Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 16, 2001
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 125 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
89
Mixed:
23
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
Cska_aelMar 25, 2020
Movie is alright to watch if you have nothing better to do ,however it could have been done a lot better and more accurate ,having read Vassily's book from historically accurate point of view movie is garbage ,probably even insulting forMovie is alright to watch if you have nothing better to do ,however it could have been done a lot better and more accurate ,having read Vassily's book from historically accurate point of view movie is garbage ,probably even insulting for relatives.Vassily doesn't even mention Tania (yet he bothers to mention 3 other nurses)in the book so clearlyt didn't mean that much to him,Daniilov either.Lyudmila and Kulikov who got shown as chumps in movie and got killed were excellent snipers themselves and survived the war.The duel whatever you believe Russian's made it up or Nazis deleted Konnings name out of embarrassment that their sniper got killed by village boy from Ural,Vasilly doesn't even give much significance in the book let alone show it as the circus movie made it to be. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
TyranianOct 15, 2019
This film has many screenplay issues but also good performances and some strong scenes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
HollyApr 30, 2008
Your joking right? this isnt a good war movie!! I should note i dont think i liked black hawk down that much either. But i'm extremely fond of saving private ryan(luv the characters and story) this ones concept, snipers playin cat an Your joking right? this isnt a good war movie!! I should note i dont think i liked black hawk down that much either. But i'm extremely fond of saving private ryan(luv the characters and story) this ones concept, snipers playin cat an mouse is sooo cool but unfortunately, i felt bored, aggitated and quite shockingly resentful towards the film. the climax was lame, the acting wasnt horrible but its just how this ones written that doesnt wanna tick into stylishness. A mere disappointment. I am one of those rare people who actually despise this film beyond recognition. If only we had a different writer for it, such a waste of talent. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
AbeMCMay 30, 2018
A bland, unconvincing WW2 adventure that tries hard to be a solemn portrait of struggle. Instead we are given a jumbled mess of an ambitious commissar, a home-town boy and the partisan fighter he falls in love with. Worth a watch for theA bland, unconvincing WW2 adventure that tries hard to be a solemn portrait of struggle. Instead we are given a jumbled mess of an ambitious commissar, a home-town boy and the partisan fighter he falls in love with. Worth a watch for the tense, well-staged sniper duels, but little else. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
SeriosityNov 14, 2012
The unnecessary and platitudinous love story is a major drag, but there are more than enough suspenseful and thrilling scenes to keep the movie going smoothly.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
WriteFilmLive21Dec 1, 2012
"Enemy at the Gates" is a decently engrossing, suspenseful war film centered around a historical duel that took place between a Russian and German sniper. Rachel Weisz is a nice surprise to see here, and adds some healthy romantic interest,"Enemy at the Gates" is a decently engrossing, suspenseful war film centered around a historical duel that took place between a Russian and German sniper. Rachel Weisz is a nice surprise to see here, and adds some healthy romantic interest, and the rest of the lead cast puts forth good performances. The most interesting part of the movie is the story it's based on and the dueling scenes, beyond that you can expect some fairly standard war film fodder. Certainly not a bad movie by any means, so check it out if you're a war buff. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
FilipeNetoFeb 12, 2018
Movie war / drama / romance, all in one.

This film portrays the Battle of Stalingrad, considered by many the turning point of World War II, as it was the first crushing defeat of the Germans. The film focuses its history in Vassili Zeitzev,
Movie war / drama / romance, all in one.

This film portrays the Battle of Stalingrad, considered by many the turning point of World War II, as it was the first crushing defeat of the Germans. The film focuses its history in Vassili Zeitzev, a soviet sniper who caused many headaches to the Nazis, killing his officers on the ground, something that was used by the communist propaganda machine to encourage the morale of Russian troops, worn by unstoppable advance of the Nazis. In this film, the story of Zeitzev intersects with Tania, a Russian girl who volunteered to help the forces defending Stalingrad, giving birth to a romantic plot that intersects the main one. Directed by Jean-Jacques Annaud (who also wrote the screenplay with Alain Godard), the film has Jude Law and Rachel Weisz in the lead roles and also features Joseph Fiennes in the role of a political commissar, Bob Hoskins, embodying the Russian leader Nikita Khrushchev, and Ed Harris in the role of a German professional sniper sent by Hitler to kill Vassili.

The wartime love is a theme that has made great films. One of the most notable was obviously "Casablanca". This film, however, takes place not only in wartime but in the midst of one of the most raw and bloody battles of the war, which makes it more interesting as it is not just a romance or a drama, nor a "conventional" war film. It's a bit of all three genres combined. The sound effects, soundtrack, visual effects, sets and costumes are noteworthy for their realism and attempt to portray the combat scenario. The actors were also very good, especially Ed Harris (who has got used to doing tough-guy roles) and Weisz (finally a movie without mummies and Egyptian stuff). Jude Law and Fiennes, together, deserve a special greeting as they were able to incorporate very well the emotional and psychological conflicts of his characters, two friends in love with the same girl.

As more negative marks, I point out the lack of "chemistry" between Weisz and Law, which should have been more crafted by two actors. Some dialogue required a greater commitment on the part of writers. Also I don't understand how Khrushchev was involved in that battle when, in reality, it was led by Georgi Zhukov. A good war movie, worth seeing because it will please both those looking for action as for those who enjoy a good drama.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
tonyGreenAug 5, 2020
The cat and mouse game at the core of this film works well. But there is a very conventional hollywood melodrama in the way. Rachel Weiss and Bob Hoskings in particular give good performances, but Jude Law is miscast in the central role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews