Warner Bros. | Release Date: June 17, 2016
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 251 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
123
Mixed:
108
Negative:
20
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
LamontRaymondJun 21, 2016
No, it's not high art, but it's pretty damned funny, and most of it lies at the feet of Kevin Hart. He's hilarious, and Dwayne Johnson is GREAT with him. Love the cameos, too. The material is not inspired, but if you think this is the sortNo, it's not high art, but it's pretty damned funny, and most of it lies at the feet of Kevin Hart. He's hilarious, and Dwayne Johnson is GREAT with him. Love the cameos, too. The material is not inspired, but if you think this is the sort of movie you'd like, you'll probably end up having a great time with it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
GamecubeLoverJul 27, 2016
In metascore I would rate this an 84. This movie is 100% HILARIOUS and the plot is funny and unique. The characters are funny and the things that they go through is also 100% funny. Well it is still flawed but it is still 100% funny.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
greatjumel08Aug 5, 2016
Central Intelligence is funny yet quite predictable. This action comedy film portrays two things. First, about a man, who has been bullied and Second about a famous and respected in their high school lives. These guys after almost 20 yearsCentral Intelligence is funny yet quite predictable. This action comedy film portrays two things. First, about a man, who has been bullied and Second about a famous and respected in their high school lives. These guys after almost 20 years finally met. The movie tells the viewers that we are changing. We are progressing through the years. However, the sad part is the scars that brought of bullying. Letting go became the highlight of their school reunion at the end of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EliOli123Jun 24, 2016
Four of us saw this together and we were laughing through the whole movie. I can't remember the last time I saw a movie that was this funny. Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart together were reminiscent of some of the comedy teams of old. If youFour of us saw this together and we were laughing through the whole movie. I can't remember the last time I saw a movie that was this funny. Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart together were reminiscent of some of the comedy teams of old. If you want funny, then this was funny. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerNov 6, 2016
Hart and Johnson prove to be a great comedic duo. The Rock in particular provides what is one of the most unique and memorable performances of his career. Kevin Hart provides his standard motor-mouthed brand of humor even in the straight manHart and Johnson prove to be a great comedic duo. The Rock in particular provides what is one of the most unique and memorable performances of his career. Kevin Hart provides his standard motor-mouthed brand of humor even in the straight man role.

So the results here aren't exactly going to blow you away. That being said, there are still plenty of laughs here. It's just that some land with a dud. Johnson's character can be a little too over-the-top at times. No fault of the actor, it's the material he's given. His ability to go all out with it is appreciated. There are also some really great and hilarious cameos.

The plot is very familiar in a lot of ways. The movie tries a little too hard to keep you guessing whether or not Johnson's "Bob" is really a good guy or actually the villain. It does succeed at making you think twice on more than one occasion. That's partially due to how oddly the plot is handled. It's ultimately not a big deal, but a touch irritating nonetheless. On the upside it leads to some funny gags and an interesting message about bullying.

There is also a slightly cheap feel to this. The action is a touch awkward to watch and the visuals of the world have a very studio set feel to them. You can tell the money went towards the talent.

There are plenty of laughs to be found here. Maybe it won't keep you rolling on the floor, but it does introduce us to a great new comedy duo. I can't wait to see more of Johnson and Hart onscreen together. They are a blast. They also manage to elevate the movie above it's flaws and make more laughs come from the material than anybody else could have. I consider that a success.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MacrovJun 18, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was definitely one of those movies where you will be laughing from pretty much the beginning until the end. This was probably one of the more funny movies I have watched in a while. The chemistry between Kevin Hart, and his typical humor and Dwayne Johnson' more buddy buddy, strange, someone has dropped him as a baby humor is hilarious. There are plenty of laughs in this movie, and for the most part the humor is pretty clean overall. Yes there are cursing, but not all that much.

Some things I didn't like about the movie was I felt the plot was a bit too far fetched, I mean come on. At the end they just go on hunky dory and let Kev and Bob go to the reunion even though Kev shot at one of them (by accident) and Bob basically almost killed everyone.

Overall, you aren't coming into this movie to watch the plot be crystal perfect, instead you are coming for comedy. This movie does that extremely well.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJun 29, 2016
Kevin Hart plays his type-cast role of average guy thrown into a crazy situation (like Ride Along). The real star is Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, He's priceless and truly shines as the surprisingly chill CIA agent. On the whole, It's a prettyKevin Hart plays his type-cast role of average guy thrown into a crazy situation (like Ride Along). The real star is Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, He's priceless and truly shines as the surprisingly chill CIA agent. On the whole, It's a pretty predictable but still very enjoyable. Plenty of laughs too, Which is what you want in a comedy. Wouldn't be surprised to see them turn out a quick sequel if it does good at the box office. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TimW001Jul 19, 2016
This movie is pretty fun and quite funny. Dwayne is not the best actor. But if you enjoy Kevin hart then you will certainly like this movie. Otherwise it's probably not worth seeing. But I enjoyed it, had some very good moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PjaysJul 6, 2016
I felt like everyone in the theater was very confused to the storyline in this movie, but I think the movie was supposed to be that way. In the film Kevin Hart is put into a ton of hilarious and crazy situations that lead to some really funnyI felt like everyone in the theater was very confused to the storyline in this movie, but I think the movie was supposed to be that way. In the film Kevin Hart is put into a ton of hilarious and crazy situations that lead to some really funny jokes in the movie. The jokes in the film were all really good, I feared that the trailers had revealed all of the funny bits of the movie but I was way wrong, Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart are a hilarious duo and should consider doing more films together.

Overall, the movie has kind of a confusing who do you trust? storyline, but the jokes and stellar cast make the movie really enjoyable and a fun watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NerdConsultantJul 23, 2016
despite my disdain for Kevin Hart, I have to admit this was a surprisingly decent comedy and that is mainly aided by his chemistry with The Rock, who also gets some incredibly funny moments in the film. The only time it fails is when itdespite my disdain for Kevin Hart, I have to admit this was a surprisingly decent comedy and that is mainly aided by his chemistry with The Rock, who also gets some incredibly funny moments in the film. The only time it fails is when it tries to have too much of a plot which doesn’t quite work, but they could have done a hell of a lot worse and it’s one of the biggest surprises of the year for me, because I also wrote this film off on it’s trailers Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
michael1208Jun 17, 2016
Forget about the formulaic spies plot and its flaws, the film does not look silly for the wise decision of making it into a comedy and it sparks thanks to the strong rapport between Johnson and Hart. The thriller may seems to be dumb and lackForget about the formulaic spies plot and its flaws, the film does not look silly for the wise decision of making it into a comedy and it sparks thanks to the strong rapport between Johnson and Hart. The thriller may seems to be dumb and lack of inventiveness in all the right ways but it is also a bit smarter than what audiences could have expected. The hilarious but not nonsense actions, sweet high-school buddies friendships, comedy about bullies and inspiration to transform a better oneself however are all blended well into this lack-of-originality thriller; though insufficient to generate big humors, it is still able to keep your smile till the end. The film centralises on the delightful chemistry between the two actors, both Hart and Johnson deliver a cheerful bromantic, especially the latter who takes his character and silliness seriously other than just knowing to flex muscles. It might lack in depth to explain about the quest of the mission but it is overall entertaining due to the commitment of the cast to bring us laughter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MadMaxFuryRoadJun 23, 2016
Central Intelligence is probably the best comedy movie of the year so far that I have seen. Kevin Hart and Dwayne Johnson take this PG-13 action comedy way over the top and made me laughing so hard that my stomach started hurting. The actionCentral Intelligence is probably the best comedy movie of the year so far that I have seen. Kevin Hart and Dwayne Johnson take this PG-13 action comedy way over the top and made me laughing so hard that my stomach started hurting. The action sequences were great and just the film itself is so humorous. Central Intelligence also had many surprising and hilarious cameos (no spoilers) and I thought that was very clever. Kevin Hart and Dwayne Johnson formed an outstanding team and this film actually reminded me of The Heat. This buddy cop comedy was like a male version of The Heat and it also has a strong message. The trailer doesn't give out what I think are the best scenes, which I am so grateful for. The length of the film was just perfect and I thought the plot was very well constructed. This is like the one movie that Kevin Hart doesn't get too over-the-top annoying, which I loved. If you need a good laugh to make your day better, definitely go check out Central Intelligence as I think this is way better than both Ride Alongs. (100/100) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RalfbergsJul 24, 2016
Even though if you watch Kevin Hart movies most of them are kind of similar, this had some fun twists and Rock was really funny here. Nothing too impressive though
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Giantmonkey101Jun 24, 2016
Very good movie was way better than i thought it would have been. Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart were pretty funny together, great story, good ending, highly recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smiyamotOct 26, 2016
An interesting movie on so many levels. Bullying kids in school, the pressure of being the kid most likely to succeed, spying by the CIA, stolen secrets, and how much people change from teenager to mid-life adult. Dwayne and Kevin are aAn interesting movie on so many levels. Bullying kids in school, the pressure of being the kid most likely to succeed, spying by the CIA, stolen secrets, and how much people change from teenager to mid-life adult. Dwayne and Kevin are a miss-matched pair in these rolls and it makes the movie more hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PCDarkraiJun 30, 2016
Central Intelligence was an enjoyable movie, and I look forward to seeing it again on DVD, however, some of the plot points really didn’t work or were just plain overdone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MaverickneoJul 17, 2016
I will give this a solid 8/10. In my opinion, I think its the best on screen chemistry between K. Hart and anyone he has done a movie with. The Rock and Hart are an excellent combination. There are a lot of laughs to be had here. A part ofI will give this a solid 8/10. In my opinion, I think its the best on screen chemistry between K. Hart and anyone he has done a movie with. The Rock and Hart are an excellent combination. There are a lot of laughs to be had here. A part of me wishes for an unrated version which I know would be even funnier but its pretty funny for a PG-13 movie. Its nice to see a change of pace here. Kevin Hart is playing the "serious" role while the Rock is playing the funny "wierd" character. The movie also has a great message to it when it comes to bullying. Its a fun movie. Go see it if you are a fan of either one or both. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SrPepeAug 26, 2018
Para ser una película de la roca esta bastante bien, tiene sus momentos graciosos y emotivos y hasta deja un lindo mensaje.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shadowguy654Oct 9, 2016
This movie is the best movie ever. So awesome and funny. I just love this movie cause kevin hart is one of the best actor ever and the rock is my favorite wwe player and when they come together it turn to a awesome movie. I give this movie aThis movie is the best movie ever. So awesome and funny. I just love this movie cause kevin hart is one of the best actor ever and the rock is my favorite wwe player and when they come together it turn to a awesome movie. I give this movie a 10/10 this movie is awesome Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RFlaxyAug 5, 2016
After watching Central Intelligence in the cinema i came out laughing with joy.
Key points:
C.I was very entertaining and properly the best acting done by Dwayne Johnson and a lot of other points that made the movie interesting
After watching Central Intelligence in the cinema i came out laughing with joy.
Key points:
C.I was very entertaining and properly the best acting done by Dwayne Johnson and a lot of other points that made the movie interesting
Unfortunately the movie lacked story line and that really let me down as i really enjoyed the movie
Today my score is 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
satowSep 15, 2016
The movie unexpectedly flows smoothly from one scenario to the next, and their unique comedy styles work very well with each other. I thought this movie was going to be stupid, but it is brilliantly smart, in a dumb way, so good that IThe movie unexpectedly flows smoothly from one scenario to the next, and their unique comedy styles work very well with each other. I thought this movie was going to be stupid, but it is brilliantly smart, in a dumb way, so good that I watched it twice! This is one movie to rent if you have a bunch of friends over, have BBQ, beer, good times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jdw44Jan 27, 2017
I really enjoyed this movie called Central Intelligence because it was a very action packed comedy. The two characters who are played by Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart were funny as it made the film exciting to watch. Don't allow someone toI really enjoyed this movie called Central Intelligence because it was a very action packed comedy. The two characters who are played by Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart were funny as it made the film exciting to watch. Don't allow someone to watch this film unless they are 13 or over as it contains violence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MonkiReviewsMay 28, 2017
The relationship between the characters felt real. I loved it all. I laughed so much throughout the whole thing. I didn't like the ending though, it made the characters feel fake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KelvinSelimorMar 30, 2020
Central Intelligence. True friendship is not a hindrance to a gun. Great comedy and which is a little action movie. Dwayne Johnson perfectly plays the role of a muscular and kind healthy man and Kevin Hart is a simple guy who will do anythingCentral Intelligence. True friendship is not a hindrance to a gun. Great comedy and which is a little action movie. Dwayne Johnson perfectly plays the role of a muscular and kind healthy man and Kevin Hart is a simple guy who will do anything in a difficult situation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CrimsoncriticJun 20, 2018
What makes Central Intelligence such a comedic package of joy to watch is the synergy between Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart; these two have got to be one of the greatest comedic duos in cinema. They work off each other so well, it almostWhat makes Central Intelligence such a comedic package of joy to watch is the synergy between Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart; these two have got to be one of the greatest comedic duos in cinema. They work off each other so well, it almost seems like they're improvising the script and just having a conversation on set. That's how well these two actors mix. And speaking of the script, this movie is hilarious! Even ignoring how amazingly the two leads naturally work together, the writers of this movie really knew what they were doing in terms of comedic writing. For one, the personalities given to the lead characters is a very clever setup; to have one calmly treating the suspenseful scenario of the current situation like a mundane task and to have the other be frantically nervous trying to process it all. And these expertly chosen archetypes connect to another one of the movie's strengths. Technically, this movie can be referred to as a buddy-cop movie; which as a cliché has been done many times. But what sets Central Intelligence apart is (again) the talented lead actors. But also the way the two aforementioned character archetypes blend in the buddy-cop scenario; the scale of absurdity and chaos it all reaches is amazing. However, the movie sadly falls short in it's plot. The stakes of the conflict are never really explained and it's also very predictable. And given how this movie orbits around it's plot and conflict, it loses a significant amount of points. But bottom line, If you're looking for a complex, interesting, and suspenseful plot, you won't get it here, but if have low expectations and are just looking for something to laugh at, Central Intelligence will deliver. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DiptanshuDec 17, 2019
Great popcorn flick!
Really entertaining and good messege throughout the story of the rocks character!
That therapy sessions will definitely left your jaws in pain damn hilarious whole time !
Although great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mishaelSep 16, 2019
this realy dope hope comes second one this ne realy dope I like kevin hart and the rock
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PhoenixReveiwsMar 30, 2021
I was honestly just watching this to pass the time, but when I watched it I absolutely loved it! It keeps you entertained throughout the whole movie, it makes you think twice about every action the characters make. This is what I like to seeI was honestly just watching this to pass the time, but when I watched it I absolutely loved it! It keeps you entertained throughout the whole movie, it makes you think twice about every action the characters make. This is what I like to see in a solo movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews