Well Go USA Entertainment | Release Date: October 26, 2018
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 143 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
116
Mixed:
17
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Brent_MarchantDec 2, 2018
An intriguing and often-quirky Korean mystery that gets many things right but misses the mark on some others. The title aptly reflects the many diverse story elements going on here, with performances and plot threads that generally sizzleAn intriguing and often-quirky Korean mystery that gets many things right but misses the mark on some others. The title aptly reflects the many diverse story elements going on here, with performances and plot threads that generally sizzle with an ever-growing intensity. However, there come times when the simmering goes on a little too long and where the cryptic dialogue is a little prolonged and needlessly vague. Consequently, the ultimate payoff is a little underwhelming and less than satisfying compared to the build-up it's given. In all, "Burning" comes ever so close to brilliance but just doesn't have quite enough in the tank to push it over the top. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
mainstreamkidFeb 13, 2019
Burning is a very well shot film and its "blue morning" aesthetic marries its screenplay's mysterious nature quite perfectly. The soundtrack, too, is in perfect consonance with the film and I was amazed at how good and natural theBurning is a very well shot film and its "blue morning" aesthetic marries its screenplay's mysterious nature quite perfectly. The soundtrack, too, is in perfect consonance with the film and I was amazed at how good and natural the performances were.

Steven Yeun is incredible in this. His subtle but convincing acting choices really bring life, not only to his character, but also to the entire scenes he's in. This film is definitely not what I thought it was going to be, and I'm glad it was able to surprise me.

To me, Burning is a beautiful car in flames, in the distance, slowly heading in your direction. It takes you a while to make out what it is, but when you figure it out, the car is inches from you already and you're too distracted by its flames to do something about it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
alumaMar 30, 2019
Complete and utter waste of time. I can't believe this movie has so many positive reviews. The script was dull, the purposefully subtle greenhouses are like girls allegory was not clever. The characters were boringly predictable. The pacingComplete and utter waste of time. I can't believe this movie has so many positive reviews. The script was dull, the purposefully subtle greenhouses are like girls allegory was not clever. The characters were boringly predictable. The pacing was painfully slow. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
LynMar 31, 2019
It's a thriller devoid of thrills, and the main reason to watch is curiosity about what "The Walking Dead's" Steven Yeun will do with a major film role. (He's OK.) "Burning" plucks a few key aspects from Murakami's short story, but doesn't doIt's a thriller devoid of thrills, and the main reason to watch is curiosity about what "The Walking Dead's" Steven Yeun will do with a major film role. (He's OK.) "Burning" plucks a few key aspects from Murakami's short story, but doesn't do it justice despite taking hours longer to watch than the story takes to read. The ending, especially, seems ridiculously wrong. The lead character seems like a dullard, not the intelligent young man one pictures in the story. The South Korean setting is interesting, though. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
DefinitelyMaybApr 27, 2019
A masterpiece of filmmaking. Reminds me of watching Mulholland Drive for the first time. Film can be interpreted in many ways and still won't answer the central premise of the thriller. It is a remarkable piece of modern mystery and gives theA masterpiece of filmmaking. Reminds me of watching Mulholland Drive for the first time. Film can be interpreted in many ways and still won't answer the central premise of the thriller. It is a remarkable piece of modern mystery and gives the impression the film goes beyond what the characters say or do. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
OlivierPielJan 16, 2019
Movie critics seems to have fallen in love with this cinematic adaptation of Murakami. They seem to praise the atmosphere of the film, congratulating themselves in deciphering the metaphores dropped here and there like a little Tom Thumb byMovie critics seems to have fallen in love with this cinematic adaptation of Murakami. They seem to praise the atmosphere of the film, congratulating themselves in deciphering the metaphores dropped here and there like a little Tom Thumb by the film director, some even philosophizing on the Little/Great Hunger theme brought up by the female protagonist.
Reading all of them, I was left wondering if any had ever read Murakami's work because this author indulges far too much in pseudo-philosophy à la Paulo Coelho or Yann Martel's Life of Pi with immature failed artists trying to find "the meaning of life"! To be fair, the film manages indeed to accurately put on the screen the gently nihilistic, decadent pre-otaku world of Murakami and his world of likeable over-educated dreamy but lazy, passive "sick-of-the-world" Japanese losers (in a way that resembles Wong Kar Wai's Chungking express). He also goes further, by evidently adding a layer of social-political critique of our current materialistic society. This is slightly too much on the nose however and adds to the biggest problem of this film: It's 2 1/2 hour long!! All the scenes could have been cut by 2/3rd and wouldn't have lost much. Many scenes are also totally useless both for plot exposition or the characters development. The second half of the film is almost totally redundant in scene after scene, for no good artistic reason.
Murakami never left me with an impression of art and beauty but rather an unhealthy habit of self-indulgent introspection to justify a lack of will. Compared with the great Japanese masters, Sooseki, Oe or Mishima, his work seemed trite but content of this very fact.
This is the same with this film.
It doesn't add up to much....and definitely won't "leave a lasting impression"as many critics seem to believe.
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeJan 14, 2019
Running For A Lost Cause.

Burning Lee's illuminating thriller lights a havoc on the drama genre. From scene one, the slow pill is the best medicine one can aspire for such a shady tale, and Lee's vision doesn't go off track, even for a
Running For A Lost Cause.

Burning

Lee's illuminating thriller lights a havoc on the drama genre. From scene one, the slow pill is the best medicine one can aspire for such a shady tale, and Lee's vision doesn't go off track, even for a split second in this more than two hours of marathon. A perfectly balanced and properly constructed film, that balances characters' perspective and the bones of the storyline on nothing but uncertainty. And it is that element of uncertainty in air, that keeps challenging us to think beyond our imaginations and the responsible driver is Lee armed with a meticulous script and brilliant execution. Probably only once they refer the word "metaphor" which doesn't mean anything, for besides that, it is immensely layered and a mirror of the intentions and deep dark thoughts of these characters.

One might assume that after its first half, the film would drive towards the rudimentary investigation process, but Lee has some other plans for you, he has been building up the entire film for that last trick that leaves its viewers hanging without any clue. And this is where the film gets better, after it ends, it allows you to roll back all the tell tales and innuendos that was driving towards this destination, boy what a ride it is.

Aforementioned, the entire film is dipped into metaphor, Lee is not ready to reveal his secret till the last frame, he holds on to it like his dearest, which makes us hold onto this wider range allegory, never has a tale been so fluctuating and pulsating. From the shadow of a lighthouse to a cow, from well crafted rumors to a cat, it is a buoyant absorbing tale that tests you intellectually and spiritually. And walking that fine line, resides Lee's true intentions of the tale, and as a character quotes once in the film, The Greater Hunger- the meaning of life.

Yoo, the protagonist, has pretty much a similar role to its audience, he too is trying to figure out and analyse the world around him, and fortunately he is at best at his depressive state rather than an overprotective one. Jun as the essential part of the mystery act, has plays an amazing role to cast the spell of hers enough to not let it wear off until the credits rolls. But the show stealer would always be Yeun, in his rich charismatic cloak.

With his stunning portrayal, and the substance of his characters that is most attracting than any others, his ideologies speaks much more than one anticipates. If its first act is spent upon building our protagonist, then the second one is depicting the eerie chemistry of this scary friendship, leaving us with a last act that is basically joining the dots. Hence, personally I prefer when Yeun invades Yoo and Jun's life with a big pack of gusto. Burning burns more than you would think, in fact it leaves us with only ashes for us to investigate, and to survive from that has its own sweet results.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SergioMaJan 9, 2019
A good thriller (if it fits into this category), but the actors were lacking enough skills. Hence, the movie lost a lot of its potentials due to the bad choice. Sometimes, the viewer would feel bored due to the monotone narration. TheA good thriller (if it fits into this category), but the actors were lacking enough skills. Hence, the movie lost a lot of its potentials due to the bad choice. Sometimes, the viewer would feel bored due to the monotone narration. The psychotic events were nicely written. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
imthenoobMay 7, 2019
Not to say that it's really bad but it was just utterly boring. It's filled with obvious subtext, essentially a poor, unintelligent kid being jealous of the upper class, and everyone really does come into perspective upon a second viewing.Not to say that it's really bad but it was just utterly boring. It's filled with obvious subtext, essentially a poor, unintelligent kid being jealous of the upper class, and everyone really does come into perspective upon a second viewing. However, It's just not the kind of movie for me. I think the monotone delivery and the crippling slow pace ruin it for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
gracjanskiOct 14, 2019
very boring movie especially in the first half with a naive and stupid main character. In the 2nd half it gets better, but still this movie is so slow and boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
smuroseJun 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was long but very intriguing. It was raw in emotion and I was wondering what happened to the girl once she disappeared. I was hoping she would pop up but she never did. The characters were all well-played but there were a lot of questions I had after the movie ended. It really makes you think but there isn't a set conclusion. I probably would watch it again though to see if I could make more connections. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BITESCREENApr 15, 2019
Im wuseligen Seoul trifft Jong-su zufällig seine alte Mitschülerin Hae-mi wieder – die den schüchternen Tagelöhner kurzerhand zum schnellen Sex ins Mini-Apartment einlädt. Als Gegenleistung passt er ein paar Tage auf ihre Katze auf, alsIm wuseligen Seoul trifft Jong-su zufällig seine alte Mitschülerin Hae-mi wieder – die den schüchternen Tagelöhner kurzerhand zum schnellen Sex ins Mini-Apartment einlädt. Als Gegenleistung passt er ein paar Tage auf ihre Katze auf, als Hae-mi in Afrika urlaubt – und mit dem hübschen wie stinkreichen Ben (Korea-Starexport Steven Yeun) im Gepäck wiederkommt. Zu dritt trifft man sich zum Fine-Dining, Feiern im Club oder zum Kiffen auf dem Land – wo Ben Jong-su schließlich ein dunkles Geheimnis anvertraut. Dann verschwindet Hae-mi plötzlich. Eine unerreichbare Frau, Jazz und eine komische Katze: Die Haruki-Murakami-Verfilmung Burning hat einige Lieblingsthemen des Erfolgsautors an Bord. Und auch Regisseur Chang-dong Lee gibt sich nicht mit nur einem Genre zufrieden. So dümpelt der überlange Film ewig als gut gespieltes und stimmungsvolles Mystery-Liebesdrama herum, nur um sich im letzten Drittel plötzlich in einen uninspirierten und zudem vorhersehbaren Krimi zu verwandeln. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001May 26, 2019
This is a bleak film, mostly in tone and atmosphere, not narratively.
It's also too dubious and spaced. The film relies heavily in ambiguity and certainly challenges you to infer things but not always what is insinuated is really rewarding or
This is a bleak film, mostly in tone and atmosphere, not narratively.
It's also too dubious and spaced. The film relies heavily in ambiguity and certainly challenges you to infer things but not always what is insinuated is really rewarding or satisfying when the plot isn't really direct.

Burning is a dense film, I wouldn't say complex but it does has certain deep and hidden layers that invite you to revisit it, unfortunately its slow character study and the slow narrative are not so exciting especially because I think that seeing it again would imply not to enjoy it again but to notice the things you overlooked the first time and I say that because I'm 100% sure that there were things that I didn't quite noticed

Immersive no doubt about that but not as captivating as I had been led to believe.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bertaut1Feb 16, 2019
A slow-burning mystery about economics, class, and sexual jealousy. And cats.

A thriller about a missing person. An allegory of class division. A fable about modern consumerism. A dramatisation of psychological breakdown. An analysis of
A slow-burning mystery about economics, class, and sexual jealousy. And cats.

A thriller about a missing person. An allegory of class division. A fable about modern consumerism. A dramatisation of psychological breakdown. An analysis of socio-economic disenfranchisement. A critique of toxic masculinity and its concomitant misogyny. An extended rib on Schrodinger's cat. Beoning is all of these. And none of them. Essentially a psychological drama about three people, although it's possible that only one of those people is real. There are also two cats. Or maybe only one cat. For some, those more used to concrete black-and-white, yes-and-no narratives, the film's ambiguity will be off-putting. However, irrespective of that, director Lee Chang-dong's mastery of tone is extraordinary to witness, bestowing portentous significance upon the most inanimate of objects.

Adapted by Lee and Jungmi Oh from Haruki Murakami's 1983 short story "Barn Burning", which itself is loosely inspired by William Faulkner's 1939 short story, Beoning is set in contemporary South Korea, and tells the story of aspiring novelist Lee Jong-su (Ah-in Yoo), who by chance encounters Shin Hae-mi (Jong-seo Jun), who claims to have gone to school with him, although he doesn't remember. Beginning a tentative relationship, Jong-su is confused when Hae-mi returns from a trip to Africa with a new friend, the wealthy and confidant Ben (Steven Yeun). As the trio form a strange relationship, Ben tells Jong-su that he likes to burn down a greenhouse every few months. Shortly thereafter, Hae-mi disappears, and, suspecting Ben, Jong-su determines to find her. Thematically, the film covers a plethora of issues; toxic masculinity, alpha and beta males, economics and consumerism, class, the place of women in Korean society, sexual jealousy, working-class privations, faceless capitalism, writer's block, and gender politics. In relation to this last theme, one of the things that so captivates Jong-su about Hae-mi is her provocative behaviour. Yet later, when she dances topless outside his house, he is disgusted, telling Ben, "only a whore acts like that." It's a succinct summary of a societal double-standard. Whilst it could be argued that Hae-mi functions only to further Jong-su and Ben's arcs, devoid of any real agency herself, an alternative reading is that she is poorly sketched so as to represent a patriarchal society in which women are seen as less complex than men. However, there is also the possibility that she doesn't actually exist, and in this sense, the fact that she is so sexualised is because she is literally a male's fantasy, a sexual obsession born in the disturbed mind of an unreliable narrator. The film is told exclusively from Jong-su's perspective, everything we see is filtered through his ideological outlook. So, for example, when he sees Ben yawning as Hae-mi is dancing, the yawn becomes sinister, because that's how Jong-su interprets it. In this sense, if one theorises that Hae-mi is a figment of Jong-su's imagination, then so too must Ben, serving as the inverse to Hae-mi; a personification of everything to which Jong-su aspires, but is unable to attain.

One of the most salient motifs, if not necessarily a theme unto itself, is that of disappearance, with references scattered throughout the film - Hae-mi notes that her childhood home is gone, as is the well she fell into; Jong-su recollects how after his mother abandoned the family, his father burnt her clothes; when Ben tells Jong-su about his greenhouse hobby, he states, "you can make it disappear as if it never even existed"; Hae-mi says she wants to disappear; when Jong-su asks Ben if it's possible Hae-mi has gone on another trip, Ben says, "maybe she disappeared like a puff of smoke". The most important scene in this sense is one in which Hae-mi tells Jon-su that she's learning pantomime, and proceeds to mime peeling and eating a tangerine, telling Jong-su the trick isn't to pretend the tangerine is really there, but to "forget it doesn't exist". This challenge to perception is crucial not just in how Jong-su becomes convinced Hae-mi has met foul play despite the lack of evidence, it also provides a clue for the audience as to how best to parse the film itself.

All in all, I found Beoning to be a haunting film, one which I couldn't get out of head for days, and I'm keen to see it again. Some will dislike the ambiguity, but Lee's masterful control of tone is extraordinary, balancing a plethora of themes within a half-social-realist/half-magic-realist milieu. As good an exercise in cinematic suggestiveness as you're likely to see, the film is such that everything on screen, every word spoken, every background detail could be important. Or not. Fiercely intelligent, deeply nuanced, complexly layered, this is the finely crafted work of a distinct and relevant auteur.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CosiMOLOGOOct 28, 2018
Lee Chang-Dong adapta una historia corta del reconocido autor japones Haruki Murakami, narra la historia de un joven egresado de la carrera de literatura (que trabaja como cargador), un día se rencuentra con Haimei, una vieja amiga que ahoraLee Chang-Dong adapta una historia corta del reconocido autor japones Haruki Murakami, narra la historia de un joven egresado de la carrera de literatura (que trabaja como cargador), un día se rencuentra con Haimei, una vieja amiga que ahora trabaja en una tienda animadora , ella le pide que cuide a su gato, mientras hace un viaje. Allí conoce a Ben, un joven adinerado. La película comienza con una escena (filmada en un plano secuencia), allí nos presentan a Jongsung y Haimei.

Podemos dividir a la película en dos partes: Comienza como un drama romántico, contando un tipo de triángulo amoroso entre Jongsung, Haimen y Ben. Para esto el espectador ya ha captado el halo de misterio que se acrecienta en la siguiente parte. Poco a poco los colores se van tornando oscuros.

La película pasa del drama al suspenso. Podemos ver los verdaderos sentimientos y emociones de los personajes. Los celos, la posición social (tema que la película toma como referente para el desarrolo de los personajes) , el amor y el sexo impulsan el relato y dan nombre a esta hermosa y aterradora historia. Una obra maestra.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jenjen0507Jul 9, 2019
Many aspects of the movie need to analyzed, because it showed a lot of issues in our society, which consist sexist, underestimation and the man's value. Great to watch!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
maxineslipJan 19, 2020
it's the worst movie experience i had in a long time ,i don't understand the critics,have you ever seen a good film before,have you never seen parasite,or any other good korean films to give this piece of S### a 9 out of 10, are you basicallyit's the worst movie experience i had in a long time ,i don't understand the critics,have you ever seen a good film before,have you never seen parasite,or any other good korean films to give this piece of S### a 9 out of 10, are you basically blind and deaf? what's more, Are you STUPID? This is a film that's going to leave no mark in your memory whatsoever,it got no climax ,hell it got nothing, it's just a plain piece of turd,thank you for wasting my F######## Time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KwwakNov 13, 2019
I'm pretty new to the Korean movies. It's very specific and unique movie, but it's worth watching! I love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JGuevaraFeb 29, 2020
I was somewhat surprised how much this movie affected me. It is highly thought provoking and can be interpreted in several different ways. I believe part of the writer's intention is to show how one's perspective or mind can lead one toI was somewhat surprised how much this movie affected me. It is highly thought provoking and can be interpreted in several different ways. I believe part of the writer's intention is to show how one's perspective or mind can lead one to choose or make conclusions that may be completely different than someone else with a different upbringing, or mental or emotional state. After watching the film, I had one belief about what led up to the ending and then upon reading other people's theories became convinced that the movie was in fact showing the audience how their conclusions were based off small windows of their limited perspectives, not the whole picture. Very early in the movie, the female main mentions how her apartment’s lone window faces north, so her room only gets natural light for a very short time once a day. The writer leaves subtle clues within the dialogue used between the characters such as metaphors or suggestive aids to help the viewer infer events and their meaning throughout the movie. In one of the initial scenes, one of the main characters is pantomiming eating a tangerine and states the key is "Don't think there is a tangerine here. Just forget that there isn't one. That's the key." Many times in our lives we make assumptions based on things we see, hear, feel, or sometimes we tell ourselves stories based on these perceptions, and can get so caught up in our emotions and mind’s dialogue that we miss all of the moments in between. Sadly, many of us may make regrettable choices based on these imperfect inferences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Dave_FMar 13, 2020
A really good film (once I had got past the subtitles!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews