Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 3, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1131 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
816
Mixed:
108
Negative:
207
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RyanH.Jan 3, 2007
Funniest Movie I have ever seen by a nice amount. If you are offended by this movie then you should realize that because of you this world sucks a little more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarthH.Mar 6, 2007
Piercingly satircal and superbly funny at the same time. Unique and a very nice surprise to have something like this become so popular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PerlaN.Nov 21, 2006
It really isn't as funny as critics say it is. The humor is really dumb and gets only dumber and ruder. Boring sexist humor. Do not take a female date to see this movie - she might very well be grinding her teeth and looking at you It really isn't as funny as critics say it is. The humor is really dumb and gets only dumber and ruder. Boring sexist humor. Do not take a female date to see this movie - she might very well be grinding her teeth and looking at you wondering what kind of acned teenager am I here with? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SirGeezerNov 29, 2006
Jeez you yanks take life too seriously. As you lot say "chill out". For once in my life im proud that im british. Sure we are losing in the ashes series (cricket), our rugby is dismal and our footballing is mediocre ( and we invented the Jeez you yanks take life too seriously. As you lot say "chill out". For once in my life im proud that im british. Sure we are losing in the ashes series (cricket), our rugby is dismal and our footballing is mediocre ( and we invented the sport!). But our sense of humour is head and shoulders above the rest. Sacha was born in north london and so has got this humour inside of him. Thats why americans dont like it. But if you are british and are reading this , i reccommend you shut down your computer right now, call a cab and go watch the funniest movie of your life. Period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnP.Nov 4, 2006
While it is basically a one-time show for people who aren't offended easily who can hold an open mind, it is one of the smartest and most socially-driven movies to come out in a long time, cleverly disguised as just another Hollywood While it is basically a one-time show for people who aren't offended easily who can hold an open mind, it is one of the smartest and most socially-driven movies to come out in a long time, cleverly disguised as just another Hollywood comedy flick. I dislike gross-out comedy, and I tend to dislike comedy that makes you feel very uncomfortable, but I absolutely love smart comedy, which here, trumps all poop humor. In addition, the situations Baron Cohen places himself into are so dangerous and outrageous that you can't help to laugh and wonder if it is scripted comedy. What it says about our social issues is something that can be studied again and again. This is genius at work. However, if you are easily offended, avoid. Actually, go ahead and see it. You just might look at yourself a little differently afterward. I know I have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamB.Nov 5, 2006
This film is the first big budget manifestation of the new form of humor that has been gathering steam since the turn of the millenium, fronted by the Stewart / Colbert ticket and Mr. Cohen himself. And, thankfully, Borat, as he would call This film is the first big budget manifestation of the new form of humor that has been gathering steam since the turn of the millenium, fronted by the Stewart / Colbert ticket and Mr. Cohen himself. And, thankfully, Borat, as he would call it, is a "great success." I, and the entire audience around me, was head-over-heels for almost the entire film. This movie succeeds in both amusing the viewer and making him or her more aware, and that is what this new generation of comedy is all about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AmberL.Nov 6, 2006
Am I missing something? I understand that this was a sarcastic spoof of a very small country by an English Jewish actor who is using bathroom humor to make his point. Why pick on this tiny country and make all its citizens look like fools? Am I missing something? I understand that this was a sarcastic spoof of a very small country by an English Jewish actor who is using bathroom humor to make his point. Why pick on this tiny country and make all its citizens look like fools? He could have used a ficticious country but to denigrade this small country is wrong. The jokes were cute at first but then became painful to bear. For young males to hail Borat as a King is bad enough but to see the critics review this trash as if it were better than Gone With The Wind is a bit too much. This documentary-comedy is simply awful in my opinion and way too long. Very much forgotten after I left the theater. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
VirginaR.Dec 4, 2006
Perhaps those of you giving it high marks don't understand that publicly insulting others is not funny at all. And yes I can laugh at myself. But extreme cruelty and then goading innocent people into making fools of themselves is not my Perhaps those of you giving it high marks don't understand that publicly insulting others is not funny at all. And yes I can laugh at myself. But extreme cruelty and then goading innocent people into making fools of themselves is not my cup of tea. If it's yours then fine but don't speak for others. Just not funny. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ChristineK.Jan 21, 2007
Mean-spirited beyond the bounds of necessity, this film incriminates itself as being part of what is least admirable in modern society.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LeonG.Jan 20, 2007
It's funny that so many people would get so offended at a movie as silly as this. Mr. Cohen knows exactly what he's doing and is extremely prepared to handle anything and it shows in this hilarious comedy. It's deserving of It's funny that so many people would get so offended at a movie as silly as this. Mr. Cohen knows exactly what he's doing and is extremely prepared to handle anything and it shows in this hilarious comedy. It's deserving of all of the heaps of praise that has been thrown at it and I will be thrilled when it's awarded a Best Picture nod in February. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonnyC.Jan 24, 2007
Hysterically funny first and foremost! Also thought-provoking though in a very clever way. A classic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanF.Feb 1, 2007
Sam F needs to get his head checked...The actor playing Borat is British and Jewish...Maybe you should do some research.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulHFeb 20, 2007
Absolutely priceless, without a doubt one of the funniest movies of all time. It's as simple as that. And behind the hilarity is a keen perceptive and highly alert intelligence. One of the most memorable characters ever conceived. Absolutely priceless, without a doubt one of the funniest movies of all time. It's as simple as that. And behind the hilarity is a keen perceptive and highly alert intelligence. One of the most memorable characters ever conceived. People who think this movie is stupid are missing alot--not only what was right before their eyes but also what lay beneath. Cohen's creation has been very well thought out and realised (as Cohen has pointed out it's not that Borat's ideas are anti-semetic/sexist,ect...they are ludicrous...He thinks Jews have claws&can change their shape ! ! ! ). I actually feel sorry for people who gave this a bad rating or who found all this offensive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KhorneC.Feb 6, 2007
This film is groundbreaking, exceedingly hilarious and enlightening in a sense that it reveals a side of common society that we don't see very easily. my only bad was that the content in the film still feels pretty 'safe'. It This film is groundbreaking, exceedingly hilarious and enlightening in a sense that it reveals a side of common society that we don't see very easily. my only bad was that the content in the film still feels pretty 'safe'. It would be mind-'blowing' if it featured some typical 'middle-eastern' people in it. High five. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BR.Mar 10, 2007
One of the first movies that I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NathanielD.Mar 20, 2007
As a big fan of Da Ali G show (I own both seasons on DVD) this movie came as a big disappointment. Granted, Borat was actually always my least favorite of Cohen's 3 personalities, but I think that the biggest problem with this movie is As a big fan of Da Ali G show (I own both seasons on DVD) this movie came as a big disappointment. Granted, Borat was actually always my least favorite of Cohen's 3 personalities, but I think that the biggest problem with this movie is that not much of it seemed improvised and that most of it was scripted. Paired with the fact that I don't see how this could be near as funny in subsequent views, I don't think this movie will stand the test of time and won't ever hold a classic status. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ClintM.Mar 28, 2007
A huge disappointment. The only laughter I had was in the re-telling to people who hadn't seen it yet. Watching it was uncomfortable.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Mar 4, 2007
This should have been movie of the year, or best picture as they call it in the academy awards. This was politically insightful, as humorous, and it gives a commentary to the lack of sensitivity that inbred America has towards people of This should have been movie of the year, or best picture as they call it in the academy awards. This was politically insightful, as humorous, and it gives a commentary to the lack of sensitivity that inbred America has towards people of other races. It was a touching film that was funny, witty, and perhaps the best comedy of the year along with Talledega Nights. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamesM.Mar 5, 2007
Self-indulgent and overrated. Not that I like Freddie Got Fingered, quite the opposite, but I can't understand why critics butchered that film and not Borat... This movie is far from a satire. It is the motion picture equivilent to a fart joke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CathyB.Mar 8, 2007
What a waste of time and money! I saw the movie Jackass and this was 100 times worse than that movie. The only positive thing I can say is that I saw people trying to make an outsider feel welcome. After I saw the movie, I called everyone I What a waste of time and money! I saw the movie Jackass and this was 100 times worse than that movie. The only positive thing I can say is that I saw people trying to make an outsider feel welcome. After I saw the movie, I called everyone I share movies with and told them not to waste their time or money on this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickM.Apr 1, 2007
Giving the makers of the movie the benefit of the doubt in the fact that most of the movie was not staged, I think it was very funny. It lost two points for me because there were some parts that just went WAY too far and were down right Giving the makers of the movie the benefit of the doubt in the fact that most of the movie was not staged, I think it was very funny. It lost two points for me because there were some parts that just went WAY too far and were down right disturbing....such as the two guys fighting naked....Icould have done without that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Jim10HApr 3, 2007
Watch it again to see that throughout, everyone is given a chance to show their full humanness here. This work of art satrizes the human race, not so much Americans. It may very well be genius on a par with Swift or Twain or even Dane Cook. Watch it again to see that throughout, everyone is given a chance to show their full humanness here. This work of art satrizes the human race, not so much Americans. It may very well be genius on a par with Swift or Twain or even Dane Cook. Yeah it goes too far - that's why it gets a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GosiaSApr 4, 2007
This movie was ridiculously stupid. I picked it randomly to watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamB.Apr 8, 2007
Borat is the kind of film in which you need to be able to tolerate crude, rude, and horrible humor that is done so well that it's brilliant. I have seen Borat on "Da Ali G Show" before the movie came out, and I found it fairly funny. It Borat is the kind of film in which you need to be able to tolerate crude, rude, and horrible humor that is done so well that it's brilliant. I have seen Borat on "Da Ali G Show" before the movie came out, and I found it fairly funny. It took a very interesting idea and made some laughs. But could it have been better? Yes. This movie is the pure and unadulterated example of how. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AimeeM.May 11, 2007
I don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JuanaN.May 8, 2007
Funny movie and also a learning and informational movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TinaR.Jun 13, 2007
This movie has couple shockingly laughable scenes, but on the whole it is very uncomfortable to watch and most of the scenes that are supposed to be funny are just idiotic and embarrassing. If someone like this can make money on comedy, then This movie has couple shockingly laughable scenes, but on the whole it is very uncomfortable to watch and most of the scenes that are supposed to be funny are just idiotic and embarrassing. If someone like this can make money on comedy, then anyone can...It's utter nonsense. And most of us would probably do better! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JFAug 7, 2007
Terrible. I'm generally a huge fan of these types of movies, you know, the kind that you don't have to know anything about anything to think its funny? But... this was a disaster. The plot was a mess, every scene was uncomfortable, Terrible. I'm generally a huge fan of these types of movies, you know, the kind that you don't have to know anything about anything to think its funny? But... this was a disaster. The plot was a mess, every scene was uncomfortable, and personally, I just think that every single joke bombed. I expected a lot out of this movie, and it did nothing but disappoint. I wish I could get my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaudeL.Sep 7, 2007
A fantastic piece of storytelling, comedy, and political ingenuity. It's more troubling when we the fans are more conservative then the critics, that we live in an ignorant, superficial society that advertises loudly but blatantly, A fantastic piece of storytelling, comedy, and political ingenuity. It's more troubling when we the fans are more conservative then the critics, that we live in an ignorant, superficial society that advertises loudly but blatantly, ignores their problems of poverty, intolerance, and racism that is deeply rooted in the foundation of America. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeonW.Sep 7, 2007
There are moments in Borat, such as that rodeo, when you wonder how Cohen managed to escape without being physically assaulted. But it's not just Cohen's daring that makes the film so effective: It is also the character's There are moments in Borat, such as that rodeo, when you wonder how Cohen managed to escape without being physically assaulted. But it's not just Cohen's daring that makes the film so effective: It is also the character's awe-inspiring oafishness that gives Borat its juice. Whether he's admiring a Victoria's Secret window display a little too enthusiastically, or engaging in a bout of naked wrestling up and down the halls of a glitzy hotel, Borat is constantly revealing new depths to his aggressive, taboo-smashing cluelessness, which is why the movie never runs out of steam. It takes some exceptionally intelligent and witty people to make a dumb comedy this funny and perceptive: Borat may be offensive (to some), infantile, but high-brow, but you won't hate yourself in the morning for loving it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AjithS.Aug 7, 2008
This movie wasn't funny at all. I cant understand the high scores.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
HelpUJul 20, 2009
Want to see a movie that your mommy and the evil government doesn't want you to see? Then prepare to wet your diaper in glee because its Borat. Believe it or not, I actually saw this one with my parents. I remember that day it was at Want to see a movie that your mommy and the evil government doesn't want you to see? Then prepare to wet your diaper in glee because its Borat. Believe it or not, I actually saw this one with my parents. I remember that day it was at the cheap theatre just in case it sucked and we got our moneys worth $1 but I can never replace the time lost. To start off, the jokes weren't funny and repetitive a bad combination in my book. The running joke is that he is from Kazakhstan and doesn't know much about America which is totally ignorant because... the funny thing is.... people in Kazakhstan know more about America than Americans know about Kazakhstan. Sometimes, it seems that Ali G, pulls down his pants and shits on the culture which is as insensitive as the "American" culture Ali is trying to portray. After the movie I didn't even have to ask my parents what they thought, they straight up said," Maybe if you cut out all of the story you could have put it on a crappy version of SNL, Madtv perhaps, and spared everyone of the story." That was my dad... My mom,"It seems like they put all the best jokes in the commercials, which could have been on MadTv as a fake commercial." And I said,"Ya, the movie based itself on a joke that just sucked." And they both concluded, "Ya, we kinda saw that, we knew it was going to suck, we just wanted to see the movie that was supposed to be revolutionary." ("Ya that movie was pretty forgettable,"... "What movie?" And we all laughed) that part didn't actually happen but it pretty much summed up how we felt. Its actually funny I wasn't going to see the movie until my parents took me because I didn't want to see the movie that spawned, "High Five", "Great Success", and "Very Nice" the phrases I heard everywhere too many times and I didn't think were funny at all. And it seemed like everyone was watching it because it was controversial. Why did I give it a 3? I think that the movie actually tried to make a good joke and completely failed in execution. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
0
DavidPJul 7, 2009
This movie is over-hyped garbage. I don't understand how this movie has such a high Metascore and some really good movies have such low ones. The entire Borat Metacritic page is a testament to how unreliable professional critics are at This movie is over-hyped garbage. I don't understand how this movie has such a high Metascore and some really good movies have such low ones. The entire Borat Metacritic page is a testament to how unreliable professional critics are at telling a good movie apart from a bad one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TBoneNov 10, 2006
I thought that the movie could have been way better. It was not offensive to me at all so I don't know what those people are talking about. It would be offensive if someone was actually seriously saying and doing some of the stuff but I thought that the movie could have been way better. It was not offensive to me at all so I don't know what those people are talking about. It would be offensive if someone was actually seriously saying and doing some of the stuff but it was fake! I laughed but I found myself wondering why I payed to see this movie when you can see funnier Borat sketches on Da Ali G Show. Funny but not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DunceCapNov 18, 2006
This isn't art nor comedy. It is a crude and disgusting misuse of the arts. The fact that the star is himself a JEW doesn't give him the right to be antisemitc, against gays, femininists, politicians and portray American's as This isn't art nor comedy. It is a crude and disgusting misuse of the arts. The fact that the star is himself a JEW doesn't give him the right to be antisemitc, against gays, femininists, politicians and portray American's as idiotic juvenile racist hate mongers for the sake of comedy. And for the American critics to embrace this moron and compare this work to Gone With The Wind is a mockery of the Hollywood film industry. This is an awful film that grows old quickly and runs out of steam leaving its audience feeling quite uncomfortable; except for those teenagers that enjoy cruelty to others and bathroom humor. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnW.Nov 10, 2006
This movie is one of sheer comedic assult on america. It is meant to be funny yet it is also supposed to make people think twice when they see a forigner. As the movie goes on you see how Sacha Baron Cohen is treated. Not only how he is This movie is one of sheer comedic assult on america. It is meant to be funny yet it is also supposed to make people think twice when they see a forigner. As the movie goes on you see how Sacha Baron Cohen is treated. Not only how he is treated but in some situations how several americans find his antics to be funny and in certain situations demed okay to play along. Also anyone who finds it inappropriate just wasted their money and didn't understand the idea behind the moive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadM.Nov 20, 2006
Very nice!! This is the funniest most daring, brave, original movie to come out in years. This man has balls the size of planets to pull something like this off. I am not easy to make feel uncomfortable, but this film had me squirming in my Very nice!! This is the funniest most daring, brave, original movie to come out in years. This man has balls the size of planets to pull something like this off. I am not easy to make feel uncomfortable, but this film had me squirming in my seat and laughing throughout. If you are ultra-conservative this is NOT the movie for you....or maybe it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshGNov 28, 2006
I have a pathological sense of my superiority over others and enjoy past times such as lighting three-legged cats on fire, Greg. This movie is just another attack on American sensitivity. Don't get me wrong I'm American but I have a pathological sense of my superiority over others and enjoy past times such as lighting three-legged cats on fire, Greg. This movie is just another attack on American sensitivity. Don't get me wrong I'm American but I'm not the first one to say people need to laugh at themselves. At least I have the guts to admit my faults you cowards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanNov 4, 2006
It's scathing satire, but there have been other scathing satires. It's low brow humor, but there are tons of gross-out comedies. It's a mockumentary that mixes reality and fiction, but other shows and movies have done that. It's scathing satire, but there have been other scathing satires. It's low brow humor, but there are tons of gross-out comedies. It's a mockumentary that mixes reality and fiction, but other shows and movies have done that. It's slapstick, but so are the Three Stooges and Charlie Chaplin. It's surreal humor, but so is Strangelove. It's a road movie, a buddy film. But most of fucking all, it's a mixture of everything i just listed in the mst fabulous way, and this mixture of so many different strands of comedy, done well, will obviously create its own totally unique blend. Because what is any original concept, but merely a great mixture of previous concepts. In short, this is a very unique, original, even groundbreaking movie, and in our generation where most concepts are rehashed, that is praise enough, But somehow, it also manages to be a consistently enjoyable, funny-from-beginning-to-end film. And that alone is also rare enough. It didn't make me laugh quite as hard as some critics said it would, but it had me giggling the whole time, and with the other qualities i just mentioned . . . how can i really give this lower than a 10? It's a landmark. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattTNov 4, 2006
I don't think there was ever more than 30 seconds that I wasn't being entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VikramM.Nov 4, 2006
Honestly one of the funniest films I have seen all year and maybe one of the funniest I have seen ever. Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan is so much more than what people think it is. The Honestly one of the funniest films I have seen all year and maybe one of the funniest I have seen ever. Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan is so much more than what people think it is. The satire in the film goes very deep and interesting. We needed a movie seen through the eyes of a foreigner. It reveals the honest racist bigotry, the way we feel about certain topics, and just the honest cruel truth about people in this country. Yes the movie is not PC, it can be racist, anti-semetic, and full of sex and toilet humor, but if you get past that this movie will have you laughing for the entire 82 minutes. I quote Borat about this movie, "Very nice!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Rev.RikardNov 4, 2006
We speak politically correct, while hiding our real prejudices, biases, and yes, hatreds. If someone from an alien culture visited us they would probably judge us as bizarre. Sacha Baron Cohen took this bizarre culure and slapped us across We speak politically correct, while hiding our real prejudices, biases, and yes, hatreds. If someone from an alien culture visited us they would probably judge us as bizarre. Sacha Baron Cohen took this bizarre culure and slapped us across the face in open challenge. Deal with hypocricy or else!" I was forced into laughter, but it hurt, deeply. Others have held a mirror to this culture's face, but never at this angle. It captured our most unattractive side. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottMeekerNov 4, 2006
Stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlanG.Nov 5, 2006
Some critic compared Cohen to Chaplin. Chaplin used pathos. Cohen was just pathetic. Social commentary? Yes - on the state of art today. Angry, mean spirited and juvenile. I agree with Peter D who felt this was the Emperor's New Clothes Some critic compared Cohen to Chaplin. Chaplin used pathos. Cohen was just pathetic. Social commentary? Yes - on the state of art today. Angry, mean spirited and juvenile. I agree with Peter D who felt this was the Emperor's New Clothes phenomena. Right on Peter. Cohen is the flavor of the month soon to be forgotten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasM.Nov 5, 2006
Funniest movie of the year, or even last 2-3 years, hands down. I could see why some people wouldn't like it, it really takes some big risks, and shoves some issues in your face you might not be used to dealing with. (maybe some of that Funniest movie of the year, or even last 2-3 years, hands down. I could see why some people wouldn't like it, it really takes some big risks, and shoves some issues in your face you might not be used to dealing with. (maybe some of that man nudity was a little too much, but still hilarious in context). all things said, i'd pay to go see it again, and probably again after that, it was that funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KennethK.Nov 6, 2006
Lots of exteremely funny moments. I didn't think it was as amazing as most critics seem to think, but it was ok. I was absolutely disgusted at times, but I think Cohen did a great job exposing some of the horrors in our society in a Lots of exteremely funny moments. I didn't think it was as amazing as most critics seem to think, but it was ok. I was absolutely disgusted at times, but I think Cohen did a great job exposing some of the horrors in our society in a humorous way. Definitely makes you think. Cohen's performance was also fantastic. A great actor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisL.Nov 6, 2006
I loved the Borat's skits and was a bit afraid they would not work in a feature length movie... Well they do. This is humour at its best, when performed on unsuspecting persons, with a good dose of improv. Sasha Baron Cohen is a highly I loved the Borat's skits and was a bit afraid they would not work in a feature length movie... Well they do. This is humour at its best, when performed on unsuspecting persons, with a good dose of improv. Sasha Baron Cohen is a highly intelligent actor, never shying away from crazy situations. And in the end the movie itself is so clever, you understand Kazakhstan is not such a backward country, and the US and A is not filled with bigots and braindeads. You understand those were hyperboles and you were looking at yourself all along... and you feel good about the catharsis the movie provided to you. Thanks you Borat for making benefit to us. High five! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
QumarNov 6, 2006
This is the best COMEDY film EVER!!! This is not to humiliate the WHOLE American people. It's joking about the American racists and sexists. There's nothing to do with Kazahistan Hey John! You want disgusting. Try watching "Jackass This is the best COMEDY film EVER!!! This is not to humiliate the WHOLE American people. It's joking about the American racists and sexists. There's nothing to do with Kazahistan Hey John! You want disgusting. Try watching "Jackass Number 2." Borat is much milder even with the naked wrestling. DUMBO; so your telling us that the critics are teenagers. You are a joke! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisC.Nov 6, 2006
It is social satire. It is smart comedy. It is one of the most brilliant films to come out in a very long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhyllisM.Nov 6, 2006
I saw the movie Borat and was very shocked and disappointed about the degrading humor, but even more importantly, sad that anti-Semitism is being made into humor. There is NOTHING funny about what happened in World War II to the Jews, the I saw the movie Borat and was very shocked and disappointed about the degrading humor, but even more importantly, sad that anti-Semitism is being made into humor. There is NOTHING funny about what happened in World War II to the Jews, the gypsies, and all mankind. Today, man suffers for it still. That today Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamM.Nov 6, 2006
This movie is fantastic. Sacha Baron Cohen takes the proverbial mirror and forces us to look at our own views. This induces a mix of feelings, some funny, most painful to bear and acknowledge. If you look down a couple of posts, you can tell This movie is fantastic. Sacha Baron Cohen takes the proverbial mirror and forces us to look at our own views. This induces a mix of feelings, some funny, most painful to bear and acknowledge. If you look down a couple of posts, you can tell how effective this movie is at doing so. Amber L calls the USA a "small country." This is almost laughable. Our countries power knows no bounds. Amber, you forgot about the movie after you left the theater? Then why come and post about it after you left the theater? Interesting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayB.Nov 6, 2006
One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Combines the intelligence of Steve Martin, the confrontational manner of Andy Kaufman and the oddness of a Peter Sellers character. Long live Borat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesG.Nov 7, 2006
If you love Borat from "Da Ali G Show", than do yourself a huge favor and don't let this film ruin your fond memories. Absolutely dismal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexI.Nov 8, 2006
Brilliant satire of racism, misogyny, anti-semitism and xenophobia to unmask racism, misogyny, anti-semitism and xenophobia. Easily the funniest movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JackR.Nov 8, 2006
To the people who claim that Borat 'exposes racism and bigotry': Borat insults and ridicules everyone equally; yes, he plays off the racism of certain people, but he's just as rude and mean to people who are very kind to him. To the people who claim that Borat 'exposes racism and bigotry': Borat insults and ridicules everyone equally; yes, he plays off the racism of certain people, but he's just as rude and mean to people who are very kind to him. The fact is, Borat is an equal opportunity a**hole, and you cannot use his isolated attempts to goad racists as a backdrop for the whole movie, because it's not a focal point. This movie is repulsive and lowbrow-- in other words, typical American humor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewMDec 3, 2006
I loved this movie from start to finish and consider it one of the funniest I've seen in at least four or five years. The character Borat is so ignorant and impossible relate to that you can't help but love and laugh at him and his I loved this movie from start to finish and consider it one of the funniest I've seen in at least four or five years. The character Borat is so ignorant and impossible relate to that you can't help but love and laugh at him and his antics. Tammie: I'm going to agree with Ben on this one. Not only does Cohen's being a devout Jew make this considerably funnier, it also legitimizes his take on society. I'm not really sure how to break this to you, but Borat was not about promoting antisemitism, bigotry, or racism. On the contrary, the film brings all of these things into a stinging spotlight of critique on culture (especially American culture). Cohen may not have been trying to make a heavy-hitting commentary on society, but don't misinterpret his comedy as simple "sick" humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IssacH.Dec 3, 2006
Lewd and disgusting not funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
newyorkrDec 4, 2006
Anyone that doesn't believe that this movie was absolutly hilarious is a fool, just because of the sheer genious behind the concept of this moie.... if you don't like, I give you the Sheeny Curse... HIGH FIVE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamuelD.Dec 5, 2006
The first comedy since Zoolander to force me to go back to the cinema and watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RasputinDec 5, 2006
With so many people either loving or despising this film I had to go see it for myself. I like to laugh as much as the next person and can make fun of myself also. But this is bathroom humor at its lowest and when you take advantage of both With so many people either loving or despising this film I had to go see it for myself. I like to laugh as much as the next person and can make fun of myself also. But this is bathroom humor at its lowest and when you take advantage of both simpletons and racists to promote the almighty buck then I have a problem. There is nothing funny about this film. To the contrary it is crude and insults humankind. Put me in the camp that hated it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PierreC.Oct 26, 2006
Absolutely brilliant comedy! NIIIIIICE as Borat would say. Never have I laughed as much as when watching this film. You just cannot stop laughing! :D
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhilDec 6, 2006
This is probably the worst movie I have ever seen! I would rather have my eyes taped open and forced to watch "Dodgeball" for 24 hrs than see this movie again!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.Oct 29, 2006
This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter throughout the whole movie. Well worth the admission price. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerT.Oct 30, 2006
I have had a month to think about this film, and there is nothing worse than stating the newest is always the best, or what ever popular is great... but this is perhaps the funniest movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
D.L.Oct 30, 2006
Parody aside, this movie is racist to the core. The humor is crass and humiliating--and purely there for shock value. There is nothing intelligent about this movie--and satire is supposed to be somewhat smart, at the very least.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexP.Jan 1, 2007
This was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. All of you who are pretending to be disgusted by the film need to unwad your panties. Also, if you are going to leave a comment, please don't use words like "absouloutely". This was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. All of you who are pretending to be disgusted by the film need to unwad your panties. Also, if you are going to leave a comment, please don't use words like "absouloutely". Credibility is hard to give to someone who is an apparent spelling bee champ. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KEND.Jan 22, 2007
I thought it was rude and obnoxious! How did this movie get such good reviews?????
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RamonaT.Oct 24, 2007
If you appreciate satire , and have an open mind this is one of the most hilarious movies I've seen in the past five years .It does help to be fluent in Romanian because soon you realize that some of the scenes were produced in Romania If you appreciate satire , and have an open mind this is one of the most hilarious movies I've seen in the past five years .It does help to be fluent in Romanian because soon you realize that some of the scenes were produced in Romania and not in Kazahkstan . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RebootsDaMachinaJan 26, 2007
Occasionally hilarious. The rest of the time is pure 4th grade playground. Relies heavily on homophobic humor to create movie theater discomfort!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RD.Jan 20, 2007
Be prepared to laugh till you almost vomit. Do not read other people's reviews. Watch it on its own. Only then will you truly understand its value.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickJan 28, 2007
Funny, funny stuff. one of the best movies of the year. i feel bad for people who actually think this movie is anti-semitic. it is very pointed in its satire, but that's all it is. satire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZephyrJ.Jan 5, 2007
Just wanted to show my solidarity with my fellow viewers who absolutely loathed this garbage. I am sure many people genuinely enjoyed "Borat", without reservation, good for them. I am equally sure that many others hate themselves for liking Just wanted to show my solidarity with my fellow viewers who absolutely loathed this garbage. I am sure many people genuinely enjoyed "Borat", without reservation, good for them. I am equally sure that many others hate themselves for liking it, but are thinking, hey, everyone else loves it, I better say I do too. Cohen's act wears thin very quickly, I regret not having the sense to walk out and leave my hysterically laughing companion to his own devices. In my view, public defecation does not exactly define biting social satire. Truly, the Emperor has no clothes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonaldR.sJan 5, 2007
This is ironic satire at its best. I have read all the 0 rating user reviews and I do understand their distaste for this film. I mean, I'd rather not have to see a big ass burying the face of Cohen ever again. But that's a small This is ironic satire at its best. I have read all the 0 rating user reviews and I do understand their distaste for this film. I mean, I'd rather not have to see a big ass burying the face of Cohen ever again. But that's a small aside from the bigger issues. These reviewers distaste belies a simple fact: this film is about them and their pretense of taste, humanity, better-than-thou mentality. Here we have a fake journalist from Kazakhstan showing us his backward, racist, ignorant country and gloating about it only to come to the USofA to learn about how a glorious country can illuminate the less "illuminated" and he forces us to smell our own asses. If it makes anyone question the least of their own prejudice, then it has served a purpose. If it made them laugh in the process, all the better. It is a brilliant film. I pity those that think otherwise. Maybe they should just go to church and pretend to speak in tongues. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyN.Jan 5, 2007
This film is great and so funny. People may see it as rascist but it isn't. It's just exploiting the stupidity in people. People who enjoy a good laugh and an easy movie to watch will love this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GuzmanEiJan 6, 2007
This movie deserves a 10 on every front; the fact that I had never seen the audience in a cinemea laugh their ***es of says enough. Borat is great and so are his jokes, 10 out of 10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StueyL.Feb 10, 2007
Haha Sam F. is just as funny as Borat itself and proof that most of the film is comedic genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffC.Mar 1, 2007
Funny in parts, but really bloody gross, and I'm not squeemish. Highly overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KenMar 20, 2007
Truly tasteless and offensive. That said, it's also pretty darn funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MartinS.Mar 25, 2007
The problem with "shock humor" is that often you find your self so dumbfounded, you wind up missing the joke. Many people in the audience were in stunned silence during some of the most hilarious scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJ.Mar 29, 2007
Absolutely the funniest movie I have ever seen. Amazingly creative and funny like nothing I have ever seen before. He makes people look like absolute idiots, and makes so many jokes about his own Jewish religion that no one should take Absolutely the funniest movie I have ever seen. Amazingly creative and funny like nothing I have ever seen before. He makes people look like absolute idiots, and makes so many jokes about his own Jewish religion that no one should take seriously, as they're just just jokes. A great hilarious movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KevinH.Mar 30, 2007
Crude low brow bathroom humour. Only good for drunken frat types or hopeless stoners.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianE.Mar 6, 2007
It will make you laugh laugh laugh till it hurts and then some more, not like you've done in 10 yrs or more, wow funny right to the end. the only time you wont laugh is when it starts to hurt. 10+ see it and laugh your ass off
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KirkM.Mar 9, 2007
People who rated this low need to get a sense of humor and lighten up! Had me laughing throughout most of the movie. A one of a kind film with a good blend of low and high brow humor. See it today if you haven't already.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SebB.Mar 9, 2007
It had some damn funny parts, but it's too plot based, there's quite a bit that lags around in the second half i found. I like the show better because it's strictly about comedy and pointing out western civilization's flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobbieCApr 10, 2007
Absolutely genius! Have never, ever laughed so hard in a movie theater in my life. It is low-brow reality-tv-as-a-movie for sure, but it is so brilliant in exposing our ridiculous nature as a people that anyone without a sense of humor will Absolutely genius! Have never, ever laughed so hard in a movie theater in my life. It is low-brow reality-tv-as-a-movie for sure, but it is so brilliant in exposing our ridiculous nature as a people that anyone without a sense of humor will simply be embarassed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeApr 12, 2007
Borat is, essentially, funny. In fact, it is hilarious. But as you may have guessed from past reviews, previews, etc., it is very offensive, racist, sexist, and homophobic(some would say homoerotic, but I wouldn't because I don't Borat is, essentially, funny. In fact, it is hilarious. But as you may have guessed from past reviews, previews, etc., it is very offensive, racist, sexist, and homophobic(some would say homoerotic, but I wouldn't because I don't consider a big naked fat man very erotic). But if you can handle such things(oh, there's Jew hating too), then you should find the entire film to be hilarious as I did. But there are some things that aren' that funny(which is what brought this down to a 9), but they are small in quantity. And it really makes you think how messed up Americans can be as every person that appears in this movie is not an actor and didn't know they were being filmed(except Sacha Baron Cohen as Borat and Pamela Anderson as herself). Now we must wait for Cohen's next project. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TedY.Apr 13, 2007
"Borat" is silliness at its most trenchant, and if your sense of irony isn't factory installed, you'll probably find it horrifying. Take comfort in the thought that we get the cultural commentators and the comedians we deserve, and "Borat" is silliness at its most trenchant, and if your sense of irony isn't factory installed, you'll probably find it horrifying. Take comfort in the thought that we get the cultural commentators and the comedians we deserve, and that in Borat and Sacha Baron Cohen we have found our curse and our blessing. What makes the film lift off into the ether, though, is Baron Cohen's skills as a master ironist and physical comedian. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NDApr 1, 2007
Expected more from reading the reviews - still found a good few laughs in there - just not enough to recommend it to anyone else.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KalanC.Apr 29, 2007
Sacha is a performance artist of the highest order. Astounding how he inhabits the reality of the situation and never makes a false step out of character. Borat is a hilarious, refreshing and unique film. The sacking at the end is also Sacha is a performance artist of the highest order. Astounding how he inhabits the reality of the situation and never makes a false step out of character. Borat is a hilarious, refreshing and unique film. The sacking at the end is also incredible, and a hillarious moment of apparent spontaneity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChrisK.May 15, 2007
Weak. Dated and unoriginal. These are the same themes he's explored for 10 years now.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RogerA.May 29, 2007
Worst movie I have ever seen - nothing socially redeeming about it!! Makes Howard The Duck look like Oscar material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomG.May 6, 2007
Quite possibly one of the best comedy flicks ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AjH.Jun 2, 2007
You've gotta be kidding! This movie is SUCK, SUCK AND MORE SUCK!!! Just plain ridiculous!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianG.Jun 3, 2007
I was expecting this movie to be very funny from the quotes and stories I heard about it. Wrong. Anything that was supposed to be funny just produced a weak smile. I felt embarrassed for the filmmakers while watching this because everything I was expecting this movie to be very funny from the quotes and stories I heard about it. Wrong. Anything that was supposed to be funny just produced a weak smile. I felt embarrassed for the filmmakers while watching this because everything fell flat. People like to say 'Borat sucks......not!', but it's more like 'Borat is funny or worth watching at all.....NOT!' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RockyS.Sep 17, 2007
I have three words for this movie: obscene, vulgar, disgusting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MekhiP.Sep 7, 2007
Cohen, one of four screenwriters on "Borat," extract gems of both verbal and visual felicity throughout. None are more in-your-face--literally--than the nude wrestling match between Borat and Azamat in their Dallas hotel room. This is Cohen, one of four screenwriters on "Borat," extract gems of both verbal and visual felicity throughout. None are more in-your-face--literally--than the nude wrestling match between Borat and Azamat in their Dallas hotel room. This is followed by a chase all around the hotel, ending in a meeting room full of astonished real-life mortgage brokers. The way it's filmed it really does feel like a high-flying improvisation executed by two exceptionally brave actors. With comedy, often it's the loose, slapdash project with little evident polish or money--"Holy Grail" in the 1970s; "This Is Spinal Tap" in the 1980s--that ends up highly esteemed, endlessly quoted, labeled a classic or, like "Holy Grail," turned into a musical. "Borat" belongs in that list, even though its punches are wilder. Four years ago Cohen brought his best-known character, the faux-rapper Ali G, to the screen in "Ali G Indahouse." Unreleased theatrically in the U.S. the film was a huge hit in Britain, but it was a dumbed-down hit, raunchy and obvious. "Borat," by contrast, may be raunchy and abrasive, but dumb it's not. It sticks to its guns and stays true to Cohen's particular talents. As the man from Kazakhstan likes to say: Great success! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TamarG.Sep 7, 2007
We laugh, not only because the sequence is so shamelessly raunchy, but because the actor's physique is so consummately unappealing. Maybe it's just because I'm an American woman with the requisite body issues, but that makes We laugh, not only because the sequence is so shamelessly raunchy, but because the actor's physique is so consummately unappealing. Maybe it's just because I'm an American woman with the requisite body issues, but that makes me feel kind of bad. Borat is directed by Larry Charles, a director and producer of many episodes of Curb Your Enthusiasm, another classic in the I-can't-believe-he-just-said-that comedy canon. But Baron Cohen's jaw-dropping gall makes even Curb's Larry David look like a blushing wallflower. Whether you attribute that gall to fearless honesty or shameless crassitude is up to you. I'll just be over here, laughing so hard I aspirate my popcorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DmitriL.Sep 7, 2007
Borat is oddly endearing. While his short features on Da Ali G Show left viewers wanting more, Borat the movie sates our appetite for his loopy character.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceW.Sep 7, 2007
Cohen wrangles invitations for Borat to poshly racist Southern dinner parties, meets with nonplussed feminists (where he compares the size of the female brain to that of a squirrel), wanders dazed and confused into a holy-rolling pentecostal Cohen wrangles invitations for Borat to poshly racist Southern dinner parties, meets with nonplussed feminists (where he compares the size of the female brain to that of a squirrel), wanders dazed and confused into a holy-rolling pentecostal megachurch, and scares the bejesus out of Baywatcher Anderson. This is shockingly blunt comedy and shockingly funny, too. Cohen and Davitian are utterly fearless, poking fun not only at Americans but at the stereotype of the foreign Other as well. As of last weekend, a massive intra-studio bidding war for Cohen's next film has erupted. Oddly, the Kazakhstan Ministry of Information has gone quiet. If they're biting their tongues as hard as I did, they're going to need stitches. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewD.Sep 7, 2007
I loved this film. Sacha Baron Cohen is a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful