Samuel Goldwyn Films | Release Date: April 13, 2012
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 31 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
17
Mixed:
7
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
eliotwalnutApr 19, 2012
This movie is attempting to be a lot of things all at once, and has the attention span of an ADHD child in a chinashop. It's sloppy and most of the ideas, gags, characters, whims, plots don't go anywhere; but what is endearing and why I amThis movie is attempting to be a lot of things all at once, and has the attention span of an ADHD child in a chinashop. It's sloppy and most of the ideas, gags, characters, whims, plots don't go anywhere; but what is endearing and why I am in love with this movie is the chaotic energy put forth in the effort. At its heart it is most like HEATHERS. The pace is consistently frantic, the performances are charming, and the script is maddening-genius. You'll know in the first five-minutes if this film is for you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MegWhiteleyApr 13, 2012
This is a good movie, have some interesting moments, the cast is good, Josh Hutcherson wow, great young actor, and Spencer Locke amazing girl, this movie is really interesting and in some moemtns scare.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
wiggipopMar 25, 2013
This is an odd sugar-rush of a film. Whip smart, and well made... to a point. There are strange parts, this is a film where time travel and switching brains is no big deal and a guy can have part fly DNA. It's almost as if a 11 year oldThis is an odd sugar-rush of a film. Whip smart, and well made... to a point. There are strange parts, this is a film where time travel and switching brains is no big deal and a guy can have part fly DNA. It's almost as if a 11 year old pitched the story, I mean, the time travel machine is inside a bear. Of course, why not? I guess it sort of works in the end, but it takes some odd routes getting there. Enjoyable, if slightly off-putting Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
rocketpackpandaMar 25, 2013
Illogical, ADD riddled, frantic, not unity in terms of story. That is what makes this film worth watching. The characters are a pastiche of various stereotypes from the past several generations and the actors play it up to the max and visiblyIllogical, ADD riddled, frantic, not unity in terms of story. That is what makes this film worth watching. The characters are a pastiche of various stereotypes from the past several generations and the actors play it up to the max and visibly enjoy every minute. The visual style is a perfect mashup of colours and eccentricities of Generation X meets Generation Y with everything in between highlighted and lambasted. Even though the film switches gears with almost every scene, the unity of force and momentum never waivers. All this said, one must realize that everything I've said that I like about this film, also seems to work against it. Anyone outside of its core audience will probably hate it. Regardless of the evident love and care put into the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Tss5078Jan 11, 2015
In 1996, Wes Craven came up with an new and innovative concept in horror. He combined a great slasher film, within a murder mystery, while having teenagers mock horror films at the same time. That film was called Scream and it was way aheadIn 1996, Wes Craven came up with an new and innovative concept in horror. He combined a great slasher film, within a murder mystery, while having teenagers mock horror films at the same time. That film was called Scream and it was way ahead of it's time. In 2011, Detention tried to modernize this type of film and fails miserably. Detention is set at Grizzly Lake High School, a school which encompasses everything that is wrong with teenage life today. With a new hit horror film at the top of the box office, one person, who has had enough of the hip/trendy high school life, decides to make the film come to life at Grizzly Lake. This film mocks every modern teenage trend to the point of being offense. The film mocks everything from teens use of social media and cell phones to goths, cutters, emos, bullying, and even teen suicide. The killer on the loose is almost an afterthought in a film that is just in really bad taste. Josh Hutcherson stars as the most popular kid in school, and it is completely unbelievable that the most wanted boy at school is played by a short, hairy kid, with a bad attitude, who happens to be in his twenties. I usually like the roles Hutch decides to play, as they usually suit him to a tee, but Clapton Davis was never meant to be played by someone like him and it's painfully obvious. Hutch is paired with newcomer, Shanley Caswell, an unlucky teenager who often tries and fails to kill herself. She's a super emo outcast, who no one believe would ever be the target of a killer. Overall, Detention is a very mediocre slasher film under the veil of an even lazier comedy. Much like one of it's stars, Dane Cook, Detention tries much too hard to be funny. Comedy should be a natural thing, resulting from unusual events. The writers of this film put so many different types of people into such ridiculous circumstances, that what's supposed to be funny, comes across as stupid, impossible, and downright offensive. Despite the way it looks, Detention isn't even close to being as good as Scream and is most definitely a film you should avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
awesomefastguyJul 18, 2014
The main problem with 'Detention' is that the plot is completely mixed up. It starts off as a really good slasher film (which I really liked), then (with a third of the film left) they get put in Detention, and then it become this weird andThe main problem with 'Detention' is that the plot is completely mixed up. It starts off as a really good slasher film (which I really liked), then (with a third of the film left) they get put in Detention, and then it become this weird and badly made sci-fi adventure. If it had just stuck to the slasher part of the film, it could have been brilliant. It was witty, well-acted and the reveal of the murderer was entertaining, it's just the plotless plot that ruins it.

Good if you want to pass the time and discuss it with a friend, but it's not really that good (unfortunately.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HgdivergentprinMay 8, 2015
This movie is a funny,sweet with a mix of scary.This mix is a happy does of Realistic fiction,horror,and just a hint of adultity.Nothing I could'nt handle.This is a great movie.Besides the swearing my bae is in it.It made me VERY happy thatThis movie is a funny,sweet with a mix of scary.This mix is a happy does of Realistic fiction,horror,and just a hint of adultity.Nothing I could'nt handle.This is a great movie.Besides the swearing my bae is in it.It made me VERY happy that day.I love it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
tiparJul 10, 2018
Or how to slowly waste a good and funny idea from the half of the movie onwards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews