Twentieth Century Fox | Release Date: April 17, 2019
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 30 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
4
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
clarkaddisonMay 4, 2019
A great film to watch for Christians and a good film to watch if you want to see hope. A feel good movie that will leave you feeling alot of emotions. Some complaints could be the long ending but the first half of the film is great and getsA great film to watch for Christians and a good film to watch if you want to see hope. A feel good movie that will leave you feeling alot of emotions. Some complaints could be the long ending but the first half of the film is great and gets the emotions going. Perfectly fine film for all ages. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Firecracker169Apr 18, 2019
I enjoyed "I Can Only Imagine" last year and now I enjoyed Breakthrough." Sure, the the moral is VERY similar to every true story religious movie, and that's a given when you go into one of these movies, but the casting and story wereI enjoyed "I Can Only Imagine" last year and now I enjoyed Breakthrough." Sure, the the moral is VERY similar to every true story religious movie, and that's a given when you go into one of these movies, but the casting and story were phenomenal for me. I am a religious person though, so take my opinion with a grain of salt. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Davidsco27Apr 18, 2019
Another Thumperfest disguised as a "True Story" When the Lame Stands Tall wasn't enough, I Can Only Imagine wasn't enough, Woodlawn wasn't enough, no, Movie goers have to repeatedly be assaulted by these overblown phony pablum puke filmsAnother Thumperfest disguised as a "True Story" When the Lame Stands Tall wasn't enough, I Can Only Imagine wasn't enough, Woodlawn wasn't enough, no, Movie goers have to repeatedly be assaulted by these overblown phony pablum puke films trying to shove Jesus and the bible down out throats. The WORST is when they try and hide it, and you go to what looks to be an interesting story film and find yourself bludgeoned with BS. This one is over the top with the hoaky baloney. Please, keep your religious crap in your church for the people who are truly looking to be propagandized, fooled, and BS'd Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MRERM83Jul 26, 2019
Seems like religious haters and atheists are quick to leave their undesirable opinions on a movie that us with faith don't need their criticisms. This is a very good movie so let them hate. We will love and believe.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JamesIrish68May 22, 2019
Breakthrough is a unashamedly Christian movie about the power of faith and prayer. Definitely not for atheists or the hardcore who don't understand or scoff at middle America. It's not an Oscar candidate of course, more a TV movie really, butBreakthrough is a unashamedly Christian movie about the power of faith and prayer. Definitely not for atheists or the hardcore who don't understand or scoff at middle America. It's not an Oscar candidate of course, more a TV movie really, but you can't fault it's sincerity or be touched emotionally for that matter. I was impressed that it cast a very overweight actress as lead.She's very good. The mainstream would never do that despite all the lip service to diversity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviecritic68May 25, 2019
An awesome true story played out on screen with a so-so rendition. Even with unknown actors portraying the roles, the story generates a lot of emotion on it's own.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mohamad91hkJul 19, 2019
Faith-based film of an unbelievable story of survival, told through a religious lens, whether or not you believe in the power of prayers to raise the dead, we can look at the incident as an inspired story, how the mother (Chrissy) loved herFaith-based film of an unbelievable story of survival, told through a religious lens, whether or not you believe in the power of prayers to raise the dead, we can look at the incident as an inspired story, how the mother (Chrissy) loved her son and believed that he will be recovered regardless of the doctor's opinion, I think sometimes we need to believe in something that has more power than science to save who we love even if it let us down.

Solid performance by Chrissy Metz, she was perfect in the mother role. Actually, it's a good movie to watch for believers and maybe unlikable for non-believers, because "Breakthrough" focus a little more on the mother's faith and the prayers of the entire community.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
manningn15Apr 24, 2019
Breakthrough is one of my favorite movies of 2019, my 2nd favorite drama of 2019, my favorite Christian movie of all time, one of my favorite drama movies of all time, and one of my favorite movies of all time. Chrissy Metz's performance asBreakthrough is one of my favorite movies of 2019, my 2nd favorite drama of 2019, my favorite Christian movie of all time, one of my favorite drama movies of all time, and one of my favorite movies of all time. Chrissy Metz's performance as Joyce Smith was stupendous she put so much emotion and power into her performance, her performance was breathtaking. Josh Lucas, Topher Grace, Marcel Ruiz, and Dennis Haysbert also gave fantastic performances. This movie was inspirational, beautiful, heartbreaking, heartwarming, and the most emotional movie I have ever seen. I cried throughout the whole movie. The screenplay and writing were spectacular. Also the soundtrack and the music that was in the movie was beautiful and terrific. Breakthrough gets a A+ from me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
beeanadouAug 7, 2019
Several places were overacted and easily predicted; this could be a better movie but the director made it too preaching-like and boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CelebornApr 19, 2019
Some of these user reviewers let their emotions get the best of them. Like seriously, how are these people allowed to make reviews? I mean, they clearly haven’t watched the movie and given a fair assessment. But whatever, I’ll keep my reviewSome of these user reviewers let their emotions get the best of them. Like seriously, how are these people allowed to make reviews? I mean, they clearly haven’t watched the movie and given a fair assessment. But whatever, I’ll keep my review short. The storyline is very good, Chrissy Metz and Topher Grace are fantastic and the cinematography is way better than any “faith based” film I’ve seen as of late. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DerekReideMay 14, 2019
'Breakthrough' is the best faith-based film I've seen, period. Great amounts of the film are leaving you laughing, crying hard, and feeling warm after seeing this. Chrissy Metz and Josh Lucas give seriously emotional performances that impact'Breakthrough' is the best faith-based film I've seen, period. Great amounts of the film are leaving you laughing, crying hard, and feeling warm after seeing this. Chrissy Metz and Josh Lucas give seriously emotional performances that impact you most throughout the movie's runtime. It's a perfect movie to show to family and this is definitely so far in my top five films this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dubbieApr 19, 2019
You may be ashamed you cried at this movie but you willl not feel manipluted. A great story. Careful, it could inspire you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Aaronnicole035May 22, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Loved the film had me and my girlfriend crying love the fun soundtrack is on Spotify Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Mauro_LanariSep 28, 2019
(Mauro Lanari)
Roxan Dawson's debut proposes the return to the fold of Christian theism as panacea against nihilism, and not the Nietzschean one but the one that in Western culture begins with the fatalistic epic of Homer. The resounding
(Mauro Lanari)
Roxan Dawson's debut proposes the return to the fold of Christian theism as panacea against nihilism, and not the Nietzschean one but the one that in Western culture begins with the fatalistic epic of Homer. The resounding success of Kendrick's films guarantees her that she won't need much faith to be sure of the box office takings. And she eludes the age-old problem that thaumaturgy is taboritically ephemeral and sporadically widespread because, evangelically and factually, it is only a "firstfruit of the Spirit" (Romans 8:23) for proselytizing purpose.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DadCeloAug 31, 2019
Cute, emotional story that pushes too hard the Christian agenda. The acting was ok, but it left me feeling like I was being indoctrinated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews