Warner Bros. | Release Date: November 8, 2019
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 203 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
134
Mixed:
21
Negative:
48
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
bataguilaNov 11, 2019
Es buena, entretenida, la historia muy bien contada, si peca de ser muy larga. Pero el peor pecado es el cast, nunca funciona traer a los personajes de la original, pq ni siquiera se parecen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
starttiNov 10, 2019
Smart, gorgeous, creepy, and unnerving, but with a lot of heart and empathy for those dealing with additions and past trauma. DOCTOR SLEEP is the impossible bridge between the novel and movie THE SHINING, yet is able to stand on its own.Smart, gorgeous, creepy, and unnerving, but with a lot of heart and empathy for those dealing with additions and past trauma. DOCTOR SLEEP is the impossible bridge between the novel and movie THE SHINING, yet is able to stand on its own.

Director Mike Flannagan is not only a gifted director, but an intelligent storyteller. The changes from the book worked perfectly for cinema. His tributes to kubrick were also surprising and cool.

I so strongly recommend seeing the movie in theatres. Its a work of art with fantastic performances the ache and terrify equally and stands alongside Shawshank (as well as Stand by Me, Misery, Green Mile, and IT) as one of the best King adaptations that impacts beyond the horror genre.

Fantastic
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CristoParadoNov 9, 2019
"Dr. Sleep" feels like a long yet fast paced tale of humanity in the face of its diverging nature. Danny will have to become the father figure he previously refused to be for fear of ending up being the one he had. A movie that invites the"Dr. Sleep" feels like a long yet fast paced tale of humanity in the face of its diverging nature. Danny will have to become the father figure he previously refused to be for fear of ending up being the one he had. A movie that invites the audience to fight their demons and their own inclinations towards self-destruction. There are two remarkable scenes, being the very last one an essay on hope for continuity and mercy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
michaelwelch016Nov 9, 2019
Doctor Sleep, although not perfect, is a well-done return to the world of The Shining. I've heard this film be considered more of a dark fantasy than horror and I would to an extent agree. This film does not hold the slow building tension ofDoctor Sleep, although not perfect, is a well-done return to the world of The Shining. I've heard this film be considered more of a dark fantasy than horror and I would to an extent agree. This film does not hold the slow building tension of The Shining, nor does it have scares placed evenly throughout as many modern horrors often do. The film is a slow burn, using horror and action elements sparingly with purpose as it builds the narrative. It follows Dan Torrance in the aftermath of the traumatizing events that unfolded at the Overlook Hotel. He, a drifter, soon cleans himself up and finds purpose aiding young fellow shiner Abra in surviving villain Rose the Hat and the True Knot's pursuit of her. During which, we learn the true extent of "shining" and what this power both is and can do. The film spends a considerable amount of time rotating between Dan, Abra, and Rose, as well as exploring their abilities. Following a fantastic beginning, the movie slows down as we get to know our characters... but perhaps a little too much at times given the general small amount of interesting events taking place. Despite knowing I'd be bored on a second watch, it serves as a necessary lag allowing us to deeply know who and what we're dealing with, which in turn makes the following acts of the narrative more impactful. These characters then get mixed up with one another and the plot excitingly moves forward until it reaches the climax where it all began- The Overlook Hotel. There are a fair share of great moments and strong development in the new ground of Doctor Sleep, but the highlight is undoubtedly what unfolds in the familiar setting of The Shining. This movie really stands on it's own in terms of story. Being a sucker for lore and world building, the expansion on the concept of "shining" and what it entails really kept me intrigued while the characters and conflict kept me entertained, save for a half hour or so. The way this film is crafted as a slow burn is precisely what I expected from director Mike Flanagan, known for The Haunting of Hill House. Despite some sequences venturing into boredom...the conflict, characters, surreal moments, uncomfortable moments, and finale are enough to make this one of my favorite Stephen King adaptations. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
lordoffromnt16Nov 9, 2019
A fun thriller, built well in the King-verse. Hope we see more who shine. Loved the book, movie was good too.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Isreal777888Nov 9, 2019
I disliked the fact the plot was lame having the group of Villians going around stealing majority child souls just to keep themselves alive and I feel they only choose the young black actress as a ploy to draw afro Americans fans of "BlackI disliked the fact the plot was lame having the group of Villians going around stealing majority child souls just to keep themselves alive and I feel they only choose the young black actress as a ploy to draw afro Americans fans of "Black Panther" because in the novel "Abra" isn't described as Afro-American she is actually supposed to be blood-related to main character "Danny", the overall vibe of the movie was nowhere like the horror/psychological vibe of the original, this version is more of a superhero vibe. What I did like was the aesthetics of this film and the actors were very skilled I think the director did a fine job of turning a horror masterpiece into an enjoyable superhero versus villains movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MartridenNov 10, 2019
Film ben riuscito. Ottima interpretazione. Buone le musiche. Nel complesso merita una valutazione decisamente alta.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AllanRohrNov 10, 2019
Awesome! Just awesome! I saw yesterday and i leave the teather amazed by this movie! Perfect ending for the shinning!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
QuekubNov 10, 2019
One example how sequels must be filmed. It's complete history of original and playing with your nostalgic feelings.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Merritt614Nov 12, 2019
What a fun film!! Loved all the nods to The Shining film by Kubrick, and staying close to the source material by Stephen King!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
amheretojudgeNov 11, 2019
It is the old style filmmaking residing between the temperament that warms the tea and whistles the kettle. I'd like to have a cup of that.

Doctor Sleep Mike Flanagan who directed and adapted this controversial novelization for the screen
It is the old style filmmaking residing between the temperament that warms the tea and whistles the kettle. I'd like to have a cup of that.

Doctor Sleep

Mike Flanagan who directed and adapted this controversial novelization for the screen is an apt choice to voice the second swing by Stephen King on Dan's character and the supernatural element it possesses. Why controversial? It actually is like being in a tug of war game where you are the price. But I think Flanagan found a sweet spot, that gray area that any horror director would love to have in plenty. And that is why his procedure that takes its time properly, gets the job done. It couldn't be more book-ish. It reeks of old book and I love every aspect of that. Each character, every fabric of information that stacks and builds the final countdown brick by brick is simply novelizing.

No regrets. If you have to host a news show as such, you have to stage it like this. No need to celebrate or electrify, just words floating around, so loud, so big that even performance and other characteristics gets overlapped by King's vision. In this sense it feels, I don't want to say anti-Kubrick but definitely pro-King. But you can only walk far away if you are expecting for the audience to read this story on screen rather than experience.

Ergo, comes these stills and thrills that has the mind bending look that appears like Stanley Kubrick's dream. The swooshing and whooshing of the adrenaline rush that warps these characters to their self-created reality and the deafening snapping of reality that wakes them up. Another asset is of course Ewan McGregor as Dan with this time axe on HIS hands. McGregor's performance is magnificent, child like it seems to me, even though he tells it to be inspired from Jack Nicholson's madness. He cries when he is terrified and falls for the easiest motion that exists. All in all, Doctor Sleep is a functioning system. You don't see that nowadays.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
genuinerealistNov 8, 2019
This is an awfully good story, awfully well told. I'm not a big fan of Kubrick's 'The Shining' one of the most overrated movies ever made. This one is much, much better.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
bxwhit3Nov 10, 2019
Probably one of the best sequels I have ever seen. Great story line and wonderful acting. Newcomer Kyliegh Curran's performance was spectacular! Not sure what some of the people who are giving bad reviews were expecting. I liked that theProbably one of the best sequels I have ever seen. Great story line and wonderful acting. Newcomer Kyliegh Curran's performance was spectacular! Not sure what some of the people who are giving bad reviews were expecting. I liked that the story was a bit different. Worth the time to go see. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
defdog99Nov 10, 2019
Never read the book. Did see a mini-documentary saying how Stephen King characters show up in other books. So with that said, I understood why Danny was in this one. The 1st part of this movie was pretty good. The 2nd part w/ the OverlookNever read the book. Did see a mini-documentary saying how Stephen King characters show up in other books. So with that said, I understood why Danny was in this one. The 1st part of this movie was pretty good. The 2nd part w/ the Overlook Hotel didn't make any sense and felt like it was shoehorned in to make a weak movie "better". If it was so easy killing the 9 demons, the same method should have worked on the magic lady. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
wollam11Nov 8, 2019
Rebecca Ferguson was electric. The ending sucked (but then again almost all horror movies' endings do). I'm still wondering why Roses' hat was so special.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryNov 12, 2019
It's not necessary to know much backstory from Stephen King's THE SHINING, but it helps to know the basics for this sequel. Ewan McGregor plays the adult version of the little boy who was scarred by the events in the original movie. He'sIt's not necessary to know much backstory from Stephen King's THE SHINING, but it helps to know the basics for this sequel. Ewan McGregor plays the adult version of the little boy who was scarred by the events in the original movie. He's still coping with the ghosts (literally) from that time, when a teenager appears who also has extrasensory powers. They embark on a search to stop a truly merciless group who prey on the pain of children (the most brutal scene in the film). This story takes 2.5 hours to unfold and doesn't even get to the fateful hotel until the final 30 minutes. Through it all, there's a sense of dread, accompanied with some cool visual effects and ominous sound design. The pace never quickens and there aren't any big scares, but the compelling story and Mike Flanagan's engrossing direction create a continual level of tension. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
JohnrieberNov 14, 2019
I just read an article that said this film would have been better saved with the title "The Shining 2" and I agree...the title doesn't really capture the story that is told...beautifully made and acted, it has two great set pieces and anI just read an article that said this film would have been better saved with the title "The Shining 2" and I agree...the title doesn't really capture the story that is told...beautifully made and acted, it has two great set pieces and an ongoing feeling of dread...as with several other horror films recently, it's longer and less scary than it should be, but a strong film Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 10, 2019
Much more dramatic thriller than traditional horror movie, "Doctor Sleep" finds burgeoning writer/director Mike Flanagan once again interpreting the oft-slippery literary stylings of Stephen King -- "slippery," in that directors willMuch more dramatic thriller than traditional horror movie, "Doctor Sleep" finds burgeoning writer/director Mike Flanagan once again interpreting the oft-slippery literary stylings of Stephen King -- "slippery," in that directors will sometimes examine and get far too absorbed in trying to explain the esotericism of a King work to the audience. In the case of "Doctor Sleep," Flanagan not only has to do this, but also has the thankless task of crafting a cinematic sequel to both "The Shining" book and film. Somehow, he's pulled it off, to a breathtakingly beautiful, imaginative, and gratifying degree. For some of the sillier (yet unmistakably King) elements, Flanagan employs the K.I.S.S. method. Introduce the wackiness the same way you'd tear off a bandage. Just do it. Then, do it again, and again, and again, as if it's a normal part of the world, and the audience will fall in line. It's brilliant. And, as for delivering a film that's both a sequel to "The Shining" novel and film, you're given the distinct notion that Flanagan doesn't feel shackled to either fate, ultimately presenting an intermediate of both options. Homage to the Kubrick film here, obvious King-ism there. Distinctly familiar shot composition here, dynamic from the novel there. It's the only way it could've been done and I completely appreciate the care that's so evident in the approach. This also has to be the most novel-like film I've seen in years, and, yes, that's a very good thing. It's a careful, deliberate burn, featuring a thoroughly engrossing narrative that's procedurally unfurled at a pace that feels just right. The performances are inspired. The effects are terrific. Even, the intermittent moments of "fan-service" felt honest and earned. This may, in fact, be the surprise of the year for me. What a fantastic achievement. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
sourmilokoNov 11, 2019
I love the original movie by Stanley Kubrick and I also love both books by Steven King, I also love Mike Flanagan's latest work, so this movie came together very well with everything mixing to the film's benifit. The pacing is quite a lotI love the original movie by Stanley Kubrick and I also love both books by Steven King, I also love Mike Flanagan's latest work, so this movie came together very well with everything mixing to the film's benifit. The pacing is quite a lot faster than the book, yet still feels a bit long... The film is also not very scary, which I knew going in due to the book, it's definitely a different vibe from the first shining film. This film takes much more from the Stephen King side than the first film, so since of Kings kinda cornyness comes into the film too, I think it might have been nice to have more of the film set in the hotel, even though it's not in the book at all, also wish we had more time letting the ghosts get more screen time. Other than that, everything was great. Making the true knot scary and foreboding and not hokey and corny was really really well done. The Turing of the world to enter others minds was also visually stunning. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
MattBrady99Nov 12, 2019
“Hi there”

Hello there... Mike Flanagan has some of the biggest balls in the horror industry. I mean just look at his filmography so far. He took one of the worst horror movies in recent memory ‘Ouija’ and said: “yeah, I wanna make a
“Hi there”

Hello there...

Mike Flanagan has some of the biggest balls in the horror industry. I mean just look at his filmography so far.

He took one of the worst horror movies in recent memory ‘Ouija’ and said: “yeah, I wanna make a sequel to that”, with ‘Ouija: Origin of Evil’ and somehow made it less terrible. How about ‘Haunting of Hill House’ where he’s going to direct every episode of a television series that has to weave two narratives together at once over ten episodes...and again he somehow made it work. And now this guy is gonna make a sequel to one of the most revered horror movies of all time with ‘Doctor Sleep’...the son of b**ch did it again!

I think Flanagan deserves more credit as a director rather than people **** that his movies “ain't scary enough an-” blah blah blah shut the hell up.

‘Doctor Sleep’ was a complete surprise for all the right reasons. At first I wasn’t sure if the movie would hook me, because it takes awhile for it to get going, but slowly I got invested in the story and the characters. There have been four Stephen King movie adaptions this year: ‘Pet Sematary’, ‘IT Chapter Two’, ‘In The Tall Grass’, and now this movie. This is by far the best out of them all.

The runtime is 152 minutes long and I can safely say that the movie is 85% it’s own thing, because it doesn't just rely on nostalgia to tell their story and it’s only the last act where things start to play on nostalgia when the characters return to the Overlook Hotel. The nostalgia being the 80’s horror classic of course. It’s either that or 97 TV mini-series. Who’s got fond memories for that piece of sh*t? So with this being both a sequel to Kubrick's movie and King’s original novel; a clash of visions coming together with Flanagan trying to put this together, while also applying his own vision into the mix.

Now that’s hard.

The part that got me invested in the story was the scene between Danny and a elderly patient who’s on their death bed. Danny comforts them as their peacefully past away, without dying alone. It’s a beautiful and heartfelt scene that you would never expect to see in a supernatural horror movie.

Ewan Mcgregor was fantastic as an alcoholic grown-up Danny Torrance. Nicholson's presence was felt through out the movie as adult Danny fears he might follow in his fathers footsteps. There’s a scene where Danny gives a talk at a rehab group and as doing so he reflects deeply on everything that happened to him in the past, while the camera is locked on Ewan’s face. Not only from his childhood, but everything afterwards and drowning out the trauma through drinking - something that us as the audience don’t see. I thought he was excellent. He absolutely “shines” as the character...and am not sorry for that pun.

I loved how fleshed out the villains were, which surprised me the most about the movie. They are like vampires, but instead of feasting on blood, it’s “the shining” they crave for a expanded life. Casual and charming, and yet wickedly evil. There’s a particularly scene that was so difficult to watch and really got under my skin. However you do get to see them interreacting with each other in normal conversations as they casually go on with the day and work as a group. Rose the Hat sticks out from the rest as a sinister and endearing villian played marvelously by Rebecca Ferguson.

Mike Flanagan dose a great job on balancing both Kubrick’s and King’s version respectfully, but also manages to put his visual spin in. The one thing that hasn’t been mention yet is how great he is with child actors as he always gets the best performance out of them, especially Jacob Tremblay and Kyliegh Curran who was so convincing in the roles it was scary.

The movie looks stunning with the use of colors adding to the overall tone and helps creates the horror atmosphere. Same thing with the score that while it takes samples from Kubrick’s movie, but not to say it doesn’t have it’s own.

For issues:

There was a couple of callbacks that was a little on the noise, usually through references. As I said early the movie takes a while to find it’s footing and you couldn’t help but draw comparisons. There were a few questionable and almost silly lines that King himself would inject into his work for humor, but here, with tone in mind, just took the fear out of it.

Overall rating: “Eat well and live long.”
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
The3AcademySinsNov 14, 2019
Good performances and interesting cinematography help keep Doctor Sleep afloat. The ending is unfortunately a let down, and overall this sequel to The Shining just feels unnecessary and rushed. Ewan McGregor is fantastic in this movie.Good performances and interesting cinematography help keep Doctor Sleep afloat. The ending is unfortunately a let down, and overall this sequel to The Shining just feels unnecessary and rushed. Ewan McGregor is fantastic in this movie. Overall, I felt Doctor Sleep was a little bit of a let down, but not a waste of time! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
CinemaphileNov 13, 2019
History has a weight, as heavy as that of expectations, maybe more so. Mass relates to velocity, &velocity &mass together mean momentum. How would one change the course of the Titanic if it continued it's course, eventually  barreling alongHistory has a weight, as heavy as that of expectations, maybe more so. Mass relates to velocity, &velocity &mass together mean momentum. How would one change the course of the Titanic if it continued it's course, eventually  barreling along at light speed? Solve that equation &one could be wealthy beyond all dreams of avarice. How could one follow up, The Shining?

Mike Flanagan doesn't flinch from the gravity of this two body problem, but embraces it with DS, his adaptation of the best selling novel by SK - not only the sequel to one of the seminal horror novels of the 20th Century but a visually influential &a most recently gentrified motion picture adapted by Stanley Kubrick. Seems like unsolvable Calculus, right? A tough aldorithmic nut.  The director of Occulus, Gerald's Game &Hulu's The Haunting of Hill House rolls up his sleeves, grabs the chalk &heads to the chalkboard.

Like King's other works such as IT &The Stand, the novel DS defies the feature length treatment. Unlike King's 1977 best seller The Shining, DS has many more points of view &locations, in addition to the added weight of literary &cinematic history. To complicate matters, Kubrick's The Shining wasn't embraced at the box office by Constant Watchers or Critics. Regardless, MF opts for the feature treatment rather than a limited run series.  Apparently, he's not one to shy from eating a historic literary elephant - so he does that, one bite at a time.

MF does that deftly, spending a decent portion of the first act re-anchoring us in the 40 year old story - but never through exposition. Some of us are "reintroduced" to Danny Torrance, Wendy Torrance &Dick Halloran. For those Constant Readers &Constant Watchers, it's an unsentimental walk through memory lane that's not done for the sake of nostalgia or as some will posit with a contemporary slur, fan service. That's key - to play to those not versed in the vocabulary of The Overlook lore ¬ explain too much to the already initiated. Again, pretty sophisticated equation balancing.  Off the page, MF never visually imitates Kubrick's austere, antiseptic style as lightly emulates it. MF gives us small visual cues, in addition to a few subtle aural ones as well.

Stage setting &character introduction done, we fast forward to the new &unfamiliar for the next three acts. In the vocabulary of Mid World, another King creation, the World of DS - specifically Danny's World - has moved on from that of The Shining's, by 40 years or so. Where these acts work best are developing adult Danny as a compelling character, which Constant Readers will recognize as a parallel to that of the struggling, tragically alcoholic Jack Torrance of the novel - not the mustachio twisting villain of Kubrick's film - &new faces Abra Stone, Billy Freeman, Crow Daddy, Snakebite Andi &Rose the Hat.

MF does his best to balance the narrative, but King's story is rich with detail &viewpoint. Narratively, The Knot - the tight knit order of psychic vampires driving the plot - overshadow our protagonists Danny &Abra's respective plights. Of note, there are no glaring storytelling missteps along the way, but this film isn't The Green Mile, anchored to one location &a simple theme. There's a lot happening of import &it's all over the literal geographic map. Like most road trips there are side jaunts &colorful road attractions. It is a long haul, sometimes with jeopardy, interesting scenery chewing &all. Some devotees of Kubrick's precursor will take umbrage at this. But, this is a different story. One with an unexpected twist.

SK had issue with the liberties Kubrick took with the best selling novel. The novel was not problematic, it was virtually perfect &in no need of revision. The opposite is the case in 2019. King's novel DS is problematic. It lacks a satisfying conclusion. Fortunately, Kubrick's inadequate resolution gave MF an opportunity to make right the mistakes of Kubrick's film &King's sequel. The fourth &fifth acts are that long awaited payoff. Nostalgia driven fans of the film will be rewarded, though not in the way they anticipate. We revisit two skeletons in Danny's closet. We've seen it in the previews. The other is a delightful surprise. MF also gives us the resolution that Constant Readers expected in 1980. "It creeps" up on us.

Does the calculus finally give us the Grand Unified Theory of King's Universe? No, it merely extends the framework &displays a fundamental understanding of the author which eluded Kubrick. That tasks was Herculean &thankless given expectations set by two novels &a previous film. There isn't a single mistake in DS, on the page or on the screen. The dialogue &the performances are spot on. But, it's the theory - the premise of the story ultimately hamstrings MF. Regardless, he took his duty seriously &studiously - DS is a polished, entertaining movie which stands on its own merits. MF is a mindful custodian of the King's universe.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Trineo99Nov 9, 2019
First of all, the editing in this film is just weird in the first half of it. I get it the movie has to tell three different stories but it would jump to the next scene so awkwardly. There were some really cool shots in this film that I wishFirst of all, the editing in this film is just weird in the first half of it. I get it the movie has to tell three different stories but it would jump to the next scene so awkwardly. There were some really cool shots in this film that I wish I could talk about but trust me when I saw there are some shots that are brilliant in how they look. Now, the acting in this film was good from everybody and there was really only one-person who slightly blew me away and that was Ewan McGregor. He took everybody on a journey with this character. From the beginning of the film to the end you always feel bad for Dan and just want the best for him. Kyliegh Curran, I can see her doing great work in the future. Rebecca Ferguson did an okay job as Rose the hat but she doesn’t really become a standout until the end of the movie. The pacing in this film is definitely slow in the beginning and picks up the pace towards the end. I have to applaud the set designers for what they did to the Overlook Hotel. The musical score, done by the Newton Brothers, may not be as iconic as the original movie but you can hear elements from that movie. In the end, this movie is a good sequel to The Shining but if you want to watch this movie, I would recommend not watching the trailer because, in my opinion, it gave away a lot of the good parts of this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Davrosdaleks1Nov 9, 2019
I found Doctor Sleep, based on the book by Stephen King and the sequel to The Shining, to be really, really good.

This is directed by Mike Flanagan (The Haunting of Hill House) who has proven himself to be one of the great horror auteurs.
I found Doctor Sleep, based on the book by Stephen King and the sequel to The Shining, to be really, really good.

This is directed by Mike Flanagan (The Haunting of Hill House) who has proven himself to be one of the great horror auteurs. (He previously adapted Stephen King's Gerald's Game, which was an impressive effort considering that it was mostly a person handcuffed to a bed.) The pacing works really well for a movie running at two-and-a-half hours. The dialogue is some of the best flowing I've seen in a while. The cinematography and general look are also top notch.

Horror fans, be forewarned that there are not that many scares. This time the main foe isn't ghosts, but the True Knot, psychic energy vampires. They're powerful, but they have basic human personalities and certain limitations. But, it's a really good story! You get to learn a lot more about the world of shining (psychic powers). The personal journey of psychic and recovering alcoholic Danny Torrence and his relationship with young shiner Abra (Kyliegh Curran) is interesting. What the True Knot lack in frightening appearances, they make up with being fleshed-out characters who make very dangerous antagonists. Though not the scariest film, this works really well as a dark tale. Also, scene where you see the True Knot in action is one truly scary moment that will stick with you.

The leads, McGregor, Curran, and Rebecca Ferguson as the True Knot's leader Rose the Hat, all do an excellent job.(Yes, I concede the villain names are silly.) However, McGregor's American accent doesn't sound quite natural. Also for flashback purposes and such, Flanagan got some very convincing actors to mimic the ones from the Shining.

Remember when I said the pacing "mostly" works? The one weak point is reliance on nostalgia. The movie tries to be both an adaptation of Doctor Sleep but also stay true to the events specific to Stanley Kubrick's The Shining. Fans of the book could be disappointed by changes. Several of elements involving the previous movie work. But there are moments where it can't help but give direct "wink, wink" references to the original's scenes and shots. It feels forced and the cinematography feels off with the rest of the film. However, there is only a very small percentage of these elements in the movie. Mostly it is its own thing.

Of the recent Stephen King movies (including the Netflix ones), this is my favorite. In fact, I think it's one of the best Stephen King adaptations ever made.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
jfallen1990Nov 10, 2019
This movie tells a great story. I actually want to see the actor Ewan McGregor in more horror/suspense movies. If you have seen the Shining, you will appreciate the connections. This movie really only has two- three jump scares. I will sayThis movie tells a great story. I actually want to see the actor Ewan McGregor in more horror/suspense movies. If you have seen the Shining, you will appreciate the connections. This movie really only has two- three jump scares. I will say one scene made me laugh (unintentional) Great story telling and interesting characters. Its a good watch. Not very scary very enjoyable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
JokerloccoNov 9, 2019
[ENGLISH]

Doctor Sleep is a good horror movie, and a good sequel to the Shining. The movie is a bit slow, but I liked it. The horror sequences are be prepare little by little, with tension music and incremental heartbeats. It is similar to
[ENGLISH]

Doctor Sleep is a good horror movie, and a good sequel to the Shining.

The movie is a bit slow, but I liked it.

The horror sequences are be prepare little by little, with tension music and incremental heartbeats. It is similar to what Kubrick did in the Shining. Evidently, Mike Flanagan, tries to honor the first film in everything: Multiple sequences, plans, and more elements that I will not mention...
In the final stretch of the film, he amplify this, which causes a forced and constant fanservice... Although, as a fan of the Shining, this has not bothered me. Moreover, my skin has bristled in a particular scene...

Without a doubt, what I liked most about the movie is Rose, the hat: Rebecca Ferguson is great playing this villain!

I recommend seeing her. Above all, if you are a fan of the books of my beloved Stephen King or from the Kubrick movie.

[ESPAÑOL]
Doctor sueño es una buena película de terror, y una buena secuela del Resplandor. Me ha gustado, a pesar de que se me ha hecho algo lenta. Las secuencias de terror se van preparando poco a poco, con música de tensión y pálpitos incrementales de un corazón. Es similar a lo que hacía Kubrick en el Resplandor. Evidentemente, Mike Flanagan, trata de homenajear a la primera película en todo: Múltiples secuencias, planos, y más elementos que no voy a mencionar… En el tramo final de la película, amplifica esto, lo que provoca un forzado y constante fanservice… Aunque, como fan del Resplandor, esto no me ha molestado. Es más, se me ha erizado la piel en una escena en particular...

Sin duda alguna, lo que más me ha gustado de la película es Rose, la chistera: ¡Rebecca Ferguson, es genial interpretando a esta villana!

Recomiendo verla. Sobre todo, si eres fan de los libros de mi amado Stephen King o del Resplandor de Kubrick.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JoesNov 11, 2019
Buena película pero como secuela del resplandor queda bastante lejos de la obra maestra que fue
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
BeardedYodaNov 11, 2019
Doctor Sleep is a very interesting and intriguing film that is more thriller and drama than it is horror. Rather or not it is a worthy sequel to Kubrick's The Shinning is up you, as I highly recommend seeing this film. It is a good enoughDoctor Sleep is a very interesting and intriguing film that is more thriller and drama than it is horror. Rather or not it is a worthy sequel to Kubrick's The Shinning is up you, as I highly recommend seeing this film. It is a good enough movie on its own which is something that movie sequels should be. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Paschke274Nov 10, 2019
This Review is in spanish:

Esta película es una secuela del libro El Resplandor. Pero si ponen atención también usa escenas de la película de El resplandor que esta basada en el mismo libro on su mismo nombre. Si son fans de Steven King les
This Review is in spanish:

Esta película es una secuela del libro El Resplandor. Pero si ponen atención también usa escenas de la película de El resplandor que esta basada en el mismo libro on su mismo nombre. Si son fans de Steven King les va a gustar. En mi opinión esta película es una de las mejores películas de 2019.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Billysmash88Nov 8, 2019
Seriously this movie hits every note, and completely ties in perfectly to The Shining while still being its on film.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Cabbie77Nov 10, 2019
Tied into the original Shining so well and delivered even BETTER! KNOCKED IT OUT OF THE PARK!
BEST MOVIE EXPERIENCE IVE HAD IN A MINUTE!
(Cap locks international)
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
VolquartzNov 8, 2019
I love the movie!! Is the best movie of the year!! I’m all the time guessing what’s coming next!! The sound is really good and the imágenes too!! I just love it
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
chrisman20Nov 8, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. okay so this was a movie i wasnt sure going in to it however after watching it i get the rave reviews there is adventure and scares galore the young actress in the movie is fantastic shes smart and perfect for the role the only real thing i didnt like was the fact that the villan took kids souls though she was flat out evil which is perfect for a movie like this and really gives you a feel of hate for her Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Cinefilo34567Nov 8, 2019
A masterpiece, is very good movie, one of the best horror movies of 2019, Hello there
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
WaricNov 9, 2019
A lot of build up only to fall flat in most places. While the score was great, it felt like it was used to build up some major suspense only to not deliver on it.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
ColginatorNov 8, 2019
Stanley Kurbrick's The Shining is my all time favourite horror movie. Through a mixture of Kurbrick's meticulous attention to detail and the films haunting score, it had this feeling of constant dread that loomed over every scene. Across theStanley Kurbrick's The Shining is my all time favourite horror movie. Through a mixture of Kurbrick's meticulous attention to detail and the films haunting score, it had this feeling of constant dread that loomed over every scene. Across the film it builds up the history and mythology of Overlook hotel in a way that constantly made us raise questions, but without ever offering us any clear answers. Instead it condensed this history into a story of spousal abuse and combined it with some iconic performances from Nicholson and Duvall to achieve the ideal of what all horror films should strive to achieve.

Needless to say this sets a high bar for any film to live up to. But with King himself writing his own sequel novel in 2013 and the current trend for studios to cash in on as many nostalgic properties as they can, it was only a matter of time before Doctor Sleep got made into a film. We now get a loose adaptation of King's novel following a grown up Danny Torrance after the events of the first film (and not the vastly different book) as he attempts to deal with his dark past and the horrors of the supernatural world.

It's a pretty strong setup for a continuation and at first the film seems to do a decent job at exploring this potential. We see a washed up Danny trapped in a bottle and struggling with the ghosts of the Overlook hotel in a precariously similar situation to his own father. This aspect of the film is definitely elevated by McGreggors performance who really channels his own history with alcoholism in a way where you can see how worn down he's become through a constant battle with his inner demons.

But unfortunately we don't get to explore this side of Danny in too much detail, as just when Danny appears to be getting his life back on track a girl who also has the ability to shine named Abra, played by Kyliegh Curran, approaches him. She needs help dealing with a cult known as the true knot. They're an ancient organisation who preys on "gifted" children to absorb their life in an attempt to gain immortality and are led by a woman named Rose, played by Rebecca Ferguson, who takes sinister joy in creating fear and pain for the young children she kidnaps since she says that it makes them taste better.

Though whilst Ferguson's performance is entertaining, the surrounding history doesn't carry the same weight as that of the Overlook hotel. You would expect that the idea of these characters who have lived potentially millenia would carry some interesting backstories, but there's little depth with most members of the group hardly even getting any dialogue.They also end up being taken care off so easily that it left me wondering why they should have ever been considered a threat to begin with. And it's a big problem when the monsters of a horror film are neither scary nor interesting.

Also whilst the idea of Danny mentoring a young girl just like dick Hallorann did for him seems like it could be interesting, they seem to waste this potential since the girl never seems to need his help. Unlike Danny she doesn't seem detached from the world due to her powers and she's already seems more powerful than Danny so we don't see this dynamic explored.

Then of course there's the return of the Overlook hotel which was teased ever since the first teaser. The original Shining didn't try to rely on jump scares alone to create the Overlooks terrifying presence, instead it slowly built up the structure of the hotel through tracking shots and a dreadful sense of complete isolation. Then when it got to the end with all the spirits revealing themselves it's a hectic explosion of chaos delivering on some horrifying imagery. But here the hotel is just treated like a fun house only appearing in the last act of the film and having appearances of all the spirits crammed into the film without ever delivering on any actual scares.

Unfortunately the only element in the film which really comes close The Shining is the films score, which does a decent job of capturing the tone of the original theme. But outside of this the film just ends up feeling too scattered to be effective. There's not enough suspense to make for a good horror and there's not enough depth to provide us with a good character study. And in terms of capturing the spirit of the original film, unfortunately Ready Player One ended up being the more loyal portrayal.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
foxgroveNov 8, 2019
This Stephen King film adaptation of his sequel to 'The Shining' is immediately more impactful than I remember the book being, even if neither attain the heights of the original (book or film of 'The Shining'). The film starts slowly andThis Stephen King film adaptation of his sequel to 'The Shining' is immediately more impactful than I remember the book being, even if neither attain the heights of the original (book or film of 'The Shining'). The film starts slowly and one's initial response is that we are in for yet another unremarkable screen treatment. However, once Ewan McGregor's grown up Danny Torrance makes contact with Abra, the little girl with his same gift, things start to rock n roll. The film is high on atmosphere with some brilliant cinematography and bombastic, but effective sound, and once it has a hold the film is mesmerizingly creepy and extremely effective. Impressive reconstructions of the sets from the original film come into play at the end and an effort has been made to style the look of Danny's parents around the original actors as played by Jack Nicholson and Shelley Duval. Make up and special effects add their contributions and, unusually, in today's cinema, the film gets better and more involving as it goes on. It's all complete tosh of course but it comes as a pleasant surprise to find that the film's hefty running time of 151 minutes has literally flown by. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
Brent_MarchantNov 9, 2019
This jumbled, overlong, often-boring, frequently silly sequel to the Stanley Kubrick horror classic "The Shining" misfires so much and so often that it's an utter embarrassment to all involved. With a painfully protracted runtime of 2:32 andThis jumbled, overlong, often-boring, frequently silly sequel to the Stanley Kubrick horror classic "The Shining" misfires so much and so often that it's an utter embarrassment to all involved. With a painfully protracted runtime of 2:32 and a storytelling approach that inexplicably vacillates between campy romp and trite horror fare, filmmaker Mike Flanagan's directorial skills simply aren't up to paying homage to the artistry of the predecessor picture's creator, especially in one particularly grotesque sequence that's flat out in stupendously bad taste. What's more, the writing and acting are frequently laughable, so horrendously awful that I often found myself chuckling over material that I probably wasn't supposed to be laughing at. You know you've got a stinker on your hands when you see, as I did at my screening, viewers getting up and leaving not even halfway into the movie. Save your money! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
Rebecca31Nov 8, 2019
We didn’t really need another chapter to The Shining but we got one anyway so of course I’m going to see it. I’ve read the book and for those of you worried this will be another review where I criticise every detail and go on one of my rantsWe didn’t really need another chapter to The Shining but we got one anyway so of course I’m going to see it. I’ve read the book and for those of you worried this will be another review where I criticise every detail and go on one of my rants about how the book is so much better, rest assured that’s not the case this time. Not only is Doctor Sleep a faithful adaptation but it’s entertaining and has more than enough creepy scenes to send a chill down your spine.

Danny Torrance (Ewan McGregor) is all grown up and not exactly living his best life. On route to sort his life out he meets Abra, a young girl with a powerful shine. Danny must push aside his demons to protect Abra from a merciless cult, the True Knot who feed on children with the shining. Doctor Sleep keeps the dark tone of the book and I absolutely loved the casting choice of Rebecca Ferguson as Rose the Hat. She is the cold-hearted **** brought to life. It didn’t go overboard with the cheap jump scares, rather leaning into scenes that genuinely disturb you, all while maintaining the sinister atmosphere. Although I was enjoying the scenes recreated from The Shining it plays on your love of the original perhaps a little too much. I felt the time spent paying homage to The Shining was overdone. I liked the new direction Doctor Sleep was taking us so every time another recreation of The Shining cropped up it started to take me out of the film. This isn’t your typical horror, it’s scary in a whole other way. Setting out to frighten you not just by going real quiet only to have something jump at you from the dark while the music gets suddenly loud. The tension builds and you get more time for some character development. Director Mike Flanagan really did a good job with Doctor Sleep, I had my doubts after the trailer but as with many movie trailers these days, they don’t do the film any justice.

It’s no secret that Stephen King hated what Stanley Kubrick did with The Shining though I have to say I have a love for both the book and the film but I can understand why King didn’t like it at all. It wasn’t just a case of the book being better than the film, but they were both completely different to each other. I’m not even sure if Kubrick read all of The Shining, rather he took the general idea and put his own stamp on it. It feels like a Stanley Kubrick film, not a Stephen King film. Doctor Sleep is a completely different story, it stays true to its source material and is a much more faithful book to film adaptation. It feels like Stephen King and admittedly there’s been a few awful adaptations but when a Stephen King adaptation is done right it really is worth the ticket price. Recommended for all you horror fans.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
BrogioNov 10, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is a complete mess, from start to finish, continuity errors, missing human reactions, heartbeats when literally nothing is happening, stiff acting, dialogues way too long that don't add anything to the plot, a villain cast completely flat (only 3 and a half out of 10 have any screen time)...aaand what else? Oh yeah right! It butchers kubrick, trying to recreate memorable scenesand falling flat on its face, the Overlook Hotel never felt so tiny. But it's biggest flaw is that it ends up being boring, it strecthes itself way too long and way too thin. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
autosag1979Nov 8, 2019
Stephen King needs a rest! Well-intentioned but unsatisfactory (...) [It tries] to live its own life before succumbing to the tempting pull of recognizable terrors. This movie is crap!
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
0
corinthiansNov 8, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow! Never as a movie lived up to my expectations like this one. Mike Flanagan has done a really great job at making sure everyone worked at their full potential to make this movie an obnoxious cornucopia of crap. I left the theather shining with knowledge, the knowledge of how NOT to make a movie. It must have been mesmerizing watching the editing team decide for yet another cross fade transition or heartbeat or TA TA TAAAAA or fake Jack Nicholson. Use the force Dan... Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
0
jkatchesNov 8, 2019
If you take the word "Doctor" out of the title and just left "Sleep" it would be far more fitting for how this movie will effect its audiences. This movie is a Disasterpiece. I saw an early screening on Monday and could've/should've walkedIf you take the word "Doctor" out of the title and just left "Sleep" it would be far more fitting for how this movie will effect its audiences. This movie is a Disasterpiece. I saw an early screening on Monday and could've/should've walked out in the first 5 min. There’s a lot I could say about Doctor Sleep without giving away the plot. But the movie is not even worth the effort of a review. It’s that bad. Mike Flanagan attempts to perform a juggling act by writing the screenplay, directing, DP'ing, and editing the entire film...and boy did it show, as he drops the ball mostly in the areas of plot and performances

Plot/Suspense: I’m not a crazy Shining fan, I am a Kubrick fan, I thought Kubrick was one of the most creative directors. And his touch on the Shining is what made it truly one of the creepiest things I’ve ever seen. He built his movie through slow dread. Doctor sleep on the other hand only makes the audience dread how long the movie will be. The story is all over the place. Literally, different times and places, making it a pain for the audience to follow. Character: Kubrick's characters and themes are complex, whereas Doctor Sleeps are superficial and fall flat. They lack depth and substance. The antagonists are uninteresting, underdeveloped, with 0 arc, and worst of all not scary in the least. Setting: A scary movies greatest asset is setting. Kubricks setting is confined, secluded, in a haunted hotel, with antagonist and protagonist snowed in together, making for an extremely terrifying experience. In Doctor Sleep setting is tossed out the window. It's an open world, with 0 confinement. And when the movie reaches confined spaces it's too worried about matching the Shining to try and create something that would've surprised the audience. This movie shows that not every Stephen King novel should be adapted. It reminds me A LOT of Dreamcatcher. You could say Doctor Sleep is Dreamcatcher 2.0.
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
3
AxeTNov 8, 2019
"The Shining" (10) is the rare classic film formed by the brilliance of three giants: Stephen King, Stanley Kubrick and Jack Nicholson. King's story was a simple original high concept, the best kind to adapt into a movie. Kubrick in his"The Shining" (10) is the rare classic film formed by the brilliance of three giants: Stephen King, Stanley Kubrick and Jack Nicholson. King's story was a simple original high concept, the best kind to adapt into a movie. Kubrick in his genius wisely constructed ambiguity allowing for interpretation of its events. And Nicholson gave one of the most memorable and since referenced performances in cinema history. This tricky sequel is King at his worst with his penchant for over-the-top supernatural, and it's not really a true sequel but a quasi remake by young dumb Hollywood in the trendy practice of greatest hits reunion tribute antics riffing on everything via reenactments of the original (locations, sets, costumes, props, sound effects, music, dialogue, shots, scenes) rather than a continuation of or new story. That's what these way later sequels do now. They serve as reboots remixing the same old content which taints the original far worse than any attempt at originality would. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
ApolscNov 13, 2019
This movie has almost nothing to do with Kubrick's which shouldn't be a surprise considering King hated that masterpiece but that is the way they sold us the movie in the trailers. This the typical 90s King's adaptation with cheesy one linersThis movie has almost nothing to do with Kubrick's which shouldn't be a surprise considering King hated that masterpiece but that is the way they sold us the movie in the trailers. This the typical 90s King's adaptation with cheesy one liners bad acting performances, characters that don't fit in, people living scary situations like they where normal. Also Stephen King saying you will like this sh*t if you liked shawshank is a blasphemy. You will like this if you liked his cheesy 90s series kingdom hospital. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
lwnewtonNov 14, 2019
I felt like this movie was made for young teens. They just spoon fed you the story and why things were happening. The script was embarrassing. The ghoulish steam hunters were goofy and a direct rip off of Dirk Gently hunters. There wasI felt like this movie was made for young teens. They just spoon fed you the story and why things were happening. The script was embarrassing. The ghoulish steam hunters were goofy and a direct rip off of Dirk Gently hunters. There was absolutely no thinking to be done, just dumb. One of the worst films I've seen in s long time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
theredskyNov 13, 2019
The Stanley Kubrick version of The Shining is awesome. They had so much potential to make a sequel to The Shining and they executed it like this. It was a huge disappointment for me. This movie does have a talented cast but they are put intoThe Stanley Kubrick version of The Shining is awesome. They had so much potential to make a sequel to The Shining and they executed it like this. It was a huge disappointment for me. This movie does have a talented cast but they are put into such a disappointing movie. I thought that Ewan McGregor and Rebecca Ferguson did a great job and bring some enjoyment to this film but their characters are incredibly weak. I don’t how it was possible to make an already existing and developed character weak but they did that to Danny Torrance in this movie. His only character trait is that he wants to help people but that’s it. Rebecca Ferguson’s character is pretty weak too. Her only motivation is that she wants to live for a while which is fine but she has no character to back it up. Although, there are sequences with her character that are visually interesting and peaked my interest a little bit. I thought the story was fine I guess. I have never read the Doctor Sleep novel so I can’t say whether it was faithful or not. The 3rd act was dreadful though. All it was was hey do you remember how great The Shining was over and over again. It recreated a bunch of scenes from the original and somehow managed to make them worse. It’s solely relying on if you remember The Shining or not instead of being interesting. There are only two aspects of the 3rd act I appreciated. I thought that the score rendition of The Shining theme was good albeit not as iconic as the original theme and there is a Jack Nicholson look alike that does a pretty good job at looking and sounding like Jack Nicholson. I can’t say that for all of the look alikes though. Instead of finding people who looked like Shelley Duvall and Danny Lloyd, they just completely recast them and it’s terrible. Doctor Sleep is 2 and a half hours long and it does not deserve that runtime. They should have just cut it down to just about 2 hours. The added time just makes parts of the film flat out boring. There are some other technical aspects that I thought were bad. There is this stupid heartbeat sound effect they use at least 30-40 times throughout the film and it is incredibly annoying and some of the visuals later in the film looked pretty bad. Overall, Doctor Sleep may have some good performances but it's over reliance on being related to The Shining, being much longer than it should, and weak characters make this one of the biggest disappointments of the year for me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
BradMorganNov 13, 2019
Scary at times, but too far-fetched. unfortunately the film was a disappointment
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Kevin3Nov 9, 2019
Una adaptación fiel, Rebecca Ferguson se luce en esta película y ewan mcgregor lo hace bien pero la película se siente pesada con su duración de dos horas y media y llega a aburrir bastante
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
acelasherNov 9, 2019
I read the book two months before seeing the movie and was happier than a vampire tick on a rhino's butt I did. The story line felt choppy. Maybe if I hadn't read the book I wouldn't have noticed.

Somewhere in the middle of the movie, while
I read the book two months before seeing the movie and was happier than a vampire tick on a rhino's butt I did. The story line felt choppy. Maybe if I hadn't read the book I wouldn't have noticed.

Somewhere in the middle of the movie, while shifting my weight from left to right butt cheek, I imagined how a person who hadn't read the book could follow this story. If you're going to watch this at a theater, do yourself a favor and scan the Cliff's Notes version of the book before you go.

Rose the Hat should be supernatural evil wrapped in a beautiful body. In the movie, the beauty bit hit the mark, but Rose the Hat seemed a bit more impish than Nosferatu-ish, although the actress delivered perfervid performances in several exhilarating scenes. In fact, most (not all) of the actors and actresses were great.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
ErificaNov 10, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film fails to live up to the precedence set by The Shining. What scares you about The Shining? For me, it is the idea that one can become murderous and go insane in isolation. Jack Torrence had his demons and The Overlook brought out his darkness. The scenes with the ghosts were intense especially as each member of the family questions their sanity. Are they really seeing something or is it their own mind playing tricks? Then you have the intense and timely music which gives The Shining an ominous intensity. The idea is this could happen to you.

Doctor Sleep fast forward into the future, Danny is all grown up. He’s an alcoholic. He is violent. He leaves a mother in her own vomit with her toddler to die. What’s likeable about him? If you haven’t watched the Shining do you even like this guy? Can you see yourself in him? I can’t. Danny isn’t very likeable. As the story progresses, someone take a chance on him and we see him become a slightly better person. He joins AA and gets a job working in hospice where he helps people pass. That part is interesting. But then you have this whole bizarre group of psychic vampires (I guess?) who are hunting people who shine. We don’t really know who they are or where they come from. But they pose a threat to a psychic child who had befriended Danny. The whole storyline just does nothing for me. It plays out like fan fiction. Or maybe a bad episode of The Vampire Diaries. Maybe that’s your thing but it isn’t mine. I never felt sacred. I didn’t feel empathy for Danny or Abra. I just didn’t care or feel anything. The end was like a Hallmark movie. I know Stephen King didn’t like Kubrick’s version of The Shining but Kubrick made a masterpiece. This is just a flop.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
maxadoNov 12, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. filme muito interessante una sequencia digna de um clássico do cinema filme bem acima da media Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
FifiENov 12, 2019
Sophomoric acting. Only chooses to assault your senses for the sake of making a ho hum movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
RealityBites617Nov 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lord. This movie was so painful to sit through. The story is extremely cheezy. It is basically TRYING to ride the coattails of The Shining. Doctor Sleep was a tour of the Lookout Lodge visited in The Shining. Doctor Sleep was lacklustre and lacked the shine of The Shining. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerNov 16, 2019
2017's Gerald's Game was a huge surprise for a lot of people. The book it's based on is largely comprised of imaginary conversations taking place in the protagonist's head, and many thought it impossible for that to be translated to film.2017's Gerald's Game was a huge surprise for a lot of people. The book it's based on is largely comprised of imaginary conversations taking place in the protagonist's head, and many thought it impossible for that to be translated to film. Mike Flanagan pulled it off though. Showing that he could bring Stephen King's more difficult to portray material to life onscreen with great effectiveness and creating one of the best adaptations of any of the author's work to date in the process.

I'd argue he faced a greater challenge with Doctor Sleep however. Not only does a significant portion of the action once again take place inside the minds of the characters, but the story also serves as sequel to The Shining. This put Flanagan in the unenviable position of having to decide whether or not he actually wanted to make this a direct follow-up to the legendary Kubrick film, or forsake any such connections and try to make it as self-contained as possible. No matter what the director chose, The Shining would always be a part of the conversation due to the shared continuity of their source materials, but the latter option did at least come with the potential to avoid some of the harsher scrutiny that would likely arise from establishing this as a continuation of what some consider to be the single greatest piece of horror cinema ever created.

Flanagan ultimately took the risk and went the sequel route. Tweaking a few things from the novel in the process so that it could tie in better with Kubrick's version of The Shining. A decision that might have actually been beneficial to the story as it allowed him to remain very faithful to the source material while giving him a means to cut out King's ridiculous surprise relative twist. The new ending also redeems the lack of fidelity inherent in the Kubrick film by managing to stay true to the heart and soul of both books at the same time.

While the events that occurred in The Shining are significant in that they define who Danny is in this movie, outside of the final act that's a little too heavy on nostalgia-based scene recreations Doctor Sleep largely does its own thing and in its own way. Even to the point kind of moving away from straight horror in favor of something more akin to dark fantasy. For the majority of it's lengthy running-time it's decidedly not Kubrick which allows it to succeed on its own merits, of which there are many.

This is one haunting piece of cinema with some truly horrific moments that will stick with you. It's a violent tale of mind-bending psychic warfare with a strong dramatic component centered around PTSD, regret, and the desire for redemption in a cruel, hungry world. All of which is backed by incredible performances across the board. Rebecca Ferguson's natural accent slips through once or twice making the weakest link, but her sexy yet terrifying villain is so memorable that it almost goes by unnoticed.

I would really love to see Flanagan tackle more King in the future. The author has often experimented with more fantastical conceits of the mind and many directors have struggled making those ideas work onscreen. Flanagan however has pulled it off twice now with stunning results. Doctor Sleep is incredibly gripping. Pop-culture's obsession with the '80s throwback shows up here near the end and finds the director putting on an unnecessary Kubrick impression, but that's the single misstep in a movie that's otherwise confident enough to build upon and branch off from its predecessor in order to take a different path that cements it as a worthy successor and an excellent film in its own right.

9.3/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
matthewmirlianiNov 14, 2019
Thrilling, disturbing, and overall satisfying, Doctor Sleep is a faithful adaption of Stephen King’s novel with just enough Kubrick to please movie nerds (like myself). The first half of the film is incredibly strong - anchored by a fantasticThrilling, disturbing, and overall satisfying, Doctor Sleep is a faithful adaption of Stephen King’s novel with just enough Kubrick to please movie nerds (like myself). The first half of the film is incredibly strong - anchored by a fantastic Rebecca Ferguson as the main antagonist - but does admittedly stumble towards the second half due to strange pacing and the rushing through of major developments. Despite Doctor Sleep’s occasional moments of weakness (either in the script or in the performances) the cinematography is stunning, the reconstruction of the Overlook is impressive, and the way the film pays tribute to Kubrick - from the opening notes to the credit music - successfully contextualizes this thriller within The Shining’s cinematic legacy. Kubrick’s vision was one of a kind - and mere hints of his genius sprinkled throughout Doctor Sleep are enough to remind us of this fact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NShep53Nov 11, 2019
Stands shoulder to shoulder with Kubrick's "The Shining". Performances all around are excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheHonestJackNov 14, 2019
Much to my surprise, this Kubrick-inspired sequel is at its best when it doesn't bog itself down with Shining related imagery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EROCKQNov 15, 2019
This is a near-perfect adaptation of a great fantasy novel with one horribly disturbing scene, and a bit of an awkward ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Nov 14, 2019
Does not have the strength of the Kubrick original 1980 movie but it is still supported by a plot that doesn´t leave loose ends or potholes, and strives to capture the viewer's interest, with assorted details linked of original Shining. SomeDoes not have the strength of the Kubrick original 1980 movie but it is still supported by a plot that doesn´t leave loose ends or potholes, and strives to capture the viewer's interest, with assorted details linked of original Shining. Some better than It Chapter 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Nov 15, 2019
When the adaptation of Doctor Sleep was announced I must say that I was quite skeptical. How do you make a sequel to such a famous book and such a famous film?
How do you unite both of them? And how do you attract the audiences? Surprisingly,
When the adaptation of Doctor Sleep was announced I must say that I was quite skeptical. How do you make a sequel to such a famous book and such a famous film?
How do you unite both of them? And how do you attract the audiences? Surprisingly, Mike Flanagan succeeded, although relying significantly on Kubrick's film. That's not a bad thing because in one way or another how could you announce it as a sequel to The Shining in the cinema without recognizing Kubrick's film?

The changes themselves are not so annoying, they're understandable and after all as I have said repeatedly, a book and a film are very different narrative media.

The film itself is pretty entertaining although its duration is excessive. Especially considering how scattered and muddled its beginning feels, but it manages to catch pace and although it has its problems, this is due more to the unfortunate need to overexplain what is happening on the screen instead of giving more agility to the narrative.
Ewan McGregor doesn't do a bad job but I didn't feel his work so solid, the truth is that I felt him somewhat disconnected. Rebecca Ferguson on the other hand feels more involved but the story fails to give her a memorable moment, which is a shame.

And even though it can be considered that this film is one of King's best adaptations, it should also be clarified that this is due to its final act because after all and even if it may not seem true to some, the biggest impression the film will leave you comes from the scenes at the Overlook Hotel, but I repeat that's not a bad thing.

Doctor Sleep is not a bad film at all as I said it is one of King's best adaptations and it's known that getting that is very difficult but Mike Flanagan did it.
He continues to consolidate, he did it with Gerald's Game and especially with The Haunting of Hill House and here he offers another good addition to his filmography. I recommend it, with certain reservations but I think it's worth it. It is a worthy sequel. Maybe not from the massive legacy of Kubrick's masterpiece but justifies its existence.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rafshNov 13, 2019
Muy buena película. Muy buena adaptación si lo comparamos con el libro. El universo de King es uno de los mejores. Hay mucha gente que no lee el condenado libro ni sabe de que trata y son los que critican
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GreenApple131Nov 17, 2019
Good sequel to the amazing "The shining". I don't read books, but so interesting to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
terioR10119Nov 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is very good but time is its problem. When in the finale you see the hotel overlook you feel excitement but at the same time the desire to leave the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
vidalteNov 9, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a pretty decent adaption of SK's book, trying to tie it up with Kubrick's movie. I read the book a few years back, and though it has a few differences (specially the ending) it's an enjoyable movie. Book wasn't fantastic, it was just OK, therefore the movie is just that, OK. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrujanNov 13, 2019
The best movie in 2019. Is amazing, Ewan Mcgregor is the best. Better horror film in many years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EltonrosasNov 13, 2019
This movie deserves ask the praise. It was congruent, thoughtful, scary, suspenseful and none of the cheap scares..... This definitely have justice to the shining.

I highly recommend it to be seen at the theatre. Recliner seats, bug ol
This movie deserves ask the praise. It was congruent, thoughtful, scary, suspenseful and none of the cheap scares..... This definitely have justice to the shining.

I highly recommend it to be seen at the theatre. Recliner seats, bug ol screen and amazing sound.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ViperDLCNov 15, 2019
На мой взгляд, этот сиквел слабее Кубринского "Сияния" не потому что тот фильм великолепен. Просто эта часть более затянута, менее загадочна и снято как детское приключение, хотя есть и устрашающие моменты в стиле Кинга. Но таких моментов увыНа мой взгляд, этот сиквел слабее Кубринского "Сияния" не потому что тот фильм великолепен. Просто эта часть более затянута, менее загадочна и снято как детское приключение, хотя есть и устрашающие моменты в стиле Кинга. Но таких моментов увы - ничтожно мало. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CptAwesome711Nov 18, 2019
Flanagan hit the mark, as expected! He put on screen and stayed true to it's source material (which Kubrick didn't do), while simultaneously giving King some justice for his disapproval of Kubrick's adaptation of the 1st novel. Kubrick'sFlanagan hit the mark, as expected! He put on screen and stayed true to it's source material (which Kubrick didn't do), while simultaneously giving King some justice for his disapproval of Kubrick's adaptation of the 1st novel. Kubrick's adaptation as a stand alone horror film was great, but as a novel adaptation it lacks tremendously (unpopular opinion, don't care...it's the TRUTH!) Now, this movie isn't perfect, there are some scenes that I think would've catapulted this film into perfection if they had used some original reels in some scenes to really bring Kubrick's fans in more, but I'm sure there's probably some laws that kept that from happening (just assumptions) and some things felt rushed if you read the book. But being that this movie was already 2 1/2 hours, adding more of the story probably would've added another hour, easy. The acting was spot on, the imagery and special effects was super cool and if you have any idea what books story is (I implore you to read the book if you haven't yet and you're into reading), then you'll understand this film more and maybe appreciate it more for the artwork it actually is. The nods towards The Shining were perfectly done, I can't wait to see it again. This film deserves more praise than it's getting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews