ARC Entertainment (II) | Release Date: September 30, 2011
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 42 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
22
Mixed:
14
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
SharitOct 24, 2011
Bunraku is not for everyone. People who are hungry for another slick action movie, may get disappointed by this movie. The movie is set on a dystopian world, where modern & ancient lifestyles cross paths regularly. After the global warsBunraku is not for everyone. People who are hungry for another slick action movie, may get disappointed by this movie. The movie is set on a dystopian world, where modern & ancient lifestyles cross paths regularly. After the global wars killing millions of people, guns are outlawed and knives & swords are back. 2 men (Josh Hartnett & Gackt) are out to get revenge against the most powerful man in Atlantic, the Woodcutter. Though having initially disliked each other, they are guided by the wise Bartender (Woody Harrelsen) to team up against the evil reign of the Woodcutter. The plot is simple and sometimes predictable, but makes space for a large number of well-choreographed action sequences. However, each scene has a colorful fantasy-themed dramatic background (probably shot on a Theatre Stage) - which can distract some people from all the tense action happening at front. The uniqueness of this movie is it keeps sending a fantasy vibe through-out, you will either love it or hate it! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
MrPositiveDec 30, 2013
Bunraku is super fun to watch. I'm not sure why the critics are acting like this should be more realistic or serious, but it's one of only a few times that I greatly disagree with them wholeheartedly. The visuals are obviously mesmerizing butBunraku is super fun to watch. I'm not sure why the critics are acting like this should be more realistic or serious, but it's one of only a few times that I greatly disagree with them wholeheartedly. The visuals are obviously mesmerizing but it's the fun of the killers and narrative that made it so enjoyable for me. It's sad that so many people will miss this. I mean who takes a movie serious that has horns and video game sounds when punches happen? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
NKOASNov 17, 2012
Though debuting in 2010 at the Toronto International Film Festival, Bunraku didn
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SteewieeNov 14, 2011
Probably the best movie I have seen in a long long time. I found the scene changes slick and general art direction of the movie to be beyond breath taking.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
dapper_danFeb 4, 2012
Play-like sets. Odd lighting. Interesting storyline. Demi Moore was not put to good use, but it was a very entertaining movie. Predictable, but entertaining.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Javike7Nov 12, 2012
This is an interesting movie. I love the intro and the play with lights and music. The story line is good featuring a post-war world-war state that is ruled by swords and fist because guns were outlawed. I thought the fight scenes were niftyThis is an interesting movie. I love the intro and the play with lights and music. The story line is good featuring a post-war world-war state that is ruled by swords and fist because guns were outlawed. I thought the fight scenes were nifty and not exaggerated. Overall what really draws me to this movie is the background were they combine lighting and paper montage for building and other scenes, for me this was really unique. That and sometimes how the fight and the music seem to be completely in sync. It a good movie that delivers decent entertainment. It won't blow your mind, but I'm sure most will enjoy it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
wildcatonlineNov 19, 2011
It took me a few minutes to get used to the originality of this movie's imagery, but once I got used to its non-Hollywood way of communicating its ideas and thought-provoking language, I soon realized that it was one of the most unique andIt took me a few minutes to get used to the originality of this movie's imagery, but once I got used to its non-Hollywood way of communicating its ideas and thought-provoking language, I soon realized that it was one of the most unique and interesting movies I had seen in a while, and I watch a lot of movies. In my opinion, this movie is far ahead of its time, inspiring thought about the way people choose to live in today's 'numbed-out' society, what principles, ethics and morals we choose to live by, what our motives are behind what we do out in society, among other world issues, or individual struggles, including violence vs non-violence, action vs non-action, ego vs selflessness, independence vs conformity, freedom vs repression, disbandment vs unity, and more. I absolutely loved it. Even though the imagery was simplistic, cartoon-like, and visually stimulating, it occurred to me that perhaps the concept that this film's type of visual expression was attempting to reflect the tone of today's society and the common influences inside of a media-fueled generation. What better way to communicate these thought-provoking ideas than through visually stimulating scenes using action, humor, direct physical conflict, and especially video game-like images and sounds. This is definitely not a movie to watch if all you want to do is numb out on another Hollywood film with a predictable outcome and definitive message. If you are open to it, you will find yourself thinking about your own life and what you want to do with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Mar 2, 2016
The usual kung fu movie with exciting and thrilling scenes.

Watch this movie here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1c123d-Bunraku-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews