Toei Company | Release Date: January 16, 2019
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 139 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
108
Mixed:
16
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
brandonb7Jan 24, 2019
Best DB movie to date. Had an interesting story, looked amazing, and set up for a sequel.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
gokussjblueJan 23, 2019
it was a good movie although the cg animation kinda messed up some parts it was other wise one of the best dragon ball movie i've ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Jmorgan62Jan 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No Spoilers Time

Dragonball Super Broly is he newest animated film directed by Tatsuya Nagamine and written by none other than the legend Akira Toriyama. This movie was purely amazing and just so much fun to watch on the big screen. there is so much to love in this film and for Dragonball fans this is a great special treat that "we" dont get all the time. The story is about Broly who was kinda first introduced in the movie Dragon Ball Z: Broly – The Legendary Super Saiyan. Both introducing Broly for the first time but the biggest thing that is different from the 1993 movie and this years movie is the story and back story behind Broly. Broly is actually a character and he is someone you will feel bad for and happy for in this movie and not be a big buff guy that scream CARROTS (just a joke). we learn how Broly survived the destruction of his planet and how he survived and this bond between Broly and his father Paragus is really good story to tell. Its not normal for Dragonball to have the greatest story to tell but this one took the cake. The story is really good and just as good as the animation and the fighting. Again this story is a really good but it does recon a WHOLE lot we knew about the first episode of Dragonball, including lots of throwbacks to characters we will know and references thats short. We are first shown this re writing of the origin of Dragonball and we are shown how the Saiyans came to be and how they came under the rule of Frieza, who is really intimidating from the start. We eventually show up to the present which takes place after Episode 131 of Dragonball Super. The fight we get into is really fun and there is so much about this fight that hasn't been shown. So many camera angles and shots were shown that were so fun to see and there are moments where you might feel some pain from the amazing performance by Sean Schemmel and cChristopher Sabat, and everyone else who worked on voice acting. Goku and Vegeta feel like they should be acting as always and they are a nice duo in this movie. Animation was dramatically different from traditional DragonBall and it works for 99 percent of the time. I could defiantly spot out the flaws but it didn't ruin the movie. We dont get movies like this a lot and its so much fun to see and I want to see it again. The detailed spoiler section will give more about this. But this movie gets a 9 out of 10 for me. SPOILER TIME YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED


The plot and the story telling of this movie is really well and neatly paced, 100 minutes and it felt natural and nothing felt too rushed, only towards the end things were rushing along quickly. Frieza took a beating for a while hour in a just a minute of screen time to get to Gogeta. Broly's story is really good and way better than he 1993 Broly, and we get to see why Broly is a mad screaming fighter, he only had one friend and his dad to love, his green cape is a reminder of his only friend he had until the end, and its sad and yes Broly is sort of Allies with Goku. The fighting was great, everything felt smooth and quick. We had first person shots, low and high angle shots. Everything made since because Beerus wasn't her to save the day, it was up to Goku and Vegeta to stop Broly and the use of Fusion was wise because this confirms Gogeta into being Cannon. A lot is already said about the story of Broly and how sad and good his is. Music and Acting and Writing were all just great, the exchange of jokes about the 5 year sand 5 centimeters was PURE GENIUS and Vegeta and Goku and most other characters kept their personality as always. Frieza is as bad as always he is ruthless as always and the way he treat his men is Frieza, he is responsible for Paragus's death who I really loved as a character too and he could come back (DRAGON BALLS) he wasnt the greatest father but he wasnt the worst as well. He trained Broly for 41 years and taught him everything. Broly is the Legendary SSJ, but the way they show it is quick and not even talked about, he just turns into it. The final fight was great. The main setting was in an Antarctica like place and was perfect to show off the art and colors and just everything was a treat to watch, and just like Dragonball Z and Super there is punches and kicks, energy waves and so many explosions and even time breaks. editing was done well and so was cinematography because it was hand drawn. I would like a Cooler movie and also this also opens up the door the SSJ4 but theres things to look up about that. Broly of course is befriended sort of just like every single time Goku touches someone.I really want to see more movies like this with great stories and good action and taking pages from movies that are non cannon. I cant wait for the next journey in DragonBall and hopefully Super can come back soon. If graded this would get a 95 percent.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TuttiJan 25, 2019
By Far one of the best dragon ball movies, it had a great story line, great action and it gave us an idea of gokus life as a kid
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
robcollins606Jan 23, 2019
I've been a fan of the dragon ball series for over 20 years, and I've watched everything they've put out. I'll say this, if you haven't watched the series, especially most of dragon ball super, you probably won't understand a lot of what'sI've been a fan of the dragon ball series for over 20 years, and I've watched everything they've put out. I'll say this, if you haven't watched the series, especially most of dragon ball super, you probably won't understand a lot of what's going on in this movie. They touch on the backstory as much as the time allows, but this is really made for fans of the series. If you haven't watched DBZ or DB Super, I would recommend becoming familiar with that before attempting to watch this if you really want to get the full experience. With that said, I got a delightful dose of nostalgia and I don't think I've ever enjoyed a movie in a theater as much as this one. We had a diverse crowd of all ages in a packed theater and there were several moments of laughs cheers gasps and everybody really got into it. I also really liked the re-imagined Broly character, they truly did him justice, much more so than in the original films. Without spoiling anything, I was expecting to be disappointed by the ending but left pleasantly surprised at how it plays out in the end for Broly as well as our heroes. I was slightly disappointed that a couple staple characters were notably missing from the movie, but it really didn't take away anything from the story. Overall, I think this is my favorite DB movie ever and it hopefully will lead to tons of new content moving forward. Dragonball forever! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
BlackWolfLoboGrJan 16, 2019
Sin duda disfrute de esta película (muchísimo). Si no le doy mas puntuación es porque estoy intentando ser objetivo. Hay momentos en que la animación se ve muy mal hace transiciones entre un estilo de animación a otro no muy bien que digamos.Sin duda disfrute de esta película (muchísimo). Si no le doy mas puntuación es porque estoy intentando ser objetivo. Hay momentos en que la animación se ve muy mal hace transiciones entre un estilo de animación a otro no muy bien que digamos. Comienza desarrollando muy bien a varios personajes pero al final los motivos de Broly se sienten vacíos y la solución al conflicto muy simplona, lo que le quita peso a la historia (ya que no hay un peligro real o algo que pueda llegar a ser incontenible como otras veces). Pero lo que importa aquí y lo que emociona es poder ver a personajes como los padres de Goku y Vegueta, ver las batallas y transformaciones, hay unos movimientos de combate geniales, cada golpe se siente con fuerza. La comedia esta muy bien y esta en una medida justa. Muy disfrutable. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
kheasJan 19, 2019
This is a perfect jumping on point for anyone who has ever wanted to see what all the fuss about the Dragon Ball franchise was all about. Packed with enough lore and backed with a fun filled story, this film shows that a 35 year old franchiseThis is a perfect jumping on point for anyone who has ever wanted to see what all the fuss about the Dragon Ball franchise was all about. Packed with enough lore and backed with a fun filled story, this film shows that a 35 year old franchise can find new life even without the help by a wish from Shenron. With how entertaining this was, I do not see the Dragon Ball universe vanishing any time soon. http://latetothegame.blog/2019/01/11/well-over-9000-a-review-of-dragon-ball-super-broly-the-movie/ Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
BuffMovieguyJan 18, 2019
The best part of the movie was undoubtedly the first half, which shows the origins of Goku, Vegeta nd Broly as well as the demise of the Saiyan race. It gave a long awaited to look into the Saiyan race and the origins of our 3 protagonists.The best part of the movie was undoubtedly the first half, which shows the origins of Goku, Vegeta nd Broly as well as the demise of the Saiyan race. It gave a long awaited to look into the Saiyan race and the origins of our 3 protagonists. But personally the fight scenes of the old movie was better. The fight scenes in this movie are just to crazy and to difficult to follow, most of the time i was just wondering who was hitting who lol. I also prefer the look of the old Broly but Overall this was a good movie. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
SolidGearSnakeJan 25, 2019
The animation looks fantastic like an apologize from Toei Animation for the awful first episodes of DBS Its simple this is The best dragon ball movie, nothing more and nothing less
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
EarlyExecuterJan 18, 2019
The movie presents a long and fruitful endeavor in attempting to recreate the long lived story of Broly. A lengthy prologue finely describes the new origins or the Legendary Super Saiyan. Along with a few comical jokes and some greatlyThe movie presents a long and fruitful endeavor in attempting to recreate the long lived story of Broly. A lengthy prologue finely describes the new origins or the Legendary Super Saiyan. Along with a few comical jokes and some greatly animated scenes, the movie itself had a few drawbacks. Being a hardcore Dragon Ball fan, I remember the original Broly movies. Having rewritten the characters story entirely felt... damaging. However, change is sometimes required. If they wish to make Broly canon from now on, this would most likely be the best approach. The prologue was most certainly lengthy to a point that made me anxious on my ass, just waiting for the action to begin. They could of possibly simplified the explanation for people to enjoy. During certain parts of the film, you'll have several "wtf" moments in terms of animation quality. Going from amazing and detailed aura transformations to oddly placed 3D formats that don't feel as appealing for a movie. These are scarce but memorable in a somewhat neutral way. The transformations on their own are in great and amazing detail. I feel however, that they could of done much better with other aspects of animation. For those of you who have indeed watched the fight between Goku and Jiren, those were my expectations in terms of quality animation. They delivered, just not in the way most people would expect. The movie is most certainly worth watching but be prepared to be stricken by a certain loss of nostalgia once you start listening in. It brings an entirely new story for Broly which places the original movies in the ancient past. This movie is canon to the Super series. Enjoy! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
EdsfelpsJan 19, 2019
Great movie and effects special, need more history the broy in the new world!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
WorriedDenizenJan 17, 2019
Peak anime kino, one of the best movies so far in 2019. It's also a nice break from the constant capesh!t that we've seen for the past 4-6 years. Even if you don't know or like Dragon Ball, this is still a really good film to watch. It hasPeak anime kino, one of the best movies so far in 2019. It's also a nice break from the constant capesh!t that we've seen for the past 4-6 years. Even if you don't know or like Dragon Ball, this is still a really good film to watch. It has humor, and cool fights and doesn't hold back.
10/10 would watch again and again. I only rated it 9 due to metacritic's dumb filtering of 0 and 10 scores.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ReaperxSpiderJan 19, 2019
This movie is defiantly the best in the serious. The animation is amazing, the story and even the new background for broly makes him a more compelling character. I was hooked from beginning to end. A must watch for dragon ball fans.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
1
EigiexJan 23, 2019
The movie lacks of story and it's just a lot of screams, bad jokes, stupid dialogues and a weird awful cgi. The worst movie of DBS
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
0
raporgiJan 26, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. its a recycled remixed POS just like the rest of that shambling corpse that used to be DB. Toriyama and his minions are just total hacks at this point and the fact that they clubbed this non-canon character into the DB lore just shows how creatively bankrupt they are. just stop plz. there's zero character motivation in this movie, its like chucking some beetles into a jar and watching them eat each other. Expand
1 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Jan 20, 2019
This film follow-up to the recent anime show Dragon Ball Super features the first in-canon introduction of the character Broly. Back during the run of the show's predecessor Dragon Ball Z, there were multiple movies with their own villains.This film follow-up to the recent anime show Dragon Ball Super features the first in-canon introduction of the character Broly. Back during the run of the show's predecessor Dragon Ball Z, there were multiple movies with their own villains. The most popular one was Broly, a guy from the same alien race as main character Goku. However, the movies really didn't quite fit within the continuity of the show. Now, this film written by original creator Akira Toriyama, officially brings Broly into the universe.

I rather enjoyed this one and think it's one of the strongest films in the franchise. This is the third of the recent Dragon Ball revival films. The first was big on story and low on action, the second was big on action and low on story, and this one finally finds a good balance, literally. The film is exactly 50% story followed by 50% action. This is definitely better than the second one. The first one has the better story but this one has the better action.

This movie probably has more story than other many other DB movies and it pays off. The script actually improves upon Broly and his father Paragus. Originally Broly was practically a personality-less berserker who had the weak origin of hating Goku because his crying kept him awake when they were infants. Here Broly is a tragic/sympathetic character with a more fleshed-out backstory. Paragus while still more of a traditional villain does have reasonable motivations for his actions.

The movie officially tells the tale of the destruction of Goku and Broly's home planet Vegeta and of Goku's parentage and its all done pretty creatively. Toriyama has always been very imaginative and his vision of outer space is very unique.

The only issue is that this is mostly a Broly story. Goku and Vegeta (not the planet but another member of their race; confusing ain't it?) are kind of supporting characters and only a handful of other cast members from the series show up. Still, I appreciated the film making us care for this villain who drops into the characters' lives from out of the blue. DB's best know villain Freeza does feature a lot. Instead of being the main physical threat here, he has realized he can't currently physically defeat, so he slimily tries to manipulate events and it actually builds upon his character. Freeze is more interesting here as a supporting villain than he was in the last movie where he was the main one.

The movie is also fairly funny and quirky. However, Freeza's plans for obtaining the wish-granting dragon balls here, which funny, is basically the exact same joke used in the villain's motivations in the Red Ribbon Army arc in the original Dragon Ball. (I've read that Toriyama has a bit of a bad memory when it comes to his own work.)

Plot has a couple other nitpicks: The ending is a little fast and too telegraphed. Also, you get tired real quick of Broly's new ally Cheelai constantly repeating why we should feel bad for him.

But enough about the story. What about what Dragon Ball is most known for?: The action. This may very well have best action scene in the entire film series or animated films in general. The main fight in the second half is intense as all get out. I mean it truly gets epic. Puts many previous DB fights to shame. Thid movie doesn't have the biggest budget, but the animators really put their all into it.

Speaking of the animation, the whole thing is really colorful and unique to look at. The music during the fight scene really builds upon the mood.

If you're a fan of DB, you're sure to love it. I saw audience members in the theater applaud this. If you're not familiar, well this is a long series and may be difficult to get into. However, if you like action and are okay with watching stuff out of continuity, then you may want to try this out.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
fallout7050Feb 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. version en espanol de la critica la película no me gusto porque pareciera que la pelicula este incompleta,por ejemplo cuando bardock va a atacar a freezer no se explica ni como llego alli ni el como el sabe que freezer quiere erradicar a toda su raza o cuando envian a goku a la tierra con armadura y ni si quiera explicaron que paso con aquella armadura en la pelicula o el echo de que solo ultilizasen la fusion metamoru siendo todo muy forzado, goku perfectamente pudo utilizar el ssj blue kaioken o esperar para ver si en algun momento lograse volver a desbloquear el ultrainstinto con jiren las pasaron 1000 veces peor y un asi nunca se les ocurrio utilizar la fusion ,luego esta el hecho de que en ningun momento de la pelicula se sintio algun tipo de tension ya que se sabia de antemano que goku y vegeta no podian perder ya que aunque broly les sacase mucha ventaja y derrotara a goku y vegeta wiss podria retroseder el tiempo evitando asi la muerte de los dos sayains, me gustaria recalcar la falta de sangre que tubo la pelicula osea por broly le la una paliza
a vegeta golpeandolo contra el hielo y aun si no sangra asolutamente nada,y porque broly se transforma al ver a su padre morir si esque la propia pelicula dice que broly no queria a su padre paragus porque este lo maltrataba y luego cuando lo ve morir se tranforma porque?para finalizar la crítica me gustaría hablar del papel de freezer ,la estúpida utilización de los deseos de las dragón balls o esferas del dragon, el protagonismo y papel de los guerreros z y la historia de broly, osea bulma tiene las 7 esferas de dragon y solo las utiliza para rejuvenecer 5 años,wtf,esto seria los mas estupido que oido de noser porque le siguio el deseo de freezer que una estupidez tan grande como que el queria crecer 5 cm si solo 5 putos cm esto me ase acordar la poca creatividad que tuvieron con en deseo de n17 que recordemos que era nada mas y nada menos que un puto barco eserio nose les pudo ocurrir un deseo mejor para freezer o n17,en cuanto al papel de frieezer fue practica mente mal ejecutado osea freezer recluta como si
nada a paragus y broly siendo que el odia a los sayains y si se lo que vas a decir freezer los recluto porque no le que daba mas opcion y anque en parte comparto ese penzamiento siento que pudieron ejecutar mejor lo de freezer y broly como por ejemplo que fuese el junto a unos cuantos soldados quienes encontrasen a broly y luego freezer pelease contra el para comprobar su fuerza y al ver que broly era mucho mas fuerte que el el decidiria reclutarlo ya el mismo abria comprobado la fuerza de saiyajin y que daria mejor que en la pelicula en donde freezer relconose la fuerza de broly solo porque un soldado cualquiera se lo dize, otra cosa de freezer que no esta bien esque el le ande ofreciendo regalos a su soldados o sea freezer es un jodido tirano no jefe de empleo cualquiera,antes por el solo hecho de pedir un acenso a freezer te mataba ahora una soladado random pedi una recompesa y el sela da como si nada,luego freezer a guanta demasiado contra broly tranformado aguanto una paliza de broly por 2 putas horas y siguio vivo como? y freezer al final simple se va comosi nada hubiera pasado,siceramente freezer pudo tener un mejor papel, y en cuanto los guerreros z su papel y protagonismo fueron nulos reduciendose a solamete piccolo hablando con goku y vegeta sin hacer nada al respecto con broly enserio en dragon ball z los guerreros z se enfrentaban a las amenazas a un que supieran que no estaban a nivel de la amenaza y eso es algo que la antigua pelicula de broly si hizo bien con la gran mayoria de los guerreros z enfrentandose a broly,que paso con gohan o n17 o n18 ni se les menciona cuando perfectamente ellos podrian a haber enfrentado a broly los guerreros z pudieron tener un mayor protagonismo y no lu tubieron,por ultimo esta la historia de broly la cual pudo ser llevada a cabo de diferente manera explicando de donde salio el collar que broly tenia como paragus contruyo el control para controlar a broly y se que la pelicula se trata de broly pero eso no quita que se tenga que explicar el origen de dichos objetos osea haora todos nos preguntamos como paragus contruyo su control y collar de broly al menos en la cinta original se explicaba esto bien con paragus llendo con un artesano para que les contruya el aparato para controlar a broly,por lo demas la historia de broly me parece buena y ya esa es toda mi critica asia dbs broly por todos estos motivos que he mencionado le doy 2 de puntuancion a la pelicula
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
AAAmanJan 27, 2019
Saving graces were few in this diabolically bad Dragonball movie. I've watched all the anime and movies and this was a rehash of stories already done. It's almost as if the creators grabbed snippets from the previous Broly movie, and theSaving graces were few in this diabolically bad Dragonball movie. I've watched all the anime and movies and this was a rehash of stories already done. It's almost as if the creators grabbed snippets from the previous Broly movie, and the Bardock movie and taped them together. There is more dialogue in this review than comes out of Broly's mouth for the entire movie. Money back please. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
TheOnlineGamerMay 9, 2019
Quite possibly the greatest Anime film ever made.

Amazing action, great characterisation for Broly (development into his unhinged psyche) and the backstory made everything make sense thematically. The only problem I have is the change of
Quite possibly the greatest Anime film ever made.

Amazing action, great characterisation for Broly (development into his unhinged psyche) and the backstory made everything make sense thematically.

The only problem I have is the change of Bardock’s character into something more akin to Superman, which was never what Dragon Ball was ever about. He’s meant to be ruthless and evil, and that’s supposed to be passed down to Goku but fortunately didn’t thanks to the accident. I wish they kept that part the same...

Otherwise, all the other additions were perfect!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
marcmyworksFeb 19, 2019
Not knowing much about the Dragon Ball franchise I did find this film enjoyable and with wonderfully detailed animation. I will say that I love that there is always a more super form each character can take, and that this was probably theNot knowing much about the Dragon Ball franchise I did find this film enjoyable and with wonderfully detailed animation. I will say that I love that there is always a more super form each character can take, and that this was probably the longest movie battle I've ever seen, over a half hour with no break. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Voodoo123May 16, 2019
+Great animation
+Superb art design
+Interesting premise -Character dialogue is very basic -Interesting worlds are not explored much in the 100 min runtime As a fan of anime, I had tons of fun watching Super Broly explode onto my screen... I
+Great animation
+Superb art design
+Interesting premise
-Character dialogue is very basic
-Interesting worlds are not explored much in the 100 min runtime

As a fan of anime, I had tons of fun watching Super Broly explode onto my screen... I really hope the success from this project sparks other anime projects to be made! A definite must for any anime fan/series fan.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RpgLover1Mar 4, 2019
Story is better then the original Broly film. I believe most of Broly's lines consisted of Kakarot in the original. In this they're mainly ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Had a few fight scenes in CGI/3D which did look decent, but would've been
Story is better then the original Broly film. I believe most of Broly's lines consisted of Kakarot in the original. In this they're mainly ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Had a few fight scenes in CGI/3D which did look decent, but would've been better without.

Despite fighting on Earth Gohan is MIA.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
vezixFeb 3, 2019
DRAGON BALL SUPER BROLY MOVIE.
SPOILER FREE.
i just watch dragon ball super broly movie. hot dang it spend good 30 mins (that i really enjoyed btw) setting things up, and when things going down its hella good animated movie, its thin on
DRAGON BALL SUPER BROLY MOVIE.
SPOILER FREE.

i just watch dragon ball super broly movie.
hot dang it spend good 30 mins (that i really enjoyed btw) setting things up,

and when things going down its hella good animated movie, its thin on plot wise, but on the animation side, they give all out i tell ya,

the story is simple as giving context on who broly is and why he fights goku n vegeta, and vice versa

gratefully most of the main n supporting cast IN THE MOVIE (not series) aren't wasted.... even though they didn't do much but its more than justifies their existence

don't worry if you don't watch dragon ball super as it doesn't focus on any of the series plotpoints but rather jumps from its conclusion, and explain it simple enough that i myself ,a newcomer could understand the context and enjoy.

the meat of the movie... the fights....HOOO BOYY THE FIGHT!!!
they punched so HARD they breaks reality lmao. ITS MASTERCLASS OF ACTION ANIMATION. FLUID, FAST, HECTIC YET DIGESTIBLE!! IDK HOW THEY DID IT BUT THEY DID IT ANYWAY!! Gosh darn IT its great

but it's not perfect however, some actions scenes clearly shows it's 3d animated.... that seems worst than Dragon Ball Fighters Z game :/ .
and some characters shown in the 30 min opening/setting up definitely going to confuse new audience if they are not familiar with Dragon Ball series,

but those "negatives" from me are only amounts to nitpicking tiniest **** as this is clearly targeted and a love letter to a dragon ball fans.

there are several things ,like neat little things i found that i truly love, but hey, it would be spoilery if i said here.

i only know Dragon Ball on the surface level and not thoroughly like most people and i had a fking great time with a huge smile on face,
and for that, i believe 10/10 of you people would leave the movie with a huge fking smile on your face like i did.

a must watch for dragonball super, fans, and casual fans alike , worth more than the price of admission, for newer audience it is worth to stay for the new characters n actions.

its a great movie, dare i say much more so than bnha movie.

also sorry to BnHA movie... Dragon Ball's is tad bit more focused and better animated than you. i love both though so don't worry.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
samuelrwMar 31, 2019
This is one of those movies where it is absolutely essential to ignore the critics. Even if you hold no interest in the series or genre or haven’t heard about either, there is a plethora of what can only be described and has been described asThis is one of those movies where it is absolutely essential to ignore the critics. Even if you hold no interest in the series or genre or haven’t heard about either, there is a plethora of what can only be described and has been described as animation eye candy. I see a lot of critics looking for some sort of deep underlying theme that it’s failing to deliver but that is certainly not what this movie is about. This is purely a sit back and enjoy the adrenaline rush and the artistry this movie has to offer type film, for those who are coming into the theatre knowing near to nothing about the plot, backstory and lore of dragonball. For those who do know their stuff, this is expansion of the DB universe done right. A much deeper exploration of the saiyans and their past is made during this film, as well as a little sneak peek at the Freeza clan heirarchy and other surrounding worlds and their respective inhabitants. This film resembles nothing of the highly controversial dragon ball super. It achieves real tones of seriousness and there are sinister moments that make it seem as if there might actually be consequences in certain scenarios which creates an entirely tense atmosphere from time to time which super i felt was lacking almost entirely throughout. I cannot urge purists enough to try this movie, it is honestly the greatest DB film to date and without giving anything away, Broly’s character is drastically improved and twice as over the top. But again for those who are oblivious to all this and need inticing IGNORE the critics. They have no idea what they’re talking about. This movie is purely for fun and I guarantee you if you let go of some of the confusion as to characters and plot you will thoroughly enjoy the spectacle. Even the few parts you do understand I promise you will be that of a spectacle. Of course every movie has its flaws. This movie I feel can be a bit overwhelming when it comes to pacing. The start is generally okay and takes it’s time, but as it progresses it’s evident parts were a little “compressed” lets say. This is due to the fact that the original movie while storyboarding was chocked up to be a whopping 3 hours long and the final product was halved to a more temperate 90 minutes. This of course speeds up the pace of the story’s telling which can feel a little uncomfortable at times. There’s also the fact that the dub of this movie most like alters a lot of dialogue which can make some lines a little mistimed or just sound terrible altogether. But for me these details are so insignificant that I’d still lean much closer to a 10 than drop it down to a 9.

So in conclusion please, please everyone try it. It is not a deep philosophical story with a statement to make and thus critics are bound to pan it. They can’t watch a movie the same way we can.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
YakusokuNoJiApr 30, 2019
Read this comment if you are interested in Broly:

This movie is not a successful reboot from an intentional perspective but only financially. The movie is supposed to bring in a fictional character, so a collective of ideas because those
Read this comment if you are interested in Broly:

This movie is not a successful reboot from an intentional perspective but only financially.
The movie is supposed to bring in a fictional character, so a collective of ideas because those ideas are beloved. To make it part of the continuity it is supposed to be re-imagined via rebooting. What is the problem here? The problem is the reboot is so over-exaggerated that it gets rid of almost everything that is beloved about Broly rendering the meaning of bringing him into the continuity completely void. It does not matter that the fans who hated Broly first now like him because this character was supposed to be re-introduced because of those who loved him originally. "Broly has no personality, Broly has no personality". Yes, yes, he did. Broly had a personality. A person cannot have no personality. Old Broly showed signs of being a reserved normal person even without circlet (see the scene where he woke up). When he was driven by anger he was sadistic, blood-lusted, arrogant and vindictive. He already was a tragic character, because a) he was stabbed as an infant, b) he was too strong for his own good so he would always fall victim to his own power. Very few bits of that were brought back for this reboot. There is no magic to his new LSSJ form because they got rid of him being THE Legend himself and only hinted the Legend in a flashback. When Gogeta was brought in the battle was over. It was all flash and no substance. Is that a wonder for Dragon Ball? No. But the finale should at least be a solid one for Broly and not an embarassment to the form that made him popular in the first place. You cannot act like being a one-dimensional cardboard cutout which is a bit more coloured on that one side which he was in this movie is better than a two-dimensional cardboard cutout that is only sparsely coloured on both sides because both are not the creme de la creme of narration and just for the sake of following a hype acting like Broly was just all mad, had no personality and screamed only Kakarott which is not even the case in his original movie, is not gonna help the argument of the opposing side. The Dragon Ball Minus part and the first battles with Broly were all fine but when the whole point of the movie is destroyed by the creator misunderstanding what made Broly popular in the first place just so the OG Broly haters can say "OMG new Broly is so much better, he is now Tarzan, what a brilliantly written character!" then I cannot help but feel disappointed about the idea of a character that I originally liked so much. The movie overall as a movie was not too bad. At least for a Dragon Ball movie. It is not even that I dislike this interpretation of Broly completely, it just misses the point. You could have easily had both: An innocent Tarzan copy and then become the blood-lusted, arrogant, psychhopath as a LSSJ (or "Full Power" as they want to call it); it would even fit the Saiyajin lore. Who cares if Broly normally does not want to fight? It would even put more emphasis on his ultimate form. And it would have been absolutely great if that would happened during the Freeza fight portion but none of it happened. I hope there will be an anime adaption with at least some sort of character adjustment because this would be very easy to fix.

Overall the movie is a lot worse than the original Broly movie. The original Broly and his movie were so popular because it very simply gave his fans what they wanted. And there was a lot more to the movie and character, no matter what his haters say - just because he is no Shakespearean character does not make him a no-character.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
XelanakMar 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really a great DB Movie!!Great actions and fight scenes!
This reboot of Broly makes him endearing! And thats interesting to see how Toriyama changed the Goku's childhood story I really enjoyed it !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BruskyJan 22, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a very good Dragonball movie. WAY better than the previous Broly movies, to be exact. I do prefer the old Bardock story this movie replaced, but it was cool to see new faces like young Raditz, Goku's mom and middle aged Napa.

I liked where they were going with Broly's character, with him being an abused Tarzan/Hercules basically. It's a much more mature backstory than being mad at Goku for making him cry as an infant. However, he devolved into a mindless, raging berserker halfway through the movie and I think that was a huge missed opportunity to complete his character arc. We'll be seeing him again, so hopefully they capitalize on this opportunity.

Overall, it could have been a bit better, but I'll take it. The trailers definitely spoiled everything as well, but I'm looking forward to more!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
M3TaLFaC3Feb 4, 2019
From a general anime fan POV, this movie has great animation, the fight scenes are amazing and the characters themselves aren't too bad. The dubbed version of the anime is great. And the soundtrack isn't too bad. Now, if i look at this from aFrom a general anime fan POV, this movie has great animation, the fight scenes are amazing and the characters themselves aren't too bad. The dubbed version of the anime is great. And the soundtrack isn't too bad. Now, if i look at this from a DBZ fan POV, I enjoy everything mentioned above. But most importantly, I enjoy what they did with Broly. If anyone has seen any of Broly's previous films, he was pretty much a mindless brute, with the personality of a boring potato (some potatoes are awesome). And it just got worse with the next movie involving him. Now, Broly has a personality other than hating Goku and it seems that they are going to be using him for the better.
So all in all, a good anime movie with great animation, fight scenes, ok soundtrack and best of all. They did Broly good
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Feb 2, 2019
Yes it's a huge fan service, I'm not going to deny that but it's also the best Dragon Ball film in all its history.

Akira Toriyama manages to intertwine the past of his franchise with its future, establishing a more coordinated story and in
Yes it's a huge fan service, I'm not going to deny that but it's also the best Dragon Ball film in all its history.

Akira Toriyama manages to intertwine the past of his franchise with its future, establishing a more coordinated story and in the meantime providing it a certainly known but now new and more powerful character to the canon of the saga.

The animation is excellent. Maybe that's how everyone wanted the anime to look like but obviously the budget here is only reduced to 100 minutes of work.

I had fun as I always had fun with Dragon Ball in all its facets and that was more than enough for me.
It's clear that for a franchise like this one with more than 30 years only the fans will be present. If you're not, there's no point at all for you to even try.

And yeah, Gogeta is worth it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
robertoflamesJan 25, 2019
Loved the first part of the movie but also felt rushed. Besides that, classic dragon ball humor, and top tier dragon ball fights, vegeta vs broly was really fun to watch. If you're an adult wanting to see dragon ball as an adult, believe meLoved the first part of the movie but also felt rushed. Besides that, classic dragon ball humor, and top tier dragon ball fights, vegeta vs broly was really fun to watch. If you're an adult wanting to see dragon ball as an adult, believe me dude, won't work. Dragon Ball still the same nonsense and not serious, and I love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RdgmonsterFeb 18, 2019
historia cliche sin sentido, no fue agradable la mezcla de 2D con batallas 3D, decepcionante historia, mal, estuvo mejor la primera película de broy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
greenisgoodFeb 18, 2019
I kept finding myself wanting to watch the Old Broly vs Goku fight to satisfy my itch of a good DB. The first half of the movie was fantastic and the character writing for Broly was much appreciated, but as soon as Goku went SS Blue the fightI kept finding myself wanting to watch the Old Broly vs Goku fight to satisfy my itch of a good DB. The first half of the movie was fantastic and the character writing for Broly was much appreciated, but as soon as Goku went SS Blue the fight just dropped off the radar for me. Dragon Ball was always a good martial arts mixed with Ki powers to the N'th degree and it was exactly that for Vegeta's part of the fight as well as the first half of Goku's fight, but once he activates SS Blue the fight just became a complete seizure inducing debacle. It felt like DB wanted to encroach on Fate/Stay Territory of mind numbing action, only difference Fate/Stay series has multiple unique characters so it is not hard to see who is doing what when the attacks and abilities land. The Gogeta fight was an absolute cluster **** as the character designs just melded into each other and I could not tell who was doing what save for the end moment when Gogeta fires his final, it was quite a bit disappointing.
The ending was acceptable as I would like to see Broly in a more prominent role in the series.... But I hope the fights are given more attention to detail like the glorious DB always has been, this seems like a rushed job as the animators wanted to just finish the movie rather than give us a good throw down.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ARGzelderJan 21, 2019
La primer película de "Dragon Ball Super" cumple en entretener y dar un gran espectáculo cuando inicia la acción. Esta incursión de Broly supera a la anterior en cuanto al guión, pero toma libertades creativas que pueden o no gustar.
La
La primer película de "Dragon Ball Super" cumple en entretener y dar un gran espectáculo cuando inicia la acción. Esta incursión de Broly supera a la anterior en cuanto al guión, pero toma libertades creativas que pueden o no gustar.
La historia inicia con un gran prólogo donde se puede entender la rivalidad que tendrán Broly y su padre contra Vegeta, además de dar una nueva perspectiva de Freezer como villano.
El arco narrativo que inicia el conflicto es más interesante que lo brindado en la aparición no canon de Broly, aunque se desvía en temas innecesarios. La animación durante el inicio del combate es otro punto destacable, Vegeta vs. Broly se ve increíble en la pantalla. Los puntos desfavorables pasan por la misma animación que al ser hecha por diferentes artistas se ve inconsistente en cuanto a calidad. Además el climax pierde motivación sobre el final.
"Dragon Ball Super: Broly" es recomendable para fans de la saga, sobretodo por las primeras escenas de pelea, están bien orquestadas, se ven muy bien y en general la película logra entretener hasta el final si no se la toma muy en serio.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KhanSirJan 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is great, honestly. From beginning to right before the end, I was hooked. Seeing Planet Vegeta was amazing. Seeing the characters, both new and old, interact was even better. Gogeta... Meh. Remember how in Fusion Reborn he comes out, beats the **** out of Janemba and then finishes him off with Soul Punisher? That. Was. Perfect. Gogeta doesn't get a moment like that here. No. Instead Mr "I am the one who is going to defeat you" gets his kill stolen by Broly's girlfriend. The moment they're finally about to beat Broly he's teleported off of Earth. Talk about a tease. The ending ruins the movie, and that's such a shame because the rest of it is great. Maybe my mind will change when I watch it a second time. But for now, I'm left with nothing but disappointment. Broly has four movies and not a single one is good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BerserJan 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. La pelicula es excelente dentro de los marcos de dragon ball. Muy recomendable para todo aquel que es fanatico de la serie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kurisu1984Jan 27, 2019
Simply amazing. Amazing art, amazing animation, great story great sound and some of the best fight scenes to date! If you're a dragonball fan then this is unmissable!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Oye-osaJan 27, 2019
I understand if your not a fan of dragon ball. This movie would be easily forgettable. But to be honest this movie is one of the best "anime" movies to come out. it looks beautiful, Broly has a whole new backstory, and the fight scenes areI understand if your not a fan of dragon ball. This movie would be easily forgettable. But to be honest this movie is one of the best "anime" movies to come out. it looks beautiful, Broly has a whole new backstory, and the fight scenes are just 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
burrnboy18Jan 28, 2019
ok I'm from Pakistan and I watch this movie and it is soo awesome movie that I never expect it is my luck that I got link and download in 720p eng this movie can't describe in words anyone wants the link contact me on fb BTW its free of costok I'm from Pakistan and I watch this movie and it is soo awesome movie that I never expect it is my luck that I got link and download in 720p eng this movie can't describe in words anyone wants the link contact me on fb BTW its free of cost :) have fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pollonJan 29, 2019
This movie is made for the fans, Which should be appreciated as so many labels these days turn their shoulder on their fan base to try to appeal to a mass audience. Not here folks, sure there's a bit here and there for those that are notThis movie is made for the fans, Which should be appreciated as so many labels these days turn their shoulder on their fan base to try to appeal to a mass audience. Not here folks, sure there's a bit here and there for those that are not initiated. But all in all it is faithful. The animation was beutiful, Acton sequences well put together and the plot managed to justify the encounter of broly and earth well enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
skinnydeepFeb 1, 2019
made by a broly fanboy with too much sugar in his blood who seems to like vegeta a tiny bit more than the usual writers for some reason ,Dragon Ball Super as a whole has been an abomination there was no way for this Broly movie to fall farmade by a broly fanboy with too much sugar in his blood who seems to like vegeta a tiny bit more than the usual writers for some reason ,Dragon Ball Super as a whole has been an abomination there was no way for this Broly movie to fall far from the tree,it's an animé that doesn't make any sense even by anime standards,too much humor + Beerus & Whis undermining the whole series there's no sense of dread & hopelessness like when Goku fell ill & Vegeta wasn't up to snuff in the android saga, DBS is wackier than Maruko with silly writting & power levels straight out of a bunch of 6 yo DB fanboys's minds from reddit Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BS117Mar 10, 2019
Dragonball Super:Broly is a movie with a ton of flaws in it's pacing and plot alike. This new Broly is definitely a more sympathetic character than his non-canonical counterpart, but doesn't really have anything else going for him. In theDragonball Super:Broly is a movie with a ton of flaws in it's pacing and plot alike. This new Broly is definitely a more sympathetic character than his non-canonical counterpart, but doesn't really have anything else going for him. In the entire movie, he has about 5 lines of dialogue followed by mindless screaming for about an hour. Contrary to popular belief the original Broly had a lot of sinister dialogue in his original movie past screaming "Kakkarot". While I'll admit the original Broly's motivations were terrible, this new Broly literally doesn't have any real motivation. You could argue that he was following his dad's orders but it's unclear as to why he would do that given he saw the remote of his electrical collar had been destroyed. His dad couldn't hurt him anymore and he had no real beef with the Goku or Vegeta, they just for fought for the sake of the plot. This movie lacks organic storytelling, and instead just feels like one big forced death match between powerful characters. Like most of Dragonball Super the power scaling in this movie is very poor, and makes me question what these god forms actually do for Goku and Vegeta. They're supposed to be the pinnacle of power for these characters, yet don't display that at all. When god ki was introduced into the series it was stated to raise it's users power exponentially, to the point that non-god ki users couldn't lay a finger on their god ki using counterparts. This, however, has been completely disregarded throughout Dragonball Super which takes away from basic storytelling and confuses audiences. I don't really know what separates these god forms from the basic super sayian forms. It also just sort of invalidates everything the main cast has gone through when someone "who has never been in a real fight before" reaches the same level of power Goku and Vegeta took decades to reach in the span of 2 hours. The animation is pretty good (although I would have enjoyed less CGI) but the story is just flat out horrible. This resurgence of Dragonball in the last 7 years has seemingly only been able to produce illogical, fan-service that survives solely because it has the Dragonball name slapped onto it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RyanHerofTimeMar 13, 2019
This movie has amazing animation , It had the whole theater engaged with the story and the update to Broly's Story is a nice change.The Animation is gorgeous. Vic Mignogna was amazing as ever! It was a Fun Film, I will see again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YunusKatMar 25, 2019
The movie was a bit short for my taste but the fighting scenes were amazing. Broly going all out and becoming canon is what every DBZ fan wanted for a long time. And we got what we wanted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VegetaSamaApr 2, 2019
Absolute masterpiece. In terms of action, animation, characters, music, and storytelling. Dragon Ball at its best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews