Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 3, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1131 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
816
Mixed:
108
Negative:
207
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
richardrDec 20, 2008
A classic. If you have to ask, you will never know.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
kublay0880Dec 20, 2012
Not funny? insults a foreign country? insults people? are you really going to complain about these things now? The people that say all these things are people that really are not into movies, because that thing of insulting others has beenNot funny? insults a foreign country? insults people? are you really going to complain about these things now? The people that say all these things are people that really are not into movies, because that thing of insulting others has been the killing punch of all comic movies, all comic movies insult other people and other countries. Remember Charlie Chaplin making fun of Hitler? or Team America making fun of China? come on!!! and other dozen movies that come to my mind. Or how about the whole country making fun of their own elected president on national media (George W. Bush) because he was holding a book upside down! I say hypocrites. Leaving my aggravation aside, the movie it's just daring, very brave and smart. It's not perfect but it sure was one of the best comic movies of its time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
jimmyp3May 16, 2015
Great Film, very cringe but overall great. Find the 0's quite amusing, as it appears most bad reviews are from people angry at the world or offended very easily.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
JoeRJan 1, 2009
Raunchy, sick, and somewhat disturbed, Borat is full of laughs.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesF.Nov 6, 2006
The most important aspect in the film is the way in which Cohen completely points out the stupidity and ignorance of some of, if not most of the genuine people throughout the film. He helps reveal that in the present in which we live there The most important aspect in the film is the way in which Cohen completely points out the stupidity and ignorance of some of, if not most of the genuine people throughout the film. He helps reveal that in the present in which we live there is still an alarming ammount of racists who still flaunt their completely brainless views. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Mar 11, 2007
I feel like a horrible person for enjoying this movie, but I can't help it! Borat is the funniest movie I've seen since Anchorman! It is niiiiice!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SquigglesNov 16, 2006
I don't understand why people are rating this movie at zeros. This movie is superb. It is a non stop laugh fest. If people are offended by the anti-jew-ness in the movie, then THEY HAVE NO SENSE OF HUMOR. Baron Cohen is jewish himself I don't understand why people are rating this movie at zeros. This movie is superb. It is a non stop laugh fest. If people are offended by the anti-jew-ness in the movie, then THEY HAVE NO SENSE OF HUMOR. Baron Cohen is jewish himself for crying out loud! There is no other movie like it, and once you see it you feel the need to see it again and again. What really surprises me about this movie it that it shows the true America. My friend was laughing so hard after just 10 or 15 minutes, she spilled her drink all ofer herself. Borat is truly Baron Cohen at his best. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SnowDayJan 23, 2015
Borat is the funniest movie ever made. I will, for the rest of my life, be quoting the hilarity that ensues in this unique and magically ingenious farce.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
spadenxDec 8, 2011
It started off so good and it is funny at parts but it just gets so stupid that you cant look past it. A lot of wasted potential in this film but its still solid.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGAug 18, 2015
A downright dark, disgusting and hilarious comedy from Sacha Baron Cohen. His humour has no boundaries and it is again one of my favourite kinds of humour in the world. The story needed to pick up at a few moments but in the end a veryA downright dark, disgusting and hilarious comedy from Sacha Baron Cohen. His humour has no boundaries and it is again one of my favourite kinds of humour in the world. The story needed to pick up at a few moments but in the end a very enjoyable comedy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ReviewScopeFeb 28, 2016
One of the best movies of all time, Borat: Cultural Learnings of American for make benefit glorious nation of Kazakhstan is a hilarious movie, while making many statements in terms of racism, sexism and more. I am happy that this movie isOne of the best movies of all time, Borat: Cultural Learnings of American for make benefit glorious nation of Kazakhstan is a hilarious movie, while making many statements in terms of racism, sexism and more. I am happy that this movie is such a success and that it further made Sacha Baron Cohen the legend he is today! Great success! Very nice! I wouldn't recommend his film if you get easily offended though... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jackalskOct 16, 2015
Intelligent and open-minded people usually lough. Others feel offended .
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 13, 2016
Dang, that title's so long it can take up most of a review when you're done typing and it still requires you to enter the 150 character limit. With Borat, nothing can make America look incredibly great-looking towards Kazakhstan.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CaillouPettisMay 18, 2016
Borat is a different take on a comedy, and something that's never been done before. It's complete with tons of humor that had me rolling in tears from the film, a rare thing for me. Definitely see Borat if you want to experience a differentBorat is a different take on a comedy, and something that's never been done before. It's complete with tons of humor that had me rolling in tears from the film, a rare thing for me. Definitely see Borat if you want to experience a different take on a comedy! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
destinyfan1Aug 17, 2017
HAHAHAH yeah this movie is offensive , but if you don't get offended you whill die of laugh , its those comedies you will remember for many years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JPKMar 18, 2018
By Far One Of The Funniest Movies I've Ever Seen
Sacha Baron Cohen Nails Every Single Scene In This Film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 10, 2011
Jagshemash! "Borat: Cultural Learnings of...screw this" is a offensive movie, thanks to the skillfully annoying 'clown' Sacha Baron Cohen, that will create massive haters for its extreme mock/satire. But, as a hater of the movie, I knew thatJagshemash! "Borat: Cultural Learnings of...screw this" is a offensive movie, thanks to the skillfully annoying 'clown' Sacha Baron Cohen, that will create massive haters for its extreme mock/satire. But, as a hater of the movie, I knew that the elusive film wasn't lying about their greedy, selfish, unfriendly portrayal of us; they were correct of our foolishness. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
PaxsterOct 6, 2010
It's a little genius of a comic film with a genius comic behind him. Baron Cohen somehow mixes the ridiculous with the believeable to make people think he really is Borat and then makes the American people look stupid and foolish. But isIt's a little genius of a comic film with a genius comic behind him. Baron Cohen somehow mixes the ridiculous with the believeable to make people think he really is Borat and then makes the American people look stupid and foolish. But is there some dark, underlying, non-comic theme here? Maybe America isn't such a great nation as we all like to think. Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Like watching a clown getting into a car crash, "Borat" is hard to watch, yet impossible not to watch. In the end, it proves to be an unbelievably amusing mockumentary.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
RyanH.Jan 3, 2007
Funniest Movie I have ever seen by a nice amount. If you are offended by this movie then you should realize that because of you this world sucks a little more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarthH.Mar 6, 2007
Piercingly satircal and superbly funny at the same time. Unique and a very nice surprise to have something like this become so popular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SirGeezerNov 29, 2006
Jeez you yanks take life too seriously. As you lot say "chill out". For once in my life im proud that im british. Sure we are losing in the ashes series (cricket), our rugby is dismal and our footballing is mediocre ( and we invented the Jeez you yanks take life too seriously. As you lot say "chill out". For once in my life im proud that im british. Sure we are losing in the ashes series (cricket), our rugby is dismal and our footballing is mediocre ( and we invented the sport!). But our sense of humour is head and shoulders above the rest. Sacha was born in north london and so has got this humour inside of him. Thats why americans dont like it. But if you are british and are reading this , i reccommend you shut down your computer right now, call a cab and go watch the funniest movie of your life. Period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnP.Nov 4, 2006
While it is basically a one-time show for people who aren't offended easily who can hold an open mind, it is one of the smartest and most socially-driven movies to come out in a long time, cleverly disguised as just another Hollywood While it is basically a one-time show for people who aren't offended easily who can hold an open mind, it is one of the smartest and most socially-driven movies to come out in a long time, cleverly disguised as just another Hollywood comedy flick. I dislike gross-out comedy, and I tend to dislike comedy that makes you feel very uncomfortable, but I absolutely love smart comedy, which here, trumps all poop humor. In addition, the situations Baron Cohen places himself into are so dangerous and outrageous that you can't help to laugh and wonder if it is scripted comedy. What it says about our social issues is something that can be studied again and again. This is genius at work. However, if you are easily offended, avoid. Actually, go ahead and see it. You just might look at yourself a little differently afterward. I know I have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamB.Nov 5, 2006
This film is the first big budget manifestation of the new form of humor that has been gathering steam since the turn of the millenium, fronted by the Stewart / Colbert ticket and Mr. Cohen himself. And, thankfully, Borat, as he would call This film is the first big budget manifestation of the new form of humor that has been gathering steam since the turn of the millenium, fronted by the Stewart / Colbert ticket and Mr. Cohen himself. And, thankfully, Borat, as he would call it, is a "great success." I, and the entire audience around me, was head-over-heels for almost the entire film. This movie succeeds in both amusing the viewer and making him or her more aware, and that is what this new generation of comedy is all about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeonG.Jan 20, 2007
It's funny that so many people would get so offended at a movie as silly as this. Mr. Cohen knows exactly what he's doing and is extremely prepared to handle anything and it shows in this hilarious comedy. It's deserving of It's funny that so many people would get so offended at a movie as silly as this. Mr. Cohen knows exactly what he's doing and is extremely prepared to handle anything and it shows in this hilarious comedy. It's deserving of all of the heaps of praise that has been thrown at it and I will be thrilled when it's awarded a Best Picture nod in February. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonnyC.Jan 24, 2007
Hysterically funny first and foremost! Also thought-provoking though in a very clever way. A classic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanF.Feb 1, 2007
Sam F needs to get his head checked...The actor playing Borat is British and Jewish...Maybe you should do some research.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulHFeb 20, 2007
Absolutely priceless, without a doubt one of the funniest movies of all time. It's as simple as that. And behind the hilarity is a keen perceptive and highly alert intelligence. One of the most memorable characters ever conceived. Absolutely priceless, without a doubt one of the funniest movies of all time. It's as simple as that. And behind the hilarity is a keen perceptive and highly alert intelligence. One of the most memorable characters ever conceived. People who think this movie is stupid are missing alot--not only what was right before their eyes but also what lay beneath. Cohen's creation has been very well thought out and realised (as Cohen has pointed out it's not that Borat's ideas are anti-semetic/sexist,ect...they are ludicrous...He thinks Jews have claws&can change their shape ! ! ! ). I actually feel sorry for people who gave this a bad rating or who found all this offensive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KhorneC.Feb 6, 2007
This film is groundbreaking, exceedingly hilarious and enlightening in a sense that it reveals a side of common society that we don't see very easily. my only bad was that the content in the film still feels pretty 'safe'. It This film is groundbreaking, exceedingly hilarious and enlightening in a sense that it reveals a side of common society that we don't see very easily. my only bad was that the content in the film still feels pretty 'safe'. It would be mind-'blowing' if it featured some typical 'middle-eastern' people in it. High five. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BR.Mar 10, 2007
One of the first movies that I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Mar 4, 2007
This should have been movie of the year, or best picture as they call it in the academy awards. This was politically insightful, as humorous, and it gives a commentary to the lack of sensitivity that inbred America has towards people of This should have been movie of the year, or best picture as they call it in the academy awards. This was politically insightful, as humorous, and it gives a commentary to the lack of sensitivity that inbred America has towards people of other races. It was a touching film that was funny, witty, and perhaps the best comedy of the year along with Talledega Nights. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickM.Apr 1, 2007
Giving the makers of the movie the benefit of the doubt in the fact that most of the movie was not staged, I think it was very funny. It lost two points for me because there were some parts that just went WAY too far and were down right Giving the makers of the movie the benefit of the doubt in the fact that most of the movie was not staged, I think it was very funny. It lost two points for me because there were some parts that just went WAY too far and were down right disturbing....such as the two guys fighting naked....Icould have done without that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Jim10HApr 3, 2007
Watch it again to see that throughout, everyone is given a chance to show their full humanness here. This work of art satrizes the human race, not so much Americans. It may very well be genius on a par with Swift or Twain or even Dane Cook. Watch it again to see that throughout, everyone is given a chance to show their full humanness here. This work of art satrizes the human race, not so much Americans. It may very well be genius on a par with Swift or Twain or even Dane Cook. Yeah it goes too far - that's why it gets a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamB.Apr 8, 2007
Borat is the kind of film in which you need to be able to tolerate crude, rude, and horrible humor that is done so well that it's brilliant. I have seen Borat on "Da Ali G Show" before the movie came out, and I found it fairly funny. It Borat is the kind of film in which you need to be able to tolerate crude, rude, and horrible humor that is done so well that it's brilliant. I have seen Borat on "Da Ali G Show" before the movie came out, and I found it fairly funny. It took a very interesting idea and made some laughs. But could it have been better? Yes. This movie is the pure and unadulterated example of how. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JuanaN.May 8, 2007
Funny movie and also a learning and informational movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaudeL.Sep 7, 2007
A fantastic piece of storytelling, comedy, and political ingenuity. It's more troubling when we the fans are more conservative then the critics, that we live in an ignorant, superficial society that advertises loudly but blatantly, A fantastic piece of storytelling, comedy, and political ingenuity. It's more troubling when we the fans are more conservative then the critics, that we live in an ignorant, superficial society that advertises loudly but blatantly, ignores their problems of poverty, intolerance, and racism that is deeply rooted in the foundation of America. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeonW.Sep 7, 2007
There are moments in Borat, such as that rodeo, when you wonder how Cohen managed to escape without being physically assaulted. But it's not just Cohen's daring that makes the film so effective: It is also the character's There are moments in Borat, such as that rodeo, when you wonder how Cohen managed to escape without being physically assaulted. But it's not just Cohen's daring that makes the film so effective: It is also the character's awe-inspiring oafishness that gives Borat its juice. Whether he's admiring a Victoria's Secret window display a little too enthusiastically, or engaging in a bout of naked wrestling up and down the halls of a glitzy hotel, Borat is constantly revealing new depths to his aggressive, taboo-smashing cluelessness, which is why the movie never runs out of steam. It takes some exceptionally intelligent and witty people to make a dumb comedy this funny and perceptive: Borat may be offensive (to some), infantile, but high-brow, but you won't hate yourself in the morning for loving it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnW.Nov 10, 2006
This movie is one of sheer comedic assult on america. It is meant to be funny yet it is also supposed to make people think twice when they see a forigner. As the movie goes on you see how Sacha Baron Cohen is treated. Not only how he is This movie is one of sheer comedic assult on america. It is meant to be funny yet it is also supposed to make people think twice when they see a forigner. As the movie goes on you see how Sacha Baron Cohen is treated. Not only how he is treated but in some situations how several americans find his antics to be funny and in certain situations demed okay to play along. Also anyone who finds it inappropriate just wasted their money and didn't understand the idea behind the moive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadM.Nov 20, 2006
Very nice!! This is the funniest most daring, brave, original movie to come out in years. This man has balls the size of planets to pull something like this off. I am not easy to make feel uncomfortable, but this film had me squirming in my Very nice!! This is the funniest most daring, brave, original movie to come out in years. This man has balls the size of planets to pull something like this off. I am not easy to make feel uncomfortable, but this film had me squirming in my seat and laughing throughout. If you are ultra-conservative this is NOT the movie for you....or maybe it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshGNov 28, 2006
I have a pathological sense of my superiority over others and enjoy past times such as lighting three-legged cats on fire, Greg. This movie is just another attack on American sensitivity. Don't get me wrong I'm American but I have a pathological sense of my superiority over others and enjoy past times such as lighting three-legged cats on fire, Greg. This movie is just another attack on American sensitivity. Don't get me wrong I'm American but I'm not the first one to say people need to laugh at themselves. At least I have the guts to admit my faults you cowards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanNov 4, 2006
It's scathing satire, but there have been other scathing satires. It's low brow humor, but there are tons of gross-out comedies. It's a mockumentary that mixes reality and fiction, but other shows and movies have done that. It's scathing satire, but there have been other scathing satires. It's low brow humor, but there are tons of gross-out comedies. It's a mockumentary that mixes reality and fiction, but other shows and movies have done that. It's slapstick, but so are the Three Stooges and Charlie Chaplin. It's surreal humor, but so is Strangelove. It's a road movie, a buddy film. But most of fucking all, it's a mixture of everything i just listed in the mst fabulous way, and this mixture of so many different strands of comedy, done well, will obviously create its own totally unique blend. Because what is any original concept, but merely a great mixture of previous concepts. In short, this is a very unique, original, even groundbreaking movie, and in our generation where most concepts are rehashed, that is praise enough, But somehow, it also manages to be a consistently enjoyable, funny-from-beginning-to-end film. And that alone is also rare enough. It didn't make me laugh quite as hard as some critics said it would, but it had me giggling the whole time, and with the other qualities i just mentioned . . . how can i really give this lower than a 10? It's a landmark. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattTNov 4, 2006
I don't think there was ever more than 30 seconds that I wasn't being entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VikramM.Nov 4, 2006
Honestly one of the funniest films I have seen all year and maybe one of the funniest I have seen ever. Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan is so much more than what people think it is. The Honestly one of the funniest films I have seen all year and maybe one of the funniest I have seen ever. Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan is so much more than what people think it is. The satire in the film goes very deep and interesting. We needed a movie seen through the eyes of a foreigner. It reveals the honest racist bigotry, the way we feel about certain topics, and just the honest cruel truth about people in this country. Yes the movie is not PC, it can be racist, anti-semetic, and full of sex and toilet humor, but if you get past that this movie will have you laughing for the entire 82 minutes. I quote Borat about this movie, "Very nice!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Rev.RikardNov 4, 2006
We speak politically correct, while hiding our real prejudices, biases, and yes, hatreds. If someone from an alien culture visited us they would probably judge us as bizarre. Sacha Baron Cohen took this bizarre culure and slapped us across We speak politically correct, while hiding our real prejudices, biases, and yes, hatreds. If someone from an alien culture visited us they would probably judge us as bizarre. Sacha Baron Cohen took this bizarre culure and slapped us across the face in open challenge. Deal with hypocricy or else!" I was forced into laughter, but it hurt, deeply. Others have held a mirror to this culture's face, but never at this angle. It captured our most unattractive side. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottMeekerNov 4, 2006
Stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasM.Nov 5, 2006
Funniest movie of the year, or even last 2-3 years, hands down. I could see why some people wouldn't like it, it really takes some big risks, and shoves some issues in your face you might not be used to dealing with. (maybe some of that Funniest movie of the year, or even last 2-3 years, hands down. I could see why some people wouldn't like it, it really takes some big risks, and shoves some issues in your face you might not be used to dealing with. (maybe some of that man nudity was a little too much, but still hilarious in context). all things said, i'd pay to go see it again, and probably again after that, it was that funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisL.Nov 6, 2006
I loved the Borat's skits and was a bit afraid they would not work in a feature length movie... Well they do. This is humour at its best, when performed on unsuspecting persons, with a good dose of improv. Sasha Baron Cohen is a highly I loved the Borat's skits and was a bit afraid they would not work in a feature length movie... Well they do. This is humour at its best, when performed on unsuspecting persons, with a good dose of improv. Sasha Baron Cohen is a highly intelligent actor, never shying away from crazy situations. And in the end the movie itself is so clever, you understand Kazakhstan is not such a backward country, and the US and A is not filled with bigots and braindeads. You understand those were hyperboles and you were looking at yourself all along... and you feel good about the catharsis the movie provided to you. Thanks you Borat for making benefit to us. High five! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
QumarNov 6, 2006
This is the best COMEDY film EVER!!! This is not to humiliate the WHOLE American people. It's joking about the American racists and sexists. There's nothing to do with Kazahistan Hey John! You want disgusting. Try watching "Jackass This is the best COMEDY film EVER!!! This is not to humiliate the WHOLE American people. It's joking about the American racists and sexists. There's nothing to do with Kazahistan Hey John! You want disgusting. Try watching "Jackass Number 2." Borat is much milder even with the naked wrestling. DUMBO; so your telling us that the critics are teenagers. You are a joke! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisC.Nov 6, 2006
It is social satire. It is smart comedy. It is one of the most brilliant films to come out in a very long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamM.Nov 6, 2006
This movie is fantastic. Sacha Baron Cohen takes the proverbial mirror and forces us to look at our own views. This induces a mix of feelings, some funny, most painful to bear and acknowledge. If you look down a couple of posts, you can tell This movie is fantastic. Sacha Baron Cohen takes the proverbial mirror and forces us to look at our own views. This induces a mix of feelings, some funny, most painful to bear and acknowledge. If you look down a couple of posts, you can tell how effective this movie is at doing so. Amber L calls the USA a "small country." This is almost laughable. Our countries power knows no bounds. Amber, you forgot about the movie after you left the theater? Then why come and post about it after you left the theater? Interesting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayB.Nov 6, 2006
One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Combines the intelligence of Steve Martin, the confrontational manner of Andy Kaufman and the oddness of a Peter Sellers character. Long live Borat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexI.Nov 8, 2006
Brilliant satire of racism, misogyny, anti-semitism and xenophobia to unmask racism, misogyny, anti-semitism and xenophobia. Easily the funniest movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewMDec 3, 2006
I loved this movie from start to finish and consider it one of the funniest I've seen in at least four or five years. The character Borat is so ignorant and impossible relate to that you can't help but love and laugh at him and his I loved this movie from start to finish and consider it one of the funniest I've seen in at least four or five years. The character Borat is so ignorant and impossible relate to that you can't help but love and laugh at him and his antics. Tammie: I'm going to agree with Ben on this one. Not only does Cohen's being a devout Jew make this considerably funnier, it also legitimizes his take on society. I'm not really sure how to break this to you, but Borat was not about promoting antisemitism, bigotry, or racism. On the contrary, the film brings all of these things into a stinging spotlight of critique on culture (especially American culture). Cohen may not have been trying to make a heavy-hitting commentary on society, but don't misinterpret his comedy as simple "sick" humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
newyorkrDec 4, 2006
Anyone that doesn't believe that this movie was absolutly hilarious is a fool, just because of the sheer genious behind the concept of this moie.... if you don't like, I give you the Sheeny Curse... HIGH FIVE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamuelD.Dec 5, 2006
The first comedy since Zoolander to force me to go back to the cinema and watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PierreC.Oct 26, 2006
Absolutely brilliant comedy! NIIIIIICE as Borat would say. Never have I laughed as much as when watching this film. You just cannot stop laughing! :D
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.Oct 29, 2006
This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter throughout the whole movie. Well worth the admission price. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerT.Oct 30, 2006
I have had a month to think about this film, and there is nothing worse than stating the newest is always the best, or what ever popular is great... but this is perhaps the funniest movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexP.Jan 1, 2007
This was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. All of you who are pretending to be disgusted by the film need to unwad your panties. Also, if you are going to leave a comment, please don't use words like "absouloutely". This was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. All of you who are pretending to be disgusted by the film need to unwad your panties. Also, if you are going to leave a comment, please don't use words like "absouloutely". Credibility is hard to give to someone who is an apparent spelling bee champ. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RamonaT.Oct 24, 2007
If you appreciate satire , and have an open mind this is one of the most hilarious movies I've seen in the past five years .It does help to be fluent in Romanian because soon you realize that some of the scenes were produced in Romania If you appreciate satire , and have an open mind this is one of the most hilarious movies I've seen in the past five years .It does help to be fluent in Romanian because soon you realize that some of the scenes were produced in Romania and not in Kazahkstan . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RD.Jan 20, 2007
Be prepared to laugh till you almost vomit. Do not read other people's reviews. Watch it on its own. Only then will you truly understand its value.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickJan 28, 2007
Funny, funny stuff. one of the best movies of the year. i feel bad for people who actually think this movie is anti-semitic. it is very pointed in its satire, but that's all it is. satire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonaldR.sJan 5, 2007
This is ironic satire at its best. I have read all the 0 rating user reviews and I do understand their distaste for this film. I mean, I'd rather not have to see a big ass burying the face of Cohen ever again. But that's a small This is ironic satire at its best. I have read all the 0 rating user reviews and I do understand their distaste for this film. I mean, I'd rather not have to see a big ass burying the face of Cohen ever again. But that's a small aside from the bigger issues. These reviewers distaste belies a simple fact: this film is about them and their pretense of taste, humanity, better-than-thou mentality. Here we have a fake journalist from Kazakhstan showing us his backward, racist, ignorant country and gloating about it only to come to the USofA to learn about how a glorious country can illuminate the less "illuminated" and he forces us to smell our own asses. If it makes anyone question the least of their own prejudice, then it has served a purpose. If it made them laugh in the process, all the better. It is a brilliant film. I pity those that think otherwise. Maybe they should just go to church and pretend to speak in tongues. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyN.Jan 5, 2007
This film is great and so funny. People may see it as rascist but it isn't. It's just exploiting the stupidity in people. People who enjoy a good laugh and an easy movie to watch will love this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GuzmanEiJan 6, 2007
This movie deserves a 10 on every front; the fact that I had never seen the audience in a cinemea laugh their ***es of says enough. Borat is great and so are his jokes, 10 out of 10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StueyL.Feb 10, 2007
Haha Sam F. is just as funny as Borat itself and proof that most of the film is comedic genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MartinS.Mar 25, 2007
The problem with "shock humor" is that often you find your self so dumbfounded, you wind up missing the joke. Many people in the audience were in stunned silence during some of the most hilarious scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJ.Mar 29, 2007
Absolutely the funniest movie I have ever seen. Amazingly creative and funny like nothing I have ever seen before. He makes people look like absolute idiots, and makes so many jokes about his own Jewish religion that no one should take Absolutely the funniest movie I have ever seen. Amazingly creative and funny like nothing I have ever seen before. He makes people look like absolute idiots, and makes so many jokes about his own Jewish religion that no one should take seriously, as they're just just jokes. A great hilarious movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianE.Mar 6, 2007
It will make you laugh laugh laugh till it hurts and then some more, not like you've done in 10 yrs or more, wow funny right to the end. the only time you wont laugh is when it starts to hurt. 10+ see it and laugh your ass off
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KirkM.Mar 9, 2007
People who rated this low need to get a sense of humor and lighten up! Had me laughing throughout most of the movie. A one of a kind film with a good blend of low and high brow humor. See it today if you haven't already.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SebB.Mar 9, 2007
It had some damn funny parts, but it's too plot based, there's quite a bit that lags around in the second half i found. I like the show better because it's strictly about comedy and pointing out western civilization's flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobbieCApr 10, 2007
Absolutely genius! Have never, ever laughed so hard in a movie theater in my life. It is low-brow reality-tv-as-a-movie for sure, but it is so brilliant in exposing our ridiculous nature as a people that anyone without a sense of humor will Absolutely genius! Have never, ever laughed so hard in a movie theater in my life. It is low-brow reality-tv-as-a-movie for sure, but it is so brilliant in exposing our ridiculous nature as a people that anyone without a sense of humor will simply be embarassed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeApr 12, 2007
Borat is, essentially, funny. In fact, it is hilarious. But as you may have guessed from past reviews, previews, etc., it is very offensive, racist, sexist, and homophobic(some would say homoerotic, but I wouldn't because I don't Borat is, essentially, funny. In fact, it is hilarious. But as you may have guessed from past reviews, previews, etc., it is very offensive, racist, sexist, and homophobic(some would say homoerotic, but I wouldn't because I don't consider a big naked fat man very erotic). But if you can handle such things(oh, there's Jew hating too), then you should find the entire film to be hilarious as I did. But there are some things that aren' that funny(which is what brought this down to a 9), but they are small in quantity. And it really makes you think how messed up Americans can be as every person that appears in this movie is not an actor and didn't know they were being filmed(except Sacha Baron Cohen as Borat and Pamela Anderson as herself). Now we must wait for Cohen's next project. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TedY.Apr 13, 2007
"Borat" is silliness at its most trenchant, and if your sense of irony isn't factory installed, you'll probably find it horrifying. Take comfort in the thought that we get the cultural commentators and the comedians we deserve, and "Borat" is silliness at its most trenchant, and if your sense of irony isn't factory installed, you'll probably find it horrifying. Take comfort in the thought that we get the cultural commentators and the comedians we deserve, and that in Borat and Sacha Baron Cohen we have found our curse and our blessing. What makes the film lift off into the ether, though, is Baron Cohen's skills as a master ironist and physical comedian. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KalanC.Apr 29, 2007
Sacha is a performance artist of the highest order. Astounding how he inhabits the reality of the situation and never makes a false step out of character. Borat is a hilarious, refreshing and unique film. The sacking at the end is also Sacha is a performance artist of the highest order. Astounding how he inhabits the reality of the situation and never makes a false step out of character. Borat is a hilarious, refreshing and unique film. The sacking at the end is also incredible, and a hillarious moment of apparent spontaneity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomG.May 6, 2007
Quite possibly one of the best comedy flicks ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MekhiP.Sep 7, 2007
Cohen, one of four screenwriters on "Borat," extract gems of both verbal and visual felicity throughout. None are more in-your-face--literally--than the nude wrestling match between Borat and Azamat in their Dallas hotel room. This is Cohen, one of four screenwriters on "Borat," extract gems of both verbal and visual felicity throughout. None are more in-your-face--literally--than the nude wrestling match between Borat and Azamat in their Dallas hotel room. This is followed by a chase all around the hotel, ending in a meeting room full of astonished real-life mortgage brokers. The way it's filmed it really does feel like a high-flying improvisation executed by two exceptionally brave actors. With comedy, often it's the loose, slapdash project with little evident polish or money--"Holy Grail" in the 1970s; "This Is Spinal Tap" in the 1980s--that ends up highly esteemed, endlessly quoted, labeled a classic or, like "Holy Grail," turned into a musical. "Borat" belongs in that list, even though its punches are wilder. Four years ago Cohen brought his best-known character, the faux-rapper Ali G, to the screen in "Ali G Indahouse." Unreleased theatrically in the U.S. the film was a huge hit in Britain, but it was a dumbed-down hit, raunchy and obvious. "Borat," by contrast, may be raunchy and abrasive, but dumb it's not. It sticks to its guns and stays true to Cohen's particular talents. As the man from Kazakhstan likes to say: Great success! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TamarG.Sep 7, 2007
We laugh, not only because the sequence is so shamelessly raunchy, but because the actor's physique is so consummately unappealing. Maybe it's just because I'm an American woman with the requisite body issues, but that makes We laugh, not only because the sequence is so shamelessly raunchy, but because the actor's physique is so consummately unappealing. Maybe it's just because I'm an American woman with the requisite body issues, but that makes me feel kind of bad. Borat is directed by Larry Charles, a director and producer of many episodes of Curb Your Enthusiasm, another classic in the I-can't-believe-he-just-said-that comedy canon. But Baron Cohen's jaw-dropping gall makes even Curb's Larry David look like a blushing wallflower. Whether you attribute that gall to fearless honesty or shameless crassitude is up to you. I'll just be over here, laughing so hard I aspirate my popcorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DmitriL.Sep 7, 2007
Borat is oddly endearing. While his short features on Da Ali G Show left viewers wanting more, Borat the movie sates our appetite for his loopy character.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceW.Sep 7, 2007
Cohen wrangles invitations for Borat to poshly racist Southern dinner parties, meets with nonplussed feminists (where he compares the size of the female brain to that of a squirrel), wanders dazed and confused into a holy-rolling pentecostal Cohen wrangles invitations for Borat to poshly racist Southern dinner parties, meets with nonplussed feminists (where he compares the size of the female brain to that of a squirrel), wanders dazed and confused into a holy-rolling pentecostal megachurch, and scares the bejesus out of Baywatcher Anderson. This is shockingly blunt comedy and shockingly funny, too. Cohen and Davitian are utterly fearless, poking fun not only at Americans but at the stereotype of the foreign Other as well. As of last weekend, a massive intra-studio bidding war for Cohen's next film has erupted. Oddly, the Kazakhstan Ministry of Information has gone quiet. If they're biting their tongues as hard as I did, they're going to need stitches. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewD.Sep 7, 2007
I loved this film. Sacha Baron Cohen is a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaleS.Jan 30, 2008
This movie is a GREAT SUCCESS! top stuff!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GlenMMay 31, 2009
It's OK to hate this movie, to call it sexist, racist, anti-semitic, unfunny etc. What's not OK is to make inferences about the intelligence of those who find it funny. Sorry to burst your bubble but if you hate it you're not It's OK to hate this movie, to call it sexist, racist, anti-semitic, unfunny etc. What's not OK is to make inferences about the intelligence of those who find it funny. Sorry to burst your bubble but if you hate it you're not in an enlightened minority who weren't "sucked in." There are intelligent people with different tastes to you. Otherwise you're defining intelligent as "someone who agrees with me." I hope none of you would break up a friendship or marriage because the other person found Borat hilarious. Peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeW.Nov 11, 2006
I thought I got the joke, but then it hit me, Cohen is actually laughing at those who thought his jokes were actually funny. It satirizes American pop cultures sense of humor and prejudices. Most people think it is making fun of Khazakstan I thought I got the joke, but then it hit me, Cohen is actually laughing at those who thought his jokes were actually funny. It satirizes American pop cultures sense of humor and prejudices. Most people think it is making fun of Khazakstan and how backwards it is, but it is mocking the majority of the non-thinking population in America. There were scenes where the whole audience laughed and I was left alone thinking how stupid most of us americans really are. Most people didn't get the inside joke that Cohen is mocking them for laughing at such disgusting and repulsive humor. It wasn't funny because of the jokes it was funny because it made fun of the audience itself. Right out of the Andy Kaufman handbook of "I got ya' and you don't even know it". Brilliant, pure genius. :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanB.Nov 12, 2006
That wrestling scene was priceless. And the "nooooot!" at the end was brilliant. Otherwise, this was almost a stessful experience, as I groaned every minute, in between laughing. In the end, I'm not altogether sure he's making so That wrestling scene was priceless. And the "nooooot!" at the end was brilliant. Otherwise, this was almost a stessful experience, as I groaned every minute, in between laughing. In the end, I'm not altogether sure he's making so much fun of "America!" Cos, a few of the people he interacts with come out as pretty polite, well-meaning, and incredibly patient in the face of an idiot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
B.ShannonNov 12, 2006
Without discussing the merits or causality or philisophical sophistication of the meanings of "what is funny?" I will just have to say that I didnt' stop laughing. Even when it wasn't funny on screen, I couldn't help but laugh Without discussing the merits or causality or philisophical sophistication of the meanings of "what is funny?" I will just have to say that I didnt' stop laughing. Even when it wasn't funny on screen, I couldn't help but laugh at myself for laughing about what I was laughing about.... And by the time I was catching my breath from the last laugh, it just started again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffMatherNov 12, 2006
Very Funny. It never tops anything that Borat did on Da Ali G Show (in fact the show is much funnier than the movie), but it still has more laughs than anything on the big screen this year...or the last 5 for that matter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SHNov 14, 2006
Too many people suffer from the haughty attitudes of American's that Borat aims to draw out and ridicule. It's just funny that that is what is stopping you from enjoying a genuinly hilarious movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexNov 15, 2006
The first truly great (and truly funny) movie in a very long time. I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard. Its not very long (only about an hour and a half or so), and there are some low moments, but overall the movie is so The first truly great (and truly funny) movie in a very long time. I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard. Its not very long (only about an hour and a half or so), and there are some low moments, but overall the movie is so funny, so offensive, and so courageous, you can't help but quickly forigve its shortcomings. Even the parts that make you want to regurgitate your popcorn on the poor sap in front of you will have you laughing until your sides hurt. 9.8 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentNov 17, 2006
This movie was hillarious, plain and simple. It shows how us as Americans have come a long way since slavery, but we are still a bunch of homophobic, racist and greedy people. This is true people, and just because this guy points that out This movie was hillarious, plain and simple. It shows how us as Americans have come a long way since slavery, but we are still a bunch of homophobic, racist and greedy people. This is true people, and just because this guy points that out doesnt make him a bad person or this movie mean and offensive. If this isn't true why arent gay marriages legal, why are we in Iraq? Greed. And why are most of those under the poverty line minorities? This guy points out America's shortcomings and hateful ways in a refreshingly utterly hillarious way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MIkeM.Nov 10, 2006
The funniest movie ever...pause... NOT! The moments when cohen interacts with unwitting civilians were always spot on, but it felt like the coreographed bits were a bit more stale, with the notable exception at the hotel. Unfortunately the The funniest movie ever...pause... NOT! The moments when cohen interacts with unwitting civilians were always spot on, but it felt like the coreographed bits were a bit more stale, with the notable exception at the hotel. Unfortunately the hype had raised my expectations so high that it was impossible to live up to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TobyM.Nov 23, 2006
WOW, Its is so unbelivelble i could not belive a man could get away with this. When people say ignorance is not an excuse, Well believe me it is. I was shocked at some of the brave stunts he pulled of. I'd be scared of being shot. This WOW, Its is so unbelivelble i could not belive a man could get away with this. When people say ignorance is not an excuse, Well believe me it is. I was shocked at some of the brave stunts he pulled of. I'd be scared of being shot. This man is a LEDGEND!!!! He takes courage to the next step. And does it in a funny way. FEARLESS. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyNov 27, 2006
WOW! This was the funniest movie I have ever scene! The people who are offened wither have NO scene of humor or are Justy like the poeple in the film. It showed how closeminded and racist people are. But people if it made you mad calm down WOW! This was the funniest movie I have ever scene! The people who are offened wither have NO scene of humor or are Justy like the poeple in the film. It showed how closeminded and racist people are. But people if it made you mad calm down in the end it's only a movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
briand.Nov 27, 2006
Very Funny. I especially loved the national anthem scene in the rodeo and the 'war of terror' quip. Mr Bush, the great imperial warlord. The naked wrestling felt too staged. I agree with the observation of some people that some of Very Funny. I especially loved the national anthem scene in the rodeo and the 'war of terror' quip. Mr Bush, the great imperial warlord. The naked wrestling felt too staged. I agree with the observation of some people that some of the humour is mean and cruel. The dinner party scene is Borat simply being nasty and to people who were trying to be kind to him; there was no satire, irony or purpose. Nevertheless, this film will really make you laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HectorM.Nov 29, 2006
One of the funniest movies I have seen. I believe Mr. Baron Cohen has created outstanding movie for make benefit of glorious mankind. Through the incessant laughter this movie elicits we encounter our own sins in the form of shortcomings One of the funniest movies I have seen. I believe Mr. Baron Cohen has created outstanding movie for make benefit of glorious mankind. Through the incessant laughter this movie elicits we encounter our own sins in the form of shortcomings such as racism and prejudice, but through the power of comedy we also reach something akin to redemption and forgiveness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielA.Nov 29, 2006
Halarious!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartBNov 3, 2006
This film is dangerous. Because you'll be laughing so much that you won't get a chance to breathe...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Nov 3, 2006
By far the funniest movie since 40 Year Old Virgin. Maybe even since Anchorman. If you like any of Cohen's other work you will LOVE this movie. The only people that won't like it are those who are offended and not openminded enough By far the funniest movie since 40 Year Old Virgin. Maybe even since Anchorman. If you like any of Cohen's other work you will LOVE this movie. The only people that won't like it are those who are offended and not openminded enough to realize this is a satire. Maybe the best comedy I've EVER seen. And that's including Caddyshack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertM.Nov 3, 2006
The critics have this one bang on. I actually saw a preview of the movie almost six weeks ago in Toronto, but lemme tell you something: the jokes that you get from "Borat" are unbelievable. Half of the movie you'll be saying "I The critics have this one bang on. I actually saw a preview of the movie almost six weeks ago in Toronto, but lemme tell you something: the jokes that you get from "Borat" are unbelievable. Half of the movie you'll be saying "I can't believe he just said that/did that." It really is offensive, shocking humour...but when you compare it to the comedies recently - this movie cannot be touched. You'll have to watch it twice cuz I guarentee you'll laugh and miss some parts. I also guarentee some people will leave the theater offended. Movie: Very Nice! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MorganNov 30, 2006
Hell-arious!!! People who think this is racist/sexist need to understand something called SATIRE - look it up in the dictionary. A great movie. I lauged more watching this than I had since seeing Naked Gun in the theatre for the first time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful