Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: November 17, 2006
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 107 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
67
Mixed:
12
Negative:
28
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
CS.Dec 4, 2007
Decent film - some stories are less engaging than others - but all in all I enjoyed it. Great acting for the most part. And ignore the person below..the tripping scene was pretty realistic - always hard to portray the acid experience but not Decent film - some stories are less engaging than others - but all in all I enjoyed it. Great acting for the most part. And ignore the person below..the tripping scene was pretty realistic - always hard to portray the acid experience but not a bad attempt at all - and a very funny scene Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JustinW.Apr 16, 2007
a movie about the nations biggest elections, and some how hollywood managed to get the best and the most over rated actors and actresses to make a joke out of it. this movie was a sell out and I could not watch more than ten minutes of it. a movie about the nations biggest elections, and some how hollywood managed to get the best and the most over rated actors and actresses to make a joke out of it. this movie was a sell out and I could not watch more than ten minutes of it. Great topic/subject for a movie but why for the love of anything that is holly hire the casting director to get the most ridiculous names to act in this movie. What a waste of time and/or money. This could have been a great movie but was wrecked by the casting. Boring not even stoned off my as$ could I watch this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertK.Jun 14, 2007
Outstanding. Powerful. Intelligent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
dayleNov 20, 2006
Powerful movie, excellent acting, effective message for today, well directed. I loved the use of music and newsreels of the period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jackj.Nov 20, 2006
Great Story, great movie and amazing Sharon Stone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BlancoA.Dec 2, 2006
Sadly, I just found the film boring. I was yawning, shifing in my placing, and just feeling like I might walk out half way through. Which is unfortunate given some GREAT acting performances by, among others, Sharon Stone. Much more could Sadly, I just found the film boring. I was yawning, shifing in my placing, and just feeling like I might walk out half way through. Which is unfortunate given some GREAT acting performances by, among others, Sharon Stone. Much more could have been done with the source material. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DWillyDec 7, 2006
Ug, what a clunker. The few bits of actual footage made me yearn desparately for a documentary on Bobby Kennedy rather than this hodgepodge of misfiring scenes. The actors are either poorly skilled newcommers or stars who've seemingly Ug, what a clunker. The few bits of actual footage made me yearn desparately for a documentary on Bobby Kennedy rather than this hodgepodge of misfiring scenes. The actors are either poorly skilled newcommers or stars who've seemingly just dropped by, hoping their innate charm will substitute for an actual performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnT.Jan 4, 2007
While Bobby was a bit slow at times, it kept building and building to a magnificent crescendo. The last half of the film and the final 20 minutes in particular were stunning. That Estevez could achieve greatness with a story where we already While Bobby was a bit slow at times, it kept building and building to a magnificent crescendo. The last half of the film and the final 20 minutes in particular were stunning. That Estevez could achieve greatness with a story where we already knew the ending is a credit to him. Demi Moore, Sharon Stone and Freddie Rodriguez gave incredible performances. I don't know how this film got so overlooked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Jan 8, 2007
If I were Catholic, I'd probably have to go to confession for feeling this way, but given that this film deals with one of the most pivotal national tragedies of the 20th century, it's amazing how much fun it is to watch! If I were Catholic, I'd probably have to go to confession for feeling this way, but given that this film deals with one of the most pivotal national tragedies of the 20th century, it's amazing how much fun it is to watch! Let's get the bad news out of the way first: writer-director-costar Emilio Estevez (whose metamorphosis from his previous directorial efforts Wisdom and Men at Work to this is comparable to the contents of my cat's litter box transforming themselves into the Hope Diamond) in his earnestness in depicting the climate and times surrounding Presidential hopeful Bobby Kennedy's assassination at the Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles on June 6, 1968, tries too hard to draw too many parallels between then and now; discussions of unpopular wars, racial unrest and immigration issues are certainly as pertinent now as then, but the movie's infamous "hanging chad" speech redefines heavyhandedness. No matter: Estevez's Grand Hotel-like personal dramas dealing with various individuals working at or visiting the Ambassador on the fateful day are extremely watchable and enjoyably acted by his energetic and committed all-star cast. There are many moments, such as philosopher/chef Laurence Fishburne's rousing dissertations on homemade pie recipes and King Arthur, or a heartbreaking and still timely conversation between Demi Moore and Sharon Stone on how women become second-class citizens once they reach a certain age (and sadly, those two should know) when Bobby ascends from being a terrific guilty pleasure to a just plain terrific movie, period. Snide comments about Estevez making an Irwin Allen movie with the assassination filling in as the disaster don't fly because the death doesn't occur until the last 20 minutes and the rest of the film deals with people who, unless they're directly involved in Kennedy's campaign, are naturally much less concerned with it than with their own lives and relationships. Estevez, using relevant quotes from Bobby himself, reminds us of a very simple pair of truths that even historians tend to forget: that an assassin's bullets frequently strike innocent bystanders as well as the intended target, and that their lives are just as precious. And on a far less profound, Entertainment Tonight level, you've got to admire a movie star who's such a good sport that he casts both his former significant other (Moore) and her present lover (Ashton Kutcher, who's absolutely--and intentionally--hilarious as a spaced-out hippie), and such a good son that he gives his dad (Martin Sheen) the most overtly romantic role in his movie. Given that Tom Hanks and Ron Howard recently committed the sadistic crime of subjecting us all to their excruciating yawnfest The Da Vinci Code, Estevez is in a good position, at least temporarily, to snatch their mantle as The Nicest Guy In Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeAverageApr 11, 2007
I'm shocked by the 'professional' film critics' average score. Okay, the 'LSD' story was insipid and the ending was a little too pat, but really... 54?! The cast is spot on (Emilio has a lot of friends) & each I'm shocked by the 'professional' film critics' average score. Okay, the 'LSD' story was insipid and the ending was a little too pat, but really... 54?! The cast is spot on (Emilio has a lot of friends) & each role is memorable. The film leaves a surprising number of themes and character backstories open to the viewer's interpretation (...well, for a Hollywood movie anyway). Bobby has several interesting stories to tell, and tells (most of) them well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
I would call it a good movie, bitter real life drama. Many famous faces, including sir Anthony Hopkins, Demi Moore, Sharon Stone, and pop diva Lindsay Lohan. The film gives a quick one-day snapshot of the lives and moods of many people of I would call it a good movie, bitter real life drama. Many famous faces, including sir Anthony Hopkins, Demi Moore, Sharon Stone, and pop diva Lindsay Lohan. The film gives a quick one-day snapshot of the lives and moods of many people of different social hierarchies that tragically culminates in assassination of Robert Kennedy (the "other" Kennedy). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HollyJMay 4, 2007
Ok so Bobby pretty much had the best cast I have ever seen. The acting was superb. I watched it over three times and I would have paid to see it at night in the theater at least once more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TwylaS.Jul 5, 2007
I am 55 and I still believe in the dream that we can all live together in peace. Emilio Estevez communicated this very well in this picture. "Bobby" speaks well for Bobby Kennedy and pushes home the message of then to the now and does it I am 55 and I still believe in the dream that we can all live together in peace. Emilio Estevez communicated this very well in this picture. "Bobby" speaks well for Bobby Kennedy and pushes home the message of then to the now and does it with compassion. An excellent movie with and excellent case and message! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CM.Aug 13, 2007
don't let the jaded, cynical critics put you off. This movie gives you a perfect slice of life on the day RFK was killed. It transports you back to that time,if a bit sentimentally, and indeed, as Martin Sheen's character says in don't let the jaded, cynical critics put you off. This movie gives you a perfect slice of life on the day RFK was killed. It transports you back to that time,if a bit sentimentally, and indeed, as Martin Sheen's character says in the film, shows the day America lost it's heart. The performances are all marvelous as well as the sountrack and the stories of a moment in time in all these people's lives is most compelling. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveHNov 25, 2006
I have no idea what Emilo Estevez was doing with this film. First of all it's a rip off of a much better film, Nashville. I got to believe everybody too drunk at a Hollywood party and decided to make a great movie. Lindsay Lohan played I have no idea what Emilo Estevez was doing with this film. First of all it's a rip off of a much better film, Nashville. I got to believe everybody too drunk at a Hollywood party and decided to make a great movie. Lindsay Lohan played her Disney part to perfection. Martin Sheen and Helen Hunt were totally miscast a married couple. What was the Czechoslovakian reporter doing in the movie? Is it mandatory for every 60's movie to have a hippie in a headband doing drugs. I actually thought the movie would have been better if Ashton Kutcher and Demi Moore had switch roles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LindseyNov 25, 2006
This movie was awful, the biggest waste of two hours. What could have been a wonderful movie was ruined with subplots that seemed so unrelated to the actual story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradB.Nov 27, 2006
One of the best political/historical slices of 1968 you will ever see. Excellent screenplay and casting by all participants. Less about Bobby Kennedy and more about the cultural and societal issues of the day which align with similar One of the best political/historical slices of 1968 you will ever see. Excellent screenplay and casting by all participants. Less about Bobby Kennedy and more about the cultural and societal issues of the day which align with similar problems 38 years later. Emilio Estevez has an amazing insight into character writing. This movie may easily win Best Picture of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NellKNov 30, 2006
There used to be an old vaudeville line, "Vas you dere, Chollie?" If you were there, if you were alive in 1968, you will recognize a day in your life that just happened to be the day we lost the future, the day we lost Bobby. Those who think There used to be an old vaudeville line, "Vas you dere, Chollie?" If you were there, if you were alive in 1968, you will recognize a day in your life that just happened to be the day we lost the future, the day we lost Bobby. Those who think this movie is like "Nashville" don't recognize a literary construct when they see one ("Hotel," "The Bridge at San Luis Rey"). This movie is closer to "Shampoo," which precisely caught the mood of 1969. If you weren't there, Charlie, see "Bobby" to know what it was like. If you were there, see this movie to relive your youth, and the hope you once had. One can't understand what we lost in RFK unless one understands who we were then, as opposed to who we are now. This is NOT a bio of RFK-- for that, you would have to show the change that came over him after JFK was killed, which would be a two-hour documentary (something I believe PBS has already done). This is a bio of US; see it for what it is, not what you think it should be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
chrisDec 8, 2006
I really wanted to like this film. I don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
McnutsM.Jan 24, 2007
A good movie. Great cast. Well put together. Even more impressive, Estevez did the bloody thing? Anyone remember Mighty Ducks? Anyway, worth a watch or a rent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GavinM.Mar 7, 2007
Excellent and hugely ambitious. It risks a lot and it achieves many moments of greatness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidT.Apr 11, 2007
Hmmm...I'm going to have to slightly disagree with most other critics of this Film. I thoroughly enjoyed it in fact. The multi-track storyline was a little jumbled but overall pretty entertaining. And I really can't believe the Hmmm...I'm going to have to slightly disagree with most other critics of this Film. I thoroughly enjoyed it in fact. The multi-track storyline was a little jumbled but overall pretty entertaining. And I really can't believe the All-Star cast they were able to line up for this one...not that they All gave All-Star performances but it was pretty well acted. Good Job Emilio...I think you're headed in the right direction with this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlyMay 19, 2007
Incredible, touchy, and moving. Emilio did amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkK.Aug 26, 2007
Viewers beware -- this is a STINKER! The trite technique of having disconnected storylines weave together fails as does the big-name list of actors. Ugh. The only good part of the movie is its end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DennisP.Sep 13, 2007
The only worthwhile part of "Bobby" was RFK's anti-violence speech at the end. Unfortunately, the previous 2 hours involve pointless scenes of people buying shoes, getting haircuts and taking about baseball. You also get the most The only worthwhile part of "Bobby" was RFK's anti-violence speech at the end. Unfortunately, the previous 2 hours involve pointless scenes of people buying shoes, getting haircuts and taking about baseball. You also get the most ridiculous LSD trip in movie history. The story of Bobby Kennedy deserves a much better film than this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FilipaM.Nov 16, 2006
Amazing movie with an amazing performace by Sharon Stone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveS.Nov 25, 2006
Obviously this film is well intentioned but it is so inept in nearly every level. The dialogue is guffaw inducing, every pop culture reference from the period is used as some kind of emotional shortcut and oh my god the actors are terrible - Obviously this film is well intentioned but it is so inept in nearly every level. The dialogue is guffaw inducing, every pop culture reference from the period is used as some kind of emotional shortcut and oh my god the actors are terrible - I mean, you know Ashton Kutcher and Demi are gonna be awful since neither can act, but what happened to Anthony Hopkins and William Macy?? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeH.Nov 25, 2006
I have always believed electing RFK would have changed this country for the better and this movie will communicate to a new generation that history repeats itself without strong and compassionate leaders to steer us out of harm's way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BingNov 26, 2006
It was very good but needed more about Bobby his politics and quest for peace and justice. Perhaps the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GeorgeR.Nov 27, 2006
Heaven help us. The telling of our most precious stories has landed in the hands of the illiterate and the least imaginative. It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.Nov 27, 2006
Emilio Estevez's passion and committment to paying tribute to Robert Kennedy is evident throughout the movie Bobby. Archival footage is used as if it's real time and you won't see a T.V. that's not showing a campaign Emilio Estevez's passion and committment to paying tribute to Robert Kennedy is evident throughout the movie Bobby. Archival footage is used as if it's real time and you won't see a T.V. that's not showing a campaign speech in the background to any of the 20 or so characters in the Ambassador Hotel the day Kennedy was shot, but those characters are the main distraction to the focal point of the movie. In Altman's Nashville, 20 or so characters are interwoven into a polital story that ends in an assassination, but they were all connected in some way to country music. In Bobby, the characters are so detached from anything to do with Kennedy that it makes the whole movie unemotional and detached as well. There are some big name stars that seem completely wasted (Anthony Hopkins and Harry Belafonte in particular) and some that seemed like were added on just for timely relevance (Ashton Kutcher and Elijah Wood). Demi Moore, however, is perfect as an alcoholic lounge singer and Sharon Stone once again re-invents herself by giving the one Oscar worthy performance in the movie. Bobby turns out to be a good movie with lofty ambitions that never really focuses on Bobby until the final scene but by then it's just too late. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillC.Nov 28, 2006
People who hate this movie went to see it expecting I don't know what.It's well done and has a lot of big name actors.It's just a fictionalized story of the day Bobby Kennedy was shot and you know that going in. Relax, enjoy People who hate this movie went to see it expecting I don't know what.It's well done and has a lot of big name actors.It's just a fictionalized story of the day Bobby Kennedy was shot and you know that going in. Relax, enjoy the flashback to 1968.It's well done for what it is.It's no Jurrasic Park or Star Wars...wasn't ment to be Bill C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TonyF.Dec 10, 2006
A gathering of all the "Liberal F--ks" of Hollywood to make a movie that resembles nothing of what happened that historic day. It seems like they all just showed up saying, "please let me be in this movie.... I hate George Bush... I hate A gathering of all the "Liberal F--ks" of Hollywood to make a movie that resembles nothing of what happened that historic day. It seems like they all just showed up saying, "please let me be in this movie.... I hate George Bush... I hate Republicans.... I hate the war.... I have good hair.... ". GET REAL! It would have to improve to be below "poor." I wanted to walk out less than half way through.... sorry I did not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BobADec 20, 2006
Every character arc gets at least two scenes. The first, an exposition filled speech summing up their situation and feelings perfectly and the second, an inspirational platitude happily simplifying down any complexities that managed to Every character arc gets at least two scenes. The first, an exposition filled speech summing up their situation and feelings perfectly and the second, an inspirational platitude happily simplifying down any complexities that managed to accidentally seep in. Bill Macy, Anthony Hopkins and Larry Fishburne prove they can phone in good performances while Ashton Kutcher, Nick Cannon, Heather Graham and Demi Moore remind us why it's best they avoid high drama. Not that Bobby is anywhere near high drama. In the end it's like Altman crossed with an after-school special, with a little too much after-school special and not learly enough Altman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JenniferDec 22, 2006
The movie feels a bit all over the place at first because you go in expecting the movie to be like all other documentary type films but then it all comes together. To me the movie is more about the people who where there that day and was a The movie feels a bit all over the place at first because you go in expecting the movie to be like all other documentary type films but then it all comes together. To me the movie is more about the people who where there that day and was a glimpse into their lives that day and the affect that Bobby had on them. Bobby was a man that people actually belived in. I felt it was a very moving piece and makes you realize how few public servants we have today that are running for the interest of the people and not the power or prestige the position itself may bring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisE.Dec 25, 2006
Lindsay Lohan and Ashton Kutcher deliver the performance of their lives in this best picture nominee!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BCerDec 8, 2006
I don't know why the critics and many viewers are so down on this film. I thought it was great, albeit a bit slow in a couple of places. But excellent acting, well shot, excellent use of archival footage. Do we need car crashes, I don't know why the critics and many viewers are so down on this film. I thought it was great, albeit a bit slow in a couple of places. But excellent acting, well shot, excellent use of archival footage. Do we need car crashes, murders, rapes and bombs exploding in EVERY movie now? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SaulR.Dec 9, 2006
Obviously a labor of love, director and screenwrite Emilio Estevez gets excellent performances from his entire cast, incuding Lindsey Lohan, who almost steals the movie. The actual assasination is handled tastefully, and is quite moving. Obviously a labor of love, director and screenwrite Emilio Estevez gets excellent performances from his entire cast, incuding Lindsey Lohan, who almost steals the movie. The actual assasination is handled tastefully, and is quite moving. Robert Kennedy's anti-semitism is handled in a fair but frank manner. Unfortunately the film goes in too many directions at once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayW.May 22, 2007
It touched me, and that is what any movie is meant to accomplish. It made me cry for a man so unlike our present president and wonder what would have been if people of his ilk had not been murdered. The film, though sometimes lacking in its It touched me, and that is what any movie is meant to accomplish. It made me cry for a man so unlike our present president and wonder what would have been if people of his ilk had not been murdered. The film, though sometimes lacking in its character weaving, nonetheless kept my interest and the final scene broke my heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AaronSNov 23, 2006
A dreadful film. Laughable at times. A complete insult to the memory of the late, great Robert Kennedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ToddS.Nov 25, 2006
We've seen this movie before. It was caled NASHVILLE, and Altman's characters were so much more interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DougR.Nov 26, 2006
If you were between 14 and 29 in 1968 and liked RFK, go see this movie. The cast may be the best of all-time. The critics who don't like it are ploitical right-wingers or too young to remember what turmoil the country was in - in If you were between 14 and 29 in 1968 and liked RFK, go see this movie. The cast may be the best of all-time. The critics who don't like it are ploitical right-wingers or too young to remember what turmoil the country was in - in '68. If you think we lost a great man that day, go see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewL.Nov 28, 2006
It is a simply amazing film. The last scene gives me chills. Seen it three times now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanW.Nov 29, 2006
This movie beautifully portrays the "fabric" of every day people in 1968. I had forgotten how hopeful many of us felt (about the country, etc.) when we realized that Bobby Kennedy might actually make a good president. For me, one of the most This movie beautifully portrays the "fabric" of every day people in 1968. I had forgotten how hopeful many of us felt (about the country, etc.) when we realized that Bobby Kennedy might actually make a good president. For me, one of the most powerful movies since "Easy Rider." PS The professional movie critics have often steered me wrong in recent years: eg "The English Patient" and "The Russian Ark." (Two movies they rhapsodized about that I felt were truly boring.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KarenT.Dec 19, 2006
Too many many characters clogged the plot which could have used more RFK film clips. Very timely. Shows how much we need another Bobby to run in 2008. Hope younger generations see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FitriAmirrolAug 14, 2010
Historically magnificent and effectively poignant, Bobby recounts the assassination of Robert Kennedy. This film is driven solely by its band of complex characters. Most of them are likable and their development throughout the film isHistorically magnificent and effectively poignant, Bobby recounts the assassination of Robert Kennedy. This film is driven solely by its band of complex characters. Most of them are likable and their development throughout the film is entertaining. Naturally, the actors who play them deserve a mention, too. The well-known ensemble, although frightfully overcrowded at first, break into their characters so well and succeeded in making Bobby feel natural. The only drawback I have is the snail-paced plot. That aside, well done, Estevez. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
One of the most underrated films as of late, Emilio Estevez compiles a story told not by Robert Kennedy himself but rather an ensemble of complex and entertaining characters linked to the tragic event in 1968. Bobby is a unique presentationOne of the most underrated films as of late, Emilio Estevez compiles a story told not by Robert Kennedy himself but rather an ensemble of complex and entertaining characters linked to the tragic event in 1968. Bobby is a unique presentation and incredibly poignant. Critics, reconsider! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews