Netflix | Release Date: December 22, 2017
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 875 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
625
Mixed:
136
Negative:
114
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
trungJan 2, 2018
I watched this movie because my brother insisted that it was the best movie of 2017, despite the negative reviews from critics. While many critics were too harsh on this film, I agree to some extent with the critiques on the bland sceneI watched this movie because my brother insisted that it was the best movie of 2017, despite the negative reviews from critics. While many critics were too harsh on this film, I agree to some extent with the critiques on the bland scene framing and script writing. I also did not like the fast-paced sentimentality that tried too hard to appeal to pathos (no spoilers, ski-cap). Despite the mediocre aspects of the movie, I enjoyed watching it for fun. I wouldn't agree with my brother that this is one of the best movies of the year, but it doesn't deserve a zero. User sterge10 on metacritic commented that the movie, "meld Will Smith's other buddy cop movies Bad Boys with Dungeons & Dragons." I think totally agree with him. This is one of the film's mighty orcish strengths, it's urban-fantasy uniqueness that people tend to find in comics, cartoons, video games, and tabletop roleplaying games. I'm glad such a genre is finding its way to, errrr, digital cinema through this movie. This unique, overly decent, and fun film should definitely have scored higher with the critics. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
6
Viktory_GamingJan 2, 2018
Probably a lot of people who will disagree with me on this judging by the user reviews but I was not thrilled with this movie. I liked the concept and I thought it was very ambitious but everything else fell short. The plot was very strangeProbably a lot of people who will disagree with me on this judging by the user reviews but I was not thrilled with this movie. I liked the concept and I thought it was very ambitious but everything else fell short. The plot was very strange so it took me a while to wrap my head around it. No chemistry between Will and Joel at all for most of the movie. The action was fun but unfortunately that's one of the only positives here. This isn't a bad movie or a good one just mediocre. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Dec 28, 2017
An interesting idea executed in a very simplistic way, its protagonists do a good job, especially Joel Edgerton, but the film never provides something more substantial and ends up as an empty and forgettable entertainment experience.

If the
An interesting idea executed in a very simplistic way, its protagonists do a good job, especially Joel Edgerton, but the film never provides something more substantial and ends up as an empty and forgettable entertainment experience.

If the sequel arrives, I expect something much better.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
BrianMcCriticDec 25, 2017
A film that manages to take Will Smith's most compelling attributes his wit and charm and buries them. The film is competently made and has some interesting ideas, but most of the fantasy elements come across poorly developed. An okay movieA film that manages to take Will Smith's most compelling attributes his wit and charm and buries them. The film is competently made and has some interesting ideas, but most of the fantasy elements come across poorly developed. An okay movie that's watchable but not much else. C Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
6
Truth_of_PiscesDec 24, 2017
Is it a great movie? No. Is it David Ayer's best movie? Absolutely not. But there's enough fantastical craziness packed in to at least warrant a look. It doesn't do the best job of world building, and some plot lines might fall a bit flat orIs it a great movie? No. Is it David Ayer's best movie? Absolutely not. But there's enough fantastical craziness packed in to at least warrant a look. It doesn't do the best job of world building, and some plot lines might fall a bit flat or incoherent; complete suspension of disbelief is practically required for this movie. Will Smith is back...doing Will Smith, like he does...all the time, never changing. Joel Edgerton does a decent job of playing an Orc, and is definitely the better of the two characters. Plot-wise, this film is more or less a hybrid of "End of Watch" meets "Street Kings". Only one of those movies was any good, so make of that what you will. Overall, I did not dislike this film and I am curious to see what the sequel will bring, but as of right now, it's just another "okay" or "meh" David Ayer film. At least it's not as bad as Suicide Squad. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesJan 5, 2018
It’s not the apocalyptic piece of trash Twitter has led you to believe critics painted it as, but it’s pretty ugly-looking and dimly lit. Passable enough entertainment, but Will Smith deserves better.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
DXGabrielDec 26, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I watched Bright thinking it would be an masterpiece, however i was wrong. The Universe created would really make a good series, but instead, they released this movie, which could have been much better if just a cop movie in a different universe.

The movie is good until they introduce the main plot point, which is magic.

The magic in this movie is extremely dull, and introduced in the movie too late.

The villians say they will "revive The Dark Lord", but the villians (who are extremely dull and boring) never do so.

This is just my opinion, and what i thought about the movie when i watched it.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
Nick_MadJan 8, 2018
Bright is just another action movie. I don't know why critics hate it so much. Maybe there was a high expectations,But You can watch it on Netflix once with popcorn and I am sure that you don't want to watch it anymore. It's just normal.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
artriskDec 25, 2017
The idea of Bright is a good one the only issue I had with this "movie" is it seemed more like a pilot episode for a Netflix series that I would really like to see. I felt like I was not being told anything in the story because there wouldThe idea of Bright is a good one the only issue I had with this "movie" is it seemed more like a pilot episode for a Netflix series that I would really like to see. I felt like I was not being told anything in the story because there would the 12 more episodes to fill me in about how this world worked. Yet that is not the case this is the whole stand-a-lone movie. I have no idea what the prophecy was or what would even be gained by fulfilling the prophecy, or what the prophecy needed in ordered to be fulfilled. Why are elves rich? They hint it is because of the wands but again no real answer. Like a TV pilot it was just a lot of open ends that if you don't think about why the world worked like it did it was a good movie. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
raporgiDec 22, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was done better in Alien NAtion which is pretty Jurassic at this point. Character are just underdeveloped and boring. No clever world building, other cops r just painted as one-dimensional bigots. I cant believe this cost $90mil. Did Will Smith take more than half the budget? Its feels like a cheap TV movie. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
5
TalulaGreyDec 24, 2017
This could have been so good, and the movie did have some good moments but, it wasn't enough to lift it any higher. When Will Smith does his "Will Smith" it's not at all funny, and there's not enough back story presented to help me connect toThis could have been so good, and the movie did have some good moments but, it wasn't enough to lift it any higher. When Will Smith does his "Will Smith" it's not at all funny, and there's not enough back story presented to help me connect to the characters. I thought everyone was just 'okay' and I didn't care if certain people lived or died because I didn't know enough about them to care one way or another. It also seemed preachy to me, as though they were trying to teach me something. Joel Edgerton did so well in Midnight Special that I was looking forward to seeing him in this but the director didn't get anything out of him. What a complete waste of talent. The good moments were all the fight scenes. Noomi Rapace is great as Leilah and her fight sequences are outstanding. In all I'd say that giving it 5 out of 10 is pretty generous. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
grant28304Jan 14, 2018
This is a pretty standard action/fantasy movie. It pretty much delivers on what the trailers were showing. The movie isn't great but was enjoyable and entertaining.

The Good The action in the movie is entertaining. The movie starts a bit
This is a pretty standard action/fantasy movie. It pretty much delivers on what the trailers were showing. The movie isn't great but was enjoyable and entertaining.

The Good
The action in the movie is entertaining.
The movie starts a bit slow but picks up.
The movie gives enough of the setting to draw you in.

The Bad
The social commentary at the beginning of the movie hit you over the head.
The dialogue isn't well written, and many times it sounds cliche and cheesy.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
123579Dec 22, 2017
The premise of this movie is really cool. Unfortunately, the writing is terrible. Max Landis keeps writing garbage script after garbage script, yet still is employed as a writer. It makes me think there's something going on, uh, under theThe premise of this movie is really cool. Unfortunately, the writing is terrible. Max Landis keeps writing garbage script after garbage script, yet still is employed as a writer. It makes me think there's something going on, uh, under the table, if you catch my drift. all in all, it's an interesting premise with horrible writing. The two balance each other out to make something watchable but mediocre Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingDec 25, 2017
"Bright" is uneven in terms of social commentary. However, in terms of its premise, world building, as well as sheer entertainment, it shines.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
KurschDec 24, 2017
Part "Colors", "Lord of the Rings" and "Alien Nation" the film Bright is an ambitious project that could have been fantastic, but settles for being an action packed buddy cop comedy. It is neither horrible or amazing, but a fun ride thatPart "Colors", "Lord of the Rings" and "Alien Nation" the film Bright is an ambitious project that could have been fantastic, but settles for being an action packed buddy cop comedy. It is neither horrible or amazing, but a fun ride that should smooth over bumpy plot holes and sophomoric dialogue. It's entertaining, and if you've ever played Shadow Run then this film is right up your alley. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
prtcannonDec 23, 2017
Bright is one of the first “big” Netflix attempts at making a feature-length, ready-for-the-theater movie. It probably sounded good (or at least interesting) on paper, but it plays out as an awkward, uneven mess; it often feels more like anBright is one of the first “big” Netflix attempts at making a feature-length, ready-for-the-theater movie. It probably sounded good (or at least interesting) on paper, but it plays out as an awkward, uneven mess; it often feels more like an ill-conceived SNL sketch than a fully developed movie that has something revelatory to say about the current state of race relations in America.

The Will Smith and Joel Edgerton vehicle is a genre hybrid that could be summed up as Training Day meets Lord of the Rings. The movie is set in a version of modern-day Los Angeles where humans, orc, elves, and other species interact with one another as part of their daily routine, but they occupy different “districts” or neighborhoods. bright movieThe past incursions/wars they all have been involved with–we’re talking thousands of years prior–have led to bouts of blatant discrimination and segregation. The Los Angeles Police Department is aware of the need for change, though, and has taken up a mandate that has the world’s first orc police officer, Nick Jakoby (Egerton), to be partnered with a human, Daryl Ward (Smith). An early moment of action finds the duo on the outs and having to sort through an issue that permeates the remainder of the film; Ward is shot by an orc, and it is believed that Jakoby lets the offender get away because of the “clan law” that dictates orc culture. The world-building in Bright that leads to these kinds of rules is more than a little vague; as viewers, we’re given tidbits here and there about how the various cultures in this universe interact with one another, but it’s like being presented with a puzzle that’s missing 50% of the pieces. We’re just supposed to accept at face value that all of these species don’t get along and the situation likely won’t ever change. Again, the movie is really trying to work toward some semblance of subtext or a contemporary revelation, but we aren’t given enough backstory to really understand what has caused things to become so awful.

Given the presence of orcs and elves, it should come as little surprise that magic is a real thing in this universe. The MacGuffin here is a wand that is said to grant its operator anything he or she desires: destruction, riches, so on and so forth. Only a “Bright” can successfully wield a wand; if a non-Bright touches a wand, they are summarily incinerated. Long story short: crooked cops want the wand, because, well, money; Ward is going to stop these crooked cops with the help of Jakoby, but they soon realize there are also insidious elves on the hunt for the magical device because, well, reasons. The very premise of the movie requires some monumental suspension of disbelief, which is fine, but nothing is fleshed out in any clear way; the whole effort ends up feeling like a wasted experiment. Those familiar with the aforementioned Training Day will discover, too, that an important narrative moment is directly lifted from that film. This was an overwhelming distraction for me–any originality the movie seemed to initially possess dissolved when I recalled where I’d seen things play out in a similar way in an earlier movie (in hindsight, this shouldn’t be surprising considering David Ayer’s involvement with both films). One other note: there is a moment where a gang of orcs encounters Ward and Jakoby early in the story. We’re supposed to take it seriously, but seeing magical creatures dressed in contemporary clothing and acting tough ended up resulting–at least for me–in a bout of unintentional hilarity. This is an example of the kinds of problems that the movie is never really able to shake; it’s all so absurd and borderline comical that it’s hard to buy into anything.

Though there was a lot of potential here, Bright ends up being a poorly conceived genre mashup that falters under the weight of its missteps. The narrative self-plagiarism is a problem, too. For a buddy cop movie about a human and an orc trying to stop an elf with a magic wand, it just isn’t very original.
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoDec 23, 2017
After Suicide Squad, David Ayer enters the Netflix streaming platform with "Bright". But unfortunately I enter in a resounding way. The idea is great, but the story is irregular and raw. The performances are bad, although the makeup was goodAfter Suicide Squad, David Ayer enters the Netflix streaming platform with "Bright". But unfortunately I enter in a resounding way. The idea is great, but the story is irregular and raw. The performances are bad, although the makeup was good and the special effects were the same. This is more like a Grand Theft Auto combined with Lord of the Rings, resulting in a terrible consequence. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
4
Creeper3455Dec 22, 2017
When 2017 started,movie fans were not only ready for the arrival of new blockbusters (Justice League,Thor Ragnarok etc.),but they were also excited to open the doors to new worlds. And with movies like Geostorm and The Snowman it could'veWhen 2017 started,movie fans were not only ready for the arrival of new blockbusters (Justice League,Thor Ragnarok etc.),but they were also excited to open the doors to new worlds. And with movies like Geostorm and The Snowman it could've been a thing,but if you cast the wrong director,everything will go downhill like your Maths test. And that's what Bright feels like: A $90 Million disaster,if not also a proof that 2017 is also going to be known as a year of wasted opportunities.
David Ayer (Fury,Suicide Squad) tries to cram everything he could to try and make a cohesive story,from 'Cop Movie' cliches to 'Chosen One' cliches,full of nonsensical and sometimes unnecessary jokes (except one about Shrek that made me laugh hard),as well as some wooden acting from Will Smith and Joel Edgerton. Oh,and to top everything up,try listening to some weird Rap/Hip-Hop music while you're watching it. Everything is there as you'd expect,and boy there were a lot of those moments,but there were some things i ''did'' like. The makeup of the creatures,for example (even if it was poor for a $90 Mil. Budget,it still looked fine.) and some of the special effects were impressive (for the minor part). But it's not enough to save the expensive Netflix disaster that is ''Bright''. Now,is this the worst movie of 2017? Nah. Ok,it's in the Top 10,but maybe as a Dishonorable Mention. And yes,it was surprising for me to say that Suicide Squad (whle being flat-out passable) is a classic when compared to this.
Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
6
Aloxb3Dec 24, 2017
Eu não consigo entender porque a nota dos criticos "profissionais" foi tão baixa. "Bright" não vai ter indicações ao Oscar e nem vai se tornar um clássico mas, não é um filme ruim. O seu enredo e desenvolvimento é bom, assim como os atores, aEu não consigo entender porque a nota dos criticos "profissionais" foi tão baixa. "Bright" não vai ter indicações ao Oscar e nem vai se tornar um clássico mas, não é um filme ruim. O seu enredo e desenvolvimento é bom, assim como os atores, a fotografia, a edição e a direção. Não é uma obra-prima mas com certeza é uma obra muito satisfatória pra quem foi ao cinema querendo assistir um bom filme! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
cagriozturkDec 25, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Senaryo aceleye getirilmiş...Cevaplanması gereken bir sürü soru var...Will Smith nasıl bright olmuş , dünya nasıl o hale gelmiş vs vs.... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
BashBashBoomDec 24, 2017
Whilst Bright is a flawed film with some obvious "plot twists" anyone could see a mile away and some pretty dodgy dialogue, I don't believe it's a terrible film like many critics and review sites are insisting. The film had some veryWhilst Bright is a flawed film with some obvious "plot twists" anyone could see a mile away and some pretty dodgy dialogue, I don't believe it's a terrible film like many critics and review sites are insisting. The film had some very interesting elements involving the backstory and the lore that was unfortunately never expanded upon, but nevertheless, the story progression was decent and the main enjoyment I got from the film was watching the character arcs of Will Smith and Joel Edgerton's characters. As you go through the film it's very interesting to see how the different races interact with each other in an obvious but fairly accurate portrayal of modern society. At the end of the day, Bright is part of your Netflix subscription so there isn't really a reason to not watch it. I would say definitely give it a go, but don't expect anything special. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
BeKJan 7, 2018
Bright...
I am going to be honest, I have mixed feelings after watching this movie.
After hearing about its release date / seeing the trailer I knew I had to see it (good or bad). Reading the first reviews got me thinking about the major
Bright...
I am going to be honest, I have mixed feelings after watching this movie.
After hearing about its release date / seeing the trailer I knew I had to see it (good or bad). Reading the first reviews got me thinking about the major difference in opinions between public and critics.
The conclusion from my point of view is that the movie is pretty bad, the only thing holding it together is the visuals and the world they were trying to create (on which they probably should have focused more on).
In many situations it reminded me of Suicide Squad (and all of its flaws). The character chemistry was bad, most of the plot points were lost along the way replaced by explosions and violence, and that didn't help the movie in any way. Basically it didn't captivate me one bit, there were only minor moments when it caught my attention, the rest was mostly unrelatable and impersonal.
It was not as bad as critics said but it was not nearly as good as the major public considered. I am now waiting to see if the sequel could be some improvements (but that is highly likely).
I am new at this review "thing", so please feel free to share your thoughts on my review. Thank you!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Tss5078Sep 17, 2018
In the world of Bright, almost all fiction creatures exist and are integrated into modern society with man kind. In the city of Los Angeles, people are up in arms over the first Orc to join the LAPD. No one is happy about it, least of all hisIn the world of Bright, almost all fiction creatures exist and are integrated into modern society with man kind. In the city of Los Angeles, people are up in arms over the first Orc to join the LAPD. No one is happy about it, least of all his partner, Daryl Ward (Will Smith) who has already taken a bullet because of him. One night, while out on patrol the pair come across a unique threat, one that could change the world forever, but can human and Orc come together to put an end to it? Could somebody please tell me what all the hype surrounding this movie is about? It is the biggest Netflix film to date, a sequel was announced before it even debuted, and while critics universally panned it, fans have turned it into a cult classic, dedicating all kinds of things to it on the web. As for me, I was excited about it, but just like every other David Ayer film I've ever seen, I was sorely disappointed. People were saying how unique and innovative this film is, maybe, if you've never seen another science fiction film before in your entire life! Every aspect of this film, from the racism towards other species to the integration of man and creature has been done to death! Themes like this in Science Fiction are metaphors for racial inequality and have been done in film and on television since the civil rights movement! Will Smith stars and once again thinks it's 1992, he's a teen heartthrob, and everything he says people are going to find hilarious. Much like Hancock, Ward is completely out of touch with modern audiences and geared toward a much younger crowd. I really don't understand how Will Smith can be outstanding in things like the Men In Black series and then just step back into roles like this. The rest of the cast was equally laughable, as was much of the story, but similar to Ayer's last big budget film, Suicide Squad, the plot is outstanding. It's the kind of thing that could have gone right so many different ways, but instead was just so badly butchered by shotty directing, terrible storytelling, and immature humor, that after a while, Bright is pretty much unwatchable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Jes1310Feb 12, 2018
Bright isnt half as bad as the critics say... but it isnt good either. There are some very fine moments, and some cool ideas. But the history is just bad, and espcially the last 15 minutes is pure sillyness. Why does the immortal elvesBright isnt half as bad as the critics say... but it isnt good either. There are some very fine moments, and some cool ideas. But the history is just bad, and espcially the last 15 minutes is pure sillyness. Why does the immortal elves suddenly become so easy to beat... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RisaxJan 11, 2018
I got drawn in by the premise, modern fantasy were there is no masquerade? It sounded like a lot of fun, and reminded me of Shadowrun in some ways.

Watching the movie itself, however, it had kind of a slow start. The way it handled Orcs, the
I got drawn in by the premise, modern fantasy were there is no masquerade? It sounded like a lot of fun, and reminded me of Shadowrun in some ways.

Watching the movie itself, however, it had kind of a slow start. The way it handled Orcs, the police and all that jazz was done in a pretty heavy handed way and obviously supposed to reflect how it's going over in the US. Once stuff like the Inferni and Wands got involved and we moved away a bit from the social commentary it started getting better.

That being said, the story was still fairly clichéd. McGuffin that the bad guys are after that the good guys need to protect that only certain people can use, though in the end our hero proves to be some chosen one. The action itself was still fairly decent, the characters varried. I really love Joel Edgerton's performance as Nick Jakoby. A lot of other actors just seemed to ham it up, especially the other cops. Who were behaving almost cartoonishly d*ckish at some point.

Overall, I'd have liked a bit more info on the world around and the history. Most of what we get is "there was a Dark Lord 2000 years ago, the Orcs sided with him and that's why we hate those guys" with a few other small snippets thrown in. I mean, I'm sure I would have complained if we got a plot dump too.

Anyway, I'm rambling. It was a decent movie overall. I'm glad they tried it, even if it wasn't the greatest. And if it ever gets a sequel, I might give it a chance.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
moviestalkerDec 31, 2017
Bright is an action packed movie filled with car chases, gun fights and smug one-liners. Not sure what the critics who bashed this film were expecting when they reviewed a film with elves, orcs and magic... Is it a great movie? Probably not.Bright is an action packed movie filled with car chases, gun fights and smug one-liners. Not sure what the critics who bashed this film were expecting when they reviewed a film with elves, orcs and magic... Is it a great movie? Probably not. Is it entertaining? Yup, very fun to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CarewolfJan 10, 2018
An interesting twist on a buddy-cop movie. A very interesting new world built up. Unfortunately it is a bit shaky in it self-confidence, for instance how accepted/common magic is. Nor do I understand why the Elves don't have a lot of troubleAn interesting twist on a buddy-cop movie. A very interesting new world built up. Unfortunately it is a bit shaky in it self-confidence, for instance how accepted/common magic is. Nor do I understand why the Elves don't have a lot of trouble with racism as well, even if they are rich.

But overall an enjoyable watch. And even with all the plotholes, it is infinitely more coherent than Last Jedi.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BLK99Dec 26, 2017
Una de tantas peliculas americanas, aburrida, predecible, llena de topicos y cliches, que cosa tan absurda, en los trailers tenia mejor pinta, aunque el desarrollo de los personajes es pobre... no es que no hay nada que destacar, falto fueUna de tantas peliculas americanas, aburrida, predecible, llena de topicos y cliches, que cosa tan absurda, en los trailers tenia mejor pinta, aunque el desarrollo de los personajes es pobre... no es que no hay nada que destacar, falto fue Will Smith empezar a soltar frases como estoy muy viejo para esto Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HsaBeastMar 8, 2018
Meh.
I was expecting better, but when I think that this movie was directed by the same guy from Suicide Squad .........
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NBFCJan 25, 2018
Using fantasy stories to provide commentary on contemporary society is hardly a new concept, especially in regards to racism. Just look no further than Dr. Seuss’ short story The Sneetches or the whole Mud-bloods vs. Pure-blood theme of theUsing fantasy stories to provide commentary on contemporary society is hardly a new concept, especially in regards to racism. Just look no further than Dr. Seuss’ short story The Sneetches or the whole Mud-bloods vs. Pure-blood theme of the Harry Potter series.

However, if there is a comparison to be made with David Ayer’s latest creation that gives an End of Watch urban cop thriller spin to a Middle Earth-esque mythos; it would be Disney’s Zootopia.

Both movies use odd else-where settings (Zootopia with anthropomorphic animals, Bright with orcs and elves) in order to examine racism and the wealth disparities that exist within our own.

I certainly give Bright plenty of credit for it’s intriguing “Middle Earth in the modern day” concept and the large amount of money that was obviously put behind it (it’s the most expensive Netflix movie yet). From a visual effects and cinematograph perspective; it’s certainly the best-looking of the Netflix features that have been released thus far.

With all it’s impressively thrilling action sequences that have all the blood and grit of those nostalgic R-rated 90’s action flicks and wild shenanigans courtesy of the MacGuffin magic wand; nothing here feels cheap or like a glorified TV movie as with some past Netflix features.

But the film’s core strength is it’s two main leads.

I’ve always loved Will Smith ever since he first stepped out of that rare cab on the popular tv show The Fresh Prince of Bel Air. Smith has a natural “adorkable” charisma that lighten up a room and posses solid acting chops to boot. Even if he may not always be in the best movies (Wild Wild West, Concussion), Smith always manages to elevate things somewhat and Bright is no exception.

Smith, much like with his previous role of Deadshot from Suicide Squad, utters plenty of hilarious one-liners while also being a more morally grey character than his previous roles. Despite being despicably racist and mean towards his Orc partner, Smith brings a certain vulnerability and humanism to the role that gives the down-on-his-luck Daryl Ward compelling layers.

Smith also shares great Bad Boys-like chemistry with co-star Joel Edgerton, who despite having to act with pounds of prosthetic Orc make-up, manages to still turn in a very solid performance. While I wish Nick Jakoby’s backstory was more thoroughly explored, Edgerton still manages to be compelling by playing up to the character’s innocence.

Much like with Ayer’s and Smith’s previous heavy flawed but enjoyable Suicide Squad, if you can accept Bright on the level of being a B-level low fantasy action flick with solid action and funny dialogue; then it’s passably fun on that level.

However, upon watching this I can’t help but feel that the concept presented would have been better served if it was a six part Netflix miniseries rather than a movie. The script is written by Max Landis; a screenwriter full of clever ideas but can’t coalesce them into a great screenplay to save his life (Ex. American Ultra, Mr. Right, Victor Frankenstein).

In all honesty, the further away we get from Chronicle, the more that movie is starting to look like a fluke.

Where the aforementioned Zootopia was able to deliver a surprisingly fair and balanced portrayal of societal racism and prejudice from all angles while still telling a compelling coherent story, Bright is not able to do the same. The first twenty minutes of this movie in particular lays the racism subtext on way too thick with particularly heavy-handed lines such as “Fairy Lives Don’t Matter”.

Sheesh, and I thought Spike Lee lacks subtlety.

Landis is also pedestrian when it comes to developing the backstory and fantasy LA setting, with the fantasy elements seemingly placed at pure random at times. For the most part Bright’s LA looks like normal LA with Orcs and Elves in it, but other times with little explanation there would be Guillermo del Toro-style magical trees, gothic seedy churches surrounded by normal square buildings, and a Dragon flying in the background (I bet a certain Dothrakian queen is worried sick right now).

There is also a subplot involving an Orc gang and Nick that is very sloppily injected into the third act that honestly felt like padding and it’s made worse by the fact that it leads to a moment that is frustratingly ripped straight from Training Day!!

I really liked the concept, the action, and the two main leads but it’s execution and attempts at world-building left much to be desired. There is a sequel currently in the works and despite my reservations, I am still personally interested enough to see what lies in store for Daryl and Nick next.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
bleboy28Feb 24, 2018
this movie is not that bad but it have a lot of promblems i think this movie tried to be somthing but... it didnt really work that good sorry will
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
amheretojudgeJan 16, 2018
i think we might be in a prophecy..

Bright

David still lacks executing intensity or even creating pressure on the characters for the audience and yes it has flaws and loopholes but it still is fun to watch and can pass as a one time watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FranbarrmanMar 11, 2018
this movie is such an interesting idea, it has good performances from smith and edgerton also great locations but sadly they couldnt make it right. Since the moment it starts it seems wrong has a bad edition, this film fails to introduce itsthis movie is such an interesting idea, it has good performances from smith and edgerton also great locations but sadly they couldnt make it right. Since the moment it starts it seems wrong has a bad edition, this film fails to introduce its world as new beacuse dont take its time to explain things. This movie feels like a secuel they asume that we know everything and that is not the case. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mmhmMay 11, 2018
A fast-paced cop-fantasy thriller that holds your attention, yet, falls short of its own promises. Will Smith and Joel Edgerton play opposite each other with alluring chemistry. Smith's frustratingly arrogant Ward and Edgerton's sincere andA fast-paced cop-fantasy thriller that holds your attention, yet, falls short of its own promises. Will Smith and Joel Edgerton play opposite each other with alluring chemistry. Smith's frustratingly arrogant Ward and Edgerton's sincere and self-deprecating Nick keep alive two believable characters in a rather unbelievable world. The strength of the film's conception lies in its lack of explanation as we find ourselves in a Skyrim meets Bad Boys alternative, but not, reality. As we are dropped into a melting pot of humans and familiar faces from fantasy, we find we are set boiling over a blazing fire, and covered with a lid that promises a rich treatment of race and law enforcement in contemporary America. But as the action develops it feels as if the film changed recipes midway through. If it began a brilliant construction of the kind that wins Oscars, the creators blow it all up like a made-for-TV cop flick. A beautiful conception with compelling, believable characters, unbelievably denied the opportunity to make what would have otherwise been a memorable and lasting exploration of one of America's most important contemporary issues. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DovahKJul 2, 2018
Es una película palomitera para verla por la tarde, sin más, no es una revolución ni creo que lo pretenda, pero tampoco es tan mala como la pintan. Entretenida sin más.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews