Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 11, 2014
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1281 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,123
Mixed:
108
Negative:
50
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RazorEyeJul 11, 2014
Nothing, absolutely nothing, in Dawn of the Planet of the Apes falls short of being amazing. An emotionally heavy and truly moving film, Dawn is an absolute marvel of modern science fiction, building upon the strong and unmovable foundationsNothing, absolutely nothing, in Dawn of the Planet of the Apes falls short of being amazing. An emotionally heavy and truly moving film, Dawn is an absolute marvel of modern science fiction, building upon the strong and unmovable foundations Rise of the Planet of the Apes had left earlier. With a plethora of solid characters from both ends of the tale, an explosive sequence of events and a rather poetic script, Dawn raises the bar for the Planet of the Apes franchise and other big-budget philosophical productions of it's caliber. Dawn really is something that deserves appreciation; few films in our day can only dream of achieving what Dawn has. A film that truly touches it's audience with heartfelt passion and remorse for humanity, Dawn is the kind of film that films as an art form and the film industry needs in general.

Both Rise and Dawn are thought provoking; films that challenge our perception of our very own species through another. However, Dawn triumphs more spectacularly in a way few films before it had done so; through unsolicited and unforced emotion and depth that makes Dawn a true modern science fiction classic, something that the original creators of Planet of the Apes would be very proud of.
Expand
39 of 56 users found this helpful3917
All this user's reviews
8
DirigiblePulpAug 20, 2017
An improvement on Rise, that film's sci-fi ambitions a tad undercooked. Here the focus is on psychology. Koba is a great villain, with a strong performance from Toby Kebbell who has some hilarious "playing" dumb-ape scenes that are perfect -An improvement on Rise, that film's sci-fi ambitions a tad undercooked. Here the focus is on psychology. Koba is a great villain, with a strong performance from Toby Kebbell who has some hilarious "playing" dumb-ape scenes that are perfect - until he becomes a simplistic power hungry mad hatter at the end. He was broken by the world and thought he was helping the apes, then suddenly at the end he becomes simply insane and angry. The other "villain", Gary Oldman, is vastly underwritten - in fact the humans are in general. This film is less about a rift between humans and apes then it is about Caesar realizing apes aren't just inherently good because they're apes and not humans. I wish the ending were tighter in general and the human dilemma equal to the apes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobNov 3, 2018
Visually impressive but the story is too generic and disappointing. The ending was just nonsense and I am disappointed that they wasted a quality villain in Oldman.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Jes1310Jan 26, 2015
Great film. The first of the new series was utterly surprising in a good way. I did´nt know what to expect. The second i knew what to expect, and I was very happy when I left the Cinema. Good story, acting usefull, effects great and overallGreat film. The first of the new series was utterly surprising in a good way. I did´nt know what to expect. The second i knew what to expect, and I was very happy when I left the Cinema. Good story, acting usefull, effects great and overall just plain good entertainment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 22, 2016
These new age Planet of the Apes films continue to deeply impress with me with equal parts brawn, brain, and beauty. Smart and impeccably well crafted, this installment's first half is a little weak at times, but the second half is unmatchedThese new age Planet of the Apes films continue to deeply impress with me with equal parts brawn, brain, and beauty. Smart and impeccably well crafted, this installment's first half is a little weak at times, but the second half is unmatched in recent times from war films. Honestly, this and its first installment have to be some of the best war films of this decade and up there for this century as a whole. Director Matt Reeves picks up where Rupert Wyatt left off with a beautifully poetic and stunningly crafted film about Caesar and the apes. Mirroring foreign politics on the brink of war in real life, all of those same problems and confusions are represented here with a deeply human and moving film the result. Neither side is good, neither side is bad. Instead, it is one big shade of gray with plenty of confusion on both sides. The cinematography and score are once more incredible. The special effects are fantastic and the fight choreography incredibly impressive. Many modern day blockbusters lack weight and an air of importance and "epicness". This one has it all in spades with a truly incredible film that packs a true emotional punch due to the trauma that can come from misunderstandings. Once again, the modern day Planet of the Apes delivers. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Jack_SunshineApr 6, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As an unashamed fan of the original Planet of the Apes films (which I once picked up for under a fiver), I am more than happy to enjoy this Sequel to the Reboot of the Remake of the Planet of the Apes. What’s been delivered is another entertaining film; almost, but not quite the equal of its predecessor, with a decent story and characters, and special effects at the top of their game.

An expedition of humans has ventured deep into ape territory with the intention of restarting a hydroelectric dam to restore power to the ruins of San Francisco. With a deep mistrust of humans at the very core of ape doctrine, the plan becomes a tense diplomatic mission as the humans and apes negotiate to avoid another brutal conflict and needless loss of life.

Caesar is played by master of motion capture Andy Serkis and amazingly, the motion capture was largely filmed on location in the forests of Vancouver, the CGI seamlessly integrated with live action. As a character, Caesar is rare among apes in that he was raised by a human and can see the good in them.

Our human hero is Malcolm (Jason Clarke), a survivalist and engineer, who is in charge of the expedition, but is not much of a leader. Neither is he a diplomat, but he is level headed enough to develop a relationship with Caesar, with whom they share a common goal which transcends the interspecies squabble – each has a family they would do anything to protect.

The real leader of the humans is back in San Francisco: the militaristic but pragmatic Dreyfus (Gary Oldman) who has already lost his family (he swipes through their pictures on a prominently placed iPad – in shops now!) and has little desire to understand or relate to the apes.

The previous director Rupert Wyatt is replaced here by Matt Reeves, who gave us found footage monster movie Cloverfield, where the tantalising excitement of citywide destruction just off-screen was undermined by the idiotic decisions made by the protagonists. There are shades of this frustrating characterisation here with one member of Malcolm’s team, Carver.

He is nothing more than a catalyst; right from the opening scene, where he shoots first and thinks later, wounding Caesar’s son Blue Eyes in the process, everything about him screams “I’m the **** who’s constantly going to jeopardise this fragile diplomacy” – which is barely saved from the brink of collapse more than once before the inevitable final showdown.

Koba fills this role for the apes, but he is a stronger character and an established personal rival of Caesar, who tries to corrupt the younger apes, including Cesar’s impressionable young son Blue Eyes.

We also remember the dramatic “No!” – The first words spoken by an ape in both Conquest and Rise, when Caesar flexes his vocal chords to deliver an ultimatum to the humans, but the apes here tend to converse in sign language amongst themselves. Perhaps they see spoken language as a hallmark of humanity, but they prefer to save their English skills to dramatically intimidate humans, reminding them that they share a level of intelligence which apes may even have surpassed with their sense of community. While the apes have built a new society from the ground up, the surviving humans continue to scavenge in the ruins of their decaying civilisation, relying on old technology.

There’s a great scene about halfway through the film. Power is restored to an old petrol station in the woods, and as it flickers into life a song plays from a stereo: The Weight by The Band, a song which is both religious allegory and an exploration of the music which flows from the American South. Its thematic relevance extends to include references to Judgement Day and the American civil rights movement.

Hearing recorded music and seeing artificial light, symbolic of humanity’s legacy, offers a spot of hope, which is inevitably undercut by the melancholy of the world lost and the inevitability of an impending finale, which I’m going to talk about now, so stop reading to avoid spoilers. Hey, I’ve already told you that they managed to get the power back on so Gary Oldman can charge his iPad.

The audience wants a fight, we’ve paid to see apes with machine guns, and a fight is what we get, courtesy of the hot headed Koba and unrelenting Dreyfus. Lamentably although hell inevitably breaks loose, credibility is stretched. The previously pacifist apes are far too good at using the machine guns they have only recently stolen from the humans.

We know the apes have both intelligence and physical strength on their side, but it’s hard to explain hold their own so well against the trained human guards. Ultimately, they overwhelm the humans with sheer numbers, when they might have concocted a strategic assault using some kind of unique and established ape advantage, such as their non verbal communication, or climbing ability.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
NoioonFeb 24, 2015
The only thing I didn't like in this movie is how everything goes wrong almost 100% of the time. I feel like it's an overused cheesy storytelling device where everything is going along just fine, then hey someone forgot to do this, or someoneThe only thing I didn't like in this movie is how everything goes wrong almost 100% of the time. I feel like it's an overused cheesy storytelling device where everything is going along just fine, then hey someone forgot to do this, or someone didn't do that. Of course in order to have a story you need conflict, but please... give me a good solid reason for that conflict to exist. One plot convenience is fine, but this movie was kinda rife with them. Still loved it 8/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
fracko333Jan 23, 2015
A sequel that is without a doubt better than its predecessor, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes proves to be the more mature of the two films. The tension between apes and humans is at its peak, even so, the desire to re-estabilish a unity isA sequel that is without a doubt better than its predecessor, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes proves to be the more mature of the two films. The tension between apes and humans is at its peak, even so, the desire to re-estabilish a unity is present in members of both nations, whilst others are ready to engage in an all-out-war. The result is an action-packed sci-fi delight, with a humanistic conflict at its heart, albeit the emotive themes are fairly cliché and the movie is predictable at times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
adronator98Jan 11, 2015
Absolutely the best movie of 2014. The CGI effects were unbelievable and Andi Serkis is able to act incredibly as Caeser. Acting is also top-notch and the story fits in well with both the prequel and the original films. Don't put off seeingAbsolutely the best movie of 2014. The CGI effects were unbelievable and Andi Serkis is able to act incredibly as Caeser. Acting is also top-notch and the story fits in well with both the prequel and the original films. Don't put off seeing this movie because the concept might sound 'silly' or if you are a Religious nut, because missing out on a film this great is just insulting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBAug 2, 2014
During " Dawn of the Planet of the Apes ", you get that sense of dread from the opening shot of the movie to the epic and breathtaking conclusion to this memorable sequel, where the Apes come to life on screen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Justin765Jul 23, 2014
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes occurs a decade after the events of the first film (Rise of the Planet of the Apes) and follows a band of survivors of who have endured a deadly viral outbreak. It chronicles the relationship between the humanDawn of the Planet of the Apes occurs a decade after the events of the first film (Rise of the Planet of the Apes) and follows a band of survivors of who have endured a deadly viral outbreak. It chronicles the relationship between the human survivors and a group of genetically modified apes led by Caesar. Through the evolution of the narrative events occur that leave the human survivors and the apes on the brink of war.

The cast includes Jason Clarke, Gary Oldman, and the wonderful returning Andy Serkis as Caesar. The acting is in all regard good, but where it truly shines is in the scenes where Clarke's character is interacting with Caesar. The chemistry between the two leads is compelling, thrilling, and aw inspiring. Particularly due to Andy Serkin's phenomenal video capture work. Gary Oldman is also fantastic, (per usual) and no actor's presence seems to detract from the film.

Director Matt Reeves is one of the undeniable factors that makes 'Dawn' so great. Reeves direction is smart, intuitive, and filled with dozens of engaging shots. Reeves hits the mark with almost every frame and this greatly affects the overall intensity and emotion of the film. The screenplay is also admirable for creating memorable dialogue even if some of it fells like exposition.

'Dawn' also exceeds in exhibiting interesting social commentary throughout. The film presents themes of racial tension in intellectual ways and this is greatly appreciated due to the much-needed depth it adds. These social messages help to create a great deal social relevancy propelling the film past just great Si-Fi.

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes improves over its predecessor in almost every way. From the stellar direction to the social commentary, 'Dawn" exceeds the summer blockbuster template to construct a film that is truly relevant while also being extremely entertaining.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
adpirtleAug 2, 2014
This eighth (!) picture in the Planet of the Apes franchise gives the original film a run for its money. Building on the aftermath of the last film, this movie places Caesar at the center of the story, and it's surprising how well it works,This eighth (!) picture in the Planet of the Apes franchise gives the original film a run for its money. Building on the aftermath of the last film, this movie places Caesar at the center of the story, and it's surprising how well it works, given that he and all of his simian costars are (wonderfully) computer generated characters. In fact, the only sleight I can give this otherwise wonderful picture is that the actual human characters feel much more artificial than the titular apes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ActionPlayerJul 28, 2014
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is incredible just shy of CG Nirvana. Its great plot twisting story keeps you on the edge of your seat most of the time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GriffMeliesAug 4, 2014
Although not as consistently entertaining as the first film, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes provides a deeper and more meaningful story with Andy Serkis upping his game and carrying his film to greatness. For a bonus the human characters areAlthough not as consistently entertaining as the first film, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes provides a deeper and more meaningful story with Andy Serkis upping his game and carrying his film to greatness. For a bonus the human characters are actually compelling. I give this film 88% of a good movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KongMarioBro1Aug 6, 2014
This movie was amazing from start to finish, with it's well done story, beautifully crafted message about war and there's no superior race no matter what you think, and the amazing visuals, seriously, I kept forgetting these aren't reallyThis movie was amazing from start to finish, with it's well done story, beautifully crafted message about war and there's no superior race no matter what you think, and the amazing visuals, seriously, I kept forgetting these aren't really apes, well done Matt Reeves, can't wait for the third one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
yeah90Aug 9, 2014
The storyline was absolutely fantastic. From the introduction of the movie, showing the near extinction of humanity to the final scenes; this film was packed with heartfelt characters and beautiful dialogue, and even leaves an open ending forThe storyline was absolutely fantastic. From the introduction of the movie, showing the near extinction of humanity to the final scenes; this film was packed with heartfelt characters and beautiful dialogue, and even leaves an open ending for a possible third movie, its so good graphics look good and its very interesting i recommended Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dragonfall123Aug 26, 2014
Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes is an amazing movie if you enjoy action movies then this is a great movie if you like story and tense moments then this is also amazing. I loved the film and think it's possibly the best film of 2014. TheDawn Of The Planet Of The Apes is an amazing movie if you enjoy action movies then this is a great movie if you like story and tense moments then this is also amazing. I loved the film and think it's possibly the best film of 2014. The moments when bullets are shot it's loud and you will most likely jump the movie is amazing and deserves the 10 . Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
YourOtherMotherFeb 1, 2015
Great film. Brilliant effects and very believable. I can't really think of anything bad about this film. It was very good and entertaining. Watch it if you can.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoSep 13, 2015
A very interesting movie though it's also slightly depressing. Then again, this is a planet of the apes movie. The first of these ended with a lecture on how we'll destroy the planet. So being depressing isn't exactly a surprise. But anyway,A very interesting movie though it's also slightly depressing. Then again, this is a planet of the apes movie. The first of these ended with a lecture on how we'll destroy the planet. So being depressing isn't exactly a surprise. But anyway, let's talk about the apes. Caesar was the best character because he had the most depth. Krona was also a good villain because he was really complex. Gary Oldman's character was interesting too. He obviously has a tragic past, and there's one scene where you feel sorry for him but at the same time, he's prepared to destroy the apes even when one of his own people tries to tell him that they aren't truly evil. It's a very good movie, one of the best of 2014. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MovieMasterEddyApr 7, 2016
‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’ Continues the Saga.

A quick montage at the beginning of “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes” fills us in on what has happened since “Rise of the Planet of the Apes.” Three years have gone by for us in the
‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’ Continues the Saga.

A quick montage at the beginning of “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes” fills us in on what has happened since “Rise of the Planet of the Apes.” Three years have gone by for us in the audience, and about a decade for the assorted primates on the screen. James Franco and millions of other people are dead, victims of a lethal virus and the usual apocalypse-causing disease of hubris. After a period of violence and chaos, the survivors have cobbled together a reasonably stable society in the ruins of San Francisco, with Gary Oldman in charge.

But this is not “Dusk of the Planet of the Humans.” The spectacle of yet another desperate population, huddled together in the wake of catastrophe to await the next zombie, alien, robot or monster attack, would be unlikely to inspire much excitement. The real interest lies across the battered Golden Gate Bridge, in Marin County, where our evolutionary cousins, under the benevolent guidance of an upright-walking chimpanzee named Caesar, have built their own civilization. In contrast to the bedraggled human colony, the ape encampment is a thriving city-state with distinctive wooden architecture, domesticated horses, a sophisticated (mostly signed) language and an educational system overseen by Maurice, the gentle, copper-furred orangutan who gave the first movie an extra fillip of soul.

The sylvan, simian Athens in the Muir Woods is a remarkable achievement and an important part of what makes “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes,” directed by Matt Reeves from a script by Rick Jaffa, Amanda Silver and Mark Bomback, the best of this summer’s large-scale, big-studio franchise movies. Granted, this isn’t a very high bar to clear: “better than ‘Transformers 4’ ” barely counts as praise, even with an exclamation mark. But unlike that toy-smashing extravaganza — and unlike 2014’s visitations from the “Spider-Man,” “X-Men” and “Godzilla” money trains — “Dawn” is more than a bunch of occasionally thrilling action sequences, emotional gut punches and throwaway jokes arranged in predictable sequence. It is technically impressive and viscerally exciting, for sure, but it also gives you a lot to think, and even to care, about.

Starting with the apes themselves. In the final credits, Andy Serkis receives top billing for his performance as Caesar, a role that continues to redefine screen acting in the digital age. His facial expressions and body language are so evocatively and precisely rendered that it is impossible to say where his art ends and the exquisite artifice of Weta Digital, the special-effects company, begins. The same is true of the other main ape performers: Karin Konoval (Maurice); Nick Thurston (Caesar’s son Blue Eyes); Judy Greer (Caesar’s wife, Cornelia); and especially Toby Kebbell as Koba, Caesar’s lieutenant and eventual nemesis.

Koba, a survivor of scientific experiments, bears the physical and moral scars of human cruelty. When the apes encounter a scouting party from the city (led by Jason Clarke and Keri Russell), Koba is quick to sound the alarm. The humans, about to run out of fuel, want to restore an abandoned hydroelectric station in ape territory, and they ask Caesar for help. Koba warns that people are a violent, duplicitous, predatory species that should be fought if it can’t be avoided.

Caesar, who saw the generous, tender side of humanity when he was hanging out with Mr. Franco and Freida Pinto, is willing to give our kind the benefit of the doubt. There is plenty of evidence — both in the movie and beyond it — to support Koba’s view, but the film comes down squarely, and maybe a little too squishily, on the side of tolerance and cooperation. The ape and human societies are parallel primitive patriarchies (women nurture and worry, while men lead and fight, a disappointing but hardly surprising failure of imagination on the filmmakers’ part), and they are threatened by symmetrical schisms. As Koba opposes Caesar, so does Malcolm (Mr. Clarke’s character) find himself increasingly at odds with Dreyfus (Mr. Oldman), who sees the apes as a mortal threat to be confronted with maximum brutality.

And while “Rise” found room for exuberance in the shadow of catastrophe — partly because it seemed so justifiably excited by its own ingenuity — “Dawn,” its title notwithstanding, paints a darker, scarier picture of the future. It also has a grave, brooding beauty, intensified by Michael Giacchino’s wild and subtle score and by the deep, verdant shadows of Michael Seresin’s cinematography. Mr. Reeves has a fine sense of visual detail and also of the eloquence of nonverbal exchanges between characters, digitally enhanced and otherwise. (Ms. Russell and Kodi Smit-McPhee, as her adolescent son, do especially graceful work in limited roles.) The film is full of small, memorable moments and crowded with distinctive personalities on both sides of the ape-human divide.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
FilipeNetoAug 22, 2018
"Planet of the Apes: Revolt" is the promised sequel to "Rise of the Planet of the Apes", both of which are based on Pierre Boulle's dystopic book. Now humans are a minority, a race facing extinction (what an irony!) that apes seem to be able"Planet of the Apes: Revolt" is the promised sequel to "Rise of the Planet of the Apes", both of which are based on Pierre Boulle's dystopic book. Now humans are a minority, a race facing extinction (what an irony!) that apes seem to be able to seriously threaten. The contact between them reminded me of the difficult and dangerous understanding between different communities when distrust prevails. We can imagine something similar in moments of our past, like the first contact between European navigators and indigenous peoples of the Americas, for example. Distrust, fear, displays of power to intimidation... the film shows these in a very interesting way, with the apes being very similar to us, in behavior and way of think. Unfortunately, the whole film is quite pretentious and full of self-importance: both sides have an exaggerated awareness of the relevance of events to their own community. This is the most boring point of the movie. The actors do a good job, but non-human characters get more interest and dominate the scene. Technically, the film doesn't deserve major criticism. CGI is more cautious than in the first movie and seems more real. Sequences of combat and action are breathtaking, certainly pleasing to those who seek action and adventure. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleJul 24, 2014
Far and away the best movie of the summer. It all goes back to storytelling. This crew didn't sit back and rest on its tech laurels. Serkis is amazing, but the writing and the directing are top notch. Remember the first Apes movie? Not inFar and away the best movie of the summer. It all goes back to storytelling. This crew didn't sit back and rest on its tech laurels. Serkis is amazing, but the writing and the directing are top notch. Remember the first Apes movie? Not in this franchise. The Tim Burton fiasco? We've come a long way, baby. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
PeteStaivJul 28, 2014
The best movie of 2014 so far. For two hours it immerses you into its atmosphere! Great characters, fantastic main plot, top notch CGI ... it is a must see!
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticJul 12, 2014
From start to finish had me on the edge of my seat. An amazing visual experience mixed a fantastic script and score. This film is a deeply emotional one as well you really feel for these characters. There is nothing not to like about thisFrom start to finish had me on the edge of my seat. An amazing visual experience mixed a fantastic script and score. This film is a deeply emotional one as well you really feel for these characters. There is nothing not to like about this film. A+ Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
orderJul 19, 2014
This is the best movie I have seen in 13 years (Training Day). Everything worked in this film to perfection, I would not have changed anything, this director did bloody awesome. It's a must see. 10/10 - and I have never giving anything a 10This is the best movie I have seen in 13 years (Training Day). Everything worked in this film to perfection, I would not have changed anything, this director did bloody awesome. It's a must see. 10/10 - and I have never giving anything a 10 in any reviews. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
rsheehanJul 18, 2014
I will make this short and sweet. Excellent movie. Has a little of everything in it. The acting is good especially what it takes to bring Caesar to life. After watching the making of Rise OPOA I realized how much went into creating a movieI will make this short and sweet. Excellent movie. Has a little of everything in it. The acting is good especially what it takes to bring Caesar to life. After watching the making of Rise OPOA I realized how much went into creating a movie like this. However, it's not just the incredible technology that brings this to life, it is the excellent story. Very touching, moving and thought provoking. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
sonyfanlocoAug 6, 2014
es una buena película con buenas ideas pero falto mas historia mas enfatizada en lo es pero tiene una buena historia buena trama la música suena bien pero tuvo algunas cosas que no estuvieron bien y me aburrí por eso pero lo demás fantastico
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
JamesIrish68Nov 25, 2015
Andy Serkis is something else isn't he...Caesar, his character was outstanding..the facial expressions, the movement and the atmosphere. The technology was first rate. Some of the mass ape movement scenes are nearly up there with Jaws forAndy Serkis is something else isn't he...Caesar, his character was outstanding..the facial expressions, the movement and the atmosphere. The technology was first rate. Some of the mass ape movement scenes are nearly up there with Jaws for menace. The non ape actors aren't too shabby either. Jason Clarke and Gary Oldman are on top form. There is a little anti war anti human moralising but its not laid on too thick..Great fun Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Fantastic) ...

The Good: While they are very different films, the sequel transitions flawlessly from the first and fits into the franchise perfectly. You get so used to the apes, that
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Fantastic) ...

The Good: While they are very different films, the sequel transitions flawlessly from the first and fits into the franchise perfectly. You get so used to the apes, that you forget that they are created with special effects. That is the mark of truly fantastic work and you can't help but be impressed. In films like this, it is easy for the human actors to fall to the wayside, but that does not happen here .. at least not with the leads. Jason Clarke's Malcolm believably connects with Caesar and forms a bond that I feared would not be achievable. It's a shame that Serkis won't get award consideration due to being a motion capture actor. He deserves it. The battles were intense and the film does a great job causing you to wonder if your favorite characters will live or die. Lastly, the film is very poignant and provides excellent social commentary without cramming it down your throat. A worthy successor, which is hard to come by these days.

The Bad: I gotta admit it ... scenes of monkeys, riding horses, wielding machine guns, and leaping through fire were among the more ridiculous scenes that I have ever seen. They were during some very serious moments, and I couldn't help but laugh at them. Some of the supporting cast was pretty cliche and forgettable. They also weren't well characterized and I didn't even see what happened to a few of them.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMay 27, 2015
After the pleasant surprise that was the first film of the new Planet of the Apes series, the expectations for the sequel, or middle part of the trilogy, were somewhat bigger. Thankfully, everyone involved was fully aware of that andAfter the pleasant surprise that was the first film of the new Planet of the Apes series, the expectations for the sequel, or middle part of the trilogy, were somewhat bigger. Thankfully, everyone involved was fully aware of that and delivered another smart blockbuster with a lot of vital commentary on the futility of war and violent conflicts. The film doesn't want you to pick a side too easily as hostility between the last remaining humans on Earth and the intelligent apes arise. There are decent and bad characters on both sides. This makes for an interesting ride, as the conflict spins more and more into chaos and there is little anyone can do against it, after a point of no return. Once again, the CGI is incredible, thanks to great motion capture acting and the accompanying special effects. Thankfully, the human actors are en par, especially Gary Oldman only takes two short scenes to make a strong point for being one of the best of his generation. The gloomy atmosphere, the great cinematography, it all adds up to an intelligent and pretty damn entertaining continuation of the story. If there is one complaint it would have to be that the ending is merely a cliffhanger for what's next in part three. But at least we all have something to look forward to. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodJul 11, 2014
Nothing is bad about this film. Characters are solid, likable and relative. Every side, weather Ape or Human, has an opinion backed by some, very, logical and understanding motives. The acting is superb all performances are top notch. TheNothing is bad about this film. Characters are solid, likable and relative. Every side, weather Ape or Human, has an opinion backed by some, very, logical and understanding motives. The acting is superb all performances are top notch. The over-all story-line is Sensational, does a great job bring out messages and themes that are relevant today within our changing society, also does a great job Humanizing the apes, their not just the bad guys (have never seen the original film, so im not 2 sure if they are seen with humanity).

Their are many other important points to add, but to the point, Dawn Of The Planet of the Apes is a Spectacular squeal that will go down as one of the greatest science fiction films of the 21st century.

10/10, yall **** need to watch this film :D
Expand
11 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
8
theofficeJul 13, 2014
Spectacular movie. Once you get over the little kids laughing at the apes you find the plot to be very deep and the characters all put in very tough situations. There was a level of drama in the film that I was not expecting. The action wasSpectacular movie. Once you get over the little kids laughing at the apes you find the plot to be very deep and the characters all put in very tough situations. There was a level of drama in the film that I was not expecting. The action was just the right amount and not overdone. I do think they rushed the transition from the first movie to the this one (a two minute montage of clips to show how the world went to hell) but other than that no real issues. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKJul 13, 2014
If you are looking for an action picture that is not totally mindless, this movie is a good choice. It’s a little too long and generates more cloying sentimentality than genuine emotion. Still it has enough action in a sturdy enough plot toIf you are looking for an action picture that is not totally mindless, this movie is a good choice. It’s a little too long and generates more cloying sentimentality than genuine emotion. Still it has enough action in a sturdy enough plot to keep the audience quiet. This was the first time CGI really annoyed me (has it reached its limits?) since the swarming apes, always shot from above, looked like swarming ants with identical ape decals pasted over them. On the other hand, digital makeup has improved enormously, or Andy Serkis is simply a genius at acting under these conditions. In the end, I couldn’t decide if the pessimistic philosophy that war is inevitable and neither humans nor movie apes will improve (exemplified by the selfish “apes” who must go out for popcorn refills in the middle of a movie in a packed theater) or whether this philosophy was just a cynical excuse for another sequel. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
7
quincytheodoreJul 11, 2014
Although the plot is predictable, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes combines great visual effect and refined motion-capture acting into an emotional spectacle. Much of the novel factor of Planet of the Ape franchise is how believably humane theAlthough the plot is predictable, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes combines great visual effect and refined motion-capture acting into an emotional spectacle. Much of the novel factor of Planet of the Ape franchise is how believably humane the apes can be, it's also a measure bar as comparing the movies of this franchise in order serves as prove of technology advancement. Andy Serkis has perfected a masterful interpretation of the ape-human mime hybrid. It's not an overstatement that the apes fare better and more convincing than the human counterpart.

Visual is splendid and aesthetically pleasing. It's not as extravagant as other blockbusters in recent time, but the art direction offers a unique appeal. Different than most grayish dire post-apocalypse setting, the movie turns to a more organic setting, a lustful return-to-nature background while some of civilization remains still stand tattered. Glossy urban areas have now coated with rustic flavor while the apes territory is leaning towards early civilization settlement. One is deteriorating while the other contrastingly and gradually improves.

The movie has one of the best uses of motion capture lately. Apes moves with fluid almost humanized motion even though some of the hunchback traits still persist. It's interesting to see such varied range of emotion that can be conveyed by the apes' while most of them only communicate with body language. Action sequences are well done; a couple of scenes are shot in very interesting point of view or continuous shot. It's a little heavier on action than the prequel.

However, the humans aren't nearly as intriguing. Jason Clarke as Malcolm, the engineer and leader figure does a decent job, but he's eclipsed by Andy Serkis' Caesar. He's not really an engaging lead role as James Franco was, and it's a bit underwhelming when the movie tries to compare the two together. Gary Oldman as Dreyfus works with what he has. Being a man with practically a thousand faces, he can pull off any role, but here his character is rather unexceptional.

The plot is a bit overused though; those who have seen Dances with Wolves, Pocahontas or Avatar will find little surprise. Granted, there's only so much this "two civilizations" premise could go and the movie does go for more mature outlook, but a lot of the scenes foreshadow any twist the movie could've had, even more so for those knowledgeable of the franchise. In the end Dawn of the Planet of the Apes does any movie strive to, it immerses the audience and makes them invest in the character's struggle. With the pace it's going the apes are here to stay.
Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
10
sicilia013Jul 11, 2014
Excellent movie, excellent history, and excellent visuals, I was hoping to enjoy something like this since a long time, totally surpass the previous planet of the apes.
12 of 20 users found this helpful128
All this user's reviews
10
chrismars8Jul 12, 2014
freaking monkeys and guerillas on horses with guns during an apocalypse setting o yea and gary oldman enough said about this awesome movie its a must see summer movie.
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
10
R18Jul 12, 2014
One of the most intelligent and entertaining big-studio releases of the summer so far, Easily it's one of the best of the year, It is amazing the most exciting, and powerful of all the Apes films.
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
8
JamesCannonJul 11, 2014
Good solid Film. Consider it an 8.5. It almost reaches the levels of praise that some reviewers are giving. Its a close masterpiece. I felt the climax and ending could have been handled a little differently. It almost happens so fastGood solid Film. Consider it an 8.5. It almost reaches the levels of praise that some reviewers are giving. Its a close masterpiece. I felt the climax and ending could have been handled a little differently. It almost happens so fast that you feel like the rug is pulled up from under you, because the film is just starting to hit a terrific pace that I did want to stop. The script is laced with all kinds of good allegories and you could read practically anything into this engaging and sometimes brutal tale. I stared in wonder on just how good the apes looked. It was incredible seeing them. The humans do get the short stick and there is no picture given on the events outside of San Fran. This sequel though has me looking forward to the 3rd film which I thought would never happen. I found first one mildly entertaining, but it is nothing like this one. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
SirKirbyThe4thMay 5, 2015
Such an amazing movie! If you can make monkeys on horses, guns blazing NOT funny, then you've done something right. It takes place during human extinction, wile apes & human live separately, & apes hate humans for what they've done to them.Such an amazing movie! If you can make monkeys on horses, guns blazing NOT funny, then you've done something right. It takes place during human extinction, wile apes & human live separately, & apes hate humans for what they've done to them. Its also one of the few times the sequel is better than the first, which is Rise of the... Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
vikesh2206Nov 21, 2014
Intelligent and provocative in all the right ways, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes expands on its remarkable predecessor with dynamic motion capture, well realized ape character arcs and a blatant and bleak social message.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
analogkid280Jul 13, 2014
A complete re-imagining of the movie "Battle for Planet of the Apes", this movie "Dawn" is exactly what the original creators of the first film wanted to do. That was until the Fox executives got their hands into the project and turned itA complete re-imagining of the movie "Battle for Planet of the Apes", this movie "Dawn" is exactly what the original creators of the first film wanted to do. That was until the Fox executives got their hands into the project and turned it into a virtual home movie and pilot for a failed TV series. It took 40 years but we finally have that great battle movie in our hands. The actors playing apes do an excellent job and you never once wonder if they are real or not you are just immersed in the film. The action and plot have many twists and turns and keeps you interested for the full duration of the film. I really love what these new movies do for the franchise giving it the credibility that the continuing 70's sequels could never give. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
SimpleMethodJul 14, 2014
The most entertaining, well told, socially conscious and aware films I've seen in a very long time. Loved the messages about the environment and gun violence. Wonderfully acted and shot, Dawn is a gem.
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Jul 12, 2014
Wholly crap! What an amazing film! The visuals were FANTASTIC, the characters were well realized, especially the apes, and the story is for the most part unpredictable and takes some not so heavy twists and turns that still present a strongWholly crap! What an amazing film! The visuals were FANTASTIC, the characters were well realized, especially the apes, and the story is for the most part unpredictable and takes some not so heavy twists and turns that still present a strong effect on the movie itself. There are really no plain and simple, black and white characters. As for the main characters (Caesar, Koba, Malcom and his family, even Dreyfus) present such three dimensional characters. Even for the supporting characters, they don't fully present three dimensional characters, but more of representations of different themes of characters that were used to see in movies. For example, you have a character that despises Apes for everything that's happened to the world when really he's afraid of this new world. Essentially, all the characters serve a purposeful role, three dimensional or not. In the end, it's a beautifully dark and exciting installment filled with beautiful cinematography, set pieces and fascinating characters (mainly Caesar and Koba). Overall, it's one of the greatest sequels of all time! I give this masterpiece an A+! Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
LTRJul 11, 2014
This movie is PERFECT! The story is great, the action is good, the music is good and Cesar is one of the best cgi characters of all time! You should 100% see this movie!
12 of 21 users found this helpful129
All this user's reviews
9
MattyiceJul 12, 2014
So far, this summer, movie wise, has been pretty meh. Some movies, like 22 Jump Street and X-Men stood out to be great films, but some have been poor. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is not only a great film, but a masterpiece that far exceedsSo far, this summer, movie wise, has been pretty meh. Some movies, like 22 Jump Street and X-Men stood out to be great films, but some have been poor. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is not only a great film, but a masterpiece that far exceeds all of its predecessors, from the original film to the good prequel Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is flawless in every way possible, from the plot to the CGI. The acting was generally solid, but nothing too special. However, Serkis is unbelievably good as Caesar once again and Toby Kebbell is even better as Koba. The plot created by Matt Reeves and co. is action packed, smart, emotional, and, in general, beautiful (for the lack of a better word). However, the apes were the stars of the show. Caesar, Maurice, Blue Eyes, and especially Koba were all great and each took on significant roles in the film. Lastly, the CGI. The effects in this film are the best I've possibly ever seen in a film. It was so realistic you would think the ape actors were in costumes. In general, this film is a must see this summer and easily turned an OK movie summer to a great one. This movie will make your summer. Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
4
ContinualAug 7, 2014
I'm sorry if you like this movie because to me the only people who could honestly have thought this sequel was good are the ones that are die hard fans. We've seen the premise of humans being killed off almost to extinction numerous times,I'm sorry if you like this movie because to me the only people who could honestly have thought this sequel was good are the ones that are die hard fans. We've seen the premise of humans being killed off almost to extinction numerous times, something refreshing would have been nice. The plot of this movie would get a C for attempting a mediocre plot. A movie about Apes and humans having conflict and then it's resolved but they still are going to war now (next movie) makes zero sense.....I enjoyed the 1st one but this movie had so many elements that i've seen before it just seemed stale and unoriginal. I left the theater think okay...so they dropped the ball Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
ThemfgamerAug 1, 2014
One of the best movie's i have watched. It really show's how the monkey's evolved from a normal functioning society where everyone follows the rules to a blood thirsty pack of monkey's looking for power. I was pretty angry when i found outOne of the best movie's i have watched. It really show's how the monkey's evolved from a normal functioning society where everyone follows the rules to a blood thirsty pack of monkey's looking for power. I was pretty angry when i found out that the main actor of the last movie wasn't going to be in the new movie. But the story and new character's really made up for the loss. 10/10 would watch again. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
TheFineBroJul 11, 2014
Holy! I can´t believe how good this movie was. The story is perfect, the writing is powerful, the acting is super strong,the pacing is intense, the action is actually pretty violent and brutal, the music is empowering and inspiring, and theHoly! I can´t believe how good this movie was. The story is perfect, the writing is powerful, the acting is super strong,the pacing is intense, the action is actually pretty violent and brutal, the music is empowering and inspiring, and the movie is s freaking emotional it actually made me cry, twice. Best movie of the year, probably to stay there. Apes on horses! Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
5
OhTheDerpJul 29, 2014
This is, without a doubt, one of the most boring movies I've seen all year. The action was incredibly short-lived when it actually occurred. I was hoping for an action movie, not a drama.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
Forza182Jul 17, 2014
If you make it to the 15 minute mark and aren't completely blown away, reconsider your life and stop watching films altogether. Breath-taking, intense and mesmerizing. This is coming from someone who utterly loathed the last film. Do notIf you make it to the 15 minute mark and aren't completely blown away, reconsider your life and stop watching films altogether. Breath-taking, intense and mesmerizing. This is coming from someone who utterly loathed the last film. Do not waste any more time, go and see Dawn of the Planet of the Apes immediately. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
Eon2323Jul 14, 2014
The visual effects were breathtakingly spectacular as you see the sweat dropping off the hair bristles of these intelligent apes. You learn something here about human nature and survival through these apes, and the end results will have youThe visual effects were breathtakingly spectacular as you see the sweat dropping off the hair bristles of these intelligent apes. You learn something here about human nature and survival through these apes, and the end results will have you already anticipating the third installment. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
franissavioJul 11, 2014
Went to this movie with low expectations but WOW it blew me off. Andy Serkins and Caesar was awesome. Dialogues were very good. Fight between Caesar and Kobo was kind a weak but overall an excellent flick to start monsoon season over here.
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
DumboMageeJul 12, 2014
This movie was an absolute masterpiece. The emotional content in this movie is astounding, I was completely blown away by the acting, story and visuals. The themes and messages are strong, this is not an action/sci-fi movie made for morons,This movie was an absolute masterpiece. The emotional content in this movie is astounding, I was completely blown away by the acting, story and visuals. The themes and messages are strong, this is not an action/sci-fi movie made for morons, it's sophisticated and intelligent. If you're a fan of dumb movies like Transformers this is not the movie for you. Truly one of the best sci-fi movies ever made. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
JAK00101Jul 12, 2014
AWESOME the only thing I wished was that movie tickets weren't for one time use. What the heck I'might as well go watch it again the only negative was not enough oo aa
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
Benjamite001Jul 11, 2014
Honestly, a masterpiece in the world of cinema. No film this year or in the past decade has been this profound (excluding Nolan films). Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is an Instant Classic!
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
Fincasey1Jul 12, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Expands greatly upon the first in several ways I didn't expect. Film makers have done such a great job of humanizing the apes in this film that you can emotionally connect to them so well, especially between caesar and his family. The story was very thought provoking regarding civil war and societal issues. Not sure best way to describe it, but it was very satisfying. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
7
jeremypJul 13, 2014
It's a better movie than the first sequel, and the CGI is pretty flawless, but in the end it's
Just another "humans screw up again" movie, with an added "noble savage"
theme tacked on. I think the critics like it because it's superior to
It's a better movie than the first sequel, and the CGI is pretty flawless, but in the end it's
Just another "humans screw up again" movie, with an added "noble savage"
theme tacked on. I think the critics like it because it's superior to most summer sci-fi crap. Andy Serkis is the best part of the movie, and he better get a nomination for it. His skill is in his facial expressions being so subtle, necessitated by having such little dialog.
Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
10
shcakupJul 11, 2014
Awesome, I watched the opening of this film like a wildlife documentary. Beautiful in every detail. To me this is the best CGI I have seen to date by far. To be drawn into a world and of rich characters that barely talk and have fewAwesome, I watched the opening of this film like a wildlife documentary. Beautiful in every detail. To me this is the best CGI I have seen to date by far. To be drawn into a world and of rich characters that barely talk and have few expressions is quite something. This will not be everyones cup of tea I am sure but if enjoyed the first you will not be disappointed. The relaunch of the franchise is the most successful in history, far outdoing the originals and sketchy Marky Mark remake. It manages to make the premise seem real. Can't wait for the next film. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
10
darkbeast119Jul 12, 2014
It was EPIC ,great story, great action, and very balanced in how it is told. Showing apes and humans can coexist but with a simple hatred and distrust can lead a all out war. dawn of the planet of the apes is a awesome sequel that deserves toIt was EPIC ,great story, great action, and very balanced in how it is told. Showing apes and humans can coexist but with a simple hatred and distrust can lead a all out war. dawn of the planet of the apes is a awesome sequel that deserves to be called the blockbuster film of 2014 and the acting was utterly superb too. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
9
chrisjones914Jul 11, 2014
This is by far the best and most entertaining movie that I have seen in a long time! Everything about this film is just dripping with intrigue, especially the opening sequence that shows the apes way of life and how they have adapted toThis is by far the best and most entertaining movie that I have seen in a long time! Everything about this film is just dripping with intrigue, especially the opening sequence that shows the apes way of life and how they have adapted to living! To me it was truly remarkable and I would recommend this film to just about about anyone! Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
0
fallcreatureAug 28, 2014
The film sucks. Its the same thing over and over again from other planet aps movies. The movie was not thought out well. They just stuck what ever they needed in their and it terrible.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
9
fantasyJul 13, 2014
Tremendous movie in which you truly care about the characters. The GGI is amazing as there is no other word for it. The acting especially behind the mask of Caesar is beyond riveting. The human characters all pale in comparison. When youTremendous movie in which you truly care about the characters. The GGI is amazing as there is no other word for it. The acting especially behind the mask of Caesar is beyond riveting. The human characters all pale in comparison. When you leave the theater you can't help but think that if everyone can reason with one another war is not inevitable. Unfortunately, all it takes is one rotten apple in this case KOBA to start a war. With DAWN the APE franchise is reborn. Can't wait to see where it takes us next. Charlton Heston would be proud. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
4
DemoraseJul 30, 2014
Not a bad movie per se, but at the same time there really is nothing interesting to this story. What's the takeaway, that different species will fight to protect themselves when they feel threatened, and violence is not nice? Because somehowNot a bad movie per se, but at the same time there really is nothing interesting to this story. What's the takeaway, that different species will fight to protect themselves when they feel threatened, and violence is not nice? Because somehow that wasn't obvious??

It may look like a smart movie, but at the end of the day it's really a dumb movie with no idea of what it's trying to convey. And it's boring, which critics seem to automatically confuse for deep and provoking.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
joyalJul 11, 2014
Awesome Movie,Mind blowing visual treat- Emotional and Beautiful filmed , Superb Sound effects and Marvelous Cinematography- Very Good Story And Acting plus Excellent Direction and Outstanding Visual Treat make This Dawn Of Planet Of ApesAwesome Movie,Mind blowing visual treat- Emotional and Beautiful filmed , Superb Sound effects and Marvelous Cinematography- Very Good Story And Acting plus Excellent Direction and Outstanding Visual Treat make This Dawn Of Planet Of Apes is a Blockbuster Film of 2014!! LOVED IT -GO FOR IT..!!!! Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
MJKPSTANJul 17, 2014
AMAZING POWERFUL STRONG EXTRAORDINARY!:). SO FREAKING GREATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT. Such a great sic-fi movie. BEST MOVIE OF 2014 HANDS DOWN. 9.810.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
victorhjklJul 27, 2014
Incredible movie, it surprises me in all the ways, the action as well as the drama scenes are amazing and the characters are touching - both, humans and apes! - the special effects, scenery it is all awesome. There are great actor like JasonIncredible movie, it surprises me in all the ways, the action as well as the drama scenes are amazing and the characters are touching - both, humans and apes! - the special effects, scenery it is all awesome. There are great actor like Jason Clarke and Andy Serkis, and we can't forget about the incredible direction of Matt Reeves. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscJul 15, 2014
" Dawn of the planet of the apes is a Miracle for 2014". We all seen Tim Burton's version of Planet of the apes but now comes a new chapter of basically the exact story but much different from Burton's theory of the story. Grade A
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
F_C1992Jul 14, 2014
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is a riveting, well-layered, intelligent and emotional film that will please fans and audiences looking for an evening's entertainment. Easily it's one of the best of the year, and not just a summer year.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJul 25, 2014
Dawn of The Planet of the Apes continues the tradition of great, classic re-imagining of the Apes franchise. No more 'cheesy' makeup..with this installment, the apes are rendered with the help of mo-cap, to incredible life like detail. SerkisDawn of The Planet of the Apes continues the tradition of great, classic re-imagining of the Apes franchise. No more 'cheesy' makeup..with this installment, the apes are rendered with the help of mo-cap, to incredible life like detail. Serkis proves himself as one of the greatest actor since Lon Chaney, hiding his features under digital 'make up' to deliver a great performance as Ceasar, the leader of the apes. His performance is so remarkable that you'll be swept away in this tale. While it touches the 'usual, cliched' storyline in typical clash of civilizations type of film, it is a great blockbuster filled with great characterization and spectacle. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
bmaster4616Jul 15, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of my personal favorites of this year. The year started off rocky, but has blossome into a great year. With the few exceptions of Transformers, Divergent, and AMWTDITW, this year has been quite a success. To me it a more successful year than last year.

This movie takes place years after the Rise of the Planet of the Apes and is ten times better. Of course the "end of the world fanboy" in me was getting all hyped up for this movie and it didn't disappoint. Everything in the movie was pretty good, expect for the CGI at parts, but luckily CGI doesn't make a movie bad or good. Thoug at some parts the CGI was one of the best I've ever seen. The story is what got me hooked though. It really tells the tale of the struggles of a virus that almost wipes out the human race. The movie starts of slow, but it's mainly building up tension that builds joe between three groups. One ceaser is (spoiler) shot by Koba, all help breaks loose. The story is not totally comeplex and is quite a rehash, but they execute it perfectly. The acting is also fantastic by the lead human and it really shows the terrifying natur of the apes. Overall the movie is defiently worth seeing in theaters. 9.3
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
franticvikeSep 9, 2014
Saw this a while ago and never bother to look at the reviews. Absolutely astounded to see this so well reviewed. Thought it was punishingly horrible piece of pseudo psychological garbage. You almost couldn't write a more hackneyed scriptSaw this a while ago and never bother to look at the reviews. Absolutely astounded to see this so well reviewed. Thought it was punishingly horrible piece of pseudo psychological garbage. You almost couldn't write a more hackneyed script for this post apocalyptic universe. Oh the apes are like us, they have thoughts and feelings and there are "complex" issues in their society. Oh no, an accident, oh no betrayal, oh yay redemption. Really, this is a terrible movie. The effects etc are decent but don't waste your time or money. Chef, or Most Wanted Man, from what I've seen, are far superior. Heck even Guardians has a more compelling story for my money. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
5
mrniceAug 10, 2014
It aims for spectacular action and set pieces, and achieves that to a large extent. But I didn't find the story as interesting as in 'Rise...' because now the main developments have played out in the earlier film (where it was superIt aims for spectacular action and set pieces, and achieves that to a large extent. But I didn't find the story as interesting as in 'Rise...' because now the main developments have played out in the earlier film (where it was super interesting to see how apes could plausibly become super-intelligent and escape captivity), and the story left to 'Dawn...' is how things escalate from there. Which is pretty easy to imagine. Some humans and some intelligent apes have a conflict and it escalates. No matter how much action and drama you push along with such a story, it's limited in its potential. I had fun interpreting it as a metaphor for the Iraq oil invasion though. Although an insane interpretation, it fitted so well for the first half of the movie. And if seen as propaganda against Islam, the movie gets the subtext it otherwise lacks. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
FrankTCastleJul 22, 2014
The movie is fantastic, seeing how far the Ape society has grown and evolved then how far humanity has fallen and to see each of them struggle together and against one another is amazing. Very well acted by everyone, looking forward to theThe movie is fantastic, seeing how far the Ape society has grown and evolved then how far humanity has fallen and to see each of them struggle together and against one another is amazing. Very well acted by everyone, looking forward to the next installment. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
AGarcia732Jul 15, 2014
Score: 7.5

"There is no dawn without darkness." Or was it, "the night is always darkest before the dawn"? Oh well. My point is...what was my point again? Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is a good movie. It has received "Universal
Score: 7.5

"There is no dawn without darkness." Or was it, "the night is always darkest before the dawn"? Oh well. My point is...what was my point again?

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is a good movie. It has received "Universal acclaim" from Metacritic users. I don't like to be negative--especially with such a highly-praised movie--but I do have a few complaints. One, the humans. I think all the humans should've had a bit more development. One person I have specifically in mind when I say that is Dreyfus (played by Gary Oldman), leader of the remaining human survivors--who are somehow immune to the virus. (Exactly how are they immune?) Anyway, he had much less screen time than he deserved. The only real insight into his history is a picture on an iPad screen. The rest of the humans don't mention much about their history and past, except for snippets we learn in conversations. Two--the collapse of humanity is not really shown. I get that apocalypses and utopian/dystopian worlds have been done MANY times in all kinds of media--books, movies, TV, etc. But I would've liked to see more of what was left of the human world. On the plus side, a growing ape civilization IS shown. That's definitely unique and original. Three, we don't see much of what happens 10 or so years after the virus spreads. Well, we know--but we don't see much except for a quick montage. I would've liked to see more. The transition from the first film to this sequel is a bit too quick. And, four, I honestly would've liked to have seen some of the cast from the first film in the sequel (especially Dr. Will Rodman played by James Franco). All of these four suggestions could have easily been done through flashbacks throughout the film. But, I don't want anyone to mistake my suggestions for criticism. Because after many disappointments this year, I'd say this is definitely not one of them.

The movie accomplishes what many films probably couldn't. Like making you be drawn to the apes, a species who are still developing and learning. (They're still getting the hang of talking. But when the apes do talk, it mesmerizes you.) This film manages to make you pray that not one bullet is fired by the apes or humans. Because one bullet could set aflame the tension, animosity, and suspense between the two species and could lead to war. But it seems war is inevitable, and someone is bound to screw up and ruin the fragile peace between the apes and humans. The film has superb CGI, as pointed out by many.

The film is good...but I feel "Rise" was better. I don't know why. Despite all that "Dawn" has going for it (those four small suggestions weren't really an issue), I didn't connect on a certain level with Dawn. I feel like Metacritic user "jyeager11". I quote his review, "Could the addition of writer and Executive Producer Mark Bomback have negatively impacted the end product that much? I'm not sure. I wasn't there. And it's not like 'Dawn' is a *bad* movie. There's a lot about it I enjoyed (...) there's nothing technically wrong with this movie (... ) But there's nothing there that makes me likely to purchase a physical DVD copy anytime soon."

So, I liked Dawn of the Planet of the Apes. But I think certain things should've been expanded on a bit. Overall, it's a good film missing a FEW things IN MY OPINION. This sequel leaves me anxiously waiting for the next film in this series. (Maybe the apes are more evolved, talk fluently, and begin to emerge as Earth's dominant species?)

If you liked this review, read my other ones on movies, TV shows, and videogames. I have reviewed the 2014 films Transformers: Age of Extinction, Edge of Tomorrow, X-Men Days of Future Past, Godzilla, Blended, The Amazing Spider-Man 2, Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, The Lego Movie, and more. I am actually still trying to find time for other film reviews, such as Robocop, Non-Stop, Divergent, Need for Speed, The Monuments Men, etc. I also review TV shows, such as Fox's "Sleepy Hollow", ABC's "Marvel's Agents of SHIELD", CW's "The 100", Fox's "I Wanna Marry Harry", NBC's "Crisis", Fox's "Gang Related" and more.

Good bye! Sincerely, AG732.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
MateusNesiJul 28, 2014
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is definitely an awesome movie, I wouldn't say it's better than Rise of the Planet of Apes but, indeed, it's a movie that you can't miss. Everything looks amazing, writing, soundtrack, the acting, but speciallyDawn of the Planet of the Apes is definitely an awesome movie, I wouldn't say it's better than Rise of the Planet of Apes but, indeed, it's a movie that you can't miss. Everything looks amazing, writing, soundtrack, the acting, but specially the CGI, the details on Koba's face were extremely real, not to mention the fur. The story is very well written and developed, It also brings out messages that are very relevant nowadays. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
mrmonsterAug 16, 2014
Pure awesomeness. Believe me, this movie is everything you want from a good science fiction action movie, especially the battle scenes. And the CGI was stunning. Trust me, you want to see this movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
dev92Jul 24, 2014
Absolutely phenomenal, the first thing to be noted about this film is just how good the visual effects are. To be honest after the initial wow factor you completely forget that the apes aren't really actors. They look fantastic in theAbsolutely phenomenal, the first thing to be noted about this film is just how good the visual effects are. To be honest after the initial wow factor you completely forget that the apes aren't really actors. They look fantastic in the different weather scenarios. Only when you see an animated bear and an animated monkey do you feel like you are watching some moving pixels. The story itself is extremely gripping, an emotional roller-coaster which could be deemed a little predictable but at the same time has enough about it in terms of imagery and great directing to get away with any obvious twists or turns. A wonderful movie which might be hard to top in the next instalment. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ForeverFallingSep 13, 2014
Absolutely LOVE this movie. The special effects are some of the best ever and the motion capture work is groundbreaking. On top of that you get a great story and solid acting from both the monkeys (Andy Serkis is always fantastic) and theAbsolutely LOVE this movie. The special effects are some of the best ever and the motion capture work is groundbreaking. On top of that you get a great story and solid acting from both the monkeys (Andy Serkis is always fantastic) and the humans. Its also very moving at times and has a lot of emotional depth. An altogether smashing sequel that is to Rise of the Planet of the Apes what The Dark Knight was to Batman Begins. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Pazzo7Oct 18, 2014
Lets just start with the word WOW,ok ? This was one of the most awesome,thoughtful and enjoyable movie of the year. Many critics have bashed it for being a bit clichéd or because of other reasons but I have to say that I loved the movie. ILets just start with the word WOW,ok ? This was one of the most awesome,thoughtful and enjoyable movie of the year. Many critics have bashed it for being a bit clichéd or because of other reasons but I have to say that I loved the movie. I watched it in 3D because the town there I live in was no option other than 3d so I watched it in 3d.I thought was going to be dead for me already because for what I know from my experiences 3D is just a way to gain more money at the box office by offering the viewers a device to watch the film thats gonna ruin the experience. Luckily it didnt happen with this one. I am glad it didnt and I am actually happy,kind of,that it screened in 3d because the 3d enhanced the feeling for this movie.The 3d format was vivid and it actually add to the involvement of the story. Talking about the story. The story was really really good and I am surprised to say this because I didnt expect this movie to impress,surprise and entertain me so much. The key elements like the action,the pacing and story were done really well. What I found most interesting was the character development. Every character was treated so well I thought I was dreaming because you dont expect this from a summer movie. This summer movie though,for me, I felt it was done with passion and dedication. It is a great movie and it is one of the year's best ones. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RoraEstJul 24, 2014
The opening looks like "World War Z" promising thing. Then, it turns out the flu thing was not the main of the movie. The CGI monkeys were amazing. I wish the future Jurassic World #upcoming will learn from this movie. The drama plot isThe opening looks like "World War Z" promising thing. Then, it turns out the flu thing was not the main of the movie. The CGI monkeys were amazing. I wish the future Jurassic World #upcoming will learn from this movie. The drama plot is really move my heart. It's a breath-taking. Until the end, me and my bf still wonders who's the name of Caesar first son. Which means, the plot was made enchant us. It's an epic story and so many moral views I discovered. There were kids just went out from previous showtime before me, and they just had this remarkable 'deep conversation' of this movie. These kids learned well. Or, the movie gave them a flawless show. Two story-sides in the whole one time show, and the ending was showing the 'pretty much' misunderstanding reason of world war could began. How original... but, still it's a fact from reality situation of our world war, now. It really has the same great quality with the first movie. I mean, come on, people, this second movie even gives us the details and new stuffs. New and best stuffs. While in the middle of the screen, I got this feeling, "It feels like I watch LOTR:The Two Towers. I found amazing CGI and amazing new storyline." THAT's WHAT WE NEED FROM SEQUEL QUALITY!!!!

As I said before, if you guys think this movie lack of something, it must be the thrilling of human being chased by the monkeys, right? My favorite part was the building hide and seek, but as I said before, too short scene. If there still flu victims who still struggle to be alive, I bet this movie could get 10 points from me. But, those my wild-mind plot got paid by Gary Oldman heart-breaking crying scene. :'"((((

GIVE GARY OLDMAN AN OSCAR!!!!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AmorrisAug 3, 2014
HOLY ****, you must see this movie. It's the blockbuster of the decade. The effects, acting, cgi, are all outstanding. If you haven't seen this movie yet. STOP what you are doing and find it now!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
NoahVSAug 25, 2014
This film portrays acts of betrayal, decisions, trust, and friendship. It is a interesting film about apes. It is a must-see for anyone who likes or is interested in apes. The Plot is unique and the music is amazing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
horcrux2007Sep 2, 2014
Matt Reeves has done it again. I can't believe this movie was as good as it was! It was action-packed, emotional, and enjoyable. It doesn't just focus on the impending war between the apes and the humans, but it focuses on the interactionsMatt Reeves has done it again. I can't believe this movie was as good as it was! It was action-packed, emotional, and enjoyable. It doesn't just focus on the impending war between the apes and the humans, but it focuses on the interactions between the humans and apes, which results in a very emotionally intense film. It also had great acting from everyone (apes included) and some beautiful cinematography. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Redbull55Oct 18, 2014
Good film great plot Oscar winning acting must see film I think it is the best film of the year and it will be very if not impossible to beat I loved it
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Movi3R3vi3werNov 27, 2014
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes does what The Dark Knight to Batman Begins, it improves upon the first on every single way possible and even surpassed my expectations. This is one of the best movies of 2014.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
jwarkDec 7, 2014
On the verge of being a cash grab. It was pretty uninspired compared to it's predecessors. I feel like I'm over rating it giving it a 6. It's only because I'm such a huge fan of the story that I gave it a 6. I really hope this downward trendOn the verge of being a cash grab. It was pretty uninspired compared to it's predecessors. I feel like I'm over rating it giving it a 6. It's only because I'm such a huge fan of the story that I gave it a 6. I really hope this downward trend in quality doesn't continue. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BlaKDemonaZJan 3, 2015
Sou um pouco suspeito para escrever sobre, pois sou muito fã de toda a série de filmes do Planeta dos Macacos. Acho essa nova série muito boa, na verdade, supera a original!! Esse segundo filme eleva ainda mais o nível da série e deixa aSou um pouco suspeito para escrever sobre, pois sou muito fã de toda a série de filmes do Planeta dos Macacos. Acho essa nova série muito boa, na verdade, supera a original!! Esse segundo filme eleva ainda mais o nível da série e deixa a expectativa lá em cima para a parte 3. Esperando ansioso. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
jyeager11Jul 12, 2014
Saw it last night...

I loved 'Rise' but despite its great reviews, I left 'Dawn' feeling a little hollow. While this movie is set in the same world as 'Rise', I personally did not see much of that movie in this one. So I looked up the
Saw it last night...

I loved 'Rise' but despite its great reviews, I left 'Dawn' feeling a little hollow.

While this movie is set in the same world as 'Rise', I personally did not see much of that movie in this one. So I looked up the credits, and to my surprise, noticed the writing and production are being handled by the same people in both movies... with the exception of Mark Bomback, who has been added as both writer and producer.

The most prestigious names in Mark Bomback's writing resume are Live Free Or Die Hard (2007), and the Total Recall (2012) reboot. As for his producing resume, I'll spare you (it's worse).

6 different production companies were involved with 'Rise'. Only one – Chernin Entertainment – is listed for 'Dawn'. While one would expect the latter to tell a more focused and enjoyable film, it's actually 'Rise' that felt more fleshed-out and cohesive. That first movie was an unexpected hit. It pleasantly surprised everyone by being a cut above the generic fare that Hollywood has been giving us since the 90's ended. The writing, the directing, the photography... it felt like a lot of very talented people got together and really, really tried for that one. I did not get the same sense here.

Could the addition of writer and Executive Producer Mark Bomback have negatively impacted the end product that much? I'm not sure. I wasn't there. And it's not like 'Dawn' is a *bad* movie. There's a lot about it I enjoyed (beginning with Caesar's facial expressions) but as with movies like Maleficent, Oblivion, Noah, Immortals, 300 Rise of an Empire, etc. there's nothing technically wrong with this movie. I enjoyed them all on different levels. But there's nothing there I'm likely to purchase a physical copy of anytime soon.

It seems Hollywood never intended to launch a new Apes trilogy. They had a wonderful idea to create a prequel, and it worked. We could have very easily transitioned from 'Rise' to either of Heston's or Wahlberg's Planet Of The Apes movies. But it became a commercial hit, so we have to squeeze 2 new chapters in there before the Apes truly take over.

That's how this felt. Milk this cow dry for another 2 chapters, and then what? We'll have caught up to the timeline where the Apes rule the world. Will they leave well enough alone? Of course not. They'll probably film an entirely new trilogy set in that world, effectively rebooting the entire thing.

Though I wouldn't call 'Dawn' a bad movie, I fear we are currently witnessing the Transformers-ification of the Planet Of The Apes franchise. So enjoy this one while you can, because something tells me these will become increasingly soulless with every chapter.

Just like a certain other franchise.
Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
10
Tyray23CenaSuckJul 11, 2014
Great, amazing, exciting, epic, smart, and emotional all in one terrific masterpiece is what Dawn of the Planet of the apes is. Its quite simply the best movie I have ever watched.
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
7
Fluid_DynamicsJul 12, 2014
You'll be thinking the entire movie that some of the characters should be saying:

"Damn! I'm soo thirsty!! Especially since, not one of us have had any food or water for an entire week, and a few of us have lost a lot of blood. Am I
You'll be thinking the entire movie that some of the characters should be saying:

"Damn! I'm soo thirsty!!
Especially since, not one of us have had any food or water for an entire week, and a few of us have lost a lot of blood. Am I right? You're thirsty too right?"

Very enjoyable movie, although we thought Edge of Tomorrow was surprisingly even better. That movie will have a long tail.
Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
2
SmartGunJul 21, 2014
Tell me how it ends. After an hour of cheesy dialog, foolish storytelling and uninteresting characters my wife and I left the theater laughing at the waste of our time and money. Understand that there is a climactic battle between men andTell me how it ends. After an hour of cheesy dialog, foolish storytelling and uninteresting characters my wife and I left the theater laughing at the waste of our time and money. Understand that there is a climactic battle between men and apes ---- hopefully a battle of mutual destruction so that they can't make a sequel. Really bad movie. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
10
Werty11rJul 14, 2014
Now that's what I call a quality movie. Excellent visuals and a story to back it up. This movies so good that I don't even need to have 150 characters to explain it.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
Axl17Jul 12, 2014
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is a riveting, well-layered, intelligent and emotional film that will please fans and audiences looking for an evening's entertainment. Easily it's one of the best of the year, and not just a summer year.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
zin814Jul 14, 2014
I must say that this is the first movie made me feel so emotionally touched, it's a masterpiece with all needed factors to make me and everyone else think about what humans are doing to animals and the price we'll have to pay for that in future
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
3
aztecinkcJul 28, 2014
Nothing could have prepared me for the dazzling special effects and CGI. Unfortunately, nothing could prepare me for the trite story, wooden acting, faux-Shakespearean melodrama, and overly-long set pieces. Apparently, our collective bar forNothing could have prepared me for the dazzling special effects and CGI. Unfortunately, nothing could prepare me for the trite story, wooden acting, faux-Shakespearean melodrama, and overly-long set pieces. Apparently, our collective bar for what passes as truly remarkable has dropped so low that this film could dazzle so many watchers. Not for a second did I buy the anthropomorphizing of the apes. And the vocal track almost made me long for that unbearable Bane v.o. A mess from start to finish, and sure to be a huge hit and produce an endless number of sequels (Transformers anyone?) Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
4
ScribeHardJul 11, 2014
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is a film loaded with ideas, and good ones. It has good ideas about themes. It has good ideas about characters. It has good ideas about messages. But those themes and ideas and messages have all been doneDawn of the Planet of the Apes is a film loaded with ideas, and good ones. It has good ideas about themes. It has good ideas about characters. It has good ideas about messages. But those themes and ideas and messages have all been done before, and not only better, but fuller. Once this film sets up its initial framework, it ignores better and fuller and instead relies on its VFX and apes the hollow action films that have come before it. Expand
11 of 25 users found this helpful1114
All this user's reviews
0
rrrrrrAug 8, 2014
I can't believe the reviews are so high, it doesn't make sense. I feel asleep at one point because it is so slow. Rent if you must see it... the director and scriptwriters haven't done their job. Everything rests on the VFX and simulationI can't believe the reviews are so high, it doesn't make sense. I feel asleep at one point because it is so slow. Rent if you must see it... the director and scriptwriters haven't done their job. Everything rests on the VFX and simulation crew who make this movie watchable for 10 great minutes. Then we go off into cliched character doing predictable things except for the main character… Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
6
ivan_terribleAug 9, 2014
I was expecting a good storyline, but it's not. Maybe I belonged to old generation because i found this movie a bit boring, not enough tensions and not enough character developments. I think probably this movie was targeting young genders. II was expecting a good storyline, but it's not. Maybe I belonged to old generation because i found this movie a bit boring, not enough tensions and not enough character developments. I think probably this movie was targeting young genders. I still like the prequel better than this. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
Filmwatcher123Jul 20, 2014
If you are a fan of Rise of the POTA you will definitely enjoy this movie. The story is much more lively and the expressions and animation on the apes makes for tense viewing despite the CGI. In most places the CGI is very impressive, withIf you are a fan of Rise of the POTA you will definitely enjoy this movie. The story is much more lively and the expressions and animation on the apes makes for tense viewing despite the CGI. In most places the CGI is very impressive, with only a few minor bumps here and there. The acting all around was great from both the mocap cast and the physical cast, dividing sympathy equally between the apes and the humans. All in all i feel this movie is a classic in it's own right and really captures the struggles and complications with leading a civilization at difficult times whilst trying to keep your humanity and dignity. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
GreatMartinJul 11, 2014
Comes February, 2015, an ape may win the Best Actor Oscar as Andy Serkis gets first billing as Caesar deservedly if nothing else but for the acting he does with his eye. Very close behind him is Toby Kebbell as Koba, another ape. None of theComes February, 2015, an ape may win the Best Actor Oscar as Andy Serkis gets first billing as Caesar deservedly if nothing else but for the acting he does with his eye. Very close behind him is Toby Kebbell as Koba, another ape. None of the actors playing humans such as Jason Clarke, Gary Oldman, Keri Russell and Kodi Smit-McPhee stand a chance when they are on screen with the aforementioned apes or the other ape actors like Judy Greer, Karim Konoval and Nick Thurston.

First and foremost I must emphasize that “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes” must be seen on the BIG movie screen just as “Gravity” had to be seen in a movie theatre to really be appreciated.

The only other ‘Ape” movie I have seen was the very first in 1968 and just the production values from makeup to costumes to special effects since then is a show in itself. It is beyond my comprehension how visual effects supervisors Joe Letteri and Dan Lemmon achieved what they do in this movie.

The direction gets the strong hand that it needs from Matt Reeves. The script writers Mark Bomback, Rick Jaffa and Amanda Silver follow the trend and true westerns of the past with bad guys and apes versus good guys and apes, including a high noon shoot out and a major draw dropping fight out between the hero and villain--no, not who you think!

The bottom line is that “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes” has to be seen in a movie house on the large or it will be just another meaningless movie. Get ready for an ape to win the major acting prizes!
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews