Lionsgate | Release Date: February 8, 2019
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 28 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
6
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
TrevaFeb 10, 2019
Cold Pursuit is unlike most of what Liam Neeson has done before. It is a black comedy, more akin to Three Billboards and Fargo than, for example, the Taken franchise movies. One ruthless, uncaring mistake by a gang tears an average workingCold Pursuit is unlike most of what Liam Neeson has done before. It is a black comedy, more akin to Three Billboards and Fargo than, for example, the Taken franchise movies. One ruthless, uncaring mistake by a gang tears an average working man's family apart and starts an avalanche of killings in the snows around Denver, Colorado, in the height of winter. On the way, it has a bit to say about bad choices, karma, racism and even free trade. Very funny, very black, and very violent, it features some very interesting performances, too. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondFeb 8, 2019
One of the craziest, funniest revenge flicks I've ever seen. Definitely check your "plot hole" radar at the door. There are so many through lines in this sucker, it's sometimes too much, but there are so many likable element to it, you canOne of the craziest, funniest revenge flicks I've ever seen. Definitely check your "plot hole" radar at the door. There are so many through lines in this sucker, it's sometimes too much, but there are so many likable element to it, you can forgive minor inconsistencies. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
NShep53Feb 10, 2019
More "Walk Among the Tombstones" than "Taken". Liam Neeson isn't in it as much as I would like, but it is an overall enjoyable film.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
buddhalouFeb 10, 2019
So, my buddy and I went expecting something along the lines of 'Taken on Ice'. How wrong we were. We both have the tendency to laugh at what others may deem inappropriate times, so the first couple of times we chuckled, we assumed that wasSo, my buddy and I went expecting something along the lines of 'Taken on Ice'. How wrong we were. We both have the tendency to laugh at what others may deem inappropriate times, so the first couple of times we chuckled, we assumed that was the case. However, it started to dawn on us that the laughs were intentional and we had stumbled into a dark comedy - a genre I truly enjoy. I'm not going to tell you it was a great movie, but I was pleasantly surprised and entertained. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Daniel_EndureFeb 8, 2019
In no way, shape, or form is Cold Pursuit, "Taken on ice." A better way to describe the film is boredom on ice, or better yet, gutter trash on ice. This movie doesn't have a single redeeming moment in it. It's also not an action flick by theIn no way, shape, or form is Cold Pursuit, "Taken on ice." A better way to describe the film is boredom on ice, or better yet, gutter trash on ice. This movie doesn't have a single redeeming moment in it. It's also not an action flick by the way; it's an overlong drama where the writers are more concerned about having side characters go off on some nonsense monologue rather than entertaining the audience with the thrills you'd expect from a Liam Neeson adventure. Okay, yes, I do have to give it some credit, there is a grand total of two minutes where Neeson punches some people in the face without them fighting back. The worst part about the film is that it all feels so unnatural... Some awful side plots between the police and a rival gang are thrown in and don't add up to much of anything. This is a zero out of ten, because in no way is any of it enthralling. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
7
namelessFeb 9, 2019
If you like Liam Neeson's current crop of movies than you will like this one. It has interesting twists and turns that keeps one wondering how everything will connect. It feels a bit transplanted, it wants to be a Cohen Brothers movie butIf you like Liam Neeson's current crop of movies than you will like this one. It has interesting twists and turns that keeps one wondering how everything will connect. It feels a bit transplanted, it wants to be a Cohen Brothers movie but lacks the emotional thread that makes their movies work. There are some serious casting problems. At times it felt like many of there were "acting". It is entertaining. I read the reviews and was a bit hesitant to go but then noticed how the reviews took a nosedive after his interview problems. Definitely a bias there, just check the date of when the professionals submitted their reviews and you see what I mean. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
GreatMartinFeb 8, 2019
I have been a fan of Liam Neeson since the 1980s and have been watching his turning into an action star at the age of 58 with "Taken" and I wish he would take a detour now and then back to 'the good old days' like "Schindler's List", "RobI have been a fan of Liam Neeson since the 1980s and have been watching his turning into an action star at the age of 58 with "Taken" and I wish he would take a detour now and then back to 'the good old days' like "Schindler's List", "Rob Roy" or "Love Actually". With "Cold Pursuit" we already know the formula of his losing a family member, in this case, his son, and then the bloodbath starts.

It isn't long before Nels Coxman (Neeson) is killing one guy after another, then choking one before shooting, wrapping another and dumping him down a mountains falls and I stopped counting after the body total reached 15 and that wasn't even half of it. In a sense score is kept for you as each death in listed on the screen. Along with the high body count there is blood all over the place from bride's gowns to snow to a murderer asking a victim to move off a rug to not bloody it. Many attempts at humor fail but a few really get across and the scenes filmed in Alberta standing in for Denver, and a fictionalized ski town called Kehoe, never fail to be anything but beautiful. Nels is a snow pile driver and aside from many shots of him clearing snow for traffic there is also 2 shots of ways to use the snow pile machinery to kill people that aren't half as bad as other killings in the movie. The whole basis of the story is 'a son for a son' when one son is killed and another is threatened before a third son is killed. The father of one son is really a sick, controlling guy who can't quite get the better of his ex-wife even though he is the head kingpin of drug distribution.

Talking about a wife though it seems Laura Dern will play a major part of the movie but is in it too briefly. Actually women have a better showing for a movie like this with Dern, Julia Jones as the aforementioned ex and Emmy Rossum as a serious get them police officer. I love her in "Shameless", the series on Showtime, and was glad to see her. There are many roles, including all those killed, giving the actors time to impress without all that time on the screen.


"Cold Pursuit" is an okay genre movie that most people will like but if you don't see it you won't miss it.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
tropicAcesFeb 8, 2019
Not at all what the trailers set it up to be, the film is a tonal mess with no real pacing, and plays out like a wannabe Coen Brothers homage gone wrong.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
doctor_robotFeb 8, 2019
i have not seen this version yet. i like the original quite a bit, and have a feeling that i am going to like this one, as well. but i am predicting a lot of "agenda" reviews to start pouring in. so sad.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryFeb 13, 2019
Although you might expect this to be an extension of the Liam Neeson's TAKEN franchise, he's actually cast as a more demure character…at least in the beginning. He drives a snow plow in a frigid Colorado town, but when his son is killed, heAlthough you might expect this to be an extension of the Liam Neeson's TAKEN franchise, he's actually cast as a more demure character…at least in the beginning. He drives a snow plow in a frigid Colorado town, but when his son is killed, he sets out for revenge. Most of the action is unexceptional and the plot is full of holes. The only surprising thing is the sprinkling of dark humor that punctuates each death. Not really that amusing, but it does add a different tone to an otherwise mediocre action flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
garethvkFeb 13, 2019
Nels Coxman (Liam Neeson) is a simple man who spends his days clearing the roads in a remote Colorado Ski Town and spends his days with his wife and his son. Nels is so unassuming that when he is awarded Citizen of the Year he states thatNels Coxman (Liam Neeson) is a simple man who spends his days clearing the roads in a remote Colorado Ski Town and spends his days with his wife and his son. Nels is so unassuming that when he is awarded Citizen of the Year he states that there are others far more worthy and fusses over getting dressed up to accept the award and make a speech.
When his son is found dead of a Heroin overdose; Nels is not willing to accept that his son was a user even though this puts tremendous strain on his marriage and has taken Nels to consider suicide. At his worst moment he learns that his son’ co-worker was involved with some shady dealing and that his son was likely collateral damage from the criminal elements involved.

With a new found sense of purpose: Nels embarks on a quest to find the truth and avenge his son’s death no matter the consequences.

One would think that “Cold Pursuit” is a standard revenge film but it unexpectedly changes direction shortly after Nels starts exacting his revenge. The film transforms into a Dark Comedy of sorts as characters get a Title Screen when they are killed many of which have a morbid humor to them. The film even takes the bold step of moving away from Neeson for a good third of the film and putting the emphasis on other characters from rival crime organizations to the Sherriff and his eager Detective (Emmy Rossum).

As such the film is not what you expect as although there is plenty of action at times; it is a Dark Comedy with dramatic elements. It is more in line of what you might expect at a Film Festival from an Indie studio versus a major studio release.

As such fans of Neeson may be disappointed in seeing a departure from the type of films they have come to expect from him in recent years while others may embrace the quirky nature of the film.

3 stars out of 5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKFeb 14, 2019
Liam Neeson soldiers through Cold Pursuit in stoic fashion. What saves the film is that all the other characters are more interesting and fun to watch than he is – the police, the “bad guys” (and there were plenty of them), along with “theLiam Neeson soldiers through Cold Pursuit in stoic fashion. What saves the film is that all the other characters are more interesting and fun to watch than he is – the police, the “bad guys” (and there were plenty of them), along with “the good guys” (the Indians, old friends of Neeson/Coxsman, and even the hotel staff). The humor (especially when various deaths were “commemorated” on screen) helped too. But the film was dead emotionally, and it was only Neeson’s and most of the rest of the actors’ likability that held things together. If you can, see the original (In Order of Disappearance with Stellan Skarsgård), and you will probably wonder why the director felt he had to make this movie again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Feb 12, 2019
Liam Neeson has stated his intent to retire from making action films recently due to his age (he is in his mid-60s after all), so this very well may be the last we see of him doing what he's become so well known for ever since the firstLiam Neeson has stated his intent to retire from making action films recently due to his age (he is in his mid-60s after all), so this very well may be the last we see of him doing what he's become so well known for ever since the first 'Taken' film a decade ago. And if that's really the case, then I gotta say that he goes out with a pretty ridiculous yet fun bang with this film! He's at his usual best, and there was surprisingly an abundance of dark humor throughout as the film continues to poke fun at the increasing body count in one of the most unique and off-color ways I've seen. It felt very much in the vein of a Coen Brothers or Fargo-style film. Overall, I'd say it's actually one of Neeson's better action films in a while, so considering he's been at this for a while and it may be his last, it felt surprisingly funny and fresh, which was enough to help elevate it from feeling like the usual fare he's been offering us with some of his other action films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
moviecritic68Feb 13, 2019
Liam is getting sucked into doing the same role over & over. Some of his movies are better than others but this one falls into the others category. Best you watch this on DVD or Netflix.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Feb 11, 2019
In Cold Pursuit, based on the Norwegian film Krafitidioten or, as it is known in the US, In Order of Disappearance starring Stellan Skarsgard, Liam Neeson is a hard-working, respectable member of the community and runs his own snow plowIn Cold Pursuit, based on the Norwegian film Krafitidioten or, as it is known in the US, In Order of Disappearance starring Stellan Skarsgard, Liam Neeson is a hard-working, respectable member of the community and runs his own snow plow business. His life is turned upside down when his son is murdered, resulting in him going on a quest of vengeance. This seems like a traditional Neeson revenge/action flick. It definitely starts like one. However, what develops is a pretty entertaining dark comedy. Cold Pursuit is this decade's Fargo.

A big issue with revenge/crime films is that they often feel by-the numbers. This one keeps things lively. There are many surprisingly clever little actions or bits of dialogue. The movie features a wide cast of unique and interesting characters. In the middle, Neeson is missing for large periods of time, but you'll like the others enough that it doesn't matter. The cast is great all across the board. There are just too many great performances to all individually focus on. Though particular notice should be given to Murder on the Orient Express' Tom Bateman, who always steals the scene as as an odbball control freak/vegan mob boss, and Tom Jackson as a contrasting mob boss in a more controlled, but emotional performance.

Film looks great. The movie mostly takes place in a snowy Colorado resort town and the parts out in nature are just breathtaking. There is a particular repeated visual throughout this movie that is really clever and ties the whole thing together. The movie also has great filming locations; some really eye-catching buildings here.

Biggest weak point is that running at almost 2 hrs. the movie is longer than it needed to be. Some of the moments feel a little too movie-ish and unnatural. Good thing is that Neeson does the same angry but measured tough guy routine that he does so well. Bad thing is that it's the exact same routine he has does several times.

As I said, this is like Fargo. If you don't want things getting too dark, this isn't for you. But if you want something Cohen Brothers/Tarantinoesque than you'll probably like this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
amheretojudgeFeb 13, 2019
Silent Sirens.

Cold Pursuit Moland's second take on a quirky revenge based tale is a clear "style over substance" case. This remake fails on both causes, it uproots the essence of the humor that made "In Order Of Disappearance" smooth and
Silent Sirens.

Cold Pursuit

Moland's second take on a quirky revenge based tale is a clear "style over substance" case. This remake fails on both causes, it uproots the essence of the humor that made "In Order Of Disappearance" smooth and flamboyant, and makes it pretentiously commercial. And on the other hand, it comes off short on performance. But there is something in Neeson's eyes that makes you root for the guy. He has always cast that persona on screen over the ages. The brooding voice, slick body language and his panache on the command over the other characters, he gambles the game effortlessly. This is the kind of role that he fits in perfectly for.

His on screen fear over the ages, helps us nod easily on setting up the ruthless background of his. Although, this image of his isn't on run until it's last act scrolls upon. The initial stages where he is investigating- or one might call it killing people like a Domino where each of them will lead him close to end the game- that rage of merciless encounter is poured over on pawns. Also, Moland's way of announcing a death is slick fun. It grows on you and balances the tone on chalky humor, along with being informative.

Dern as Neeson's wife is barely there to invest on anything. She is almost playing a cameo and still she is better than half of the other cast. Another major crisis in here is the antagonist. There is never a real threat experienced by the viewers whenever the antagonists are on screen. Mocking their own profession and investigating poorly by lopping off their own team members, this stereotypical clan is barely capable to make Neeson writhe on screen. Bateman's irritation over Neeson's ruling might communicate but that too is when his wife steps in and a new chain of cycle is introduced on screen that somewhat helps it grows into more hefty.

Another plus point on their side, is the invasion of another gang which is clearly more life threatening than our real "bad guys". Their poised and reserved nature leaves the other characters shaking on their seat as they move slowly but steadily near to their revenge. This is where Moland's script delivers completely, its awareness on the catastrophe that each action spirals out, is what helps him puppeteer multiple characters on screen. Like Rossum's cop character that has its own interesting tale to tell.

The action isn't necessarily gore and the locations beautifully shot that does fool you to expect maturity on the narration. On terms of originality, there is a long way to go, this B grade action drama is unfortunately short on both action and drama. This remake of Moland's own Norwegian film is a big chunk of disappointment, incapable to regain the magic, the star power is your only stable source to work upon and rely upon. Cold Pursuit is definitely a cold pursuit, with none whatsoever threat of emergency, it is on run without looking back.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews