Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 12, 2019
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 37 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
4
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
TacoLord424Jul 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think that it's great that this movie dives straight into the action within the first 20 minutes. What I don't think is great is that the CGI is terrible. It was constantly unrealistic looking and couldn't really scare me even though I have a great fear of alligators. The jump scares in this movie are horrendous. I went to go see this movie with my friends who are all terrified by horror movies and they didn't get scared once or ever jump at the jump scares. We were laughing more than we were in fear. The characters also are some of the dumbest characters in horror history of all time. They're constantly doing the last thing you would ever do in a horror movie. I get that's the trope of the horror genre but if they were a bit smart I think it would've added to the fear factor knowing that even though they were smart the alligators could outsmart them. Finally, the plot points and what happens during the movie is really dumb. Everything that could go wrong happens, nothing ever works for the characters. Couple that with inconsistent moments in the movie like, "The alligators hunt by splashes in the water". While earlier in the movie the characters weren't splashing and the alligators hunted them anyways. This was just a genuinely bad horror movie that isn't scary, looks terrible and is very inconsistent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondJul 11, 2019
This is quite a thrill ride. It gets right into the action, and it's wall-to-wall WILD to the very end. Barry Pepper is really good as the dad, and Kaya Scodelario is incredible in the lead role. It's a genre flick, and if you're into thisThis is quite a thrill ride. It gets right into the action, and it's wall-to-wall WILD to the very end. Barry Pepper is really good as the dad, and Kaya Scodelario is incredible in the lead role. It's a genre flick, and if you're into this sort of thing, you'll dig the alligator quandary for about 80 minutes. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Jul 13, 2019
Tight, tense, and chock-full of thrills, "Crawl" represents the best that thrillers with this running time, budget, and concept can be. It's entertaining and fun without broaching upon the realm of disposability, emotional without it takingTight, tense, and chock-full of thrills, "Crawl" represents the best that thrillers with this running time, budget, and concept can be. It's entertaining and fun without broaching upon the realm of disposability, emotional without it taking itself too seriously, and smart enough without any open attempts to try and reinvent the wheel. Throw in a terrific performance from Barry Pepper and some terrific visuals from director Alexandre Aja and you're left with an incredibly solid thriller of modest, yet successful proportions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
cylackJul 14, 2019
Good summer popcorn flick. Had a lot of genuine "jump out of your seat" scares. Not too gruesome. If you like creature horror, definitely go see this. The alligators were not "good boys", to use current doggo language.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingJul 12, 2019
"Crawl" delivers exactly what is expected of it; an entertaining single-location 'gator chompfest that is gory, tense, scary, and concise.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
zouz123Jul 13, 2019
It's a little fun fast movie with some good jump scares here and there. Didn't know alligators could be this scary. The movie is short which is good and the actors did a pretty good job. If you're looking for something fun and scary to watch,It's a little fun fast movie with some good jump scares here and there. Didn't know alligators could be this scary. The movie is short which is good and the actors did a pretty good job. If you're looking for something fun and scary to watch, Crawl might please you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FelicityFenwickJul 12, 2019
Much more exciting than I figured it would be. The lead actress is magnetic (where have I seen here before??). The main problem with it is that all the action takes place in essentially the same spot, and the "supporting characters", such asMuch more exciting than I figured it would be. The lead actress is magnetic (where have I seen here before??). The main problem with it is that all the action takes place in essentially the same spot, and the "supporting characters", such as they are, are too summarily dismissed. But I probably grabbed my face 10 times in this sucker - which is a great sign for a summer popcorn thriller. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Hugi09Jul 14, 2019
Perfect, incredible!!!! Amazing, c’est bon j’ai adoré le film , stressant, angoissant, juste parfait !
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JoecJul 12, 2019
Alligators petrify me so I knew I was going to be scaredand boy does this movie have the jump scares a bit more than jaws. But the plot is semi ridiculous and lackluster in its exposition. As far as techs like sound design, editing andAlligators petrify me so I knew I was going to be scaredand boy does this movie have the jump scares a bit more than jaws. But the plot is semi ridiculous and lackluster in its exposition. As far as techs like sound design, editing and visuals go it’s the best I’ve seen so far this year. Crawl is impossible to not get scared in. Alexandre Aja is right now someone who I admire but I do know alligators are fearful creatures. There scare me more than criminals because they’ve been here on earth longer than us. Accuracy is what counts with creature thrillers and I think they did a good job at the prop making department. Applause Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
LcMcq7Jul 12, 2019
Crawl delivered exactly what I wanted from a summer genre movie. Alexandre Aja is a master at delivering tight, cohesive creature feature thrills and he is at the top of his game here, aided by focused performances by Barry Pepper and KayaCrawl delivered exactly what I wanted from a summer genre movie. Alexandre Aja is a master at delivering tight, cohesive creature feature thrills and he is at the top of his game here, aided by focused performances by Barry Pepper and Kaya Scodelario. Kudos to the special visual effects department- they bring the gators to life with chilling accuracy. I love to be scared and this movie gave me the kind of thrills that are sadly missing from most of the cookie cutter cardboard sequels that pass for cinema these days. Not every film has to be a classic - Crawl knows exactly what it wants to be and it nails it. If you are looking for a scary good time - see this film! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MarcDoyleJul 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a thrill-a-minute flick that certainly passes the time, but the cheesy father-daughter dynamic, hearkening back to the daughter's early days on the swim team, is a bit much. And unlike most genre films of this type, it layers too many elements into the mix to be realistic - hurricane, flood, alligators, levee breaking, etc. And I have to say, after all that, "See ya Later Alligator" during the credits just doesn't fit at all. If you're up for some easy thrills and some solid alligator-generated gore, you'll have a good time. Just don't expect anything with the depth of Jaws, Piranha or other predator flicks in its lane. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJul 16, 2019
Chomp. Chomp. Chomp. This is my kind of thriller! A college swimmer (Kaya Scodelario) and her dad (Barry Pepper) are trapped in their Florida home during a major hurricane. Also in the crawl space with them are several alligators. Needless toChomp. Chomp. Chomp. This is my kind of thriller! A college swimmer (Kaya Scodelario) and her dad (Barry Pepper) are trapped in their Florida home during a major hurricane. Also in the crawl space with them are several alligators. Needless to say, people are eaten alive in the rising water. However, it's not with excessive gory detail, but just enough brutality to make it distressing. Although the duo's multiple injuries strain credulity, their fight for survival is tense and exciting. This doesn't break any new ground for the genre, but it sure does entertain with several good jump scares and plenty of bloody reptilian thrills. Interestingly, shot entirely in Serbia. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GinaKJul 17, 2019
This is a fun movie to see on a hot summer day. The crocodiles did not have a lot of personality, but the actors and their dog did. I really love a well-plotted, sheer escapist film like this one, and if you need a break, this is an excellentThis is a fun movie to see on a hot summer day. The crocodiles did not have a lot of personality, but the actors and their dog did. I really love a well-plotted, sheer escapist film like this one, and if you need a break, this is an excellent choice. I will probably buy it on DVD for the same reason. Escape is always welcome -- at any time of year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
manningn15Jul 17, 2019
This movie was really scary, creepy, and suspenseful. The visual effects were terrific especially the the alligators and the storm, they were both really real looking. The acting from Kaya Scodelario and Barry Pepper was fantastic. This was aThis movie was really scary, creepy, and suspenseful. The visual effects were terrific especially the the alligators and the storm, they were both really real looking. The acting from Kaya Scodelario and Barry Pepper was fantastic. This was a great horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JustinJ1214Jul 18, 2019
Extremely fun, fast paced horror action film. The end leaves a little to be desired but the journey to it makes it worth it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
theredskyJul 14, 2019
Crawl is surprisingly a decent monster movie. Here are the negatives. The visual effects suck. The alligators look like they came out of a Playstation 2 game and it is kinda distracting. Barry Pepper’s acting was really inconsistent. At theCrawl is surprisingly a decent monster movie. Here are the negatives. The visual effects suck. The alligators look like they came out of a Playstation 2 game and it is kinda distracting. Barry Pepper’s acting was really inconsistent. At the beginning of the film, he wasn’t trying at all and his acting was pretty bad but as the film progressed, it did get better. Towards the end of the film, some of the action scenes start to get repetitive. The main character will get out of a fight with an alligator into another fight with an alligator. Another issue would be that some of the characters kinda walk off major injuries. One of the characters has a broken leg but seems to walk it off later on. My main issue is that the characters make some pretty dumb decisions. They are multiple moments where the characters could make an escape but they don’t. One such scene is when one of the characters finds a shovel and instead of using it to knock out a weak wall, they decide to attract the attention of the alligators. That problem does take away from the experience of the film a little bit. Here are the positives. Kaya Scodelario does a great job as the main character. You feel for her and what she is trying to do, which is save her Dad. She does a great job at finding different and creative ways to fight off the alligators. The production design for this film is really good. The sets are pretty cool. The basement set makes you feel claustrophobic while the water fills in. The film knows how to build tension really well. The film always present this sense of danger throughout the entire scene until the last act. The beginning scene with the gators is incredibly tense. They set up the fact that the gator is in the basement and you just have to wait till they reveal it to the characters. The film is incredibly gory also. You do see people’s bones sticking out of their body and you do see a gator rip a guys head off and it’s incredibly intense to watch. They also make the smart decision to not use music in these tense scenes so that it feels real. The soundtrack is generic but it does have a couple good scores in there. The cinematography is decent for what the film is going for and the tone and pacing are consistent. Overall, Crawl is a decent monster movie with a good protagonist and some great set design but is held back by dumb decisions and crappy visual effects. I give Crawl a 5/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
fluffypantsJul 16, 2019
Crawl is a fun thriller/horror movie about alligators. Nothing special but an entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews