, Michael Caine, Gary Oldman all comprise the amazing supporting cast. On a personal note, the film also possesses has one of my favorite scores too. Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard really did something out of the box for this film, but they also did something quite beautiful and appropriate. Overall, this movie is one of the most influential movies I have ever seen. It managed to portray every aspect of Batman's origin to a tee. Truly, a masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiSep 25, 2013
The best origin story I've seen. Very gritty and raw. Kudos to the Nolan brothers for a fabulous script and direction. The score kept the tempo running. Even given the breakneck pace, the main character developed constantly. The notion ofThe best origin story I've seen. Very gritty and raw. Kudos to the Nolan brothers for a fabulous script and direction. The score kept the tempo running. Even given the breakneck pace, the main character developed constantly. The notion of fear is used to perfection. I especially liked the ideas of justice and vengeance, and the line that separates them, clashed against each other. Caine, Morgan and Oldman delivered stellar performances, not to mention Bale. My favourite batman film, including the sequels. I can't think of a single thing I would change about the movie. Sadly, I cannot say the same about the sequels. This one had the background, build-up, character development and action in the right proportions. It felt like a movie that was about Batman. The Dark Knight felt like it was about Joker. Rises concerned itself with uprisings and counter uprisings. Both would have worked better if the character of Batman was explored more instead of just reacting to the whims of the villains. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
tomtom4468Feb 4, 2013
Finally, a Batman film that is actually good. After the miserable fail of Batman and Robin, this is an amazing film showing Batman in a more realistic sense, (even though a guy dressing up as a bat and beating up criminals is not). NOLAN!Finally, a Batman film that is actually good. After the miserable fail of Batman and Robin, this is an amazing film showing Batman in a more realistic sense, (even though a guy dressing up as a bat and beating up criminals is not). NOLAN! NOLAN! NOLAN! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
LaGuertaMay 7, 2013
Nolan brings a fully realised and compelling Gotham to the big screen without resorting to the camp or ridiculous. Faithful to the finest comics, Batman Begins is the first live action film worthy of the Dark Knight.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 10, 2013
The first part in the greatest trilogy of all time. Christopher Nolan makes not only a great Batman film but a great crime drama. Anytime we see our favorite comic book characters in a more realistic and gritty way you have Nolan to thank for that.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
My_VenomJun 24, 2013
The best origin story to date. Batman Begins brings the beginning of Batman to a complex and philosophical scale. The "becoming a symbol" concept is genius. its one of the most interesting ideas in a movie. They really suck us in to the storyThe best origin story to date. Batman Begins brings the beginning of Batman to a complex and philosophical scale. The "becoming a symbol" concept is genius. its one of the most interesting ideas in a movie. They really suck us in to the story the we take with Bruce Wayne as he becomes legend. LIke Wall-e the first half of this movie was utter brilliance. While the second half does drop in quality compared to the first half, the second half still isn't bad. I would completely recommend it to any movie goer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HarveyDentApr 14, 2013
Not quite as fantastic as The Dark Knight but better that Rises, Begins is a fanatastic film. While its not as loud as its sequels, it is also better in many ways. Great beginning to one of the best film series of all time. It does a greatNot quite as fantastic as The Dark Knight but better that Rises, Begins is a fanatastic film. While its not as loud as its sequels, it is also better in many ways. Great beginning to one of the best film series of all time. It does a great job of setting up its characters before a terrific finish. Great acting, escpecially from Bale, Caine, Neeson etc. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HJRodrigoDec 26, 2015
This movie breathed new life into a movie franchise that was declared dead by many due to the 1997 movie Batman and Robin. Christopher Nolan returns the Batman live action films to the darker/grittier tone that was started by Tim Burton. IThis movie breathed new life into a movie franchise that was declared dead by many due to the 1997 movie Batman and Robin. Christopher Nolan returns the Batman live action films to the darker/grittier tone that was started by Tim Burton. I can easily recommend this movie to fans of Batman. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SuperheroMoviesAug 5, 2013
Ominous and intense, Batman Begins is terrific entertainment that takes a dark twist on the Batman origin story. Christian Bale is perfectly cast as Bruce Wayne, delivering the chilling nature expected from the superhero.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ibadukefanDec 16, 2013
Until The Dark Knight came along, this was the best superhero movie that I'd ever seen. Nolan took the genre in a completely new and dark direction and everyone else followed. This was a landmark film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TupakkulaMar 8, 2014
I love this movie. It focuses so much on the story and why Batman is what he is. He's not just some silly persona in a goofy-looking costume; there's so much more to it than that. With the fight scenes, it doesn't just show Batman's bruteI love this movie. It focuses so much on the story and why Batman is what he is. He's not just some silly persona in a goofy-looking costume; there's so much more to it than that. With the fight scenes, it doesn't just show Batman's brute strength, but rather his brain-power and how he can handle a situation. If you're a Batman fan and haven't seen this movie, I highly recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
Gone are the campy cartoon versions of the superhero defined by Burton and Schumacher, as Christopher Nolan introduces the most intriguing, most intelligent and most moving Batman story to date. Bale is excellent, Cillian Murphy is mostGone are the campy cartoon versions of the superhero defined by Burton and Schumacher, as Christopher Nolan introduces the most intriguing, most intelligent and most moving Batman story to date. Bale is excellent, Cillian Murphy is most underrated, and the film is a dramatic and action-packed thrill-ride from beginning to end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBJul 15, 2014
Batman Begins is more than just a superhero movie, it is the superhero movie. Batman is one memorable, deep and emotional character who adapts justice and defends the poor.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CPD98Sep 27, 2014
Con Batman Begins, Nolan se hizo mucho mas grande y el género de los superhéroes tenía una nueva referencia. El reparto esta escogido de forma magistral, la historia es mucho mas humana, ahora Batman ya no es un héroe de cómic para niños, esCon Batman Begins, Nolan se hizo mucho mas grande y el género de los superhéroes tenía una nueva referencia. El reparto esta escogido de forma magistral, la historia es mucho mas humana, ahora Batman ya no es un héroe de cómic para niños, es algo mas. Esta primera parte de la trilogía ya es perfecta, pero lo mejor aun estaba por llegar... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
The first film is the best film in the Dark Knight trilogy with plenty of action and great acting included in the new Batman's adventures. You won't want to miss the amazing choice of Ra's Al Ghul (Liam Neeson) as the main villain.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TrackerDeviceNov 2, 2015
Christopher Nolan was not only able to bring the Batman franchise back to life, he was able to bring the best of Batman. Nolan's realistic version of Batman also helps make Batman Begins movie of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gameguardian21Feb 23, 2016
All I can say is that this batman movie is awesome. It fits in with the lore while telling somthing new. Characters are great, story, everything. If you love batman, this is a must watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
hugoferreiraSep 7, 2018
The beginning of something really special. Intense, thrilling and spectacular. Nolan's trademark all over the place.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bigscreen454Dec 23, 2017
This is the gold standard of Batman reboots. Christopher Nolan's magnum opus. Inception and Interstellar were, in fact, child's play compared to this. It is a subtle victory when a film brings you on a satisfying character journey. If you’reThis is the gold standard of Batman reboots. Christopher Nolan's magnum opus. Inception and Interstellar were, in fact, child's play compared to this. It is a subtle victory when a film brings you on a satisfying character journey. If you’re looking for a great superhero film then look no further than what is directly in front of you. Maybe my favorite superhero film. Stellar filmmaking execution at its finest. Batman's actions speak louder than words and this film speaks at 24 frames per second. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NolanLundgaardAug 24, 2018
If I could sum up Batman Begins in one word, it would be AWESOME!! While I loved the first Michael Keaton Batman from 1989 because of its splendid acting and amazing storytelling, Begins somehow manages to one-up Batman in many levels. TheIf I could sum up Batman Begins in one word, it would be AWESOME!! While I loved the first Michael Keaton Batman from 1989 because of its splendid acting and amazing storytelling, Begins somehow manages to one-up Batman in many levels. The story is fantastic; very dark, but very exciting. The Scarecrow was super scary, and Christian Bale was an amazing Batman. I really look forward to seeing The Dark Knight. Batman Begins so far is my favorite Batman film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ErikTheCriticSep 25, 2018
This is one of the best and original superhero origin movies. It truly understands the intrinsic nature of Batman and delivers dark and exciting fun.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HappymonkAug 22, 2012
Batman Begins is a great film, but not fantastic. The acting is very good, the musical score is good and the villains in Ras Al Ghul and Scarecrow are both well thought out and portrayed well throughout the film. The main problem with theBatman Begins is a great film, but not fantastic. The acting is very good, the musical score is good and the villains in Ras Al Ghul and Scarecrow are both well thought out and portrayed well throughout the film. The main problem with the film is that it starts very slowly, but it does ultimately build up to something quite exciting and tense. But something else is missing from the film, which could have made it truly the classic film it should be, and I can't quite put my finger what that is. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
JordanPApr 16, 2011
While making Batman inhabit a believable world and a respectable psychological landscape is a remarkable feat in itself, Nolan's crowning achievement was to make us forget the earlier franchise that started badly and plummeted downwards from there.
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Jan 3, 2012
Batman Begins cruises past the cheesiness and brings emotion and a darkness to the epic Batman story. But the movie does feature a weak performance from Katie Holmes and it can lag a bit, but it is packed full of action it is way tooBatman Begins cruises past the cheesiness and brings emotion and a darkness to the epic Batman story. But the movie does feature a weak performance from Katie Holmes and it can lag a bit, but it is packed full of action it is way too entertaining to hate. I give this movie 77%. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Nov 10, 2011
What Christopher Nolan's "Batman Begins" offers to the audience is not amazing action or impressive dialogue. His translation of the 'new' Batman provides both.
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
10
Ethan24Mar 17, 2011
Batman Begins was just the tip of the ice berg for Christopher Nolan. A prelude, if you will. But what a HELL-OF-A prelude! Christian Bale is a very enticing Bruce Wayne/Batman, Gary Oldman a very interesting Commissioner Gordon, and anBatman Begins was just the tip of the ice berg for Christopher Nolan. A prelude, if you will. But what a HELL-OF-A prelude! Christian Bale is a very enticing Bruce Wayne/Batman, Gary Oldman a very interesting Commissioner Gordon, and an intriguingly novice first villain brought to us by Liam Neeson. And of course the always reliable Cain and Freeman are terrific in their roles. But the ultimate star prize goes to Cillian Murphy for stealing every single scene he's in. What a great film! Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Aug 28, 2011
Despite being just a little confusing in some instances, "Batman Begins," is a much better Batman movie than the older ones, and is only topped by its superior sequel "The Dark Knight" (both are also way better than Nolan's Inception, whichDespite being just a little confusing in some instances, "Batman Begins," is a much better Batman movie than the older ones, and is only topped by its superior sequel "The Dark Knight" (both are also way better than Nolan's Inception, which unfortunately turned out to be complete garbage). Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
Finally. This is the Batman film I've been waiting for. It's emotionally gripping, visually striking, and a fantastic achievement in film. Batman Begins is one of the best films of the year.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewJun 22, 2011
A cinematic masterpiece. Batman Begins took the big risk taker, but the most rewarding one: bringing a comic book hero well known such as Batman and bringing him to a more realistic level. The result is a thrilling, dazzling, emotionalA cinematic masterpiece. Batman Begins took the big risk taker, but the most rewarding one: bringing a comic book hero well known such as Batman and bringing him to a more realistic level. The result is a thrilling, dazzling, emotional journey full of darkness, heart, entertainment, and magic. Batman Begins is a masterpiece, with a sequel that is just as good. Batman Begins is a must see! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffMay 29, 2015
'Batman Begins' is a reboot, comic book movie directed by Christopher Nolan, who, at the time, was still trying to make a big name for himself...this was the movie that put him on the map.

After the adaptations of Tim Burton's 'Batman'
'Batman Begins' is a reboot, comic book movie directed by Christopher Nolan, who, at the time, was still trying to make a big name for himself...this was the movie that put him on the map.

After the adaptations of Tim Burton's 'Batman' (1989) and 'Batman Returns' (1992), it seems that fans reacted fairly positive to them. Then came Joel Schumacher with his campy and unintentionally hilarious (but damn right awful) 'Batman Forever' (1995) and the atrocious 'Batman and Robin' (1997) where fans reacted negatively. It's easy to understand why.

Here, Christopher Nolan decides to polish things up with Christian Bale in the title role of Bruce Wayne aka "Batman". We get a glimpse of his childhood and origins as we learn that he has a huge fear of Bats, his loving parents then also decide to take him to the theater and that's where his parents are shot by a thug.

Young Bruce feels responsible for his parents' death and is left to live with Alfred, the butler (Michael Caine). Wayne, years later, goes off to train to become some sort of assassin as Ra'as Al Ghul (Liam Neeson) teaches him how to fight.

We get a lot of exposition and development to see how Batman becomes...Batman. Katie Holmes plays Rachel Dawes, Bruce's love interest. Holmes' performance does bother me a little in this movie and it's understandable as to how she landed a Razzie Award nomination for "Worst Supporting Actress".

Cillian Murphy plays the Scarecrow, we get some horrifying images of when he makes his victims hallucinate and cause them to act up.

'Batman Begins' is a reboot worth waiting for, it is darker, and less campy than the previous installments. Christian Bale plays a marvelous Bruce Wayne/Batman, the rest of the cast, including; Gary Oldman and Morgan Freeman also commit to their performances. The standards for comic book movies has risen since this movie was released, and it's hard to see any other Batman movie made this perfect.

If you love dark and gritty movies, with splendid action and only the occasional joke here and there...then this movie is for you. It blends all these sub-genres very well and makes for a better-than-your-average comic book movie, I bet even non-comic book fans will love this movie as much as we do.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DarekK.Dec 15, 2007
Amazing, absolutely spectacular. This is the best superhero/comic book movie ever made. It will only be outdone by The Dark Knight.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
9
elliott23Jan 21, 2011
If you are trying to reboot a franchise, use this as an example. Get some one who isn't flashy as lead, a grade-A badass for your villain and nice old brit for your second protagonist. Oh, and also get a good director and screen writer
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 30, 2010
Christian Bale for the win!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
jfrotylpe532Dec 30, 2012
Great start to the series. It explores how Batman came to be and what fear actually is. However as good as the movie was visually and plot wise, there was a few issues. One, the villain proved nothing. I guess that's just because it's theGreat start to the series. It explores how Batman came to be and what fear actually is. However as good as the movie was visually and plot wise, there was a few issues. One, the villain proved nothing. I guess that's just because it's the first film but still. Basically he says I can contaminate you and then force you to turn into weird fearful creatures. Two, the ending wasn't the greatest foreshadow to the Dark Knignt. But still gives you an idea of the evil that is soon going to be released on Batman. But the biggest issue about this movie was Katie Holmes. To be this into kind words I guess I'de have to say.... She sucked big time. on the brighter side it shows how Batman came to be a superhero by fear not to mention great visual effects and a pretty good cinematographer. So I have to say well done. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LatingamerAug 18, 2015
This how you do a **** Batman movie. Cristian Bale nails it as Batman and the acting is superb and Liam Neeson nails it as Ra's Al Ghul. Best Batman origins movie ever.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MikeS.Oct 20, 2005
I just loved this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KurtW.Oct 20, 2005
Watch This, I'm serious youll regret it if you dont.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CurtisB.Oct 20, 2005
The best batman movie to date.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielL.Oct 20, 2005
Loved It No more kiddy stuff.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaxP.Jun 9, 2005
this is probably the best film of all the batmans, and the bst of the summer. nolan has a great mind for these sort of films and it is shown. everyone acts great, superb sequences and overall great story. all these reviewers above don't this is probably the best film of all the batmans, and the bst of the summer. nolan has a great mind for these sort of films and it is shown. everyone acts great, superb sequences and overall great story. all these reviewers above don't no s**t. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DavidD.Feb 17, 2008
By FAR the best Batman movie!! I am so glad that some competent people finally took this series over. The last 3 movies to me were horrible!! Other then the very first batman and now this one, everything else was worthless!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonT.Feb 28, 2008
This movie took the premise of a rich kid who lost his parents to a mugger then grows up to become a man who dresses in a costume and fights bad guys and, through the back story, made it seem believable - practically inexorable. The path This movie took the premise of a rich kid who lost his parents to a mugger then grows up to become a man who dresses in a costume and fights bad guys and, through the back story, made it seem believable - practically inexorable. The path from victim to revenge-seeker to trainee to symbol and force of justice is traced out in such a way that you can believe that someone mght walk that path and ultimately don the cowl. All the usual "WTF" stuff from the comics and the movies are explained - why do his gloves have the fins? Why is the batmobile equipped with a jet engine and where did he get it? Why the cape? It even answered one of my biggest beefs about the Batman movies to date: "Why would Commissioner Gordon trust a vigilante whose identity is unknown?" And thanks to this movie, we learn that their association and trust goes back to before Gordon becomes the Commissioner. The undercurrent of the movie is "fear" - Bruce's fear of the bats, the fear Falcone talks of before his goons turf Bruce out in the street, the fear that people feel that keeps the mob safe, Bruce's desire to spread fear amongst the criminals and, of course, the Scarecrow and his fear gas. As the fear-of-bats thing is pivotal to the make-up of Bruce Wayne and instrumental in the devising of Batman, it was inspired genius bringing in the Scarecrow as one of the villains. Far superior to all the previous Batman movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BattMJul 27, 2008
When I first heard teh was ANOTHER Batman movie coming out, I groaned. "Why beat a dead horse." After all didn't Clooney & company kill the caped crusader dead enough for ya. Boy was I wrong. This movie is a fresh take on an old story. When I first heard teh was ANOTHER Batman movie coming out, I groaned. "Why beat a dead horse." After all didn't Clooney & company kill the caped crusader dead enough for ya. Boy was I wrong. This movie is a fresh take on an old story. Very well done. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BrendanFJul 3, 2008
A spectacular superhero film. A very dark, but thought-provoking take on Batman's origins. Christian Bale is the best Bruce Wayne ever cast in a film, his calmer, quieter demeanor captures Bruce's pain and internal struggles A spectacular superhero film. A very dark, but thought-provoking take on Batman's origins. Christian Bale is the best Bruce Wayne ever cast in a film, his calmer, quieter demeanor captures Bruce's pain and internal struggles wonderfully. Veteran's Michael Caine and Morgan Freeman hold their own as well. Cillian Murphy is one creepy guy and he pulls off John Crane/Scarecrow magnificently. He delivers his dialogue so eerily, including the best line in the film; "He's here... the Batman!" The techs are first rate, particularly the cinematography, which gives us the feeling that people could actually live in Gotham. The actions and fight sequences are smart and well choreographed, if a little choppy. Overall a very well done superhero flick. I can't wait for The Dark Knight. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GabrielB.Jul 7, 2008
I don't really like origin movies but this one blew any i have seen out of the water. The director's take on Batman is one that i will never forget as it really made me feel what batman is.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
WilliamTSep 5, 2008
A dark and action filled superhero film that actually makes a billionaire who dresses up as a bat and fights crime seem totally plausible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EmericCAug 6, 2009
One of the best movies I've ever seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanielT.Jan 28, 2010
A very good movie in almost every aspect, with the only bad thing being Katie Holmes as Rachel. Then again, Dawes was a newly created character just made for the movies. Just second to The Dark Knight.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GarySDec 30, 2007
Not bad but it was kinda boring.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
FernandaB.Jan 27, 2008
One of the greatest movies I have ever seen, worth my time , and also worth my money way back in 2005. I can't wait for the Dark Knight R.I.P HEATH LEDGER! great New Joker.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewS.May 23, 2008
Awesome...
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChuckMay 27, 2008
Fantastic!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CarlosF.Jul 18, 2009
It was a great dark thriller. Actors are amazing. Very well directed. And... THE PLOT ! What a script ! I loved the bats, the batcave, every single bat-thing. It was reinventing Bruce Wayne and the Batman. Very well done. Just Katie Holmes It was a great dark thriller. Actors are amazing. Very well directed. And... THE PLOT ! What a script ! I loved the bats, the batcave, every single bat-thing. It was reinventing Bruce Wayne and the Batman. Very well done. Just Katie Holmes annoyed me a bit. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MingV.Jul 28, 2009
I watched The Dark Knight and believed it was the very best a superhero film could be. That means when I get started with its precedessor I do not hope that it would be as much a masterpiece as TDK. The feeling is totally reversed after I watched The Dark Knight and believed it was the very best a superhero film could be. That means when I get started with its precedessor I do not hope that it would be as much a masterpiece as TDK. The feeling is totally reversed after watching the movie. How on Earth could an action-based movie be both mind-absorbing and intricate at a time like this ? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnkitG.May 28, 2008
Best Superhero Movie ever made. Hats off to Nolan and Christian Bale. 10/10.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
OfficialMar 8, 2014
An excellent start to the trilogy. It has impressive visuals, a strong heart, and it's just great. Christopher Nolan's characters are cool, powerful and really fun to watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
NecromusDec 29, 2012
Finally, a decent reboot of the series after the previous disaster called "Batman & Robin" by Joel Schumacher. This movie goes back to the true dark roots of Batman and focuses on character development of Batman rather than the Villain,Finally, a decent reboot of the series after the previous disaster called "Batman & Robin" by Joel Schumacher. This movie goes back to the true dark roots of Batman and focuses on character development of Batman rather than the Villain, cheesy dialog and loud gimicky music and costumes like the previous franchise. This is a more laid, back dramatic Batman than an action based one. But of course being a superhero movie there are definitely some cool action scenes thrown in. Personally, I even liked this better than the Tim Burton movies which I always thought were overrated. 9/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
btzneb92Aug 12, 2012
[5/9 Batman Marathon]
Batman Begins [2005]
It's pretty surreal to experience that after just watching the cartoony and absurd (not to mention crappy) "Batman & Robin", you watch the polar opposite. Not to mention the fact that it's the best
[5/9 Batman Marathon]
Batman Begins [2005]
It's pretty surreal to experience that after just watching the cartoony and absurd (not to mention crappy) "Batman & Robin", you watch the polar opposite. Not to mention the fact that it's the best Batman movie so far in the marathon. Nolan really gave a brilliant feel and reinvention to the franchise, one that it so desperately needed. Not to mention this was the cause of the new era of superhero movies. It's a brilliant movie. I appreciated this one a LOT more, despite watching it a few times years ago. Probably because I've experienced the **** and letdowns that previous Batman movies (which my childhood memories preciously upholded) had on me now rewatching it as an adult.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
117dilushamcJun 16, 2013
rebooting a franchise wasn't an idea for anyone until batman begins was released.This is the world's first and the finest most perfect reboot.Although this was the begin of reboots, this got everything right.After then every studio wantedrebooting a franchise wasn't an idea for anyone until batman begins was released.This is the world's first and the finest most perfect reboot.Although this was the begin of reboots, this got everything right.After then every studio wanted their dead franchise to be rebooted.Star trek was the only other successful movie which was perfect, but others got it wrong.This is a trendsetter the reboot of all reboots, Nolan succeeded the toughest challenge ever faced by a director! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
mysterioussirApr 12, 2013
This is an incredible movie. Most superhero movies are enjoyable, but simply fun action sequences when boiled down. Batman Begins is a great movie in all aspects, not just action. Honestly, the only reason I give it a 9 instead of a 10 isThis is an incredible movie. Most superhero movies are enjoyable, but simply fun action sequences when boiled down. Batman Begins is a great movie in all aspects, not just action. Honestly, the only reason I give it a 9 instead of a 10 is because the sequels are somehow even better Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Viv3ifyFeb 3, 2015
Christopher Nolan created, what i think is, the best interpretation of a modern Batman. This movie started the trilogy and it did it with a blast. I was from the start glued to the screen. This is one of my favorite movie trilogy's of allChristopher Nolan created, what i think is, the best interpretation of a modern Batman. This movie started the trilogy and it did it with a blast. I was from the start glued to the screen. This is one of my favorite movie trilogy's of all time, and this move started it of perfectly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
waronassermanMay 3, 2015
amazing movie! the cast is all phenomenal! what a blast and an incredible film! i can not have enough words to praise this movie! I recommend it to any viewer!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Epik_NinnjaMay 23, 2015
It's not nearly as golden as The Dark Knight but it's still an interesting origin story. I'd give it a 7.7/10. The action sequences work and the villains do, too. If you've seen TDK, you should go back and watch this movie (like I did). It'sIt's not nearly as golden as The Dark Knight but it's still an interesting origin story. I'd give it a 7.7/10. The action sequences work and the villains do, too. If you've seen TDK, you should go back and watch this movie (like I did). It's a quality super hero movie but it isn't as good as the other two. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BarneyOnMTFeb 28, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: Batman is set up really well here, the character gets a fully fleshed-out and suprisingly smart origin that actually makes you think. For the most past, it's a really grounded film that focuses on the characters, with someWHAT I LIKED: Batman is set up really well here, the character gets a fully fleshed-out and suprisingly smart origin that actually makes you think. For the most past, it's a really grounded film that focuses on the characters, with some great, gritty action and fun moments to make a very enjoyable film
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: The long origin part had me wanting it to hurry up to get to the meat of the story, then once you're there, the actual plot is a touched cliched compared to the really gritty set-up
VERDICT: 'Batman begins' starts off the franchise with excitement and an excellent origin. Roll on the sequel.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
Of all the major comic book characters to transition to a less static visual media, none has been more mistreated than the Bat-Man. As originally envisioned by creator Bob Kane in 1939, Batman was a dark character who walked the tightropeOf all the major comic book characters to transition to a less static visual media, none has been more mistreated than the Bat-Man. As originally envisioned by creator Bob Kane in 1939, Batman was a dark character who walked the tightrope between hero and vigilante. That was his image until the 1960s, when the campy TV series starring Adam West transformed the character into a silly-but-likable good guy in gray spandex. Tim Burton re-invented Batman for a surreal (and, at the time, highly anticipated) 1989 feature, but the movie ended up focusing more on The Joker, leaving the titular hero to lick his wounds as a supporting character. By the time that Batman series reached its third movie, it had fallen back to the campy level of its TV predecessor. Now, there's nothing wrong with camp, per se, but, by the 1997 arrival of Batman and Robin, fans had had enough. Batman looked dead, at least until now.

With Batman Begins, director Christopher Nolan has gone back to basics, jettisoning both the silliness of the TV incarnation and the gothic and fetishist elements of the '90s version. This is a hard-core, down-and-gritty origin story - the tale of, as one might reasonably expect, how Batman begins. It isn't intended as a "prequel" to the 1989 film - not only is Gotham City a completely different place, but key events of the Batman chronology are re-spun. Batman Begins is designed as the start of a new life, a reboot for the franchise. In the process, Nolan has not only crafted the best Batman movie, but arguably the second-best motion picture superhero narrative (topped only by the linked duo of Superman and Superman II). For those who thought Spider-Man and X-Men had a lot to offer, wait till you see where this film goes.

Batman Begins takes us to the dark corners in the life of billionaire Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale), who is rescued from an anonymous Asian prison by the mysterious Henri Ducard (Liam Neeson). Bruce, who has been haunted by the memory of seeing his parents gunned down in front of him, has been wandering the world, picking fights with small-time thugs until Ducard finds him and offers him an alternative to his nomadic existence. Ducard wants to train Bruce so he can become a member of the League of Shadows, the organization presided over by Ra's Al Ghul (Ken Watanabe). The League of Shadows is dedicated to restoring "balance" to a world in which "criminals thrive on the indulgence of society's understanding."

To tell this first story of Batman, Nolan and co-screenwriter David Goyer weave established elements of the Caped Crusader's history into a coherent tapestry that includes material of their own devising. We see what prompts Batman to choose his image, how the Batcave is developed, where the suit and utility belt come from, and what the secret of the Batmobile is. Rather than de-mythologizing Batman, this provides us with better understanding of who he is and what motivates him - aspects whose absence were glaringly evident when Tim Burton brought his vision of the superhero to the screen 16 years ago.

Of the five well-known actors to don the cape and cowl (Adam West, Michael Keaton, Val Kilmer, George Clooney, Christian Bale), there's little doubt that Bale is the most talented and the most effective. We believe him as both Bruce Wayne and Batman and, while in the latter role, he seems more than just a face behind the mask. In order to play this part, Bale had to gain about 85 pounds (re-acquiring the 65 pounds lost from his work in The Machinist and putting on an additional 20 pounds of muscle). Keaton, Kilmer, and Clooney allowed the costume to dominate their performances. Here, it's the other way around. Bale comes close to being the definitive Batman.

He is surrounded by an exceptional supporting cast, with Oscar-winners Michael Caine and Morgan Freeman leading the way. Also on hand are Gary Oldman, playing against type as a good guy; Tom Wilkinson, chewing a little on the scenery; Ken Watanabe, who barely speaks a word; and a chilling Cillian Murphy. Katie Holmes has the thankless role of the "love interest" - one of the few elements of Batman Begins that doesn't work. Holmes and Bale never "click" (at least not in the way that Christopher Reeve and Margo Kidder did in Superman, or Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst in Spider-Man), and her character feels superfluous - just a damsel in distress.

Batman Begins is a strong re-start to a franchise that deserves better than it has often been accorded. The ending provides a direct lead-in to another Batman movie, and Nolan is on the record as saying he envisions making a trilogy. The next installment is probably three years off, but, in the meantime, we have Bryan Singer's re-invention of Warner Brother's other DC goliath, Superman Returns. If Singer can do for Superman what Nolan has done for Batman, then the summer of 2006 will have at least one film to anticipate.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
daviddelnorte23Jul 14, 2017
Pues en vísperas del estreno de la nueva película de Nolan 'Dunkerke' he aprovechado para ver alguna de sus películas que más me llaman la atención. 'Batman Begins', además tenía el atractivo de que no la había visto nunca antes. Y la verdad,Pues en vísperas del estreno de la nueva película de Nolan 'Dunkerke' he aprovechado para ver alguna de sus películas que más me llaman la atención. 'Batman Begins', además tenía el atractivo de que no la había visto nunca antes. Y la verdad, ya no me acordaba lo bien que dirigía este señor que está a la altura de los grandes. La película tiene un ritmo trepidante, te mete de lleno en la película a los 5 minutos y esa banda sonora que siempre hay de fondo para acompañar la narrativa, crear atmósfera y tensión. Por su supuesto capta la esencia de lo que es el personaje de Batman, con C. Bale al frente haciendo de para mí el mejor hombre murciélago que se ha hecho nunca. Pero es que no queda la cosa en Bale, si no, que se complementa con uno de los mejores repartos que he visto en una película de este género, como: Michael Caine, C. Murphy, Gary Oldman, Mark Bonner Jr. (Bobby en Sons of Anarchy)... etc. Por supuesto, todo ellos están de 10 y construyen perfectamente sus personajes. En cuanto a la trama, es una fórmula de acción, aventuras... Pero siempre con un tono bastante más adulto que las producciones corrientes de superhéroes de la Marvel y compañía.

En definitiva, esta película es Nolan. Una película de superhéroes, adulta y con ese toque de autor. A mí me ha encantado y voy a volver a revisar la secuela en breve porque Nolan lo merece. Los fans de Batman, esta película, crema. Un 8.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ChrisM.Sep 11, 2005
One of the best comic book hero flicks ever made, and certainly the best Batman film to date. Chris Nolan did what noone from the previous films bothered to, and that is to put the focus of the story on Batman. They absolutely NAILED the One of the best comic book hero flicks ever made, and certainly the best Batman film to date. Chris Nolan did what noone from the previous films bothered to, and that is to put the focus of the story on Batman. They absolutely NAILED the character in this release. This was a brilliant combination of psychological drama (ala Memento) combined with popcorn cinema; the visceral with the visual (recall two seperate instances of Bruce dropping into the batcave, and his elders asking him, "why do we fall?"). It goes without saying that casting for this movie was absolutely brilliant - Christian Bale is perfect in his dual role. One element that doesn't get nearly enough attention is the musical score: it adds perfect tone to Batman Begins, tangible weight to dramatic moments... far more effective than Elfman's atypical schtick. All things said, I'm counting the days 'til it's released on DVD, and looking forward to seeing the next flim! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattR.Sep 4, 2005
Batman Begins is the beginning. It is the origin. And it is astonishing. Not just a good superhero movie, but a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful