Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 925 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The movie film is a government assigned project to broaden and enlight people and glory of nation. Cultural learning is emportant to follow on global basis. We make our nation a better and more convenient place for house and living. Kazakhs are progressive and asstonishing people that with conclusion of project will have new optimistic approach in daily life in world of same people. Our film will bring the US & A closer to us. We help with needs of kazakh knowledge and Us&a culture is positive step for future of our glorious nation. (20th Century Fox) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    100
    Absurd, outrageous, gross, disturbing, insightful, and so funny it’ll burst half the blood vessels in your face.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    100
    A comic put-on of awe-inspiring crudity and death-defying satire and by a long shot the funniest film of the year. It is "Jackass" with a brain and Mark Twain with full frontal male nudity.
  3. 100
    Very nice. I like Borat very much. I think it is, as everybody has been saying, the funniest movie in years.
  4. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    90
    Uproariously funny mockumentary.
  5. Baron Cohen brings scary conviction to the performance.
  6. The weapon wielded by Cohen and Charles is crudeness. People today, especially those in public life, can disguise prejudice in coded language and soft tones. Bigotry is ever so polite now. So the filmmakers mean to drag the beast out into the sunlight of brilliant satire and let everyone see the rotting, stinking, foul thing for what it is. When you laugh at something that is bad, it loses much of its power.
  7. Except for a screamingly funny climax in which he attempts to kidnap Pamela Anderson (who reportedly wasn't in on the joke), I found the Borat feature (directed by Larry Charles, who does similar duties on "Curb Your Enthusiasm") depressing; and the paroxysms of the audience reinforced the feeling that I was watching a bearbaiting or pigsticking.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Kent
    Nov 17, 2006
    10
    This movie was hillarious, plain and simple. It shows how us as Americans have come a long way since slavery, but we are still a bunch of homophobic, racist and greedy people. This is true people, and just because this guy points that out doesnt make him a bad person or this movie mean and offensive. If this isn't true why arent gay marriages legal, why are we in Iraq? Greed. And why are most of those under the poverty line minorities? This guy points out America's shortcomings and hateful ways in a refreshingly utterly hillarious way. Expand
  2. JeremyM.
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    Personally, I think that it is about time we were shown how we are so ignorant. This humor was so much more than your straight jokes. It had a deeper meaning, and I think those who were offended/misunderstanding of this film should not vote becuase they are ignorant of this film. The nude scenes were not overdone, they were hilarious, the parody of Kazahkstan and how it is poor and backwards was done to an extent that it was a joke, not how it is in real life. We are, as a people are dumb. Hell, 87% of the people in this country cannot find our own country on a map, so who are we to complain? Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    It's a little genius of a comic film with a genius comic behind him. Baron Cohen somehow mixes the ridiculous with the believeable to make people think he really is Borat and then makes the American people look stupid and foolish. But is there some dark, underlying, non-comic theme here? Maybe America isn't such a great nation as we all like to think. Expand
  4. JimmyHarmonica
    Nov 6, 2006
    9
    Genius. To all the people who gave negative reviews, you're right. Borat is Anti-semitic, racist, sexist and lewd. It is low brow humour. But it highlights the intrinsic bigotries and prejudices which proliferate our society, and it laughs hard at it. Have a look at yourselves in the mirror America, because this is what the rest of the world thinks of you. Expand
  5. JoshE.
    Nov 5, 2006
    7
    Very funny in many parts and interesting for the vision it presents of parts of America that many never get to see and the ignorance that pervades it. However, the narrative is a weak skeleton holding together what are very funny bits. In this sense the movie fails for trying to be more than it is. The crowd I was with loved it to death, but I left feeling I had already seen most of it on HBO, and in a better format. Good for a laugh but for $10 I wonder a bit. Expand
  6. GeoffB.
    Dec 6, 2006
    4
    I find it most useful in thinking about Borat to imagine it as a fully scripted movie (and judging from the lawsuits it might well have been) as opposed to the "reality movie" it was billed as. Would the New York times have called a scripted scene mocking drunk mysognistic frat boys "brilliant...social satire"? I imagine the phrase would have been "tired old cliche". Or how about those stuffy southerners? They totally freak when you bring your own feces to the dinner table. I think I have seen about half a dozen similar scenes in those teen comedies so deliciously panned. That isn't to say it wasn't funny. It was very very funny. But so was Jackass, American Pie, Harold and Kumar. Those movies took my nine bucks and made me laugh, but they did not pretend to have brilliant insights of American mores. Borat on the otherhand, he took my nine bucks, he made me laugh, and the only insight I got was that America loves a bandwagon. They just cant wait to jump on. Expand
  7. JimK.
    Nov 5, 2006
    0
    This has to be one of the most insulting, base and least funny "comedies" of all time. The laughs were mostly that of embarassment or disgust. I love to laugh and have a reasonable tolerance for crude humor but this was just not funny and the biggest waste of money I've suffered in years. Don't go! If you must see it wait for the DVD. It will probably be out in 3 weeks. Expand

See all 437 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: November 3, 2010
    Friday's new comedy "Due Date" is only the latest example of one of Hollywood's favorite genres. Join us as we journey through three decades of road movies, from "Vacation" to "Sideways."
  2. Ranked: The Best/Worst Movies Based on TV Shows

    Ranked: The Best/Worst Movies Based on TV Shows Image
    Published: June 8, 2010
    The A-Team is only the latest TV show to make the jump to the big screen -- a journey that isn't always successful. We highlight 10 previous adaptations worth seeking out, and five to avoid at all costs.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.