Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 12, 2019
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 156 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
84
Mixed:
49
Negative:
23
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
leopoldfrankSep 24, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Polite words simply don't describe this film as efficiently so I'll just say: 'Crawl' is the most retarded film I've seen in a long time. Cliche ridden **** about morons doing a piss-poor job at surviving a problematic situation and disappointingly being rewarded for their stupidity rather than eaten alive like you'll eventually hope.

I should have stopped watching after the opening scene when it was shown the main character was a swimmer. That cliche **** was the first warning sign but no, I ignored it and continued.

Also, **** these favourable critic reviews. Wankers.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ArmywildAug 14, 2019
Español: Sin duda una pelicula muy completa, no es la mejor en suspenso y terror, pero supera las espectativas. La trama es sencilla y envuelve muy bien. Los personajes cumplen bien sus papeles. No se necesita tener grandes efectos con loEspañol: Sin duda una pelicula muy completa, no es la mejor en suspenso y terror, pero supera las espectativas. La trama es sencilla y envuelve muy bien. Los personajes cumplen bien sus papeles. No se necesita tener grandes efectos con lo peligroso que son los cocodrilos. Sin duda es palomera y recomendada. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
TacoLord424Jul 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think that it's great that this movie dives straight into the action within the first 20 minutes. What I don't think is great is that the CGI is terrible. It was constantly unrealistic looking and couldn't really scare me even though I have a great fear of alligators. The jump scares in this movie are horrendous. I went to go see this movie with my friends who are all terrified by horror movies and they didn't get scared once or ever jump at the jump scares. We were laughing more than we were in fear. The characters also are some of the dumbest characters in horror history of all time. They're constantly doing the last thing you would ever do in a horror movie. I get that's the trope of the horror genre but if they were a bit smart I think it would've added to the fear factor knowing that even though they were smart the alligators could outsmart them. Finally, the plot points and what happens during the movie is really dumb. Everything that could go wrong happens, nothing ever works for the characters. Couple that with inconsistent moments in the movie like, "The alligators hunt by splashes in the water". While earlier in the movie the characters weren't splashing and the alligators hunted them anyways. This was just a genuinely bad horror movie that isn't scary, looks terrible and is very inconsistent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
JokerloccoAug 28, 2019
[ENGLISH]
Bad. It is a surreal movie at all times.
Packed with absurd situations and stupid decisions. On top of it, alligators sometimes crush anything with extreme ease, and other times, they make minor scratches... In my case, I have not
[ENGLISH]
Bad. It is a surreal movie at all times.
Packed with absurd situations and stupid decisions.
On top of it, alligators sometimes crush anything with extreme ease, and other times, they make minor scratches...
In my case, I have not felt any kind of emotion. Totally cold in my seat. I could only think of all the absurd situations that were constantly happening...

As for the technical section and interpretations, they are fine, without highlighting anything...

I do not recommend it.


[ESPAÑOL]
Mala. Es una película surrealista en todo momento. Repleta de situaciones absurdas y decisiones estúpidas.
Encima, los caimanes a veces machacan cualquier cosa con extrema facilidad, y otras veces, hacen rasguños sin importancia...
En mi caso, no he sentido ningún tipo de emoción. Totalmente, frío en mi asiento. Sólo podía pensar en todas las situaciones absurdas que ocurrían constantemente...

En cuanto al apartado técnico e interpretaciones, están bien, sin destacar en nada...

No la recomiendo.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
MrcrimsonJul 28, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THEATRE and cover your face so no one sees you there. Main character is bitten on both arms and a leg and is miraculously HEALED before the end of the movie. Father has shoulder bitten, leg broken and arm bitten off but walks during movie and swings a brick and shovel really well. Two cops are idiots. Decisions they made to survive were STUPID and, last but not least, the coincidentals that keep stopping them from escaping are just way to predictable. A **** movie Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ajzeg01Nov 30, 2019
You’ve heard of a Sharknado, now get ready for a Hurrigator! This movie was stupid. Why did the critics like this? It’s a movie about killer CGI alligators! Doesn’t seem like the kind of movie that would get high critical praise, but here weYou’ve heard of a Sharknado, now get ready for a Hurrigator! This movie was stupid. Why did the critics like this? It’s a movie about killer CGI alligators! Doesn’t seem like the kind of movie that would get high critical praise, but here we are. What did I think of it? While this movie is very stupid with some very cheesy and unrealistic moments and a ton of stuff that doesn’t make sense, I enjoyed it. Much like Brightburn, this movie has a big director attached to it as a producer, Sam Raimi. This movie does feel kind of Evil Dead-ish, it’s about people in an isolated location with a creepy basement trying to survive, but it’s not nearly as good. Honestly, I really don’t have much to say about this movie. This movie doesn’t overstay its welcome and it succeeds at precisely what it sets out to do, just be entertaining. It doesn’t really try to be anything more. I can’t really fault the movie for that. As for my recommendation, does a killer alligator movie sound appealing to you? If yes, give it a watch. It’s really short. It’s under 90 minutes. You don’t have much to lose. Just turn off your brain and have fun. If not, you are not going to enjoy this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
Ferrox07Sep 30, 2019
Simply put, that girl is arrogant and stupid! The alligator is unbelievably slow. They both are so emotional whilst knowing they are running out of time . Hell, she just text without a care for help instead of seeking protection first whenSimply put, that girl is arrogant and stupid! The alligator is unbelievably slow. They both are so emotional whilst knowing they are running out of time . Hell, she just text without a care for help instead of seeking protection first when the alligator is so close besides her. So frustrating to watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
r_ervasMay 24, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this film has a bad plot. there are a number of possible things that could have been avoided. for example, when Haley wanted to take her cellphone that had fallen in an area where there was a crocodile, and she managed to retrieve it. but instead of returning to a safe place, she instead made a call there causing the crocodile to attack her. after that instead of returning to safety with the path she was on, she went through a gap in the cable that caused her to get stuck. it's one of the most ridiculous things from movies I've ever watched. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
OneDonJul 2, 2020
To keep it simple It's **** stupid all the situations that they end up in could've been avoided, it's like they wrote the script in a way so the characters would get in a bad situation so we could see them overcome it, it's just **** dumbTo keep it simple It's **** stupid all the situations that they end up in could've been avoided, it's like they wrote the script in a way so the characters would get in a bad situation so we could see them overcome it, it's just **** dumb to be frank however the CGI is actually OK Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondJul 11, 2019
This is quite a thrill ride. It gets right into the action, and it's wall-to-wall WILD to the very end. Barry Pepper is really good as the dad, and Kaya Scodelario is incredible in the lead role. It's a genre flick, and if you're into thisThis is quite a thrill ride. It gets right into the action, and it's wall-to-wall WILD to the very end. Barry Pepper is really good as the dad, and Kaya Scodelario is incredible in the lead role. It's a genre flick, and if you're into this sort of thing, you'll dig the alligator quandary for about 80 minutes. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
zouz123Jul 13, 2019
It's a little fun fast movie with some good jump scares here and there. Didn't know alligators could be this scary. The movie is short which is good and the actors did a pretty good job. If you're looking for something fun and scary to watch,It's a little fun fast movie with some good jump scares here and there. Didn't know alligators could be this scary. The movie is short which is good and the actors did a pretty good job. If you're looking for something fun and scary to watch, Crawl might please you. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Jul 13, 2019
Tight, tense, and chock-full of thrills, "Crawl" represents the best that thrillers with this running time, budget, and concept can be. It's entertaining and fun without broaching upon the realm of disposability, emotional without it takingTight, tense, and chock-full of thrills, "Crawl" represents the best that thrillers with this running time, budget, and concept can be. It's entertaining and fun without broaching upon the realm of disposability, emotional without it taking itself too seriously, and smart enough without any open attempts to try and reinvent the wheel. Throw in a terrific performance from Barry Pepper and some terrific visuals from director Alexandre Aja and you're left with an incredibly solid thriller of modest, yet successful proportions. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
FelicityFenwickJul 12, 2019
Much more exciting than I figured it would be. The lead actress is magnetic (where have I seen here before??). The main problem with it is that all the action takes place in essentially the same spot, and the "supporting characters", such asMuch more exciting than I figured it would be. The lead actress is magnetic (where have I seen here before??). The main problem with it is that all the action takes place in essentially the same spot, and the "supporting characters", such as they are, are too summarily dismissed. But I probably grabbed my face 10 times in this sucker - which is a great sign for a summer popcorn thriller. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
imthenoobOct 20, 2019
The cast does a solid job but this was a dud for me. The CG stuck out like a sore thumb, the plot is far from original and everything from the troubled relationships to the ending was painfully cliche. Crawl is everything we have seen dozensThe cast does a solid job but this was a dud for me. The CG stuck out like a sore thumb, the plot is far from original and everything from the troubled relationships to the ending was painfully cliche. Crawl is everything we have seen dozens of times before and offers nothing unique to separate itself from everyone else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
cylackJul 14, 2019
Good summer popcorn flick. Had a lot of genuine "jump out of your seat" scares. Not too gruesome. If you like creature horror, definitely go see this. The alligators were not "good boys", to use current doggo language.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingJul 12, 2019
"Crawl" delivers exactly what is expected of it; an entertaining single-location 'gator chompfest that is gory, tense, scary, and concise.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Rebecca31Sep 4, 2019
If there’s anything worse than crawling around a filthy, rat invested basement during a category 5 hurricane it’s crawling around a filthy, rat invested basement full of hungry alligators during a category 5 hurricane.

Haley (Kaya
If there’s anything worse than crawling around a filthy, rat invested basement during a category 5 hurricane it’s crawling around a filthy, rat invested basement full of hungry alligators during a category 5 hurricane.

Haley (Kaya Scodelario) tries to rescue her father (Barry Pepper) during a devastating hurricane but the two become trapped in a flooded basement full of alligators. I didn’t exactly expect a whole lot from Crawl and you shouldn’t either, as long as it’s entertaining then it’s a job well done and what more can you ask? We’re never going to get another Jaws standard movie so go in with low expectations, try not to pay too much attention to the script and I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Crawl delivers on the one thing that matters, it won’t bore you and it’s not trying to be anything more than an average thriller. This film wastes absolutely no time getting started and gets straight to the violent chomping. It lays on the tension and keeps the frights coming and coming. I like a good monster movie I mean who doesn’t and Crawl is your typical entertaining thriller you can enjoy and then immediately forget once you leave the cinema. These movies always find their audience and normally do well at the box office. Two actors I’ve never heard of and some CGI alligators won’t break the bank so don’t be shocked if we get a Crawl 2 in a couple of years. It’s a hell of a lot better than The Meg but doesn’t come close to being anywhere near Jaws. Recommended for those of you who enjoyed Lake Placid or The Shallows.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulOct 1, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Un brillante y enervante thriller que de seguro te tendrá en todo momento al borde de la butaca.

Un padre y su hija se verán atrapados en el sótano de su propia casa en medio de una feroz tormenta en la cual una manada de cocodrilos se interpondrá entre ellos.

Ya es sin duda una de mis favoritas del año, va directo al grano y no escatima en entregar al público varias escenas grotescas y viscerales que en lo personal me hicieron poner una contundente expresión de desagrado y en una llegué a taparme los ojos, esos cocodrilos no se andan con cuentos y destrozan sin piedad todo lo que tienen en su camino, de ritmo rápido y conciso, personajes con poca profundidad, pero con un sentido de supervivencia admirable y un final que si bien genera alivio, desentona un poco con el resto de la película, en fin sólo son pequeños detalles, me gustó muchísimo y de verdad la recomiendo para pasar un buen rato
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Hugi09Jul 14, 2019
Perfect, incredible!!!! Amazing, c’est bon j’ai adoré le film , stressant, angoissant, juste parfait !
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
JustinJ1214Jul 18, 2019
Extremely fun, fast paced horror action film. The end leaves a little to be desired but the journey to it makes it worth it
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JoecJul 12, 2019
Alligators petrify me so I knew I was going to be scaredand boy does this movie have the jump scares a bit more than jaws. But the plot is semi ridiculous and lackluster in its exposition. As far as techs like sound design, editing andAlligators petrify me so I knew I was going to be scaredand boy does this movie have the jump scares a bit more than jaws. But the plot is semi ridiculous and lackluster in its exposition. As far as techs like sound design, editing and visuals go it’s the best I’ve seen so far this year. Crawl is impossible to not get scared in. Alexandre Aja is right now someone who I admire but I do know alligators are fearful creatures. There scare me more than criminals because they’ve been here on earth longer than us. Accuracy is what counts with creature thrillers and I think they did a good job at the prop making department. Applause Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
LcMcq7Jul 12, 2019
Crawl delivered exactly what I wanted from a summer genre movie. Alexandre Aja is a master at delivering tight, cohesive creature feature thrills and he is at the top of his game here, aided by focused performances by Barry Pepper and KayaCrawl delivered exactly what I wanted from a summer genre movie. Alexandre Aja is a master at delivering tight, cohesive creature feature thrills and he is at the top of his game here, aided by focused performances by Barry Pepper and Kaya Scodelario. Kudos to the special visual effects department- they bring the gators to life with chilling accuracy. I love to be scared and this movie gave me the kind of thrills that are sadly missing from most of the cookie cutter cardboard sequels that pass for cinema these days. Not every film has to be a classic - Crawl knows exactly what it wants to be and it nails it. If you are looking for a scary good time - see this film! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Moore47Dec 10, 2019
What a film. Possibly the film of the year. So much better than that damp rag of a film called the Joker. I haven't seen a movie like this since Transformers: Dark of the Moon. Bravo!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
MarcDoyleJul 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a thrill-a-minute flick that certainly passes the time, but the cheesy father-daughter dynamic, hearkening back to the daughter's early days on the swim team, is a bit much. And unlike most genre films of this type, it layers too many elements into the mix to be realistic - hurricane, flood, alligators, levee breaking, etc. And I have to say, after all that, "See ya Later Alligator" during the credits just doesn't fit at all. If you're up for some easy thrills and some solid alligator-generated gore, you'll have a good time. Just don't expect anything with the depth of Jaws, Piranha or other predator flicks in its lane. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GilbertoAug 27, 2019
Usually this kind of movies with over the top concepts in combination of animals trying to eat people alive seem to fall under a sort of very bad category where it is blatantly obvious that it is just cash grab. Most of them are done withUsually this kind of movies with over the top concepts in combination of animals trying to eat people alive seem to fall under a sort of very bad category where it is blatantly obvious that it is just cash grab. Most of them are done with very minimal budgets and very poor/stupid storytelling and for the most part they don't even come out to the big screen but go straight to DVDs --So it was kind of interesting to see a project that has some of those over the top concepts, like a hurricane that leads a bunch of extremely aggressive alligators into a house where two people are trapped, and see it done with actual decent effects and very decent performances. If anything the fact that it came to theaters already had something to say about it, and I must say that for what it is, it is quite entertaining and suspenseful. It is still a bit silly, considering why the two main characters got trapped there in the first place, but their father/daughter relationship is still believable and it carries the movie way up till its end--which comes quite fast I may say because this is a very short movie. It ends a bit unsatisfactorily, but for what it is worth it was still a decent watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DirigiblePulpAug 2, 2019
It's just amazing to me how a movie like this can be so boring. The refusal of mainstream horror movies these days to blend horror and comedy is baffling to me. It's like audiences only get horror if it's "scary" or making fun of horrorIt's just amazing to me how a movie like this can be so boring. The refusal of mainstream horror movies these days to blend horror and comedy is baffling to me. It's like audiences only get horror if it's "scary" or making fun of horror cliches because that's "smart" to laugh at. There's no in-between. Everything is either a big broad obvious comedy or so self-serious it has no room to breathe -- this is the latter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJul 16, 2019
Chomp. Chomp. Chomp. This is my kind of thriller! A college swimmer (Kaya Scodelario) and her dad (Barry Pepper) are trapped in their Florida home during a major hurricane. Also in the crawl space with them are several alligators. Needless toChomp. Chomp. Chomp. This is my kind of thriller! A college swimmer (Kaya Scodelario) and her dad (Barry Pepper) are trapped in their Florida home during a major hurricane. Also in the crawl space with them are several alligators. Needless to say, people are eaten alive in the rising water. However, it's not with excessive gory detail, but just enough brutality to make it distressing. Although the duo's multiple injuries strain credulity, their fight for survival is tense and exciting. This doesn't break any new ground for the genre, but it sure does entertain with several good jump scares and plenty of bloody reptilian thrills. Interestingly, shot entirely in Serbia. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerOct 26, 2019
Given his proficiency with gore Alexandre Aja could have gone the B-movie route with Crawl and still delivered a good time for the people who have enjoyed his previous works. Instead he came out of his box and made a genuinely respectableGiven his proficiency with gore Alexandre Aja could have gone the B-movie route with Crawl and still delivered a good time for the people who have enjoyed his previous works. Instead he came out of his box and made a genuinely respectable thriller. The first sign this isn't going to be another Piranha 3D comes from how he takes time to make the protagonist feel like a real, layered human being before putting her through a watery and scaly hell. We learn about her goals, life, and even her personal and familial struggles. All of which define who she is and her behavior for the audience in a believable manner. Personally, I didn't quite care much about this stuff as I was really only here to see people get eaten, but those a little more demanding of their movies will likely appreciate that this isn't straight Lake Placid style schlock.

Aja keeps things lean and mean with a brisk 87 minute running-time. A welcome change in pace from the 2+ hour mega-blockbusters that make up the majority of cinema today. Once the first gator appears it's a non-stop series of ever-escalating, yet grounded thrills. The majority of the action takes place in one location and revolves around only a few characters. For all the praise small-scale horror films like this often receive, I've begun to realize how having only a handful of people onscreen can limit the tension in a way. It's hard to get a full sense of danger as we know the main character is going to be mostly fine until maybe the very end of the movie, and the side-characters are usually just there for the body count so they don't get any development. This is a problem Crawl doesn't have as the person who spends the most time beside the protagonist gets just as fleshed out as she does while still only taking on a supporting role. So we end up caring just as much about them as we do her, which keeps the anticipation and dread in each encounter high due to their lack of leading actor protection.

Alexandre Aja did everything he could to make Crawl an experience that could be enjoyed by more than just those who typically watch movies about killer reptiles. It's not quite the Jaws of alligator flicks (more like the Don't Breathe), but should succeed at having a wider-reaching appeal than any that have come before it. Plus, in his effort to target more than just a niche audience Aja shows real growth as a director and delivered what's likely his best film to date.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TyranianMar 18, 2020
Bananas film with some good visuals and entertainment but also dumb characters and situations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JoeCoolOct 27, 2019
Exciting, scary, short fun thriller movie that keeps you entertained and doesn't bore you for a minute. What more could you possibly want from a title like this?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sepehrDec 25, 2019
i think it is a good example for a good monster movie with low budget. scodelario is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GinaKJul 17, 2019
This is a fun movie to see on a hot summer day. The crocodiles did not have a lot of personality, but the actors and their dog did. I really love a well-plotted, sheer escapist film like this one, and if you need a break, this is an excellentThis is a fun movie to see on a hot summer day. The crocodiles did not have a lot of personality, but the actors and their dog did. I really love a well-plotted, sheer escapist film like this one, and if you need a break, this is an excellent choice. I will probably buy it on DVD for the same reason. Escape is always welcome -- at any time of year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 12, 2020
"Crawl" is a surprisingly good movie. Supported by impressive CGI effects, a decent cast, well made action sequences and a satisfying ending, you can easily forgive it's many flaws. If you're in the mood for an intense and entertaining horror"Crawl" is a surprisingly good movie. Supported by impressive CGI effects, a decent cast, well made action sequences and a satisfying ending, you can easily forgive it's many flaws. If you're in the mood for an intense and entertaining horror movie, you could do a lot worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TejasNairOct 29, 2019
A fine little survival movie with the usual plot but a far more superior cinematography and production setup, Crawl really lets fear of large, mammoth gators crawl under your skin. TN.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ImaginaryCriticJul 28, 2019
Crawl is forgettable in my opinion and yes it did have its moments. The suspense wasn't really there for me although the gore was definitely top notch. It was well done and well edited. But it just didn't work for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trineo99Jul 23, 2019
First of all, the suspense in this film is top-notch and was used effectively. For a majority of the film, you follow Haley and her dad in a crawl space and if you’ve ever been in one you know it’s a small space and despite the small space aFirst of all, the suspense in this film is top-notch and was used effectively. For a majority of the film, you follow Haley and her dad in a crawl space and if you’ve ever been in one you know it’s a small space and despite the small space a lot of stuff goes down. There is very little to no music throughout the entire film which helps keep the viewer on the edge of their seat the entire time. Neither the characters or the audience know where the gators are at any time and it causes for some scenes where people get scared. The acting in this film done by the two leads was well done. Both Kaya Scodelario and Barry Pepper did fantastic jobs with their characters and made them feel like real-life people that you want to see survive till the end. They seem like an actual father-daughter relationship with the ups and downs that come with it. I also just want to say that Haley is a badass and super resourceful. She isn’t afraid to do anything if it means both she and her father will live. But this is where you need to turn off your brain for the film because some logic isn’t followed. In the film, you can see here getting hurt from the gator but no repercussions. With her dad, you seem him hurt and having a hard time to walk but with her, she just shrugs it off and walks just fine. I’m sorry but yeah no you should be limping and or dead cause both of them would have died from blood loss just saying. Also, in my opinion, this film would have worked better as a short film because at times it felt like it was dragging on because they need to make it a full-length feature film. In the end, Crawl actually isn’t that bad and worth watching at a cheap price. I give Crawl a 7.5/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JPKAug 1, 2019
Effective Horror
Crawl is a pretty good horror film to watch whenever it’s rainy outside.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Jul 23, 2019
Movies should not always be realistic or plausible, that's more than understandable but also in spite of the fact that as a viewer you're looking for a certain type of entertainment you have to know at what moment you draw the line with theMovies should not always be realistic or plausible, that's more than understandable but also in spite of the fact that as a viewer you're looking for a certain type of entertainment you have to know at what moment you draw the line with the absurd; And Crawl is full of absurdities.

This film reminds me of ''Don't Breath'' because it appears to me that in the absence of innovation in the genres of horror and suspense, a certain part of the critics are applauding simple plots and praising them as better films than they really are.

I will not say that this is a failure because what it offers is enough and will be more than enough for a big part of the audience and that's not bad but it doesn't mean it's a great film either.

At the end of the day everything depends on your own taste, it will depend on your own time and your own expectations. Maybe that's how this film will be more rewarding. For my part, there was nothing memorable or extraordinary. It does have certain entertaining elements and also lasts less than 90 minutes so ... well yeah, it's just a regular film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
manningn15Jul 17, 2019
This movie was really scary, creepy, and suspenseful. The visual effects were terrific especially the the alligators and the storm, they were both really real looking. The acting from Kaya Scodelario and Barry Pepper was fantastic. This was aThis movie was really scary, creepy, and suspenseful. The visual effects were terrific especially the the alligators and the storm, they were both really real looking. The acting from Kaya Scodelario and Barry Pepper was fantastic. This was a great horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
idelbarroOct 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Muy mala la pelicula pero bueno. Tiene partes más o menos interesantes...... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
amheretojudgeAug 28, 2019
It is a money well spent expenditure, for the makers not exactly for the viewers.

Crawl Aja understands the script better than anyone. As he should. The director Alexandre Aja is aware of the trajectory that leads these characters and us
It is a money well spent expenditure, for the makers not exactly for the viewers.

Crawl

Aja understands the script better than anyone. As he should. The director Alexandre Aja is aware of the trajectory that leads these characters and us towards the climax. And it is that ammo of his that he uses at the sign of danger. If the film walks a toddler walk, Aja is pulling tricks left and right to not let it fall or fumble. And it doesn't. The film maintains its productive sensible pace as the elements topple one over another, scaring us using the game of numbers. Yes, it is good to see math involved in a commercial horror film. Let's take the basic setting for example.

The plot kicks in after the characters gather up in one location. Now, the makers to elevate the fear of our hosts uses the outnumbered logic to corner them. Being aware of the fact that you are to be drowned by a series of creatures, he isn't revealing this information all at once. That discovery is itself scary. And it is not just that measurement but the amount of water that they are fiddled by like a toy or even various insects crawling over them.

These tiny aspects of the genre keeps us engaged and entertained. But now this is where the film gets stuck. For beyond the B grade pop cultural theme, there is no other layer to look for. The crux of the emotional punches is the father and daughter relationship that never communicated with me. When something so vital as this fails to hold on to its promises, the drive or the dive that makes these characters keep jumping or sacrificing or saving is like an empty gun fired across the room for attention. Crawl doesn't crawl literally but it surely does crawl metaphorically; I know that's a cheap shot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
GrantD243Aug 28, 2019
This is basically a direct-to-DVD film that somehow got a mainstream release AND critical acclaim. I gotta say, it surprised me how bad this film is considering how much buzz it got. It's predictable, it's laughable at times, and it's notThis is basically a direct-to-DVD film that somehow got a mainstream release AND critical acclaim. I gotta say, it surprised me how bad this film is considering how much buzz it got. It's predictable, it's laughable at times, and it's not particularly fun to watch. I looked at my watch numerous times to see how much time was left. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PalpetineSheevMar 20, 2020
I am so disappointed that they didn't use the Lincoln Park song over the end credits. 0/100000000000 wurst mooovey evar
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
meydianarizki21Oct 18, 2020
This isn't a very memorable film although it is thrilling and we'll made. Once the conflict begins you are on the edge of your seat with worry for the protagonists it is when they waste screen time with unnecessary dialogue that have nothingThis isn't a very memorable film although it is thrilling and we'll made. Once the conflict begins you are on the edge of your seat with worry for the protagonists it is when they waste screen time with unnecessary dialogue that have nothing to do with the dangers at hand the movie appears campy.

I did enjoy the performances of the small cast and of course the gators. It's a pretty fun filled movie so give it a shot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GLADIADORSep 30, 2019
Um bom filme com crocodilos gigantes, apesar das modidas deles serem bem mentirosas comparado a vida real
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
bataguilaNov 4, 2019
Entretenida, rapida, no es nada original en le guion, y los efectos muy malos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LajaleaaAug 16, 2019
"Apex predator all day."
.
( 72/100 ) . Admitiré que Alexandre Aja, el director de ésta película, hace un buen trabajo en crear el suspenso en "Crawl" y que, si se considera seriamente, revivir esa fobia por el **** animal que películas como
"Apex predator all day."
.
( 72/100 )
.
Admitiré que Alexandre Aja, el director de ésta película, hace un buen trabajo en crear el suspenso en "Crawl" y que, si se considera seriamente, revivir esa fobia por el **** animal que películas como "Jaw" de Steven Spielberg popularizaron.
La premisa es muy simple: Haley (Kaya Scodelario) busca de su padre Dave (Barry Pepper) en medio de un huracán categoría 5 en Florida. Ella lo encuentra en el sótano de su antigua casa después de ser atacado por una familia de cocodrilos que anidaba ahí. Así es como se convierten en victimas de unos predadores que atacan cualquier amenaza potencial.
El film, sorprendentemente, mantiene al público muy escéptico, pues el proyecto resulta ser realista y suficientemente lógico que es muy raro sentir que "eso no puede pasar": "Crawl" no es absurda. Sin embargo, claro que tiene sus deficiencias narrativas y visuales. Los efectos especiales definitivamente se notan ser de bajo presupuesto y poca calidad, pero los efectos visuales son lo que salvan a la película: la escenografía, el concepto espacial e, incluso, la dirección de arte es exitosa, pues la arquitectura, ágilmente, parece dictar la dirección de la narrativa. Por su parte, la narrativa presenta una dinámica muy creativa en un espacio específico. La interacción que Kaya y Barry tienen en la pantalla no es exigente, pero es esencial, lo cual aporta solidez a la situación, pues ambos se inspiran mutuamente a superar la situación sin forzar algún tipo de sentimentalidad.
Puede ser dudoso el éxito que pueda tener la idea de sobrevivir en una casa inundada invadida de cocodrilos, pero considero que este ejercicio de acción y suspenso es decente por la forma en la que cuida su intensidad y sensibilidad en un ambiente que explora sin romper sus propias naturalezas. La recomiendo como parte de un cine que honra el pánico a lo desconocido y salvaje.
-
I'll admit that Alexandre Aja, the director of this film, makes a good job in creating suspense in "Crawl" and, if considered seriously, bring back the phobia in the animal savagery that movies like "Jaw" of Steven Spielberg, made famous. The premise is simple: Haley (Kaya Scandelario) searches for her father Dave (Barry Pepper) in the middle of a category 5 hurricane in Florida. She finds him in the basement of an old house of his after being attacked by a family of alligators that were nesting there. That's how they become the prey of a predator that will attack any potential threat.
The film, surprisingly, creates skepticism in the public by being realistic and enough logical that feeling like "that cannot happen" is not very frequent: "Crawl" is not absurd. Nevertheless, it does have its narrative and visual flaws. The special effects can definitely be seen to be of low budget or poor quality, but the visual effects are the ones that save the movie: the scenery, the spatial concept and, even the art direction is successful by the way the architecture, skillfully, seems to dictate the direction of the narrative. In its own way, the narrative shows a very creative dynamic in a specific space. The interaction that Kaya and Barry have on the screen is not demanding but it is essential, which gives strength to the situation by how they inspire each other to get over the situation without forcing any kind of melodramatic vibe.
It can be doubtful the success that can have the idea of surviving a flooded house overrun of alligators, but I consider this to be a decent example of action and thriller cinema by the way it takes care of its intensity and sensibility under a concept that explores its own natures without breaking its rules. I recommend it as part of a cinema that honors the panic to the wild and unknown.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
qbaseSep 28, 2019
Χωρίς να αμφισβητεί κάποιο από τα δοκιμασμένα κλισέ –αγωνιώδη και μελοδραματικά– του είδους, ο Αζά κρατάει ψηλά την ένταση και παραδίδει τελικά όσα (κινηματογραφικά) πενιχρά υπόσχεται.Χωρίς να αμφισβητεί κάποιο από τα δοκιμασμένα κλισέ –αγωνιώδη και μελοδραματικά– του είδους, ο Αζά κρατάει ψηλά την ένταση και παραδίδει τελικά όσα (κινηματογραφικά) πενιχρά υπόσχεται.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
theredskyJul 14, 2019
Crawl is surprisingly a decent monster movie. Here are the negatives. The visual effects suck. The alligators look like they came out of a Playstation 2 game and it is kinda distracting. Barry Pepper’s acting was really inconsistent. At theCrawl is surprisingly a decent monster movie. Here are the negatives. The visual effects suck. The alligators look like they came out of a Playstation 2 game and it is kinda distracting. Barry Pepper’s acting was really inconsistent. At the beginning of the film, he wasn’t trying at all and his acting was pretty bad but as the film progressed, it did get better. Towards the end of the film, some of the action scenes start to get repetitive. The main character will get out of a fight with an alligator into another fight with an alligator. Another issue would be that some of the characters kinda walk off major injuries. One of the characters has a broken leg but seems to walk it off later on. My main issue is that the characters make some pretty dumb decisions. They are multiple moments where the characters could make an escape but they don’t. One such scene is when one of the characters finds a shovel and instead of using it to knock out a weak wall, they decide to attract the attention of the alligators. That problem does take away from the experience of the film a little bit. Here are the positives. Kaya Scodelario does a great job as the main character. You feel for her and what she is trying to do, which is save her Dad. She does a great job at finding different and creative ways to fight off the alligators. The production design for this film is really good. The sets are pretty cool. The basement set makes you feel claustrophobic while the water fills in. The film knows how to build tension really well. The film always present this sense of danger throughout the entire scene until the last act. The beginning scene with the gators is incredibly tense. They set up the fact that the gator is in the basement and you just have to wait till they reveal it to the characters. The film is incredibly gory also. You do see people’s bones sticking out of their body and you do see a gator rip a guys head off and it’s incredibly intense to watch. They also make the smart decision to not use music in these tense scenes so that it feels real. The soundtrack is generic but it does have a couple good scores in there. The cinematography is decent for what the film is going for and the tone and pacing are consistent. Overall, Crawl is a decent monster movie with a good protagonist and some great set design but is held back by dumb decisions and crappy visual effects. I give Crawl a 5/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
fluffypantsJul 16, 2019
Crawl is a fun thriller/horror movie about alligators. Nothing special but an entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
thatdannerJul 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Crawl was the best that it could've been with its ridiculous premise. The action and violence are amazing, as with most creature films. For a decently low-budget movie, the CGI is incredible. The atmosphere that was presented with the movie made it very tense and the trailer did a good job of hiding one of the biggest surprises in the movie...that there is not one, but hundreds of Alligators. The acting is passable (more passable than either's performances were in the Maze Runner series) from both the lead roles, this movie is genuinely shocking at points. For once, the character development is actually demonstrated between the leads, making you end up hoping that they do not die. Unfortunately, the characters are all dumb as rocks and the horror tropes are unbearable. There are also very noticeable inconsistencies with how they describe the Alligators; it's almost as if they didn't actually research Alligator behavior at all before writing the movie. However, if you're just looking for some tense and campy fun, this is one of the best of that kind in 2019. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheMovieDuderJul 29, 2019
Great creature feature that knows exactly what it is. Acting was surprisingly good and there was never a dull moment in the film. The cgi storm actually felt real and looked amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Sayeem_ShamsSep 26, 2019
A must watch film for Creature Thriller lovers. If you are a fan of Jurassic Park, Deep Blue Sea, and Jaws; you are welcome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
hnestlyontheslyOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wife asked me two questions afterwards over the phone: “Does she save the dad?” and “Does she actually trap the alligator in the shower?” I have seen this film for the express purpose of being able to answer these questions for you, dear reader. The trailer does in fact make it seem like there are a finite number of alligators, maybe four or five, and that one of the Big Showdowns will be the way in which Haley is able to successfully trick an alligator to follow her into a shower stall, but shockingly, there isn’t really a decisive showdown in the film. The gators end up being sort of secondary to the storm in a way that is both disappointing and gratifying, because it means that basically the film which is billed as a monster flick is actually more of an escape the house flick, which has a different set of rules. The gator she blinds about ten minutes into her entrance into the basement never comes up again. Actually, I’m hard-pressed to think of any gator who appears in more than a single shot in the film. I would be more upset about this misrepresentation if I had had any expectations of the quality of this movie in the first place. To be honest, I know the score when I’m the only **** in the movie theater not seeing The Lion King or The Art of Self-Defense.

The trailer to this movie is barely longer than the movie itself and shows you a shot from just about every scene but the last one. There are some scenes in the movie that seem like they were devised for the sole purpose of being included in the sizzle reel, cf. the six seconds when Haley has a gun in her possession in order to shoot the crocodile that has attacked her for taking the gun in the first place. For a movie that’s called “crawl,” there isn’t really that much crawling, either the swim-style or the baby-style. The basement fills up too quickly for much of that signature crawling you see in the trailer. The ending is mercifully abrupt, as if the film anticipates the audience’s rising impatience with the premise. The lack of talk about flood insurance and water damage is a little curious, sounds like a nightmare for their future finances, but I suppose Dave really didn’t have a lot of marketable skills beyond coaching his daughter’s swimming apparently, so maybe that financial point was moot already.

You should know better, but I’m not gonna judge.

Slate’s Keith Phipps’s line of how this film is a “throwback for a simpler time” got stuck in my head a few weeks ago.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Rocky5489Oct 22, 2019
The alligators look fake (very bad CGI), the movie relies solely on predictable jump scares, and the acting is sub par.... need I say more?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gt1967Apr 26, 2020
This movie is great fun, some of the GCI is a bit naff but that can be forgiven. The tension builds nicely and at times puts you on the edge of your seat. The quality of some of the kills are deliciously satisfying. All in all a well actedThis movie is great fun, some of the GCI is a bit naff but that can be forgiven. The tension builds nicely and at times puts you on the edge of your seat. The quality of some of the kills are deliciously satisfying. All in all a well acted creature feature which delivers exactly what I expected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ryanechoJan 8, 2020
I would describe Crawl as a B-Movie with a higher budget.

The Good: The special effects and CGI look really good (besides the aligators at times). The makeup looks good as well. The best part of the movie was when one of the aligators threw
I would describe Crawl as a B-Movie with a higher budget.

The Good: The special effects and CGI look really good (besides the aligators at times). The makeup looks good as well. The best part of the movie was when one of the aligators threw the human body to another gator. Also, the theme song feels very claustrophobic and anxiety giving which is perfect for this movie.

The Bad: This movie is predictable and boring. It lacks a plot, I mean there is some here but it really does have a B-Movie feel. As I said the special effects look really good but there aren't any in the crawl-space in which the movie takes place.

The Ugly: Our main character is very inconsistent. She is shown as weak but then shown as a badass but then back to weak. Also, she has the one of the absolute worst catchphrase in cinematic history "Apex Predator, All Day!"

This movie is mediocre at best and I cannot recommend it. Trust me you've seen it before.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AWESOM-0Jul 5, 2020
A way better movie than the reviews would suggest. I think reviewers saw hurricane and gator and thought it's like Sharknado and I here to say that they were wrong. This movie is more like the shallows or Jaws in the suppense it brings. KayaA way better movie than the reviews would suggest. I think reviewers saw hurricane and gator and thought it's like Sharknado and I here to say that they were wrong. This movie is more like the shallows or Jaws in the suppense it brings. Kaya Scolderario is amazing in the lead role, I'm impressed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
afm185Jun 21, 2020
With this sorta movie you’d think it would be pretty sloppy. It’s not. It’s actually really good. I could never watch this a second time, but I think they did just about as well as they could’ve with the concept. The acting is damn good, theWith this sorta movie you’d think it would be pretty sloppy. It’s not. It’s actually really good. I could never watch this a second time, but I think they did just about as well as they could’ve with the concept. The acting is damn good, the effects aren’t absolutely perfect but the alligators usually look extremely realistic and frightening, and the tension in this movie is on another level. I was almost always stressed out. But there’s a dog and they played with my emotions man. Won’t get into that part of it more than that. While this movie does exactly what it sets out to do, I just didn’t find all that much enjoyment in it. It’s a survival thriller movie, there just aren’t many moments for interesting and thought provoking dialogue and so there isn’t any in this movie. It’s all a lot of them yelling for each other. Also, there are some real dumbasses in this movie and it annoyed me. That all being said, while the tension stays at a pretty constant level throughout, the way events go down is both predictable and unpredictable at the same time. And it’s kinda great. Everything that happens makes complete sense, aside from one “it can’t see you if you don’t move scene”, which at first I liked the logic and I’m sure it’s true, but when it happened it still felt dumb. It’s a pretty good time I guess, if you like movies that stress you out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ROO_970Aug 14, 2020
Nope it was not good I did not like what i seen it was ass everything's predictable it just wasn't a good thriller/horror movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GreyhoundesSep 6, 2020
**** alligators, me and my homies hate alligators. also kaya scodelario kicks ass in this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JLauSep 18, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's floods full of alligators but for some reason, nobody makes much effort to get out of the water. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews