Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 10, 2017
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 88 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
30
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
shpostalDec 9, 2017
A sequel to a movie I only attended because my wife thought it was funny. Normally she knows funny when she sees it, but in this movie I can not concur. Humor in Hollywood seems to be of two varieties - clever, subtle andA sequel to a movie I only attended because my wife thought it was funny. Normally she knows funny when she sees it, but in this movie I can not concur. Humor in Hollywood seems to be of two varieties - clever, subtle and innovative, or it's childish, predictable, and relies on truly stupid premises and appeals to the lowest common denominator of viewers, primarily those who dig cliched slapstick, potty and fart jokes or some combination of the two. It's kind of a situation where the writers think if the audience "gets" the joke, they think it's funny. I've known people who were otherwise very intelligent compassionate worthy folks whom however were totally lacking in a sense of humor. These are the types "Daddy's Home 2" I think is catering to - movies where people laugh because they think they're supposed to at the right places. John Lithgow should have known better than to touch this dog, as should, well everybody except Will Ferrell, whom, in my view, is one of the unfunniest people to ever claim to be a comedian. Mark Wahlberg and Mel Gibson, equal shame on both of you. The plot, if you can call it that, involves Gibson and Lithgow meeting their respective families and decide to have a single big family Christmas. Lithgow and Ferrell are ultra sensitive touchy feely wimps and Gibson and Wahlberg, especially Gibson, are the crude rough and ready types, or at least are supposed to be, but thanks to the weak script any opportunity for some real humorous conflict is passed up. Of course the movie is a hit - it's Christmas themed, and millions of people will try to celebrate the worst commercial greedy phony holiday of all by attending pathetic bait like this. But its very cliched primitive attempts at being funny ruined it before it ever started. Pratfalls and lame sight gags are the stuff of vaudeville and the earliest televised humor, along with the old movies where every joke had to be ten feet tall as humor in entertainment evolved. "Daddy's Home 2" singlehandedly sets truly funny Hollywood humor back to about 1920. At least then we didn't have to listen to the movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
22WZJan 18, 2018
'Daddy's Home' was not a bad movie. There where a couple of funny jokes, and solid gags. However, i would have never expected a sequel. Two years later, 'Daddy's Home 2' has arrived, and it's... not really good. Personally, this was one of'Daddy's Home' was not a bad movie. There where a couple of funny jokes, and solid gags. However, i would have never expected a sequel. Two years later, 'Daddy's Home 2' has arrived, and it's... not really good. Personally, this was one of the worst movies of 2017 I had seen. The jokes where not funny, the story was boring and not original, and I really just did not enjoy the film. The acting was not bad, but overal, the film is completely worthless. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
TiptilludropNov 15, 2017
Honestly this is just mediocre. It manages some few laughs but the majority is just cringing. I dont like the daddies at all and acting is so forced its unbelievable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
jellycriticNov 19, 2017
Imagine having a lovely, amusing FAMILY Christmas movie .. and then having guns in it. 10 year olds shooting someone and it being treated as funny. WHY? Sick.
It sums up all that is wrong with America. Shame on the Producers and
Imagine having a lovely, amusing FAMILY Christmas movie .. and then having guns in it. 10 year olds shooting someone and it being treated as funny. WHY? Sick.
It sums up all that is wrong with America. Shame on the Producers and Directors. Shame on you. Glad I don't live in the USA. 0/10
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
CerenzioNov 17, 2017
I laughed the entire movie. Right from the start. It's funny, less immature than the 1st (no penis jokes!), and has some heart. Great film. total surprise.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
MaanNov 15, 2017
I really can't believe the low critic score. I know the movie isn't for anyone, but it's hilarious. I think all the actors work really well with eachother and it's just a funny and in a good way lame movie. Just sit back, don't expectI really can't believe the low critic score. I know the movie isn't for anyone, but it's hilarious. I think all the actors work really well with eachother and it's just a funny and in a good way lame movie. Just sit back, don't expect anything and enjoy it. Great movie. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
moviereview9321Nov 12, 2017
Great Family Film! Manages to have a captivating story about what being a father means. Farrel and Wahlberg are comedic gold and Gibson plays the much needed voice of reason in all the craziness. If you're a fan of The Other Guys or lookingGreat Family Film! Manages to have a captivating story about what being a father means. Farrel and Wahlberg are comedic gold and Gibson plays the much needed voice of reason in all the craziness. If you're a fan of The Other Guys or looking for a good flick for the Christmas Holiday this is it! Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
tommyboy382Nov 12, 2017
Haven't laughed that long in a a long time. Mark Wahlberg hits this one out of the park and Mel Gibson is perfect as the Dad which makes Mark look inward. Great film
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
robertellNov 11, 2017
Madcap fun. the entire cast participated in the romp. It's a fun movie to see with family, and the kid actors are probably the bet part of the flick.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
RasaPNov 19, 2017
I enjoyed the beginning of the movie. Half of the jokes were funny to me. Then in the middle of the movie, there were several scenes that made me feel very bad. A little girl in the movie was very excited about killing animals. I feltI enjoyed the beginning of the movie. Half of the jokes were funny to me. Then in the middle of the movie, there were several scenes that made me feel very bad. A little girl in the movie was very excited about killing animals. I felt horrible watching that portion of the movie. If you think of it, if the little girl let's say killed the family dog, this wouldn't be celebrated by her family. But if she kills other animals, then her family celebrates it. This movie made me feel very bad. I recommend avoiding it. Had I known that these scenes would be in the movie, I would avoid it. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
moviecritic68Dec 20, 2017
As much as I enjoyed the original & looked forward to seeing this sequel , I can't begin to describe my bitter disappointment in this film. If you follow my critiques you know I rarely score in the negative zone but this was hard to sitAs much as I enjoyed the original & looked forward to seeing this sequel , I can't begin to describe my bitter disappointment in this film. If you follow my critiques you know I rarely score in the negative zone but this was hard to sit through. Take my word .... save your money Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeNov 10, 2017
Just in case you thought Daddy's Home was going to be a standalone installment, Daddy's Home 2 suddenly exists for no apparent reason whatsoever and ironically results in what the movie's actual tagline is. Are you still thinking "Daddy'sJust in case you thought Daddy's Home was going to be a standalone installment, Daddy's Home 2 suddenly exists for no apparent reason whatsoever and ironically results in what the movie's actual tagline is. Are you still thinking "Daddy's Home!" from this film's predecessor which is some useless dad-vs-stepdad battle-to-the-death somehow formed into a theatrical movie because the crew who worked on the previous film said so or do you just want to give up so bad because you can't handle all the dads and all the problems this film gives? Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
7
AcaciaNov 12, 2017
This is a very fun movie. It could have been called A Dads’ Christmas because it is all about dads. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg star as two dads who share custody of Wahlberg’s two kids. But, these dads are really good friends. TheyThis is a very fun movie. It could have been called A Dads’ Christmas because it is all about dads. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg star as two dads who share custody of Wahlberg’s two kids. But, these dads are really good friends. They decide to have a “together Christmas” so the kids don’t have to be shuttled back and forth between the two families. And, their fathers will be joining them all for Christmas. Mel Gibson plays Wahlberg’s macho man father while John Lithgow plays Ferrell’s oh so sensitive man father. Both fathers are fun to watch. Gibson is good at tearing down everything Wahlberg does. Lithgow, meanwhile, is always so proud of Ferrell. And, of course, things can’t go smoothly. Even when the two Dads are trying their hardest. I really had fun watching the antics of all the dads amd fathers as they try to navigate through the personalities and insecurities among them. Of course, there are times it is silly and stupid, but overall, I think it is lots of fun. And that is why you go see a movie like this. People are too hard on these kinds of films. They aren’t out to impress you or gain Oscar nominations, folks. They are made to make you laugh. And this one did! Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
BestplayerJeffNov 18, 2017
It is a so stupid that it's funny comedy that most people might laugh at and have fun with. Mel Gibson is the best part of the film with the best jokes and the Christmas setting will put everyone in the holiday spirit.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobNov 30, 2017
The first film was super funny, The second is almost as good. It was funny throughout and brought a lot of laughs. The plot could have been a bit better and they kind of lost me near the end of the movie with the stupid musical number. AsideThe first film was super funny, The second is almost as good. It was funny throughout and brought a lot of laughs. The plot could have been a bit better and they kind of lost me near the end of the movie with the stupid musical number. Aside from that, I liked it and would have no issue recommending it. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
Puggyiscool123Nov 29, 2017
It's abundantly obvious why the majority of the mainstream film critics hated this film-- it's diametrically in opposition to everything they stand for. It mocks "polite" society at the expense of those that insist that anyone that wouldIt's abundantly obvious why the majority of the mainstream film critics hated this film-- it's diametrically in opposition to everything they stand for. It mocks "polite" society at the expense of those that insist that anyone that would laugh at such things are unwashed vulgarians. If "There's Something About Mary" "Ace Venture:Pet Detective" "Dumb and Dumber" and "The 40 Year Old Virgin" were released in 2017, these same "woke" individuals would implore the masses to avoid them like a Trump rally. Bottom line, if you liked any of the aforementioned films, you are bound to find some genuine fun and laughs in DH2. Comedy is not my bag, I'm not easily amused by most media that defines itself as "comedy". I did have a good time with this flick. And unless you are a delicate flower or a snowflake, I think you will too. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
bfoore90Feb 25, 2018
Funnier and overall better than the original, the cast make this movie especially the kids, John Lithgow and Mel Gibson. I also really enjoyed Bill Burr's cameo in the beginning. Its not the best movie but I found it to be a vast improvementFunnier and overall better than the original, the cast make this movie especially the kids, John Lithgow and Mel Gibson. I also really enjoyed Bill Burr's cameo in the beginning. Its not the best movie but I found it to be a vast improvement over the original. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
YoloSwag4DogeFeb 21, 2018
As someone who thoroughly enjoyed the dynamic between Ferral and Walburg in The Other Guys and the first Daddy's Home, I quite enjoyed the first 3/4 of the movie. I laughed a number of times, but I found the over the top, emotionalAs someone who thoroughly enjoyed the dynamic between Ferral and Walburg in The Other Guys and the first Daddy's Home, I quite enjoyed the first 3/4 of the movie. I laughed a number of times, but I found the over the top, emotional relationship between farrel and his dad rather cringy. Mel Gibson's performance is kinda hot and cold. He essentially plays the role of an emotionally pent up, contempt prone, booze loving pick up artist, with Walburg being his main source of scorn. Mal talks one of the kids into getting a gun to shoot turkeys, but the kid changes his mind, only for his sister to eagerly pursue the activity instead. I actually liked this part, because it embraces the reality that some individuals like hunting whereas others don't. If a kid wants to do it, (and know what's entailed), I don't see an issue with the age. The movie has a lot of slap stick comedy and more over the top CGI moments similar to the last one, (which I loved). The end is what ultimately disappointed me. It got a little nuts, (to me), with the sheer amount of sappy emotional displays, especially among a crowd of people, that just seemed to go on and on. I would've liked to have seen the characters come to terms with one another in a little more realistic, down to earth fashion. Other than that, I actually thought the plot and comedy mixed really well together. It reminded me of a Lampoon's Christmas. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
maugeishDec 24, 2017
Will farell and mark walberg always perfectly fit together in comedy movies and I totally enjoyed this one. daddy's home 1 was already funny, but with their own dads it's even more funny. Totally underreated. It's a 10 out of 10.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerMar 1, 2018
The chemistry between Wahlberg and Ferrell is still strong. The material is just weaker this time around. Lithgow and Gibson fit in nicely, but why do these guys have wives again? They barely do anything in the movie and the whole setup feelsThe chemistry between Wahlberg and Ferrell is still strong. The material is just weaker this time around. Lithgow and Gibson fit in nicely, but why do these guys have wives again? They barely do anything in the movie and the whole setup feels like a thinly veiled homosexual relationship anyway. Why not just go for it? Get all progressive in the lowest common denominator comedy scene. Oh right, it would miss out on all those homophobia jokes. It's pretty funny for the same reasons the first movie was. The humorous back and forth has been upped from a twosome to a foursome. The more sensitive characters are still the butt of the joke the majority of the time, but Daddy's Home 2 doesn't miss out on taking some jabs at the more toxic side of masculinity. The comedy is often hindered though by some scenes of bad taste and moments more disturbing than risqué. An emotionally heavy bit at an improv comedy bar and the entire finale at the mall are really uncomfortable to watch. Daddy's Home 2 can still provide a modicum of entertainment thanks to it's simple, but usually effective brand of please all comers humor. There's no escaping that the third outing of the Ferrell and Wahlberg duo is more of a mixed bag than The Other Guys and the first Daddy's Home, but it's still going to be a suitable holiday rental for most families out there. Plus seeing Wahlberg and Gibson kiss is nothing less than one of the greatest moments in cinema history. "Pancakes, **** Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BrianMcCriticFeb 23, 2018
Nothing new or inspiring in the comedy genre, but it may be a fine watch on HBO. Most of the running jokes in the film fall flat only when you get a somewhat spontaneous scene can there be some laughs. C
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RalfbergsJul 7, 2018
Funny movie, funny actors, I thought it was decent, I get it some gave mixed scores, but definitely not negative, it was not that bad and if you did not like the first one you definitely wont like this then, so why bother watching it likeFunny movie, funny actors, I thought it was decent, I get it some gave mixed scores, but definitely not negative, it was not that bad and if you did not like the first one you definitely wont like this then, so why bother watching it like some did here?> Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DavidWasHereDec 11, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. **SPOILER ALERT**

One could argue that it's a very dadarific movie. That person is a fool! Without seeing the first installment of this exciting Daddy's Home universe, Daddy's Home is what one comes to expect from a Will Ferrell movie now-a-days. Loud screaming, impractical prat falls and slapstick that would have killed a man, cheap looking sets and production, and Will Ferrell acting like a man baby. All of which is topped with multiples plots crammed in there without any care of cohesion, and a Christmas movie that is the most cynical and un-Christmasy Christmas movie that ever Christmassed! There is something to merit about this movie though. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg do have some pretty good chemistry, as does him and John Lithgow, who fully commits to his goofy and naive roll. Mel Gibson is basically playing the devil (fitting casting) who comes in and **** **** up and laughs at the carnage in front of him, which has some reward, although it does wear out once you realize that the only thing that really works about his character is that Mel Gibson is in this roll. Give it to someone else and the daddy of Mark Wahlberg isn't all that special. But if there is a saving grace to this movie, it is the third act. Which...ooooh boy it's a duesy!

**SPOILERS START NOW**

So Mark Wahlberg is married to a new wife, who had a daughter in a previous marriage to John Cena, a mean and cold-hearted man, something that is hard to buy because while John Cena is a bad ass, I doubt he has a mean bone in his body. Anyways, a major conflict in this movie is that the character, Dylan, has a crush on a cute girl, but he doesn't know what to do. Will Ferrell, Mark Wahlberg, and Mel Gibson has three radically different advice that they share with Dylan. Both of those are important. At the third act, Will Ferrell calls up John Cena to mess with Mark Wahlberg, which causes conflict and thus starts the third act rift where everyone is super bummed. They all try to go back to their individual homes, until a snow storm hits them and they all take a detour at a movie theater. The power goes out and all the families and a crowd of people are stranded in a movie theater and all the conflict that each of the daddies have start to rise, until Dylan decides to make his move and go kiss the girl he has a crush on after Mel Gibson tells him to make his move. However, instead of the girl we think he has a crush on, Dylan ends up kissing his step-sister, smacks her ass, and says "You're welcome" to her! Yeah...that happened! John Cena is like "What the **** and tries to take his daughter out the theater, until Mark Wahlberg steps in and says that he loves his step-daughter, Will Ferrell, his ex-wife, his children, John Lithgow, not Mel Gibson that'll take a while, and John Cena because he created Mark's step-daughter so that mean he has to love John Cena. John Cena's masculinity starts to get in a bunch so he tries to get out of the theater, until Will Ferrell begins to sing the infamous Do They Know It's Christmastime to John Cena! All the family starts to sing, including Mark Wahlberg singing Bono's part that guilt the audience for being privileged. And this warms John Cena's heart! The crowd cheers! Such a happy ending despite the fact that Dylan sexually assaulted his step-sister!

Boy oh boy did that ending not make the movie for me! It's wrong but so bizarre and out of left field is totally works! This movie is garbage but that ending is a 10/10! Happy holidays!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
DavidTejadaDec 27, 2017
"Daddy's Home 2 is some of the WORST MOVIES of the year, still it barely shows the importance of the relation between fathers and sons" The movie itself provides the so-called "laughs" because it leaves the innocent person in ridiculousness,"Daddy's Home 2 is some of the WORST MOVIES of the year, still it barely shows the importance of the relation between fathers and sons" The movie itself provides the so-called "laughs" because it leaves the innocent person in ridiculousness, because showing more than 10 kisses in the mouth man-with-man is supposedly "funny", because hitting in the face and kicking people is the way audience catches the attention. AND FOR WHAT??? To make the main argument of the movie (having a good Christmans, the same as "Bad Moms" movie) significant. Also the way the production put children in the movie is nasty, COMPLETELY!!! Showing the audience (who knows if kids are there) that kissing many people and spanking girls is good /// Take a look on how far this movie went... If the first movie provided some OK laughs, then this movie gets worse because it doesn't even make you laugh at all. So instead of watching this movie it is better to you (if you're a parent) to educate your children about good habits, the importance of the family and christmans... definitely MUCH BETTER THAN WATCHING THIS PIECE OF **** (10%) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
mmadnessgamesMay 19, 2018
This is an awful movie. It's obvious that nobody involved in the production cared about the film... I was looking forward to seeing Mel Gibson - after such a long break from mainstream films - but he was the worst part of the entire film.This is an awful movie. It's obvious that nobody involved in the production cared about the film... I was looking forward to seeing Mel Gibson - after such a long break from mainstream films - but he was the worst part of the entire film.

This is a disastrous sequel.

John Lithgow and Will Ferrell are the only adult actors that actually try. Everybody else is WAY too aware that the film is garbage.

There are a few funny moments, but they are massively outnumbered by the scenes that don't work... at all.

The end of the film (the musical number) is one of the worst endings I have ever seen. So incredibly misguided. Basically, just an excuse to get Ferrell to sing.

The father/son kissing-on-the-mouth thing is stupid. Nobody does that. When Gibson and Marky Mark do it, it makes absolutely no sense.

This film SERIOUSLY sucks.
Worst film I've seen for years.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MonkiReviewsMay 4, 2018
I liked the first movie a lot, and this one is good too, but just not as funny and exciting. The actors in my opinion were good choices, each person casted fit the character they were acting as. The story itself was pretty cliché, but it doesI liked the first movie a lot, and this one is good too, but just not as funny and exciting. The actors in my opinion were good choices, each person casted fit the character they were acting as. The story itself was pretty cliché, but it does have some twists, but not enough. It felt like a bunch of other Christmas movies put into one. I think the ending was interesting too. A lot of the jokes were funny also, but at times some weren’t funny. I recommend this movie overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PoppaShaneNov 29, 2017
First of all, I'll be honest. Going to the theater to see a movie with Will Ferrellis not something I'd normally do. Since I let my son pick the movie choice, there in the cinema I sat. "Daddy's Home 2" is likely to wind up in heavy tvFirst of all, I'll be honest. Going to the theater to see a movie with Will Ferrellis not something I'd normally do. Since I let my son pick the movie choice, there in the cinema I sat. "Daddy's Home 2" is likely to wind up in heavy tv rotation during the holidays in future years. It very clearly draws on "National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation". That's not neccesarily a bad thing. John Lithgow is a comic genius. Both Lithgow and Ferrell use physical comedy to great effect. Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg use comic banter that is in the league of Abbott & Costello or Martin & Lewis. The scenes of banter, in and of themselves, are hilarious but are compensating for a somewhat weak storyline. The biggest laughs, I must say, come near the end of the movie. You'll remember the movie more for the individual scenes and less of the movie as a whole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
drone41Feb 11, 2018
Not god like first part, but it is still funny and interesting in some way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
imamomreviewerMar 8, 2018
Ok ok I thought this was appropriate for a 10 year old. But I guess not. It was inappropriate and made me gasp in horror. The jokes aren't funny, the entire movie is a cringe fest. But, if you like horrible movies, by all means, check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews