Netflix | Release Date: December 22, 2017
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 874 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
624
Mixed:
136
Negative:
114
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
sterge10Dec 22, 2017
Bright really highlights the growing disconnect between 'professional critics' and the people who watch films for enjoyment. It was never going to be a world beater or win an Oscar but what it does do is meld Will Smith's other buddy copBright really highlights the growing disconnect between 'professional critics' and the people who watch films for enjoyment. It was never going to be a world beater or win an Oscar but what it does do is meld Will Smith's other buddy cop movies Bad Boys with Dungeons & Dragons. Plenty of fun one liners, plenty of action and despite people trying their best to find some social commentary about the treatment of different races Bright is purely an action movie set in a fantasy world and newsflash to the reviewers out there fantasy worlds are often segregated. If you are in to fantasy settings and movies like this then it's a fun way to spend 2 hours, if you are a stuck up movie critic then best you go watch Schindler's list again. Even my wife liked Bright and she doesn't like anything. Expand
41 of 48 users found this helpful417
All this user's reviews
8
runeborsjoDec 22, 2017
I'm absolutely astonished by the poor reception this movie has gotten. So much so I actually registered just to write this. This movie never tries to be anything more than what it is. Alien Nation buddy cop movie in an alternative presentI'm absolutely astonished by the poor reception this movie has gotten. So much so I actually registered just to write this. This movie never tries to be anything more than what it is. Alien Nation buddy cop movie in an alternative present world with Tolkien-like fantasy elements. And it's entertaining as hell! I have a feeling maybe a lot of people have chosen not to like it because it's a Netflix-production and potentially might upset the balance (and $$$) in Hollywood, but Netflix makes content for users, not critics. This is the rare action movie I might actually watch more than once. Expand
35 of 43 users found this helpful358
All this user's reviews
10
carolfrostDec 22, 2017
I watched Bright and I loved it. It's very hard to take an old and beaten trope such as cop buddies and turn it into an original, clever and ultimately fun movie.

I REALLY hope there is a sequel. So, how many "professional" critics were
I watched Bright and I loved it. It's very hard to take an old and beaten trope such as cop buddies and turn it into an original, clever and ultimately fun movie.

I REALLY hope there is a sequel.

So, how many "professional" critics were paid by mainstream studios to give this movie such a low rating? Are they that afraid of Netflix?
Expand
27 of 34 users found this helpful277
All this user's reviews
8
TheMovieMan5000Dec 22, 2017
I highly enjoyed this film.This movie gave me what i want from a action fantasy film.It was a great popcorn flick and i hope see Netflix run with a trilogy for Bright.I definitely want to see more of this fantasy world in Bright.I give it a 4/5
23 of 29 users found this helpful236
All this user's reviews
8
hiakuryuDec 22, 2017
I'll be honest this film isn't high art, but what it is is imo is a well done buddy cop action police procedural and if you just turn your brain off, sit back and enjoy the popcorn then you'll have great fun, and that is the biggest metricI'll be honest this film isn't high art, but what it is is imo is a well done buddy cop action police procedural and if you just turn your brain off, sit back and enjoy the popcorn then you'll have great fun, and that is the biggest metric for me with films. Did I have fun or not?

I rarely expect high art when I'm going to watch a Will Smith movie so I didn't expect one going into this. Also I am factoring price into this as effectively I consider the price of a netflix subscription to be a sunk cost already so it's effectively free imo. So a good fun cop movie but with orcs, elves and magic. Some good jokes, yeah some of the action scenes were a bit weak but after having seen how bad the action sequences were in iron fist I can forgive a lot. I do admit to REALLY loving the police procedural/buddy cop movie genres though so I will forgive a lot. So I'd say on a quiet night during the holidays when you're zoning out after too big of a Christmas dinner this is a good enough distraction for a couple of hours.
Expand
23 of 31 users found this helpful238
All this user's reviews
8
ZeetDec 22, 2017
Not the best movie ever, but it has a refreshing universe, reminding me a lot of Shadowpunk, a universe many RPG fans know and love. I'm not sure where all the hate come from, I've had a lot of fun watching it, the plot isn't bad at all, theNot the best movie ever, but it has a refreshing universe, reminding me a lot of Shadowpunk, a universe many RPG fans know and love. I'm not sure where all the hate come from, I've had a lot of fun watching it, the plot isn't bad at all, the only problem would be the villains, who are a bit "random", without personality and just being evil without reason. Otherwise, the movie's pace is nice and it doesn't feel awkward to mix these very different universes. I hope there'll be more episodes ! Expand
20 of 28 users found this helpful208
All this user's reviews
10
LordicusDec 22, 2017
This is what good ideas looks like. Ambitious, yet astonishingly well-executed. Tons of bad language, violence in fantasy/cop movie mash-up. Bright offers a clever critique of racism from a world of spells and sorcery. 9/10
58 of 92 users found this helpful5834
All this user's reviews
8
CarsinogenJan 23, 2018
They crammed a lot into a movie. This would be fantastic as a series where they could really take the time to explain to emergence of all the races.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
VexarJan 31, 2018
Cool concept and a new world to explore I hope they expand this story into new chapters. Has all the charm of an old school buddy cop movie in the context of an interesting universe. I do not understand the poor reviews of the critics theCool concept and a new world to explore I hope they expand this story into new chapters. Has all the charm of an old school buddy cop movie in the context of an interesting universe. I do not understand the poor reviews of the critics the acting was good, directing was fine, had interesting plot twists, seemed more original than a lot of movies these days. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
PhrogressDec 26, 2017
¿ que clase de señor de los anillos y ultravioleta es esto? un film entretenido para salir de la rutina de las peliculas taquilleras sobrevoloradas. Recomendada.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TheWaffleJan 6, 2018
A great action movie that won't even cost you $15 at the theater. Bright is fun, funny, and full of heart. Ignore the critics, the film studios butter their bread and they don't want to see projects like this succeed. I'm looking forward toA great action movie that won't even cost you $15 at the theater. Bright is fun, funny, and full of heart. Ignore the critics, the film studios butter their bread and they don't want to see projects like this succeed. I'm looking forward to the sequel. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ReviewedAtOnceJan 7, 2018
I really enjoyed this movie, it is the type of movie I wish was made more often. I thought it was a good story, solid action, funny and a concept I wish was in more high quality productions. I hope they make at least a couple more.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Tig136Dec 24, 2017
I’m not entirely sure why there is the level of animosity regarding this film. Yes it borrows plot points from many previous films (Alien Nation, Leathal Weapon, LOTR) but honestly what doesn’t have a hint of other directors styles, otherI’m not entirely sure why there is the level of animosity regarding this film. Yes it borrows plot points from many previous films (Alien Nation, Leathal Weapon, LOTR) but honestly what doesn’t have a hint of other directors styles, other plots, other effects. I liked it. There were a few times that seemed strained until it got rolling. It succeeded in entertaining me - and sometimes that’s all I want in a movie. Expand
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
8
SilvalinionisisDec 25, 2017
As you can see from the metascore and user score comparison, this is a great movie that just got in the way of big Studios.

It's a pretty great movie with quality action, good leads and a Shadowrun-esque setting. Hope Netflix won't take the
As you can see from the metascore and user score comparison, this is a great movie that just got in the way of big Studios.

It's a pretty great movie with quality action, good leads and a Shadowrun-esque setting. Hope Netflix won't take the biased critics into consideration and goes for a sequel.
Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
8
hosekishoDec 24, 2017
Pretty solid action movie. Fun and entertaining. Plot is predictable in places and some of the story is shallow, but I don't expect an oscar worthy writing from an action flick. It's nice to see a decent film like this that isn't ADAPTED fromPretty solid action movie. Fun and entertaining. Plot is predictable in places and some of the story is shallow, but I don't expect an oscar worthy writing from an action flick. It's nice to see a decent film like this that isn't ADAPTED from something else. Support original films people. Expand
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
9
turndwn4whtDec 25, 2017
I’m not sure what movie the critics were watching but this movie was great. I thought for sure that taking the fantasy elements and putting them into this setting would be a disaster but it was actually done very well. I’m eager to see whereI’m not sure what movie the critics were watching but this movie was great. I thought for sure that taking the fantasy elements and putting them into this setting would be a disaster but it was actually done very well. I’m eager to see where this story goes. I have to agree with one person who put it’s a lord of the rings/lethal weapon perspective. Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
7
AawesomDec 24, 2017
Mettre plus qu'un 6 ou 7 sur 10 à ce film, faut pas déconner non plus.. C'est l'équivalent d'un Big Mac cinématographique, on passe un bon moment, ça a un bon goût mais rien de plus. Par contre, les critiques payés pour et qui octroient à ceMettre plus qu'un 6 ou 7 sur 10 à ce film, faut pas déconner non plus.. C'est l'équivalent d'un Big Mac cinématographique, on passe un bon moment, ça a un bon goût mais rien de plus. Par contre, les critiques payés pour et qui octroient à ce film un 0... on sent bien votre rage de Suicide Squad :) Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
7
DubeauDec 24, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know what the critics were expecting out of Bright. I saw it with no particular expectation and I had a lot of fun watching it. It's an action flick setup in the future with fantasy elements. This film serve as an introduction to a world with many races, which remind me A LOT about Defiance TV show. The story is interesting as it brings a lot of lore into the table. Maybe the acting is not perfect but it serves the plot perfectly. I like the wand stuff, as it is compared to a nuclear weapon. I like the racist side of the story with the Orcs and even the Elves...and all the tribulations that goes with it. The Fx are pretty good...Maybe the point where the movie fails is the motivation of the FBI of magic in all this. It's never really clear on which side they stand. They announced a follow up and I hope it will be even better. I give it a 75%. Very entertaining and not deserving the critics unfair ranting. Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
10
chopchopDec 22, 2017
I really enjoyed this film. I can't understand the negative reviews from the critics. What movie were they watch? Because Bright is a fantastic blend of the "Buddy Cop" and "Fantasy" genre.
13 of 16 users found this helpful133
All this user's reviews
9
jdawg191Dec 23, 2017
I really like how this film mixed ancient fantasy with a modern take on things with elves, orcs, fairies and humans in an alternate universe where magic exists. I felt like the crude language was a bit excessive at times, but I thought theI really like how this film mixed ancient fantasy with a modern take on things with elves, orcs, fairies and humans in an alternate universe where magic exists. I felt like the crude language was a bit excessive at times, but I thought the overall story was good. I see the critics gave this show almost universally bad (and unfair) reviews, so this motivated me to leave my own review. I hope this becomes a series. Expand
13 of 16 users found this helpful133
All this user's reviews
8
markmywordsDec 23, 2017
Don't believe the critics, this film is really good. True it's never going to win an oscar, but it is what it is & does it really well. It builds a universe i definitely want to see more of. One of the best popcorn movies i've seen in quiteDon't believe the critics, this film is really good. True it's never going to win an oscar, but it is what it is & does it really well. It builds a universe i definitely want to see more of. One of the best popcorn movies i've seen in quite some time.
End of watch meets lord of the rings
Expand
13 of 16 users found this helpful133
All this user's reviews
10
nastybutler224Dec 23, 2017
This movie is Awesome ! Thank you Netflix for making a movie so unorthodox.
12 of 15 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
7
BackeastvanDec 23, 2017
I had a difficult time seeing what was so bad about it as well- suicide squad was flawed in many ways, I didn't feel the same frustration watching this, actually I enjoyed it. The pacing and tone was on par with End Of Watch- I would haveI had a difficult time seeing what was so bad about it as well- suicide squad was flawed in many ways, I didn't feel the same frustration watching this, actually I enjoyed it. The pacing and tone was on par with End Of Watch- I would have liked to have seen the Dragon come more into play, the portrayal of fairies as pests servedseems like a huge waste of potential, the dialogue was a bit dull and the villain character developement was weak, as well the usual buddy cop situations didn't feel earned. All that said I did enjoy it, I think the concept was well developed though the script and characters developement, as well as fully utilizing the more interesting aspects of the movie's universe could have been stronger. Expand
12 of 15 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
9
StrxexDec 24, 2017
A very fun movie to watch. There are some weird plots but does not follow overused movie tropes.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
7
SkitzofreniqDec 25, 2017
Is it a great movie? No. Is it a crappy movie? Hell no. Look, I went in without any expectations and got surprised by how good it was. It did take twenty or so minutes before I really got drawn into the movie. It definitely isn't the 2.8 likeIs it a great movie? No. Is it a crappy movie? Hell no. Look, I went in without any expectations and got surprised by how good it was. It did take twenty or so minutes before I really got drawn into the movie. It definitely isn't the 2.8 like the critics want to make you believe it is. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
9
HumptyDumptyFalDec 24, 2017
It was creative and different. The acting was solid. The story was interesting enough to keep me entertained. My kid thought it was cool as hell. Ninja Elves.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
8
directguyDec 23, 2017
My wife and I really enjoyed this movie, and it definitely left me hoping for a sequel, either in movie or multi-episode format. Good job Netflix. And while I know movies are very subjective, the astonishingly low average critic score forMy wife and I really enjoyed this movie, and it definitely left me hoping for a sequel, either in movie or multi-episode format. Good job Netflix. And while I know movies are very subjective, the astonishingly low average critic score for this movie feels to me like a bunch of movie critics concerned about their career prospects if Netflix succeeds in making Hollywood style blockbuster movies. I suspect they're worried their career won't be justified, or pay as well, if people can enjoy these kind of first-run movies without having to fork over the high cost associated with going to the movies. Which I get. But still... Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
7
Nikop0lDec 24, 2017
I dont get why the critics are trashing the living hell out of this movie. It lacks a lot, the lore is used as a backdrop, never really explored, it does get repetitive at some points and cop buddy cliche templates are heavily used. But takeI dont get why the critics are trashing the living hell out of this movie. It lacks a lot, the lore is used as a backdrop, never really explored, it does get repetitive at some points and cop buddy cliche templates are heavily used. But take a popcorn, put on a Netflix and watch this with your SO as your night movie and you gonna have some decent fun and you will see something weird and new. The movie never blew me out of the chair, but I didnt feel bored either. Above average with 7 is something that is fine for this movie.

So, again, why did "professional" critics decide that this is the movie they must review to hell? Is it because its Netflix special? Would the reviews be different if it was in movies instead? I dont know, but sure looks like it.
Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
10
MikeleDec 22, 2017
Awesome movie, i really want to see more about this universe, if something is missing was that is short comared to the big gamma of posibilities for that universe, i really wanted to se more.
Excelente pelicula espero que haíga más de este
Awesome movie, i really want to see more about this universe, if something is missing was that is short comared to the big gamma of posibilities for that universe, i really wanted to se more.
Excelente pelicula espero que haíga más de este universo, si algo le falto fue que durara más para tomar en cuenta más áreas que ofrece ese mundo.
Expand
14 of 18 users found this helpful144
All this user's reviews
10
luno6Dec 22, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I want to say this movie is a 7 out of 10. Why did I rank it 10 then? To counter several other reviews I saw that gave it a 0 with two lines that explain nothing about why they don't like the movie. I would rank this movie an 8 out of 10, but the beginning of the movie is rocky; and the racism angle can be a bit heavy handed at times. I truly believe the critics giving this movie awful reviews went into this movie wanting it to fail miserably.

Now what was wrong with the beginning? Well right off the bat we are shown Will Smith getting blasted by an orc with a shotgun point blank, but wakes up completely fine. And are later told that he is going back to work just a few days after getting shot. That blast plate must have been made of dragon scales to block a shotgun that close with nary a broken rib. Smith is then told by his wife to get rid of a fairy in the front yard; which is equivalent to a squirrel in our word. Smith then beats the **** out of the faerie with the quip "faerie lives don't matter today!" I feel like this joke set a bad tone as probably the first joke of the movie, but nonetheless wasn't as bad as some of the other critics have claimed. Smith then goes and gets his daughter ready to go to grandmas. His daughter asked her how his new partner, Jakoby, is going to work out since orcs are mean and bad. Smith tries to teach her about tolerance and that orcs are no different from you or me. However just then Jakoby pulls into Smith's yard. Smith goes out and absolutely lambastes Jakoby and is pretty racist to him, which is a far cry from what he told his daughter literally 30 seconds ago.

At the station some of the most painful dialogue happens, as the other officers talk about how Smith is putting up with an orc partner that is just... painful to me. The other officers then do various other semi-racist things to Jakoby such as ask him if a mug shot of a sexual predator is his uncle, which is fine. But at one point they staple a literal "Kick Me" sign to Jakoby's back and the contrast between that and the earlier insult is a little strange. Besides that, my only other complaint is too many factions are introduced in such a short time. There are the Inferni, the Crooked Cops, Good Cops (really just one guy but still plays a major role), Magical Task Force, Shield of Light, The Orc Gang, The Hispanic Gang and then Smith/Jakoby/Tikka combo. That's eight different groups and if you cut one or two out and focused more on the others (especially the Inferni or Shield of Light) it would have improved the experience. Of course there are also sequels coming out so this is only a minor complaint.

So what does this movie do right? It has some good comedy, the **** gunfight and hospital scene especially. The characters are also well done and relatable, if a little over the top at the time. Edgerton pulled off a very hard character to play very well. The plot armor of the last fight where Smith and Edgerton take on 3 highly trained assassins wasn't highly unbelievable, especially since they were part of a literal prohpecy. However, Smith did get absolutely beat up and shot throughout the course of the film, I have no idea how he was even standing during the final scenes. Edgerton got healed by Tikka though so he wasn't as bad. The action scenes themselves were pretty awesome, my favorite was the slow-motion cop traitor scene with Bastille playing. Although some were a little strange like when an entire swat squad forgot they had rifles and went hand to hand with one Inferni. Overall, I think this was a great movie and if you have Netflix I would definitely give it a shot.
Expand
14 of 18 users found this helpful144
All this user's reviews
7
SteveZarDec 24, 2017
It seems that Netflix didn't pay some critics.
I watched this movie wiht no expectations. And what i found was, an ok movie. Don't get me wrong. It's not an extraordinary movie, but it is not that bad as some critics are saying. It's a good
It seems that Netflix didn't pay some critics.
I watched this movie wiht no expectations. And what i found was, an ok movie. Don't get me wrong. It's not an extraordinary movie, but it is not that bad as some critics are saying. It's a good mix between two genres, a story of a fantastic world with real life issues. It could be better? Yes, of course it could, but yet, it is enjoyable, it is fun, it has some stupid jokes and at some point this movie is a little predictable. But it's not bad or awfull.
Expand
10 of 13 users found this helpful103
All this user's reviews
7
geekroDec 23, 2017
Bright is not the greatest movie of all time, but it's a good action movie with an original settings (Sort of a contemporary Shadowrun). I can't understand the harsh critics, the realisation is ok, the actors too, the gunfight are better thanBright is not the greatest movie of all time, but it's a good action movie with an original settings (Sort of a contemporary Shadowrun). I can't understand the harsh critics, the realisation is ok, the actors too, the gunfight are better than in a lot of blockbuster, it's not that bad, seriously. Expand
10 of 13 users found this helpful103
All this user's reviews
10
ZackMurphDec 22, 2017
I've been looking forward to Bright for a while now and had some somewhat high expectations. Which isn't the best idea before watching any movie, but I'm guilty of it. With that being said, Bright met a lot of my expectations and missed aI've been looking forward to Bright for a while now and had some somewhat high expectations. Which isn't the best idea before watching any movie, but I'm guilty of it. With that being said, Bright met a lot of my expectations and missed a few. It also succeeded a few of my expectations as well. The movie is set in modern times, but with a fantasy world overlaid on top of it. Giving it a feeling of Lord of the Rings in todays times. Which I can see being extremely difficult to pull off and the makers of Bright did it. They managed to give us a fantasy/modern world with good character building, explanations as to why things are the way they are, fun action scenes, great acting, believable political society issue and a well put together sci-fi. Overall, Bright isn't the best movie of the year, but it sure the heck is far away from being the worst. I'm giving this movie a 10 out 10, because its innovative, it's fresh, it's original in a sense and it's bold. It dares to do something outside of the basic movie cookie cutter scenario that Hollywood keeps trying to push on people. Expand
12 of 16 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
8
CaptiosusDec 23, 2017
Not great but enjoyable. Couldn't help but feel that it could have benefited from being slightly longer to flesh out the alternative universe Earth rather than just expecting the audience to believe that this alternate reality is "how it'sNot great but enjoyable. Couldn't help but feel that it could have benefited from being slightly longer to flesh out the alternative universe Earth rather than just expecting the audience to believe that this alternate reality is "how it's always been". Or, better yet, maybe developed as a limited-run episodic series like Netflix's Godless. Elves and the Magic Feds both got short shrift, they're kinda.. just there. Still, both my wife and I enjoyed it as a mindless popcorn sci-fi flick. Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
8
TurboDog777Dec 23, 2017
I had fun watching this. Don't get me wrong, there's some cringy moments in the movie but overall it was more than worth my time.
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
7
geheimeDec 23, 2017
A very decent buddy cop movie with cool fantasy elements. Like Lethal Weapon but with orcs and eves. Wish it was longer - the world lore could definitely support a whole season of a TV series.
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
10
BrannagynDec 23, 2017
Are critics so out of touch with what people actually enjoy or is this Disney money trying to cut down any competitor to their underperforming 'blockbuster'? All I know is that Bright is a really cool, highly original take on two differentAre critics so out of touch with what people actually enjoy or is this Disney money trying to cut down any competitor to their underperforming 'blockbuster'? All I know is that Bright is a really cool, highly original take on two different genres. By mixing up the Fantasy and Buddy-cop cliches they came up with something altogether different and highly entertaining. With originality and a far more interesting world than the redone Star Wars there is at least one movie to give you some decent holiday escapism. The only weak-point is Ayre's directing (far too much blue lighting and shadows) but the writing, acting and action all gel well. Here's hoping for a franchise or having this set up a ShadowRun movie. Marks another solid piece of evidence why sites like RT and Metacritic need to start billing User Score first. Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
10
AlikmsenDec 22, 2017
I liked the movie gorgeous all I advise to see. The bomb killer. good Fantastika
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
8
BruskyJan 8, 2018
I didn't know what I was getting myself into when I turned this on, but the trailer got me hooked. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised by Bright. Kudos to Netflix for trying something new.

For starters, the movie gets major props for
I didn't know what I was getting myself into when I turned this on, but the trailer got me hooked. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised by Bright. Kudos to Netflix for trying something new.

For starters, the movie gets major props for blending Tolkein-like creatures in a modern day big city -- a concept I'd never seen before. As such, there was a surprising amount of world-building that goes on which immerses you in this racial/class dynamic in between Elves, Humans and Orcs and the fallout of a magical war that happened prior to this movie taking place. The characters slowly explain the background plot to the audience in their dialogue with each other, giving you enough of a gist to follow along. There's still a lot more left to explained about this world, particularly the foreshadowing of an upcoming big bad, but it doesn't detract from the plot we see in front of us. If anything, it leaves me both satisfied and wanting more.

The characters themselves are portrayed well, with Jakoby stealing the show hands down. Surprisingly, Will Smith's performance leaves more to be desired, but he doesn't necessarily hurt the story. Noomi Rapace was fierce and I found myself actually feeling tension when she and her posse came after our heroes. All in all, I enjoyed Bright. I am definitely piqued by this realworld-Tolkein situation and I am eager to see more in the upcoming sequel.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ardemDec 22, 2017
Loved it Critics are just hate fantasy, get over yourselves already! It was fresh, it was engaging and left me wanting more.
14 of 19 users found this helpful145
All this user's reviews
8
ozymandias79Dec 23, 2017
Screw the critics. So what if you don't need an IQ of 100+ to enjoy this movie. The plot is thin and the action is overkill, but who cares - only critics. Everyone else (who really matter - ie the viewership) seem to enjoy Bright. Bring onScrew the critics. So what if you don't need an IQ of 100+ to enjoy this movie. The plot is thin and the action is overkill, but who cares - only critics. Everyone else (who really matter - ie the viewership) seem to enjoy Bright. Bring on the sequel! Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
9
RiZerManDec 22, 2017
Bright is a unique movie created by Netflix, Netflix really deserves credits by creating something new and bright (you got it) to the movie industry, the first 15 minutes seems a little unclear what’s going on but once your in it you willBright is a unique movie created by Netflix, Netflix really deserves credits by creating something new and bright (you got it) to the movie industry, the first 15 minutes seems a little unclear what’s going on but once your in it you will love the movie. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
10
6r1zzlyDec 24, 2017
A movie good enough that I would watch it twice or thrice. Characters are cool, the story is engaging, the world feels deep. This movie is better than 90% of contemporary blockbusters.
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
Fischstix89Dec 22, 2017
Great fun fantasy with updated look. Enjoyed watching it very much and cant wait for any sequels!
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
9
Shaan211Dec 22, 2017
The user score here and also audience score on rotten tomatoes doesn't lie, give the movie a try before listening to these moronic critics that have little idea what they're talking about.
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
paulie07Dec 23, 2017
Great movie. The critics got it wrong with this one. Most of them probably didn't even watch it.
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
8
Urban-catDec 23, 2017
I liked it very much, the story goes ahead and I liked the characters. I would love to see more movies or a series about this universe. As action film it had the right amount of action and explosions and a good couple of heroes. There isI liked it very much, the story goes ahead and I liked the characters. I would love to see more movies or a series about this universe. As action film it had the right amount of action and explosions and a good couple of heroes. There is surely a deeper meaning and racism is one of them but even if you want to just sit down and enjoy some action time I recomend it. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
RclwilsonDec 23, 2017
Never left a review before but had to for this. I wonder if critics watched same film as me because it was amazing. Highly recommended.
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
valent0neDec 23, 2017
Come with very low expectations, but cmon, this is amazing.
Very surprised.
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
QuixoticKnightDec 22, 2017
I found the movie quite entertaining though I would have preferred more exploration of the world in which it was set and less shootouts. As someone already familiar with the world of Shadowrun, which is the clear inspiration for the world inI found the movie quite entertaining though I would have preferred more exploration of the world in which it was set and less shootouts. As someone already familiar with the world of Shadowrun, which is the clear inspiration for the world in which it takes place, it felt familiar from the outset. For those without the background I would think it might seem far more confusing. I finished the movie and found myself hoping there was a book where we could read more about the history of this fascinating world. There are clearly many stories that could still be told and I hope the writers and actors of Bright get the opportunity to tell them. Expand
13 of 18 users found this helpful135
All this user's reviews
9
ChrevanDec 22, 2017
Like another user, I finally signed up to Metacritic just to give this movie a positive review. I loved it. The critics are reviewing it up against other works instead of on its own. That's not fair! Some of the racial treatment isLike another user, I finally signed up to Metacritic just to give this movie a positive review. I loved it. The critics are reviewing it up against other works instead of on its own. That's not fair! Some of the racial treatment is off-putting, but besides that this movie is a great story. I hope to see more in the future. Expand
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
8
mintloDec 27, 2017
I enjoyed it, I thought the pacing was good, action was good, story was interesting. The critics have their heads up their butts.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
StUnNeR_H2KDec 22, 2017
A great mix of reality with fantasy. Bright was a wonderful surprise and something that felt original versus all the reboots, sequels and remakes that fill the theaters today.

Also not sure what is up with the critic reviews, but my guess
A great mix of reality with fantasy. Bright was a wonderful surprise and something that felt original versus all the reboots, sequels and remakes that fill the theaters today.

Also not sure what is up with the critic reviews, but my guess is they don't like Netflix stepping on the movie industries toes with films straight to your home.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
TrunkisDec 24, 2017
This is by no means a perfect movie. There is character development and development of the world around the cast of characters that leaves many questions unanswered. Some of these answers are thrown quickly into the dialogue but don't hold asThis is by no means a perfect movie. There is character development and development of the world around the cast of characters that leaves many questions unanswered. Some of these answers are thrown quickly into the dialogue but don't hold as much weight as they should. It leaves you wondering and asking questions about what is happening, but for a first movie trying to introduce you into the world Ward and Jakoby inhabit it does a good job of providing enough information to leave you wanting more. Bright has been much more than I expected. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
morigathDec 25, 2017
One of the best things I ever saw. Shadowrun-type world presented clearly with a lot of impressive details, an action is well-balanced with the story. Great actors and smooth visual effects. Highly recommending.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
ReidaianDec 25, 2017
No spoilers. Food for thought. What a coincidence that a distinctly average blockbuster movie releasing directly on an easily accessible consumer platform, where critic reviews aren't really relevant because anyone can turn it off after 15No spoilers. Food for thought. What a coincidence that a distinctly average blockbuster movie releasing directly on an easily accessible consumer platform, where critic reviews aren't really relevant because anyone can turn it off after 15 minutes if they don't like it with no loss of money, is getting absolutely destroyed by mainstream media. Just saying. Meanwhile, a distinctly average and seriously unimpressive Hollywood big name franchise release is getting praised as the new definition of storytelling. Just saying.

Politics aside, and make no mistake, the critic reviews for this movie are mostly politics, Bright is a decent movie that manages to be entertaining. Is it Oscar material? Hell no. It's a competent movie, with high budget effects that at least for me managed to stay enjoyable from start to finish. It did not pretend to be smarter than it looks, and there are definitely things to criticize here, but under no circumstances does this movie deserve the bashing it is getting from critics. I find the incredibly transparent politics and hypocrisy from some "big name" reviewers to be absolutely disgusting.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
SaviorGamingDec 24, 2017
While the movie is far from perfect and has plenty of flaws to nit pick at,one of which being an ending you will see coming a mile away, the movie has a pretty original idea that was fun to watch. In a nice change to the usual cop story EarthWhile the movie is far from perfect and has plenty of flaws to nit pick at,one of which being an ending you will see coming a mile away, the movie has a pretty original idea that was fun to watch. In a nice change to the usual cop story Earth is now a world inhabited by Orcs and Elves as well as other mystical creatures.No the movie isn't perfect, but it is fun. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
skeuriDec 24, 2017
Nice idea about racial issues in a modern-fantasy world blend. Sure, it's not a great movie but I enjoyed it enough: 7-8/10. As usual opinions here are unrealisticly polarised between giving it a 0 or a 10 in order to try and influence the avarage.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
AmunozrochaDec 25, 2017
Atonished, awesome movie creative movie, ambitious, and fun to watch with family
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
ValenceradicalDec 25, 2017
Shadowrun, not vampire academy. The urban fantasy genre in movies and TV is saturated with badly done YA tripe. This is not that. Not perfect, but VERY solid entry in a genre which it is currently fashionable to dismiss
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
jado818Dec 26, 2017
I gave this film 10 stars because I enjoyed the attempt to merge fantasy with modern realities. The film was entertaining and I suspect the film packed so much content and ideas into its 2 hour run length because they intend to make anotherI gave this film 10 stars because I enjoyed the attempt to merge fantasy with modern realities. The film was entertaining and I suspect the film packed so much content and ideas into its 2 hour run length because they intend to make another film and possibly a TV show. When I first saw the preview for the film I thought Bright was going to be a TV series because it is extremely difficult to create a complicated world with competing political factions in just 2 hours while simultaneously making the film suspenseful and action packed. Bright did a great job and I believe the film will speak to audiences even if critics think poorly of Bright. These are the same critics who give great ratings to movies that have led to Hollywood's worst ticket sales in 25 years. My suggestion is to ignore the critics. Watch the movie and judge it yourself. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
micbrcDec 23, 2017
This was a great movie I enjoyed it for exactly what it was a big dumb blockbuster in the vein of the warriors run all night no where is safe style of my movie but with cops and magic
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
8
ciorgaDec 22, 2017
It was quite smart in a specific way and somehow so politically incorrect and racist towards imaginary races that one moment it became the most politically correct movie ever. Tackled the extremism with a sense of humor. Hence that's whereIt was quite smart in a specific way and somehow so politically incorrect and racist towards imaginary races that one moment it became the most politically correct movie ever. Tackled the extremism with a sense of humor. Hence that's where all these bad reviews could have come from. It seems that the "professional" reviewers didn't get it. They are becoming oversensitive and worthless. Treating viewers as if they were mentally handicapped or something. Other than that it manages to deliver loads of fun. Will Smith + Orc duo was fantastic. Funny dialogs and epic fights. It even explains the fate of Illuminati. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
8
resmaniaDec 24, 2017
It was a good movie. In fact I think it's as good as the new Star Wars film.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
boomba66Dec 22, 2017
Critics are afraid they will lose their meal ticket if streaming movies on NETflix are better then the 200 million dollar Disney star wars garbage.

This movie has several things going for it that are apparently over the critics heads. 1.
Critics are afraid they will lose their meal ticket if streaming movies on NETflix are better then the 200 million dollar Disney star wars garbage.

This movie has several things going for it that are apparently over the critics heads. 1. World Building and Mythology. This world draws you in, it makes you want to know more about the Darklord, the orcs the elves.....Its the Shadowrun universe essentially.

2. Good stars being stars. They let the stars of the movie shine BRIGHT. 3. Good fun action and campy 80's like action movie one liners. "We going to **** bar die." It has its flaws some of the action seems to stutter, from re-shoots or editing sometimes it jumps around a bit in a weird way. It also doesn't build the baddies up quiet enough despite the lead elf really seeming like an interesting character.

On top of this, you can literally see this for half the price of a movie theater movie finish your two hours then jump to its other awesome content.

Great Job Netflix. I would love to see a 12 part series set in this world to continue to build its back story and mythology.
Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
edukdashDec 23, 2017
Filmaço, crítica social muito inteligente com todo ar de fantasia e mistério, um mundo muito rico em histórias a serem contadas com aquele clima de RPG!
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
shoulderoforionDec 23, 2017
Once again, the "professional critics" simply refuse to have a good time. This flick was great fun with a rich universe anyone's who's ever even skimmed a fantasy story can understand. Since being trashed I don't expect a equal, but hopeOnce again, the "professional critics" simply refuse to have a good time. This flick was great fun with a rich universe anyone's who's ever even skimmed a fantasy story can understand. Since being trashed I don't expect a equal, but hope they make it anyway. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
mromalvDec 22, 2017
Bright is something like Shadowrun The Movie, it's super fun and very well written. I'd say that 10 years from now this is going to be a cult movie for sure.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
hellpittDec 23, 2017
One more example of the 30 something "Professional Reviewers" completely blinded by who knows what...and completely missing the mark... this Modern take on the Fantasy Genre is a success recipe on how to create something new yet familiar, setOne more example of the 30 something "Professional Reviewers" completely blinded by who knows what...and completely missing the mark... this Modern take on the Fantasy Genre is a success recipe on how to create something new yet familiar, set in a Fantasy world but with a modern take...sees the familiar Orcs, Elves, humans and other creatures trying to get along in a world that has not only race tensions but also Species tensions...you will not regret watching this Gem Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
8
BlkShroudDec 22, 2017
Bright was enjoyable and fun to watch. The movie has a runtime of about 2 hours and never once did I get bored. In fact, I lost track of time while watching the action. Kudos to Netflix for producing an entertaining movie. I'm not entirelyBright was enjoyable and fun to watch. The movie has a runtime of about 2 hours and never once did I get bored. In fact, I lost track of time while watching the action. Kudos to Netflix for producing an entertaining movie. I'm not entirely sure why the critics did not like it. However, I do have theories that the theater chains are really against Netflix for horning in on their movie market. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
joaquin84Dec 23, 2017
nice street cop action / fairy tale mix up with some funny one-liners. It is set in L.A. 2000 years after the Dark Lord was defeated on (Middle) Earth - so you should at least have some basic knowledge of Lord of the Rings to enjoy thisnice street cop action / fairy tale mix up with some funny one-liners. It is set in L.A. 2000 years after the Dark Lord was defeated on (Middle) Earth - so you should at least have some basic knowledge of Lord of the Rings to enjoy this movie as much as I did. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
ericknight77Dec 22, 2017
Even though the one-liners were mixed (some hilarious and some mediocre) this movie had a great mix of of some of my favorite movies (Fifth Element, Alien Nation and LoTR). Great plot, good acting (the orc definitely steals the show)
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
8
MastechiefDec 22, 2017
Well I watched it. And it wasn't half bad! Sure I would have liked a bit more backstory development and the ending seemed a bit rushed, but overall it was a fun date night movie. Will Smith did better here than in Suicide Squad. Critics hatedWell I watched it. And it wasn't half bad! Sure I would have liked a bit more backstory development and the ending seemed a bit rushed, but overall it was a fun date night movie. Will Smith did better here than in Suicide Squad. Critics hated that one too, but it made a zillion dollars so obviously they're gonna hate it. Why listen to anything these conceited blowhards say anyway? How many critics you know have made a blockbuster movie? Not every fantasy/super hero movie is gonna be a Dark Knight. And I wasn't crazy about Wonder Woman (which most critics loved). I respect all opinions but the critics come from a critical perspective that has very little to do with whether a film is entertaining or not. That depends very much on the individual. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
Damnednoiz88Dec 22, 2017
Great buddy-movie. It's just like fantasy-Southland. I really want to see Netflix TV Show based on this universe.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
JonBrowneDec 23, 2017
I have no idea where all the bad reviews are coming from. BRIGHT was a fantastic film! Original. I enjoyed every minute of it and wish they would make it into a series.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
Xion3899Dec 23, 2017
I really enjoyed this movie, kinda reminds me of like shadow run type theme movie. honestly I don't think the rest of the reviews do justice on how good it really is. Hey, that just my opinion though.

Bottom line: this needs a second movie.
I really enjoyed this movie, kinda reminds me of like shadow run type theme movie. honestly I don't think the rest of the reviews do justice on how good it really is. Hey, that just my opinion though.

Bottom line: this needs a second movie. Ii would like to see the story continue.
Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
victortayguaraDec 23, 2017
The best movie that netflix has done so far. In 2017 few films reach this level, the story is engaging, the actors are excellent, and the turnaround is incredible.

For critics who say the movie is not good, they need to lose their
The best movie that netflix has done so far. In 2017 few films reach this level, the story is engaging, the actors are excellent, and the turnaround is incredible.

For critics who say the movie is not good, they need to lose their mediocrity, because they do not have the least ability to evaluate a movie.

I could watch it several times without feeling sick. I hope he has a sequence.
Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
FireBotDec 23, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, not least of which because of the subtle fantasy elements. I'm a sucker for movies or shows that take fictional elements and put them into "real life" in a way that feels like that's how they'd exist if theyI thoroughly enjoyed the movie, not least of which because of the subtle fantasy elements. I'm a sucker for movies or shows that take fictional elements and put them into "real life" in a way that feels like that's how they'd exist if they were real. If you're even a little into fantasy and action, I highly recommend it! Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
9
tetricusDec 22, 2017
Brilliant movie, me and my wife loved every second of it. Might not be the highest form of art but it's got interesting setting, which I would absolutely love to see more of. Come on Netflix, give us more!
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
10
KamenRiderDarkDec 22, 2017
Firstly, let me just say regarding the critics score, if you can give The Last Jedi 86% and then give this 28% you have zero credibility. Sure, critics have always been harsh and sometime don't follow popular opinion, but that's just clearlyFirstly, let me just say regarding the critics score, if you can give The Last Jedi 86% and then give this 28% you have zero credibility. Sure, critics have always been harsh and sometime don't follow popular opinion, but that's just clearly pandering to the big studios so you're not black listed and trying to appear credible by slamming this film.

So, on to the review. I like the premise and really had high hopes, but it was a good movie rather than a great one. Its pretty much a mash up of Alien Nation, Training Day, End of Watch and Artemis Fowl (soon to be ruined by Disney's upcoming film no doubt).

It had all the makings of a great movie to kick start a TV series spin off, however I think it lacks the dynamic that Alien Nation had (dated, but worth a watch if you liked this). It essentially replaces aliens with magical creatures.

The effects and action were all solid and it ticked all the boxes, I just think the dynamic between Will Smith and his partner didn't work (at least in the first half) and where the Alien in Alien Nation suffered some hostility from a few bigots within the department, everyone just seemed to hate the Orc for no reason. I think a few bad apples rather than everyone being racist would have worked better and some work on the script between the two leads would have gained this another star or two, at no extra cost.

Is it GREAT, no, but its definitely worth a watch and I'll give season 1 a chance if they do a series spin off.
Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
9
jegcelDec 22, 2017
It's a nice film to pass the time. Bright has some intriguing racial/social concepts. I rate it 9 because critics nowadays seem to not know a thing about storytelling and narrative. They certainly haven't studied literature and what makes aIt's a nice film to pass the time. Bright has some intriguing racial/social concepts. I rate it 9 because critics nowadays seem to not know a thing about storytelling and narrative. They certainly haven't studied literature and what makes a great story. Plus, they have grudge against Netflix releasing Hollywood-like films. This is even better told than The Last Jedi. Will Smith plays an interesting role--a police officer torn between doing what's right and what he's told to do. I recommend it. Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
10
NeecotinaDec 22, 2017
meh, surely, it isn't the best movie compared to all the things midia has been producing this year.
however, is does not deserve to be voted down so much by Critics, **** it, its a nice movie, it has action, funny moments, cool camera play
meh, surely, it isn't the best movie compared to all the things midia has been producing this year.
however, is does not deserve to be voted down so much by Critics, **** it, its a nice movie, it has action, funny moments, cool camera play and all the **** that it should have.
Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
8
TukkerIntensityDec 22, 2017
A fun buddy cop / Shadowrunesque romp. I'm not sure what the critics were watching but this was a lot of fun. Admittedly, a little longer than it needed to be but not insufferably so.
11 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
10
temerenomineDec 22, 2017
I give it a 10 cuz it delivered all i expected after watchig the thrailer and knowing how a ,,will smith movie,, looks like.
11 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
7
KiahogaDec 22, 2017
It was an entertaining movie that i found enjoyable to watch Joel Edgerton playing a Happy go Lucky Jackie Robinson was my favorite Character, and Wil SMith was well....... the Same Wil Smith we've seen for the last 10 years. Wasnt the BestIt was an entertaining movie that i found enjoyable to watch Joel Edgerton playing a Happy go Lucky Jackie Robinson was my favorite Character, and Wil SMith was well....... the Same Wil Smith we've seen for the last 10 years. Wasnt the Best movie of the YEar but was far better than some other things we've seen like Pixels. Expand
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
10
Navy_KnightDec 22, 2017
Bright is a very entertaining movie. It, like most good Science Fiction, uses a fantastical setting to speak to modern issues. This movie speaks to the racism and prejudice in our society by showing how it would manifest itself in a fantasyBright is a very entertaining movie. It, like most good Science Fiction, uses a fantastical setting to speak to modern issues. This movie speaks to the racism and prejudice in our society by showing how it would manifest itself in a fantasy setting as established in Bright. While it speaks to these themes it doesn't feel heavy handed. It makes you think without ruining what is an entertaining story and a fun ride for the audience. The actors in this film all turned in great performances. The action is well done and realistic for a fantasy setting. I highly recommend you watch this movie if you enjoy Science Fiction/Fantasy, or just want to be entertained by a quality action movie. Expand
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerDec 22, 2017
A gritty buddy cop movie infused with the might and magic of the fantasy genre. Viewers are introduced to a world where humans exist alongside mythological creatures, magic, and races of beings straight from a Tolkien story in a modern dayA gritty buddy cop movie infused with the might and magic of the fantasy genre. Viewers are introduced to a world where humans exist alongside mythological creatures, magic, and races of beings straight from a Tolkien story in a modern day setting. The film finds strong leads in Will Smith and Joel Edgerton who play a human and the city's first orc cop respectively. Bright relies on the interspecies tension in the story to provide a surprisingly poignant critique of the current state of race relations. It gives the movie a little more depth than one might expect from such an odd concept. Mix that with David Ayer's strong direction, and you've gone one heck of an action-flick that manages to stand strong in the face of some plotting issues.

The moment to moment action is fine. Reluctant partners Smith and Edgerton respond to a call that causes their night to spin wildly out of control when a powerful magical item is found on the scene. On top of being the center of a quest to resurrect a dark lord, there are also those who seek to use it for their own gain. As a result our leads find themselves hunted and on the run with no one to trust. That stuff is fine. The holes start appearing when you take a look at the larger scope of the world. The lore is sadly underdeveloped. There's talk of the characters being apart of some prophecy, but literally no insight as to what that prophecy says. The anti-orc sentiment that serves as the gateway to the movie's parable about racism is barely touched upon. Apparently there was some centuries old conflict that took place and the orcs picked the wrong side and now everybody hates them. Elves are somehow are at the top of the food chain, there are other factions existing in the world, and it apparently all ties into the main plot about the return of the dark lord. It's to kind of keep that stuff in the background I guess, but it still could have used some more fleshing out and needs to be in that sequel Netflix already ordered. It doesn't help that the few times it is brought up, there are a few plot holes.

Bright still manages to entertain in spite of these storytelling woes due to the likability of it's leads. Will Smith might just be playing Will Smith once again, but his charm is still present as he always nails the wiseass characters. Edgerton steals the show as the well-meaning orc who just wants to be useful and find his place somewhere in life. The dialog is sharp and winning. Particularly during the funny parts. The action is brutal and satisfying. The shootouts are tense. The Suicide Director shows once again that he knows how to craft a fight sequence with or without guns, and even with some magic on the side. So overall I would this $90 million well-spent on Netflix's part. This is officially their most expensive film to date and I hope it works out for them. There's an originality applied to the standard cop movie tropes that makes for one highly entertaining movie. There's a lot of fun to be had here and I'm ready for the sequel.
Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
MrFlanksterDec 23, 2017
NOTE: There is already a sequel in the works!!!

Onto my thoughts... This should prove to ALL that critics are paid. You have a disaster of a movie called, "Star Wars, The Last Jedi" (My heart still is broken with disappointment), that gets
NOTE: There is already a sequel in the works!!!

Onto my thoughts... This should prove to ALL that critics are paid. You have a disaster of a movie called, "Star Wars, The Last Jedi" (My heart still is broken with disappointment), that gets praise from professional critics, but to the consumer, it's a disaster. Then comes along "Bright." Critics immediately tear it apart, while consumers praise it. Movies/studios that are tied to box office money are able to pay critics to give praise. It's in the best interest of professional critics to tear down major movies like "Bright" that are "free" on Netflix, in hopes that the trend doesn't continue and gain steam. The professional critic needs movies to go through the traditional theater process so that the studios can "float" them some cash to write good reviews.
"Bright," while it has it's flaws, is a great movie. I'm SO happy to see that they are already signed up for a SEQUEL! I hope they go deeper into the lore and reduce the number of F-bombs. I think this movie has more "F" words than 90% of the movies out there, which is unnecessary. Other than that, the concept is great. I love the humor and the potential for the future is enormous.
As with any movie, don't read the professional critic reviews. Stick with consumer reviews. What's more entertaining? A modern day fantasy, Lethal Weapon... Or an old Princess Leia having a "Superman" moment in space within a movie that has a plot line we have seen already in "The Empire Strikes Back?" At least "Bright" is new a fresh.
Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
jaredmergelDec 23, 2017
don't let these so called "Critics" turn you away. They pick and choose based on actors. The bias runs deep.

Now for the movie, it was worth the watch, the time and I glad I viewed it.
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
8
macthelistDec 22, 2017
Much better than I'd anticipated after hearing of the critics' reviews. Quite enjoyable, surprisingly nuanced. Recommended.
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
8
Dctraveler88Dec 22, 2017
Bright is not Citizen Kane or Casablanca. It does not break new ground in the history of cinema. However, if you approach this movie with the goal of being entertained then it does that in spades. New cop vs old veteran cop vs the world isBright is not Citizen Kane or Casablanca. It does not break new ground in the history of cinema. However, if you approach this movie with the goal of being entertained then it does that in spades. New cop vs old veteran cop vs the world is something already done. New cop vs old veteran cop vs the world with magic and fantasy characters is something new. This movie was entertaining and more than worth the 2 hr run time on it. Will Smith is a fun actor to watch and his Orc partner Joel Edgerton was definitely an entertaining duo to watch as they interact onscreen. There will be cliches and one liners but this movies fresh approach make them forgivable and enjoyable. The blending of Dungeons and Dragons and War Craft along with movie themes from Dirty Harry and Lethal Weapon is a blast of freshness in a movie industry that has become increasingly stagnant and formulaic in their approach to creating guaranteed moneymakers. The creativity and imagination used in this movie is something I enjoyed immensely with the relatively seamless blending of modern and fantasy something that any nerd would enjoy. I enjoyed this movie a lot and hope to see more of this from Netflix in the future. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
GizilqDec 23, 2017
Хороший, годный боевик в интересном антураже. Очень неплохая актерская игра и вообще каст. Отличные боевые сцены. В некоторый минус могу записать то что фильм выглядит порезанным - впечатление что первоначально наснимали часа на три и потомХороший, годный боевик в интересном антураже. Очень неплохая актерская игра и вообще каст. Отличные боевые сцены. В некоторый минус могу записать то что фильм выглядит порезанным - впечатление что первоначально наснимали часа на три и потом начали резать. Буду ждать второй части.
From Russia with Love
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
7
SquaredRenDec 22, 2017
Critic reviews are wrong with this movie, this film is quite entertaining and has some great visuals that match the world that is trying to present to us the viewers. It does suffer from long exposition scenes (mostly in the police car), itCritic reviews are wrong with this movie, this film is quite entertaining and has some great visuals that match the world that is trying to present to us the viewers. It does suffer from long exposition scenes (mostly in the police car), it really tries hard so that the audience understands this world & that's understandable. Will Smith once again acts like Will Smith, that's a huge let down for me. The main villian was not fleshed out that much because of the world-building and exposition stuff. Fight scenes were awesome, and I liked the fact that there was lots of blood. Overall, it's a great Netflix film. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
darkpwnyDec 24, 2017
Era defining - should be a book trilogy or something, seems there is a lot more in the universe to explore... to short, to brief, to bright. Was excellent - look forward to more.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
9
MockerreDec 23, 2017
When it comes to genre movies, the divide between the critics and fans is growing wider. You can see it in the TLJ reception and you can see it here. Bright is a fun little movie. It's an urban fantasy take on a buddy cop movie with a simple,When it comes to genre movies, the divide between the critics and fans is growing wider. You can see it in the TLJ reception and you can see it here. Bright is a fun little movie. It's an urban fantasy take on a buddy cop movie with a simple, straightforward plot. It's got likeable characters, witty, entertaining banter, and a great deal of world building. It's not pandering and pretentious. It knows what it is and it achieves the goals it sets for itself, which is more than you can say about most movies today. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
tculoDec 23, 2017
These movie critics are soyboys. This movie was a real surprise. Didn´t expect much but got me really hooked. Especially the scene with the orc gang and the end. Waiting for the sequel!
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
9
ServantOfTheOldDec 23, 2017
Once again... Ignore the dumb "professional" critics. After the debacle that was the star wars reviews I would be surprised if anyone pays attention to them. The users have it right. Bright is fun and action packed and has the right amount ofOnce again... Ignore the dumb "professional" critics. After the debacle that was the star wars reviews I would be surprised if anyone pays attention to them. The users have it right. Bright is fun and action packed and has the right amount of Will Smith as Will Smith. I hope there is another one or maybe a mini series on netflix. This the treatment the fantasy genre needs. Great Movie. I highly recommend it. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
8
Nibas007Dec 25, 2017
es una buena pelicula , bastante entretenida, no se porque la critican tanto, NETFLIX ha hecho un buen trabajo, dan un concepto diferente de todas las razas que aparecen
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
Jarek98Dec 25, 2017
Is it a masterpiece? Hell, no. Is it a rubbish 2/10 movie as most of the “critics” would like you to believe? No again. It is a decent movie with its ups and downs, not more “stupid” than SW: The Last Jedi that the same critics seem to loveIs it a masterpiece? Hell, no. Is it a rubbish 2/10 movie as most of the “critics” would like you to believe? No again. It is a decent movie with its ups and downs, not more “stupid” than SW: The Last Jedi that the same critics seem to love (and while I agree with them there, I don’t here).
If you have Netflix subscription, please give it a try and watch it - it will not cost you anything apart from your time. I really loved the first half of the movie, the second one was somewhat weaker for me, but still ok. So if you hate it after first 30 minutes it is probably not for you.
BTW I give it 9/10 to counter-balance negative “critics” reviews - if professionals don’t have to be objective, why should I after all :-). If I were objective I would still give it something around 7-8 though...
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
detour3810Dec 26, 2017
Bright has a lot of flaws, but it's promise and potential is what keeps me engaged and hopeful with this modern day lord of the rings type fantasy. Bright addresses some of the social awkwardness and problems of our society and brings someBright has a lot of flaws, but it's promise and potential is what keeps me engaged and hopeful with this modern day lord of the rings type fantasy. Bright addresses some of the social awkwardness and problems of our society and brings some raw emotion and grit along with it's world building. Step inside for sheer entertainment and spectacle you will be rewarded come in expecting a philosophical story arc you will rip it apart the moment the film begins. Ayer seems to still be feeling out his identity in storytelling but this is a strong statement for Ayer who isn't afraid to still take risks after a lack luster suicide squad performance. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews