Indomina Releasing | Release Date: September 2, 2011
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
7
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
LightSep 19, 2011
I walked out of this film after about an hour. It's well shot, edited, acted, scored...the CGI is really good, the vistas are occasionally breathtaking....but it seemed like it was part of a Chinese series that I wasn't familiar with,and so II walked out of this film after about an hour. It's well shot, edited, acted, scored...the CGI is really good, the vistas are occasionally breathtaking....but it seemed like it was part of a Chinese series that I wasn't familiar with,and so I became bored. It was like watching an Indiana Jones movie when you didn't understand any of the cultural references, so the goings-on seemed disconnected and empty. Not enough action, intrigue or suspense from my point of view. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryOct 16, 2011
In first-century China, people are mysteriously bursting into flames, so, a group of experts is assembled to find out why. If there's any reason to watch the film, it's the martial arts scenes. Peppered throughout the tedious dialogue (inIn first-century China, people are mysteriously bursting into flames, so, a group of experts is assembled to find out why. If there's any reason to watch the film, it's the martial arts scenes. Peppered throughout the tedious dialogue (in subtitles, no less) are a few jumbled fights that defy all physics. This is less "Crouching Tiger" and more Saturday morning kiddie action. Some of the art direction is interesting, but this is much too talky and unoriginal to merit attention. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
BikerjamesOct 10, 2011
Being a big fan of Crouching Tiger, House of Daggers, Hero, etc., I had to see this film. Although I would rank it last among those great films, I still enjoyed it. It doesn't possess the strong character development of those other greatBeing a big fan of Crouching Tiger, House of Daggers, Hero, etc., I had to see this film. Although I would rank it last among those great films, I still enjoyed it. It doesn't possess the strong character development of those other great films, but is so strong on the visuals that it is a feast for the eyes. The plot is way too confusing but in the end I could figure most of it out. The fight scenes are Hollywood style - a moving camera and extreme close-ups so you can't see what's going on. They are not the great choreographed style of Crouching Tiger. The CGI varies - the giant Buddha looks fantastic, but the deer was jittery and fake looking. Overall I enjoyed the film due to the visual delights. I probably will purchase it is Blu-ray because it looks so great. Costumes, interior/exterior designs, beautiful locations - it excels in those areas. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
CitizenCharlieSep 28, 2011
The Emperor is dead and next in line to replace him is a woman. Never in the history of China has there been an Empress. As her coronation draws closer, loyalties are tested, schemes are rumored, and when people start to literally burstThe Emperor is dead and next in line to replace him is a woman. Never in the history of China has there been an Empress. As her coronation draws closer, loyalties are tested, schemes are rumored, and when people start to literally burst into flames, the stakes can be no higher for all involved. This is the set up for an in-depth mystery with a side of kung fu action. In late 7th century China, thousands of laborers are working under pressure to complete an immensely tall tower in the shape of the Buddha in time for the Empressâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleSep 3, 2011
The detective and the emperor-to-be's #2 are both excellent and entertaining as hell, and the visuals are fantastic. But things seem to unravel a bit over the last 30 minutes such that it doesn't conclude in the most satisfying way. I'dThe detective and the emperor-to-be's #2 are both excellent and entertaining as hell, and the visuals are fantastic. But things seem to unravel a bit over the last 30 minutes such that it doesn't conclude in the most satisfying way. I'd still recommend it, but it requires a bit more patience than other flicks of this genre. If you're into talking deers - step up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HotchaCuppies1Sep 14, 2011
I'm pretty open minded when it comes to movies...just looking to be entertained. And I fully was! Sure, the plot is sometimes hard to follow with subtitles, but it was so adventurous and really fun to watch. It felt epic at times, woozy weirdI'm pretty open minded when it comes to movies...just looking to be entertained. And I fully was! Sure, the plot is sometimes hard to follow with subtitles, but it was so adventurous and really fun to watch. It felt epic at times, woozy weird at times and kept my eyes wide. All over the place. I haven't seen anything like it before, so I'm glad I got to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JHackworthOct 8, 2011
Detective Dee is not a Western Action flick. That sort of big-budget explodey-CGI belongs to Hollywood, and that's where it should stay. Instead, it delivers a sort of goofy mashup between solid physical stunts, and the floaty impossibilityDetective Dee is not a Western Action flick. That sort of big-budget explodey-CGI belongs to Hollywood, and that's where it should stay. Instead, it delivers a sort of goofy mashup between solid physical stunts, and the floaty impossibility of Crouching Tiger-style acrobatics. Yeah, there's some sleuthing too - the plot is rooted in Detective Dee's ability to solve a series of mysterious murders before the first ever female emperor is coronated - but the mystery aspect (and much of the dialogue, actually) is, if possible, even less probable than the rest of the film. Part of this can be explained by the cultural divide. Detective Dee is very much a Chinese film, both in setting and content. Don't expect a Sherlock Holmes clone, and you won't be disappointed... but don't expect a Crouching Tiger knockoff either. Detective Dee makes its own place somewhere in-between, and the result is a thoroughly enjoyable adventure flick awash with kooky sight gags, some questionable CGI, and a few instances of honest to goodness suspense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kai82Mar 26, 2020
A great mixture of a detective story, martial arts and political machinations set in the Tang Dynasty with the legendary empress Wu Zetian. Wu Zetian alone is the stuff of legends and many stories. A woman becoming sole ruler of China wasA great mixture of a detective story, martial arts and political machinations set in the Tang Dynasty with the legendary empress Wu Zetian. Wu Zetian alone is the stuff of legends and many stories. A woman becoming sole ruler of China was unthinkable. She not only archived this but did govern well for the most parts (but was disparaged by later historians). Di Renijie is also based on a real person and well worth knowing (see bonus knowledge). Back to the movie: The story is impressive with many plots, twist and reveals. Nearly everyone is more than it seems or has an own agenda. I was impressed how engaging and enjoyable the story was. With each new twist and revelation it becomes better and better. Also the phantom flames are a serious tread and used well especially in the climax. The detective story is well done and is carried by a great actor. The martial arts is a welcome addition and enjoyable. The choreography is superb (and Sammo Hung was responsible for it). Like I said the climax uses the concepts in a perfect and breathtaking way. I must praise the director first. Tsui Hark is a legend and has made many great movies like Once upon a Time in China, Chinese Ghost Story, A better Tomorrow and more. Then the actors. Andy Lau was a perfect choice as Di Renijie. He delivered the role in a way that he owns the character (Everyone who will play the role after him will be compared to his gold standard). Carina Lau as Wu Zetian is equally good. You see the weight of her burden as empress she cant show. She is also a master schemer and must defend herself against her enemies (You wouldn't survive otherwise in the court). Li Bingbing, Deng Chao and Tony Leug Ka-fai rounded up the excellent performance by the cast. At last I want to praise the costumes, soundtrack and design. All of these parts improve this movie. Overall an excellent movie with a great (detective) story with no downsides. Worth watching and rewatching.
Bonus knowledge: Did you know that the main character is based of a real person? Di Renijie was the Chinese equivalent of Sherlock Holmes and famous for fighting corruption / being incorruptible. The Dutch diplomat Robert van Gulik translated the stories and made later a career as writer of new books / stories of Di Renijie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews