Columbia Pictures | Release Date: March 6, 2015
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 825 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
552
Mixed:
187
Negative:
86
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GruntygruntMar 6, 2015
This movie was the best movie of 2015 in my opinion so far it was really fun to go see and I love the idea of how Chappie is like a kid and has to learn just like a human
28 of 55 users found this helpful2827
All this user's reviews
9
bmaguire007Jun 21, 2015
As a fellow South African I had quite a few laughs. It is true that there is no new concepts in this film, but I still find it awesomely executed. Living in South Africa this would actually be a dream come true, and I think that is why itAs a fellow South African I had quite a few laughs. It is true that there is no new concepts in this film, but I still find it awesomely executed. Living in South Africa this would actually be a dream come true, and I think that is why it hit a soft spot. The movie isn't quite inaccurate either , except for the robots of course :P, Two thumbs up. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
alexa417Oct 2, 2015
The humor is so fresh, fun and simple, it's free of bitter irony

Watch it here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-2a1ad1-Chappie-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJun 5, 2015
Chappie seemed disorganized at first but ends up with compelling sci-fi ideas. Blonkamp needs to package his concepts out of his South African roots and culture if he can get more exposure worldwide. On par with District 9, but unappreciatedChappie seemed disorganized at first but ends up with compelling sci-fi ideas. Blonkamp needs to package his concepts out of his South African roots and culture if he can get more exposure worldwide. On par with District 9, but unappreciated in the box office. Too bad. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
The_hamurMay 4, 2015
One of those movies that can get incredibly right some parts, a perfect 10, and screws so badly other themes and scenes that make you cringe in disbelief, "wtf have I watched?". My score could not be other than 5.The movie has BlomkampOne of those movies that can get incredibly right some parts, a perfect 10, and screws so badly other themes and scenes that make you cringe in disbelief, "wtf have I watched?". My score could not be other than 5.The movie has Blomkamp signature: fast yet clever, good characters with enough development, that forces you to ride with the movie to get the whole scenario, and this was incredibly awesome. I think this was the first movie this year i cared about the characters, "good and evil", if there are any. But at the same time it gets so cheesy and vain that you can't believe it's the same movie. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
Jess_HillJul 12, 2015
I was greatly anticipating the new Blomkamp offering, and this didn't disappoint. Beautiful character design, eclectic performances and a thoroughly engaging storyline made for an excellent experience. Knowing Die Antwoord prior to thisI was greatly anticipating the new Blomkamp offering, and this didn't disappoint. Beautiful character design, eclectic performances and a thoroughly engaging storyline made for an excellent experience. Knowing Die Antwoord prior to this really helped, and I'd anticipate that audiences unfamiliar with them may find them, and the South African subtext, unsettling and somewhat difficult stylistically. Some truly poignant moments are interspersed with a delightful humour and, though some of the themic content needed more care, this is another unique exploration of the nature of humanity and the soul dealt with in a playful, rather than sombre, fashion. The dialogue was occasionally weak, bordering on charicature, and the cinematography was generally well executed. Overall this was a fast paced, sometimes poignant and always engaging experience. 8.11/10 Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
LoucetiosMay 15, 2015
There's something here for everyone, except stuck up film snobs apparently. It's a fun movie, just adjust your expectations. Far more human and interesting than Ex Machina
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
royphishoohJun 23, 2015
What on earth were Sigourney Weaver and Hugh Jackman doing wasting their time in this drivel? What could have been an entertaining story was ruined by abysmal acting and an unbelievably bad script.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
ahnehnoisMar 6, 2015
I don't get the negative press, I really don't. This movie's take on AI isn't exactly the most scientifically accurate portrayal, but as a fun popcorn movie, Chappie takes a little bit of cerebral, a larger bit of Neill Blomkamp action, and aI don't get the negative press, I really don't. This movie's take on AI isn't exactly the most scientifically accurate portrayal, but as a fun popcorn movie, Chappie takes a little bit of cerebral, a larger bit of Neill Blomkamp action, and a lot of South African weirdness. If you're expecting just a cameo from South African rappers Die Antwoord, you're wrong. They're surprisingly in focus.

There are more than a few plot holes and writing mistakes, but it's largely made up for by how compelling the on-screen reality is. Neill Blomkamp directed the heck out of this movie. If he ever gets a really brilliant script, he'll make a great movie. As a writer, he's too eager to please a crowd and not eager enough to answer its questions.

Given how hard it reportedly was to make a film with non-actors, this may be the only Die Antwoord sci-fi action thriller we ever see. However, they are impossible to duplicate, and the sheer absurdity of watching them prance around unironically in skimpy Americana, juxtaposed against an entirely convincing emancipated police robot learning to think, makes the movie work. It isn't quite as exciting as District 9, but it's far less ponderous and heavy-handed than Elysium. Go watch it and have some fun.
Expand
14 of 19 users found this helpful145
All this user's reviews
8
AfropMar 9, 2015
I Massively disagree with the "critics" that are reviewing this film. I for one massively enjoyed it and thought it was great fun. it was interesting to see Chappie grow and the mannerisms and personality that he develops is brilliant. thereI Massively disagree with the "critics" that are reviewing this film. I for one massively enjoyed it and thought it was great fun. it was interesting to see Chappie grow and the mannerisms and personality that he develops is brilliant. there are many "critics" who say there wasnt enough character development for Hugh Jackmans character or any of the others, but there is plenty time given to developing Chappies character and thats really all you need.
see the film for yourself and dont trust the "critics"
Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
8
psyberdelicMar 14, 2015
Let's face it. The critics are often wrong. I read reviews before I saw this film and it was like they were talking about a different movie. Frankly, they just didn't get it. There's some shoot 'em up stuff, of course but at it's heartLet's face it. The critics are often wrong. I read reviews before I saw this film and it was like they were talking about a different movie. Frankly, they just didn't get it. There's some shoot 'em up stuff, of course but at it's heart Chappie is a story about family. Dysfunctional but caring. There's comedy and pathos and a really interesting twist on the "what is consciousness, what is human" theme. It's a freaking character study of Chappie and his found family. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
Ivan3392Apr 25, 2015
Truly beautiful movie about what makes us human. I enjoyed it a lot and I can't understand why Chappie wasn't more succesful. The action sequences were also pretty thrilling. I do like the actors too, although everyone seems to dislike them.Truly beautiful movie about what makes us human. I enjoyed it a lot and I can't understand why Chappie wasn't more succesful. The action sequences were also pretty thrilling. I do like the actors too, although everyone seems to dislike them. Interesting lead roles who play their parts very convincing. I love it ! 10 out of 10. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
D13613Mar 20, 2015
No other movie in years has entertained me, moved me and made me laugh like Chappie did. This movie really spoke to me. It's definitely not your typical robots, action and explosions movie, like I first suspected based on the trailer, whichNo other movie in years has entertained me, moved me and made me laugh like Chappie did. This movie really spoke to me. It's definitely not your typical robots, action and explosions movie, like I first suspected based on the trailer, which sucked. It has some great action, effects and cool music, but that's definitely not all it has to offer. First time in my life I'm going to see the same movie twice in cinema. It's a good movie, no bullsh*t, so do yourself a favor and go see it right now, I'm not lying, it's even better than District 9 and Elysium! 10/10 :) Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
directproduceJun 8, 2015
Bad acting and gratuitous, fringe pop-culture(violence & profanity). Watkins leads the ham with Dev Patel and Jason Cope adding the cringe for the male roles, Sigourney looked tired and old in female support to a Capetonian Zef star,Bad acting and gratuitous, fringe pop-culture(violence & profanity). Watkins leads the ham with Dev Patel and Jason Cope adding the cringe for the male roles, Sigourney looked tired and old in female support to a Capetonian Zef star, Yo-Landi. The characters tried too hard and the story remained predictable making the ending an anti-climax. Blomkamp needs to progress beyond local talent or suffer the consequences. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
ShaunjcwApr 20, 2015
Best unintentionally hilariously brilliant movie of the year!

Me and my friends had some time to kill so we decided to see a random movie that's we'd never heard of, it'd likely be bad but it'd be a good laugh. We were SO! happy we picked
Best unintentionally hilariously brilliant movie of the year!

Me and my friends had some time to kill so we decided to see a random movie that's we'd never heard of, it'd likely be bad but it'd be a good laugh. We were SO! happy we picked this one.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Handyman003Nov 20, 2015
Neill Blomkamp successfully blends the aural & visual wizardry of Elysium with the scrappy charm & smart storytelling of District 9 in his third feature-length film, "Chappie", which starts off like a South African spin on 1980's sci-fi, butNeill Blomkamp successfully blends the aural & visual wizardry of Elysium with the scrappy charm & smart storytelling of District 9 in his third feature-length film, "Chappie", which starts off like a South African spin on 1980's sci-fi, but then diverts from the pack and becomes its own thinking and feeling beast. Blomkamp's signature blend of raw violence and human sentiment is still on display throughout, but is more potent here since the director (and his wife Terri Tatchell) focus purely on the struggle between children and adults, and the hardships that come with growing up. The film also doubles as a tight, compelling meditation on what it really means to be alive. I think the critics missed the ball here.

The title character, voiced and performed by Sharlto Copley, is fully realized. He gives the film a beating heart, and brings real-world human qualities and actual depth to an otherwise mechanical figure. I'd like to see Copley get some more quality roles in the movies. His maker, played by Dev Patel, isn't as well developed, but is no less compelling. Hugh Jackman from the X-Men films relishes the opportunity to play the villain, a roboticist skeptical of artificial intelligence. He is a hoot to watch, partially because of his mullet and the fact he's completely over-the-top. The real surprise here is rap group Die Antwoord as a pair of criminals who fight with Patel's character over how to raise Chappie. While their acting is rough around the edges, they help give the film a unique charm, adding wit and flavor to the gritty proceedings. Their scenes together provide commentary on dysfunctional families. The only weak link in this ensemble is Sigourney Weaver, sadly (as the CEO of the robot factory), since her role is basically a glorified cameo.

Overall, "Chappie" is fresh, ballsy, confident and very entertaining (sorry, Divergent!). Blomkamp, with three winners in a row now, is at the top of the modern action movie throne. He is one of the very few people I trust when it comes to blockbusters, and his films are definitive evidence.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
zouz123May 28, 2015
Blomkamp did it again, wow what a movie. Enjoyed it immensely and so did my friends. It is as touching as it funny and believable, can't believe how I didn't watch it in theaters just because of low critics score, well that's a lesson IBlomkamp did it again, wow what a movie. Enjoyed it immensely and so did my friends. It is as touching as it funny and believable, can't believe how I didn't watch it in theaters just because of low critics score, well that's a lesson I learned, critics have a weird taste in a movies, so from now on their opinion is to be avoided. Watch it and you won't regret it Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Jun 2, 2015
I did not have high expectations for Chappie when I tuned in. Neil Blomkamp didn't impress me with Elysium and I had heard similar things about Chappie. I enjoyed watching Chappie develop as a character throughout the movie and its hard notI did not have high expectations for Chappie when I tuned in. Neil Blomkamp didn't impress me with Elysium and I had heard similar things about Chappie. I enjoyed watching Chappie develop as a character throughout the movie and its hard not to be interested in him as such an innocent form of artificial intelligence. I thought there were some pretty good performances in here. Dev Patel is pretty good and its pretty hard to criticise Hugh Jackman either, its a nice change to see him as the villain. Still Sigourney Weaver was very underused and Ninja the South African rapper hogged a lot of the screen time acting like an idiot and trying to promote his band Die Antwood. I found Ninja incredibly annoying at points and I hope we don't see him again in any major role. Other than that I enjoyed the action that Chappie had to offer and I think that if you are a fan of Blomkamp's other films you will likely enjoy this one. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
MatHayMay 15, 2015
Very good fun to watch. Chappie is a generally loveable film with an interesting plot, good characters and even though Die Antwoord don't act, they did it pretty well. Recommended to watch.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
horizonbtsSep 13, 2015
This is one movie I should have went with my instincts, and that was to pass it by! What a mess of a movie, never holding it together at all. The acting was horrible and you could tell even some of the main actors such as Hugh Jackman wereThis is one movie I should have went with my instincts, and that was to pass it by! What a mess of a movie, never holding it together at all. The acting was horrible and you could tell even some of the main actors such as Hugh Jackman were thinking what was I doing when I agreed to be in this movie! The bad guys and robbers were idiotic and uninteresting and way overdone, and to add to insult looked like they come straight out of a comic book with tats and funny hairdo's. They acted like they had IQ's under 50, and made the movie even worse than it already was. Overall the movie was a mess and I would never recommend this to anyone! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
LavaheadMar 17, 2015
Chappie is a clever story line that rides the fringes of current futurist discussions on AI yet keeping a compelling story. Great acting, culturally unique, great CGI and thrills me to no end the public and professional critics have such aChappie is a clever story line that rides the fringes of current futurist discussions on AI yet keeping a compelling story. Great acting, culturally unique, great CGI and thrills me to no end the public and professional critics have such a diverse rating, disruption for the win, black swan if you will. The people have spoken. Chappie keep that swag up. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
HandsomeHankJun 7, 2015
A heartwarming R-rated sci-fi action flick about what it really means to be human. That should have been the tagline for this film. I honestly feel that this was a great movie. Every bit as good as any action film made in the last fewA heartwarming R-rated sci-fi action flick about what it really means to be human. That should have been the tagline for this film. I honestly feel that this was a great movie. Every bit as good as any action film made in the last few years, including the Avengers. But I take it for what it is. It isn't supposed to be the next AI. It is meant to be an engaging movie more along the lines of a cross between Robocop and Short Circuit. Too many film critics have compare-it-itis. They want every film to be better than the last. They want deep thought-provoking transcendent films and anything that takes the risk of just being enjoyable gets hammered for it. Chappie is not brilliant but it is a mix of adulthood and childhood and innocence and violence that allows it to stand on its own as an honestly enjoyable film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Carlos94May 31, 2015
es una gran película la cual te mantiene muy entretenido en todo momento por la gran actuación de chappie y la creatividad de poder inventar un software para darle sentimientos humanos a un robot por eso se merece un 10 esta pelicula
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
LadyCrimsonJun 5, 2015
Entertaining! I like it a lot, I am confused as to why critics are giving such negative reviews. Some parts are a tear-jerker and some are fun to watch.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
chappieJun 5, 2015
the people who rate this 6 or below what are u thinking this movie is great in all the ways possible.It may be a bit gruesome but it is still one of the best movies ever.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
TriakelNov 30, 2015
If you go into "Chappie" expecting an even more profound retake of "District 9," you will be disappointed. If you go in hoping to see a fun (and funny) popcorn movie with fantastic visuals, entertaining performances and some softly-deliveredIf you go into "Chappie" expecting an even more profound retake of "District 9," you will be disappointed. If you go in hoping to see a fun (and funny) popcorn movie with fantastic visuals, entertaining performances and some softly-delivered social messaging, then this is a perfectly good way to spend two hours. I'm really bothered by the criticism of Neil Blomkamp for supposedly becoming "M. Night Shyamalan 2.0". Just let the man make his weird movies. His vision is fresh and his movies are well crafted. Giving rappers Die Antwoord (Ninja and Yo-Landi) major roles was a big risk that mostly paid off in the final scenes (and reinforced the distinctly South African feel of the movie). My advice? Ignore the haters and relax. "Chappie" might be a spiritual successor to "Short Circuit," but it actually has a soul. That's no small feat in today's studio scene. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
Khan_ShowmikOct 2, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As I think, a movie becomes best when the viewers find something unexpected at the end of the movie. But, this movie ends with a normal ending. when Deon got hurts, Chappie, as a robot shows humanity and try to save him while his battery was going to over. By my opinion, the end of the movie can be better if the director presents that Deon stay wounded and when polices enters into the hall Chappie's battery would down and it would be dead. Because, the human brain can never be transmitted, i believe, death can never be ignored. But, the movie shows that with the neurotransmitter helmet human consciousness can be transferred to a new body which is totally impossible and unbelievable.
Over all, the movie grows up very well. One can learn bad sides of arrogance, not to stop in front of your dream from the movie. Deon's perseverance is quite impressive. But seriously speaking, It could be my most favorite movie if it ends in an unexpected way not showing that with science one can ignore death.
Thank you, Neill Blomkamp for a beautiful movie.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
hendrikchipmanDec 30, 2015
An iconic Sci-Fi movie. I liked the storyline, but felt it's true worth was in the cinematography, graphic art, and sets. The conclusion left me on a high note. I liked the relationships depicted in the movie. I also liked Hugh Jackman as aAn iconic Sci-Fi movie. I liked the storyline, but felt it's true worth was in the cinematography, graphic art, and sets. The conclusion left me on a high note. I liked the relationships depicted in the movie. I also liked Hugh Jackman as a bad guy. I think he is naturally good at this. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Titanic21Mar 18, 2018
It's hard for me to comprehend the amount of rather medium good feedback on this movie, which I'd still count to one of my favorites. What I like so much about CHAPPIE is that the movie is a take on a precise vision on artificial intelligenceIt's hard for me to comprehend the amount of rather medium good feedback on this movie, which I'd still count to one of my favorites. What I like so much about CHAPPIE is that the movie is a take on a precise vision on artificial intelligence and what massive dangers go along. Maybe my personal interests, hopes and worries are distracting me but what can be seen at this piece of cinematic creation should not just be handled without care, as machines can potentially become a real thread to humans one day, so this movie moral currently seems quite underated. However the philosophy, even the movie itself is interesting and exciting most the time. I dislike the main conflict, as it is nothing new and especially not exciting at all, but for me following the story of an inhuman child was very fascinating. The story has certain points giving you a feeling of unsafety and other where the viewer will be asured for something good to happen soon, as he/she will learn to somehow get in touch with CHAPPIE himself/herself and after being done watching this movie it will stay in your thoughts for a long amount of time, at least that happened to me. The general elaboration is very actionish, basically this film is shootings, violence and some plot in between. Even though I am usually opposed to that themes, it didn't quite disturb me as for CHAPPIE, where the situation of some kind of mental war was enforced to that showing of direct power. Overall I really enjoyed CHAPPIE and I can not say often enough that this movie was to rule my thoughts and still has influence on how I think about robotic technology, as how I see it the backgrounds of the movie are not as groundless as they might think at first and the visual content appears quite dystopic, but yet somewhat plausible and that's what fascinated me the most about that movie, I do really recommend to fans of Science fiction. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
asjklasjklasMar 7, 2015
Chappie isn’t a failed mission more than it is a missed opportunity. Because despite the many, many critics firing at it to its post-apocalyptic hell and back—specifically targeting director Neill Blomkamp’s 2009 commercial and criticalChappie isn’t a failed mission more than it is a missed opportunity. Because despite the many, many critics firing at it to its post-apocalyptic hell and back—specifically targeting director Neill Blomkamp’s 2009 commercial and critical breakthrough District 9, calling his success a “fluke” after 2013’s disappointing Elysium and considering him a “one-hit wonder” among the sci-fi genre—I, however, found Chappie to be both conceptually and visually involving when it wasn’t balancing on a tightrope between Chappie’s Short Circuit’s innocence-meets-Iron Giant’s naivety and the “gangsta” glorification or glamorization of their respective stereotypes. It’s one of the rare occasions where the R rating felt quite restrictive and main protagonist Chappie’s awe-inspiring lightheartedness and the supporting characters’ vulgarity and ugliness and the film’s gritty nature crossover in what appears to be Blomkamp’s identity crisis of whether he wants his ‘80s sci-fi influences to tug audiences at the heartstrings or the attention span.

As you can tell from the “awe-inspiring” comment, maybe I’m of the minority that found Chappie’s childlike nature both charming and, dare I say, cute as a former police bot could be. It’s a bit frustrating when I hear film critics call adolescent characters in any film “annoying” based on, let’s say in Chappie’s case, their immature, inquisitive, or at certain scenes, whiny qualities. Because aren’t all children annoying because of their wondrous behavior? I could’ve understood these criticisms if I didn’t let out so many damn ‘awe’s at Chappie’s dialogue; from Chappie’s use of “mommy” and “daddy”—both [spoiler] referring to the South African rave-rap duo Die Antwoord, ok—to the take-it-or-leave-it “f***-mother!” to the questions that even bask in the back of our minds from time to time regarding our own existence (“Why did you make me so I would die?”). The supporting characters—Chappie’s good-natured AI creator and the oppositely-natured Die Antwoord respectively—are all there, ready to adopt the bot for their own selfish moral desires, which is engaging entertainment in its own right once you see Chappie’s rapid character growth due to their influences all-in-one. But it’s as if the human characters themselves experience frequent and unusual personality malfunctions throughout Chappie’s two-hour duration, where DA’s Yo-Landi even becomes more nurturing than the creator.

Besides the narrative shortcomings, philosophical and political undertones also make their way into Chappie in typical Blomkamp style, where we are not once explicitly aware of what he’s actually trying to say outside of obvious topics—such as the state of consciousness and how far it may or may not expand beyond that of current common knowledge, not that 2013’s Her didn’t already quite commendably confront that—and AI—already. Because let’s face it, Blomkamp just can’t take a breather when it comes to the film’s overabundance of action sequences. The $50 million budget definitely results in some visually striking imagery and the South African setting feels original in an era where everything in cinema is happening in either America or Europe nowadays. But couldn’t we get at least a hint that the storyline can progress itself without the need of guns, explosions, ultraviolence toward the third act, and more and more explosions. As if its identity crisis couldn’t have been distracting enough regarding its moral stance and aforementioned change in tone.

But as much as I could nitpick Chappie for simply not being District 9’s much, much more successful storytelling, I’d be a damned liar if I said I didn’t feel enchanted or engulfed at least once throughout its desperation of wondering what Short Circuit would be like if it existed in the RoboCop universe. If I was ambivalent at certain moments, I began to see the inspiration start to sneak through the tiniest bits of dialogue or visual sequences, particularly those involving Chappie himself. It’s an excellent concept that merely needed a longer lifespan during the developmental process, perhaps if Blomkamp wasn’t so anxious to direct the next Alien sequel—but, I mean, who wouldn’t be? After reading online into many professional’s reportedly slim expectations regarding its fulfillment of its half-of-a-hundred million dollar budget, I’ll be even more disappointed if Chappie doesn’t at least garner a cult following just so I can hope for the slightest chance that Blomkamp—or another director, if so many others don’t find him fit enough—to reintroduce us into this universe, whether it’s in the form of a sequel or perhaps even a reboot in the distant, distance future. Please!

Overall rating: 7.1

P.S., without revealing any major SPOILERS, one of the scenes has Chappie in his childlike form receiving quite a bit of physical and emotional abuse and has received negative reactions from former victims of child abuse, saying it triggered painful memories. A warning, I suppose.
Expand
11 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
8
KPJasonMar 6, 2015
This is a movie not just entertaining but also refreshingly create a very solid and foreseeable future. Though it might have peppered with some unreasonable moments and few screenwriting drawbacks, it's still an awesome action-packed movieThis is a movie not just entertaining but also refreshingly create a very solid and foreseeable future. Though it might have peppered with some unreasonable moments and few screenwriting drawbacks, it's still an awesome action-packed movie (and heart-wrenching sometimes) in a way that as well enables me to wonder if we are more human or robot if conscience could be transferred from human to a robotic body comparing to a self learning sentient android that could develop its own "conscience"...
P.S. This could also be a good lesson to how one should bring up a kid by setting good example and using the right language in front of them...
Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
8
LubetekMar 7, 2015
This movie was great! The Wife and I really enjoyed it. Very well done and they did an amazing job of helping us the viewers connect to Chappie. Being a parent it was quite an experience seeing Chappie behave as a child and grow as a being.This movie was great! The Wife and I really enjoyed it. Very well done and they did an amazing job of helping us the viewers connect to Chappie. Being a parent it was quite an experience seeing Chappie behave as a child and grow as a being. Really well done, fun movie!! Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
10
ArchikuusMar 10, 2015
The critics are snobs, dont read them. Amazing movie, I never post here or any review sites but seeing the harsh critics I had to.

Great plot, some minor annoyance there, but all payed for by the chappie character who you grow with and love.
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondMar 6, 2015
If you're a fan of Die Antwoord, you're not going to want to miss this film. It has a huge heart, and I really enjoyed it. Perhaps my super-low expectations based on the critical reception laid the groundwork for my warming up to it, but IIf you're a fan of Die Antwoord, you're not going to want to miss this film. It has a huge heart, and I really enjoyed it. Perhaps my super-low expectations based on the critical reception laid the groundwork for my warming up to it, but I had a huge smile on my face for most of the film. Dev Patel as "The Creator" and Yo-Landi Visser as "Mommy" are both terrific. The action is brilliant, and the direction is solid. This movie is SO much better than Blomkamp's previous film Elysium, which was so bogged down in social politics that it forgot to make a living, breathing, feeling story. One critic suggested that Chappie might have been better suited for cinemas 20 years ago, and I can't disagree. Maybe even 30 years ago - E.T. style. But I greatly enjoyed this in the here and now. Especially given how BAD movies have been lately. Expand
12 of 19 users found this helpful127
All this user's reviews
8
KisholayMar 6, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Critics seem to have taken an offence to this film and have literally badgered the ratings in Rotten Tomatoes and Metacritic. They feel this film is worse than Elysium and it’s Neill Blomkamp’s worst film. “Robocopy”, “Jar Jar wept..”, etc. were the exact comments critics came out with. One of them has even quoted “I haven't been as happy to see a movie end since the third Transformers.”

Are you kidding me? It was a blast and this film keeps you engaged throughout the film. There’s never a boring moment. I’ve read most of the reviews and they only have a very few valid points. There are things like how Jackman pins Dev Patel with a gun in office without anyone saying anything or how gangsters let their kidnapping victim come and go. Yes, these are some screenwriting concerns which makes the experience unreasonable at times. But it’s still a breezy script and the action moves along without having a dull moment. Trust me, most of the reviews are just wild rants and people conforming to peer pressure. I’ll take down their points one by one.

This film has been heavily criticized for its derivativeness, especially with its links to Robocop. But hey, there’s nothing original in art, and art is all about referencing other art forms. Also, original may be uninteresting and boring. On the contrary, this film is refreshing new especially the way he combined old references to create something unique. Much like Tarantino, he took it to a whole new level of existential philosophy and action. In fact, it’s way better than any Robocop sequels ever made.

Now, an annoying Chappie seems to have bothered many. But hey, wasn’t Chappie was just as fun like being with a child. And, making it behave like a child must include a little annoyance. It makes it cute and realistic. No wonder Yolandi’s motherly instincts kicked in so well. If anyone thinks that an annoying child is a bad thing then they should check with their psychiatrist immediately.

Yes, the acting wasn’t great like Birdman but it wasn’t a distraction either. If people are upset because the actors look odd and aren’t as good looking then they should think again. Nothing is noticeably bad, rather it’s realistic. And, if Birdman hasn’t bagged any Oscars for acting then what acting are we talking about? Sharlto Copley was awesome and how he brings Chappie to life from an inanimate is commendable.
Blomkamp has expanded big time on philosophical content in films and he really provides us with something to think about. What is consciousness and how can it pass on? Does it itself make someone exist or we only exist when others believe that we do? It’s a classical existential film which tells us how important it is for us to attach meaning and purpose to a cause. It’s also a statement on how the world is a bad place for an outcast or someone who is different, and expands on his earlier xenophobic themes in films.

I must add that there are some missed opportunities in this film as well. The sense of style in District 9 was there but not as good and because of this the film lacked unity in style. Secondly, they could have done better with some strong actors even though the acting wasn’t so bad. Third, some of the characters were really not necessary for e.g. Dev Patel could have had a minor role. They draw attention away from our main character i.e. Chappie. Also, the antagonists could have definitely been stronger and more intimidating. Lastly, it needed to be a little darker and going by D9 it fell a little short.

However, saying all that doesn’t take away from the fact that this is still a very emotional film and gets you to choke every now and then. At the same time it is filled with some tense action scenes. It’s delivered on its ideas too and is subtle enough to scratch your head when you think about those existential questions. But, above all it’s a fun ride with Chappie who’s thrown into this world with no knowledge of things around him. Definitely could have done better with a little more fun and humor, but either way it was still a great watch. I loved it and I have my own reasons no matter what the others say, especially the recognized critics. So, I suggest to go and find it out for yourself because, “I am consciousness, I’m Chappie”
Expand
10 of 16 users found this helpful106
All this user's reviews
10
ericx13Mar 7, 2015
You wouldn't know it from the ads, but Die Antwoord definitely makes this movie. I couldn't believe what I had just seen. Wow. Must see for any Die Antwoord fan.
10 of 16 users found this helpful106
All this user's reviews
8
kevtheobaldMar 10, 2015
Chappie has gotten mixed reviews, but I think it is mostly because people come in expecting it to be some action robot fighting movie or a super realistic robot movie. Instead of being a pure robot action movie, they try to take on the whenChappie has gotten mixed reviews, but I think it is mostly because people come in expecting it to be some action robot fighting movie or a super realistic robot movie. Instead of being a pure robot action movie, they try to take on the when does something become truly alive. If a mechanical device becomes self aware and has the ability to learn in its own, should it be thought of like a human.

The concept is not be all that new. Everything from Blade Runner to Ghose In The Shell has hit the same basic concepts.

If can except some of the stretches in science used in the movie and do not mind some pacing issues with for the most part predictable characters and story lines, this should be a good movie to watch. It is much better than movies like Lawnmower Man and Transcendence which take on the idea of transferring a soul or mind from one body to another. The acting was good on average. It was nice to see Hugh Jackman take on a bad guy role. It is just to bad it was a very common bad guy role. Sigourney Weaver also delivered a very cliche character. I think both Jackman and Weaver could have been pushed to make their characters more unique.

If you are looking for a mindless action movie, this is not it. If you liked Blade Runner or you love all things SCi-Fi, then this is worth seeing in theaters.
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
Panzerfaust666Mar 13, 2015
What do all the haters want from this movie.?This is basically an adult version of short Circuit... With an awesome central performance from sharlto copley. .. That is both humerous and touching.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
mindfreak789Mar 12, 2015
I don't get what all of the negative press is one about this movie is up there for one for my favorite movies this year. I the AI is pretty accurate and Blompkamp still makes the most realistic robot vs human fights ever!
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
philrayMar 10, 2015
Apparently this is just a movie everyone needs to see and judge for themselves. I am SERIOUSLY baffled by the negative reception from critics! I loved this movie, and I thought it was a very well done analysis of consciousness andApparently this is just a movie everyone needs to see and judge for themselves. I am SERIOUSLY baffled by the negative reception from critics! I loved this movie, and I thought it was a very well done analysis of consciousness and self/self-identity. A beautiful coming-of-age film.

What impressed me most about this film was that I didn't feel like I was watching a smart robot come to self awareness, but, rather, I was watching a consciousness come to self realization. Chappie's development in the film was impressively organic. Often robot movies like this one suffer from too many eureka moments and light-bulb-above-the-head cliches: the problem with these cliches, is they don't reflect how living consciousness grows as we experience it in humans (our only reference point). Chappie really feels like a human consciousness, just trying to learn how to live the best he can. Chappie does not feel like a robot learning that he is alive, which is appropriate since, as a consciousness, his "alive-ness" is taken for granted from birth.

The film really moved me, and I was in tears several times. The action was also great, as was ALL the acting. The narrative was, in fact, solid, even if it wasn't revolutionary. It told the story it needed to. Directing was also well done.

I would give this film a 9, but it moved me so much, that I feel I owe it a 10. Can't wait to see it again!

Really underrated. I am confident that in time this movie will be more well liked. This may be a case of expectations ruin the movie? I really don't know.
Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
jazzagenomadMar 8, 2015
I am a twenty-year-old male cinephile. Films like "Life is Beautiful" and "All Quiet on the Western Front" have brought a tear to my eye, but "Chappie" is the first movie to ever make me break down and cry. It's a truly brilliant film; evenI am a twenty-year-old male cinephile. Films like "Life is Beautiful" and "All Quiet on the Western Front" have brought a tear to my eye, but "Chappie" is the first movie to ever make me break down and cry. It's a truly brilliant film; even its action sequences affirm the humanity of the movie's title character. Its refreshing, idealistic (and ultimately proper) view of human nature is something we sorely need in an era where nihilism dominates our culture. It's a hopeful film and a wonderful one. It's also brilliantly written, acted, and shot. Don't believe the critics on this one. The cerebral could broadside them with a club and they'd still cast their bids for Oscar-bait trash. "Chappie" is a magnificent exploration on what it means to grow as a human person. If you've even an inkling of hope or creativity in you, then this movie is for you. Expand
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
10
PoisonthemonkeyMar 15, 2015
We came out of the movie raving about it. There are plenty of other movies out there already that have tackled the subject of AI, consciousness, etc, but: this one did it much, much better.

I'm surprised to see such negative reviews, but
We came out of the movie raving about it. There are plenty of other movies out there already that have tackled the subject of AI, consciousness, etc, but: this one did it much, much better.

I'm surprised to see such negative reviews, but the best parts of the movie were subtle. This is a movie where paying attention is rewarded immensely, whether it comes to Chappie's animations or the small moments that affect Chappie's character development.

I laughed hard, I teared up, I came away satisfied.
Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
killab1984Mar 13, 2015
Chappie is such a great movie. Shame the critics don't like it. IGN gave it like a 75 which I thought for them was way low. I'm into the sci-fi stuff so if ur not u may not like it I'll say that about it. Although its not a homerun forChappie is such a great movie. Shame the critics don't like it. IGN gave it like a 75 which I thought for them was way low. I'm into the sci-fi stuff so if ur not u may not like it I'll say that about it. Although its not a homerun for everyone, The ones who do like movies like pacific rim and district 9 this movie is a 10. Go see it don't believe the hate. Its def a ride worth taking. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
vrildoxMar 9, 2015
I've been shocked by reviews before, but I have never been more blown away than by the critical response of Chappie. This movie is damn near perfect. I think it might be the South African sensibility of the whole movie. This is one of theI've been shocked by reviews before, but I have never been more blown away than by the critical response of Chappie. This movie is damn near perfect. I think it might be the South African sensibility of the whole movie. This is one of the most fundamentally sound films I've seen in a very long time. It's an action-comedy love letter to the musical duo Die Antwoord. I'm a Die Antwoord fan but even if I wasn't I would understand what Blomkamp was trying to do. This was like a modern day Yellow Submarine with more movie than music and Die Antwoord doesn't suck at acting like the Beatles did. Ninja and Yolandi were actually very solid actors for this being their first film. The rest of the cast crushed it because they're all incredibly talented especially Patel. I hear a lot about Jackman's two dimensional villain and how bad it was, but that's what kind of movie this is. It's a serious movie that never takes itself too seriously. I swear to Science that film critics these days are so far up their own a***s that they wouldn't know a good movie if it puked in their face. Chappie is a solid flick and deserves praise. I think Die Antwoord should be praised for how solid they were in this movie. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
OhTheDerpMay 24, 2015
I had high expectations from this movie, since I absolutely love District 9 (same director in case you didn't know) and thought Elysium was very decent as well, but... Chappie exceeded my expectations by far. Such a fantastic film.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
TheRimRiderApr 10, 2015
The reviewers totally misunderstood this film. It's not about Artificial Intelligence, Die Antwood, Robocop or South Africa. This is the quintessential 'outsider' film. Everyone character is alone, from Sigourney Weaver to Hugh Jackman. EvenThe reviewers totally misunderstood this film. It's not about Artificial Intelligence, Die Antwood, Robocop or South Africa. This is the quintessential 'outsider' film. Everyone character is alone, from Sigourney Weaver to Hugh Jackman. Even the gang members aren't united. Blomkamp hands it to us on a platter with the 'Black Sheep' story but the critics overlooked it. It's a film about trying to find your identity. It's about bullies. Its about how cruel and selfish people can be. 'You all lie!' A couple of plot holes, yes, but hopefully, in time, this film will find it's way into acceptance. A shame for all involved as there's much to discover, not all so obvious. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
Muzzle131Mar 31, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (spoilers ahead) So I'm a pretty big fan of these critical thinking movies, and there's a lot of thinking and philosophy to be gained from this movie and the movie does a great job with the whole theme of god, humanity, immortality, and loss of innocence as we watch our main character Chappie come to terms with the world. But here's the thing that personally got me and that's the ending, it wasn't terrible but int the whole build up of Chappie essentially dying and with this looming death overhead he tries to find other means to try and live even breaking his promise with Dion saying he will do no crime so there's the loss of innocence as he ignores Dion and get's tempted by everyone else to do commit crime, and in the end it should of been a confrontation with him and Dion (his maker) who is kinda portraying god who at the end of the movie is dying from a fight but Chappie believes he can save him by transferring his consciousness into another robot essentially letting him live forever, but this is successful and Chappie does come to terms with his death happy to sacrifice himself so that his maker is alive and well but Dion then say he can save Chappie too and this is successful. I am saying that a sadder ending would of been miles better in delivering a message about humanity and all but in the end the overall movie is visually stunning with his robotics and does provide a look on someone growing up and facing hardships making him stronger for it (even though the movie is being held within the spam of a week). I was actually sort of thinking the story would of been different like the police were abusing their power and a guy who made the robots get's another point of view and decides to help by trying to create a robot that will help rise against the oppressors and this goes with the theme of Chappie growing up and is being pulled by two sides as both argue a somewhat valid point like one guy suggest going against the robots and that'll take the power for the corrupted another suggest go for the head of the snake and kill the corrupted so they can instead have the power. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
benjamindcMar 9, 2015
Great movie, really fresh and also love the way they use the Die Antword's world, I don't understand why such a bad review with this movie, critics as alway doing their jobs.
Great movie and really fund to watch!
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
MadMaxFuryRoadMay 17, 2015
Awesome movie was a bit of a letdown from Elysium. I was surprised how many people were in my theater when it was over halfway empty. The robot was very funny and I actually had feelings for the gang members.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
ParithMay 23, 2015
This was great. I don't usually laugh at the endless forced jokes in America/British/Canadian movies but this had me cracking up. Think of this as Sci-Fi Comedy, the trailers don't really do it justice and you go in expecting grim misery.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
blizzardblueMar 6, 2015
I loved it, of course it has it's weak spots but i didn't had any expectations of it being a "Metropolis" caliber kind of sci-fi; it's cute, pop cool and the violence is there to make a point. Calm scenes are lovely shot, the technicalI loved it, of course it has it's weak spots but i didn't had any expectations of it being a "Metropolis" caliber kind of sci-fi; it's cute, pop cool and the violence is there to make a point. Calm scenes are lovely shot, the technical aspects of chappie the character are phenomenal, for a moment i thought he looked too real to be cgi. Die Antwoord's presence in the film was an unexpected surprise & even more memorable than big stars Jackman & Sigourney.
Go watch it with an open heart and you'll enjoy it. I recommend it for those in care of small children, just don't bring them with you.
Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
10
brainfreezeMar 6, 2015
Lots of fun, emotion and fantastic action! Chappie character was charming, funny, mean and ghetto, couldn't be a cooler robot movie! Loved it! Very entertaining!
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
10
kraenkMar 7, 2015
Seems like 2015 is the year where the credibility of reviewers all over the globe and in all media finally comes to an end!
This is a good movie, maybe not as great as District 9 but very enjoyable.
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
aeroplasmaMar 8, 2015
I am officially a Neil Bomkamp fan. I loved District 9 and I loved Chappie. Sadly, I don't think this movie will get the recognition it deserves due to what seem to be dismal box office earnings. The movie was not as hardcore as district 9 inI am officially a Neil Bomkamp fan. I loved District 9 and I loved Chappie. Sadly, I don't think this movie will get the recognition it deserves due to what seem to be dismal box office earnings. The movie was not as hardcore as district 9 in that it wasn't trying to make a comment on the human condition. It was a genuinely funny, entertaining movie. Could not recommend enough. Don't listen to the artsy fartsy critics. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
NightReviewsMar 9, 2015
A sense of belonging seems to be writer/director/producer Neill Blomkamp’s greatest asset when it comes to filmmaking. The man behind the revered District 9 picks up the pieces of his fumbled second feature film Elysium by introducing us toA sense of belonging seems to be writer/director/producer Neill Blomkamp’s greatest asset when it comes to filmmaking. The man behind the revered District 9 picks up the pieces of his fumbled second feature film Elysium by introducing us to the second cutest robot to ever grace the silver screen, Chappie.

If you are wondering who managed to snatch the first place title of cutest robot to hit the big screen, I would easily argue Wall-E as the clear champion, albeit, animation (as well as Disney) have a fantastic way of bringing out the cute in everything, even a teapot. Luckily for audiences and movie-goers, Chappie is different; Chappie is real: Chappie is alive and Chappie is very much one of the best things to happen to the year 2015 in film.

Blomkamp again introduces us to a world not far off from the one we live in today. Launching his story in his hometown Johannesburg, South Africa, local police are shown to have begun implementing a robotic policing force, known as the Scout program, from a weapons corporation Tetravaal. Its creator, Deon Wilson (Dev Patel), has been successful in creating easily operated and incorruptible weapons for the greater good, but we quickly learn that Deon is in search of something more – artificial intelligence and the creation of the first living, feeling sentinel being.

While Blomkamp’s film relies heavily on action, visual effects, and character development, Chappie can easily be hailed as the director’s most personal, emotional, and sentimental feature film. Never shying away from very real and often times imaginative social commentaries set within uncomfortable and contemporary political setting, Blomkamp wastes no time in introducing Chappie, developing his character as much (if not more) than any other human being seen on screen.

Hot off the heals of a very painful and personal failed program, ex-soldier turned engineered Vincent Moore (Hugh Jackman) is persistent to prove Wilson’s Scout program as a failure, never being able to trust or rely on artificial intelligence. Deeming the program unpredictable, and arguing the ethics of A.I with that of a human being and the morality, ethics and fine fabrics that make man, Moore sets up the film for its greatest and deepest commentary. The very essence of Chappie relies heavily between the conflicts and struggles of two very real people: Deon and Vincent, and how their creations used for the greater good become catalysts to eliminate crime in a violently filled South African capital. Yet, throughout Chappie, the greatest animalistic behaviours and torn examples of violence, inhumanity and injustice/crime are seen by human beings. Moore spends most of the film trying to deceit and ruin Wilson, from nothing more than we can understand as revenge and jealousy, allowing us to pose the questions: would we want this man governing and policing our streets? Are these the beginnings of corruption?

In addition to these scenes of treacherous human behaviour, the realest and most humane scenes of the film are those, almost exclusively, involving Chappie. From a quiet and sad encounter with a dog, to a very confused and apologetic encounter with a bleeding police officer on a bridge during a heist, to his many interactions with his “maker” Deon, Chappie shines with the most unwavering signs of humanity and moral justice.

The underlining context of Blomkamp could easily be observed for many viewings, which makes Chappie, a robot with a bright orange “reject” sticker across his forehead, one of the most brilliant and under-apprecaited films of 2015, deserving of being seen at least twice.

Thankfully, although Chappie may be credited as being the most human character in the film, despite the simple fact that he is indeed a robot, he is not the only interesting individual. Endearing robot aside, Blomkamp’s emotionally rich and deeply subconscious film is filled with fascinating characters. The two roles bound to be the most talked about make up the duo that will determine whether or not people enjoy the film. Of course, the pair is none other than Chappie’s Mommy and Daddy: Ninja and Yolandi (Watkin Tudor Jones and Anri du Toit or, better known as, Ninja and Yo-Landi in the rap/synth South African musical duo Die Antwoord). Quite possibly the biggest reason Chappie may not be a success nor treated as the bravest science fiction film of 2015, is the inclusion of Die Antwoord. As it was for myself once I got wind of the casting choice, their involvement may be a real mystery to viewers. Truthfully, I wasn’t fully able to understand their significance being cast up until the rolling of the end credits, ironically enough, while their song Cookie Thumper! penetrated my ear lobes. Blomkamp, a master filmmaker whose obsession with analyzing and capturing the essence of reality and significance of his hometown upbringing, truly brings a unique commentary about lower class societies and gangster culture.
Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
Bio-Machine-AbhMar 9, 2015
The critics are coming off as narrow-minded and superficial. Whether this is due to philosophical bias, or whether this is due to its failure to include "Hollywood's Best and Whitest", it does show a blind spot in their collective ideology.
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
8
Benzilla08Mar 28, 2015
This was a great movie. I couldn't help but laugh and 'awww' at Chappies dialogue. It is well worth the watch.

It's a combination of the vulgarity and technology of District 9 and the charm and humor of Wall-e.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
yopi12Mar 19, 2015
Great film,

I am confused as to why some critics give such negative reviews, but I liked it a lot. I It is rare to see sci-fi movies that are as touching as Chappie. I really hope it gets the success it deserves.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
papadrew7Mar 6, 2015
I really don't understand the hate from "critics" about this movie. I thought it was a great movie filled with action and big ideas about the inevitable ai "consciousness". It was fun to watch chappie grow up rapidly during the movie. ScrewI really don't understand the hate from "critics" about this movie. I thought it was a great movie filled with action and big ideas about the inevitable ai "consciousness". It was fun to watch chappie grow up rapidly during the movie. Screw the haters and watch this movie. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
8
PlescarMar 6, 2015
The movie is awesome! It encompasses the incipient phases of socialization of a sentient android. Even though the ending might seem far fetched one should bear in mind that this is the extent of a youthful imagination of a being who is theThe movie is awesome! It encompasses the incipient phases of socialization of a sentient android. Even though the ending might seem far fetched one should bear in mind that this is the extent of a youthful imagination of a being who is the epitome of children who discovers reflexivity. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
9
raidendaigoMar 7, 2015
A fun ride. This movie is a pure entertainment experience. The story isn't the new religion like alot of critics were wanting and that's good because this is an entertaining movie that touches on some larger concepts but doesn't try to beatA fun ride. This movie is a pure entertainment experience. The story isn't the new religion like alot of critics were wanting and that's good because this is an entertaining movie that touches on some larger concepts but doesn't try to beat you down with them. This was a gangster movie wearing the clothes of a hard sci-film, grimy and cartoonish but a hoot none the less. A dog becomes a god, a man transcends life and Hugh Jackman sports a business mullet. Chappie is the number one gangster. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
9
ToFewViewsMar 10, 2015
Chappie is a very creative and thought provoking film from the Director of District 9 and Elysium. It covers the topic of human Consciousness and Artificial intelligence in robots witch some films may have done in the past, But none make youChappie is a very creative and thought provoking film from the Director of District 9 and Elysium. It covers the topic of human Consciousness and Artificial intelligence in robots witch some films may have done in the past, But none make you feel this attached to the characters involved. Watching Chappie's intelligence evolve like that of a child's but faster is what really makes you feel compassion and attached to him. Chappie really steals the spotlight in this film but the other stars Huge Jackman ,Sigourney Weaver and "Die Antwoord" who all do a sufficient job but the acting of "Ninja & Yolandi"(Die Antwood) could use some work.
The direction of the action scenes are done with great camera angles, Loud powerful audio and beautiful CGI, Even the way Chappie interacts with his environment is seamless.
If you have seen District 9 or Elysium I'm quite sure you will enjoy this film. Director Neill Blomkamp really knows how to bring his vision to life and make it looks great in the process.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
7
BshopMar 7, 2015
Crazy to think consciousnesses and moral are what really define us as human beings.
Movie brought up some great questions about morality, conditioning, and psychology.
Can Artificial Intelligence be created to feel and think? Maybe, but
Crazy to think consciousnesses and moral are what really define us as human beings.
Movie brought up some great questions about morality, conditioning, and psychology.
Can Artificial Intelligence be created to feel and think? Maybe, but what rules will it follow?
Those are the questions raised by this movie. Really a plus in my book to get viewer to mull over for a while.
In summary, one of the better movies this year so far. On par for entertainment as Elysium, but more thought provoking like District 9. Who knew people could feel sorry for a robot onscreen (of all places)?
Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
Natbob123Mar 10, 2015
Chappie was the best movie I have ever seen since Tron: legacy, the Hobbit and the dark knight. I highly recommend that every body should go see chappie. If you like action chappie has. If you like emotional movies chappie has it.
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
DMTMar 7, 2015
Chappie was slated by the critics for no reason. We saw it last night and loved it. It's better than Elysium and almost as good as d9. There were some silly p lines in the movie but overall was funny but emotional for chappie.
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
3
JamesIrish68Mar 8, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. District 9 was an outstanding movie and for its follow up to be so weak is very disappointing. It copies the District 9 formula nearly to the letter. It’s basically the same movie but without the soul. The fake realistic talking heads opening, the robots who are off the same drawing board as the the D9 aliens, the urban decay shots the same. The overhead ghetto shots the same .The plot line the same. The final showdown the same. The final scene rebirth analogy the same. The sets and locations are the same.
The thug rapper gang are a new addition and not a positive one. Their primary purpose appears to start a fashion line and their music.Actors they are not... We have every accent under the sun to emphasise diversity I presume. Lots of the dialog is impenetrable and ear screeching annoying.
Bloomkamp has another anti apartheid message here, which is fine but he has a distinct preference himself for casting Afrikaners over black South Africans..(Nobody else hires Sharlto)..
Jackman and Weaver don't really care much and you sense it in their performances. A Christian baddie ( he crosses himself) ticks another cliche PC box.
D9 was wonderful and seems to be this guy’s peak.....Two misfires on the trot...
Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
3
Movi3R3vi3werMar 8, 2015
This years Transcendence, CHAPPiE is a hugely disappointed film and a major step down from the once great Neill Blomkamp. No character development, horrific acting, and an absolutely ridiculous third act makes CHAPPiE nearly cringeworthy.
9 of 18 users found this helpful99
All this user's reviews
5
beladrimMar 6, 2015
Beautiful to look at and interesting main character.

Sadly, the movie overall doesn't live to its potential. If you have watched other movies from Neill Blomkamp (District 9, Elysium), than you will find nothing new about Chappie other
Beautiful to look at and interesting main character.

Sadly, the movie overall doesn't live to its potential.

If you have watched other movies from Neill Blomkamp (District 9, Elysium), than you will find nothing new about Chappie other than the main character. Blomkamp has an obsession on portraying the lack of equality and fairness and in a sci-fi uthopia setting. While it was fresh with disctrict 9, it is really getting annoying at this point.

Great Blomkamp, the formula worked in discrit 9... You don't have to use it for EVERY single movie you make! Considering, that Blomkamp is working on a new "alien" movie, I am starting to fear that he will try to shoe horn his moral values in this one aswell (Maybe the aliens are actually misunderstood creatures bullied by humans? Please... don't Blomkamp!)

While Chappie is likable, his "parents"... Are not... You get that Blomkamp is going for the missunderstood minority and oppressed group. But honestly... I never felt any empathy for these people. They are scum. They manipulate and abuse chappie because he has the mind of a child. Just because they are the "oppressed", doesn't mean that we are suppose to care for them. These are bad people and you will want them to die, so that Chappie can break free from their influence.

Blomkamp knows how to shoot good action scenes and make breath taking sci-fi worlds. It is a shame that the South African director feels the need to create an analogy to the apartheid in all the movies he makes.

Blomkamp is on his way to become the next M night shyamalan. He needs to let the all "oppressed" in a sci-fi setting go, and show us that he can make something new and refreshing.
Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
9
ice05Mar 6, 2015
I'm not sure why people are being so hard on it. A movie is a story, just because the story doesn't go the way you want it to, or because it makes you think then that makes it bad?
This film is not Transformers... It makes you think, it's a
I'm not sure why people are being so hard on it. A movie is a story, just because the story doesn't go the way you want it to, or because it makes you think then that makes it bad?
This film is not Transformers... It makes you think, it's a risky movie that isn't for everyone, clearly. I really liked this film a lot because it was something I have not seen before, it touches on something hardly talked about, I don't want to spoil anything in this movie. But just go in with a open mind and know it's not a normal Hollywood film.
Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
9
IgorSkripnikovMar 10, 2015
In my opinion , this film is better than Elysium . but worse than district 9. I just don't quite get why there is so much negative critic reviews. Most of them try to find some inner meanings in Chappie. Other just say that Chappie settingIn my opinion , this film is better than Elysium . but worse than district 9. I just don't quite get why there is so much negative critic reviews. Most of them try to find some inner meanings in Chappie. Other just say that Chappie setting is similar to the District 9. IMHO , it's just a SCI-FI fairytale with artificial intelligence and robots, which tells us how hard it is to become a MAN nowadays.
P.s. Ninja and Yolandi are awesome !
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
BillJobbensmithMar 23, 2015
SCREW the critics. Seriously, this movie was great. The interactions between Chappie and Die Antwoord alone are reason enough to love this movie. Ninja wants desperately for Chappie to be a gangster so he can help him with heists, butSCREW the critics. Seriously, this movie was great. The interactions between Chappie and Die Antwoord alone are reason enough to love this movie. Ninja wants desperately for Chappie to be a gangster so he can help him with heists, but Chappie's mind is that of a child. But Chappie starts to see them as parents and wants to make them proud. This movie is funny and endearing, but at times hard to watch. It kept me on my toes the whole time, but mostly because I thought I had a general idea of how it was going to end (which the actual ending surprised me).

I don't know what these critics were smoking with these reviews, but I'm usually a stickler with my movies but found this one to be great! I would recommend it to any fan of the genre.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
4
ozymandias79May 14, 2015
Although Chappie improved toward the end, the movie is very amateurish. Chappie is like a film student's final year project. Employing rappers to act in the film didn't help. The first 10 min were District 9.5. Many of the plot elements hadAlthough Chappie improved toward the end, the movie is very amateurish. Chappie is like a film student's final year project. Employing rappers to act in the film didn't help. The first 10 min were District 9.5. Many of the plot elements had question marks, like the guy could create artificial intelligence but couldn't program it to understand English immediately? Overall, Chappie is crappy. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
KKaneIRLMar 10, 2015
Wasn't expecting this to be as funny as it was, haven't laughed this hard in ages, actual comedies these days don't come close to it.

It does have a slow start and some Dev Patel acting was a little off but once Chappie gets going you will
Wasn't expecting this to be as funny as it was, haven't laughed this hard in ages, actual comedies these days don't come close to it.

It does have a slow start and some Dev Patel acting was a little off but once Chappie gets going you will laugh for 20mins straight in the middle.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
NerdConsultantMar 12, 2015
Chappie isn't a technically good movie but it is an enjoyable movie. honestly i thought it had it's good moments and had some really cleaver themes but it doesn't make the most of them. hugh jackman is a villain that need more time devotedChappie isn't a technically good movie but it is an enjoyable movie. honestly i thought it had it's good moments and had some really cleaver themes but it doesn't make the most of them. hugh jackman is a villain that need more time devoted for backstory and Chappie should have spent more time with Dev Patel's character but instead we stuck with the gangster who are the worst part of the film. it had some cool action and i thought Sharlto Copley was great as Chappie and it is an entertaining movie it just could have been better and i'll think it will pale into insignificance when compared wit Ex-Machina and Time Of Eve Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
ExemplisMar 12, 2015
Yes, this movie has a huge plot holes. Yes, it's AI and consciousness approach is rather unscientific. But this movie is as much ALIVE as Chappie himself - sometimes naive, sometimes stupid, I don't know how to describe it.. it has a genuineYes, this movie has a huge plot holes. Yes, it's AI and consciousness approach is rather unscientific. But this movie is as much ALIVE as Chappie himself - sometimes naive, sometimes stupid, I don't know how to describe it.. it has a genuine SOUL. And, as we can see in majority of reviews, this soul resonates with people's cultural and genetic notions of parental love, redemption and hope. That's why we give such a high scores despite primitive and aggressive methods of delivering those emotions. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
bumblestripeMar 8, 2015
I must not have seen the same movie as the critics because this film has become one of my top ten movies. Neill Blomkamp has created a unique film, however critics seem to only be looking at it as copying other movies with robots in them.I must not have seen the same movie as the critics because this film has become one of my top ten movies. Neill Blomkamp has created a unique film, however critics seem to only be looking at it as copying other movies with robots in them. Chappie tackles issues about family and nature vs nurture. He has a creator looking out for him and hoping to nourish his mind with art and poetry while the people with custody over him influence him negatively leading to gangster activities. Another common complaint is that Ninja and Yolandi were horrible actors. I disagree Yolandi had me genuinely interested. She is a very unique person and had a motherly side that I grew to love. Ninja also achieved the his characters point. He abused his son and forced him to conform to his style of life and do what he wanted, rather than allow his son to become who he wanted to be. Another issue that was tackled in this film was spirituality and consciousness. How do we define consciousness? Blomkamp creates a robot that can think. i immediately fell in love with Chappie. His mannerism and outlook on life was extremely interesting to watch. I was emotionally distraught in scenes were Chappie was beaten or mistreated in anyway. This kind of emotional response is what a good movie can create. I understand that the ending may not be for everyone but the way that a Blompkamp takes two characters and ultimately they are one in the same. I actually felt like the robot Chappie was another human inside the shell of a robot and I think that is what Blompkamp was really trying to get across. I believe that this film's major flaw was that it was marketed in two different ways. One was a movie focused on violence and the "oppressive police force" as some descriptions call it, however never once in the film are the Scouts in anyway oppressive. They are simply doing their police work effectively. Another way the movie was marketed was a way that seemed to be trying to appeal to families. I believe some people thought the movie would be something that children would enjoy and then when they found out about the R rating they dropped interested. Among all of the criticism I think people should stop listening to others and see Chappie for themselves and experience a truly entertaining experience. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
CuddleheadMar 8, 2015
Just saw the movie, and while a few things were a bit over the top, i can say i really enjoyed it. It depicts real world unanswered issues such as consciousness and self awareness, but also has a somewhat goofy tone. Die Antword were ok as well.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
mrc77Mar 8, 2015
I am not sure what is going on with all of the critics' reviews of this movie, but I thought it was thoroughly enjoyable. I liked it way better than I ever liked any of the Robocop movies (which it was compared to). I liked it better thanI am not sure what is going on with all of the critics' reviews of this movie, but I thought it was thoroughly enjoyable. I liked it way better than I ever liked any of the Robocop movies (which it was compared to). I liked it better than Wall-E (although, I enjoyed that movie, too). I enjoyed the acting of Sigourney Weaver, Hugh Jackman, Die Antwood, and Dev Patel. The special effects were amazing. The songs and score used in the movie added to the great atmosphere of the movie. There were some great scenes done really well, such as the time Chappie gets really good at stealing cars. I did not enjoy Elysium that much, but I loved District 9 and I loved this movie so I am still a big Neill Blomkamp fan. I also really enjoy Sharlto Copley's acting. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
Raymond0256Mar 8, 2015
From an Engineer's and Computer Scientist's point of view, Chappie explores the ideas of computer intelligence, robots as tools, the basis of consciousness, human nature, mortality, creation, and many other important themes. Chappie isFrom an Engineer's and Computer Scientist's point of view, Chappie explores the ideas of computer intelligence, robots as tools, the basis of consciousness, human nature, mortality, creation, and many other important themes. Chappie is surrounded by realistic characters that have a desire to create better intelligence and people who fear computer consciousness, people who view machines as lovable and those who view them as merely tools. Chappie must sort through these views and face his own mortality just like any person would, without the over the top action of Transcendence or the muddled physics of time travel from Terminator. I have not only seen these themes examined, sometimes badly, in other pieces of art, but these are themes that real scientists and engineers are exploring with current technology, such as emotional bonding with robots based on vocal and facial cues. I eat this stuff up, and I hope that at the very least it will make everyone think about these themes in a meaningful way. I think much of the negativity toward this film is based on either not understanding the field of artificial intelligence or not identifying with what could be considered a "good" character, but I urge that even if you do not view robots as "human" that you at least consider all sides of the discussion critically. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
recentnamebrandMar 9, 2015
I have always felt it important there be a dialog about computers versus society in general. Neill Blomkamp adds a modicum to this complex notion we must face. As many science fictions have written about these sorts of things in the pastI have always felt it important there be a dialog about computers versus society in general. Neill Blomkamp adds a modicum to this complex notion we must face. As many science fictions have written about these sorts of things in the past modern day film makers have the tools to present us with their visions. Like a brochure to sway our thinking it's a niche study ongoing. It's not black hole theory but plays on our emotions like some cheap trick. Some psychosis we have for formative adolescence development. I have kids and I bear a responsibility "What have I born upon society?" some kind of Frankenstein notion. But let's have context I think Neill Blomkamp is having fun and he wants us to have fun to. We wish we all had access to Chappies programming but the movie is not interactive. My scope is weakening and maybe the critics would like it that way since that is the reason I'm writing this in the first place. There seems to be a wide discrepency between viewer and critic. And it might just be new movie shock. I am no critic only a person who tries to keep his finger on the pulse of popular notion. This movie rocks. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
ripattiMar 12, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Neill Blomkamps masterpiece chappie is really creative. I liked this more than district 9, but district 9 was still good. Chappie is now my favourite character. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
DukeOfFlukeMar 14, 2015
I can't understand the mixed reviews from the professional critics? This film is very, very good and very much worth your time. Chappie explores; what it means to be human and consciousness, our emotional complexities and behaviours, crimeI can't understand the mixed reviews from the professional critics? This film is very, very good and very much worth your time. Chappie explores; what it means to be human and consciousness, our emotional complexities and behaviours, crime and law enforcement and our ever growing dependence on technology. A lot like Neill Blomkamp's other two films it has a great focus on poverty. This film is trademark Blomkamp, who is very much becoming a filmmaking auteur. If you like District 9 then you'll love Chappie. The robotics in Elysium were no doubt the most intriguing aspect of the film and they have explore them further in this film. Chappie is a thrilling and emotional joyride and excellently made. Superb science fiction. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
svenzo1Apr 1, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Best Movie Of 2015 Chappie Ofers Great Acting Intense Drama And Exiting Battles And Story All The Charecters Are Perflectly Acted The Only Thing I Slightly Dont Like Is The Ending It Just Is Sudden And We Dont Get To Know What Happend To Chappie His Creator The Bad Guy The Robotics Company Nor Any Of The Characters And It Seems To Be Itching For A Sequel Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
NevermindJun 27, 2015
Yet another great movie where the critics fail totally. If this movie did not have "from the director of District 9" on the cover there is no way I would have hired it. I mean a robot with gold chains and dollar signs around it's neck? AsYet another great movie where the critics fail totally. If this movie did not have "from the director of District 9" on the cover there is no way I would have hired it. I mean a robot with gold chains and dollar signs around it's neck? As such it can have somewhat negative first impressions, and the unlikable main characters do not help in this regard either. But hey great movies are not about pleasing you, and this movie certainly does not. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
FUZZCOOKIEMar 24, 2015
I will have to stand up for a movie that is so unique, that most critics will not understand it. Critics of these genres never expect change. This movie breaks the boundaries of how we see AI and human development.

Not just, comedy,
I will have to stand up for a movie that is so unique, that most critics will not understand it. Critics of these genres never expect change. This movie breaks the boundaries of how we see AI and human development.

Not just, comedy, current affairs and moral values are portrayed in this movie. It deals with existentialism in totally different way.

Maybe this movie is too hard for the average mind to understand, but if you are truly intelligent and also have knowledge about South African culture, you will understand that this movie is more than brilliant. You require insight to truly watch this movie. Prejudice will only cripple your mind.

This movie is what is to be human. So simple as that.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
BlackFox81Aug 9, 2015
Garbage movie dull and predictable robot movie, with terrible acting. South African actors are terrible please stop trying to help them out, Neil bumpkin is overrated hopefully he does better with alien 5
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
diogomendesMay 29, 2015
What a load of garbage! "Chappie", like most Neill Blomkamp's offers, is visually striking and boasts a well-chosen cast, but unlike Neill's other movies, "Chappie" is hampered by unlikable, underdeveloped secondary characters, heavy-handedWhat a load of garbage! "Chappie", like most Neill Blomkamp's offers, is visually striking and boasts a well-chosen cast, but unlike Neill's other movies, "Chappie" is hampered by unlikable, underdeveloped secondary characters, heavy-handed narrative elements and a familiar message. It's depressing and manipulative in some sense. I apologize to those who liked it, but I couldn't stand it.

3/10.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
SynysterSlayerMar 21, 2015
I've come to understand if "professional critics" don't like a movie usually us common folk consumers do. This movie does a great job of not taking it self too seriously with drawn out plot points and extreme overacting. It keeps a fast paceI've come to understand if "professional critics" don't like a movie usually us common folk consumers do. This movie does a great job of not taking it self too seriously with drawn out plot points and extreme overacting. It keeps a fast pace with a healthy mix of comedy, drama, and action.

This movie reminded me that going to the movies should be fun. Ninja and Yolandi were clearly given some creative control over the scenes they were in. Critics may not appreciate their unique approach to the arts, but these two managed to take the creative uniqueness from their music and inject it into acting. It creates a unique atmosphere that really made this movie shine.

This movie wont be winning any awards for drama or action. No, this movie succeeds in a more important aspect. It's entertaining which is something a lot of movies lately have failed at. So grab yourself some popcorn and a drink and have fun.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
JavierChileMar 28, 2015
If you just sit and relax, you can enjoy a GREAT sci-fi movie that is full of heart! Yes, it has it's flaws, but they are those little things that you can simply forget if you just focus on enjoying the movie.

In overall, I give it a 9/10.
If you just sit and relax, you can enjoy a GREAT sci-fi movie that is full of heart! Yes, it has it's flaws, but they are those little things that you can simply forget if you just focus on enjoying the movie.

In overall, I give it a 9/10. It has humour, heart and great action. What more can you ask?
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
Fantasy_CriticMar 10, 2015
I don't get the **** negative press. Pros: Action, Sci Fi. Cons: Action, Sci Fi. It seems like all these **** old-head ass reviewers want is civil rights movie after civil rights movie, and WWII movie after WWII movie.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
khrysgMar 9, 2015
I loved it. It was unexpected, thought provoking, emotional and things blow up - sometimes substance is in the absurdity. The only thing that really kind of annoyed me was how close Chappie and Ninja's voices were to each other. BrandonI loved it. It was unexpected, thought provoking, emotional and things blow up - sometimes substance is in the absurdity. The only thing that really kind of annoyed me was how close Chappie and Ninja's voices were to each other. Brandon Auret, Ninja and Yolandi were awesome. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
Godzilla14Mar 11, 2015
It speaks volumes about how I connected this film and the character of Chappie that I felt more for him than more than half of human characters I have encountered in my cinematic journey thus far. At points, I genuinely felt very afraid forIt speaks volumes about how I connected this film and the character of Chappie that I felt more for him than more than half of human characters I have encountered in my cinematic journey thus far. At points, I genuinely felt very afraid for Chappie but equally touched with his, arguably, naive humanity towards other living things. And to those critics who complain about the plot hole or contrivances - I am willing to bet that a few of the so called classics they would put in their personal favourites have their fair few plot holes in them!

Stuff you 'professional' critics, I really enjoyed this one!
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
Ripper89Mar 18, 2015
Chappie is an action packed movie that in certian instances had me wondering about things that seemed kinda weird but cool.

Chappie's action is never ending in this movie and the CGI is incredibly impressive. The story is interesting but
Chappie is an action packed movie that in certian instances had me wondering about things that seemed kinda weird but cool.

Chappie's action is never ending in this movie and the CGI is incredibly impressive. The story is interesting but questionable at certain times.

The one thing i HATE about this movie is Sony's self-advertising in the movie. around 10 PS4's are shown, all/most computers are their brand and it felt more like a movie where in every instance possible they almost always use their products. That aside, the movie feels like something from the not to distance future of robotics.

The one questionable role was Hugh Jackman, felt like he was mad for no reason. Yeah is own model of a robot wasn't asked to be used but it was just stupid and slow!

Personal opinion: Chappie is an incredible movie and kudos to sony on the CGI, action packed movie with a good story line! but Sony's self advertising made you remember it was a movie. Some instances of the movie felt fake and made you feel like either saying 'WHAT!?' or 'THIS IS SOOOOO COOL!!!. I'm part of the later

9 out of 10
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
codyeffMar 16, 2015
Went in to Chappie thinking it would go one way and it ended up going a completely different direction. That's not necessarily a bad thing. I enjoyed this movie a lot and fell in love with Chappie. Thematically, it is a very strong movie. ItWent in to Chappie thinking it would go one way and it ended up going a completely different direction. That's not necessarily a bad thing. I enjoyed this movie a lot and fell in love with Chappie. Thematically, it is a very strong movie. It touches on struggles with mortality and the balance of good and bad just to name a couple. The science fiction in this movie is very interesting.

My only gripe was that some of the characters in the movie were very abrasive and tough to deal with. Ninja especially. The movie tends to bounce around a lot and leaves minor plot questions.

Well worth seeing though. I have yet to be disappointed by Neill Blomkamp.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
GentM2015Jun 9, 2015
Chappie is not a bad movie by any means.I get how people can hate it but I love it because it is a good movie.The Director does a great and awesome job at this film just like he did in Elysium which is a film that not many people liked eitherChappie is not a bad movie by any means.I get how people can hate it but I love it because it is a good movie.The Director does a great and awesome job at this film just like he did in Elysium which is a film that not many people liked either but I loved it just as much as this one.Chappie gets to start from the very beginning and even tho he is in the midst of bad people that we hate at the beginning,he is not a bad robot and wins everyone's heart in the movie and outside it.
Visual effects are awesome,Chappie looks great and really real as possible.I'm not a big fan of the acting but I can roll with it.The running time could have been a little big longer but that doesn't take away from the movie either.Overall just a fun and enjoyable Sci-Fi movie of 2015 that people who love Science Fiction will also love this undeniably.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
BigPapa2015Jun 19, 2015
I'm not sure why the critics didn't like this movie as much. I came in expecting one story and walked away with another. Chappie (who was brought to life with stop motion technology) was incredible to watch. Coupled with the voice acting,I'm not sure why the critics didn't like this movie as much. I came in expecting one story and walked away with another. Chappie (who was brought to life with stop motion technology) was incredible to watch. Coupled with the voice acting, Chappie can be truly moving at time. You have a robot who doesn't know who he is or what his place in the world is. He's a child in a harsh environment and doesn't understand why things are the way they are. He want's to be good but the world around him is against him and others push him to be bad. The action and violence added a whole other dimension to the story. The exploration of consciousness, humanity and how we treat those who are different really had us thinking when the movie was over. The movie is worth watching. In fact my family and I are watching it again right now. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
Lambo442Jun 20, 2015
Chappie shouldn't be named after a penis as he's really a big vagina. He's so pathetic it's untrue. This film would have worked if it hadn't of been so sentimental, which just clashes with the violence badly. It's full of cliched, annoyingChappie shouldn't be named after a penis as he's really a big vagina. He's so pathetic it's untrue. This film would have worked if it hadn't of been so sentimental, which just clashes with the violence badly. It's full of cliched, annoying characters and it just doesn't know how to be different. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
darthvladiJun 13, 2015
Please, do you a favor and IGNORE all the bad reviews. The movie is great. Of course it won't have the best plot ever, but as any other Sci-Fi movie... you have to make an effort and actually believe what you are watching on the screen.

Do
Please, do you a favor and IGNORE all the bad reviews. The movie is great. Of course it won't have the best plot ever, but as any other Sci-Fi movie... you have to make an effort and actually believe what you are watching on the screen.

Do not over think the movie, just enjoy it and you won't be disappointed.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BrickthegrimJul 25, 2017
I kept putting this movie off. To be honest it was because some of the characters looked silly.

I finally got around to watching it though and once I got 30 minutes in I couldn't look away. I cried I laughed I was laying down when I watched
I kept putting this movie off. To be honest it was because some of the characters looked silly.

I finally got around to watching it though and once I got 30 minutes in I couldn't look away. I cried I laughed I was laying down when I watched it but I literally sat up at the end because I couldn't not.

Very few movies have ever inspired and made me as engaged as this movie did. I can literally count the movies with less than one complete hand.

I was privileged to see such an amazing movie, with amazing characters and to play with a concept that I have always been fascinated by. This movie takes what we know is scientifically possible and makes it a reality before its time. Than it makes you seriously question everything you think you know about philosophy and life itself.

If the makes of this moves, the actors and producers and especially the writers ever read this review.

Sincerely, thank you.
This was one of the rare cinematic experiences I can truly say took my breath away. P.S. thank you for the hope.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJul 23, 2015
After the largely negative reviews, I figured I would wait to catch Chappie until it came out on DVD and I am bummed to have waited so long. I have no idea why the critics hated it so much. No, it is not as good as District 9, but it is stillAfter the largely negative reviews, I figured I would wait to catch Chappie until it came out on DVD and I am bummed to have waited so long. I have no idea why the critics hated it so much. No, it is not as good as District 9, but it is still a good action science fiction movie from a guy, Neill Blomkamp, who seems to be quite adept at making socially conscious action movies. But heck, don't listen to me, I liked Elysium too. To me, Blomkamp is a very good director who is very ambitious in his films. They do not match his ambitions more often than not, but the end result is also quite positive. The themes here are similar to the rest of his films and Johannesburg will certainly continue to be viewed negatively worldwide due to its portrayal here, but all the same, it is a very fun and well made film. The cast as a whole is good and quite believable in all of their roles. I know Die Antwoord got a lot of criticism for their performances, but I truly believed them and they did not stick out at all. The development of Chappie was great and he is certainly one of the best characters in a film in recent times, in my humble opinion. The film really delivers in the heady sci-fi elements viewers come to expect from the genre (as well as a ton of Biblical elements, such as "genisis" and referring to the guy who created Chappie as his "maker", plus some characters being obviously religious). The action is well done and the film can be quite adorable (thanks to Chappie) and funny throughout. It is also oddly touching, as it always amazes me how much I can be made to care about a robot. Overall, Chappie does have flaws, namely in the way of plotholes or points where it feels like the story just skipped ahead a bit. It also manages to cram a lot into a short time period, which is a unique criticism, but one I feel is justified. All the same, Blomkamp's films always are very sleek and stylish and the way the robots are designed is super cool (just as the aliens in District 9's design was great). As a whole, Chappie was unfairly torn apart for some of its flaws, while many ignored the many positives it delivered. Not as good as District 9, but Blomkamp certainly took a step back in that direction here, as it is better than Elysium. Definitely looking forward to his Alien film (hopefully set in Joburg, because why not). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews