| Release Date: August 4, 2017
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 101 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
77
Mixed:
13
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
LamontRaymondAug 6, 2017
Wow, what a stunner! Something about this movie brought me back to Linklater's "Suburbia" or Coppola's "Lost in Translation". I know we've seen Richardson in "Edge of Seventeen", but it feels like she's been shot out of a cannon with thisWow, what a stunner! Something about this movie brought me back to Linklater's "Suburbia" or Coppola's "Lost in Translation". I know we've seen Richardson in "Edge of Seventeen", but it feels like she's been shot out of a cannon with this film. Looking forward to seeing how her career progresses. And Cho is solid, as usual. He's come a long way since the Harold & Kumar flicks. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Brent_MarchantSep 10, 2017
A nearly perfect film in virtually every regard, this quiet, cerebral meditation about life, loving, healing, forgiveness, personal growth and human relations gives viewers much to think about, especially when faced with hard choices. SetA nearly perfect film in virtually every regard, this quiet, cerebral meditation about life, loving, healing, forgiveness, personal growth and human relations gives viewers much to think about, especially when faced with hard choices. Set against the beautiful backdrop of architectural mecca Columbus, Indiana, the film's exquisite, Kubrick-esque cinematography, ethereal, haunting score, and deft use of sound provide elegant wrapping for this sometimes-humorous, sometimes-heartbreaking, frequently mesmerizing tale. Don't expect much action from this one; in fact, don't be surprised if you often find yourself wondering where the story is going, given its often-cryptic dialogue. But sit back, let the film wash over you and take it all in -- you'll likely be very pleasantly surprised, especially by the award-worthy performance of John Cho, who demonstrates talents not seen in any of his previous roles. An absolute gem. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AclarityAug 27, 2017
A poignant, tender story about all kinds of loss and the gaps between us. Beautifully filmed in Columbus, Indiana. Loved Haley Lu Richardson's performance.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ValerieMayJan 28, 2019
I could watch this movie 10 times and discover different things every time. Very quiet, but much is said.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MarcDoyleAug 6, 2017
Simply an incredibly moving film. (How is it, by the way, that I saw the two best movies of the year on a Saturday in August??) The visuals are incredible, but the lives of the lead characters are so deftly drawn, and their relationship isSimply an incredibly moving film. (How is it, by the way, that I saw the two best movies of the year on a Saturday in August??) The visuals are incredible, but the lives of the lead characters are so deftly drawn, and their relationship is so tangible. Was happy to see Michelle Forbes and Parker Posey (along with Culkin) play some impactful supporting roles. And I just loved the writing - excellent use of the uroboros. Haven't walked out of a theater with that kind of a feeling in quite some time. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
isjoaoJan 15, 2018
I have no comments to make about this movie, I just want to use the 75 character minimum limit for reviews.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DawdlingPoetMar 5, 2022
This is a rather poignant and contemplative type watch, with a philosophical type feel to the musical score - somewhat 'floaty'/ethereal/space type music is played in the background at times. I liked the cinematography used - there are someThis is a rather poignant and contemplative type watch, with a philosophical type feel to the musical score - somewhat 'floaty'/ethereal/space type music is played in the background at times. I liked the cinematography used - there are some nice shots of the various buildings and outdoor areas scenes take place in - there was a real sense of symmetry present, I felt. The film is about two characters who bump into each other and slowly start opening up about things, about their family, culture, death, career hopes and other such things. It is somewhat thoughtful and while its a reasonably slow film, plot wise, it has a nice laid back sense to it which I enjoyed, even though it is somewhat serious at points. Yes I'd recommend this film...perhaps its a little indulgent and certainly it won't appeal to people wanting constant action or 'full blown entertainment' as such but its a good film never the less - it certainly has an aesthetic appeal to it, which is a little hard to fully put my finger on. It has quite an arty sense to it too, I should say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beamyappleOct 9, 2020
This might be a weird thing to say considering its Ozu-like, detached style, but Columbus feels like a hug.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews