A24 | Release Date: June 10, 2016
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 27 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
1
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
LamontRaymondJun 11, 2016
Very solid movie. One of the worst aspects of those Q&As with directors and stars when you see a screening is when the interviewer/moderator poses long-winded, ridiculous questions. There is NONE of that here. You get 2 things - De PalmaVery solid movie. One of the worst aspects of those Q&As with directors and stars when you see a screening is when the interviewer/moderator poses long-winded, ridiculous questions. There is NONE of that here. You get 2 things - De Palma taking, and clips from his movies (and a few others he was involved in at one time or another - and nothing more! It's concentrated De Palma for the entire movie, and he imparts some amazing nuggets about directing and movie-making in general. I'm a huge fan of Blow Out and Body Double, so I was VERY happy that he spent plenty of time on each. This is a guy who pushed the limits, and he made some incredibly unique films. I whole-heartedly recommend this picture. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
StanleyKubrickJul 28, 2016
I want to see more films like this: Just one important director talking me through his filmography step-by-step. Nothing else. No critics, no friends, no actors, no nothing, just the filmmaker explaining
what he did why...This film showed
I want to see more films like this: Just one important director talking me through his filmography step-by-step. Nothing else. No critics, no friends, no actors, no nothing, just the filmmaker explaining
what he did why...This film showed that it works! And I want more...
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
jamessSep 19, 2016
Many years ago my older brother and I went to the Ramona Theater in Detroit to watch a movie that, based on the newspaper ad, was being compared to Hitchcock's Psycho. As soon as Bernard Herrmann's music started, I was hooked. And fromMany years ago my older brother and I went to the Ramona Theater in Detroit to watch a movie that, based on the newspaper ad, was being compared to Hitchcock's Psycho. As soon as Bernard Herrmann's music started, I was hooked. And from Sisters on, I've loved De Palma's films. And I forgot he basically discovered Robert De Niro and was in the midst of George Lucas, Stephen Spielburg Francis Ford Coppola, etc. at the beginning of their careers. And instead of the traditional documentary, it's De Palma telling stories and clips. And what a storyteller he is. Great trip through his movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Oct 12, 2018
Brian De Palma doesn't even enter my top 30 of favorite directors but some of his movies are among my all-time favorites. Strange but it happens. Therefore although I was interested enough to see this documentary I always postponed it butBrian De Palma doesn't even enter my top 30 of favorite directors but some of his movies are among my all-time favorites. Strange but it happens. Therefore although I was interested enough to see this documentary I always postponed it but sometimes it's good to let things age and in this case, this documentary is an excellent example.

It's just De Palma and his career. Full of ups and downs but it doesn't stop being fascinating.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
foxgroveOct 28, 2016
As a card carrying member of the De Palma fan club it is much appreciated to find this an absorbing and fitting tribute to the best director of all time. There are no talking heads here, only the big guy himself tossing out facts or anecdotalAs a card carrying member of the De Palma fan club it is much appreciated to find this an absorbing and fitting tribute to the best director of all time. There are no talking heads here, only the big guy himself tossing out facts or anecdotal tidbits on all his films from A-Z. And indeed the work speaks for itself. Even a lesser De Palma was always better than the best from a journeyman director. His best work, Carrie, is my favourite film of all time, but his other greats include Phantom of the Paradise, Obsession, Dressed to Kill, Blow out and The Untouchables. Another couple of his films would also deserve this accolade – Scarface and Casualties of War. However, their distressingly unflinching content makes them far more difficult to want to revisit. De Palma himself states that most Directors do their best work in their 30’s, 40’s and 50’s and it would certainly seem to be true when assessing his filmography. His later films whilst never less than interesting are nowhere near the quality of his best work. In fact between 1990 and 2016 he has only made one outstanding movie – Carlito’s Way.
The 70’s was indeed a great decade for both movies and directors. Spielberg, Coppola and Scorsese were all getting their due. King of them all though was this man, comparatively under appreciated. His imaginative use of the camera, stylisation and fearless audacity are just breath taking. He certainly knows how to produce a ‘set piece’. Hitchcock should, and I’m sure would, have been flattered by his visual tributes. His many critics were arbitrarily dismissive and uncomprehending of his nods to the ‘master of suspense’. Only the legendary Pauline Kael seemed to truly champion him. De Palma can also be proud of the absolutely beautiful music scores that accompany most of his films from composers like Pino Donaggio, Bernard Herrman and Ennio Morricone.
Film makers Noah Baumbach and Jake Paltrow are to be congratulated, not only for the wealth of film clips on offer, but for allowing us to feast on the brilliance that is Brian De Palma. It is, as Films Illustrated said in their review of ‘Carrie’ in 1977, a superb treat.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeSep 16, 2016
De Palma is one of those movies you must see all over again until you get to one certain point where you're just so tired and want to do something else instead. It's that great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews