Lionsgate | Release Date: April 17, 2009
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 213 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
123
Mixed:
51
Negative:
39
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Longbottom94Apr 29, 2013
Outrageous, controversial and sometimes draining. Crank 2 is one of the craziest films I have seen, not perfect, but definitely a memorable cinematic experience.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
NikkoCSep 30, 2009
Silly, fun, if this made you wanna walk out Jason S, man, what were you expecting!!? It is an obvious rental anyway - and no you can't have money or your hour back.... if you wanna walk out don't wait an hour!! And then ask for Silly, fun, if this made you wanna walk out Jason S, man, what were you expecting!!? It is an obvious rental anyway - and no you can't have money or your hour back.... if you wanna walk out don't wait an hour!! And then ask for your money! How long is it? 80 mins? Dude, what a tight ****, can your dad have his sperm back? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickOOOSheaFeb 23, 2011
Honestly, this movie gets a terrible wrap. Yes, it's crude. Yes, it's senseless violence. Yes to a million other accusations I have heard against this movie. But I have watched this a dozen times and I am still entertained. Critics nowadaysHonestly, this movie gets a terrible wrap. Yes, it's crude. Yes, it's senseless violence. Yes to a million other accusations I have heard against this movie. But I have watched this a dozen times and I am still entertained. Critics nowadays have forgotten what the point of watching films is. People go to the cinema to be entertained. Of course you won't like this if you're above 25 or a prude. But this movie packs everything you could possibly want in a flick. Over-the-top violence, pervasive sexuality, and balls-to-the-wall action! If you are looking for a movie that you will cherish for dozens of viewings, this one's for you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JWASOct 6, 2012
Funny. Outside the box. Definitely, a cult classic. Unlike other movies, this sequel was better than the first Crank (which I had enjoyed as well). This is one movie, along with the original, that I will keep in my DVD collection.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
C3realkillahJun 20, 2013
This movie is hilarious and awesome. Over the top and unlike any other film. Needs to be seen if you got a twisted dark sense of humor. Hope there is a sequel!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sergiorOct 3, 2009
I liked Crank. I love this sequel. Sure it's not realistic at all, but the direction and craziness of it all made on hell of a movie. Just so much randomness going on, it's insane. I recommend it. Made my all time favorite movies list.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KevinLApr 20, 2009
Awesome movie. Will no doubt be underrated like another great cult classic movie, Fight Club.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
cheliosApr 30, 2009
The most entertaining movie ever. It was hilarious.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
StevenMMay 9, 2009
Amazing film which spits on other film's sensibility. Crank 2 aims to be ridiculous and it doesn't disappoint. Best viewed as a comedy rather than an action film.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BradleyEApr 26, 2009
This movie is what the big screen and THX are made for. Forget all that hollywood and indie posturing. This movie is the real thing with honest filmmaking values, perfect acting, a real sense of humor, and real entertainment as opposed to This movie is what the big screen and THX are made for. Forget all that hollywood and indie posturing. This movie is the real thing with honest filmmaking values, perfect acting, a real sense of humor, and real entertainment as opposed to the current set of hollywood and indie fakes. The characters are all pitch perfect except for the by the numbers villians. If you like those fake hollywood and indie films, stay away from Crank, High Voltage, but if you enjoy over the top graphics and action, and get what filmmaking is about, this is a highly recommended flick to be enjoyed more than once on most humongous screen you can watch it on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisWJan 1, 2010
For gods sake don't listen to these moron reviewers who feel they have to say the best film in the world is something like 'Citizen Kane' because they want to be trendy. Crank: High Voltage is a brilliantly funny, fast paced For gods sake don't listen to these moron reviewers who feel they have to say the best film in the world is something like 'Citizen Kane' because they want to be trendy. Crank: High Voltage is a brilliantly funny, fast paced and action packed film that doesn't take itself seriously. Watch it with mates and have a laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
charliepApr 18, 2009
This is instantly one of the greatest action movies Ive ever seen . It takes all of the over the top elements of the original and takes it 100 times further. Well worth the watch and so far my favourite movie 2009.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadSApr 19, 2009
Mindless violence and mindless sex fill the screen at a breakneck pace in "Crank: High Voltage", a post-modernist exercise in degenerate excess that can best be described as a sort of "Grindhouse for Dummies". Typical of the film's Mindless violence and mindless sex fill the screen at a breakneck pace in "Crank: High Voltage", a post-modernist exercise in degenerate excess that can best be described as a sort of "Grindhouse for Dummies". Typical of the film's juvenile sensibilities, The Cramps' classic three-chord stomper "Bikini Girls with Machine Guns" gets an update by having topless exotic dancers shoot up a gentleman's club. At one point, a stripper leaks blood, and maybe, saline, after she takes a bullet in the chest. "Crank: High Voltage" is brutal, reprehensibly racist and misogynistic, but fun in a gross, politically incorrect way. This sequel to "Crank" is, quite literally, a filmic mash note to the post-modernist master of immoral fun himself. In another sense, the film also works as an unofficial sequel to "Boogie Nights". At a race track, Chev Chelios(Jason Stratham) has public sex in a variety of positions with Eve(Amy Smart) that recalls porn star Nina Hartley's driveway escapades in the Paul Thomas Anderson classic. "Boogie Nights" documented the moment that the adult film industry made the transition from celluloid to videotape. In "Crank: High Voltage", Chelios encounters a picket line of striking "actors", who are reacting to another seismic shift in their industry. Later on, as aforementioned, Chev and Eve provide some sideshow entertainment for a house full of racehourse enthusiasts in what seems like an extended show of gratuitous sex. The outdoor boinking actually illuminates on how amateur sex videos are winning the hearts and groins of porn aficionados over the industry-sanctioned product, which spawned alternative "movie stars" such as the late Marilyn Chambers and the aging Jenna Jameson. People prefer non-professionals because the sex looks more "real", less fake. Quite pointedly, Chev Chelios has no heart. While a man without a heart can fake sex, can he fake love, in the scene where Chev finally kisses Eve? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelBApr 20, 2009
Not quite as good as the first, this one focused a little less on the constant adrenaline rush and more on violence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanSSep 8, 2009
More insane action from Jason Statham. Very much like the first Crank, but still absolutely entertaining. It has a wicked sense of humor and the thrills are non-stop. I can honestly say I've never had this much fun watching a man try to More insane action from Jason Statham. Very much like the first Crank, but still absolutely entertaining. It has a wicked sense of humor and the thrills are non-stop. I can honestly say I've never had this much fun watching a man try to get his heart back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LiamBApr 17, 2009
Actually turns out to be more random than Crank. Loads of action and laughs, Jason especially funny ("Did I drop some change? Or did I just hear a Chink?") Two scenes that were King Kong vs. Godzilla and a Jerry Springer type show were Actually turns out to be more random than Crank. Loads of action and laughs, Jason especially funny ("Did I drop some change? Or did I just hear a Chink?") Two scenes that were King Kong vs. Godzilla and a Jerry Springer type show were slightly less funny and seemed to serve only as time fillers which was strange since the whole thing only lasted 96 minutes in the first place. They're the only two reasons why it doesn't get a 10, amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
nikApr 19, 2009
A second installment of fast and high pace entertainment just as daft as the first well worth the time taken to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarioMApr 19, 2009
At first I wasn't sure what to think of this movie, but in the end, it's just a silly wallow. If you're a fan of the genre like me, you might get a couple of laughs and some of the action is ok, but in the end it's a At first I wasn't sure what to think of this movie, but in the end, it's just a silly wallow. If you're a fan of the genre like me, you might get a couple of laughs and some of the action is ok, but in the end it's a second rate movie and the pornographic overtones make the movie a bit distasteful. My wife said it was as if the movie was made by a couple of eight year olds, and she's right. Naked chicks, car crashes, guys cutting off the nipples, some descent brawls and fights scenes, splinkled with saucy humor, and video game dialogue - all trying to keep your attention while moving the plot along. I was going to give the movie a 6, but I gave it a 7 because it did make me laugh a couple of times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NerijusDApr 21, 2009
What a crazy movie! It's art! To make such an electric, intense, thrilling filck, one just has to have a lot of talent! Truly High Voltage!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
M.AlexMay 25, 2009
One of the best 'bad movies' I've seen in quite some time. Absolutly absurd, to the point of utter nonsense. And the whole crew working on this movie knew this, and as such it really is a fantastic thing to watch - if you like One of the best 'bad movies' I've seen in quite some time. Absolutly absurd, to the point of utter nonsense. And the whole crew working on this movie knew this, and as such it really is a fantastic thing to watch - if you like bad movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisASep 8, 2009
This is entertainment and tats all I expected, it didn't have any thing in the way of its fun. Best to be watched with beer, pizza, and alot of good fiends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kevinmApr 19, 2009
It was funnier than the first one was , plus it an action movie w/ tons of crazy shit going on .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasHApr 22, 2009
My god... never before have I been more entertained by a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisMApr 25, 2009
Loved it. Completely ridiculous and over the top, a bit of light hearted fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuiceMApr 29, 2009
A clear premise. Homage to our childhood video games. Could not stop smiling. Completely gratifies every lust.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TruthseekerAug 28, 2009
Not as good as the last movie, but still enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
spinedocSep 14, 2009
The disparity between the "real" critics (yeah like it's an authentic profession) and the public at large shows us once again why it's best to ignore them. This was one of the best directed action flicks I've seen in quite a The disparity between the "real" critics (yeah like it's an authentic profession) and the public at large shows us once again why it's best to ignore them. This was one of the best directed action flicks I've seen in quite a while. Original, surprising, shocking, and just hilarious. Probably not a good movie for the prudish or squeamish, but otherwise run, don't walk, to buy the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WeesiPSep 24, 2009
This movie was great! If anyone had seen the first one, the Crank movies are made to be mindless action, gunfire, blood, explosions, sex and whatever other great things go along with being a most testosterone-filled viewing experience!! This movie was great! If anyone had seen the first one, the Crank movies are made to be mindless action, gunfire, blood, explosions, sex and whatever other great things go along with being a most testosterone-filled viewing experience!! There is no need to get to know the characters and care for them, no need to wonder how it will end, for we all know going into it that Jason Statham in all his rippling manly, tough, pissed off glory will prevail. We don't watch it to be intellectually stimulated, we watch to be entertained. Not everyone's idea of entertaining is equal. That is why there are also movies such as "17Again" that makes you giggle and say "Awwwwwwwwwww" at the end, or some random chick flick to encourage women to break out the box of tissue and curse their boyfriends/husbands and reality for not being just like the touching films. To each their own. As a female, I hate "Chick Flicks" because they distort people's perception of what reality is capable of. This movie just made me sit still and watch and wait for the next bloody kill or the next sadistic way Jason would find to stay alive. Just the way I like my movies: Entertaining 100% Unrealistic Fiction. Delicious!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nunchuksDec 1, 2010
First up i can't possibly recommend this film.....

enough!! it's absolutely insane and as long as you aren't expecting to many heartfelt, passionate speeches or meaningful, dramatic plot twists, you'll enjoy this movie and to any one that
First up i can't possibly recommend this film.....

enough!!
it's absolutely insane and as long as you aren't expecting to many heartfelt, passionate speeches or meaningful, dramatic plot twists, you'll enjoy this movie and to any one that has any expectations of seeing the above, grow up. Not every movie should take itself as seriously as the Godfather.
This is adrenaline fueled, testosterone pumping, foul mouthed, feckin hilarious cinematography at it's best. Enjoy
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuAug 26, 2013
The first Crank was a very funny, over-the-top action movie. Crank: High Voltage, however, was so funny that I thought I might die from not catching my breath. Over-the-top doesn't even come in to it! The movie is stratospherically crazy inThe first Crank was a very funny, over-the-top action movie. Crank: High Voltage, however, was so funny that I thought I might die from not catching my breath. Over-the-top doesn't even come in to it! The movie is stratospherically crazy in every regard and absolutely brilliant from start to finish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
176-761Jan 31, 2013
Crank High Voltage continues the crazy action blazing. Viewer can feel the adrenaline. Again, there are some dirty jokes embedded into movie, which works great. Just go, and fast!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews