Romar Entertainment | Release Date: January 6, 2006
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 462 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
345
Mixed:
4
Negative:
113
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ChipGDec 10, 2008
All of the low ratings are very suspicious. I am flabbergasted and appalled that viewers standards and comprehension of brilliance have fallen to such low thresholds. This film puts even the classics like Maltese Falcon and Mr Smith Goes to All of the low ratings are very suspicious. I am flabbergasted and appalled that viewers standards and comprehension of brilliance have fallen to such low thresholds. This film puts even the classics like Maltese Falcon and Mr Smith Goes to Washington to shame. The cinematography, direction, acting, effects and philosophical meaning best every performance ever, from Humphrey Bogart to Christian Bale. After you see this movie, kill yourself, because you've already achieved the pinnacle of your life. From here on out, all that remains is a slippery precipice of failure. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful
9
HarryA.Apr 5, 2006
Well what can I say about this film. The effects were excellent and the gory fights were very fun to watch as well. Also alot of the acting was very good as well. On top of this was a good plot which makes this an A+ grade film!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SeamusS.May 30, 2006
Quite possibly the greatest cinematic achivement ever. If God were given instructions on how to screenwrite and film, even he wouldnt be able to live up to the standards set by the master that is Uwe Boll. This is something we dream of. The Quite possibly the greatest cinematic achivement ever. If God were given instructions on how to screenwrite and film, even he wouldnt be able to live up to the standards set by the master that is Uwe Boll. This is something we dream of. The kind of film that comes by once in a lifetime. The kind of movie that moves you, makes you want to live. Something of art. Make your children see this film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WardN.Jun 10, 2006
The first great vampire masterpiece. With stunning performances by an allstar cast. The blood rains in Blood Rayne, but that's not the only thing. The fun is raining too. an unparalleled visually kaleidoscopic experience.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamL.Mar 12, 2007
One of the best film I have ever seen, excellent chromotography and acting. Although the plot was a bit thin it was made up by the gory action. A+
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
LynnieK.May 31, 2007
If you like fantasy-horror movies, this is a great one! I don't understand the bad reviews at all! It's very engaging and holds your attention - yeah, some of the editing and dialogue are choppy - but for an intriguing story with If you like fantasy-horror movies, this is a great one! I don't understand the bad reviews at all! It's very engaging and holds your attention - yeah, some of the editing and dialogue are choppy - but for an intriguing story with atmosphere, it's good. You'll enjoy it!! Doesn't deserve all the panning it got - they just don't understand the genre. (I will admit I laughed out loud at Meat Loaf's scene (bad casting/bad acting) but that can be overlooked. Will probably have a large fan base as time goes on! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LaurieC.Jan 11, 2006
Excellent film, very good plot and action! Everybody who says this film is crap is wrong
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RoyR.Jan 26, 2006
What a film. Sat riveted from start to wonderful finish. The directors vision, masterfully brought to life by a cast of wonderful actors. Ben Kingsley's best role ever. Better than Ghandi and Sexy Beast and Turtle Diaries and Species. What a film. Sat riveted from start to wonderful finish. The directors vision, masterfully brought to life by a cast of wonderful actors. Ben Kingsley's best role ever. Better than Ghandi and Sexy Beast and Turtle Diaries and Species. He may be little and bald, but he is also frank and bald and if you're frank and bald (even if you are also little) than you are probably a brilliant actor. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
juliankennedy23Jul 6, 2014
BloodRayne: 7 out of 10: Uwe Boll is not the next Ed Wood, Not even close. (To every person who blithely claims this is the worst film ever I recommend Raptor Island on the Sci-fi network as a primer on how bad genre films can actual be orBloodRayne: 7 out of 10: Uwe Boll is not the next Ed Wood, Not even close. (To every person who blithely claims this is the worst film ever I recommend Raptor Island on the Sci-fi network as a primer on how bad genre films can actual be or perhaps a made for PAX disaster film such as the obviously titled Killer Flood: The Day the Dam Broke.) Yes Uwe's House of the Dead was a particularity stupid film. I hated it too. But Uwe knows how to point his camera in the general direction of the action and keep the action at a pace that holds ones interest.

BloodRayne is a surprisingly enjoyable genre romp. Yes all the individual criticisms at the film from the bizarre choices in hair pieces and costumes to the silly dialogue are true. But c'mon it's a video game/vampire movie. Really how high are ones expectations going in? For a video game movie it isn't half bad. (Its tons better than say Doom, not as tightly put together as say Resident Evil) Uwe brings a refreshing European sensibility to sex and violence in the movie (In other words plenty of gratuitous nudity and violence). He also makes good use of the Romanian landscape bringing an almost Peter Jackson feel to the proceedings.

Also in campy side of things it's always fun watching Hollywood professionals ruin careers for the sake of a paycheck. (The way Madsen looks and acts in this movie I wouldn't hire him to do my lawn and Kingsley acts as if he is auditioning for the Mr. Burns role in an upcoming live action Simpson's movie) So Uwe Boll isn't the next Ed Wood more a talentless Paul Verhoeven. Hey at least his films are getting better and BloodRayne is a surprising fun film for those with a less discriminating taste.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MostFairCriticOct 11, 2015
The first movie was actually quite likable. It had a hot-red haired actress as the main character and the role fit her quite well. It's the closest to the game's story and for a low-budget it performed greatly at the time. I'm comparing itThe first movie was actually quite likable. It had a hot-red haired actress as the main character and the role fit her quite well. It's the closest to the game's story and for a low-budget it performed greatly at the time. I'm comparing it with current gen films like "Nocturna". Ugggh, I don't want to remember I saw that. Compared to the latter, this movie is 100 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews