Columbia Pictures | Release Date: February 26, 1993
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 55 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
16
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
B.J.S.Aug 12, 2004
A wonderfully filmed and edited movie for when it was made. This movie had a good story, unlike its two sequals Desparado and Once Upon a Time in Mexico which were just movies about shooting people and had not artistic elements in the editin A wonderfully filmed and edited movie for when it was made. This movie had a good story, unlike its two sequals Desparado and Once Upon a Time in Mexico which were just movies about shooting people and had not artistic elements in the editin and filming at all. This movie did have killing in it but it did not dwell on it but instead on what was happening all around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
dajhornMay 16, 2014
For me, the biggest reveal in El Mariachi is that it was made by an American on an impossibly low budget. I thought this movie was a cheesy Mexican film made in the 1980s until I listened to the extra commentary. This kind of movie shouldFor me, the biggest reveal in El Mariachi is that it was made by an American on an impossibly low budget. I thought this movie was a cheesy Mexican film made in the 1980s until I listened to the extra commentary. This kind of movie should appeal to movie buffs and academics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AlvaradoKTAJun 16, 2014
Even on such a low budget, this is the best in the Mexico-trilogy films. Well paced from the opening title to the to be continued promise, every scene has a humorous note. An original script with a good amount of shoot outs, this filmEven on such a low budget, this is the best in the Mexico-trilogy films. Well paced from the opening title to the to be continued promise, every scene has a humorous note. An original script with a good amount of shoot outs, this film obviously doesn't take itself too seriously, but manages to keep the momentum till the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
El Mariachi divertido, com personagens c├┤micos e super engra├žado...............................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Compi24Nov 5, 2018
It's not entirely true what they say about first impressions. Not only are they anything but "everything," they also aren't always a good indication of what's to come. A lot of directorial debuts don't entirely telegraph the ensuing careersIt's not entirely true what they say about first impressions. Not only are they anything but "everything," they also aren't always a good indication of what's to come. A lot of directorial debuts don't entirely telegraph the ensuing careers of their respective filmmakers. Christopher Nolan's "Following" is easily his weakest film -- and it's not even close. Clint Eastwood's "Play Misty For Me" doesn't even flick a booger in the direction of the kinds of heights his career would later transcend to. And I don't even think we need to talk about James Cameron's "Piranha II." I think you might know where I'm getting with this, but I feel a similar way about this first film from director Robert Rodriguez. Do I have to take into account that it was made on a shoestring budget? Yes, I do. But surprisingly, it's not the production values that bothered me. It's the personality -- or lack thereof -- that ultimately makes this movie as dull as it ends up being for me. A lot of characters with limited charisma, speaking in hushed, uninspired tones about some fairly contrived things. It's not a bad movie in any regard, but again, in no way does this signal the kind of filmmaker we'd eventually get from it. It is simply not the quintessential Robert Rodriguez film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheWalrus2000Mar 18, 2013
Rodriguez's strong script and direction give him a strong start to the game in this outstanding action thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Meth-dudeAug 25, 2018
Despite the low budget and the inexperience of pretty much everyone on set, El Mariachi still manages to be a technically impressive first feature film for writer and director Robert Rodriguez. Unfortunately, the movie was quite boring atDespite the low budget and the inexperience of pretty much everyone on set, El Mariachi still manages to be a technically impressive first feature film for writer and director Robert Rodriguez. Unfortunately, the movie was quite boring at times and the acting wasn't very good. If you're interested in Robert Rodriguez's filmography you may appreciate the movie, if not, you should probably skip it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
freerideartsMar 9, 2021
AlvaradoKTAJun 16, 2014
Even on such a low budget, this is the best in the Mexico-trilogy films. Well paced from the opening title to the to be continued promise, every scene has a humorous note. An original script with a good amount of shoot
AlvaradoKTAJun 16, 2014
Even on such a low budget, this is the best in the Mexico-trilogy films. Well paced from the opening title to the to be continued promise, every scene has a humorous note. An original script with a good amount of shoot outs, this film
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews