Bleecker Street Media | Release Date: April 11, 2018
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 56 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
31
Mixed:
19
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
jeremypApr 18, 2018
Solid, fast paced, intelligent thriller set in....Beirut. Hamm as a washed up Diplomat soused and wasting away his life gets a reprieve to go back to Beirut and right the ship. Being Lebanon the issues are multi complex and it helps to knowSolid, fast paced, intelligent thriller set in....Beirut. Hamm as a washed up Diplomat soused and wasting away his life gets a reprieve to go back to Beirut and right the ship. Being Lebanon the issues are multi complex and it helps to know the territory. Pike is as good as always and with that pairing a display of pulchritude for both sexes. It'S an equal opportunity array of digs at all political sides and no-one should walk away feeling too maligned. It took me an hour to recognize Dean Norris, courtesy of a wig, which was good since his character was imprinted before I was able to have a "Breaking Bad" deja vu moment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
NikolayGAug 24, 2018
A really good movie, 8.5 actually, one of the best I've seen this year, with an actual plot that requires more than one brain cell to follow. Refreshing. And Jon Hamm does a great job. This is a grossly underrated thriller.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKApr 18, 2018
A generally good film with an interesting beginning and end, but with a dull, repetitive middle. Jon Hamm and Rosamund Pike were excellent as was the rest of the cast. My guess is that the problem was with the direction. The state of LebanonA generally good film with an interesting beginning and end, but with a dull, repetitive middle. Jon Hamm and Rosamund Pike were excellent as was the rest of the cast. My guess is that the problem was with the direction. The state of Lebanon is very sad but showing long shots of the ruins over and over again made the film seem dull, regardless of the good acting. I think the director could have varied the shots more, since too often he seemed to be showing the same colorless ruins over and over again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
keemtSep 1, 2018
Just a solid ass movie.

Jon Hamm doing that thing again where he makes a great movie and it's too good for everyone to go see.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MixedMessageApr 28, 2018
Underrated movie, driven forward by a twisting but reasonably grounded plot, taken to the next level by consistently strong performances all around. A movie for grownups - the previews included a comic book movie and a Harry Potter movie, ifUnderrated movie, driven forward by a twisting but reasonably grounded plot, taken to the next level by consistently strong performances all around. A movie for grownups - the previews included a comic book movie and a Harry Potter movie, if that is your usual speed you will probably complain this film is slow and boring. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ledaumasApr 12, 2018
Jon Hamm was excellent in showing a compassionate man with weaknesses, yet maintaining his morals. Rosamund Pike is always reliable in making her characters interesting. The story was thought provoking on how a beautiful city like Beirut wasJon Hamm was excellent in showing a compassionate man with weaknesses, yet maintaining his morals. Rosamund Pike is always reliable in making her characters interesting. The story was thought provoking on how a beautiful city like Beirut was destroyed. That there might not be an answer until there are drastic changes made by the people who live there. What a waste of people’s lives that they can’t resolve the tragedies still occurring today. I didn’t find this story boring at all and wished we had an answer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
kramerboyJun 10, 2018
Very decent suspense thriller, good story and good acting. Well worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
everettApr 25, 2018
The writing here is extraordinary, with never a lag and brilliant twists I didn't see coming, as well as the avoidance of what we've come to expect in movies where they "bring in the skirt." And the script is perfectly served by first-rateThe writing here is extraordinary, with never a lag and brilliant twists I didn't see coming, as well as the avoidance of what we've come to expect in movies where they "bring in the skirt." And the script is perfectly served by first-rate acting by Jon Hamm; I can't imagine anyone else in this role. He brings a depth of layers to this character, with a sense of himself that's almost startling. This movie deserves far more attention than it seems to be getting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantApr 21, 2018
A capably made though not overly engaging geopolitical thriller about the complexities of life in Lebanon in the 70s and 80s. While the film does its best to explain the intricacies of Lebanese politics and US relations with the MiddleA capably made though not overly engaging geopolitical thriller about the complexities of life in Lebanon in the 70s and 80s. While the film does its best to explain the intricacies of Lebanese politics and US relations with the Middle Eastern nation, the film unfortunately tends to get a little bogged down in its own attempts to sort them out for the viewer while telling an intelligible story. The writing is reasonably solid, if a bit glib at times, and the performances are strong, though not especially memorable. Wait for the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
yosemiteApr 15, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked it. Time considerations prevented any introduction to the country's history so the viewers had to dive in. Hamm was a great choice for this role and overall, good cast. Scenery showed a city that had been ravaged by a civil war. You could get a sense of the danger driving or walking around. It had a good plot and the pace of the film was good. Sort of an Argo type of movie. It was darkly shot and sometimes difficult to decipher good and bad guys. Maybe that was the point. Hard to determine which was which. Historically Israel did invade a year after this story took place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BerikAug 10, 2019
So here's the plot. A united states diplomat had a perfect life in Beirut, which is a pool of death. He has adopted a kid that turns out to be the brother of a highly sought after terrorist. The brother takes the kid, and in the process theSo here's the plot. A united states diplomat had a perfect life in Beirut, which is a pool of death. He has adopted a kid that turns out to be the brother of a highly sought after terrorist. The brother takes the kid, and in the process the diplomat's wife gets shot and killed. Dandy right?

The diplomat then moves back to the US, being traumatized i guess, and starts a career in drinking and being a negotiator. Then, 10 years later, the kid has become a terrorist too, and kidnaps a United States spy to trade for his super terrorist brother. And then the cat and mouse game begins.

Though i initially thought the movie was going in a very cheesy direction, i was actually quite entertained. The location, background and situation is sufficienctly layed out, and the characters act human. Though the main character is not relatable, he does carry his weight and makes stuff happen. Without going in further detail, it's an okay movie. I feel like they could have taken it further with the ties to current events in Israel and Libanon at the time, but this will do.
I give it a 7/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews