Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2018
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 511 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
357
Mixed:
97
Negative:
57
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
mecheng03Mar 9, 2019
Terrible. This was so boring and I feel like I got tricked into just another teen/pre-teen love story/drama. Hardly any action and they might as well just change the title to the Girl's name and also featuring Herbie the Love Bee... Even myTerrible. This was so boring and I feel like I got tricked into just another teen/pre-teen love story/drama. Hardly any action and they might as well just change the title to the Girl's name and also featuring Herbie the Love Bee... Even my wife was bored throughout the entire movie. Her movie taste ranges from both Michael Baysplosion movies and chick flicks which is all you need to know. We stayed because we had ordered food at the Alamo Draft House but would have left if this was just a regular theater. Wait for Netflix to foot the bill, you'll thank me later. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
yerubandiApr 18, 2019
all the previous transformer movies were horrible, but they were filled with action filled scenes and CGI. this movie lacks everything. very boring story line. very predictable story line and everything else is also lackluster...even my kidsall the previous transformer movies were horrible, but they were filled with action filled scenes and CGI. this movie lacks everything. very boring story line. very predictable story line and everything else is also lackluster...even my kids said the movie is boring. not sure why it got some much hype, glad i did not waste money at the theater and waited for the DVD. even renting a DVD is waste. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
CreolurMar 7, 2019
If you are an adult, expecting a good spin-off, and not planning to watch with your family (especially kids), better stay away from this one, the only good things in this movie are Jon Cena and Hailee Steinfeld (the female lead), such a wasteIf you are an adult, expecting a good spin-off, and not planning to watch with your family (especially kids), better stay away from this one, the only good things in this movie are Jon Cena and Hailee Steinfeld (the female lead), such a waste of talents Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
AMasterpieceFanMar 26, 2019
Pure garbage! Terrible character actors selections. The story, which should be bumblebee's backstory didnt really like one since it was not focused on him. The plot holes of this movie are also horrendous. One example is how did the trash binPure garbage! Terrible character actors selections. The story, which should be bumblebee's backstory didnt really like one since it was not focused on him. The plot holes of this movie are also horrendous. One example is how did the trash bin where the MC is hiding didnt explode when it got hit by a MISSILE!! A **** missile and it only left a dent. HORRIBLE. The villains are also plain as a piece of paper without writing or anything. Didnt really feel like villains especially John Cena. His a dialogue and character are total joke. Ugh. Dont recommend this **** I bet all of us can make a better story than this one.

2/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Ben_RuckusMar 8, 2019
Mediocre acting all around. When the CGi out acts you, you know you have a problem. Paint by numbers movie. Considered a soft reboot of Transformers 1. We already saw a semi Bumblebee origin story in TF1. Worth seeing only if you get it forMediocre acting all around. When the CGi out acts you, you know you have a problem. Paint by numbers movie. Considered a soft reboot of Transformers 1. We already saw a semi Bumblebee origin story in TF1. Worth seeing only if you get it for free but not even worth picking up from the Bargain Bin. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
Iann22Mar 10, 2019
This is a movie for children or to be specific for girls. The plot makes no sense the whole movie feels like a bunch of random events. White men are bad of course and all white girls should go for color. Bumblebee behaves like some abusedThis is a movie for children or to be specific for girls. The plot makes no sense the whole movie feels like a bunch of random events. White men are bad of course and all white girls should go for color. Bumblebee behaves like some abused dog, hiding in the corner minding eye contact, needs to be petted by the girl. Its not funny or serious. I really think if they would include animated characters like Bugs Bunny or Donald Duck it would be better, funnier. Like Bugs and Donald would sit in the back of the Beetle and throw eggs and toilet paper together with the main characters. The girl was pretty so I give it a 1. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
JackusBlackusJan 17, 2019
A friend convinced me to see this because it steps outside of the Transformers formula. I applaud the creators for that but I was not expecting a teen-girl-getting-past-tragedy movie. I imagine that it might resonate with some people, teensA friend convinced me to see this because it steps outside of the Transformers formula. I applaud the creators for that but I was not expecting a teen-girl-getting-past-tragedy movie. I imagine that it might resonate with some people, teens perhaps, but it did not work for me. I was ready to leave about halfway through the movie.

I was also bothered by the portrayal of Bumblebee as a bumbling half-wit pet throughout the film, when he is supposed to be an elite rebel fighter and a real "person" with intelligence.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
2
imthenoobMar 21, 2019
What the movie did right was bring it back to basics and break the needlessly complicated story that Transformers was trying to create (especially with the Last Knight). What it did wrong was everything else.

There were bits of humour
What the movie did right was bring it back to basics and break the needlessly complicated story that Transformers was trying to create (especially with the Last Knight). What it did wrong was everything else.

There were bits of humour throughout, a few typical fight scenes that didn't really bring any excitement and a rather weak origin story that lacks depth and a solid villain. It's essentially a rather bare soft reboot to a failing franchise and while it's not as terrible as previous entries, It doesn't do enough to warrant any praise. It doesn't even break the mediocrity that the franchise has been bringing for years and that is this film's biggest failure IMO. And while I feel odd saying this, John Cena was the best part of the movie despite barely being in it. I think it was a big mistake not to feature him more due to his natural charisma and popularity.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
eastwest312Jan 13, 2019
Teen love story and robots basically, for the kids, brought my father to see a transformers for his first time ever, and his last. Maybe the 3D glasses ruined it, oh and the plot holes for instance- transformers are jets, dogs, boomboxes,Teen love story and robots basically, for the kids, brought my father to see a transformers for his first time ever, and his last. Maybe the 3D glasses ruined it, oh and the plot holes for instance- transformers are jets, dogs, boomboxes, semi trucks etc..on their home planet before ever hearing of earth Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
1
dontwantDec 21, 2018
The expectation was to know Bumblebee, but this was hardly about him. The story story is centred around the Teenage girl and her personal issues. Minimal action and Bumblebee's dark side and warrior history is also not shown. Did not meetThe expectation was to know Bumblebee, but this was hardly about him. The story story is centred around the Teenage girl and her personal issues. Minimal action and Bumblebee's dark side and warrior history is also not shown. Did not meet expectations at all. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
2
slikk66Dec 26, 2018
Man what a stinker. Like a cheesey lifetime original. Not at all what I was expecting and not enjoyable. Way too long.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
2
ohnomrbillJan 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the music was great, best songs of the that period but the movie was uneven and often just stupid. when the girl gets the VW, as a self gift on her birthday and the next morning her mom uses it to take their dog to the vet without asking her, then i knew the movie was dumb. it was uneven with other scenes that didnt make sense or insulted intelligence. the lead girl was excellent and the transformer was also kind of good but at no point did the girl mention to B that excess and destroying things was a no no. a movie maybe for 12 year olds? or maybe 6 or 7 year olds? sorry, dont mean to insult these kids. i can watch and enjoy dumb movies too but this movie was not for me . Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
1
LajaleaaDec 25, 2018
"I like the way they pop."
.
( 17/100 ) . Con un indignante 66 en Metacritic, un grosero 94 en Rotten Tomatoes y mi ilusividad, me dirigí al cine a ver la peor película que he visto en el año. Ni siquiera superó a Early Man, a la que tenía
"I like the way they pop."
.
( 17/100 )
.
Con un indignante 66 en Metacritic, un grosero 94 en Rotten Tomatoes y mi ilusividad, me dirigí al cine a ver la peor película que he visto en el año. Ni siquiera superó a Early Man, a la que tenía peor calificada hasta ahorita.
Bumblebee, que trata sobre el origen del héroe más adorado de la linea de Transformers, realmente habla sobre como se adapta al planeta tierra, un lugar en donde somos hostiles con las cosas que no conocemos.
La película es demasiado melodramática, con un personaje central que respeta el estereotipo de una persona rebelde y deprimida, con una familia disfuncional y que llama la atención de chicos nerds que se convertirán, "accidentalmente", en sus mejores acompañantes. Hailee Steinfeld no actúa mal y es muy bonita, pero el guión con el que está trabajando simplemente me ha dado una muy mala impresión. La recuerdo un poco en True Grit, por Ethan Coen y Joel Coen y su actuación fue justa y prometedora, pero saltar de ahí a Bumblebee es un mal camino para estudiar su trayectoria.
Bumblebee es melodramática, casi telenovelesca, tonta, absurda, exagerada, inútil, incoherente, ilógica y, sorprendentemente, también incómoda. El personaje principal está destinada, desde el principio, a ganar y aprender a vencer las excusas que la historia le interpone, asimismo se refleja en su complañero Autobot para enseñarle lo que ella misma tiene que aprender y, así, mostrarse como una mujer fuerte e independiente cuyo cabello se balancee al rimo del viento de la puesta del sol en el horizonte. Se necesitaría muy poca inteligencia emocional para disfrutarla plenamente, pues el sentimentalismo se fuerza demasiado en el público.
Me aburrí demasiado rápido esperando una sorpresa cinematográfica, pero ni visualmente es sostenible. Las secuencias de pelea y acción no está justificadas la mayoría de las veces, los efectos visuales son una copia y pega del cine de Michael Bay y los efectos especiales no son dinámicos ni creativos, solo construyen escenas sin estética, atractivo o intriga.
Lo que más me molestó fue la carga épica que le dan a John Cena. Se la pasa hablando con frases que lo tratan de hacer ver rudo, despiadado y fuerte, pero sin un contexto suficientemente solido como para enaltecerlo. Entonces solo se ve absurdo y en el momento dado se vuelve en amigo porque, pues, aquello que quería matar lo salvó.
Bumblebee es un ejercicio que se anula a sí mismo y te impulsará a salir de la sala inmediatamente o a aplaudir las hazañas de un golpe mercadotécnico cuyo valor artístico, repito, es nulo. Hay gente a la que le ha agradado esta experiencia, pero considero que están realizando una mala comparación. Trasformers jamás ha sido un proyecto de valoración, sino una campaña de mercado, y no porque Bumblebee sea la campaña mejor realizada de la saga significa que merece ser reconocida. Separar el reciclaje industrial de Bumblebee de la saga es como decir que una Oreo sabe mejor que las demás solo porque es gratis. Lo dije en mi reseña de Aquaman: cualquier futuro film bajo cualquier estereotipo narrativo de acción, será una vergüenza. Y Bumblebee no solo es una vergüenza, sino una tristeza enorme. Entiendo que es cine infantil y que la acción y narrativa trata de apelar a aquellos cuya experiencia en el cine sea joven, sin embargo, esa juventud tiene la oportunidad de crecer con parámetros narrativos que apelen a la innovación, a lo inteligente y, mínimo, razonable. Pero si se continua promoviendo este cine, solo estamos promoviendo un vicio idiotico en el que la sociedad se puede estancar narrativamente con presupuestos que pueden ser usados para historias de mayor impacto.
Mi mayor tristeza reside en el director, quien decidió participar en éste proyecto y manchar un poco su muy corta carrera. Travis Knight, quien fue el Lead Animator en películas de calidad indudable como Caroline (2009), ParaNorman (2012), The Boxtrolls (2014) y director de Kubo And The Two Strings ha provocado que me mantenga al margen de sus intenciones o aspiraciones.
Perdón por extenderme demasiado, pasa a veces cuando me molesto.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
gfairyJan 20, 2019
Empty, vapid movie that dumb people who watch Lifetime or Hallmark will love. Nothing new here, full of cliches, full of borderline terrible acting, and it still has nothing transformers about it. If you want to watch this movie for free,Empty, vapid movie that dumb people who watch Lifetime or Hallmark will love. Nothing new here, full of cliches, full of borderline terrible acting, and it still has nothing transformers about it. If you want to watch this movie for free, turn on Lifetime movie network or Nick Jr. When they understand bumblebee isn't a mute insect they will have a start. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
1
Nobody1984Dec 28, 2018
Um im Vorhinein festzulegen. Die Transformer Reihe war nie wirklich eine gute, aber mindestens hat sie unterhalten, zumindest wenn man mit den Gedanken hingeht nicht viel nachzudenken zu müssen und sich das Hirn wegblasen zu lassen durch dieUm im Vorhinein festzulegen. Die Transformer Reihe war nie wirklich eine gute, aber mindestens hat sie unterhalten, zumindest wenn man mit den Gedanken hingeht nicht viel nachzudenken zu müssen und sich das Hirn wegblasen zu lassen durch die typischen Michael Bay Explosionen. Sie haben hauptsächlich viel falsch gemacht und dieser Film gesellt sich dazu als schlechtester Film der Reihe. Ich wurde leider nicht unterhalten. Im Gegenteil, ich bin sogar mit einem schlechten Gefühl herausgegangen von erzwungenen "Momenten" , die einfach nicht da waren. Von clichéhaften und nicht glaubwürdigen Charakteren, die , so scheint mir, bewusst karikiert wurden bis zu einer langweiligen Geschichte, die tatsächlich versucht sich ernst zu nehmen und scheitert.Sozialbehaftete Kritikpunkte der letzten filmen waren die Glorifizierung alter männlicher "Vorbilder" und die Übersexualisierung der Frau, die Hand und Fuß hat und tatsächlich zu kritisieren sind. Dieses Mal wird das typische Narrativ der Aktualität, selbstbewusste starke Frau,schusseliger männlicher Sidekick bis aufs Äußerste gereizt und kommt ebenfalls nicht an. Die gleichen Fehler nur anders herum. Am Ende bleibt ein Film, der in Vergessenheit geraten wird und meine verschwendete Zeit, die ich nicht mehr zurückbekommen werde. Nicht empfehlenswert Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
KholouredJan 20, 2019
God awful, great fluffy kids movie, maybe 13 and younger but if you are a fan of the transformers series then steer clear you'll cry...

One, none of the storyline facts added up from the previous movies. Two, the animation was archaic
God awful, great fluffy kids movie, maybe 13 and younger but if you are a fan of the transformers series then steer clear you'll cry...

One, none of the storyline facts added up from the previous movies.

Two, the animation was archaic looked very blocky.

Three, the acting... I'm sorry to say to John Cena (whom I love to pieces, great actor) he was great in the beginning and the end. Very authentic, perfect felt natural, but in the middle... very forced and cliche terrible storyline i feel sorry for the guy he tried so hard but his lines... terrible you can't fix a bad script no matter who you are. Infact most of the acting was very cliche, very predictable and just annoying... And four, Bumblebees character... omg where to even start... they just destroyed him in this movie, he was portrayed as no better then an unintelligent beaten dog... if your looking for an emotional heroic transformer Bumblebee story, read the comic books this movie will just piss you off. Very disappointing, definetly not a part of the transformer series this is a terrible spin off worst movie I have ever seen honestly.
Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
1
jessica1215Dec 30, 2018
It's ok the movie I did like the songs was in movie some song I know already I like transformers better movie I thought movie be better review I watch on YouTube I watch it in theaters I don't know :)
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
greggmanOct 22, 2019
This is one of the worst movies I've ever watched. Well, half warched as it was so bad I couldn't finish even though I was just trying to kill time on a flight. I have to assume any reviewer with half a brain didn't see the movie and the restThis is one of the worst movies I've ever watched. Well, half warched as it was so bad I couldn't finish even though I was just trying to kill time on a flight. I have to assume any reviewer with half a brain didn't see the movie and the rest were paid shills. There's on way an honest reviewer wouldn't be reeling at the giant plot holes and other problems with the first half of the movie (assume the 2nd half is more of the same). Just awful. I get it's a transformers movie but come on! no excuse for it to be this bad Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
joegernautApr 1, 2019
we loved it and got to see it in 3D ! The trailers ruined all the supersizes but it was still great . I just wish that 3D wasn't so hard to find . No 3D NO SELL !we loved it and got to see it in 3D ! The trailers ruined all the supersizes but it was still great . I just wish that 3D wasn't so hard to find . No 3D NO SELL ! . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
ne0ticJun 22, 2019
Didn't really feel like a Transformers movie... Weren't that complex and the the action were, meh and the plot were just okay. Still better then The Last Knight but nowhere near as good as the other Transformers movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
runner451275Oct 13, 2019
utter trash! The movie promises a lot in the first 10 minutes. It shows why bumblebee became bumblebee. but then the following 50 minutes its about this stupid girl and her dad and her family that i dont give a crap about. it should be allutter trash! The movie promises a lot in the first 10 minutes. It shows why bumblebee became bumblebee. but then the following 50 minutes its about this stupid girl and her dad and her family that i dont give a crap about. it should be all about bumblebee but this movie portrays the girl more often than bumblebee. It feels like bumblebee is a extra in the movie and not the main charachter. im giving it a 1 just because of only the beginning of the movie. So sad, again a great concept turned to trash. Great job director! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews