Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 3, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1131 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
816
Mixed:
108
Negative:
207
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
HrenH.Nov 6, 2006
Pretentious kretinism.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GordJNov 7, 2006
Interesting how upset so many people get at others who pan the movie - almost as if it's a personal attack against them. Well maybe that does say alot about the people who like the movie. Personally I got the joke and I don't think Interesting how upset so many people get at others who pan the movie - almost as if it's a personal attack against them. Well maybe that does say alot about the people who like the movie. Personally I got the joke and I don't think it was funny. As others have said it was mean and tasteless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KorkyB.Nov 7, 2006
I am tried and true fan of the HBO show, that said: Yes the movie was funny, yes Sacha was great, Azamat was tremendous (not to mention he spoke Armenian on screen-I'm Armenian so that bias points there). But my bone to pick would be I am tried and true fan of the HBO show, that said: Yes the movie was funny, yes Sacha was great, Azamat was tremendous (not to mention he spoke Armenian on screen-I'm Armenian so that bias points there). But my bone to pick would be the lack of focus on the strangers being interviewed and the large amount of attention given to Borat. Borat is the secondary joke, the raicst and sexiest idiots are the real joke and the movie seemed to never fully capture the stupidity of each interviewee like the TV show does. It seemed as each "setting/interview' was rushed and never fully exploited.Iit's more about Borat and his trip and the story. I understand it's a movie and there has to be character/story/plot so in that sense it was a 'good Borat movie', but compared to the TV show, the TV show is funnier, hands down. Hence all these 10's and 9s are not justified because as a movie it's good but it's not a classic comedy. The TV show is a 10 and compared to the show, the movie can only disapoint in my eyes, hence the 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RockyL.Nov 7, 2006
This movie is vile and dispicable. To make fun of a tiny country and to promote anit-semitism even though I understand that Borat is an English Jewish actor is abhorable and tasteless. Then if that is not bad enough to make fun of This movie is vile and dispicable. To make fun of a tiny country and to promote anit-semitism even though I understand that Borat is an English Jewish actor is abhorable and tasteless. Then if that is not bad enough to make fun of handicapped people in that "retard" scene was all I could take. I love a good joke as much as the next person but toilet humor, anti-semitism, and making fun of handicapped people is not worthy of the praise most of you are giving this trash. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RockyL.Nov 7, 2006
This movie is vile and dispicable. To make fun of a tiny country and to promote anit-semitism even though I understand that Borat is an English Jewish actor is abhorable and tasteless. Then if that is not bad enough to make fun of This movie is vile and dispicable. To make fun of a tiny country and to promote anit-semitism even though I understand that Borat is an English Jewish actor is abhorable and tasteless. Then if that is not bad enough to make fun of handicapped people in that "retard" scene was all I could take. I love a good joke as much as the next person but toilet humor, anti-semitism, and making fun of handicapped people is not worthy of the praise most of you are giving this trash. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BryanNov 7, 2006
Mind-blowingly funny. Could not believe the distance Cohen took his jokes. And the hotel scene is one for the history books...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaversNov 8, 2006
This movie plays more like Bowling For Columbine than a typical comedy. Half of the comedy is made by Cohen just letting the people talk a la Michael Moore.... the country that has values and cultural attitudes questioned is the US. My only This movie plays more like Bowling For Columbine than a typical comedy. Half of the comedy is made by Cohen just letting the people talk a la Michael Moore.... the country that has values and cultural attitudes questioned is the US. My only real complaint would be the use of anti-semitism instead of oft misunderstood anti-israelism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreH.Nov 8, 2006
One of the funniest movies of all time. Cohen is a pretty brilliant improviser, but what allows him to trancend is his ability to make his humor relevant. for me it was the small jokes that made this movie great. any one who didn't likeOne of the funniest movies of all time. Cohen is a pretty brilliant improviser, but what allows him to trancend is his ability to make his humor relevant. for me it was the small jokes that made this movie great. any one who didn't like it was either too busy looking for explosions or too frightened when they happened. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewDiggityNov 8, 2006
This is the first 10 rating I've ever given anything, I do not give a 10 to everything I like as some people on Metacritic do. Laughs from beginning to end. My face hurt. The audience was right there with me. Stunningly hilarious and This is the first 10 rating I've ever given anything, I do not give a 10 to everything I like as some people on Metacritic do. Laughs from beginning to end. My face hurt. The audience was right there with me. Stunningly hilarious and thought provoking. I generally don't like toilet humor (jackass, van wilder, etc), but this movie was made so well. If I see Borat I will give him one helluva HIGH FIVE!! Is Nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DustinG.Nov 9, 2006
This movie is the most repulsively disgusting halarious and awesome movie I have ever seen in my entire life. But a warning - Dont watch this movie if you're easily offended!! (PS - This is british humor, not american)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentD.Nov 9, 2006
One thing is for sure, this movie hurt my cheeks and stomach and I had tears in my eyes I was laughing so hard. One of the funniest movies you'll see in years. The theater of 300 was rolling with non-stop laughter. If you don't One thing is for sure, this movie hurt my cheeks and stomach and I had tears in my eyes I was laughing so hard. One of the funniest movies you'll see in years. The theater of 300 was rolling with non-stop laughter. If you don't enjoy this movie you have no sense of humor whatsoever. Seriously, if you had left the movie your beliefs blind you from the simple things in life...laughter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisT.Nov 9, 2006
The only thing sick and twisted is (people) leaving the cinema, due to the "sheer disgusting content" AND RETURNING 8 TIMES (evil nitwit Uzbek agents I think!). Rude, crude, and funnier than heck. Absolutely brilliant. Great success! High Five!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AntonH.Dec 10, 2006
Simply stated, the funniest film that I have ever seen. From the start to the finishing credits, I was laughing non-stop. Cohen makes people who are phonies uncomfortable; he hits it hard and does it with an innocent smile. This is a Simply stated, the funniest film that I have ever seen. From the start to the finishing credits, I was laughing non-stop. Cohen makes people who are phonies uncomfortable; he hits it hard and does it with an innocent smile. This is a treasure; a one-of-a-kind movie that we will probably see duplicated in a variety of ways, but will never be as funny of the original. What might make "us" as Americans feel uncomfortable is that the movie shows who we really are, and we have a very dark side. It is a rare experience that you laugh at something so hard, then realize that some of his humor is being pointed right at you. That made me look a little at who I am, and caused me to rethink some of the way I did things. That makes "Borat" one real gem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BilB.Dec 10, 2006
Cute and original but nothing to write home about. Some scenes were truly funny, others showed a disturbing view of just how backwards the USA really is, and some scenes were just plain old stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeN.Dec 1, 2006
Perhaps the last three poeple commenting should realize what this movie is before they judge it. It is not just a comedy and satire. If it were merely that then yes it would be extremely overrated. You have to see that this is an irony, and Perhaps the last three poeple commenting should realize what this movie is before they judge it. It is not just a comedy and satire. If it were merely that then yes it would be extremely overrated. You have to see that this is an irony, and the purpose of the irony is not to attack his subject, but to attack those who do it. What Cohen does is point out everything that is wrong in this country whether it be politics, socio-economics, gender and racial equality, whatever. You need to realize when you're laughing at his jokes, your laughing on behalf of the disenfranchised. Maybe that explains why most of the jews are laughing along with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
josakDec 13, 2006
Wasn't that funny. I didn't find it offensive, mean, crude, whatever.. it just wasn't nearly as funny as I was expecting it to be. There were a few scenes that had me laughing out loud, but other than that, it was kind of stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
StephanK.Dec 10, 2006
I can understand that the very young, who have not seen all of these gags before might laugh. I can understand those who think like the targets of this movie might have to laugh at themselves and that is good. And it was a very orignal I can understand that the very young, who have not seen all of these gags before might laugh. I can understand those who think like the targets of this movie might have to laugh at themselves and that is good. And it was a very orignal format. But this is one of the few movies ever that I was very close to simply walking out on. The very worst movie I have seen in decades. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexS.Dec 10, 2006
Borat, the brainchild of one S. Baron-Cohen, brings a deeply stereotypical racist view of former Soviet block countries into the personal, one-to-one spectrum as a mockumentary following a Khazakstanian touring the USA, and this creates Borat, the brainchild of one S. Baron-Cohen, brings a deeply stereotypical racist view of former Soviet block countries into the personal, one-to-one spectrum as a mockumentary following a Khazakstanian touring the USA, and this creates probably the best satire I have ever seen. He challenges everyone he meets with simple ignorant stereotypical comments in an effort to bring out the undertones of western society, sometimes being quite shocking, but always hilarious. Even if you arent looking for the farcical racism and stereotype jokes, theres still the brilliant character Borat, who is constantly funny with blatanly incorrect accent and mannerisms, a great movie, just got to wait for Bruno in 2008! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewH.Dec 2, 2006
This film is great. If people can't laugh at themselves then they need to get a life. How anyone could sit through this film without laughing is beyond me. Soooooooooooooooooo Funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HoraceDec 25, 2006
Vulgar and takes advantage of innocent unsuspecting people showing them at their worst. Would not be very funny if it was YOU captured on camera. We all say things we don't actually mean as it is part of our vocabulary. For those who Vulgar and takes advantage of innocent unsuspecting people showing them at their worst. Would not be very funny if it was YOU captured on camera. We all say things we don't actually mean as it is part of our vocabulary. For those who liked this I guess your taste is potty humor as long as it isn't you be exposed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VirginaA.Dec 2, 2006
Disgusting bathroom humor does not justify the critical acclaim this film has gotten. To the contrary it is revolting to find any credible significance for this poor excuse for a feature film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SankarS.Dec 28, 2006
Serves its satrical purpose but seems to get old fast. Pathetic plot that trys too hard to give the film a legitimate backbone. Borat is best served in small doses (like in shorts from Da Ali G Show). Sacha Baron Cohen's character Serves its satrical purpose but seems to get old fast. Pathetic plot that trys too hard to give the film a legitimate backbone. Borat is best served in small doses (like in shorts from Da Ali G Show). Sacha Baron Cohen's character exposes blind cultural relatavism and its roots of racism, genderism, and every other -ism in America Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GeorgeG.Dec 29, 2006
Absouloutely disgusting people who like this is sick
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillD.Dec 30, 2006
Sometimes the most hysterically funny, sometimes the rudest and most offensive piece of celluloid I've seen in my life. Not for the PC crowd (which appears to be 7/10ths of the world) or for the young (the film should have been rated Sometimes the most hysterically funny, sometimes the rudest and most offensive piece of celluloid I've seen in my life. Not for the PC crowd (which appears to be 7/10ths of the world) or for the young (the film should have been rated NC-17). And not deserving of Globes or Golden Men...but it WAS funny! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianB.Dec 4, 2006
The funniest film in ages. Haven't seen my wife laugh out loud this much since 'Something about Mary'. And as a bonus it catches racists and other extremists completely off balance exposing them for what they are. A justified The funniest film in ages. Haven't seen my wife laugh out loud this much since 'Something about Mary'. And as a bonus it catches racists and other extremists completely off balance exposing them for what they are. A justified hit below the belt. I love it! Satire is such a lovely thing when done right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GeoffB.Dec 6, 2006
I find it most useful in thinking about Borat to imagine it as a fully scripted movie (and judging from the lawsuits it might well have been) as opposed to the "reality movie" it was billed as. Would the New York times have called a scripted I find it most useful in thinking about Borat to imagine it as a fully scripted movie (and judging from the lawsuits it might well have been) as opposed to the "reality movie" it was billed as. Would the New York times have called a scripted scene mocking drunk mysognistic frat boys "brilliant...social satire"? I imagine the phrase would have been "tired old cliche". Or how about those stuffy southerners? They totally freak when you bring your own feces to the dinner table. I think I have seen about half a dozen similar scenes in those teen comedies so deliciously panned. That isn't to say it wasn't funny. It was very very funny. But so was Jackass, American Pie, Harold and Kumar. Those movies took my nine bucks and made me laugh, but they did not pretend to have brilliant insights of American mores. Borat on the otherhand, he took my nine bucks, he made me laugh, and the only insight I got was that America loves a bandwagon. They just cant wait to jump on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BethC.Dec 7, 2006
I have never seen Da Ali G Show, so I can't make comparisons. I do think that the film was overrated. There is very little plot, mainly a series of scenes, ranging from almost brilliant (the rodeo scene) to flops (the New York I have never seen Da Ali G Show, so I can't make comparisons. I do think that the film was overrated. There is very little plot, mainly a series of scenes, ranging from almost brilliant (the rodeo scene) to flops (the New York feminists). I'm also not a fan of bathroom humor or slapstick, so I didn't appreciate these parts. The conglomeration of languages used in the film (Polish, Armenian, Romanian) made it clear that they weren't really talking about Kazakhstan, but it did tend to generally denigrate people from Second/ Third World countries. I did enjoy the few times that the joke was actually on Borat - his portrayal as a homophobe who really enjoys hugging, kissing and wrestling with other men. But mainly, there just weren't enough good laughs and I got bored with it by the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Dr.StrangeloveDec 7, 2006
The only thing brilliant about this movie is that Borat got a bunch of professional jackass critics to buy this hog swill. Without a doubt the most overrated film in the history of the silver screen. Anyone who found this even remotely funny The only thing brilliant about this movie is that Borat got a bunch of professional jackass critics to buy this hog swill. Without a doubt the most overrated film in the history of the silver screen. Anyone who found this even remotely funny had to have had a lobotomy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KurtBeullensDec 8, 2006
Very funny. What more can I say that hasn't been said before?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IgorS.Dec 9, 2006
This movie is not funny. Borat on ali-g was much funnier.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilipB.Jan 10, 2007
Borat is neither the funniest movie ever filmed nor is it the loathsome, offensive garbage that some consider it to be. When one attempts broad comedy in the framework of an eighty minute movie there will, of course, be hits and misses. I Borat is neither the funniest movie ever filmed nor is it the loathsome, offensive garbage that some consider it to be. When one attempts broad comedy in the framework of an eighty minute movie there will, of course, be hits and misses. I love the Python movies. However, not everything was hilarious. The highs were very high. The lows could be embaressingly unfunny. The Same goes for Borat. The wrestling scene is too long. The Finale with Pamela A. seems out of place - staged rather than free flowing and spontaneous. On the other hand many of the scenes are side- splittingly funny. The proof is in the pudding. If the majority of the audience in the theatre is over 18 and boisterously enthusiastic then the movie is, by definition, funny. The fact that a vocal minority doesn't "get" it (just look at all of those zeroes) reflects far more on the reviewers than it does the film. I disagree with those who complain that Cohen takes unfair advatage of his American hosts. Those that come across as rascists or fools deserve to do so. Many of the Americans are sympathetically portayed. The bottom line is that if you are easily offended attend this movie at your own risk. On the other hand, if you enjoy the hit and miss comedy of Monty Python or SNL get out and see this movie today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MorganG.Jan 17, 2007
Pro: it brings social awareness to prejudices today. Con: it doesn't work as a comedy. I smiled 2 times throughout this long-winded, unfunny movie. It's overrated just because of the controversy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiscoS.Dec 16, 2007
I have nothing but admiration for Sacha Baron Cohen as a comic, writer and actor. He is a genius at finding and poking society's soft spots. As the character BORAT, Cohen has brought to light all the things our Western societies are I have nothing but admiration for Sacha Baron Cohen as a comic, writer and actor. He is a genius at finding and poking society's soft spots. As the character BORAT, Cohen has brought to light all the things our Western societies are most afraid to acknowledge. In fact, compared to BORAT most so-called "comedy movies" these days miss the point completely. BORAT is hilarious!!! By totally obliterating the boundaries of decency, and by highlighting the massive gap between what actual people espouse and what they really think - especially their prejudices - BORAT has done more than any other recent movie to revitalize the comedy genre. From start to finish, this movie is WONDERFULLY OBSCENE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottDec 27, 2007
Wah wah wee wah! This film is hilarious - I was rolling around my chair when watching this in the cinema. Simply genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
T.L.Jan 28, 2007
I notice that all the zero's have the same comments. "this movie is offensive and rude". grow a pair. if you are only smart enough to see whats on the surface dont go see the movie at all. just cause it isnt a drama doesnt mean itI notice that all the zero's have the same comments. "this movie is offensive and rude". grow a pair. if you are only smart enough to see whats on the surface dont go see the movie at all. just cause it isnt a drama doesnt mean it requires no thought whatsoever. this film is utterly brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewJan 28, 2007
This movie is brilliant. Satire at its best!! I have never seen so many people laugh at such crude events in my life. And to Sam F... You're an idiot. The movie is not ridiculing minorities, nor is it racist. If you didn't know This movie is brilliant. Satire at its best!! I have never seen so many people laugh at such crude events in my life. And to Sam F... You're an idiot. The movie is not ridiculing minorities, nor is it racist. If you didn't know Sasha (Borat) is in fact Jewish himself, and is portraying exploitation through satire. It is far more of a slap to the face of america than any other religion or race. Grow a brain and watch it again, and then you might realise why this movie is genius. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeDOct 30, 2007
Whereas the small-screen Borat was a daring and revealing hidden-camera concept, brought to the big-screen he is reduced to a gross-out comedy bastion. The film starts off promisingly, but then the jokes become somewhat weaker, and then it Whereas the small-screen Borat was a daring and revealing hidden-camera concept, brought to the big-screen he is reduced to a gross-out comedy bastion. The film starts off promisingly, but then the jokes become somewhat weaker, and then it all feels really set-up. Not nearly as good as it could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesR.Jan 6, 2007
One of the most offensive movies I have ever seen. Extremely anti semetic and anti western culture. I should have walked out in the first ten minutes. It was not even funny just pathetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricBFeb 19, 2007
Many parents will find this film much too offensive for their children. This is why the movie is rated R. Easily the funniest movie of the year; maybe one of the funniest of all time...go see it. Now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlejandroA.Feb 23, 2007
I saw the movie last night for the first time in Guadalajara Mexico. For me it was hilarious and a pretty good picture of "southern" American society. I was kind of nervous though, just for a few seconds, when the map scene of him on highway I saw the movie last night for the first time in Guadalajara Mexico. For me it was hilarious and a pretty good picture of "southern" American society. I was kind of nervous though, just for a few seconds, when the map scene of him on highway 10 just on the border of Mexico (like El Paso, TX) - what was he going to say about the Mexicans/Latinos? Throughout the entire film -Absolutely nothing!! Interesting, huh? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonathonB.Feb 3, 2007
This is without a doubt the stupidest film I have ever had the misfortune of seeing. Aside from the offensiveness and stupidity, this film is also very disgusting. There is alot of very nasty, and just down right repulsive parts in this This is without a doubt the stupidest film I have ever had the misfortune of seeing. Aside from the offensiveness and stupidity, this film is also very disgusting. There is alot of very nasty, and just down right repulsive parts in this movie. It was kind of funny in parts, but in a very moronic type of way. It was a waste of time, and the only thing I liked about it was that it was only eighty-two minutes long. If it would have been shorter I for one wouldn't have complained. I actually think this movie made me a little stupider. It was like torture to my brain cells, and there is nothing I would like more then to go back in time and never see this one. Of course I can't do that, but if I could it would make a better movie then this disgrace of a film. If you haven't seen it consider yourself lucky. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbdulM.Feb 7, 2007
All in all, a great movie with loads of absurd/hilarious scenes which somewhat makes it special and enjoyable to watch; from beginning to the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TheanimalMar 12, 2007
Boring & way overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KirkEMar 13, 2007
Stunning really, I remember just watching the film and being amazed at the different levels it was constantly working on. Make no mistake, as a satirical bigot, the Borat character is instantly one of the best comedy performances of all time Stunning really, I remember just watching the film and being amazed at the different levels it was constantly working on. Make no mistake, as a satirical bigot, the Borat character is instantly one of the best comedy performances of all time and this IS one of the funniest & most critical films ever made. For me the real joy was to follow Borat's own personal journey, his realisation that Pammy Anderson was not a virgin was hysterical, the frat boys trying to cheer him up about it quite touching, "Dude, have a beer!". Finally, the way in which the story was resolved with Borat, as we all wish, finding somebody that was willing to love him for who he was, was the final human touch in a world of superhuman stupidity. Congratulations to Mssrs Cohen (& Baynham). They shoot, they score! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TheoT.Mar 15, 2007
An excellent movie for the mentally and socially disfunctional with a neg IQ. Pityful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MeaganM.Mar 15, 2007
good movie! I thought it was hilarious, just a little gross at some parts with the fat naked guy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HalB.Mar 16, 2007
Either you get it or you don't... e.g., the national anthem at the rodeo: in a few short moments the film cuts directly to the heart of red-state America's bloodlust for post-9/11 vengence and their confused support of the war in Either you get it or you don't... e.g., the national anthem at the rodeo: in a few short moments the film cuts directly to the heart of red-state America's bloodlust for post-9/11 vengence and their confused support of the war in Iraq; the horse & rider backing up and tumbling at the end of this scene is hilarious & brilliant... As far as the earlier reviewer's conclusion that "Cohen is laughing all the way to the bank because Americans have no class"... well, duh, that's the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SamMar 19, 2007
There are some laughs here and there, but overall, this is the epitome of "the stupid-funny" movie. Cohen gives a great performance, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveK.Mar 21, 2007
Chalk this one up to the "backlash against political correctness". We've lost any sense of what is acceptable or unacceptable just because we don't want to be PC any more. Critics want this movie to say something important so badly Chalk this one up to the "backlash against political correctness". We've lost any sense of what is acceptable or unacceptable just because we don't want to be PC any more. Critics want this movie to say something important so badly that they are quick to determine everything that is incredibly crude and offensive as a form of satire that somehow points the finger back at us. That's BS. It is what it is... Jackass but with a guy pretending to be from Kazhakstan and a half-baked "plot." Somehow the joke is supposed to be on us because Sacha Baron Cohen is the only one in on the "joke". Look, just because it's over-the-top does not make it in-offensive. Just ask the people of Kazhakstan. How does it make it right at all to tell a people "don't be offended, look at how over-the-top our charcaterization of you is" when they are the ones being offended? Can you honestly say if Cohen picked an African country that there would not be more outrage over this movie? I get that it shows how ugly America is, and makes us look like jackasses, but no less than Cohen looks like the chief of all jackasses. I am sure he doesn't think people in Kazakhstan live like that, but why parody it at all? "Because it's funny." You can laugh at a mentally handicaped kid just because you think it's funny, it doesn't make it right. Wake up, people... why are you laughing? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ShannonP.Mar 24, 2007
This is political correctness taken to its ultimate extreme: jokes about politically incorrect topics and/or having otherwise politically protected targets (
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrandonK.Mar 24, 2007
This film is utter RACIST SHIT. I disagree with everything the racist guy says. I think it should be banend by the government. I didn't laugh once. Everybody who watched this and laughed is racist. UTTER RACIST CRAP.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CherylP.Mar 27, 2007
This is one of the worst sophomoric films I've ever seen. Sacha Cohen must have fulfilled his 13 year old fantasies in this crude, disgusting drivel. I can't believe critics and the Academy gave this a moment's serious This is one of the worst sophomoric films I've ever seen. Sacha Cohen must have fulfilled his 13 year old fantasies in this crude, disgusting drivel. I can't believe critics and the Academy gave this a moment's serious consideration. Oops! Silly me--it was Hollywood where almost anything can pass as a cogent thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NicoleW.Mar 27, 2007
One of the main casualties of political correctness has been the use of irony in literature, film, and other art forms. Irony presented with any subtly or insight is inevitably misunderstood, condemned and quashed by the self-righteous, One of the main casualties of political correctness has been the use of irony in literature, film, and other art forms. Irony presented with any subtly or insight is inevitably misunderstood, condemned and quashed by the self-righteous, unknowing thought police. What are we left with? Irony so obvious and over the top that it cannot be misunderstood and that has no redeeming value. In other words, we have Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherH.Mar 6, 2007
Anyone who failed to find this funny has no sense of humour and anyone who could not appreciate the satire was missing the point. The best film of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilS.Mar 7, 2007
I cannot believe some of the low ratings you have given this. It was laugh out loud funny from start to finish. Maybe you Americans just didn't get the irony - stick to watching Friends - its harmless!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SolohunterMar 8, 2007
Most review for this seem to be 10 or 0...which is odd to me. it definitely deserved neither of those scores. anybody who claims this movie is prejudice or racist or antisemitic completely missed the point: the over-the-top character of Most review for this seem to be 10 or 0...which is odd to me. it definitely deserved neither of those scores. anybody who claims this movie is prejudice or racist or antisemitic completely missed the point: the over-the-top character of Borat was a satire in itself on racists and anti-semites. and that is what the movie is, or at least, attempts to be: a satire. at its best, Borat is simply genius, gloriously funny but scathing at the same time. even at its short running time, however, Borat cannot sustain itself, and meanders into the silly or the disgusting. This is the movie at its worst, but even here, it still manages to be funny at times. All in all, a great movie with a great idea, but fails at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanS.Apr 12, 2007
Most definitley the funniest movie ever made. From the opening line, "I like you. I like sex...its nice," to the end where he finally gets Lunella, this movie will have you laughing your assholes off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranzJ.Apr 13, 2007
This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter throughout the whole movie. Well worth the admission price. The critics have this one bang on. I actually saw a preview of the movie almost a week ago in St. Louis, but lemme tell you something: the jokes that you get from "Borat" are unbelievable. Half of the movie you'll be saying "I can't believe he just said that/did that." It really is offensive, shocking humour...but when you compare it to the comedies recently - this movie cannot be touched. You'll have to watch it twice cuz I guarentee you'll laugh and miss some parts. I also guarentee some people will leave the theater offended. Movie: Very Nice! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelixV.Apr 13, 2007
Borat is the bomb. It is the type of comedy that (yes) reaches the depths of shamelessness and outrageousness that blow your mind in a way you're probably not ready for, but will probably cause you to laugh, hard. However, aside from Borat is the bomb. It is the type of comedy that (yes) reaches the depths of shamelessness and outrageousness that blow your mind in a way you're probably not ready for, but will probably cause you to laugh, hard. However, aside from the shock humor, and more impotant, is the satire and nude exposing of rascism, bigotry, and general human roboticness that this movie exposes. Only a movie with 90 percent toilet humor can get away with the level of political and social satire that this movie does. It is an incredibly funny, but also brave and honest film that hopefully will inspire more independent thought in Hollywood and (to some degree) Americans and the world as a whole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PierreC.Apr 13, 2007
Absolutely brilliant comedy! NIIIIIICE as Borat would say. Never have I laughed as much as when watching this film. You just cannot stop laughing! :D
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickyJ.Apr 13, 2007
Cohen's total immersion in his character is a wonder to behold. If Oscar voters have any sense, they recognize his performance for what it is: a tour de force that sets off comic and cosmic explosions in your head. You won't know Cohen's total immersion in his character is a wonder to behold. If Oscar voters have any sense, they recognize his performance for what it is: a tour de force that sets off comic and cosmic explosions in your head. You won't know what outrageous fun is until you see Borat. High-five! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickyJ.Apr 13, 2007
Cohen's total immersion in his character is a wonder to behold. If Oscar voters have any sense, they recognize his performance for what it is: a tour de force that sets off comic and cosmic explosions in your head. You won't know Cohen's total immersion in his character is a wonder to behold. If Oscar voters have any sense, they recognize his performance for what it is: a tour de force that sets off comic and cosmic explosions in your head. You won't know what outrageous fun is until you see Borat. High-five! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
That'sIt?Apr 14, 2007
Isn't irony dead yet? If it isn't, it should be. In an age where everyone is sarcastic and punch lines are smarmily laced with irony, this film ultimately disappoints. I typically try to temper my expectations when going to see a Isn't irony dead yet? If it isn't, it should be. In an age where everyone is sarcastic and punch lines are smarmily laced with irony, this film ultimately disappoints. I typically try to temper my expectations when going to see a critic's darling, but I walked out wondering: what did miss? The reality is: nothing. I saw a second-rate comedian going the shock route in what critics are deeming social satire. This might have worked as an NYU film student's final project, or a 7 minute clip on YouTube - but comic genius? Whichever critic compared Cohen to Lenny Bruce and Richard Pryor needs to seriously get help for their obvious crack problem. What have we learned that we didn't already know? I was toally underwhelmed by the 9th-grade "wow" irony of the kind southern lady on Secession Ave allowing her immigrant guest to stay in her house even though he brought his bagged poop to the dinner table, yet calls the police when the black prostitute arrives. You can hear Cohen practically yelling, "DON'T YOU GET IT?" The only real satire that worked in this movie is that of reality TV, which Cohen actually applied with subtlety - so much in fact, that most people who think the movie is funny don't even realize what he was doing. This is the only reason I didn't give this movie a zero: He is making fun of the people who think the movie is funny. You could be one of them. I'm not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JHApr 15, 2007
Easily the funniest movie I have seen in the last 10 years. The people who didn't like this movie are the ones who didn't understand the jokes, i.e., they actually thought Cohen was being racist and or antisemitic. I like to call Easily the funniest movie I have seen in the last 10 years. The people who didn't like this movie are the ones who didn't understand the jokes, i.e., they actually thought Cohen was being racist and or antisemitic. I like to call those people morons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousApr 18, 2007
Everythings in horrible taste, yet is still hilarious. You people who were offended are just a bunch of idiots who take life way too seriously. If everything was serious, what fun would life be?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JohnOApr 18, 2007
Outrageous social satire. It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BMillerApr 25, 2007
Occasionally I see a movie that is so bad that I feel cheated and angry that I wasted my time and money on it. This is one of those movies. After reading and hearing how funny people found this movie I had high expectations of at least Occasionally I see a movie that is so bad that I feel cheated and angry that I wasted my time and money on it. This is one of those movies. After reading and hearing how funny people found this movie I had high expectations of at least having a few laugh out loud moments. There were none. After enduring the whole movie resisting the temptation to press the fast forward button, in case I missed a funny part, I struggled with trying to analyze why I seemed to be alone in finding this humorless. I concluded that since since Borat's comic routine is basically to insult and embarrass people, the only way it is funny to me is if the victim reacts in a funny manner. They do not, which means Borat has to carry this entire movie himself and frankly he fails. Frequently I felt sorry for the people involved who were, despite some of their beliefs or personal prejudices, for the most part, nice people. I would advise people to avoid this movie unless you enjoy immature toilet humor and like to see decent people humiliated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkoP.Apr 29, 2007
A chilling, dark, disturbing portrayal of the negligence of Middle America, yet adding top flight humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonertT.Apr 29, 2007
Comedy at its finest form since Chappelle's Show or perhaps Entourage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackKApr 29, 2007
Imagine the sh.t-storm of indignation that would have resulted if this tasteless movie had been set in, for example, Uganda. However, because Central Asia is (as usual) neglected in the public eye, this is read as "ironically amusing" by the Imagine the sh.t-storm of indignation that would have resulted if this tasteless movie had been set in, for example, Uganda. However, because Central Asia is (as usual) neglected in the public eye, this is read as "ironically amusing" by the bleating public. Isn't the third world HILARIOUS? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkK.Jun 1, 2007
Borat is over-rated -- could be better if it blended in some intelligence with the shock and the vulgar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.Jun 29, 2007
Jagshemash! Sacha Baron Cohen, star of HBO
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NickEJul 12, 2007
I think we have the 2006 winner for the 3rd annual Most Overrated Comedy award (I call it a "Sideways"). With the exception of a couple of great scenes, particularly the Pam Anderson scene, this was A LOT less funny than I was expecting, and I think we have the 2006 winner for the 3rd annual Most Overrated Comedy award (I call it a "Sideways"). With the exception of a couple of great scenes, particularly the Pam Anderson scene, this was A LOT less funny than I was expecting, and it has no plot. This is generally what happens when you base a movie on a sketch comedy character - to make it last 80 minutes you start relying on the same gags and jokes over and over, and the whole thing really drags. If foreign persons with strong accents and mangled English from backward developing countries are not something you're inclined to laugh at for their own sake, you probably won't find this at all funny. I also don't see the "skewering cultural commentary" that reviewers talked about - if there's any commentary on American culture here it's only the most shallow and stereotyped sort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TedK.Jun 20, 2008
Extremely funny. I thought a couple of sequences fell flat, but on the whole it was hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeightonB.Jun 22, 2008
I can't imagine why you would like this if you are American, Jewish, gay, a woman etc. It is very offensive. But if your not, then this is an amazingly funny film. I Enjoyed it very much. First Class.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WillH.Jul 2, 2008
It really wasn't that great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Jul 21, 2008
"WOW"-This is probably the first thing many people said at their first glance at this movie. Not only because of how funny it was, but also because of how Borat was able to say things that we all want to say but don't think is "WOW"-This is probably the first thing many people said at their first glance at this movie. Not only because of how funny it was, but also because of how Borat was able to say things that we all want to say but don't think is appropriate. definitely an awesome movie. HIGH FIVE!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SZ.Aug 13, 2008
Hilarious, but disturbing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WVFeb 16, 2009
Non-stop gut-bustingly funny. For those horrified at the "adolescent" humour; it is you who are the children, blinded by the lower thinking, unaware of the satire. You are the ones we are lauging at. Go Borat! High-Five!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AshSJun 16, 2009
I personally find this movie to be an amazingly funny satire on the casual racism and prejudice that seems to make up parts of America, rather then a serious film - and it does this greatly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeM.Jul 10, 2009
One of the funniest, if not the funniest movie I have ever seen. Jack P, while the movie is awesome, if you literally bust a gut every time you saw the movie, you would probably die.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MilesBJul 16, 2009
How anyone can say that this film is not a genre defining if not comedy-REdefining film is unthinkable. By having a character so seemingly oblivious to the boundaries of acceptability laid down by western culture, he expertly exposes the How anyone can say that this film is not a genre defining if not comedy-REdefining film is unthinkable. By having a character so seemingly oblivious to the boundaries of acceptability laid down by western culture, he expertly exposes the racism and hypocrisy evident in American society. This is a masterpiece of psychological and subversive satire. People who attack this film are narrow minded and ignorant, perhaps not so much offended as they are scared by the revelations of America's metaphorical skeletons in its closet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnL.Nov 10, 2006
Horrible. About 20 minutes into the movie I leaned over to suggest to my wife that we leave, only to discover that she was asleep. this movie is not funny. I'm not uptight about morals. I laugh my butt off at all sorts of Horrible. About 20 minutes into the movie I leaned over to suggest to my wife that we leave, only to discover that she was asleep. this movie is not funny. I'm not uptight about morals. I laugh my butt off at all sorts of "inappropriate" stuff. But this film just is not funny. There is a scene where he points out that a middle-aged woman is less attractive than the two other women at a dinner table -- this is not funny in the least, it is unbelievably cruel. Anyone reading this who laughed at that scene -- you have problems. Maybe the worst movie I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M.S.Nov 11, 2006
Personally I really don't understand why people are making sweeping judgements about what this film is trying to portray. To me it was the other way around. While some people seem to think that humor is being used to make fun of America Personally I really don't understand why people are making sweeping judgements about what this film is trying to portray. To me it was the other way around. While some people seem to think that humor is being used to make fun of America and culture, I believe that America and culture have been used to make a brand of humor that I miss. Silliness. Borat didn't exactly offend me (And this is coming from a guy whose got a Jewish family and some deeply patriotic friends) but it energized me and I was thoroughly entertained by the experience. Borat is sophisticated yet it's very very stupid. it's smart ass and non-sequitor at the same time. It isn't making fun of anything really. It's just using the offensive, tabboo, and inappropriate aspects of pop culture and america and saying "Look how funny this can be!" LIGHTEN UP PEOPLE. For all those people who just didn't find it funny that's ok but for those who think that this is some conspiracy film to spoil america's name, it's just taking some of the nastier aspects of it and turning the joke on the public. Sure it might reveal some things about our culture but let's not make it out to a film that should unhinge our very way of thinking. If you find something to think about from the film, great. If you don't, that's great too. Just please...this is a comedy, not a documentary. Lighten up people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RevSykesNov 10, 2006
Crude and crass. Bathroom humor spiced up with the hero's charming glamorization of hatred of Jews and women. This is not my type of humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackT.Nov 13, 2006
After seeing this movie I need to marvel at what stands as the most shockingly tasteless, politically influential, most culturally important, and most gaspingly funny movie of the year. "Borat", a specimen of satirical brilliance so fearless After seeing this movie I need to marvel at what stands as the most shockingly tasteless, politically influential, most culturally important, and most gaspingly funny movie of the year. "Borat", a specimen of satirical brilliance so fearless and liberatingly offensive that it ought to be included in every high school syllabus pertaining to (a) multicultural sensitivity (b) the craft of socially relevant comedy. Sacha Cohens critique of American ethnocentrism, bigotry, and absurdity cannot be swallowed easily by a shameless America lovers who thinks that America can do no wrong and that collateral damage doesn't count. Long after many of this years more serious movies have come and gone and been nominated for this and that, "Borat" will stand, along with "South Park: Bigger , Longer & Uncut, as one of the most incisive cultural commentaries of our era. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JgloverNov 13, 2006
A disappointing attempt at converting Borat to the big screen. Felt like it was aimed at the american audience more, simplifying things. Love Borat on the TV, but just so many boring and repeated gags from the TV show. The gross-out has A disappointing attempt at converting Borat to the big screen. Felt like it was aimed at the american audience more, simplifying things. Love Borat on the TV, but just so many boring and repeated gags from the TV show. The gross-out has never been something i enjoy, so overall, just bitterly bitterly bitterly disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KingC.Nov 13, 2006
Revolting and disgusting. Now we find out that many of the people he meets were misled as to why they were being interviewed and are suing the producers. There's enough hatred in the world without aggravating the situation with Revolting and disgusting. Now we find out that many of the people he meets were misled as to why they were being interviewed and are suing the producers. There's enough hatred in the world without aggravating the situation with offensive material. Bathroom humor and antisemitism jokes just aren't funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AHNov 14, 2006
If you saw this movie and found it offensive and cruel, that is fine. This kind of humour is not for everyone and when you start making cracks close to home it can ruffle some feathers. However, to those of you who found it unintelligent, If you saw this movie and found it offensive and cruel, that is fine. This kind of humour is not for everyone and when you start making cracks close to home it can ruffle some feathers. However, to those of you who found it unintelligent, you are just pissed off becasue you are the idiot Americans he is making fun of. Guess what? Lots of Americans are stupid, racist, sexist pigs. Lots of Americans DO participate in psychotic religious activities. Get over it. It's self depricating humour, so stop taking yourselves so seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyJ.Nov 14, 2006
An almost flawless comedy foray into both the labyrinth of modern America and all its peculiarities, as well as the fevered mind of a crazed Kazakh broadcaster. Funnier than you'd think possible, undoutedly one of the funniest films yet made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HerschelL.Nov 15, 2006
Tastless, and you hate yourself for laughing, but you just can't help it. Utterly hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RedX.Nov 15, 2006
Compared to the trash that is being released nowadays, Borat is a welcome change to the torture/shock movies that seem to be the fad right now (saw, etc). Borat is a very funny look into American culture and society, it touches on a lot of Compared to the trash that is being released nowadays, Borat is a welcome change to the torture/shock movies that seem to be the fad right now (saw, etc). Borat is a very funny look into American culture and society, it touches on a lot of issues that seem to plague comtemporary America (racism, ignorance etc), but overall it makes for a hilarious movie, if you are overly patriotic or get upset at people making fun of American culture, this is definitley not for you, but if you can take it with a grain of salt then this movie is recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SueJ.Nov 16, 2006
Potty humor at its worst.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JayW.Nov 18, 2006
The slippery-slope of bringing potty humor to the screen has begun. The days of suggestive humor are gone and in an attempt to push the envelope, movies are getting less creative and more lewd. I guess shock value sells...but please The slippery-slope of bringing potty humor to the screen has begun. The days of suggestive humor are gone and in an attempt to push the envelope, movies are getting less creative and more lewd. I guess shock value sells...but please don't say its a great film for this. I never seem to agree with the critics... and once again...the critics seemed to love this mess of a film. The previews were the only funny parts of the movies...the rest was obnoxious, depressing and childish. Hard to imagine that such an intelligent guy could create something so worthless to society. Id take Yakov Smirnoff anyday. And the "Kazakhstan" scenes were filmed in Romania...with people speaking Romanian. Maybe he thinks everyone is stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LukeF.Nov 19, 2006
No surprises in this movie. Everything is fairly predictable and you get the gist from the previews. Great movie for mindless entertainment, but is it really anything more than a Tom Green movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
tonyNov 21, 2006
Brilliant satire. Unfortunately, one must have a certain degree of insight to "get it." This film is not mean-spirited. It is equal opportunity in its fun and in its more poignant moments. It shows us some who tolerant, to fault, and many Brilliant satire. Unfortunately, one must have a certain degree of insight to "get it." This film is not mean-spirited. It is equal opportunity in its fun and in its more poignant moments. It shows us some who tolerant, to fault, and many who are judgmental. All in all shows the many true colors of America. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonSNov 21, 2006
This movie is not about comedy. It's called social commentarty. Sasha Cohen, but posing as an anti-semite, anti-gypsy, character is targeting those peoples. People may see it as comedy, but it is focused around Southerners and This movie is not about comedy. It's called social commentarty. Sasha Cohen, but posing as an anti-semite, anti-gypsy, character is targeting those peoples. People may see it as comedy, but it is focused around Southerners and Midwesterner opposed to cosmopolitan New York. Why? Simply, because the movie a big joke. All the people who understand that this is not an insult against jews or gypsies is in on the joke. The rest, well it means, they are not in, and it will appear offense. It boils down to simply, if you are offended, you shouldn't be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LouisNov 22, 2006
People who find this offensive, do not understand the humour. To help them understand this. The movie laughs at prejudice itself. When a person makes a offensive cultural remark, you laugh at the crazed mind of the person making the remark. People who find this offensive, do not understand the humour. To help them understand this. The movie laughs at prejudice itself. When a person makes a offensive cultural remark, you laugh at the crazed mind of the person making the remark. The movie also laughs at certain groups of people who are so wrapped up in certain habbits that it reaches intensely obsessive levels. I think we should stop worrying about political correctness all the time and learn to laugh at ourselves. The human race has some funny habbits! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieD.Nov 23, 2006
one of the most funny, disturbing and shocking movies ive seen for ages its awesome! Very nice! how much?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertivyNov 23, 2006
Outrageous, totally original humor that rolls over you in slap-happy waves. Nothing stands in the way of Cohen's democratizing, pitiless satire, a uniquely Mad view of the universe that gives scatology an honest name.
0 of 0 users found this helpful