Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 20, 2019
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 418 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
239
Mixed:
22
Negative:
157
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
clifbarDec 25, 2019
It took me about thirty minutes to get into this movie. I love the beautiful dancing by the cat Victoria. And I loved hearing Jennifer Hudson singing Memories. Also I loved the humor of James Cordon and Rebel Wilson. Also Judy Dench wasIt took me about thirty minutes to get into this movie. I love the beautiful dancing by the cat Victoria. And I loved hearing Jennifer Hudson singing Memories. Also I loved the humor of James Cordon and Rebel Wilson. Also Judy Dench was great. I loved the tapdancer. This movie is not for everyone, but if you understand that it is a musical with singing and dancing, you should be satisfied. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
NeoTheFoxJan 10, 2020
I can't really wrap my mind around how unfair people are to this movie. I loved it. The actors really are giving their all, the songs are great, the choreography is also very good. As someone who seen the original play it's my favorite version of it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
viniciussawateJan 12, 2020
Soundtrack and quality choreography don't save musical from bizarre visual and uncomfortable performance of it's main stars. Burying a talented cast of actors, singers, and dancers behind so much digital makeup is Cats's big mistake. EvenSoundtrack and quality choreography don't save musical from bizarre visual and uncomfortable performance of it's main stars. Burying a talented cast of actors, singers, and dancers behind so much digital makeup is Cats's big mistake. Even with huge dance numbers, the hasty creation of digital bodies makes it clear that Hooper's movie would be better enjoyed with your eyes closed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Rosalia_the_PigDec 25, 2019
The CGI is off-putting as is the menacing tone of much of the movie, but the latter at least has a basis in the Broadway musical. Ian McKellen’s part was outstanding, everyone I went with agreed it was the best part. The choreography couldThe CGI is off-putting as is the menacing tone of much of the movie, but the latter at least has a basis in the Broadway musical. Ian McKellen’s part was outstanding, everyone I went with agreed it was the best part. The choreography could have been better, but was done no favors by the editing. All in all, it’s not as bad as critics are making it out to be. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
JackieB94Dec 25, 2019
I love cats the musical. I gave it a high score cause the cast was perfect. The music was great the numbers were good but! If I see another sleeve of awkward animated moment where u can tell it’s fake! I will scream oh god picture wise it wasI love cats the musical. I gave it a high score cause the cast was perfect. The music was great the numbers were good but! If I see another sleeve of awkward animated moment where u can tell it’s fake! I will scream oh god picture wise it was terrible. It’s so bad you watch it to laugh or to look for the bad animation moments one can’t even focus on the actors or story line cause ur focused on why the fur and body are going the opposite way of the character lol. Definitely not a must see but you will get emotional with Jennifer Hudson and amazing voice! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
FrankenkurtzDec 26, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spoiler alert! This movie sucks. Id have rather smelled your fart. id have rather had monkeys throw poop at me Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
NYCMovieGuyJan 3, 2020
I have to admit that I enjoyed the dancing and much of the singing, BUT Andrew Lloyd Webber's show just doesn't translate to the big screen. When I saw it the audience kept laughing when the characters made feline gestures.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
spongeswiftDec 20, 2019
Cats is not as bad as the critics say it is, but it has obvious issues. While yes in the beginning I did not think this thing was gonna go well, I was at the verge of tears because of how much laughter I was trying to hold back when I firstCats is not as bad as the critics say it is, but it has obvious issues. While yes in the beginning I did not think this thing was gonna go well, I was at the verge of tears because of how much laughter I was trying to hold back when I first saw the CGI fur. Every actor in this movie thought they were in a different movie. Jennifer Hudson/Francesca Hayward played it too seriously while Rebel Wilson/James Corden were just too comedic and light hearted. While the first two I mentioned did great, the ladder not so much. Rebel Wilson's song was so humiliating and overly sexual that I was laughing AT the film. The mice were so creepy and the roaches were revolting. James Corden did ok but his comedy was a little bit off. Idris Elba was very strong and seemed like an effective "villain." Just leave on the coat Macavity. Taylor Swift had the best performance of the movie visually. Her song was dazzling and so visually pleasing. Her light British accent was nice and her voice was angelic yet strong. I just think that her and Macavity lacked chemistry, Their relationship (maybe???) should've been explored much more. Memory was so vocally amazing and JHud was a powerhouse. Francesca Hayward's Beautiful Ghosts (Taylor Swift penned) was well "beautiful" and helped furthered the story better than any song in the film. Overall this film was solid but character development was sparse and some of the cats were severely under used (Taylor Swift.) Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
samhin98Dec 26, 2019
I loved the movie!
The critics and reviews suggesting it is too sexual... clearly have their mind in the gutter. It is an entertaining adaptation of a Broadway MUSICAL- something that most seem to be forgetting.
If you appreciate great
I loved the movie!
The critics and reviews suggesting it is too sexual... clearly have their mind in the gutter. It is an entertaining adaptation of a Broadway MUSICAL- something that most seem to be forgetting.
If you appreciate great dancing, singing, and fun- this movie is for you! If you love to jump on the bandwagon and hate whats popular to hate, might as well just save your money.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
keibroDec 29, 2019
I know the critics have mostly canned this film, and I went along with my wife, not expecting much, but I’m happy to say that I was surprised at its pure entertainment value. I never saw Cats when it was a musical stage sensation, but II know the critics have mostly canned this film, and I went along with my wife, not expecting much, but I’m happy to say that I was surprised at its pure entertainment value. I never saw Cats when it was a musical stage sensation, but I understand that this movie stays true to its theatrical roots. TS Eliot’s work was probably not written with a theatrical adaptation in mind, so the writers have done well to spin this book of poems into a loosely knit plot. There is also a touch of Eliot’s mysticism. The characters, played by a Who’s Who of actors, convey a great deal of warmth and heart, and the production values are top notch. Don’t go expecting a complex plot. Just go to let the experience wash over you. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
CipresslgDec 21, 2019
Horrible, parece una pelicula de furris. Horror una mala decision recurrir a esos graficos
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
DuetDec 24, 2019
This movie is great... if you know what you are watching. This movie is intended for fans of the musical, and not for critics and film reviewers alike who have not seen the musical, or read the poems. Yes, I’ll admit the CGI is very choppy inThis movie is great... if you know what you are watching. This movie is intended for fans of the musical, and not for critics and film reviewers alike who have not seen the musical, or read the poems. Yes, I’ll admit the CGI is very choppy in some areas, particularly towards the end, which is not something you want in a movie, to say the least. The controversial CGI design, however, can be easily overlooked and even ignored if you’re able to get into the story and experience of Cats. As a fan of the musical and the poems, I greatly enjoyed the film, and had a lot of fun with it. The only other criticisms I have about the film are nerdy nitpicks which I don’t want to get into (E.g: Skimbleshanks should not have a moustache!), or casting decisions that I also don’t want to get into (E.g: Rebel Wilson as Jennyanydots). Overall, the film is wonderful enjoyable if screened to the right audience, but unwise casting decisions and unfinished CGI work pull it down. I would give the film three and a half stars, but Google doesn’t let you do that here. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
jdolan74Dec 23, 2019
This movie is weird, but I loved its weirdness. I was mesmerized by Francesca Hayward as Victoria. Idris Elba and Judi Dench were fantastic. I liked the music. I liked the weird visuals. I liked it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
VitorlancastreDec 21, 2019
Fãs de divas pop passam muita vergonha. O filmeco é horroroso sim, e não há argumento que justifique o contrário.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
UsastDec 24, 2019
An amazing adaptation of the musical to the silver screen. The acting, dance and special effects have taken CATS forward to a new generation in an exciting way!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
nsteadDec 29, 2019
Great reworking of a classic. Perhaps the songs are a bit dated now, but the plot is better than the stage show ever was, and the CGI effects are good too.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
LovedcatsDec 29, 2019
I honestly loved this movie. It was funny, wtf did I just watch, and it gave me chills all at the same time! It was amazing
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Smilin856Dec 30, 2019
I absolutely loved this movie and so did my daughters (age 23 and 26). We've seen the play though and loved the play but we liked the movie even more! I believe those who appreciate dance and music (actual talent) will enjoy it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
GreatMartinDec 20, 2019
T. S. Eliot had written a book of verses regarding cats and wrote his publisher the following:
"....there might be a part that children wouldn’t like and part that adults wouldn’t like and part that nobody would like. The mise-en-scène may
T. S. Eliot had written a book of verses regarding cats and wrote his publisher the following:
"....there might be a part that children wouldn’t like and part that adults wouldn’t like and part that nobody would like. The mise-en-scène may not please. There seem to be many more ways of going wrong than of going right (to Geoffrey Faber, 6 March 1936) "Cats", the Broadway musical, ran for 18 years and 7,485 performances opening in 1982. The previous year it opened London and now, 83 years later, it is on the silver screen. (Do people still call it that?)

The first time I saw it on stage I went to the Winter Garden theatre and was interested how they changed the whole theatre into an alley and additionally sparked my interest when you could see the 'cats' roam all over including the back of customer's seats. I didn't really pay attention to the story because there really wasn't any but watching the actors being cats was a joy of its own. It was more of an audition for some individual cats of which one would be chosen for the 'Heaviside Layer' and come back to a new life.

The musical score by Andrew Lloyd Webber, using the verses of T.S.Eliot plus some help from Trevor Nunn and Richard Stilgoe, giving the world the song "Memory".

Many people hated the show but more, specifically parents, their kids and tourists loved the show eventually making billions of dollars.

The movie opened this week and will, too, have some loving it and others hating it but I think the latter will win. I don't fall into either category as I didn't feel one way or the other. Being a huge Jennifer Hudson fan I was anxious to hear/see her deliver "Memory" and she more than makes the song her own. Judi Dench, who was to be in the original production but who had to leave due to a Archilles tendon snapping a week before the show was to open, is here to decide who will go to the Heaviside Layer and Ian McKellen as Asaragus, Gus for short, is a once famous actor and now is old, has cerebral palsy and hopes to 'win' the chance for a new life.

Various other cats are played by Idris Elba, Rebel Wilson and James Cordon while Francesca Hayward makes her film debut as Victoria a new cat abandoned by her human owners. There is also an excellent ensemble of professional dancers, many from the Royal Ballet, with choreography by Andy Blankenbuehler.

The cat 'outfits' along with the disconcerting CGI effects and the direction by Tom Hopper lacks the charm of the stage productions. Though I am glad I went to see this version of "Cats" I won't recommend it as it is one of the many of less successful Broadway to Hollywood musicals.

The movie runs an hour and 50 minutes and is rated R but I didn't hear/see anything that would be offensive for young kids who would probably get involved watched the cats.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
TimGDec 30, 2019
See this movie, and decide for yourself. CATS does not deserve the scathingly negative reviews that many critics gave it. With all musicals, stage or screen, the theatre goer must first knowingly suspend disbelief in order to allow themselvesSee this movie, and decide for yourself. CATS does not deserve the scathingly negative reviews that many critics gave it. With all musicals, stage or screen, the theatre goer must first knowingly suspend disbelief in order to allow themselves to be swept away, and drawn into that world. This is T.S. Elliott’s poetry, written in 1939 and combined with modern day glitz, technology, spectacle, song and dance. This creative crew did a fine job brining it all to life, and I was very entertained! Critics are just that... critics! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
rorek131Dec 21, 2019
The most horrible movie I've seen in a long time. Trash. Old Cats like 100x better.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
Teddyspots47Dec 24, 2019
Great movie! Great themes and lessons of compassion, love, community, friendship, good over evil, redemption, kindness. Instead of taking your kids to a blood-and-weaponry movie, take them to this one. Memorable music, breathtaking dancing,Great movie! Great themes and lessons of compassion, love, community, friendship, good over evil, redemption, kindness. Instead of taking your kids to a blood-and-weaponry movie, take them to this one. Memorable music, breathtaking dancing, and wonderful characters to relate to. Too bad the stupid critics wouldn't know a great movie if they saw one. With growing violence in this world, isn't it time to teach the lessons of this movie? I vote for it! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
jljackson001Dec 26, 2019
My husband and I really enjoyed the film. Despite all of the negative reviews, it is pretty true to the stage production with some slight changes. Francesca Hayward was an enchanting Victoria, Dame Judi Dench was charming, and the CGI reallyMy husband and I really enjoyed the film. Despite all of the negative reviews, it is pretty true to the stage production with some slight changes. Francesca Hayward was an enchanting Victoria, Dame Judi Dench was charming, and the CGI really wasn’t the disaster critics claim. Cats has always been a whimsical, idiosyncratic musical without a hefty plot line. The joy of Cats is in the wonderful music, dancing, and the unique feline characters. If you have no sense of fun or appreciation for the arts and can’t suspend your disbelief long enough to simply enjoy some great singers and actors who happen to be in Cat costumes, skip this film. I’m sure there will be another dull, formulaic and unoriginal film you can watch instead. Maybe another Fast and Furious sequel is more your speed ?!?! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
CatdancerDec 21, 2019
What an experience! Cats overflows with creativity and ardor and spirit and energy that comes from the cast onscreen and the people behind the scenes. The sets are mysteriously beautiful. But I think I was most impressed with the dancingWhat an experience! Cats overflows with creativity and ardor and spirit and energy that comes from the cast onscreen and the people behind the scenes. The sets are mysteriously beautiful. But I think I was most impressed with the dancing choreographed by Andy Blankenbuehler and the dancers especially Francesca Hayward and Les Twins. But IMO all the Jellicle dancers put on an amazing show, so much so that there were moments in the film when I kind of wished director Tom Hooper had followed some of the full-cast dances a bit slower. But then again there is something to be said for Hooper's infectuous whirling effect. The singers are as good as the classic songs. Taylor Swift is a flirtatious Bombalurina who sings the nasty Macavity's (good job, Idris Elba) theme song as well as parts of "Beautiful Ghosts" & the full version over the end credits. . Jennifer Hudson's tortured, emotional version of "Memory" works wonderfully most of the time, especially at the end. This "Cats" casts Victoria in the starring role of an innocent homeless kitten rescued by some of the Jellicle tribe. I don't want to be a spoiler so I'll just say Victoria has some adventures as she gets to know individual Jellicles, some more than others. She follows one of Grizbella's "Memory" preludes with a sweet and touching version of "Beautiful Ghosts". If I try to comment on everyone and everything that makes Cats Cats this would be a very very long review! So just a few more. The comic relief provided by various cast members was uneven, some good, some "meh" but these short scenes do make Cats more entertaining and give audience members a chance to catch their collective breath. The most marvelous "performances by an actor" were Judi Dench as Old Deuteronomy and Ian McKellen as Gus the Theatre Cat. There is something so warm and inviting about Dame Judi's facial expressions; she was covered with just the right amount of digital fur so that the audience could be moved by them. Sir McKellen is a treasure.He plays an old, seen-it-all actor reminicing about his long theatrical career with a sense of pride and joy in his craft that is genuinely moving. Thank you, Andrew Lloyd Webber and everyone who brought this feline magical mystery tour to the P.S. A quick comment on the "trailers" ~ having seen the complete movie, I feel sorry for those whose jobs were to create 3-minute trailers to communicate the merits of this movie. The film contains so much more than can be squeezed into a trailer. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
Razgrez11Dec 20, 2019
This screams cult classic. Just wait, this will be a beloved fav for many critics in about 20 years.
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
0
Kirbypperez1Dec 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Worst movie of the decade! A mess! The soundtrack flopped brought to us by Taylor Swift. Tayvodoo strikes so bad. Swifties aren't streaming and paying to watch this montrosity. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
10
pomattovichDec 22, 2019
What did you expect? Oh. Do the you think the humans pretending to be magical singing cats look weird? I tell you, if someone was going to make an adaptation of ALW's Cats, i WANTED it to look weird! I wanted it to strange, fantastical,What did you expect? Oh. Do the you think the humans pretending to be magical singing cats look weird? I tell you, if someone was going to make an adaptation of ALW's Cats, i WANTED it to look weird! I wanted it to strange, fantastical, sometimes silly, sometimes oddly serious, and always unlike any other movie out there. In those terms, this film is a wild success. You can argue that you don't like the show on which it is based (I had actually never seen it, nor was I familiar with most of the music,) and that you might have never had any interest in seeing any adaptation of it period, but I feel like most people are merely reviewing the film's existence and not the film itself. If you don't like the look of the film and the performers, what WOULD have satisfied you? It was always going to be humans pretending to be cats. Yes, the CGI fur and make-up looks odd, but I was totally fine with it. I was thoroughly entertained for the entire film. I went to an early press screening, and then took my wife a few days later. Unlike me, she is very familiar with the show and she absolutely loved this film. Even more than I. Are there so rough edges to this film? Definitely. But that's certainly true with similarly toned recent musicals like Moulin Rouge or The Greatest Showman, and I like this film considerably more than those. The cast here is excellent. Ian McKellen is a notable standout. Many of the non-star dancers are exceptional. I think Hooper did an excellent job with the film. A Cats movie was always going to be weird. This is gloriously weird. The more people who hate on it now, the bigger the cult status it will achieve later. This film has its fans. They just need to find each other. This one will be watched for years to come. Just not by everyone. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
pdixedenDec 21, 2019
Give me a break- there has never been a plot to cats. This is a fabulous and imaginative production- great fun and Ian McKellen was amazing. We loved it but know what to expect!
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
Daniel54Dec 21, 2019
The most horrible movie I've ever seen. It sucks. Why did they dare to do such crap? And all the reviews that are in green, that chance that they are all fans of the singer Taylor swift hahaha, ridiculous all of them who don't accept that itThe most horrible movie I've ever seen. It sucks. Why did they dare to do such crap? And all the reviews that are in green, that chance that they are all fans of the singer Taylor swift hahaha, ridiculous all of them who don't accept that it is a very bad movie. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
TynanDec 22, 2019
Brilliant! Surreal and engaging! Wonderful characters, amazing choreography and sets.. Both amusing and touching.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
rassmenezesDec 23, 2019
I love it. Quem não gostou, não entendeu o conceito. Conceito quase mata taylor Swift.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Christiandiaz13Dec 25, 2019
The magical essence of this movie is the one of the best, rarest and different things we ever see. Is amazing could see something out of the boring same industry. Congratulations.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
FayolaDec 25, 2019
The musical is so good and actually really interesting. I'm surprised that James is actually really good!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
DanangDec 23, 2019
bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
FuzziSlippersDec 26, 2019
Wow, I didn’t think Taylor Swift could look and sound anymore moronic than she already does on a daily basis
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
UrielalvDec 21, 2019
I hate this movie, seriously is the worst movie and the song beautiful flops is only a joke for the true music
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ClaudiahmDec 24, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ignore the critics and make up your own mind. I have see the live show 3 times since 1985, I loved it every time, the film is exactly what I expected, I got it, shame the critics expected something different, I got it, I loved it J Hud was stunning Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ZhamayyyDec 26, 2019
I love love love this movie! I have been a fan of this musical since I was a child and for me this movie brought that magical feeling that I experienced so long ago rushing back to me.

I really don’t understand why this movie is experiencing
I love love love this movie! I have been a fan of this musical since I was a child and for me this movie brought that magical feeling that I experienced so long ago rushing back to me.

I really don’t understand why this movie is experiencing so much hatred. I guess you either feel the magic or you don’t. I kind of feel sorry for those who don’t.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
jacomonhDec 26, 2019
It's not a bad movie. The CGI does come to be strange, but the acting, songs and direction are very well thought out
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
dapeDec 24, 2019
"Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me." Thing is this valley - The uncanny valley is scary. For the whole movie my brain was hurting trying to"Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me." Thing is this valley - The uncanny valley is scary. For the whole movie my brain was hurting trying to humanize cats. It struggled so much that almost missed constant cringe-fest, bad music and "choreography"? What was it supposed to be? Only good thing in this situation is I got ticket for free. Otherwise I would feel robbed. Production value in general is typical Hollywood level, hence score of "2" instead of -2 that this ^#^##*$@%#&*$(*#*# deserves. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
bartcbemDec 25, 2019
The design of the characters is a failure. Simple as that. I cant believe somebody draw this, then someone else approved it, made it in to super expensive CGI and again said - yes, this looks fine! How is this possible that no one said - waitThe design of the characters is a failure. Simple as that. I cant believe somebody draw this, then someone else approved it, made it in to super expensive CGI and again said - yes, this looks fine! How is this possible that no one said - wait a second, thy looks creepy as hell. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
ay1908Dec 22, 2019
CATastrophic. I don't understand how anyone ever thought this CGI mess was a good idea. It is utterly cringeworthy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
annewithanEDec 25, 2019
yes, i love Taylor, queen of music and movies, she has so many Talent! I LOVE HER
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
MhpsrDec 25, 2019
Too many things going on, storylines were difficult to follow with the lyrics being impossible to understand in critical moments of the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
taroneggytonDec 26, 2019
I give this film 10 out of 10 stars because I thought the song and dance was very visually and audibly pleasant. I don't understand why people are putting heat on the movie just because the cats look weird, that's literally so rude. I feelI give this film 10 out of 10 stars because I thought the song and dance was very visually and audibly pleasant. I don't understand why people are putting heat on the movie just because the cats look weird, that's literally so rude. I feel like this production culminated in a very wholesome and stunning manner and that it is deserving of praise. Please give this movie a chance, you won't regret it. I'm going to watch this movie until it stops screening at my local cinema Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SPKJerseygirlDec 30, 2019
I am so glad that I gave this a chance! It was great!! Never have I ever gotten chills from a musical in a movie theatre. Having seen this on broadway three times, this could have been a letdown but I have told everyone to go see it again and again!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Davrosdaleks1Dec 21, 2019
I know this is getting a lot of bad review, but I really enjoyed Cats. This is such a wildly imaginative movie in both story and appearance.

In order to help explain the plot, it helps to look at this film's origins. At first, there were a
I know this is getting a lot of bad review, but I really enjoyed Cats. This is such a wildly imaginative movie in both story and appearance.

In order to help explain the plot, it helps to look at this film's origins. At first, there were a bunch of poems about cats written by T.S. Elliott in the 1930s. Then came the crazy idea to turn them into songs for an eighties musical. It really didn't have any spoken words. A loose story was added to tie the songs together. Now we've got a film trying to to sell this loose concept to a general audience. I don't think it did too bad a job.

The movie takes the basic musical and adds some dialogue and a little more to flesh things out. The story is this: a bunch of cats compete in order to win the honor of cat reincarnation. The story still isn't big; a lot of this is just the contestants introducing themselves through song. (You can go through multiple numbers without dialogue.) Still, I feel it works well enough. Don't get me wrong, the whole thing is kind of nuts. We've got a whole bunch of humanoid felines doing a bunch of random stuff. (Also, some of them are magic apparently.) But that's what I like about this. It's basically creative pageantry that is just trying to have fun. (Although, there is this really dark turn in the Jenny Anydots song, which wasn't in the previous works. It left a bad taste.)

Director Tom Hooper really tried to keep the highlights of the musical: the songs and the dancing. A lot of musical movie adaptations have to cut stuff for time, but this one is surprisingly intact. The movie manages to keep all but one song I believe. Fans of the original be prepared that they change up the lyrics or musical tempo or style for some of the numbers. (I think the movie was trying to update these to appeal to the mainstream.) Personally, I didn't find any of the changes too outrageous.

As for the songs, well Memory, which the musical is best known for, is an excellent piece. The other numbers, though... Well, these contain thirties lyrics and peculiar feel to a lot of them. I think the songs are decent, but they don't compete with a bunch of other musicals. They're a bit of a selective taste. The new song Beautiful Ghosts (the one they usually create for films in order to get a best original song Oscar nomination) is okay. The lyrics are very poetic, but the music can't live up to them.

One of the things I like best about this is that it brings back what is missing in a lot of modern musicals: the extended dance sections. The choreography is really good the cinematography does a fluid job of displaying the action. There is a real distinctiveness to people dancing like cats.

This movie is eye-candy personified. All the sets are huge, dreamlike, and colorful in a dark neon sort of way (as confusing as that sounds.) There are these big fantastic-looking set pieces and so many of them.

The cats are created using computer graphics on mo-cap actors. The people-cats are definitely distinctive looking. The animation for the faces never quite feel natural, but it I didn't find it to be a deal breaker either.

For a movie where people act like cats, I'm impressed that almost the entire cast really committed to this. Idris Elba seems to be having a hell of a time eating up the scenery. It's rather fascinating seeing how veteran actors Judi Dench and Ian McKellan take such goofy actions as rubbing heads together or scratching themselves so seriously. McKellan puts so much work into his character's mannerisms that I think this is one of his best roles. The lead Francesca Haywood, a ballerina, does a fine job as the newbie to the group.

Remember when I said "almost?" Well, Rebel Wilson as Jennyanydots is the only actor who doesn't feel like they're trying to play a character. She's just doing Rebel Wilson stuff and throwing jokes. The character Jennyanydots as she plays her doesn't really match the character as described in her introductory song.

This movie, especially the songs may not be for everyone. It's kinda artsy, but I found this to be a truly unique and creative ride. I say give it a shot.
Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
10
ErosalexisDec 20, 2019
I love Cats, although Bombalurina's character appears shortly is the performance that I liked the most. Swift gave everything he had as a cat lover.
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
10
JmarioDec 20, 2019
The Best musical movie, I Love that Congratulations Hopper, Your film is amazing
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
3
JPKDec 20, 2019
Creepy
There are some things that should stay as drawings like anthro animals, Even if the designs weren’t creepy, Cats would still not be good because of a badly written script.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
1
imjuliocesarDec 20, 2019
Cats is poor, Stranger, confused, with performances wtffff. And the Soundtrack daaaahhh
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
0
Swiftie82837Dec 20, 2019
Sem surpreender ninguém, crítica especializada massacra "Cats" e filme estreia no Rotten Tomatoes com míseros 9% e um whiskas podre. Segundo os principais sites, o filme megalomaníaco de Tom Hooper se perde em um CGI preguiçoso e roteiro malSem surpreender ninguém, crítica especializada massacra "Cats" e filme estreia no Rotten Tomatoes com míseros 9% e um whiskas podre. Segundo os principais sites, o filme megalomaníaco de Tom Hooper se perde em um CGI preguiçoso e roteiro mal construído que não destaca a atuação de nenhum dos grandes atores envolvidos no projeto, nem mesmo o trabalho de Jennifer Hudson, responsável por cantar a canção mais marcante do musical, "Memory". Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Adi555Dec 20, 2019
It's a very good musical movie. We loved it and actually everyone in the theater became quite emotional..great job!
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Thiagomkt1Dec 21, 2019
Exceeded my expectations. I loved Taylor's acting in the movie. Beautiful Ghost is the most beautiful song I've ever heard. 10
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
MissSophieGE74Dec 22, 2019
Loved this film so much! Music was great, cast were great, sets were great and I even liked the cgi I though they looked funny but in a cute way
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Cecily13Dec 24, 2019
Definitely don’t listen to the critics. This movie is funny and the performers are talented. Even the children in the theater enjoyed it. Great music and great dancing, if you enjoy musicals then you should definitely give this movie a chance.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
chileanloverDec 20, 2019
Maybe isn't one of the best movies, clearly not, but there's something in Cats, something that makes me love it. And obviously, Taylor was amazing.
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
10
JoseMendezDec 20, 2019
An incredible delivery, which goes back to the old performance of Cats, but with a touch of the current with those effector somewhat rare, but well achieved; Unbelievable numbers like Taylor Swift's in her small appearance, a touch ofAn incredible delivery, which goes back to the old performance of Cats, but with a touch of the current with those effector somewhat rare, but well achieved; Unbelievable numbers like Taylor Swift's in her small appearance, a touch of subtlety and sensuality. I loved! Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
10
remyzerofanDec 20, 2019
The critics are dead wrong about this one. It's the best movie of the year! It's purrrrrfect!
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
0
Matheus066Dec 20, 2019
Filme bizarro , bem esquisito, a Taylor e a Jennifer hudson são boas , mas o filme é enjoativo , chata e bizarro
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
AlejandroCTDec 21, 2019
Tremenda basura 4squerosa y nula como la carrera actoral de tayjuepvta.
El diseño del personaje de Tays1d4 y la pelicula en general se ven de la Reputation y a pesar de que taych4ncrosa solo aparecio 8 min aprox fueron suficiente para darse
Tremenda basura 4squerosa y nula como la carrera actoral de tayjuepvta.
El diseño del personaje de Tays1d4 y la pelicula en general se ven de la Reputation y a pesar de que taych4ncrosa solo aparecio 8 min aprox fueron suficiente para darse cuenta que de actriz se muere de hambre esta m4ldita c0nchuda des4lentada.
Por eso ASIB y lady diosa patrones de esta C4Gada de pelicula.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
afrmxDec 22, 2019
It is as creepy as all reviewers claimed it to be. Heed the warnings are true!
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
Ahmad158Dec 22, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Judhaezktsktstfsjts6tesoydyedglsktzegkgxuraktsutsirsotsitskgirdirsoyfe hckhsc shochlcskh slh sk ehk elh elh el Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Theia10Dec 20, 2019
Beautiful Ghost is the most gorgeous song I ever heard, it gives me goosebumps I damn love it
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
10
PerriwenDec 20, 2019
Definitely a good experience, despite what the internet trolls try to tell people otherwise.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
TheswiftrafaelDec 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Eu gostei muito de Cats o filme é muito bom e surpreendente, as críticas negativas são compreensíveis, mas tem um limite. A atuação da cantora Taylor Swift é simplesmente perfeita e surpreendente. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
0
SouzafialhoDec 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Essa porcaria deveria nem entrar em exibição!que coisa mais ridícula, meu Deus! Eu q não vou gastar 1 centavo com essa merda kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
MarceloGamaDec 21, 2019
Um filme incrível que fez jus a originalidade do musical da CATS, se os “críticos especialistas” estavam esperando ver algo totalmente diferente erraram drasticamente.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
RiaskoFFDec 21, 2019
This is the worst thing i ever saw. It would be understandable if it would be some niche porn movie for some special people but its not, its a musical. Terrible. No, just no.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
SSRDec 23, 2019
I've seen the original Cats musical a handful of times, and the last time I watched it I did wonder why they hadn't created a film (other than the old filmed version of the musical). For the most part the film hits the spot. It has most ofI've seen the original Cats musical a handful of times, and the last time I watched it I did wonder why they hadn't created a film (other than the old filmed version of the musical). For the most part the film hits the spot. It has most of the songs from the original musical. The new song, Beautiful Ghosts, isn't a great fit but neither is it terrible. It's great to see some a variety of actors in the roles, which are pretty much a good fit. I don't have an issue with the CG, other than from a technical standpoint the fur seems to shift ever so slightly at times in relation to the actor. The story from the original musical is an odd one, and I suspect most people didn't understand it or pay attention, watching the dancing and listening to the songs instead. The film explains a lot more about what's going on, and it's either something you engage with or think is daft. Overall I enjoyed it, but clear it's proving divisive. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
RickyFcDec 22, 2019
The worst film of the year. And the music is as CATastrophic as the film. A shame.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
joelma332Dec 23, 2019
Uma porcaria igual tudo o que a taylor faz, que merda de filme sem noçãao. Vai fazer filme de cobra que combina mais com vc sua vaca palmito ecaaaaaa kkkkkkk
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
bokunoheroDec 25, 2019
nice movie, i see from here lets check gusy. {id-movie.site} just copy and paste on new tab
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
gabrielfalbDec 20, 2019
There are so many critics about this movie, but surprisingly, I disagreed with the most. The songs, in general, are pretty good. The editing, tho, should be better. Bombalurina's part was the best and they should've definitely worked out moreThere are so many critics about this movie, but surprisingly, I disagreed with the most. The songs, in general, are pretty good. The editing, tho, should be better. Bombalurina's part was the best and they should've definitely worked out more on her and Macavity. Expand
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
10
dxnieleduardoDec 20, 2019
This **** is good just bc Taylor Swift is in it. I mean I’m so obsessed with Macavity
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
10
Angel1Dec 21, 2019
The movie was an excellent adaptation of the Broadway stage production. I can’t wait to see it again! It is wonderful that the movie industry made this show available for a broader audience to experience. Some people can’t access liveThe movie was an excellent adaptation of the Broadway stage production. I can’t wait to see it again! It is wonderful that the movie industry made this show available for a broader audience to experience. Some people can’t access live theatre. This movie will give them a near experience to what it’s like to watch the show on Broadway. My sister who hates the live show adored this movie. She said it made the entire stage plot make sense. I loved it as much as I loved the stage show. The Jennyanydots scene was too graphic...extremely disgusting. Other than that this movie deserves 10 stars. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
10
timreviewDec 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First thing I want to say here is, the hate this movie has been receiving is overwhelming ridiculous. I’ve been a fan of the original cats musical for a while now, so watching the movie from the stance of a theatre fan, this movie did an amazing job at bringing the magic of cats to the big screen. First of all, I love what they did with Victoria’s character. In the original musical Victoria doesn’t have a song and she isn’t the main character, no one is. But they way they spun this film into a story of a abandonment and acceptance was really touching. Furthermore the scene with skimbleshanks was incredible and magical. I could not believe how they gave skimble an entire tap number which fit his character perfectly. And Jennifer Hudson’s performance of “Memory” had me in tears in the theatre. Overall, this film was a great adaptation from musical to movie. Anyone who dislikes this movie is most likely a hater of the original breathtaking musical, Cats. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
10
NikkiF7993Dec 20, 2019
What an experience! No way to describe it really. It’s simply Cats. Taylor Swift honestly stole the show but Jennifer Hudson & Francesca Hayward were amazing as well.
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
10
LucasswiftieDec 20, 2019
Taylor Swift QUEEN OF POP, eu te amo tanto minha princesa. Vc Não merece esse hate todo em cima de vc. Nós Swifties estamos com vc sempre.
4 of 17 users found this helpful413
All this user's reviews
10
Pedroargent13Dec 20, 2019
a scary and fun movie, brings all the magic of a musical back. I love the way Taylor Swift views the role. a real actress
4 of 17 users found this helpful413
All this user's reviews
10
RahuldasDec 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just because of Taylor Swift the film was good and the credit solely goes to her. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
RicardoMDec 20, 2019
im a swiftie what can i do? nothing but support my queen, but about the movie i think it was good
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
10
igorstylesDec 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Esse filme é incrível e eu amo com todo meu coração e eu vou defender sempre e para sempre Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
notor12Dec 23, 2019
So I went and saw Cats. Here is my review:

As expected, this is not a movie about cats; This a movie about ghouls. Two hours of gyrating ghouls. Maybe you're thinking after two hours you'll get used to the ghouls, because you'll get
So I went and saw Cats. Here is my review:

As expected, this is not a movie about cats; This a movie about ghouls. Two hours of gyrating ghouls. Maybe you're thinking after two hours you'll get used to the ghouls, because you'll get immersed in the plot or something. But nope, they're still ghouls the whole time and it's always terrifying. And there is no plot.

This was the most fun I've had at a movie in a long time, mostly because the combination of unintentionally terrifying creatures really sincerely trying their best to be cute for so long but just never succeeding was sort of like a running gag that kept getting funnier and funnier as time wore on.

Also when you add on top of the cutesy terror the fact that there also attempts at humor that never quite land, so its sort of like if a demon was doing a standup set and just bombing up there and you feel bad for him but well, he is still a demon who would devour your soul at the first chance so not too bad for him.

And then you add in that none of the songs make any god damn sense whatsoever because there is no plot development so stuff just sort of happens and it is terrifying and then it stops.

This is a trash classic.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
PashaBoikoDec 27, 2019
The plot in the movie is something terrible as well as everything connected with this movie, exept atmosphere in a cinema. Due to the fact that most of people know that it is piece of sh*t, there were no audience.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
GetawaySnakeDec 20, 2019
Its a good movie ! You're really going to like it if you're interested in musicals a must-watch Tayor's part was the best part in the whole movie
8 of 41 users found this helpful833
All this user's reviews
10
burningwitchesDec 20, 2019
Amazing musical! Absolutely loved the soundtrack written by Taylor Swift, Cats is a really emotional movie, can't wait to see it!
3 of 16 users found this helpful313
All this user's reviews
10
RaohhDec 20, 2019
Par mi se ve bien y muy buena, los criticos de ahora no saben ni que es una pelicula buena o mala
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
VGrijalvaGDec 20, 2019
Me sorprende las malas reseñas que le dan a la película, es muy buena en realidad
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
JuanLJuanLenisDec 20, 2019
Me gustó, es entretenida & divertida. AdemásTaylor se lució, lo hizo genial.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
Pez050603Dec 20, 2019
Es una película que realmente refleja el ardor trabajo de los actores, nuestra un lado distinto de cats
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
Henry15Dec 20, 2019
Cats soundtrack is a served , you guys should listen it and Taylor Part killed it , i love the film yes ❤
2 of 15 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews
10
DavidTovar29Dec 20, 2019
Diosito sólo salió alrededor de 8 minutos, pero creen que gracias a ella está película es arte, y lo es
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
10
JamesphelipeDec 20, 2019
A entrega dos atores é muito maior que qualquer péssimo figurino e falta de historia à ser contada, merece nota máxima pois os atores entregaram o melhor de si e realmente ficou ótimo os personagens,pena que o filme não é tão bom quanto eles.
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
10
Lucasswiftie13Dec 20, 2019
Como podem desprezar uma obra de arte dessa ? Taylor Swift uma rainha tão dócil capaz de receber um hate tão grande que nem ela mesma merecia? Aonde iremos parar ? O filme está ótimo.
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
0
MattyiceDec 26, 2019
Ignore the Taylor Swift stans inflating the grade of this truly piece of crap movie (she’s only in the movie for around 5 minutes btw). Cats is, for the lack of a better term, a catastrophe. It was a terrible musical to begin with, mainlyIgnore the Taylor Swift stans inflating the grade of this truly piece of crap movie (she’s only in the movie for around 5 minutes btw). Cats is, for the lack of a better term, a catastrophe. It was a terrible musical to begin with, mainly because it contains no plot (unless you consider the act of only introducing characters as a “plot”), is a dumb concept, features literally only one good song (Memory), and, most importantly, is really boring. The film, however, amplifies the terribleness of the musical by using nightmare-inducing CGI characters/costumes that look unfinished at points, annoying acting, and mixed tones, while also keeping all the huge flaws of the Broadway show. Nobody asked for a Cats film adaption and nobody (not even Oscar-winning director Tom Hooper) could ever make it work. Truly a sight to never behold. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
KeithDowJan 7, 2020
I'm just glad I eventually woke up from this two hour long fever dream. Now I pretend it never happened.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
crizzyviewJan 1, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh, how crummy this movie is! Stinks worse than a litter box. I was bored to tears. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
tomcain68Jan 2, 2020
What did I just see? My eyes hurt. That was just simply awful. Was I entertained? Oh heck yes. It's hard to look away.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
13freedom13Jan 6, 2020
this is movie is just too wierd i can't even finish it the fact that is cgi on cat costumes it's just wierd
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews