Lions Gate Films | Release Date: May 6, 2005
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 691 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
600
Mixed:
43
Negative:
48
Watch Now
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MovieGuysMay 14, 2014
Crash is one real exceptionally well-done film. The theme of racism really slaps you in the face, but it is followed by other underlying messages, such as redemption. The exposés to the first two vignettes are a tiny bit forced, but theCrash is one real exceptionally well-done film. The theme of racism really slaps you in the face, but it is followed by other underlying messages, such as redemption. The exposés to the first two vignettes are a tiny bit forced, but the transitions are smooth for all of them and the script is sharp and deliberate. Where the movie lacks it makes up for in acting, screenplay, and direction. Haggis knows what he's doing. Expand
19 of 20 users found this helpful191
All this user's reviews
10
JobadkinsJul 14, 2012
You will probably never see a movie this good ever in your life,your fathers life and his fathers life.Trust me you have to watch it over and over just to appreciate the perfect acting.Simply stunning!.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
homandavoodiJul 23, 2011
there are a few movies that can improve our living situation on earth. crash offers to us to be kind and clement to other people. any color or any nationality.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelDNMar 3, 2015
People are judging this movie for the wrong reasons. I usually hate when people say something like, "If you didn't like this movie, you didn't understand it," but I'm actually reading the reasons people don't like, and they seem to indicatePeople are judging this movie for the wrong reasons. I usually hate when people say something like, "If you didn't like this movie, you didn't understand it," but I'm actually reading the reasons people don't like, and they seem to indicate just that. They say the message is obvious, and then they go on to say the message is that racism is bad. That's not the message. It's already assumed that racism is bad. The movie is pointing out where it exists in seemingly normal circumstances. It challenges the viewer to question how they would've handled certain situations; if they would've been as prejudiced as the characters. The dialogue is thought provoking and interesting. Some say it isn't natural, but neither is Shakespearean dialogue, or the characters singing conversations in movies. It's used to challenge the viewer, and to make them think about important issues that we don't think about. It's not just racism, it's the details of racism's effect on various different people. The discussions may not be natural, but they're based on very real issues.

The movie is also, as Ebert said as well, more about ideas than people. For those who want more character depth, it's not really about the people themselves, but about how people in general are conditioned by society to handle certain situations. It's better that the people be as generic as possible, to show that the way they're acting isn't because of their specific personalities, it's because they are normal people, acting as an average person would. It challenges you to question yourself, instead of showing you a person who has a specific personality that is nothing like yours. Basically, this movie is good in a way that doesn't follow the formula of what traditionally makes a movie good. That's why people have a problem with it. The use of connecting the storylines is not just made for poignancy, it's to show how closely we are connected to each other; how our thoughts and actions have effects on people, and we don't even realize it. It's about how society's views creep so easily into our minds and become our own views, without us thinking anything of it. And to the person who said this writer is in high school, no. He's actually a three time nominee for writing. Two of his movies one Best Picture, another was nominated, and two others got rave reviews and made a ton of critics' lists. He knows what he's doing, even if some people don't understand it.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
axelkochNov 30, 2012
Perfect movie. It's absolutely stunning all the time. It left me happy but sad at the same time; assuaged but also distraught. Superb actors, and screenplay and editing that totally deserved the Oscar. In my opinion, the music should've alsoPerfect movie. It's absolutely stunning all the time. It left me happy but sad at the same time; assuaged but also distraught. Superb actors, and screenplay and editing that totally deserved the Oscar. In my opinion, the music should've also got one. It underlays all these varied scenes with such feeling, it's just fantastic! One of the best movies I know! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
NoxiousJul 29, 2013
Just in case anyone reads this, I ask if anyone has a direct line to Mick LaSalle? He's the critic for the San Fran Chronicle, and the guy is a complete douchebag-moron. He's left probably 50+ reviews that are so far from what he says aboutJust in case anyone reads this, I ask if anyone has a direct line to Mick LaSalle? He's the critic for the San Fran Chronicle, and the guy is a complete douchebag-moron. He's left probably 50+ reviews that are so far from what he says about great films. This movie is not a 50/100. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
A compelling and compulsively watchable piece of work with several great performances and some incredible sequences that will shake you to the core. It also gives a much needed message, and should serve as a wake up call to many Americans.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24May 27, 2013
With "Crash" a beautifully fable-like story is executed with some heavy-handed thematics, but the film is still unquestionably top shelf on a technical and performance-centric level.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersJun 7, 2013
A great film. Crash really struck a chord with me, it's one of the most thought-provoking films I've experienced. Each character in the film is stripped completely to where every flaw is obvious to the audience. You'll relate to a characterA great film. Crash really struck a chord with me, it's one of the most thought-provoking films I've experienced. Each character in the film is stripped completely to where every flaw is obvious to the audience. You'll relate to a character in the film much more than you would probably want to admit, but it's in this way that Crash effectively delivers a powerful punch. The film is hard, honest, realistic, and uncomfortable, but it absolutely works; the film gets right to the core of racism and so many other problems that plague our society. Features stunning work from a stellar cast. Deserved Best Picture in my mind. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
EdS.May 7, 2005
A little too pat to be great, but plenty of very powerful and affecting moments nonetheless - some genuinely funny moments, as well. The intertwining of the various stories is, for the most part, pretty clever; and things often turn out A little too pat to be great, but plenty of very powerful and affecting moments nonetheless - some genuinely funny moments, as well. The intertwining of the various stories is, for the most part, pretty clever; and things often turn out quite differently than you'd expect. Very good acting all around. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RASJun 18, 2005
Disgusting all the way around. Don't recommend it to anyone. Typical white mainstream media stereotypes of people of color. Garbage like this causes more problems rather than entertain. Warning to people of color: do not watch this Disgusting all the way around. Don't recommend it to anyone. Typical white mainstream media stereotypes of people of color. Garbage like this causes more problems rather than entertain. Warning to people of color: do not watch this crap. Walked out in the middle of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
buzzl.Jun 19, 2005
Let me start by admitting that i walked out after dillon/newton's 2nd encounter, so maybe i missed something pivotal. i just couldn't sit through this frustratingly manipulative, insanely overwrought, false, and downright insipid Let me start by admitting that i walked out after dillon/newton's 2nd encounter, so maybe i missed something pivotal. i just couldn't sit through this frustratingly manipulative, insanely overwrought, false, and downright insipid film. i was really looking forward to this film, especially living and having lived in LA all my life and experienced the racial climate here. this nonsense couldn't be more off base. the way race exhibits itself here in LA is far more subtle, and therefore more interesting and important to explore. this movie trivializes the whole subject. after the first few lines of dialogue spoken by cheadle's character, which i THOUGHT was the film's thesis, i was drawn in. and almost as quickly i was put off. great first 2 minutes though. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DebraJun 20, 2005
Preposterous and racist film that portrays the worst in people. Avoid.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ThomasR.Apr 29, 2005
Ugh, this is what happens when you take a handful of name actors and don't give them much to work with. The writing is pretty bad and the script takes its message and hits you over the head dozens upon dozens of times, when a more Ugh, this is what happens when you take a handful of name actors and don't give them much to work with. The writing is pretty bad and the script takes its message and hits you over the head dozens upon dozens of times, when a more subtle approach would have worked much better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
bfoore90Apr 8, 2019
Crash was and still is an incredible movie in every sense of the word. Its still a very relevant picture now in 2019 as it was in 2005. It's a very unsettling film, touching on subjects such as racism, healthcare, police violence and gunCrash was and still is an incredible movie in every sense of the word. Its still a very relevant picture now in 2019 as it was in 2005. It's a very unsettling film, touching on subjects such as racism, healthcare, police violence and gun violence, stuff that is still very relevant in today's society. It's a carefully woven plot, with each deeply flawed character connecting with eachother in some form or another. I can't say enough about this film, it caught me on one of the first times I seen it. Crash is a brutally honest and exceptional film Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
russiangamerMay 20, 2017
Куча историй разных слоёв общества, вроде бы такая подача и в год выхода фильма была не нова, но даже сейчас всё действо смотрится на одном дыхании. Но, всё же, я в тот год отдал бы оскар "Горбатой горе", но это уже личное предпочтение.
Итог:
Куча историй разных слоёв общества, вроде бы такая подача и в год выхода фильма была не нова, но даже сейчас всё действо смотрится на одном дыхании. Но, всё же, я в тот год отдал бы оскар "Горбатой горе", но это уже личное предпочтение.
Итог: Замечательный фильм, держит в напряжении и поднимает некоторые важные вопросы.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Exigent93Jun 4, 2021
$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,$,
●》●》●》●》●》●》●》●》●》●》●》●》●》●》●》●》●》●
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Yammer83Jun 12, 2021
⊙¡⊙¡⊙¡⊙¡⊙¡⊙¡⊙¡⊙¡⊙¡⊙¡⊙¡⊙¿⊙¿⊙¿⊙¿⊙¿⊙¿⊙¿⊙¿⊙¿⊙¿⊙
*%%*%*%*%*%*%*%**%÷*÷*÷*÷(÷(÷(÷(+(+((+(+(+(+(+(+(+(+((+
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFSep 5, 2013
As 'Crash' unfolds and more and more characters are shown, it's clear that this is a realistic yet problematic study of human behaviour, it addresses various issues of how we react to various cultures and beliefs, but also shows the dark sideAs 'Crash' unfolds and more and more characters are shown, it's clear that this is a realistic yet problematic study of human behaviour, it addresses various issues of how we react to various cultures and beliefs, but also shows the dark side and dangerous capabilities of our fellow man. In the ensemble cast include Brendan Fraser as the District Attorney, his opinionated and perhaps paranoid wife played by Sandra Bullock, who are both carjacked by the talkative and philosophical Chris 'Ludacris' Bridges who has all the answers to the racial problems that sweep America, along with his friend.
We also have a racist LAPD officer in Matt Dillon, who cuts a hardened and bitter man with his own personal grief, which he takes out on others, especially a black couple on their way home one night who have did nothing wrong, these two are played by Thandie Newton and Terrence Howard. In the bigger frame of it all we have recurring character Don Cheadle, a detective in Los Angeles. Of course these stories intertwine in often dramatic circumstances, some become unspoken enemies while others become unlikely heroes. The exact point here is the perception of the individuals being shown, many times there is no intent involved in this wide variety of characters, but their race is enough for other people to judge or be judged by, this message is relatable for the fact that this is still a problem, a problem which is addressed with the fullest attention by Paul Haggis, director and co-writer, who links these very different stories in the most unlikely yet understandable of ways, who could have thought that racist cop who basically molests an innocent woman, ends up saving the exact same woman from a burning car on the highway. Each of these people interact with each other one way or another, sometimes with tragic results.
There is retribution, however, to be had with these characters, who learn the error of their ways through luck, chance, drastic circumstances or just talking to others, saying that, there are those who feel that they are indeed being discriminated against and want to take matters into their own hands one in particular being a Persian shop owner, played by Shaun Toub.
The scope and detail that goes into making each character as interesting as the next, they all have hate and opinions, but all this proves is that they are human. A wonderful, calm and fitting score accompanies the film, highlighting pivotal points and shining moments. With a cast that also includes Ryan Phillippe, Jennifer Esposito and Michael Peña, there are some emotional and finely executed performances in the film, they each play a role that demands attention for the message they are sending, a problem is not necessarily being addressed and sorted, but it is being shown in plain sight for the world to see.
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
MorningtonOct 23, 2010
Paul Haggis made this picture with a great passion flowing in his veins, fashioning honest, smart and true characters out of nothing, while winding them together in a plot that ennobles the cinema.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
GinaK.Jun 1, 2005
Clearly written by a rich white person from Santa Monica who doesn't have a clue about life in the real Los Angeles. This movie makes Grand Canyon look deep. Maudlin manipulative glop.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give crash a 9.5 out of 10. Acting is really good. Terrence Howard and matt dillion I think were the best in the movie. Score is good. Story is really good. Telling the story of discrimination and the racist side is justFirst off, I would give crash a 9.5 out of 10. Acting is really good. Terrence Howard and matt dillion I think were the best in the movie. Score is good. Story is really good. Telling the story of discrimination and the racist side is just happy, but at the same time powerful. Overall, this is a great movie. Highly recommended for everyone. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
RBradzMar 1, 2013
Don Cheadle's performance totally changed my perception of black people. They're the best. He's the best. Racial tension More like sexual tension, every time sexy Brendan Fraser is on screen. Watch it. Love it. Rewatch it. Peace. p.s WhenDon Cheadle's performance totally changed my perception of black people. They're the best. He's the best. Racial tension More like sexual tension, every time sexy Brendan Fraser is on screen. Watch it. Love it. Rewatch it. Peace. p.s When are we going to see another George of the Jungle sequel? I mean, HELLO! TARZAN! peace. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
RBerensJun 13, 2005
If you're making a movie that positions itself as "hard-edged realism," it's probably best to avoid an excess of dramatic contrivance and coincidence. I lost count at about 65. This movie just plain sucked.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
"Crash", a racial movie directed by the famous Paul Haggis, is a masterpiece. With a powerhouse cast with a good lead from the director, the movie starts with pain and anger and triumphantly ends with love and forgiveness. It surely is one of"Crash", a racial movie directed by the famous Paul Haggis, is a masterpiece. With a powerhouse cast with a good lead from the director, the movie starts with pain and anger and triumphantly ends with love and forgiveness. It surely is one of the greatest movies i've seen currently these days. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
4
hampusforevFeb 23, 2011
I think the negative reviewers are a little harsh, I wouldn't call it racist by any stretch of the imagination. But cliched as all hell? Yeah. This is typical hollywood masquerading, trying to be deep and meaningful. Lacks Robert AltmansI think the negative reviewers are a little harsh, I wouldn't call it racist by any stretch of the imagination. But cliched as all hell? Yeah. This is typical hollywood masquerading, trying to be deep and meaningful. Lacks Robert Altmans subtle weird humanism in Short Cuts. Plagued by white guilt, the movie runs the complicated issue of race through Hollywoods dreaded machinery of doom, leaving just scraps of brilliant acting and dialogue submerged in a mire of annoyingly coincidental plotpoints. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
10
critic_calApr 24, 2012
This movie is a must see. It is simply phenomenal. The plot is engaging and the acting is fantastic. It tackles complex social issues directly. Anyone who does not feel uncomfortable at some points of this movie should check their pulse.This movie is a must see. It is simply phenomenal. The plot is engaging and the acting is fantastic. It tackles complex social issues directly. Anyone who does not feel uncomfortable at some points of this movie should check their pulse. It's deep (in a good way). Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewBurgeSep 11, 2018
Paul Haggis's 'Crash' its so much more than ye-olde-school racism. It is about the lack of human connections and mental damages brought up by living in modern America. More specifically, Los Angeles. A metropolis feeding on the minds ofPaul Haggis's 'Crash' its so much more than ye-olde-school racism. It is about the lack of human connections and mental damages brought up by living in modern America. More specifically, Los Angeles. A metropolis feeding on the minds of people, overflowing with concepts of hatred and anger brought by its hectic pace.

"It's the sense of touch" says Detective Graham (Don Cheadle) after a close-call car accident. "In LA nobody touches you. We're always behind this metal and glass. I think we miss that touch so much that we crash into each other just to feel something". His partner and lover Ria (Jennifer Esposito) thinks he might have lost his frame of reference, which might be true. But these ideas were always deep inside him and maybe this brush with mortality just made them come forth.

The film spawns a glassy and gloomy soundtrack occasionally containing sublime and dramatic world music and its visual style is polished and deeply introspective. Shots follow the characters beautifully as they clash with the surrounding neon lights of the big city. There is technical prowess in 'Crash' and, like all great films, there is no moment of pause. Los Angeles is the Haggis's chosen melting pot for not only necessarily race, but varying human ideologies. The 5-6 subplots are switched from one to another with relative ease, and often they split into more or they rejoin one another.

Yet deep down, this is a film not about racial discrimination and eventual awareness, but about people and how ridiculous they can be. Scenes are switched at a fast pace, yet there is not one which is not interesting. Each one is focused, thorough and in a couple of minutes Haggis is more psychoanalytical than most films are in hours. He puts his characters in worst-case scenarios which they pass, but this might just be the first film which is about the lingering emotions brought up by those situations rather than the situations themselves. It is this what makes this film truly emotionally powerful.

It's funny how things work. And as the film progresses each of its characters are drawn to an eventual silver-lining; most of them finding solace, overcoming and awakening from their emotional coldness. Snow falls over Los Angeles as people go on about their lives. Just like before, consumed by quotidian anarchy masquerading as order, feeling regret, love, hate, sadness; and I felt everything too. It was so familiar. But in the end, I just laughed at everything and thought to myself: "people, man... people".
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
YossiAug 20, 2005
Great Film!!
2 of 5 users found this helpful
4
j30Nov 9, 2011
Not a great film. Mediocre at best. Brings up some important points and is powerful in some scenes, but too much filler and way too preachy. Maybe some better actors/actresses would help (Sandra Bullock, Ludacris and Brendan Fraser come on!).Not a great film. Mediocre at best. Brings up some important points and is powerful in some scenes, but too much filler and way too preachy. Maybe some better actors/actresses would help (Sandra Bullock, Ludacris and Brendan Fraser come on!). Micheal Pena is the soul of the movie and carries the weight of the film. I'm sorry, Brokeback was a better film and even Munich was better. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
Dragonfly44Oct 23, 2020
Its hard to describe this movie and its certainly very controversial, but I enjoyed the experience. 83/100
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
sanyrubJan 21, 2013
It´s not the worst film ever. It has certain moments in which it wants to be a great film. There are some good performances. But everything is so contrived, laughable, some scenes made the theater laugh when I saw it back in the day. IfIt´s not the worst film ever. It has certain moments in which it wants to be a great film. There are some good performances. But everything is so contrived, laughable, some scenes made the theater laugh when I saw it back in the day. If there´s a big mistake in the history of the oscar awards it has to be this film winning Best Picture. Clearly a strange fix cos Brokeback Mountain got Best Director few seconds before. I remember all critics in Spain saying "What?" All the other 4 nominees were so above this film, especially Munich and Brokeback mountain
The issues here discussed have been many times addressed before, only that 10 times better. Forgettable film, in fact nobody remembers it now compared to other films from that same year
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
KayakMar 4, 2014
While I did find the message incredibly overbearing and overexaggerated, especially at the beginning, the character and plot development is so touching and poignant in places that it nearly nullifies my earlier concerns. Great performancesWhile I did find the message incredibly overbearing and overexaggerated, especially at the beginning, the character and plot development is so touching and poignant in places that it nearly nullifies my earlier concerns. Great performances from the majority of the cast and overall a pretty solid film in my view. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Apr 1, 2015
Crash succeeds with outstanding acting and some very compelling scenes but at times seems continue to press a point that was made within the first 15 minutes. In the end, Crash will keep you interested all the way through.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
kavilionMay 24, 2011
This is the cheesiest, most maudlin self-serving pile of garbage I have ever seen. It was a little hackneyed early, but watchable thanks to decent pace and the occasional laugh. At about the three quarter mark, the cheesefest begins. I haveThis is the cheesiest, most maudlin self-serving pile of garbage I have ever seen. It was a little hackneyed early, but watchable thanks to decent pace and the occasional laugh. At about the three quarter mark, the cheesefest begins. I have never seen a movie so unintentionally funny. The blanks?
The cloak of protection? "My guardian angel?"
Snow in Los Angeles?

Even one of these events would take a movie over the cheese-limit. Did someone actually get paid to write this? Was it someone they pulled out of a high school creative writing class?

Used correctly, coincidence and the crossing of paths of otherwise unrelated storylines adds poignancy to a story. When you do it 600 times, not only does it lose any meaning - it becomes a joke. There's a tiny shred of something important and meaningful in this movie, but it's completely hidden behind horrible writing, bland acting and a mountain of stereotypes. Honestly - there isn't one believable character in the entire thing. Every single person is exactly what you'd expect...or the exact opposite of what you'd expect. No depth. No shades of gray. I hadn't had a laugh this good in a while, until I started reading some of the reviews of this pile of dreck on this site. I actually saw someone use the word "masterpiece." I laughed so hard I think I peed my pants a little. If you think this movie is a 10, please stop posting movie reviews.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
GraemeHigginsonJul 6, 2012
"Crash" by Paul Haggis is a film with a terrible sense of scope and content. It
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
BrendaRMay 10, 2005
Great movie! It's so dead-on accurate about real life.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelV.May 7, 2005
I just came home from seeing this movie, and must say it is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Not very often such a special movie like this is made. One word: MASTERPIECE. Go see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AngelaB.May 7, 2005
As you watch this movie you can see yourself in the characters. it is so real and when you leave the theatre you can't stop thinking about it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BobJ.Aug 6, 2005
Bad white man! Bad!!! Caucassian men beware... you will have a finger wagged in your face for two hours. The one lesson we all should walk away from this film with is People ALL suck at one time or another. Gee, I learned that from living Bad white man! Bad!!! Caucassian men beware... you will have a finger wagged in your face for two hours. The one lesson we all should walk away from this film with is People ALL suck at one time or another. Gee, I learned that from living life everyday. Give me something deper and less manipulative. So, I'm supposed to feel bad when a violent criminal meets an accidental fatal wound? A man that has been car jacked is more willing to be shot by the "racist" police rather than give up the criminal that kidnapped him at gunpoint only moments before? I suppose a police officer of a racially diverse background could not be shown as being a bit of a dirt bag? If want to feel bad about yourself, enjoy this film. To be honest... any film that creates this strong a reaction, even negetive, has an inherent artistic value. Save your moeny though, and wait for it to come on IFC. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CarolAnnMay 10, 2005
In a nutshell, this is a very derpressing racist movie demonstrating racial intolerance. It was so depressing that I walked out halfway through this film as did the few other people in the theater. Despite these glowing reviews that seemed In a nutshell, this is a very derpressing racist movie demonstrating racial intolerance. It was so depressing that I walked out halfway through this film as did the few other people in the theater. Despite these glowing reviews that seemed to have loved it, I found it exploitative and very derogatory toward all races. Avoid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
bradAug 9, 2005
Too predictable, very contrived and no real panacea to the universal problem of racism is offered in this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TomC.Aug 14, 2005
What an overblown, inarticulate, clumsy and depressing film! The strokes are so broad, and most of the set-ups so obvious that even the bits that do work and are affecting are blown out of the water ten seconds later by something so What an overblown, inarticulate, clumsy and depressing film! The strokes are so broad, and most of the set-ups so obvious that even the bits that do work and are affecting are blown out of the water ten seconds later by something so eye-rollingly hideous - a girl is told that she's got her father's invisible shield to protect her against bullets... What happens next? Duh. Some of the stories are incredibly slight and trivial - Sandra Bullock has three conversations and that's her narrative. Other ones are insanely implausible - a TV director whose had two difficult experiences in a day after (presumably) a life of dealing with racial tensions, suddenly goes loopy for no obvious reason. Worst of all is the cynicism here - and this the bit where I really agree with one of the other reviewers here - the whole film operates on the assumption that people aren't good or bad, they're just trying to get through difficult circumstances - and it also operates under the assumption that if depressing and cynical films are 'artful' then REALLY depressing and cynical films must be Leonardo da Vincis. So everyone is corrupt or evil in one way or another - only one character is honourable all the way through, the rest are universally just different shades of self-involved wankery. You come out of the cinema not uplifted by people's struggles or wiser in the race wars, but sickened by your fellow man, disgusted by our whole revolting species. This isn't a tragedy, it's a self-indulgent, wallowing, decadent film that reveals the bankrupcy of the film-maker's spirit - a man who can afford the luxury of an absolute loss of faith and wants to take the whole world down with him. Not very good. I'd go as far as to say that in its representation of humans as universally corrupt, it's very nearly evil. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
Crash is a surprisingly intelligent and powerful drama at its core, but is ultimately bogged down by it's "message movie" triteness. It's the kind of movie Stanley Kramer would have made back in the 1960's.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
A dark depiction of tense clashes of culture throughout Los Angeles on any given night. Crash is notable in connecting each of its over-populated cast.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleNov 6, 2013
Really good film that delves into the issue of racism from multiple perspectives, yet tells the same story; we all carry some kind of prejudice with us each and every day and these prejudices can have far reaching effects. Overall a reallyReally good film that delves into the issue of racism from multiple perspectives, yet tells the same story; we all carry some kind of prejudice with us each and every day and these prejudices can have far reaching effects. Overall a really unsettling film. Great cast with great direction from Paul Haggis. Really well done as a whole. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineMar 28, 2014
This movie doesn't have a general plot, instead it has a lot of entwining sub-plots connecting through many characters, who meet each other in different circumstances. The central theme of all the sub-stories is racial prejudices in modernThis movie doesn't have a general plot, instead it has a lot of entwining sub-plots connecting through many characters, who meet each other in different circumstances. The central theme of all the sub-stories is racial prejudices in modern USA society. The whole movie concept reminds me of Magnolia. Overall, the movie is too pretentious at times, but still good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TrilobiteGJul 14, 2016
Crash leaves some things unsolved, perhaps some things are missing which needed to be added. But it delivers a harsh yet truthful message on racism and other hints of issues in the U.S.A such as healthcare and firearms policies. A relativelyCrash leaves some things unsolved, perhaps some things are missing which needed to be added. But it delivers a harsh yet truthful message on racism and other hints of issues in the U.S.A such as healthcare and firearms policies. A relatively heart-pounding feat which gets better as it progresses. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ExKingApr 25, 2013
crash is an amazing movie amazing writing spectacular screenplay and most off all an astonishing performances by everyone i love the story behind it and one of my all time favorite movies hell i found Sandra Bullock great and i don't evencrash is an amazing movie amazing writing spectacular screenplay and most off all an astonishing performances by everyone i love the story behind it and one of my all time favorite movies hell i found Sandra Bullock great and i don't even like her that shows how the director can control a movie acting quality from zero to perfect level. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
lehugginAug 15, 2019
This movie is HEAVY, and not exactly in a good way. It showcases the worst in human nature - fear & paranoia, prejudice & blatant bigotry, numbing & addiction, victim blaming, hatred & rampant disconnection. And that is pretty much the point.This movie is HEAVY, and not exactly in a good way. It showcases the worst in human nature - fear & paranoia, prejudice & blatant bigotry, numbing & addiction, victim blaming, hatred & rampant disconnection. And that is pretty much the point. That we should expect the worst from each other, because we always get the worst. No redemption arcs, no happy endings, no learning from our mistakes. Just rock bottoms and continual crashing into each other, with no potential for healing. Ouch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
johnem95Aug 3, 2017
Preachy melodrama without a shred of subtlety that needs a Sarah McLachlan-esque song at the end to hammer its point home. Your 2005 Best Picture winner, ladies and gentlemen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
IzagoOct 22, 2018
Um filme grandioso, um filme com varias historia contadas que se entrelaçam entre si, e todas envolvem Racismo e Preconceito na sociedade, Um grande filme contado de forma minuciosa, e com o passar do filme você fica indignado, com raiva,Um filme grandioso, um filme com varias historia contadas que se entrelaçam entre si, e todas envolvem Racismo e Preconceito na sociedade, Um grande filme contado de forma minuciosa, e com o passar do filme você fica indignado, com raiva, suas frustações começam a aparecer e começa a visualizar o que tem na sociedade e que vai continuar. Espetacular. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
CinemaphileJul 29, 2016
Crash is a film that is as relevant now as it is as it was twelve years ago. Though the premise is pure contrivance, it's a epic one which begs for suspended disbelief. Paul Haggis cleverly paints stereotypical portraits of this film'sCrash is a film that is as relevant now as it is as it was twelve years ago. Though the premise is pure contrivance, it's a epic one which begs for suspended disbelief. Paul Haggis cleverly paints stereotypical portraits of this film's multiple protagonists using the prejudices and preconceptions of those who surround them, only to then turn the audience into confidants, revealing key details of the protagonists' lives unknown to those in the story. Those intimate details and the "seemingly" random, sometimes violent interactions of the main players, oddly draw the audience in closer, created a sense of connectedness and community where one doesn't appear to exist.

Crash is a cautiously optimistic film and an uplifting film without the traditional high fructose Hollywood corn syrup. Yes, there are a few implausible moments, but they aren't Indiana Jones Nuke The Fridge moments, they are purposeful and meaningful.

Catch it if you haven't, it might change your karma, pun intended.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeApr 13, 2018
do i look like i wanna be on discovery channel..

Crash It is admirable to pull off a feature with no definite characterization bit the script itself that just depicts few incidents and still somehow manages to connect with the audience.
do i look like i wanna be on discovery channel..

Crash

It is admirable to pull off a feature with no definite characterization bit the script itself that just depicts few incidents and still somehow manages to connect with the audience. Paul Haggis; the co-writer and director, is convincingly good in his job on executing the high pitched dramatic sequences. On performance level, there isn't much range provided to the actors to factor in but Don Cheadle and Michael Pena are still brilliant in it. Crash is a gripping tale told over multiple incidents that speaks louder on terms of character's perspective but as soon as one cracks the equation, the sub-plots goes repetitive and mundane.
Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
7
FilipeNetoOct 9, 2020
This film is quite interesting for several reasons, and I can understand why it won the Oscar for "Best Film" in 2006: its a film that combines several stories around a theme that was relevant that year: racism and prejudice. At that time,This film is quite interesting for several reasons, and I can understand why it won the Oscar for "Best Film" in 2006: its a film that combines several stories around a theme that was relevant that year: racism and prejudice. At that time, many people thought that it won this award so that it wouldn't end up in more "gay friendly" films ("Capote" and "Brokeback Mountain", also nominated), but I think that's an unfair idea. "Crash" is a film with more merit than it looks, although it went unnoticed through the theaters then.

The script joins a series of isolated stories and sub-plots around a single theme: prejudice, the way we judge someone by their color, ethnicity or social origin. In the film, this is the great "leitmotiv" that unites all the stories, making the plot very difficult to describe succinctly. The characters do not know each other, they are not connected, but they get to know each other through casual situations, which could happen to ourselves: going to a store, repairing a lock, stealing a car, a routine police stop. Its necessary to pay attention, and even so I guarantee that many intentional details will go unnoticed - I had to see the film three times to be able to evaluate it fairly, and to write this review cost me a few hours of reading too.

Another important detail is the extreme quality of the dialogues. There is no theatricality or politically correct: a negro is a negro. The language is crude, although it does not use profanity or slang. The way it affects the characters is genuine and we can put ourselves in their shoes. About this, its a film that can be quite hard to endure, especially for those who have been through situations of prejudice. Of course, its an admittedly militant film with some moralizing edge, given that it tries to convey an anti-racist message and defend this, but the cinema is full of militant films and I think this will only displease seriously those who oppose that more fiercely. Personally, I handled it very well.

Although it has a carefully selected cast, with some big names, we cannot say that there is a protagonist. Everyone is a protagonist in the story that concerns them. Personally, I liked the performance of Matt Dillon and Ryan Phillippe in the role of two very different policeman; Don Cheadle wears the skin of an investigator; Sandra Bullock and Brendan Fraser gave us characters from the white elite; Thandie Newton and Terrence Howard were also excellent in the role of rich and successful black people; Larenz Tate and Ludacris are good at the two outcasts; the film also features the excellent performances of Michael Peña, Bahar Soomekh, Loretta Devine, Jennifer Esposito, Howard Fong and Shaun Toub. Of course, given the theme, many of the characters - not to say almost all - will have attitudes that will displease us, but they were thought like that.

Technically, the film has one of the best editing works I've seen in a long time: despite the intricate plot and mix of stories, everything is logical and in the right place, justifying the Oscar for Best Editing that it also received. The film runs at a very pleasant pace too, without wasting time. But its basically just that! The film conveys the feeling of having been thought for TV and is marked by uninteresting technical elements: a regular cinematography, sets and costumes and an almost atonal soundtrack. Technically, its a film that I would compare to food without salt: it has no flavor.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MarvelJoeMar 12, 2018
Rascally stereotype and changed of heart. There is scenes where it gets a bit emotional but it was just a bit of a tease for the other characters seeing how reality the world is now, showing us we can make a change.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TheEventsOf1989Jan 10, 2020
"Crash" utilizes a wheel story format pretty well, diving deep into social-politics, and giving depth to all its characters. The film thrives on twisting the stereotypes around, allot of characters end up being the opposite of what you are"Crash" utilizes a wheel story format pretty well, diving deep into social-politics, and giving depth to all its characters. The film thrives on twisting the stereotypes around, allot of characters end up being the opposite of what you are meant to think they are. The visuals are creditable as well. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
MglovesfunMay 19, 2020
While not a complete failure, this movie has a lot of problems. It takes itself very seriously and the characters are unengaging.

The biggest problem is, is it iself borderline racist, and sometimes crosses the line between depicting racist
While not a complete failure, this movie has a lot of problems. It takes itself very seriously and the characters are unengaging.

The biggest problem is, is it iself borderline racist, and sometimes crosses the line between depicting racist behavior and being racist.

Generally not all that well-received by critics at the time, it was a surprise to say the least when it won the Oscar for Best Picture.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JoeyM.May 22, 2005
Without giving anything away, allow me to say that the last scene with Sandra Bullock stunned me - I found myself all choked up. I didn't see this simple, moving moment coming. Excellent cast, some wonderfully tender, unexpected scenes Without giving anything away, allow me to say that the last scene with Sandra Bullock stunned me - I found myself all choked up. I didn't see this simple, moving moment coming. Excellent cast, some wonderfully tender, unexpected scenes and great acting from all. Ryan Phillippe, all is forgiven. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
kkMay 9, 2005
This film is suprisingly moving and Los Angeles in a nutshell. Matt Dillon is excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveN.May 9, 2005
Amazingly emotional and all too real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
natalieJun 20, 2005
A rare movie where the hard feelings existing across ethnic groups are all put on the table. Perhaps their exposure to the light of day will begin a withering process; the antidote to the growth produced by nurturing our prejudices privately.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorC.Jun 2, 2005
Simply one of the best films ever made. This has joined my top-five favorite films. It's deep, emotional, touching and true. It hits home in every aspect and addresses a current problem with our society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesHJun 27, 2005
Superbly acted, beautifully written -- with the kind of insight and lyricism that is powerfully poetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jerib.Jun 5, 2005
This movie is a brilliant snapshot of RACE in America. So compelling at times that you hold your breath and forget it's a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LynnM.Jun 6, 2005
This is one of the first movies I have scene that honestly portrays people as people. Not necessarily good or bad, but people. I loved it. I believe that every adult should see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
drewL.Jul 31, 2005
The best movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
paulAug 9, 2005
Anyone who says this movie is a slap in the face for white people seriously needs to have his head examined. More than once, white cops are portrayed as heroic and life-saving figures. You'd almost think this film were sponsored by the Anyone who says this movie is a slap in the face for white people seriously needs to have his head examined. More than once, white cops are portrayed as heroic and life-saving figures. You'd almost think this film were sponsored by the LAPD. "Crash" shows both sides of the coin and anyone who'd freak out because they're afraid of that inescapable truth needs to wake up and start living in the real world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamL.Apr 29, 2005
This film was amazing! Pure excellence, it kept me at the edge of my seat better than any horror movie made in the last 10 years and Crash isn't even a horror film. The most amazing part was that this is Paul Haggis' directoreal This film was amazing! Pure excellence, it kept me at the edge of my seat better than any horror movie made in the last 10 years and Crash isn't even a horror film. The most amazing part was that this is Paul Haggis' directoreal debut. Much better than XXX state of the union got that andrew. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimN.May 11, 2005
Best movie about race that I've ever seen and probably will ever see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunB.May 12, 2005
The performances are electrifying Matt Dillion is wonderful as the racsit cop and the movie as a whole will stand the test of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SandraT.May 15, 2005
AMAZING!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PetroM.May 15, 2005
It's funny, or rather ironic to see such a great range in ratings amongst viewers, and that s exactly what makes this movie amazing. Not everyone will like it, not everyone will be able to take all the racism issues in and truly It's funny, or rather ironic to see such a great range in ratings amongst viewers, and that s exactly what makes this movie amazing. Not everyone will like it, not everyone will be able to take all the racism issues in and truly understand what is going on out there. This movie isnt another Hollywood blockbuster, it rather shows the twisted reality of our society in its true uglyness. It also shows that racism in this country goes either way...Well done, it is definately worth every penny i spent on it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesR.May 15, 2005
An ammazing movie. Definitely my favorite of 2005 so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoanB.May 15, 2005
Really made me think and assess my own latent prejudices. I enjoyed the convoluted ride, sort of like the whirly seat rides at fairs... round and round, back and forth, all the while orbiting around on the larger perimeter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SusanM.May 10, 2005
I really enjoyed this movie, there is really no beginning, middle and end, it's more like you get a brief glimpse into the lives of so many people who, on the outside, appear to be very different, but inside they are all struggling with I really enjoyed this movie, there is really no beginning, middle and end, it's more like you get a brief glimpse into the lives of so many people who, on the outside, appear to be very different, but inside they are all struggling with the same issues. Just to be fair, I will say that my boyfriend thought it sucked. Incidentally, he thinks 'Sniper 3' was a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tealh.May 17, 2005
I loved loved the movie, as stated above, the best i've seen in a long time...as a music junkie, the soundtrack is HOT and a must have also. it is truly a rollercoaster of emotions, most of which are sad and unfortunately realistic. at I loved loved the movie, as stated above, the best i've seen in a long time...as a music junkie, the soundtrack is HOT and a must have also. it is truly a rollercoaster of emotions, most of which are sad and unfortunately realistic. at times a bit extreme, but then again, it's Hollywood and it drives the point(s) home about colors, racial slurs, and stereotypes. as being a minority, i can identify w/ many of the characters' frame of mind and ignorance that is conditioned (by family others and environment) and mostly ignorance out of choice to remain ignorant. i NEED to include the overall greatest theme in the movie is the "Depravity of Mankind" from the eyes of God. this is a true depiction of how most people (of all colors) view other peoples of other colors and how it is only going to escalate - even though we are in a day and age of "political correctness" - it still remains that the overall existing problem(s) in all these character's lives is the on-going heart condition of SIN. yes, sin...it is the crux of where we speak and how we feel towards others. there was no divide in color and language at one point in history, back to the Old Testament Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisB.May 21, 2005
Awesome film. It simply takes a step back and shows our society not only how we act, but how, if not checked, our natural human nature can cause us to easily stereotype without thinking twice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenM.May 24, 2005
I'd have to say that this movie was the most racially plot-driven movie I've ever seen, and having said that, Haggus pulls off quite a gem. I believe few races can watch this film, and not empathise with numerous scenes. I was I'd have to say that this movie was the most racially plot-driven movie I've ever seen, and having said that, Haggus pulls off quite a gem. I believe few races can watch this film, and not empathise with numerous scenes. I was shocked that there were no Jewish references though. Overall, powerful film, strong acting performances, including Sandra Bullock pulling out of the type-cast role of "always a bride's maid, never the bride." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeOMay 26, 2005
Think "Magnolia" remade as a message movie. Great acting, stunning coincidences, but ultimately unconvincing. Go see it anyways just so you can have a discussion on race with your friends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackF.May 7, 2005
A must see movie! The racial dialogue and prejudice is so piercing you may even consider walking out, but stick with the film, because it is one of the best Hollywood made movies about race. The multiple parallel events and its characters is A must see movie! The racial dialogue and prejudice is so piercing you may even consider walking out, but stick with the film, because it is one of the best Hollywood made movies about race. The multiple parallel events and its characters is shocking and astonishing. Especially how it all comes together. The actors are superb, especially Matt Dillion, Terrrence Howard and even Ludacris. I have read some critics who felt the film was too obvious, over the top, and puffed up conclusion. If so, it only adds to some of the toughest talk even seen on the American screen. The final scene tells it all. Paul Haggis the director/writer also was the screen write for "Million Dollar Baby," and Clint has signed him up for his next two films. What does that tell you? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristanR.May 7, 2005
Wonderful emotional roller-coaster ride examining people's prejudices and fears. See it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EagleNo4May 7, 2005
Crash is a compelling drama that examines the cultural, ethic and racial conflicts in American society. Most of the characters in this film are angry ... angry at the seemingly lack of control they have over their own lives, a circumstance Crash is a compelling drama that examines the cultural, ethic and racial conflicts in American society. Most of the characters in this film are angry ... angry at the seemingly lack of control they have over their own lives, a circumstance they blame on everyone who is not racially identical to themselves. Appropriately, the movie begins with a car operated by an Asian woman crashing into the rear of a car operated by a Latino woman and in which a black man is a passenger (symbolically, a clash of cultures). As the Asian confronts the Latino, claiming that the other "blaked" too fast, the Negro reflects that modern day society has separated people into areas protected by "glass and steel" so that they no longer are in touch with each other and eventually people become so angry with this situation that they feel compelled to crash into someone just to have contact with another human being. In a typical scene where the characters are angry at the stereotypes that others categorizes them in, while not realizing they are as equally guilty, there is this exchange between a black man and a Latino woman: He: "I told my mother that I was having sex with a white woman because I knew that would upset her; if I told her it was a Mexican, she would hardly care." She: "My father is from Puerto Rico, my mother's from El Salvador, neither of which is Mexico." He: "Well, then, I guess the big mystery is, who gathered up all of those different cultures and taught them all how to park their cars on their front lawns." The movie takes the threads of the lives of several people and slowly interweaves them over a two day period to make a tapestry of racial prejudice that forms when you see not the person before you but only the color of his skin. While the characters literally see each other in black and white, the movie beautifully portrays how there is no such easy division between "good and evil" and that these qualities exists in us all; we all are really just shades of "gray", more alike than any of us would care to admit. A unique, imaginative, unpredictable movie; the tension of the characters is effectively transmitted to the audience and magnifies your anticipation. Not everything turns out "right" in this film ... because that's how life really is. I give this one a 9.25. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mikeh.May 8, 2005
Excellent! Too bad there aren't more films these days that are about actual human beings and emotions like this one. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisGJun 1, 2005
Two excellent scenes made the movie worth the price of admission. The snow at the end and the frogs in magnolia made me laugh at loud in the theatre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KishoreK.Jun 1, 2005
Original idea very well thought and developed. Amazingly, nobody saw contemporary America with such perspective, until now. Should be nominated for original screenplay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshE.Jun 20, 2005
Superb in all ways and yet again chedelle will go un-noticed because its not a cartoon-based movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexMJun 30, 2005
What's all this racism crap about? Its no more racist than Do The Right Thing. Yes there are people like that in the world. So why not have a movie that throws them together through coincidences. The acting, story, and everything else What's all this racism crap about? Its no more racist than Do The Right Thing. Yes there are people like that in the world. So why not have a movie that throws them together through coincidences. The acting, story, and everything else was great. Definitely this and Batman Begins by far the best this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonPJun 5, 2005
This film bravely looks rasicm in the eye and exposes it for what it is - cultural insensitivity and misunderstanding that becomes generalized to a set of people defined by color or race or whatever. There are a number of scenes where a This film bravely looks rasicm in the eye and exposes it for what it is - cultural insensitivity and misunderstanding that becomes generalized to a set of people defined by color or race or whatever. There are a number of scenes where a person of one race or background doesn't get what a person of another race or background is doing, saying, or intending with his actions and the results are tragic (or potentially so). Sure it's unrealistic in terms of too many coincidences but the whole idea is he's telling the story of people who's lives were intertwined by the various car accidents. To suggest that Haggis was supposed to offer a solution to the racial conflicts in this film, misses the point. By showing how insensitivities balloon into true danger (or in a few cases how being sensitized can help defuse a difficult situation) he is giving us all a mirror into which we can look and ask ourselves: do I do that? And if enough people asked that, and dealt with it, we'd have a less racist society. There is no other solution that could be offered. I never saw the "Magnolia" movie people mention here but I did see parallels to "Amores Perros" and to "21 Grams". Tthe method of story telling is a fairly effective way to draw together all these disparate people into a series of mini-dramas that you could follow in one film. Finally I was surprised by Sandra Bullock, who I thought was great, and thought all the performances were superb. Tell everyone to see this movie. We the public need to support efforts like this out of Hollywood, there are far too few of them! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethH.Jul 3, 2005
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Everything about it rang true, making it a very powerful film. The acting is great, especially Matt Dillon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeffO.Jul 8, 2005
People don't touch in the streets,well,well,well. writing on the edge acting on the marks covers a lot of ground in Los Angeles of today. I understand paying your own way to grab on to this winner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamKAug 18, 2005
Truly excellent. I entered with few expectations and was blown away. The two carjackers first conversation was hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeEAug 19, 2005
Don't believe the hype. Too many contrived, over the top storylines that end up fitting together like a mismatched puzzle. If you enjoy film, you've already seen this movie, and you've seen it executed flawlessly (Magnolia, Don't believe the hype. Too many contrived, over the top storylines that end up fitting together like a mismatched puzzle. If you enjoy film, you've already seen this movie, and you've seen it executed flawlessly (Magnolia, Traffic, 13 Conversations About One Thing come to mind). All this collective human tragedy, frustration and misery comes off flat, and with this cast, it's a shame. I think this quote summarizes it, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanG.Aug 4, 2005
One of the best movies of the decade absolutely phenomenal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJS.Aug 8, 2005
Definitely one of the most riveting, impactful dramas in our age. Some scenes I can't even get out of my mind, and although, I have seen movies like these, this succeeds in its emotional sincerity. Should be in the running for an Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanD.May 11, 2005
Best movie I have seen since American Beauty!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimS.May 11, 2005
What thoughts were provoked? Did people honestly think different about race relations after seeing this movie? A lot of surface and knee-jerk feelings were touched, but nothing really made an impact on me. Good casting, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevynS.May 10, 2005
Very thought Provoking Movie. One of the Few Movies out there that I think all races and creeds can relate too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LeroyMay 14, 2005
The acting was superb but the subject matter too awful for words. Does racism exist in America? Absolutely. Does it exist in other parts of the world also? Absolutely. So why show a movie full of sterotype cliches which only promotes more of The acting was superb but the subject matter too awful for words. Does racism exist in America? Absolutely. Does it exist in other parts of the world also? Absolutely. So why show a movie full of sterotype cliches which only promotes more of a racial divide? If I wanted to, I could rip this screenplay to smithereens. For example, do you think the DA would drive an expensive SUV without any markings on the license plate that he was a DA? C'mon let's not be ridiculous. Those of you who have rated this movie a perfect 10 need to reevaluate your thought process. This is a racist movie if I ever saw one by someone who has no clue about what he wrote about. Just awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesC.May 15, 2005
A movie worth seeing for the acting of Thandie Newton and Matt Dillon. The movie crashed for me 90 minutes into the film where there is an icident with a gun and a girl. Haggis choked big time in this scene. After that, it seems he lost his A movie worth seeing for the acting of Thandie Newton and Matt Dillon. The movie crashed for me 90 minutes into the film where there is an icident with a gun and a girl. Haggis choked big time in this scene. After that, it seems he lost his confidence in what he wanted to say. If he spent the time going deeper into issue of race it would have been a better film. Those giving 0 are being unfair. That should be reserved for films like, Punch Drunk Love, I heart Huckabees, and the truly awful , Garden State, a film that makes one never want to see another film again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful