Netflix | Release Date (Streaming): June 12, 2020
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 201 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
106
Mixed:
31
Negative:
64
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JimbobbysJun 15, 2020
Very disappointed with this film, some of my favourite actors from the wire. But the whole film has no vibe, music selection and score just kills the immersion, and the story boils down to any other treasure hunt film. So bad I was wishing itVery disappointed with this film, some of my favourite actors from the wire. But the whole film has no vibe, music selection and score just kills the immersion, and the story boils down to any other treasure hunt film. So bad I was wishing it was over and their was like an hour left to go. Didnt really feel any connection with any of the characters. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
2
moffatJun 21, 2020
Spike Lee wears his agenda on his sleeve. Not only does he do it in this movie, but many of his points are out right fake news. He tries to portray AA soldiers in Vietnam as cannon fodder. To top it all off, the plot is ridiculous. GradeSpike Lee wears his agenda on his sleeve. Not only does he do it in this movie, but many of his points are out right fake news. He tries to portray AA soldiers in Vietnam as cannon fodder. To top it all off, the plot is ridiculous. Grade school. Don't waste your time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobJun 16, 2020
Painfully slow-paced, Needlessly long (clocks in a little over 2 and a half hours long) and features too many sub-plots that don't necessarily work well together nor get the full resolution they deserve. There are parts of the movie that arePainfully slow-paced, Needlessly long (clocks in a little over 2 and a half hours long) and features too many sub-plots that don't necessarily work well together nor get the full resolution they deserve. There are parts of the movie that are good and the cast does a great job but this movie is a classic example of the parts being better than the sum. They just tried to cram too much stuff into it without letting things breath. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
Brutal_MushroomJun 20, 2020
This is not good film about Vietnam War. Boring, long and stupid movie. 2 points for nice views and for some archival photos frome war.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
MystichydraJun 20, 2020
A genuinely difficult film to review, primarily because this feels like a directors cut version. It's overlong, disjointed, muddled, unfocused, etc. It is simultaneously too much and not enough. The characters are painfully one-dimensional,A genuinely difficult film to review, primarily because this feels like a directors cut version. It's overlong, disjointed, muddled, unfocused, etc. It is simultaneously too much and not enough. The characters are painfully one-dimensional, and the actors all do an amazing job with the stunted dialogue provided. For better or worse, Spike Lee movies hit you over the head with a hammer. There are moments of genuine talent interspersed throughout, but they are mere breadcrumbs in an otherwise wilted souffle. Lee is a talented filmmaker, and many of my quibbles with this flick are simply aesthetic differences. For example, I understand where he was coming from having the modern day actors portray their younger selves. But I found it to be distracting and ineffective. It's taking me 3 sittings to finish this, and unlike The Irishman, there was little to ponder afterwards. The movie told you what to think every step of the way. And loses much of its emotional resonance because of it. It's so contrived... Not just most of the dialogue, but the plot and overall conflicts (which just disintegrates interpersonally, for purposes of moving the plot along along), as well as the implausibilities. Of which there are so many. And the action scenes! Honestly looks like a fist year term student

Overall, I wanted to like this movie. But it was just too bogged down. There are a few Spike Lee films I can go as far as to say I love (Do the Right Thing, Son of Sam, 25th Hour, BlacKKKlansman). But when he is off, he's really off and though by no means a failure, Bloods just felt like an unfinished ride which didn't know which way to turn. It should have focused on one solid thing, instead of trying to be both a heist movie and a history lesson/scathing social and political commentary. I have respect for Lee, and his intentions are pure, but pure intentions alone does not a good movie make. I can't help but think given a different time to be released, the enthusiasm towards bloods would be less so.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
ThorbannderJun 22, 2020
Not spikes best work..to much pushing something that's not there for all and the premises was off
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
FGPTJun 21, 2020
Another piece of propaganda by spike Lee. It's unbearable and unecessary. How long has it been since this man done a decent movie?
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
AndermaquivarJun 15, 2020
You never know what you'll get with spike lee, it could be a masterpiece like "Blackkklansman" or a dumpster like "Old Boy". "Da 5 bloods" is the latter, it fails in every way imaginable. The production is laughable, action scenes look likeYou never know what you'll get with spike lee, it could be a masterpiece like "Blackkklansman" or a dumpster like "Old Boy". "Da 5 bloods" is the latter, it fails in every way imaginable. The production is laughable, action scenes look like they were shot by a 15 year old experimenting with friends. And, worst of all, the point is never made within the movie, he has to rely on real MLK shots and stats to explain how the vietnam war was systematically unjust towards black Americans. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
FilmstruckJun 15, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absurd plot points--paying off a hill tribe with gold bullion? The age of the mixed-race daughter? A recent landslide reveals the tail fin of a C-47? And the insertion of documentary details doesn't work. Sermonic dialogue. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
cterryr2Jun 24, 2020
Wow I was so bored. I count finish it. Might be the worst film of the yr. Why do people like this at all?
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
12HDJun 18, 2020
It was really slow-paced "story", boring to watch, it was really bad movie to watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
smsurfdeJun 22, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was incredibly long and all over the place. It was very obvious it was politically/socially driven by the way the characters were so racist and how almost every interaction led to a race driven/political discussion. The acting was pretty good and there were a few really good parts, but overall this was just too political for me. I know Spike lee's style and I respect previous work of his, but this definitely felt like propaganda. SPOILER ALERT! Also one of the landmines someone ran into at the end was in the middle of the road (Come on!) You're telling me no car has ran it over and just by chance one person landed right on it instead? I don't know why that annoys me so much but it does. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
SaboSabbyJun 23, 2020
With a good script, Lee can make greatness. Da 5 Bloods is not a good script. The characters and plot are not believable, there is zero subtext. If you are able to suspend disbelief for longer than 15 minutes into this, more power to you. IWith a good script, Lee can make greatness. Da 5 Bloods is not a good script. The characters and plot are not believable, there is zero subtext. If you are able to suspend disbelief for longer than 15 minutes into this, more power to you. I could not, and still I sludged through the entire thing, hoping to find a reason for some of the more positive reviews. Sadly, I could not. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
domsanidiotJul 2, 2020
There are a lot of bold choices in this film that may not be everyone's cup of tea. For me, it was entirely successful. The camaraderie of the main cast was undeniable and Delroy, as usual, was really great. I look forward to seeing whatThere are a lot of bold choices in this film that may not be everyone's cup of tea. For me, it was entirely successful. The camaraderie of the main cast was undeniable and Delroy, as usual, was really great. I look forward to seeing what awards this one gets nominated for. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ZukkuJun 14, 2020
The writing, the characters, the back-and-forth between old and new with young and old characters. I just don't this is very good. I love the black aspect of the war and would have loved to see more. But the story here is no where nearThe writing, the characters, the back-and-forth between old and new with young and old characters. I just don't this is very good. I love the black aspect of the war and would have loved to see more. But the story here is no where near hard-hitting and the photography and cuts are rough to watch. And the I can't believe that there are so many 10/10. I can only attest that to fear of not praising it during these times. I think it's fine, it's not bad. But it sure as hell ain't a 10/10. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
3
DdlewJun 13, 2020
Not good, too long, implausible, poorly cast. Younger actors should have played the soldiers as young men.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
1
vytuxJun 14, 2020
I like spike lee but this is a shocker. All over the place. Part ‘doco’ part fiction not sure what it is
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
HotLikeWasabiJun 20, 2020
People who are giving this movie high ratings have to be too scared to honestly rate a Spike Lee movie at the height of the BLM movement. It’s awful. The script is predictable and the characters (maybe on purpose?) are racist stereotypePeople who are giving this movie high ratings have to be too scared to honestly rate a Spike Lee movie at the height of the BLM movement. It’s awful. The script is predictable and the characters (maybe on purpose?) are racist stereotype caricatures. I mean- maybe if you thought it was an absurdist comedy it would work- but the fact that Lee includes real footage of MLK and other significant and violent events of the Vietnam war makes me think he was going for something...inspirational....thought provoking...dramatic? I gave it 4 stars for the way that Otis and Paul were portrayed by the actors- that took skill. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
jnh36237Jun 14, 2020
I really love this genre and period pieces about war but I have to say this is a bad movie. It takes a lot for me not to be able to sit through a whole movie. I don't know what happened to Spike. I loved some of his past movies such asI really love this genre and period pieces about war but I have to say this is a bad movie. It takes a lot for me not to be able to sit through a whole movie. I don't know what happened to Spike. I loved some of his past movies such as 25th hour. Miscasting was probably the biggest issue along with just bad story telling. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
Stefan1234Jun 16, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am truly shocked at how bad this film is. It is a Western set in Vietnam with the black GIs as the good guys, the protagonists, returning to “’Nam” to steal gold bullion that doesn’t belong to them, and a group of Vietnamese as the bad guys who are trying to stop them and either hand it over to the Vietnamese Government or keep it for themselves. It’s unclear. In any case the storyline makes no sense as a moral story. True, Spike Lee does a bit of educating about the American war in Vietnam: referencing Lt Calley and the My Lai massacre with newsreel footage, for instance, giving voice to contemporary Vietnamese feelings of anger, and informing the audience that Martin Luther King Jr. opposed the war. But it’s hardly sympathetic while casting Vietnamese as the **** who kill the central character, Paul (Delroy Lindo) and get gunned down themselves. The shoot-out at the end with Desroche (Jean Reno) accompanied by more nameless armed Vietnamese, who are all definitely bad guys, with the Bloods group is confusing (thanks Wikipedia for explaining what happened) as some of the Bloods were pretty indistinguishable anyway. Paul was well-drawn, however he gave not one, but two, Shakespearean soliloquies in quick succession, before getting bumped off, which was undoubtedly a very unsubtle bid for an Oscar nomination. The sub-plot of the unlikely loving reunion between Otis (Clarke Peters) and his daughter, Michon (Sandy Hương Phạm) with his former girlfriend, an ex-Saigon prostitute, was too unreal even by Hollywood standards. Michon would be at least in her mid-forties, probably with children of her own, had she been born around 1975, when the Americans left Vietnam. Here she was portrayed as a young woman, looking no older than 29. The simple story need not have been set in Vietnam. It could have been anywhere, without the political trimmings. I doubt the film will be welcomed by international landmine charities who are shown accepting ripped off gold for their cause, not to mention Black Lives Matter, neither of whom should have been made accomplices. I did not buy Hanoi Hannah, but that was a minor problem. I’m afraid I don’t think Martin Luther King would have approved. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
indovskyJun 17, 2020
Political movie. Dialogues are bad, the story is bad. The shots are nice. Subliminal message about racism. I'm not buying it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
deanericksenJun 13, 2020
This is a very bad movie. I love Spike Lee. I love heist movies. I love a number of Vietnam movies. Wow. Surprisingly ham-fisted, simple, and unoriginal.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
1
AliceMonkeyJun 13, 2020
Lee is apologizing for his Recruitment Ads to the U.S. Navy in 1999. Watched it, threw up a little in my throat. Fantasy Land- you borrow this from someone?
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
OlivierPielJun 12, 2020
It is a very bad movie. The San Francisco Chronicle critic is not only right but also courageous to call it like it is. It's not because a movie springs from noble sentiments that it is good! The dialogues are atrocious. The Vietnamese andIt is a very bad movie. The San Francisco Chronicle critic is not only right but also courageous to call it like it is. It's not because a movie springs from noble sentiments that it is good! The dialogues are atrocious. The Vietnamese and French characters are laughable clichés, there's something ironical here about racism, isn't it? So many scenes are ham-fisted. It lacks any artistic qualities so it tries to compensate with a tedious history lesson that is less professional than the majority of FREE Youtube videos on the subject. This feels to me like a Black Lives Matter exploitation. Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
10
RGIVJun 12, 2020
Spike Lee carrying on from where he left off with BlacKkKlansman. Vibrant, strange, funny and profound.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
7
Sierra-117Jun 12, 2020
Spike Lee’s Da 5 Bloods is an emotional reflection on the brutality of the Vietnam war, and (Like Lee’s other movies), a deep dive into racial injustices in the United States. Spike Lee has never been afraid to express his opinions onSpike Lee’s Da 5 Bloods is an emotional reflection on the brutality of the Vietnam war, and (Like Lee’s other movies), a deep dive into racial injustices in the United States. Spike Lee has never been afraid to express his opinions on political events and examples of discrimination, however in Da 5 Bloods this comes out in full force by the first 20 minutes of the film. The movie opens with a small montage of influential figures such as Muhammed Ali all trying to raise awareness for racism in the US, and ends with a Black Lives Matter rally. I don’t know how everyone will feel about these kind of things, but in my opinion they are very fitting and essential in a time like this. The plot of the film is pretty straightforward:
In the modern day four Vietnam veterans return to the country after roughly 45 years in an attempt to reclaim some buried gold and find the remains of their fallen comrade. On the journey they are constantly reminded of the horrors they have experienced, and we, the audience, see flashbacks of the characters in their youth. The flashbacks are probably my favorite aspect of the entire movie. In the name of authenticity, the flashback sequences were shot on 16mm reversal stock (with the seamless transition marked by the sound of a camera click), which is how journalists in Vietnam would’ve filmed their footage. In addition, there is a 4:3 aspect ratio (screen width) in contrast to the modern day’s aspect ratio of both 2.39:1 and 1.85:1. These changes, and the addition of Chadwick Boseman (who gives a stellar performance in his limited screen time) really give the flashbacks a unique feel. The main cast is also full of great performances, with my favorite being Delroy Lindo’s Paul - a character who die to the guilt of his past actions, is slowly going insane. To emphasize this insanity there are many point at which Lindo is alone, at random points halting, and directly speaking to the camera. Throughout the course of the film there were plenty of hard-hitting moments, some of which took me completely by surprise (think the hurt locker), and ultimately I was thoroughly moved by the end, however these moments don’t really appear in the first act of the film, and are instead completely packed into the rest.
Whilst Da 5 Bloods is not an action movie, I think it’s worth mentioning that the few action sequences are executed extremely well, with some shockingly realistic gore effects (especially at one point which isn’t an action sequence, but features a character who has been exposed to a landmine). Whilst the film is paced a tad unevenly, I wouldn’t describe it as boring, considering plenty happens throughout the course of the film. Unfortunately there are three characters (I won’t spoil) who aren’t given a huge role, but whilst they are present really destroyed the pacing for me. There are also quite a few cliches that bothered me, such as aid arriving just when it was needed, or a protagonist stumbling on their goal whilst taking an irrelevant detour. Whilst I wouldn’t say they at all ruined the experience for me, they were blatantly obvious and made me scoff each time. The main antagonist of the film also seems like he was plucked straight out of an old James Bond movie, but fortunately he wasn’t extremely prominent so that is something I can forgive. Otherwise, there isn’t really much to criticize...
Da 5 Bloods is fantastic movie, and despite a considerable number of flaws, it’s still just pure Spike Lee magic, and I absolutely recommend you check it out!
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
webby317Jun 21, 2020
Load of crap. Worst film I have seen in years. Don't bother with this absolute trash!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
DingusdonerJun 20, 2020
It has a little something for everyone, a true masterpiece for the ages, real good stuff.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
arthurbarrJun 12, 2020
Spike Lee did it again! As good as Blackkklasman! His Oscar for best director is comming, thank you, Netflix!
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
10
alisinan17Jun 13, 2020
Delroy Lindo needs his oscar. Excellent continuation of form from Spike Lee
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Jun 12, 2020
TThis one just barely dropped on Netflix today! The latest from director Spike Lee ('Do the Right Thing', Blackkklansman), this film follows a group of African American Vietnam war veterans who reunite and travel back there in search of theTThis one just barely dropped on Netflix today! The latest from director Spike Lee ('Do the Right Thing', Blackkklansman), this film follows a group of African American Vietnam war veterans who reunite and travel back there in search of the body of their troop leader and a large stash of gold he helped them bury there. However, not everything goes as planned, and they find themselves fighting for their lives. Normally, I'm not the biggest fan of Lee's films. They can sometimes get a little too preachy for my liking, although there's no denying that his themes and messages are always timely and relevant, even if they seem repetitive at times. However, with 'Blackkklansman' a couple years ago, I found Lee and his style starting to grow on me, and thankfully, he pulled it off again for me with this film! It's filled with solid and dedicated performances from all involved, a fair share of action, adventure, and excitement, along with some great homages to classic war and adventure films such as 'Apocalypse Now', 'Raiders of the Lost Ark', and 'The Treasure of the Sierra Madre' to name a few, and just the right amount of urgent themes that speak directly to the 'Black Lives Matter' movement that we're currently seeing. Overall, not only was it a fun action/adventure film, but it was also an important one that I think that we really need right about now. This aside, it really is simply one of the best and most powerful films I've seen so far this year! Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
JacklapJun 12, 2020
A good film makes you think, this film tells you what to think. The film felt even comical at times, and lacked a good story. The war scenes were filled with bad vfx and they didn't even try to make the main characters look young in thoseA good film makes you think, this film tells you what to think. The film felt even comical at times, and lacked a good story. The war scenes were filled with bad vfx and they didn't even try to make the main characters look young in those scenes. The helicopter crash scene looked like it was taken straight out of Air Crash Investigation on Discovery Channel. The anti Trump message seems to have won over trying to make a good film. Words to describe the film: Unauthentic, corny, propaganda. Very disappointed by Mr. Lee. You can do better. Expand
7 of 17 users found this helpful710
All this user's reviews
2
JakobssJun 14, 2020
This is not good film about Vietnam War. Boring, long and stupid movie. 2 points for nice views and for some archival photos frome war.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
KarokansJun 12, 2020
By far the best movie released in 2020 so far... amazing directing, performances, cinematography, editing and score!
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
8
chat_contraireJun 12, 2020
Please ignore the racist **** giving this film zeroes. It's not perfect, but it's another triumph from Spike Lee and more topical today than ever. Delray Lindo deserves an Oscar for his performance.
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
9
BlackToadJun 12, 2020
What this movie shows is amazing. The story was great and I loved many of the characters like Paul and Otis and Melvin. They all have their moments that make the movie flow very well and I was engaged throughout the entire film.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
9
samhell80Jun 12, 2020
Legitimately brilliant. There is so much going on in this movie and its functioning at so many different levels that I'm not surprised (based on some of the user reviews) that alot of people just didn't get it. The flashbacks in particularLegitimately brilliant. There is so much going on in this movie and its functioning at so many different levels that I'm not surprised (based on some of the user reviews) that alot of people just didn't get it. The flashbacks in particular seem to confuse people, but without spoiling anything, just bare in mind that Spike Lee is showing the flashbacks not to literally tell a story but to tell the story the characters remember. This movie is great. Full stop. And Delroy Lindo gives an epic performance. Everyone in this movie is top notch, with the mild exception of the actress playing the French lady. She's...fine. But great, great, great movie Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
9
hippidippiJun 13, 2020
What a rollercoaster of emotions this film was, shortest 2,5h I've ever experienced!
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
ahmedaiman1999Jun 14, 2020
Gotta admit that I found the archival footage and some preachy dialogue to be very distracting and off-putting for most of the first hour of the movie. Regardless, Da 5 Bloods is, like many other Spike Lee's joints, a helluva powerful movie.Gotta admit that I found the archival footage and some preachy dialogue to be very distracting and off-putting for most of the first hour of the movie. Regardless, Da 5 Bloods is, like many other Spike Lee's joints, a helluva powerful movie. Unlike what I've seen by Spike Lee though, this one is truly thought-provoking because it really has a multi-layered narrative that explores a plethora of ideas on a superficial level and also on a substantive one. Plus, this is quite possibly the only movie about Vietnam war that's actually insightful and informative. So, this is quite something, I guess. I really admired that Spike Lee doesn't shy away from revealing uncomfortable truths about the Vietnam war almost as much as he doesn't shy away from showing sudden, and shocking, outbursts of violence and blood. Using variety of aspect ratios and colour correcting techniques were also truly impressive. And oh, the editing, just masterful! What is most astounding to consider about this effort, though, is how brilliantly it is disguised as an adventure film. I mean, this is as entertaining and smart as a decent adventure film can get. So, you don't really have any right to find its two-and-half hour runtime daunting. Last but not least, Delroy Lindo definitely deserves an Oscar for his performance here. His character, Paul, is the type of protagonists that attribute to the story and its messages on almost every level, and Lindo really couldn't have done it more justice. (7.5/10) Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
leoterraJun 14, 2020
Ok, let's talk about Da 5 Bloods, Spike Lee's new film. The plot of this film is very interesting, it's a really innovative story. This is a film that has a very strong message, which may well be applied in this difficult time that we areOk, let's talk about Da 5 Bloods, Spike Lee's new film. The plot of this film is very interesting, it's a really innovative story. This is a film that has a very strong message, which may well be applied in this difficult time that we are living. The first act of the film is very well done, with a good introduction of the characters and a great filmography. The film ends up changing its resolution constantly when moments from the past enter the plot, and this is very interesting, since a real sense of the past is passed on. The second act of the film starts very well, bringing a great introduction of mystery, but, unfortunately, the film does not end this act perfectly. The film ends up hitting some holes that end up leaving the film completely confused, causing a certain annoyance. The last act also fails to close the story perfectly. Da 5 Bloods is certainly not a bad movie, it is a movie that can trap you in history. Spike Lee's direction is very good, as well as the performances, which are incredible and bring a very beautiful emotion to the characters. Cinematography has its great moments, especially in the most open planes. But unfortunately, the film has some completely unappealing characters, which add nothing to the plot. In addition, the film ends up dragging more than it should in some scenes. To conclude, Da 5 Bloods is a film that manages to send a great message to the world, has great performances and a decent direction, its biggest problems, are restricted to the secondary characters, and the unnecessary extension of some scenes. But even with the defects, it is a film that is worth your time. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
Stream2BigScreeJun 14, 2020
Spike Lee has written and directed some movies that were timely when they debuted and have remained relevant throughout the years. Do The Right Thing (1989) is 31 years old, but it could have been made right now and it would feel like it wasSpike Lee has written and directed some movies that were timely when they debuted and have remained relevant throughout the years. Do The Right Thing (1989) is 31 years old, but it could have been made right now and it would feel like it was ripped from the headlines. In a way, that's quite devastating, but it is great to have such an important talent thoughtfully creating work today. A new Spike Lee joint, Da 5 Bloods, premiered on Netflix this weekend. Let's see how it fits in Lee's stacked filmography.

Da 5 Bloods is the story of four Vietnam veterans returning to the country to retrieve the remains of their fallen friend after almost 50 years. Delroy Lindo plays MAGA-hat wearing Paul, who seems the most affected by returning to Vietnam. His anger is palpable and there's anxiety at the surface on every interaction with the environment. David, an unexpected tagalong, is Paul's estranged son played by Jonathan Majors. Clarke Peters plays Otis as the steadying force with the logistics of the excursion mapped out. Norm Lewis is Eddie, jovially masking the pain of a life lived after war. And, Isiah Whitlock, Jr. rounds out this outstanding ensemble. There is also a limited performance by Chadwick Boseman as Stormin' Norman, the fallen soldier and erstwhile leader and moral center of the 5 Bloods. While there is an additional motivation for the remaining Bloods in the plot more than the simple conceit of recovering their friend, the importance of the Da 5 Bloods is what Lee has to say about African Americans in war for the United States and the continued discrimination that African Americans are subjected to in America. Like many Spike Lee films, come to Da 5 Bloods ready to be entertained and educated.

As a film itself, the best assets are these veteran actors who put their hearts and souls into embodying these characters. Delroy Lindo gives such a full-bodied performance that he fills up the screen whenever he's around. It's very visceral and engrossing. Clarke Peters and Jonathan Majors also stand out as contrasts to Lindo. Peters is soulful and steady with every moment. I'll also mention that Marvin Gaye plays an important role throughout. Each song selection that plays drops us right back into the thick of that time - in such a complicated era. The soundtrack provides just that extra touch of atmosphere. For a movie that's two and a half hours, it doesn't feel like a long slog through the jungle.

My issues with Da 5 Bloods are just some strange choices that either will bother you or they won't. There is a decision made about how to depict these characters in the past. It is jarring at first, but it makes sense why Lee made the choice, I guess. Also, I initially questioned the budget of the film when watching the first battle scene and helicopter aerial shot. It was distracting, but overall, not totally detrimental to the film. Lastly, there seems to be a tense between what the plot necessitates and what the film wants to say. They two work together in some parts better than others, which makes the film a mixed bag.

Ultimately, I would say sit back with a bowl of popcorn and let the mind of Spike Lee take you back to Vietnam with Da 5 Bloods. I don't think you'll regret giving this film your time.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
C0ckmeasureJun 13, 2020
This was not a good movie. Because of the 75 character minimum, I repeat, this was not a good movie.
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
WillHaze37Jun 14, 2020
Acting sublime. Give it to me one time - huh, Give it to me two times- huh huh
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
Da50calkidJun 12, 2020
Dope ass movie, it's not all racy like it seems it would be. The movie turned out to be really good
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingJun 21, 2020
Anchored by an Oscar-worthy performance by Delroy Lindo, Spike Lee's "Da 5 Bloods" is a powerful film with plenty of deep messages that could not have arrived at a better point in American history.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
DeanomiteJun 21, 2020
It's excellent in many ways. Delroy Lindo is always amazing, few actors are capable of delivering so much range at once. Shame, pride, strength, delusion, wisdom, Dwayne Johnson could learn a lot, but he's called The Rock for a reason, shouldIt's excellent in many ways. Delroy Lindo is always amazing, few actors are capable of delivering so much range at once. Shame, pride, strength, delusion, wisdom, Dwayne Johnson could learn a lot, but he's called The Rock for a reason, should really be called the Log because he's wooden. Photography was excellent, by Newton Sigel (Drive), acting was ok but they all pale next to Lindo. The action was well done, Vietnam is like an endless well of passable action. Some scenes were amateurish, cgi snake and landmine especially. I may have expected too much after the masterpiece that was Blackkklansman, that was far superior to the best picture winning Green Book. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
KremyyJun 17, 2020
Ignore the negative reviews, they’re probably from racists..it’s a great movie. Worth a watch.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JamesDefoeJun 14, 2020
Absolutely stunning. A career high for Spike Lee and an ablosute win for the history of film. Just stop what you are doing and go watch it.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
HueyFreemanJun 14, 2020
Da 5 Bloods is remarkable. From it’s brilliant opening montage that shows black America has been warning full blown fascism was coming for decades to its explosive and haunting ending it’s nothing short of a beautifully shot, densely plotted,Da 5 Bloods is remarkable. From it’s brilliant opening montage that shows black America has been warning full blown fascism was coming for decades to its explosive and haunting ending it’s nothing short of a beautifully shot, densely plotted, ingeniously conceived cinematic tour de force of the highest caliber. Spike Lee has quite a few made masterpieces. DO THE RIGHT THING, MALCOLM X, 25th HOUR, 4 LITTLE GIRLS, WHEN THE LEVEES BROKE, HE GOT GAME, SUMMER OF SAM. Add Da 5 Bloods to that echelon near the very top. Prepare to be blown away and get chills at how eerily this film echoes the moment in history we are witnessing at this very moment. And Delroy Lindo’s tragic performance will break you. Take that President Fake Bone Spurs Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
10
julius234Jun 22, 2020
hhhbhjbbb7v7v77vcyuvvuc5rzxtycvu uvuvuvuvvic6cvuvucuvuvivyc ty vuvtcuctcuvycyc
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Azreale07Jul 8, 2020
SJW libtard garbage! I turned it off when the son of one of the bloods was talking about orange man bad! Wtf spike lee! Keep politics out of your movies & entertainment period!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
henryzandtJun 27, 2020
This Spike Lee Joint really disappointed me. It is so extremely violent, and I keep asking myself: why?
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryJun 15, 2020
The title refers to 5 black men who served together in Vietnam. All these years later, 4 of them return to bring home the remains of the 5th soldier. Even though things get expectedly complicated, the first hour rolls by with predictableThe title refers to 5 black men who served together in Vietnam. All these years later, 4 of them return to bring home the remains of the 5th soldier. Even though things get expectedly complicated, the first hour rolls by with predictable encounters and much personal drama. In the flashbacks, it's a bit jarring that Chadwick Boseman is playing the young 5th soldier, while there's little attempt to make his much older costars look his age. Being that this is Lee, there are history lessons sprinkled thru the dialogue and several racially-tense encounters. Delroy Lindo is the lead and he's chewing every piece of bamboo in the jungle. His performance is way over the top and his character (despite the PTSD) is basically obnoxious, which is bolstered by the fact that Lee has him wearing a MAGA hat (and Lee is an outspoken critic of "Agent Orange," as he calls him). The cinematography by Newton Thomas Sigel is sometimes sumptuous and they've created some memorable imagery. The mostly Marvin Gaye soundtrack works well, but Terence Blanchard's expansive orchestral score seems totally out of place. Like much of Lee's best work, this is at times powerful, exasperating and controversial…and right now, more relevant than ever. (Mostly in English with some subtitles in French and Vietnamese) [usr =3] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
theotherone55Jun 15, 2020
I'm a Spike Lee fan...but I also understand he has HITS and big misses. Da 5 Bloods kinda fits into both. There are beautiful poetic parts in the film where you really appreciate Spike's views and artistic vision. But there's also really poorI'm a Spike Lee fan...but I also understand he has HITS and big misses. Da 5 Bloods kinda fits into both. There are beautiful poetic parts in the film where you really appreciate Spike's views and artistic vision. But there's also really poor plot points and bad scripting. It jumps back and forth between Jurassic Park/Forest Gump music to dial up late 90's cinematic emotion...and then gritty realness that make Spike's movies jump off the screen. Overall, this should've been rewritten a couple more times. Entertaining, but throw this 2 years back before the rising racial tensions of today, this falls hard on its face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
frazilioJun 23, 2020
Nada demais esse filme. Assisti achamdo que seria bom mas nem foi, acabei perdendo meu tempo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Jun 25, 2020
The Vietnam War continues as an open wound; and the director Spike Lee knew how to make a story to his liking, which includes the search for a corpse and that of a treasure, bringing up issues such as historical resentment, racism andThe Vietnam War continues as an open wound; and the director Spike Lee knew how to make a story to his liking, which includes the search for a corpse and that of a treasure, bringing up issues such as historical resentment, racism and collateral damage to ecology. The plot takes time but is worth the effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KeithDowJun 26, 2020
There is no more prescient of a time for Spike Lee to put out a film. He’s arguably the world’s most important Black filmmaker and his latest movie, “Da 5 Bloods,” hits screens at a time when race relations in America are at their mostThere is no more prescient of a time for Spike Lee to put out a film. He’s arguably the world’s most important Black filmmaker and his latest movie, “Da 5 Bloods,” hits screens at a time when race relations in America are at their most pivotal point since the civil rights era.

Lee’s films nearly exclusively center on race. To this day his debut feature film, “Do the Right Thing,” is not only dissected, discussed, and analyzed everywhere from the streets to academia for its filmmaking prowess, but also for the clarity and depth of what the film has to say about the Black experience in America.

Not stopping there, Lee set his sights on the life and times of Malcolm X, turning out a three-and-a-half hour epic that lays bare the noxious pretense of equality in America that existed during Malcolm X’s lifetime, at the time of the film’s 1992 release, and still exists to this day.

Lee’s latest, “Da 5 Bloods,” is centered on four old war buddies from Vietnam who travel back to the country to retrieve a stash of gold along with the remains of their fallen friend.

The opening of the film is not for the faint of heart. It depicts real life photos and news footage of some of the more horrifying memories of the Vietnam War era, such as the burning monk or the captive Vietnamese man executed in the street with a bullet to the head. Equally repulsive is the notion that war, oppression, racism, and corrupt politics isn’t some figment of our distant past but every bit as widespread then as it is today.

A number of scenes in “Da 5 Bloods” contain fun to spot Easter eggs or homages to its cinematic brethren. Some are rather obvious, like the “Apocalypse Now” writing on the wall of the dance club or the usage of the song “Flight of the Valkyries,” harkening back to the same movie. Others are a bit more meta, like the one-legged Vietnamese man throwing fire crackers at the feet of the protagonists, playfully referencing the terrifying “Dance!” scene in “Platoon.”

But as much as Spike Lee might’ve wanted “Da 5 Bloods” to represent his own “Apocalypse Now” or “Platoon,” it just isn’t. Not even close. Far too many corners were cut while making the film for it to be considered in the same realm as such distinguished titles.

Just look at the blood spatter CGI used throughout “Da 5 Bloods” as an example. It looks no better than the stock blood spatter effect in Adobe. Matter of fact, it probably IS the stock blood spatter effect in Adobe. Why not spend that Netflix money and use squibs? Alternatively, if the effect is going to make the film look like a B-rated zombie flick, why use anything at all?

And what are the chances that someone looking for buried gold on the side of a mountain goes to dig a hole to take a dump in and his shovel hits … gold. A million to one? A billion? Who cares because Spike Lee is an acclaimed writer and such mind-numbing coincidences should never make it onto the page, much less into the film?

The full list of frustrating coincidences found throughout the film is about as long as this entire review, so I’ll spare you the details. The bottom line is simply that “Da 5 Bloods” isn’t the film we all hoped it would be. Spike Lee is among the finest filmmakers alive. Kubrick is Kubrick because he never settled for “just good enough.” Scorsese is Scorsese because he never settles for “just good enough.” After watching “Da 5 Bloods,” I find it very disappointing at how many times Spike Lee apparently settled for “just good enough.”
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Jul 7, 2020
Out of all the Spike Lee films I've seen, I can say this is his most epic work so far, but that doesn't mean his best.

There's no doubt that Da 5 Bloods is a side of Vietnam that is generally not seen in film, and not only in film, we know
Out of all the Spike Lee films I've seen, I can say this is his most epic work so far, but that doesn't mean his best.

There's no doubt that Da 5 Bloods is a side of Vietnam that is generally not seen in film, and not only in film, we know that.
But Spike Lee is no stranger to addressing topics that are not regularly for commercial consumption.
But as I said despite the virtues of its ambition, there are flaws as well, and this work, despite being more aggressive in terms of scale, doesn't feel as direct and cunning as his previous work; BlacKkKlansman.

And personally I think it's because Lee was given the opportunity to deliver this story under Netflix's embrace, because by having the opportunity to exploit his creative freedom, Lee offers an erratic and overly long film.
I mean it's not inconsistent or incoherent but all the fronts Lee chooses to tell his story don't always work well for him.

However, this doesn't oversimplify its theme and message, which never ceases to be relevant, and although a part of me thinks that it will lose much of the impact it's obtaining at the moment due to the reality that is being seen in many parts of the world, with all the events that have been unleashed since the death of George Floyd. Da 5 Bloods will undoubtedly be a film that will always be mentioned in the director's filmography from now on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
nevillejohnJul 10, 2020
watched this in about 15min just skipping all the bad parts. almost nothing to like about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Mauro_LanariJun 21, 2020
(Mauro Lanari)
Militant, experimental, mainstream: 154 minutes of formal and storytelling disjointed craving that zeroes any attempt to provide a unique and sensible direction to the film. An embarrassing all against all dictated by the most
(Mauro Lanari)
Militant, experimental, mainstream: 154 minutes of formal and storytelling disjointed craving that zeroes any attempt to provide a unique and sensible direction to the film. An embarrassing all against all dictated by the most bizarre or trivial reasons: perhaps a remake of "Apocalypse Now" under an even worse bad trip?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
seel82Jun 22, 2020
I'm usually a sucker for movies like this. It has everything I'd want in a movie. That said, it's at least 45 minutes or so too long, and too much of the story is either nonsensical, or just out of place with the rest of the message.

I think
I'm usually a sucker for movies like this. It has everything I'd want in a movie. That said, it's at least 45 minutes or so too long, and too much of the story is either nonsensical, or just out of place with the rest of the message.

I think the general messages that Lee was going for here could have been better. The movie just falls short a bit, especially with how many brilliant movies have been done about the Vietnam War.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SebDeTyraJun 22, 2020
Big disappointment. I love films like these and couldn't wait for it to show on Netflix but was totally let down. Very messy and lazy, way too preachy and overlong. A missed opportunity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
schizoidnightJun 24, 2020
This movie is just all over the place... Like a stream of Spike Lee's consciousness put partly together in a motion picture with a plot, almost like a dream. The violence is a mix of shock and (unintentional?) comedy. As expected, BlackThis movie is just all over the place... Like a stream of Spike Lee's consciousness put partly together in a motion picture with a plot, almost like a dream. The violence is a mix of shock and (unintentional?) comedy. As expected, Black nationalist themes are all over, the film's gotta' be woke.

So, a bunch of old vets get the genius idea to go backpacking for gold in one of the world's only surviving communist states, venturing without a guide into the inhospitable tropical jungle, filled with snakes, howling unidentified hairy predators, and leftover mines from 'Nam. What could possibly go wrong?

All that negativity aside, it's got some good moments, and is shot beautifully. I enjoyed it, even if it was pretty out there.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ultimatePZJun 19, 2020
Péssima montagem, é completamente confusa e mal feita. Trilha sonora é outro ponto péssimo, sem contar nas piadas fora de hora.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DargKanJun 23, 2020
Слава Шевчову, Слава Украине!
Slava Shevkhov, Glory to Ukraine! Славу Шевхова, слава Україні!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
YannickjgJun 21, 2020
Unnecesary long, over dramatic with senseless deaths. The topic was good but.... this movie could last 1 hour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DepressivoJun 22, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. é um filme mt estranho, nao se entende nem sobre o que é, politica, racismo, guerra,aventura ... nao sei to ate agr só passei tempo assistindo pra não dizer perda de tempo Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JedimindtricksJun 23, 2020
Above average and worth the wait. Probably won’t get a second viewing, but I liked it overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
TheKingBoysanJul 5, 2020
Had some good action scenes but still not a good film, bit of a stupid story. Story pretty much is GOLD we need the GOLD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CatalinaGuy2Jun 28, 2020
Tedious, muddled and very disappointing. I was looking forward to watching Da 5 Bloods but found it difficult to even sit through it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Wayfarer86Jul 9, 2020
Im giving this a zero. Not because it is a full zero. But because I am a spike lee fan and this is easily his worst film. The acting is sub par, the story is sub par and the way the media have tried to laude it as some sort of groundbreakingIm giving this a zero. Not because it is a full zero. But because I am a spike lee fan and this is easily his worst film. The acting is sub par, the story is sub par and the way the media have tried to laude it as some sort of groundbreaking important statement is frankly pathetic.

Dead presidents is a far better movie about black ex Vietnam vets turned to crime and is actually watchable. This is a poor effort and even white guilt cant redeem it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JgoldsworthyJul 9, 2020
Could have put some hairdye on those old men in the flashbacks. Looks like a bunch of old farts running around Vietnam. Was watchable at least!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews