Netflix | Release Date (Streaming): September 23, 2020
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 287 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
55
Negative:
99
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
UncleWillardSep 23, 2020
Elementary, indeed. As in on the level of a grade schooler. More woke **** I have a pang of guilt, having never needed to come to the defense of a 19th century fictional character before, but this is Ghostbusters all over again. Right in theElementary, indeed. As in on the level of a grade schooler. More woke **** I have a pang of guilt, having never needed to come to the defense of a 19th century fictional character before, but this is Ghostbusters all over again. Right in the description, "her useless brothers, Sherlock and Mycroft." Really? Face facts, Netflix, there would, and never has been, an Enola Holmes super girl detective, without Sherlock. Why the need to denigrate one of the most celebrated fictional detectives in order to sell this? Because nobody cares about some nameless girl detective and she needed the credibility of the original. They did this in the Alienist too; beefed up a female character to be woke. It so unoriginal and childish. Especially given that there are plenty of talented women writers out there that could write an original script/character. Yet another attempted cash in of an established genre/franchise. Expand
20 of 33 users found this helpful2013
All this user's reviews
3
algajardSep 27, 2020
The story tries to hang on to the Holmes name, an attempt to create a character based on a family name so a book's author, producers and long etcetera could made money. At the end you get a cringe and woke story. The ambientation was wellThe story tries to hang on to the Holmes name, an attempt to create a character based on a family name so a book's author, producers and long etcetera could made money. At the end you get a cringe and woke story. The ambientation was well made. The acting was quite good but not enough to be interesting. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
2
KrizthianSep 27, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was really excited about this one. Not gonna lie. I really liked the film on it's first minutes.

Then it happened...

For real, I do not want to say: "Ughh this is such a bad adaptation that's why it sucks"

Real problem here is that in one point you realize this is a Netflix production so you can expect some forced topics. But that's not the real problem, and by the way, are we seriously going to forget that Helena's character was trying to make a terrorist attack? I though she was being framed or something but turns it was more real than I thought. After finishing the film couldn't avoid to think that, for real, there's no even way to justify that Netflix and Millie (Who produces this by the way)

Henry is perfect, though he couldn't fit the role but he does, althought of course it's kind of a different version of the Sherlock we know, some changes but it's Sherlock. Real and HUGE problem comes with Mycroft, if he would've turned into the person behind everything this movie would have a large zero, lucky for us he is just a selfish who hates feminism. Mycroft in books it's almost smart as Sherlock is, but here they turned him into an stupid and annonying brother, in the end he is just that, nothing else, but come on, Sam does what he best can and that script they gave him it's stupid, when they made him yell during the trip with Enola, it was cringy, lame, I mean, they're really trying to make him look like the bad anti-feminist guy. Awful.

And finally, Enola is smart, but she didn't solve the case. She went to the house with another idea, and she found the answer there but didn't solve anything. Sherlock did it and somehow she takes the credit, ALL the credit. And again, she didn't solve anything.

It's fun to watch, it has some good moments but for real and I can't stop thinking about this while I'm writing.

HELENA'S CHARACTER WAS TRYING TO MAKE A TERRORIST ATTACK! And they justify it with the fact that she was fighting for women rights. Really, can't stop thinking about this, but go on, watch it, not recommend it but it's not like it's unwatchable.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
2
LifemicrorezOct 3, 2020
Synopsis: 16-year old Mary Sue explains everything she’s doing/is about to do/just did, both to correct all the men and to educate all the viewers. Attaching the Holmes label assumes you’re going to give the viewers at least some credit. So,Synopsis: 16-year old Mary Sue explains everything she’s doing/is about to do/just did, both to correct all the men and to educate all the viewers. Attaching the Holmes label assumes you’re going to give the viewers at least some credit. So, 2 points for thinking you can get away with not doing this. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
cwDeiciOct 3, 2020
Mary Sue fanfiction rapes the past with a character expansion insert and a 2020 political plot. No wonder Conan Doyle's estate are suing, the movie is filmed in a quirky late 20th century manner, and it violates the spirit of Conan Doyle'sMary Sue fanfiction rapes the past with a character expansion insert and a 2020 political plot. No wonder Conan Doyle's estate are suing, the movie is filmed in a quirky late 20th century manner, and it violates the spirit of Conan Doyle's works with metaphorical anvils for the crudest of motives, personal opinion. While I agree with first-wave feminism it seems impertinent to not let the dead speak for themselves with their existing work, and exhume their corpses so that you may put your words in their mouth, much like a necrophile liberal or conservative may wish to rape YOUR dear author. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
MrFantaNaranjaOct 3, 2020
Es un completo insulto a la inteligencia y el buen gusto, lleno de anacronismos, personas de color de sexo femenino enseñando karate en la Inglaterra Victoriana? Lestrade es Arabe o Indú ? y lo peor de todo... ¿Porqué debe Enola romper laEs un completo insulto a la inteligencia y el buen gusto, lleno de anacronismos, personas de color de sexo femenino enseñando karate en la Inglaterra Victoriana? Lestrade es Arabe o Indú ? y lo peor de todo... ¿Porqué debe Enola romper la cuartapared cada vez que puede? parece por momentos que es un episodio de Malcolm el del medio, pero muy mal... tiene buenas ideas que no supieron ser llevadas adecuadamente, Henry Cavill como Holes está bien y Millie Bobby Brown definitivamente es una prodigio, lo malo es ese Microft patético y edulclorado perpetrado por San Claflin , hacer parecer al hermano mayor de los Holms quien realmente es el más listo, como una caricatura mediocre y burlezca del original, esta película tenía una buena idea y prometía mucho, pero el guión y dirección la arruinaron, a ver si mejoran en la parte 2. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
livin4goodmovieOct 4, 2020
I couldn’t finish it. It never really got my attention as everything was over explained. Did not need to use my brain while viewing.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
TaiendhdjeSep 28, 2020
This movie didn’t deserve Millie’s talent. This is the WORST directed movie I have EVER seen. It is not cohesive and the pay offs to the set ups are ruined by the emotionless directing. Also, in the scene where tewksbury gets shot and EnolaThis movie didn’t deserve Millie’s talent. This is the WORST directed movie I have EVER seen. It is not cohesive and the pay offs to the set ups are ruined by the emotionless directing. Also, in the scene where tewksbury gets shot and Enola kills the guy in the hat, in one shot the guy had blood and in the next shot no blood. Too bad I was excited for this movie Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
ELRUBIOUSOMGSep 29, 2020
Menuda basura. Feminismo barato y refrito. Que no es para nada divertida chavales. La Milie esa exagera todo el tiempo tio, que flipooo. Sobreactua demasiado y le habla a las chicas jovenes todo el tiempo metiendole ideas odia-hombres. B A S U R A
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
LajaleaaSep 30, 2020
"Do I want to find you?"
.
( 40/100 ) . "Enola Holmes" es la primera película de Harry Bradbeer, quien tiene una carrera extensa en la televisión, y está escrita por Jack Thorne, cuyo mayor éxito fue colaborar en la adaptación del guion en la
"Do I want to find you?"
.
( 40/100 )
.
"Enola Holmes" es la primera película de Harry Bradbeer, quien tiene una carrera extensa en la televisión, y está escrita por Jack Thorne, cuyo mayor éxito fue colaborar en la adaptación del guion en la película "Wonder" (2017). "Enola Holmes" es una historia inofensiva que hace muy poco para inspirar y demasiado para entretener. El guion es culpable de ambas, tanto por "mal representar" un propósito socialmente importante como por querer llenar la película de aventuras igualmente mal desarrolladas. La trayectoria de Enola es desenfocada y se otorga responsabilidades que la desvían de su propio objetivo. Los "nuevos" caminos le permiten aprender del mundo y de ella misma, pero esto provoca que la autonomía de Enola esté a la disposición de los menos responsables. Como diciendo "yo soy más inteligente que tú, tomaré responsabilidad de tus problemas" (una idea algo irresponsable que promueve el abuso). En fin, esto se disfraza con un romance mudo y entre miradas de la forma más cliché posible y elimina cualquier propósito de empoderamiento en la película. Las ideologías de los demás personajes son tan drásticas que no permite ningún debate. Todos estaremos de acuerdo con lo mismo de siempre. También hay un esfuerzo por hacer notar que Enola no lo sabe todo y eso trata de agregar intriga y madurez al ambiente, pero realmente solo genera una auto-contradicción que anula cualquier lección previamente aprendida. Por lo tanto, la actuación de Millie Bobby Brown se reduce a un personaje con poco sentido que le gusta hablar consigo misma, y Henry Cavill, Sam Claflin, Helena Bonham, Louis Partridge y Fiona Shaw no aportan ni muestran un impulso importante. El único esfuerzo visual, aunque no sorprende, es el vestuario. Ni la fotografía, ni la música. "Enola Holmes" falla en llamar la atención de jóvenes y adultos en esta historia, pues esta película es una monótona distracción que entretiene solo a las audiencias poco experimentadas.
-
"Enola Holmes" is the first movie of Harry Bradbeer, who has a long career in TV Shows, and is written by Jack Thorne, whose greatest success has been collaborating in the adaptation of the script of "Wonder" (2017) movie. "Enola Holmes" is an inoffensive story that makes too little to inspire and too much to entertain. The script is to blame for both of them: for wrongly presenting a socially relevant purpose and for wanting to fill the movie with adventures equally poorly developed. Enola's trajectory is blurry and takes responsibilities that divert her from her own mission. The "new" paths allow her to learn from the world and from herself, but this causes that Enola's autonomy to be in the disposition of those less responsible. Like saying "I'm more intelligent than you, I'll take responsibility of your problems" (an irresponsible idea that promotes abuse). Anyway, this is disguised by a speechless romance between glances made in the most cliche possible way and erases any empowerment purpose of the movie. The other character's ideologies are too drastic that they don't permit any debate. We all will be agree with the same things as always. There's also an effort to show that Enola "doesn't know everything" and tries to add some intrigue and maturity in the ambient, but that only creates a self-contradiction that nullifies any lection previously learned. Therefore, the acting of Millie Bobby Brown gets reduced to a character with not much sense that likes to speak to herself. Henry Cavill, San Claflin, Helena Bonham, Louise Partridge, and Fiona Shaw doesn't provide or show any relevant acting moment. The only visual effort, but not surprising, is the costume design. Not photography, nor music. "Enola Holmes" fails to call the attention of young and grown-ups in this story since this movie is a monotonous distraction that will entertain only the least experimented audiences.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
Dave2019Oct 2, 2020
Cliché party. It is ok to promote feminist ideals, but this stupid Sherlock performance is awkward and nonsense. Also, this is the most emotional Sherlock Holmes related film I’ve ever seen, it made the Holmes family go nonsense.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
SwpoisonOct 3, 2020
Starts off interesting. Like all genre of movies this movie has a lot of tropes people have begun to classify as “woke”. Sherlock Holmes is in the Movie and plays the “bad farther” roll. Meaning more often than not he is lectured through outStarts off interesting. Like all genre of movies this movie has a lot of tropes people have begun to classify as “woke”. Sherlock Holmes is in the Movie and plays the “bad farther” roll. Meaning more often than not he is lectured through out the movie. The movie employs the “Mary Sue” writing style. Enola is a young child that understands the world better than Sherlock Holmes. She is a better fighter than a trained assassin. She commands the respect of adults regardless of her age due to her superior intellect. If the viewer at any point catches on to type of movie it is easy to figure out that the villain must be a woman. In these movies any character of note is generally a woman. Finally the message of the movie is that world needs to change and become more progressive which is made clear in the first act.

Weather you like this genre of film or not it has interesting parts. The movie tries to keep a balance of a strong feminist story and an interesting story for everyone. Enola is a great fighter. The movie makes sure to show her learn this skill. She has a superior intellect and her education is shown through the movie. The lead actress has proven herself many times over and is entertaining. The movie does a good job of fixing issues with this genre but at the end of the day it’s more of the same. With lines like “your a man when I say you are” and Sherlock Holme’s character being lectured by an African American (England?) women about white privilege it just detracts from the story. V/R
Swpoison
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
callakOct 4, 2020
The modern movie and political area have poisoned the well, you can no longer look at a movie without seeing an underlying political message.

This movie is just a click bait, men are bad, go go captain marvel etc. etc.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
RMNaquilaOct 9, 2020
Great cast, great story, great costume, and very very bad directing skills.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
Iceberg937Sep 27, 2020
Це підлітковий недетектив. Генрі Кавілу 1
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
HeinySep 24, 2020
Strong cast (love all the main actors), great camera work, impressive surroundings all suffering under a superficial, unrealistic script and an obnoxious tendency to kill the atmosphere by a need to keep breaking the fourth wall.

It's also a
Strong cast (love all the main actors), great camera work, impressive surroundings all suffering under a superficial, unrealistic script and an obnoxious tendency to kill the atmosphere by a need to keep breaking the fourth wall.

It's also a very sad piece of work that can not help throwing in modern politics(which won't age well), ignoring things like zeitgeist and the real issue back then between the poor and the rich (which still is).

I wouldn't mind a strong female character in a deep well thought out story. Enough games and movies have proven that such things are easy to be expected 'with good writers', those are sadly not found here and only feed the real sexists found on the far right 'and' far left.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
2
MagistrosSep 25, 2020
This film is completely unnecessary to be released, about meaningless character. Henry Cavill and Sam Claflin saved this terrible movie. 1 for Henry, 1 for Sam. So - 2/10
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
3
MrBitheadSep 25, 2020
Muy aburrida. Diálogos tontos e infantiles y malas actuaciones. No merece la pena verla.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
0
BarnySep 28, 2020
This movie is so cringey it's akin to having sand blasted in your eyes and ears. The only positive is that an 11 year old girl will undoubtedly like it, everyone else not so much. As for all the recent "productions", it is filled with theThis movie is so cringey it's akin to having sand blasted in your eyes and ears. The only positive is that an 11 year old girl will undoubtedly like it, everyone else not so much. As for all the recent "productions", it is filled with the usual tropes: "men bad", "men incapable", "men evil", "white men worse than plague", "women strong", "women good", "women mary sue", etc. In a sense, it's quite astonishing and amusing that they are still peddling this non sense: it reeks of despair. The cast is useless as there is nothing to support and the characters are paper thin, mere stereotypes of straw men. I guess everyone needs to make a living. Good job, keep up the good work! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
3
ScienceAdvisorSep 25, 2020
Woke YA script that may have an impressive cast, but cannot help but destroy itself with modern messaging and the pathological need to tear down legacy characters, in the pretense of building new ones. Burning down your neighbour's houseWoke YA script that may have an impressive cast, but cannot help but destroy itself with modern messaging and the pathological need to tear down legacy characters, in the pretense of building new ones. Burning down your neighbour's house does not increase the value of yours. Expand
14 of 17 users found this helpful143
All this user's reviews
0
Dhayes991289Sep 25, 2020
This movie is all fluff and no substance made for a dumb audience. The acting is okay but the story is mostly uninteresting and predictable. Unfunny with forced romance that felt unnatural. Maybe children will like it.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
YourmumsbillsSep 24, 2020
Oh dear..Firstly, did we really need yet another Sherlock Holmes story? No. The Guy Ritchie films were fun, the Mark Gatiss series was very good and Johnny Lee Miller and Lucy Liu as Holmes and Watson in Elementary were perfect. This film hasOh dear..Firstly, did we really need yet another Sherlock Holmes story? No. The Guy Ritchie films were fun, the Mark Gatiss series was very good and Johnny Lee Miller and Lucy Liu as Holmes and Watson in Elementary were perfect. This film has none of the qualities that made all those other productions great. The script is bad, the story is shallow and empty and quite frankly i think the whole thing is an insult to the original writings of Conan Doyle and to the much loved characters he created. One thing this does show is how poor an actor Millie Bobby Brown is. I thought she was pretty wooden and bad in Stranger Things, but i put that partly down to the way she was written, but she is truly awful in this too. She is just not a good actor. And this is not only a bad film, but as i said before, and insult to the original stories. A lot of clearly fake two line 10 out of 10 reviews with no detail at all on here again too. Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
0
costafinkelSep 24, 2020
We’re reaching a time where movies are nothing but front for political activity. They use old credible franchises to bring people in and then spit back in their face with nothing but agenda. Its like that science movie that halfway throughWe’re reaching a time where movies are nothing but front for political activity. They use old credible franchises to bring people in and then spit back in their face with nothing but agenda. Its like that science movie that halfway through becomes a christian movie. If you’re looking for mystery, weird clues, interesting deductions and wit, there aint none of that here.

Meanwhile, netflix executives are looking for the next brand they can use as vessel for propaganda.
Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
3
Cloud9ninjaSep 25, 2020
God how I miss good story telling that is not contrived cookie cutter nonsense designed to beat the audience over the head with "social issues." Hollywood is destroying itself. Good acting cannot overcome horribly predictable and oneGod how I miss good story telling that is not contrived cookie cutter nonsense designed to beat the audience over the head with "social issues." Hollywood is destroying itself. Good acting cannot overcome horribly predictable and one dimensional writing. Yet another great cast wasted on a tale of social justice. Enola Holmes is just another Mary Sue main character surrounded by one dimensional simple minded and or oafish males who she saves repeatedly from themselves. Such a missed opportunity to have a fresh tale of the younger sister of the famous Sherlock Holmes solving cases together with her older brother. Matching their wits against the cunning Professor Moriarty. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
pensioner7Sep 25, 2020
Its not film. This is **** modern Hollywood cannot make a film about a strong woman without the use of "stupid" men and women of superheroines. Pls give me the interesting stories, not a polical agenda
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
5
Mauro_LanariSep 24, 2020
(Mauro Lanari)
Cute as much as forgettable under the ballast of political correctness.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
SimpeSep 25, 2020
The single most political movie that's not about politics. The actors are great but the story is failing so hard with out-of-time references that it's insane. Ju jutsu at least 50 years before it reaches Europe amongst other things.

I wish
The single most political movie that's not about politics. The actors are great but the story is failing so hard with out-of-time references that it's insane. Ju jutsu at least 50 years before it reaches Europe amongst other things.

I wish that the script gave me a reason to find the main character interesting but it doesn't.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
1
JiggawattsSep 26, 2020
Trailer was great. Unfortunately the movie was the opposite. Very chaotic narrative that killed an interest movie idea.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
sadtruthSep 24, 2020
absolute **** post modernist badly written movie, however a strong cast and good camera work
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
0
Dnvlntn777Sep 23, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is too bad for the very good performance of the lead actress, but the director and writers have failed this movie. If you expect a good mistery movie, you will be disappointed. Expand
12 of 19 users found this helpful127
All this user's reviews
0
Jp117Sep 23, 2020
This movie would be way better if Henry was in it more but sadly just a lack of action and characters were boring another sjw feminists movie! They make movies like this they get the ratings they deserve.
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
2
JustsomeraterSep 24, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly i just watched because of Millie Bobby Brown(great actress and did great) but i was disappointed at the feminist forced view that was shoved so many times. Not to mention some bad plot points in the end with the old knight steal armour holding the double barrell shotgun. This is the kind of movie writing that is just to please a certain audience without much work.

Even though the storyline wasn’t the best, the unrealism at a considerable number of times, repetitive exaggerated forced view points and all of that i enjoyed Millies acting none the less. Her skills are getting better and could have gone way better if she had been less time being rude and cold blooded and more in the why. We never saw much out of the thoughts of Enola about the bombs that definitely would kill a number of people. Its sad that it was rushed to the man bad woman good cliche movie. For me it was sadly forgettable and if not for the screenshots from Millie’ fans probably this movie won’t be remembered in a few weeks

The one thing that made me believe this was a 5/10 to a 2/10 was definitely the breaking 4th wall so badly and in a awkward way. After the moments where i was getting tired of the polarisation of good and bad most of the times the writers decided to just pull again the breaking of the 4th wall in a badly written way just to take a good laugh without much effort into it. And what about the water torture scene where Enola faked being dead? Had me a good laugh until i realised they were serious that she could pull that off.

Kind of remids me of Rey from The force awakens but with a little small background. More of a Mary sue than anything

And one more thing. Why wasn’t Henry more involved instead of being such a ignored character? Could have been much more. It had me there in the first act but at the second act i was more interested in anything but the movie.

Resuming: its another feminist movie with the same theme as all others without much diference, except it has Henry Calvin as a not so convincing Sherlock Holmes and Millie bobby brown with her gold but strick performance per say.
Expand
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
0
BanishmonSep 26, 2020
quirky empowered female overdone too much, takes too much on feminism.
A feminist clearly wrote the movies, using their own version of the patriarchy as the villian
This is clearly an internal struggle, which clearly doesn't make sense as a
quirky empowered female overdone too much, takes too much on feminism.
A feminist clearly wrote the movies, using their own version of the patriarchy as the villian
This is clearly an internal struggle, which clearly doesn't make sense as a Holmes story nor does it fit the characters that it uses to attract viewers.
Makes Enola Holmes essentially a superhuman who's looked down upon by her brothers.
extraordinary large amount of exposition and uses it to skip over basically everything. 4th wall breaking is weirdly placed and stupid.
Both Sherlock and Mycroft seem out of character, neither of them are calculated or seem competent in any way, the movie portrays them as arrogant and they become whatever the situation requires of them. Despite being the most well known characters, the Holmes brothers are half-baked and useless. Almost all the attention is placed upon Enola, but they still don't manage to build her up in a way that would make sense.
In spite of what they want you to think, Enola Holmes isnt Sherlock Holmes
The sheer amount of unnecessary scenes is astounding
Mediocre pacing, most of it doesn't make sense in both a storytelling way and a logical way.
It has literally close to zero direction for most of the film, zero coherent things that the main character is supposed to be doing.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
Malene211Sep 23, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While a good movie it completely ignores key points from the books if you read the books I would not recommend watching
I give it 2.5 stars but that’s only mostly for the acting. The only thing I absolutely detest is the love interest which does not exist at all in the books and was only manufactured most likely due to the fact that all movies must have some predictably romantic feature if you want them to be popular apparently
Expand
14 of 24 users found this helpful1410
All this user's reviews
3
edblarnesSep 24, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't enjoy reviews that start with 'Woke' or 'SJW' ... but I'm sorry, it's a completely-over-the-top SJW/Woke bit of trash. Often they get past the heavy handed things in the first few scenes and get one with the story ... but this film is trope after trope after trope. The 'free thinking mother' who let her kid do as she pleased, and the 'evil governess' forcing Elona into archaic clothing. Any reasonable reading of the situation would indicate that the Holmes mother is basically a lazy, entitled but semi literate redneck who trashes her own home, defrauds her family while her child runs feral. Just because a child 'has read books' does not mean they are socailized or learned. I was waiting for the story to start, it never did. This is a Woke/SJW ridiculous Disney after-school special desinged to teach children a completely narrow set of values, partly based on ignorance. What happened to storytelling? Expand
11 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews
0
Game_RelicSep 23, 2020
Absolute trash. Beyond bad I'd be more than happy to get on the piss hard and wake up forgetting ever watching it
14 of 25 users found this helpful1411
All this user's reviews
0
s3ri0us8lackSep 23, 2020
Feminism is so forced into this movie that it just get annoying after a while, and by while I mean 5 minutes into the movie.

A female child with feministic ideals played by Millie Bobby Brown, wait, isn't she the same spoiled kid who
Feminism is so forced into this movie that it just get annoying after a while, and by while I mean 5 minutes into the movie.

A female child with feministic ideals played by Millie Bobby Brown, wait, isn't she the same spoiled kid who secretly negotiated a separate pay package from ST's other child actors? Well, there goes equal pay for women.

A storyline urging women to break the stereotype only a minute later casting a stereotypical slack-jawed good-looking male sidekick (Louis Partridge).

How pathetic can Hollywood get? Well, 2016 called, and Ghostbusters want their script back.
Expand
14 of 25 users found this helpful1411
All this user's reviews
1
streetfighter01Sep 23, 2020
first of all I won't reveal the events in the movie but I'll mention why this movie bad IMO by revealing what is indirectly about the events so you may consider them as a spoiler: just nope. even though we should have consider this trash asfirst of all I won't reveal the events in the movie but I'll mention why this movie bad IMO by revealing what is indirectly about the events so you may consider them as a spoiler: just nope. even though we should have consider this trash as from a fan fiction that is about a parallel universe where sherlock holmes has a sister, it clearly doesn't fit into a sherlock holmes universe at all because sherlock and mycroft doesn't have such personalities and appearances. especially mycroft is not such a man at all and sherlock doesn't look like a perfect bodyguard who is modelling for hobby. well at least sherlock ain't an emo this time LOL.

cinematography wise I didn't like how this movie seems like a documentry of some short which enola breaking the 4th wall by talking with the audience. some scenes that require audience to process information was too fast but some scenes that is basically about nothing were too slow enough to make you forget you were watching a movie. also I disliked how enola is always hyper most of the movie like she won the lottery and spent all of her money on drugs LOL. it really killed the mood of the movie. I kinda expected some kind of detective stuff but what I mostly found is a girly movie about madness LOL.

and lastly, the fundemental reason of why I disliked the movie: It's a woke movie about how woman is weak in this society and it kinda has some form of environmentalism. as a man it really bothers me when some people try to make females seem weak in this society when I know powerful bigboss women as well as weak ass men. there is enough feminist sexist woman in social media so people doesn't need feminist sexist movies too. I guess I would be mad if I was a female LOL. other than that, even though my expectetions were none and I was okay for a sherlock holmes movie that is not about sherlock holmes for a change, I disliked how much that pseudo-sherlock and mycroft was involved in the movie

well, only plus of the movie is Millie Bobby Brown playing as enola holmes hence I gave this movie 1 point. she is amazing actress (yes/no I'm not fan girl of hers) which fit into the character she played but that's it, she is really wasted on such a low quality production. it would be best for netflix to release it as a tv series in a proper manner instead because it kinda seemed like they editted videos which were planned for tv series to turn it into a movie and rushed the production without proper art direction
Expand
13 of 25 users found this helpful1312
All this user's reviews
0
WokePrincessSep 25, 2020
This movie is great to play at retirement homes because the main character will talk to them directly the whole movie! There’s not enough trans POC in it, I thought by now Netflix would’ve learned it’s lesson. Soundtrack is ok!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
nicktlkSep 28, 2020
I really hoped for a fun and chill adventure movie to just kick back and relax. The first thing that turned me off was the way the narrative is handled - Enola talking to the screen/viewer and explaining every smallest detail left no fieldI really hoped for a fun and chill adventure movie to just kick back and relax. The first thing that turned me off was the way the narrative is handled - Enola talking to the screen/viewer and explaining every smallest detail left no field for any mind excercise. I just felt like the director thinks I'm too dumb to understand most basic concepts. The second and perhaps a key issue with the movie is its aggresive use of 'so called' feminism. Being aggressive towards men, constantly telling them that they are useless is not an act of strength, but of weakness. Is this the message we want to convey to our youth? That in order to be a strong woman you must believe that men are somewhat of a lesser being? Think no need to say that such a portrial of the main characters has little to do with any historical relevance. But this part I can forgive, as it is supposed to be just a simple 'feel good' movie. However, I cannot stand by the direction the movie takes with toxic form of feminism. True strength of a woman is in her kindness, empathy, love and care for others. Not in hating men. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerrySep 26, 2020
Aiming for a younger audience, the title role is played by Millie Bobby Brown (Stranger Things) as the wily younger sister to Sherlock (Henry Cavill) and Mycroft (Sam Claflin). After her mother (Helena Bonham Carter) disappears, Enola setsAiming for a younger audience, the title role is played by Millie Bobby Brown (Stranger Things) as the wily younger sister to Sherlock (Henry Cavill) and Mycroft (Sam Claflin). After her mother (Helena Bonham Carter) disappears, Enola sets out to London to find her, meeting a young aristocrat along the way. The opening sequences offer a jaunty modern approach to the detective story, but things do slow down as the plot and the burgeoning romance develops. Still, the pleasant performances and lively attitude make for a mildly entertaining diversion. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
OrangegottSep 26, 2020
The only good thing about this movie is the acting of Millie, the rest you want to forget. The story is predictable and most boring. And if don't believe me, just see the first movie of Sherlock and this one and write a review.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
theredskySep 26, 2020
Some what entertaining but mostly bland and predictable. Millie Bobbie Brown is a very talented actress and I’m excited to see where her career goes from here and she is easily the best part of this film. She brings a lot of energy to theSome what entertaining but mostly bland and predictable. Millie Bobbie Brown is a very talented actress and I’m excited to see where her career goes from here and she is easily the best part of this film. She brings a lot of energy to the role and while her 4th wall breaking and script she is given may not be good, she’s still trying. Henry Cavill also does a pretty good job here too and I wish we got to see more of his take on Sherlock Holmes. The film is well shot but it doesn’t do anything creative with its shots and the production design, costume design, and score are all pretty good. Everything else however was definitely below average. The plot is fast which is nice but certain elements of the story are not engaging at points. The setups and pay offs are so predictable that you could see them coming from a mile away. The editing is very dull and rapid and there are some very obvious green screen moments here and there. I took a lot of issue with the 4th wall breaks. It felt out of place and awkward at many points and really ground the film to a halt when it happened. I know they need to explain some elements but it could have been done much better than that. Go check this out on Netflix if you are a fan of Millie Bobbie Brown or Henry Cavill or if you enjoy the universe of Sherlock Holmes. If you don’t like any of those elements, then you can definitely pass on this. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
ZefyrusSep 28, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm sorry but I couldn't even finish the movie. I gave up straight after the movie changed it's first, very boring direction of "looking for mum", to a second, infinitely more boring "looking for Tewksburry"; a character so flat and force-shoved in the viewer's throat for absolutely no reason.

Other pain points:
* Exposition is ridiculously overused and becomes tiring very quickly, even for such a young and charming face as Millie.

* Sherlock Holmes (Cavill) looks like, well, literally Superman. He's so beefed up and looks so out-of-place in early 20th century clothes. Cavill, which I adore, was woefully miscast.

* The Holmes brothers are completely incompetent and useless. Sherlock looks like he's completely bored out of his mind and cba with the movie.

* A women's only Jiujitsu club in central London, with an overweight black Sensei. SJW nonsense parade.

* A 16 year-old skinny girl easily stands up to a 40 year-old bully and withstands A LOT of senseless beating, because when she was little, het mother trained her in the apple grove.

* Movie gives a hint on women's suffrage, which is good, but it does it with a very cringy way.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
GeraltDaWitcherSep 23, 2020
Anti-male garbage, I feel sorry for the actors in this movie. Netflix at this point is trying to cause nothing but division.
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
2
FavalaSep 27, 2020
I had never before seen anything by Millie Bobby Brown, and still her Enola wasn't believable. Bad acting, too much breaking the fourth wall, with a very bad script and two brothers that were just used for the "men are evil" trope and notI had never before seen anything by Millie Bobby Brown, and still her Enola wasn't believable. Bad acting, too much breaking the fourth wall, with a very bad script and two brothers that were just used for the "men are evil" trope and not even faithful to the original stories. Full of political agenda, completely predictable, with a romantic storyline that makes no sense, and no brilliant deductions anywhere to be found. A real insult to the Holmes franchise. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
Taby314Sep 26, 2020
Weak story filled with more political SJW nonsense. Tropes upon tropes mixed with a lot of SJW rhetoric, awful Hollywood lens of how a story plot should be, including forced romances and triumphing regardless of reason. Decent money spent soWeak story filled with more political SJW nonsense. Tropes upon tropes mixed with a lot of SJW rhetoric, awful Hollywood lens of how a story plot should be, including forced romances and triumphing regardless of reason. Decent money spent so the setting and costumes looked well. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
7
MujtabajuneSep 23, 2020
A not so typical holmes story with crazy perplexing mysteries but fun nevertheless great acting by the cast to shine a different light on the great holmes family
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
10
ftb1777Sep 23, 2020
Awesome movie with a very talented cast. M B Brown does a wonderful job of carrying the plot and tone of the entire film.
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
8
CyrenMJSep 23, 2020
It was a good movie, better than I expected with a great performance by the lead. It wasn't as intricate a mystery as what you expect for Sherlock Holmes, but it was perfect for the Enola Holmes first go at things. There were some goodIt was a good movie, better than I expected with a great performance by the lead. It wasn't as intricate a mystery as what you expect for Sherlock Holmes, but it was perfect for the Enola Holmes first go at things. There were some good sleuth moments, some fun moments, and even some touching moments between Sherlock and Enola. She took her lumps when she should have taken her lumps and thought through things she should have been able to solve. All in all a great job. Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
7
maaden_sweSep 24, 2020
The movie is fine, great photo, music and acting. Its a movie for younger people, obviously, think I would have enjoyed it more 25 years ago. Now I want something a bit deeper to go past the 7 it get from me. And for the negative reviews,The movie is fine, great photo, music and acting. Its a movie for younger people, obviously, think I would have enjoyed it more 25 years ago. Now I want something a bit deeper to go past the 7 it get from me. And for the negative reviews, check what they write and check their other reviews. They have an agenda, nothing else. Kinda hilarious, as often when it come to metacritic :) Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
8
tarekaliSep 24, 2020
A delightful movie, full of adventure, courage, spirit and optimism. Millie Bobby Brown is blossoming into a world class actress, able to display a range of acting skills and emotions, she has a wonderful future ahead of her. So nice to seeA delightful movie, full of adventure, courage, spirit and optimism. Millie Bobby Brown is blossoming into a world class actress, able to display a range of acting skills and emotions, she has a wonderful future ahead of her. So nice to see her shatter the mold of Stranger Things and smoothly adapt into such a challenging role, the sister of the legendary Sherlock Holmes. For once the mighty detective is happy to take a back seat in his own story. We watched this as a family and my daughters loved the message of self discovery and courage. Really hoping for a sequel. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
9
roastbirdSep 25, 2020
I think this is a very interesting movie for a lazy afternoon. One thing out of the place is the substoryline about her mother, it's not well explained, maybe there is a sequel I don't felt a injected policitcal agenda.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
phoenix13Sep 23, 2020
this film was a breath of fresh air in a line of dreary dragging period films that center around old men arguing politics. millie bobby brown was delightful and her range continues to impress. i hope netflix sees the potential in thisthis film was a breath of fresh air in a line of dreary dragging period films that center around old men arguing politics. millie bobby brown was delightful and her range continues to impress. i hope netflix sees the potential in this character and story and locks MBB in for several sequels. my whole family had a lot of fun with this film and would love to see more. Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
10
dancroft97Sep 23, 2020
Is a good movie, I expected that just for the cast but is more than I expected. So beautifully and fun.
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
7
GazMoviesSep 24, 2020
Fun and Entertaining. Enola Holmes is Sherlock and Mycroft's Sister. Enola becomes a Super-Sleuth in her own right as she outwits her famous Brother and unravels a dangerous conspiracy around a mysterious young Lord, as she hunts for herFun and Entertaining. Enola Holmes is Sherlock and Mycroft's Sister. Enola becomes a Super-Sleuth in her own right as she outwits her famous Brother and unravels a dangerous conspiracy around a mysterious young Lord, as she hunts for her missing Mother. The Game Is Afoot! Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
8
FelpsGPSep 23, 2020
Enola Holmes is a fun and fast paced movie with a good plot and good characters played by good actors and actresses. Do not mind the extremely low reviews written by close-minded men that feel uncomfortable with Netflix's position aboutEnola Holmes is a fun and fast paced movie with a good plot and good characters played by good actors and actresses. Do not mind the extremely low reviews written by close-minded men that feel uncomfortable with Netflix's position about women's empowerment.
Millie Bobby Brown was the perfect choice for the part of Enola, delivering great acting and really bringing the character to life.
Henry Cavill and Sam Clafling were also good choices, but unfortunately they do not get enough screen time to allow us to really connect with their characters. Sadly, this is the case for most of the characters. Helena Bonham Carter is an amazing actress and I was excited to see her as Eudoria Holmes but I can't help but feel like her potential was wasted since we don't get a chance to know Eudoria in depth. I know, I know... the whole idea is that Eudoria is missing but it's Helena Bonham Carter, the more the better.
Hopefully we get a sequel and get a chance to spend more time with these characters.
The screenplay was clever and interesting enough to make me care for the plot, although it feels like halfway though the movie they just change it completely and never come back to how it started.
Good camera work, animations, colors and scenarios. Nothing else to say about it.
In the end, it's a progressive thinking movie and a refreshing take on the Sherlock Holmes franchise and it was done extremely well and I can only hope it's the first of many Enola Holmes movies we see.
Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
10
tanvir2102Sep 23, 2020
Awesome. Loved Millie's acting. Want to see it's sequel ASAP!
Loved the brother-sister chemistry.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
SherlockloneSep 23, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A refreshing movie.
I am going to watch it again tomorrow! The movie overall with its actors, cinematography, scenes, story, music and direction is a treat to watch. A very immersive movie I might say!
Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
8
Ankita1992Sep 24, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best movie for teenagers with hidden life lessons. We have seen Millie Bobby Brown in Stranger Things as Eleven and she proved herself and again she proved herself. We love you Enola❤️ Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
9
Spike25Sep 27, 2020
Enola Holmes pleasantly surprised me. I was looking forward to this film and I'm glad it went well. This is an impishly playful film that will entertain both younger and older audiences. The strongest aspect of the film is undoubtedly itsEnola Holmes pleasantly surprised me. I was looking forward to this film and I'm glad it went well. This is an impishly playful film that will entertain both younger and older audiences. The strongest aspect of the film is undoubtedly its flawless cast. Millie Bobby Brown, is like Enola, incredibly fun and likable. Enola is maybe an emancipated young woman, but in a good way. Henry Cavill and Sam Claflin are also as fine as are the rest of the cast. I only have one small caveat. Perhaps in the next part, which will hopefully be created, it would be better if the creators went their own way and were just inspired by the book. The reason is that Enola, as a character, deserves a more complicated case after all, which she would have to solve and I would also not be afraid of a greater interaction between her and Sherlock. Personally, I would appreciate it if Sherlock became a mentor for Enola. If all the movies on Netflix had the same cool vibe as Enola Holmes, that would be very nice. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
allyza06Sep 23, 2020
Its a good movie. I didnt expect all of that ❤️ It didnt disappoint me
5 of 24 users found this helpful519
All this user's reviews
7
BBally81Sep 24, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all this is based on a 2006 book, which led to a long running book series that ran from 2006 to 2010, so contrary to what people are claiming this isn't a story made up by "woke" Hollywood.

I quite enjoyed this film. It was charming with a great cast, Henry Cavill was a pretty good incarnation of the great detective himself, Millie Bobby Brown was quite good in the title role. The film does have its issues like the 4th wall breaking by Enola felt intrusive at times, I get the director was trying to find a witty way around the fact the books are in first person but I don't think it was needed, other than that and some issues, I quite liked the film and would like to see the other 5 books in the Enola Holmes series adapted.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
AlexSanLyraSep 24, 2020
Ignore the Netflix BS marketing (Ex: Mycroft and Sherlock Holmes are "useless"), this movie is simply adorable, without being childish, and witty, without being pretentious. Millie B. Brown is charming as Enola, the narrative is smart and theIgnore the Netflix BS marketing (Ex: Mycroft and Sherlock Holmes are "useless"), this movie is simply adorable, without being childish, and witty, without being pretentious. Millie B. Brown is charming as Enola, the narrative is smart and the whole cast is stellar. It's a fun, lighthearted movie. If you're expecting a dark gritty mystery, you'll be disappointed. Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
10
Bella_a100Sep 23, 2020
I absolutely loved this movie. It was beautifully made. Millie Bobby Brown should be proud to have produced and starred as the leading lady in this incredible movie. The cast was as good if not better then expected with these A-stars. II absolutely loved this movie. It was beautifully made. Millie Bobby Brown should be proud to have produced and starred as the leading lady in this incredible movie. The cast was as good if not better then expected with these A-stars. I recommend this movie to everyone, it's really good. This could lead to a series of interesting movies. With a smart and strong girl for young girls can look up at. I really loved it. Expand
2 of 14 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
10
iamabSep 23, 2020
It is one of those movies which don't bore you even a second. Millie bobby brown is phenomenal in this roller-coaster ride. Just watch it.
2 of 14 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
9
CinemaKBSep 23, 2020
The amount of criticism this movie is receiving simply because it even mentions women's rights is absurd. The movie in my opinion was very good and after just watching it I was already online looking up wether or not there would be a sequel.The amount of criticism this movie is receiving simply because it even mentions women's rights is absurd. The movie in my opinion was very good and after just watching it I was already online looking up wether or not there would be a sequel. I am truly intrigued to see where they take they story. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
10
Sanjay1298Sep 24, 2020
It's just fantastic movie. All the characters are very strong and seems realistic.
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
6
NOS4A2Sep 23, 2020
Tepid attempt at spinning out the Holmes franchise for another run. Bland and not as interesting as I hoped it would be. But boy the so called reviews [more like rants from weak men] by the misogynists and incels here are pretty scary andTepid attempt at spinning out the Holmes franchise for another run. Bland and not as interesting as I hoped it would be. But boy the so called reviews [more like rants from weak men] by the misogynists and incels here are pretty scary and only speaks to how warped and twisted these men have become to spit bile at any movie/show that centers and focuses around women fighting against oppression. And this is coming from someone who is a man. Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
10
AnmoltiwariSep 23, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is best drama film ever stream on Netflix . MILLIE BOBBY BROWN HAVE WON MILLIONS HEARTS THROUGH THIS FILM . I HAVE TO SAY THAT THIS MOVIE GOING THE SUPER HIT . FAN OF MILLIE BOBBY BROWN Expand
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
6
MerlintheoneSep 24, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After the movie I was thinking that I didn't need to watch it. And you don't have too.
Enola's speaking to the camera makes the film more interesting
The worst part of the movie was the scene where tewkesbury was not dead.
Also in the 1:17:52-1:18:40 scene where microft and enola are in the carriage, her crying looks as if she is showcasing her acting skills.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
PanchogulSep 24, 2020
Solo vi esto por Henry Cavill menudo papasito jejeje .............................................
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ralph812Sep 24, 2020
An entertaining movie for the whole family. Just watching Millie Bobby Brown light up the screen is worth the 2 hours.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
9
onewalterSep 25, 2020
Um adaptação muito divertida da saga Sherlock Holmes, acerta no tom, na escolha de elenco e muito na fotografia. Incrivel
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
NamelessreviewsSep 25, 2020
Very entertaining. I had no idea what this movie was about, so I had no expectations upon watching the movie. Absolutely loved it.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
Monster507Sep 25, 2020
La pelicula me gusto, muy entretenida le iba dar un 8, pero como hay demasiados troles puntuando bajo diciendo que la peli es agenda feminista y que lo otro que daño el personaje de Holmes, cuando la peli va orientada a un publico juvenil, leLa pelicula me gusto, muy entretenida le iba dar un 8, pero como hay demasiados troles puntuando bajo diciendo que la peli es agenda feminista y que lo otro que daño el personaje de Holmes, cuando la peli va orientada a un publico juvenil, le doy 10. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
shiningtulipSep 26, 2020
AMAZING movie! a great cast, I had so much fun watching it. lots of surprises and adventures.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BreuSep 26, 2020
Great cast ..lovely movie.. very entertaining ...milly is adorable...and all cast is super...beautifully shot too
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
StarstrialSep 26, 2020
If it was just a movie without the Holmes theme, it would be a great movie. The soundtrack is cool, the feminist ideas are OK.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DubeauSep 26, 2020
Enola Holmes is another Sherlock movie, but without him has the main character.The movie creates a new path for the Holmes universe. It does so, by adding emotions and relationships between Elona and Sherlock but also, calculating theirEnola Holmes is another Sherlock movie, but without him has the main character.The movie creates a new path for the Holmes universe. It does so, by adding emotions and relationships between Elona and Sherlock but also, calculating their respective mother into the story. The plot is well done and revolve around a third party. The music is fair enough. The acting is very balanced in my opinion. Cavill and Millie are absolutely steeling the movie. The ending is very emotional. Don't expect a great detective mystery, it's more an adventure movie. I give it a good 84%. I usually don't like when studios recycle Sherlock, or AC Doyle stuff... but I must say this was done with a lot of joviality and enough interest, that it deserve some kudos. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Mumof4Sep 26, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was a lovely film very well done I thought the girl who played Enola Holmes was brilliant Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksSep 26, 2020
A sassy and fun film which takes the energy from the Guy Ritchie Sherlock Holmes films but makes it more kid friendly and accessible to a broader audience.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Sep 27, 2020
I'm amazed this film is getting so much appreciation considering how weak its plot is.
Especially its remarkable lack of development.
I find it incredible (even considering the nature of the characters) the evident emotional detachment shown
I'm amazed this film is getting so much appreciation considering how weak its plot is.
Especially its remarkable lack of development.

I find it incredible (even considering the nature of the characters) the evident emotional detachment shown at the beginning of the story.

Are you telling me that the main character is waking up on her birthday and her mother is nowhere to be found, plus she didn't say where she was going and she doesn't seem worried about it?
There's a certain sadness in her tone, but frankly, she doesn't seem interested in her whereabouts.

After that, she's reunited with her two brothers after several years without seeing them and they obviously don't recognize her, and she acts as if nothing is happening?
And then the first real emotional reaction she shows is when she finds out that she's being sent to school? Who the hell wrote this?

Now, I can't blame Millie Bobby Brown for that. At the end of the day, she does try to bring charisma to the matter, with her constant breaking of the fourth wall. However, everything that surrounds her despite seeming built with the intention of enhancing her character, it cannot help feeling ruinous and empty.

Mycroft is a pain in the ass. He's mean and annoying. Whereas Sherlock seems to be so disconnected from everything, that he becomes completely useless.
I fully understand that neither of them are characters that need an emphasis in this story, but it wasn't about disappearing them in such a way.

The most ironic of all, is that Enola Holmes seems to be grappling with one thing at first and then changes its focus very quickly.
Although its approach in tone is clearly lighter, that didn't mean that it should become so bland and this is because the script is very weak, this despite all the topics it tries to cover.

Because the film is mainly an origin story, but it is also a family drama, a thriller with political elements, there's also the feminist commentary and gender roles, even reaching the fields of romantic comedy, and if your script is not so solid to complement all these elements, it is more than clear that there will be much to criticize.
Apparently this film didn't get the message of: the one who grasps at too much loses everything.

Maybe I'm being a bit harsh, but it seems to me that a lot of people decided to leave out many of their flaws.
I guess this is because they enjoyed this story much more because it was a feel-good movie within the Netflix standard.
And while it may be, I doubt there will be more talk about Enola Holmes beyond a couple of weeks from now.

I was going to give it two stars. It won the extra half star because of the great production work and the musical score.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
manningn15Sep 27, 2020
Enola Holmes is my favorite Netflix movie of 2020, one of my top 10 favorite movies of 2020, and one of my favorite movies of 2020. Millie Bobby Brown's performances was phenomenal, she gave a perfectly balanced performance where she playedEnola Holmes is my favorite Netflix movie of 2020, one of my top 10 favorite movies of 2020, and one of my favorite movies of 2020. Millie Bobby Brown's performances was phenomenal, she gave a perfectly balanced performance where she played her as both a very smart and intelligent woman who was also very strong physically and mentally and can do whatever she puts her mind to. Helena Bonham Carter and Sam Claflin gave terrific supporting performances. The costumes were just exceptional and gorgeous especially on Millie Bobby Brown, Helena Bonham Carter, Frances de la Tour, Henry Cavill, Louis Partridge, Sam Claflin, and all of the gowns and dresses. The makeup and hairstyling were outstanding especially on Millie Bobby Brown, Helena Bonham Carter, Susie Wokoma, Henry Cavill, Adeel Akhtar, Frances de la Tour, Hattie Morahan, and Louis Partridge. The sets were spectacular and extremely authentic looking. The fight choreography was awesome and extremely realistic looking. The writing was superb. The music was excellent. This was an A+ movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
lilyyyyyyyySep 28, 2020
This movie is perfect. Millie, Louis and the rest of the cast did an amazing job at this film. It showed aspects of feminism, adventure & tad of romance, something for everyone! Fully recommend!
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
LeesanJPSep 28, 2020
It is not a bad movie for a younger audience, has some charm here and there but, when u see a black woman teaching "kung fu for womens" in the 19th century London for no purpose at all for the plot, you know that u are watching an authenticIt is not a bad movie for a younger audience, has some charm here and there but, when u see a black woman teaching "kung fu for womens" in the 19th century London for no purpose at all for the plot, you know that u are watching an authentic Netflix original Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
bertobellamySep 28, 2020
Enola Holmes may lack in originality, but Harry Bradbeer and Jack Thorne make up for it with a great empowerment message. Sure, the breaking-the-four-wall feels a little excessive, but Millie Bobbie Brown delivers a nice performance as thisEnola Holmes may lack in originality, but Harry Bradbeer and Jack Thorne make up for it with a great empowerment message. Sure, the breaking-the-four-wall feels a little excessive, but Millie Bobbie Brown delivers a nice performance as this rebellious girl. Also, the new version of Sherlock Holmes definitely will irritate a lot of people, but the truth is that it's the first time we see the greatest detective as a man in touch with his feelings. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
avictoraoSep 28, 2020
I have really enjoyed this movie. It is fresh and witty and the cast is phenomenal.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Bigguy00Sep 28, 2020
A light-hearted romp that has something for all ages. They take some liberties that Holmes devotees may find extreme, but it’s all in good fun. The acting is solid with Millie Bobbie Brown standing out as she did in Stranger Things. HerA light-hearted romp that has something for all ages. They take some liberties that Holmes devotees may find extreme, but it’s all in good fun. The acting is solid with Millie Bobbie Brown standing out as she did in Stranger Things. Her future is bright. The mystery itself is adequate with a couple of nice twists. There is a coming of age romance that seems appropriately handled. Hopefully Netflix will turn this into a series. There are too few shows adults and teens can enjoy together. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
DarthMothSep 29, 2020
Movie felt like targeting toward younger audience below 13. Lacks of crime solving really didn't do justice for Enola skills and talent as Holmes characters. Not much cleverness you expect from typical Sherlock Holmes film or series. TheMovie felt like targeting toward younger audience below 13. Lacks of crime solving really didn't do justice for Enola skills and talent as Holmes characters. Not much cleverness you expect from typical Sherlock Holmes film or series. The character connection and development between Enola and her Mother are probably the high point of this movie. Movie overall is simple thrill with Good cast with touch of teenage romance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
birdman3Sep 30, 2020
Yes, the movie has a feminist twist to it (which reaches its peak when a woman yells at a man "men are useless!" with no repercussions), but part of that is because the film deals with the women's suffrage movement in England. Fine - I canYes, the movie has a feminist twist to it (which reaches its peak when a woman yells at a man "men are useless!" with no repercussions), but part of that is because the film deals with the women's suffrage movement in England. Fine - I can deal with that. However, the movie is still fairly boring. Did you think that this movie was going to be about Enola looking for her mother? Don't worry, about 15 minutes into the film, she abandons that idea and spends the rest of the movie looking for a boy. By the end of the film, so much is left unresolved that I wonder what the point of it was.

I will say that Millie Bobby Brown is a great actress and her 4th-wall breaking moments were definitely the highlight of the film. At the same time, why is it that the best part of a movie is the part where only one actress is speaking, and not to any other characters?
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
lazydrumheadSep 30, 2020
An interesting concept that has almost no payoff throughout the entire movie. The storytelling style (i.e. flashbacks to scenes we had no context for previously to explain current scenes) removed almost any emotional punch from any reveals.An interesting concept that has almost no payoff throughout the entire movie. The storytelling style (i.e. flashbacks to scenes we had no context for previously to explain current scenes) removed almost any emotional punch from any reveals. Hardly any mystery whatsoever. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BartsonOct 1, 2020
Nix besonderes. Kann man schaun, aber man verpasst auch nix wenn man s bleiben lässt. Keiner der Schauspieler ist besonders überzeugend in seiner Rolle. Kleine Enttäuschung, hatt ich mir mehr erhofft
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MahmusOct 1, 2020
It feels like a toned down version of The Adventures of Tintin, but still manages to rise above its flaws, despite a rather weak start and an unsatisfying end.

It's a really fun and charming movie that I can easily see myself having loved as
It feels like a toned down version of The Adventures of Tintin, but still manages to rise above its flaws, despite a rather weak start and an unsatisfying end.

It's a really fun and charming movie that I can easily see myself having loved as a kid.

It suffers from a lack of subtlety and a less than engaging mystery, but makes up for it with a charming performance from Millie Bobby Brown, a surprisingly violent third act and a fun, if at times poorly edited style.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ImanicOct 1, 2020
The acting was great and I loved that the audience was constantly being actively engaged by Enola. I absolutely loved it and am waiting for a sequel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerOct 1, 2020
A family-friendly take on the mystery movie formula. Sherlock's younger sister is an endearingly quirky character. Her penchant for things like regularly breaking the fourth wall is just as charming as the actress she's being brought to lifeA family-friendly take on the mystery movie formula. Sherlock's younger sister is an endearingly quirky character. Her penchant for things like regularly breaking the fourth wall is just as charming as the actress she's being brought to life by (Stranger Things' Millie Bobby Brown). In a lot of ways she's like a less annoying Harley Quinn. Watching her try to find her place in the world while navigating her dysfunctional family dynamic is a sympathetic journey to see unfold. One that lets Brown show off how talented of a star she actually is by pairing her with far more experienced actors and letting her carry the big emotional moments.

The story is quite bloated. Largely because there are two separate plot threads going on at the same time. They do end up tying together in a satisfying way by the end, but there's still a lot that feels like it could have been cut out. This really didn't need to be over two hours long. Also, one of the mysteries seems to only be included so that a love interest can be established for Enola. Something that is not only unnecessary, but handled in a totally cliché manner to boot. It's one of those dynamics where she berates him the entire time because apparently that's what a strong independent woman does when they have a crush on somebody and he likes her back anyway.

This is a very political film. Though not in a bad way because it realizes that you don't have to belittle men in order to empower women. Making this easily the best piece of blatant feminism we've gotten since Trump got elected into office. Maybe even before that.

It tries it's hand at the whole drawing parallels between how women are treated today and how they were treated in the past thing as well, but it's far less successful on that front. In its defense, I don't think I've ever seen anything do a good job of that though. Every time someone tries all we really get is a critique of the viewpoints people had years prior, which yeah we know were bad, with very little actually being said about our present state. Enola Holmes is no exception. It is a cute little adventure however, and has clear franchise potential. The groundwork has already been laid for a great sequel. All that would be needed are a tighter script with more focus, more familial interactions with the rest of the cast, less inconsequential romance, and maybe a slightly larger role for Henry Cavill who gives a career best performance as the most famous Holmes. Yet, even if that never happens I at least got to spend a fun afternoon filled with laughs and heart watching a young lady who may just be my new favorite detective. That's enough for me for now.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
a_ahmadOct 2, 2020
Carried by full of fun beautiful expressions and feelings. Love to watch the whole cast performing a great acting. I was surprised by Enola Holmes she did each and every move brilliantly.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
DukeJonOct 4, 2020
This was disappointing. Millie Bobby Brown does a serviceable job as Enola Holmes but she just doesn't have the level of charisma and screen magnetism required to carry the movie. The constant fourth wall asides to the camera are overdone andThis was disappointing. Millie Bobby Brown does a serviceable job as Enola Holmes but she just doesn't have the level of charisma and screen magnetism required to carry the movie. The constant fourth wall asides to the camera are overdone and get old quickly. Henry Cavill is spectacularly miscast as Sherlock Holmes. He couldn't be further from the character I've read in the books if he tried, and Mycroft comes across as being just plain evil which contradicts his character in the novels. I also didn't like the fact that the mother of Sherlock Holmes is a wannabe terrorist. The whole thing is very like a lot of the movies I've seen that were made in the last few years where the main female lead is a Mary Sue and all the men are evil/incompetent. The colour-blind casting is also very jarring, particularly with Lestrade. The great character of Sherlock Holmes being lectured on white privilege by a black woman (in 19th century England?) was cringe-worthy. Overall I felt the movie was an insult to the works of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle if I'm honest. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
XmoviefilmsOct 4, 2020
The story is not something we never see before but it’s a fun movie with simple storytelling to spend enjoyable time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Kludd4EverOct 5, 2020
Pretty fun film, The only thing I did had problems with was the movie pacing so the finale kinda felt rushed and didn't built up to the logic conclusion. Also wasn't a fan of Mycroft potrayel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews