Netflix | Release Date (Streaming): June 26, 2020
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 318 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
256
Mixed:
31
Negative:
31
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
razvtJun 26, 2020
It depends on what you go in expecting. If you go in expecting a cheesy dumb Will Farrell movie, then you'll be pleased to see that it's exactly that.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
faustocastilloJun 26, 2020
Of course this is not for usa people, this movie is for Eurovision fans, they could never get that culture.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
TheDarkIn1978Jun 30, 2020
I actually really enjoyed this movie. I think it's definitely one of Will Ferrell's best comedic roles and Rachel McAdams and Dan Stevens were also great. I guess they refused to pay off those fILm CRitIcS for a good review like so manyI actually really enjoyed this movie. I think it's definitely one of Will Ferrell's best comedic roles and Rachel McAdams and Dan Stevens were also great. I guess they refused to pay off those fILm CRitIcS for a good review like so many other crap flicks that Hollywood **** out! Good on them. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BiaMJun 26, 2020
I love Rachel McAdams, so beautiful, so lovely... She's perfect! And Dan Stevens is great too. I love this movie, is very fun!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
XandraBriemJun 27, 2020
It's a surprisingly accurate, surprisingly respectful, surprisingly funny movie.

Not great perhaps, but certainly among the better of Farrells recent works. And McAdams absolutely delivers a great performance. May not be her best movie, but
It's a surprisingly accurate, surprisingly respectful, surprisingly funny movie.

Not great perhaps, but certainly among the better of Farrells recent works. And McAdams absolutely delivers a great performance. May not be her best movie, but she totally nailed her part of it.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BarnyJun 27, 2020
If you like Eurovision and its culture, then you'll be in for a treat. I loved it, really good fun.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DukeJonJun 30, 2020
Nowhere near as good as some of Will Ferrell's best work such as Anchorman or Elf, but this movie is definitely worth your time. There are some great set pieces, and the sequence in the mansion with all the ex-eurovision winners isNowhere near as good as some of Will Ferrell's best work such as Anchorman or Elf, but this movie is definitely worth your time. There are some great set pieces, and the sequence in the mansion with all the ex-eurovision winners is particularly strong. However quite a lot of the time you're waiting for the next joke to fall. The film is overlong at 2 hours, and with some editing they could have made it into a much better experience. Rachel McAdams is particularly strong as the sweet yet ditzy Sigrit, and Pearce Brosnan puts in a good performance. I feel almost that the weakest link is actually Will Ferrell. He's just too old to be carrying off these kind of characters, and his comedic performance instantly reminds you of how he has played characters in previous movies. Nice gentle sending up of Icelandic culture. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
julius98Jun 28, 2020
What is for the most part a really annoying movie is saved by some really cute interactions and a fun premise. A loveletter to Eurovision and international togetherness marred by an incredibly out-of-place Will Ferrell.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CriticoDubiosoJun 30, 2020
I'm not a Eurovision Song Contest fan but this movie pleasantly surprised me. I went into thinking it was another sappy chick flick or a terrible Will Ferrel vehicle. Will Ferrel was the weakest part of the main cast imho but Rachel McAdamsI'm not a Eurovision Song Contest fan but this movie pleasantly surprised me. I went into thinking it was another sappy chick flick or a terrible Will Ferrel vehicle. Will Ferrel was the weakest part of the main cast imho but Rachel McAdams and Pierce Brosnan really help carry the movie to it's semi-predictable conclusion. Some physical comedy, laughs and tears to be had along the way. This movie had heart, awesome songs and extras who looked like famous personalities (i had fun trying to figure out whether they were cameos or lookalikes). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
realtonitJun 30, 2020
This movie is amazingly entertaining. Really good, did not expect it. Great surprise.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
deckJun 28, 2020
pleasantly surprised by the heartwarming story with good music and the typical Ferrell comedy, which again unfortunately only works partially
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
PissedOffWookieJun 28, 2020
I expected this to be a comedy, but the movie barely ever reminds you of that fact. It is frankly more an accurate representation of Eurovision and some contestants than it is a comedy. It's pretty good, just don't go in expecting to laugh much.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
marcmyworksJun 28, 2020
A silly and fun film that has great music and cinematography but is a bit weak on plot. However for a comedy film based on the Eurovision Song Contest, what else can you expect?
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cadonomgoJul 1, 2020
I thought it really captured the spirit of Eurovision. Just what we needed this year. The soundtrack is also great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
notahobbitJul 1, 2020
This is a film for Eurovision fans and encompasses everything a Eurovision fan loves about the whole event. It is not to be taken seriously (like the contest!), but to be enjoyed for the comedy, the love, the music and the drama. I did feelThis is a film for Eurovision fans and encompasses everything a Eurovision fan loves about the whole event. It is not to be taken seriously (like the contest!), but to be enjoyed for the comedy, the love, the music and the drama. I did feel it could have been a little shorter, maybe 90 mins instead of 2 hours. It contains a lot of references that only a Eurovision fan would get, which is probably why a lot of people need things explaining. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
YorickMJun 27, 2020
Great fun and a tribute to ESC. And I happen to like Husavik. Loved the cameos of actual Eurovision stars as well.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Zefyrus87Jun 27, 2020
For a cheesy rom-com in 2020, I have to admit it was a lot better than what I was expecting originally.
* Not racially, gender-ally, diversity, LGBTQ+-lly charged at all. It touches the subject, of course, but doesn't overextend into it;
For a cheesy rom-com in 2020, I have to admit it was a lot better than what I was expecting originally.
* Not racially, gender-ally, diversity, LGBTQ+-lly charged at all. It touches the subject, of course, but doesn't overextend into it; which I have to say, is pretty rare these days.
* It's a bit long, but enjoyable.
* Quick humorous comebacks.
* Quirky and nuts, but in a fun and cute way.
* Doesn't lose itself in sexual stereotypes and promiscuousness, as many romcoms.
* It's cheesy, but not "too cheesy".
* Will-Ferrellisms kept to a minimum, I think only a couple of them.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
pfvryuriJun 26, 2020
good film, I only found wanting the appearances that the character of Demi Lovato has. There should be more scenes, but the movie has a great storyline and a spectacular ending!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
thespinozaJun 26, 2020
It is a very light, heart-warming movie and Rachel's performance is adorable. The movie is a warm escape from reality. They really captured Eurovision correctly. Songs were great, I'd listen to them in real life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PommevieJun 27, 2020
I loved everything about this movie!!! I watched it on repeat a total of five times and am watching it again!!! I loved the storyline, love story, and small town people and European backdrops. I fell in love with the characters and theirI loved everything about this movie!!! I watched it on repeat a total of five times and am watching it again!!! I loved the storyline, love story, and small town people and European backdrops. I fell in love with the characters and their speorge notes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SpaceBeastJun 27, 2020
at first I wasn't sure about this movie but as it kept going i grew to love this movie. The songs are very catchy i mean come ja ja ding dong is a sensation. I also like how they added the flags next to some actors names showing the differentat first I wasn't sure about this movie but as it kept going i grew to love this movie. The songs are very catchy i mean come ja ja ding dong is a sensation. I also like how they added the flags next to some actors names showing the different countries. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
davesowerbywillJun 29, 2020
Fire Saga Really captured the spirit of Eurovision, plus a hilarious film too.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DyonathaJun 30, 2020
The movie is really, really good, was maded with heart, is fun, is great. I don't understand why haver some people that don't like. Tive a chance, you Will loved.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AndersofnorwayJun 30, 2020
Funny, great music great plot and well done. This was a well made movie not sure why critics are against it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
YoshihitoJun 26, 2020
Surprisingly not the worst Will Ferrell movie I've seen. While it has his standard awkward comedy, it's actually very endearing, especially towards the end. Some of the music was incredibly catchy, including the final Fire Saga EurovisionSurprisingly not the worst Will Ferrell movie I've seen. While it has his standard awkward comedy, it's actually very endearing, especially towards the end. Some of the music was incredibly catchy, including the final Fire Saga Eurovision song which was really beautiful. Not an accurate representation of Icelandic culture and Eurovision but it's a comedy so I would hope you're not nitpicking that, lol. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
cag345Jun 27, 2020
Lately, the movies with a lot of heart are praised but not always valued as they should. Eurovision song content speaks for itself and ends up being a charming, fun, and tender adventure about following dreams and achieving passions. It is aLately, the movies with a lot of heart are praised but not always valued as they should. Eurovision song content speaks for itself and ends up being a charming, fun, and tender adventure about following dreams and achieving passions. It is a good script by Ferrell and his chemistry (more than loving) on ​​screen with McAdams is incredible. It is a recommended experience Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
R4faelloJun 26, 2020
Incredible movie and really really funny like the Eurovision Song Contest !
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Fernandofan08Jun 26, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its a fun 2 hour popcorn flick. Decent songs, some good jokes. Some great cameos too like Conchitta, Demi Lovatto and Graham Norton.

Know bugger all about Eurovision but it was a fun Ferrell flick
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
BozoniniJun 27, 2020
This movie is good!

If you know what Eurovision is about you definitely should see the movie! I would define this film as an Americans perspective on Eurovision song contest. A lot of roasting of Europe and American culture. I laughed a lot.
This movie is good!

If you know what Eurovision is about you definitely should see the movie! I would define this film as an Americans perspective on Eurovision song contest. A lot of roasting of Europe and American culture. I laughed a lot. Will Farrell is amazing is always!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
DimaForestJun 26, 2020
Indeed enjoyable for the Eurovision fans, although performs a rollercoaster which jumps from the peculiar parts like party with former ESC contestants into the boring conversations. Nice attempt to recreate the atmosphere of the show andIndeed enjoyable for the Eurovision fans, although performs a rollercoaster which jumps from the peculiar parts like party with former ESC contestants into the boring conversations. Nice attempt to recreate the atmosphere of the show and rather mock those who make laugh of it, not the Eurovision itself. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Casublegore6Jun 26, 2020
Absolutely loved this movie, well worth the watch and such a great ending just! Just wished they played a longer version of volcano man or atleadt played it twice.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
MartinJCJun 28, 2020
Loads of fun. But as a European I can tell you the Eurovision song contest is way carzier.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
maestrox81Jun 26, 2020
Very funny and good-feel movie. Really enjoyed the movie and was very surprised about the singing voice of Rachel McAdams. If you like Will Ferrell movies, I would say you will like it.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
vinibariJun 26, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I LOVE Demi as a gosth. the only thing that make me watch this was Demi and her song is perfect, stream in the mirror Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
DasBearJudenJun 26, 2020
I don't know what the hell is wrong with film critics. This movie was pure fun. I am guessing that because it had American actors playing Icelandic citizens, or because it doesn't directly support BLM, or have an LGBT lead then it cannot beI don't know what the hell is wrong with film critics. This movie was pure fun. I am guessing that because it had American actors playing Icelandic citizens, or because it doesn't directly support BLM, or have an LGBT lead then it cannot be praiseworthy - progressive crap is all critics seem to praise these days.
I had a fun time watching this movie from start to finish, the music is enjoyable and most of the comedy lands where it was intended. Check this one out.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Jamichel28Jun 29, 2020
Loved every single aspect about this movie well done Ferrell! This movie has it all, I really enjoyed every single aspect of it!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
sevam01Jun 27, 2020
I thought that is embodied much of what the Eurovision show is about and the main actors had a lot of chemistry and wonderful acting. Great story, funny lines and a really unique movie!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
demiexplicitJun 26, 2020
Demi Lovato (Katiana) saved the movie. Even though she appears a few times, she was one of the best characters in it. And her song is the better one in the soundtrack - "In The Mirror".
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
9
DaveAusJun 30, 2020
Eurovision Fire Saga is a charming tale of two dreamers who aren't quite good enough but don't give up. It's pretty tame for a Will Ferrell comedy and leans more into being a musical then i thought. But it was very enjoyable and doesn't speakEurovision Fire Saga is a charming tale of two dreamers who aren't quite good enough but don't give up. It's pretty tame for a Will Ferrell comedy and leans more into being a musical then i thought. But it was very enjoyable and doesn't speak down to its audience and the only agenda it pushes is to always keep trying. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
Joko97Jun 28, 2020
A fun movie that has something for everyone to enjoy.
One of the more solid Netflix flicks out there.
At first I thought maybe the runtime would be to long but surprisingly that was not the case.
Rachel McAdams as Sigrit was really good imo.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
igorsbrzJun 26, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Demi Lovato (Katiana) as a ghost was EVERYTHING, totally unexpected, i LOVED it! And btw, her song "In The Mirror" which is in soundtrack is AMAZING, her vocals are angelic. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonJul 6, 2020
In a small Icelandic town, Lars has dreamed of winning the Eurovision Song Contest ever since he was a young boy. Alongside his best friend (and probably not sister) Sigrit he sings in a band named Fire Saga, and after years of trying theyIn a small Icelandic town, Lars has dreamed of winning the Eurovision Song Contest ever since he was a young boy. Alongside his best friend (and probably not sister) Sigrit he sings in a band named Fire Saga, and after years of trying they finally get their chance... This movie isn’t exactly going to win any Oscars but it’s good, silly fun and full of entertaining performances, cameos and songs and it certainly put a smile on my face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
blisteredhoggJul 16, 2020
Absolutely joyous! So much fun and catchy songs.
Rachel McAdams and Will Ferrell make such a likeable duo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AuSuroJun 29, 2020
This movie is obviously not intended to be a critically acclaimed masterpiece, however it has it's own lighthearted charm and great music. The Story of Fire Saga arrived at the perfect time. I loved this film
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sedulamJul 6, 2020
A very pleasant surprise. It gives another meaning to the Eurovision contest and prompted me to go see past performances. Very light-hearted, and entertaining, but with a few strong messages in between the lines.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Nikop0lJul 10, 2020
I think you may have to be fan or potential fan of Eurovision to proper enjoy this movie. Its riddled with references on Eurovision that fans will highly appreciate, but will fly past anyone else. Oh, and this is part musical with its highestI think you may have to be fan or potential fan of Eurovision to proper enjoy this movie. Its riddled with references on Eurovision that fans will highly appreciate, but will fly past anyone else. Oh, and this is part musical with its highest peaks being the songs so if you dont enjoy those, you will not enjoy the movie and should spare yourself time watching it. The weakest part of this film was, ironically, its main lead and head behind Will Farrell together with the often very thin plot that served as plot-progressing device (basically Farrall character keep screwing up, then fixing it just to screw up again), plus his acting faded in comparision with other two leads. Strongest points are Rachel McAdams who played the role of Sigrit absolutely great and Dan Stevens who crushed it and of course the musical numbers, especially performed by Molly Sandén who sang as Sigrid and Erik Mjönes taking on voice of Alexander Lemtov.

Importantly movie has multiple scenes where it hates on American tourists, which automatically brings my rating from 7 to 8.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Wolfenstein51Jul 2, 2020
Eurovision has great music and lots of heart. That's all you need to know.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jamestran84Jul 12, 2020
The film takes the piss on itself just like Eurovision. Macca s brings great vibe to the film and sure the film isn’t ground breaking, the songs have been stuck in my head!! I went and listened to the songs online to keep my ya ya.. vibes going!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Philip1961Jul 13, 2020
Such a great feelgood film,love euro.take no notice of the critics ,like greatest showman,the public showed just how good the film was,like fire saga TAKE NO NOTICE OF THE WOKE CRITICS,if your a fan of eurovision YOUR LOVE THIS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
devourer1000Jul 2, 2020
Great movie. One of Will Ferrels best. Very fun movie. Don't go in expecting anything and you will like it. Like I did. Highly recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
angieruizJul 11, 2020
It has stunning and ridiculous performances that are even more surprising when you learn they are based in real Eurovision numbers. The movie is sincere and honest, nothing pretentious which feels refreshing. Rachel McAdams' acting is onIt has stunning and ridiculous performances that are even more surprising when you learn they are based in real Eurovision numbers. The movie is sincere and honest, nothing pretentious which feels refreshing. Rachel McAdams' acting is on point, balancing Will Ferrel's over the top style of acting. And the well directed musical numbers add to the general enjoyment of the film. The film can seem too ridiculous or stupid at timess but it feels like good quality entertainment overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
soundmateJul 16, 2020
I don't really know what I expected from a movie about the Eurovision Song Contest but, as an enormous fan of it, I felt the immediate need to watch this new Netflix film, specially after noticing Rachel McAdams was one of the mainI don't really know what I expected from a movie about the Eurovision Song Contest but, as an enormous fan of it, I felt the immediate need to watch this new Netflix film, specially after noticing Rachel McAdams was one of the main characters.
The movie follows the story of Fire Saga, a lovely Icelandic musical duo (which everybody hates, I honestly don't understand why) that grew up watching the annual music event and that aim to participate in it someday, somehow. After getting there by one way or another they start they journey to Edinburgh, where many past Eurovision winners from Salvador Sobral to Netta also appear to be staying. The narrative continues and concludes with their participation in the Eurovision final, where they'll battle against other countries for the Eurovision trophy. This narrative is quite cute, exciting, cohesive but, in the end, quite predictable. Despite this, the cameos in this film like Demi Lovato's have been chosen with a lot of love and delicacy as well as the musical numbers that appear throughout the film. Never have you ever felt the need to jam to a rare but cute mashup of "Believe", "Ray of Light" and "Waterloo"? Well I can't get this masterpiece out of my head!
Continuing with the protagonists, Fire Saga are sometimes quite noisy and cringey all due to Lars' hypersensitivity and jalousie. Nevertheless, their way of acting and musical direction include the most predictable and best cliche north European-Viking-Icelandic stereotypes; and I love it. A low point for this film is the many idiot, middle age crisis dick jokes that appear from beginning to end. The landscapes and photography are amazing in this film as well as its respective soundtrack, which includes the most common Swedish-pop orientated songs to ever exist, a true definition of Eurovision. What also matches the contest with the film is the continuous fear to fail and deception, making representants think that they won't be anybody if they do not enter the top 10. It also remebles the popular feeling that says that Eurovision is a waste of time and a opportinity for artists to become one-hit wonders. You know what? These are the people who would rather see Europe entering a war again. Eurovision is a contest yes, it shouldn't be and it isn't if you don't want to. Musicians never think of having a number one single on the Billboard Hot 100, they just want to make and share their feelings through music. As simple as that. Having commercial success is just a consequence to celebrate if it happens. Thus, you can think of Eurovision as a musical war and fight against your Dutch parents or German cousins or just enjoy and feel the music without looking at the results.
In conclusion, despite its extensive length-over 2 hours-and continuous bad jokes, "ESC: The Story of Fire Saga" is a very nice film to watch with friends and family on a Sunday night after having some drinks. Just dance, sing and jam to this movie (forget the plot), you'll have the time of your life while crying and getting thrilled.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JoxlJul 2, 2020
Loved it! It catches the spirit of the songfestival perfectly and very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BlackStone117Jul 8, 2020
A really good (laughing) time. Will Ferrell with one of his best movies since a long time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sieffJun 27, 2020
This movie was Will Ferrell and Rachel mcadams enjoying every second. I love the werid subjects they chose to make a comedy on and I hope they keep doing movies like this. Funny a little cringe at a few moments but funny and the songs areThis movie was Will Ferrell and Rachel mcadams enjoying every second. I love the werid subjects they chose to make a comedy on and I hope they keep doing movies like this. Funny a little cringe at a few moments but funny and the songs are awesome to listen too and replay Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AWESOM-0Jul 1, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A much better movie than the reviews would suggest, the end plays like a comedic A Star is Born without the sadness. The cast was good and it had the right amount of humor. Although it wasn't always great at it at least there was an attempt to have Icelandic accents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
S3NSUALSL0THJun 29, 2020
I really don't get film critics hyper analyzing this film like it's supposed to be high art.... Long story short the movie is fun, the music is pretty catchy, and in my mind it was enjoyable. It's not going to change your life but it's wellI really don't get film critics hyper analyzing this film like it's supposed to be high art.... Long story short the movie is fun, the music is pretty catchy, and in my mind it was enjoyable. It's not going to change your life but it's well made and good for a few laughs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KaraveoJun 28, 2020
If you like other Will Ferrell's movies, you will like this film, is not as funny as other movies but it's ok.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lindallJun 30, 2020
Great stuff, really enjoyed it! Thought the characters were very vibrant and comical. You could question the caricatures of Europeans, but for this type of film this slapstick style works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
smsurfdeJun 30, 2020
This movie surpassed my expectations. While I've always been a fan of Will Farrell and McAdams, they were INCREDIBLE together. She is such a great actress and they just blended very well. Some strange parts that you would expect from aThis movie surpassed my expectations. While I've always been a fan of Will Farrell and McAdams, they were INCREDIBLE together. She is such a great actress and they just blended very well. Some strange parts that you would expect from a Farrell Movie, but all in all this was outstanding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SLyONeJul 3, 2020
HolyS*it the movie was awesome beautiful songs :D parts where perfect for will and Rachel
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
starshardsJun 27, 2020
Wow, Rachel McAdams' performance yet in this movie shows what a talented actress she is. Freaking AMAZING
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shane-hogan1Jun 27, 2020
Not a deep movie at all, but it really made me. Smile!
The songs are all catchy and there's real heart in it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Waylander69Jun 27, 2020
I love this movie - big surprise. It has so much heart and is really funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HARVEYDanJun 27, 2020
Most amazing movie ever, shows Eurovision at its best, can’t wait for the next Eurovision Movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Carrie81Jun 27, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. LUV IT! HILARIOUS! Watch this movie I URGE u! So so needed at this time, a great night in...all the nuances of eurovision captured in this movie! Well cast and great catchy euro songs!! Lol! If u luv watching Eurovision each year and laughing along with Graham Norton and Sir Terry Wogan (RIP) then watch now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TerrAustriaJun 28, 2020
This movie has lots of heart and it captures the spirit of the Eurovision Song Contest quite well. The last song and montage could be straight out of the real ESC
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Browne2Jun 27, 2020
I loved it, I haven't seen a good goofy movie in a while. I feel like this movie is what I've been missing. It has a lot of heart ❤!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wandofelderJun 27, 2020
Seriously great! This movie screams everything about Eurovision itself, silliness, fun and camp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
VolkulaKJun 28, 2020
excellent kind comedies that make fun of the whole point of the Eurovision Song Contest
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AlkarzarJun 28, 2020
Ignore the critics and watch. Great film.

It is his best film yet, im just disappointed that a sequel isn't needed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
holakaseeeJun 28, 2020
Very enjoyable movie, Will Farrell was funny as usual. Not excellent but easy to watch and fun
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AprimeJun 28, 2020
Fantastic feel good movie that is so damn funny. Best Will Ferrell movie in awhile, and Rachel McAdams was amazing. Highly recommended!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GemmawhiteJun 28, 2020
Loved it, being English it represents the Eurovision Song Contest perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joshendlerJun 28, 2020
It's a very articulate movie with funny brilliant singing scenes by Rachel McAdams and Demi Lovato. Will Ferell really killed everything again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dmcordJun 28, 2020
It's silly, fun, feel-good movie. I have read some of the critic reviews and I'm convinced some live a sad and lonely life. My wife and I watched it just after putting our little one to sleep. We wanted something light-hearted andIt's silly, fun, feel-good movie. I have read some of the critic reviews and I'm convinced some live a sad and lonely life. My wife and I watched it just after putting our little one to sleep. We wanted something light-hearted and entertaining. It delivered. Was the acting pressing? No. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
alwaysbeapandaJun 29, 2020
Great chemistry from Ferrell and McAdams here with some laugh out loud moments. For me this film could have had a bit more editing, over 2 hours was a bit of a stretch! However, it’s the music that really makes this movie! For Eurovision fansGreat chemistry from Ferrell and McAdams here with some laugh out loud moments. For me this film could have had a bit more editing, over 2 hours was a bit of a stretch! However, it’s the music that really makes this movie! For Eurovision fans the cameos were some of the best parts of the film and I’m still trying to decide if I enjoyed Brosnans ‘Swedish chef from the Muppets’ inspired accent! Good movie. Good tribute to the song contest. Harmless fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheSmoothToadJun 29, 2020
The movie has a soundtrack on pair with Frozen, Will Ferrell plays a lovable dunce from Iceland. The antagonist in the film is actually a really good guy. The movie is best I’ve seen out of Will Ferrell in years, it generally mad me runThe movie has a soundtrack on pair with Frozen, Will Ferrell plays a lovable dunce from Iceland. The antagonist in the film is actually a really good guy. The movie is best I’ve seen out of Will Ferrell in years, it generally mad me run through the course of all emotions. I wanted to cry ,I wanted to laugh, I wanted Will Ferrell to get the girl and the film is a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ericonlinebetaJun 29, 2020
Great, heart-warming movie. Take the backwater-yokel roasting from Will Ferrell's Talladega Nights, and mix it with a rom-com and some surprisingly well produced music. McAdams performance was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EdobbynJun 29, 2020
Great fun for Eurovision fans
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SphinxhonorJun 29, 2020
I read the critic reviews and entered this movie expecting an unfunny Will Ferrell movie with no redeeming qualities. I left understanding that for all critics are, they're just people, and sometimes they have more bias than they do taste.I read the critic reviews and entered this movie expecting an unfunny Will Ferrell movie with no redeeming qualities. I left understanding that for all critics are, they're just people, and sometimes they have more bias than they do taste. This movie was excellent. It had lighthearted humor that anyone can understand, it represented the beauty of a small town in Iceland, it also didn't follow generic romcom villain story lines, which proved refreshing. Will Ferrell and Rachel McAdams proved to be top tier actors, as their chemistry onscreen and their physical commitment to match the singing were fluid and in sync. All together when combined with inter-country banter, the movie proved a fun, passionate, and enjoyable experience. By the end you'll be rooting for the good guys too! I recommend it to anyone and everyone! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Fall4nOneJul 2, 2020
I enjoyed this movie, i think it is a fun film for us Europeans. The soundtrack "Husavik" is a fantastic song and gave me the same feelings "This Is Me" did in The Greatest Showman, a round of applause moment, which would be awesome if WillI enjoyed this movie, i think it is a fun film for us Europeans. The soundtrack "Husavik" is a fantastic song and gave me the same feelings "This Is Me" did in The Greatest Showman, a round of applause moment, which would be awesome if Will Farrell didnt contribute to it. Hope this hidden gem of a song doesnt go unnoticed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BelawalJun 30, 2020
Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
fentyzismJun 30, 2020
A near-perfect film that does not have an extensive, mishmash of a story plot, but what drives to a near-perfect score would be the quality music rousing climaxes and moments that stole the limelight of the film, such as Demi Lovato's In TheA near-perfect film that does not have an extensive, mishmash of a story plot, but what drives to a near-perfect score would be the quality music rousing climaxes and moments that stole the limelight of the film, such as Demi Lovato's In The Mirror and Will Ferrell, My Marianne's Husavik. Although the film had moments where it felt rather unapologetically long, it was almost perfect in showcasing the minute details and lessons to be learned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GurlistiratiaJun 30, 2020
Not usually a Will Ferrell fan but was persuaded to watch this and I am glad I did. It made me laugh so much I cried (hamster wheel!). Really feel good film and I am still singing ya ya ding dong 2 days later.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SPORTBILLYJul 1, 2020
This film mirrors the Eurovision vibe perfectly. The whole experience is delightfully naff and Will Ferrell knew it when he wrote the script. The film in itself is one long joke. I can see Ferrell laughing at the Audience 'why would you watchThis film mirrors the Eurovision vibe perfectly. The whole experience is delightfully naff and Will Ferrell knew it when he wrote the script. The film in itself is one long joke. I can see Ferrell laughing at the Audience 'why would you watch this?' He could have been very cruel about Eurovision but he keeps the balance just right. Will generously makes Rachel McAdams the star too. So if you like the Eurovision experience, this is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheMcRobJul 1, 2020
One of the goofiest but also funnest times i have had with a movie in a long time, these performances aren’t nuanced or subtle, but god damn these songs are catchy
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BiddybooJul 1, 2020
Loved it. Charming and upbeat. Just a happy movie that will make you laugh in these difficult times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WatermintJul 1, 2020
I didn't stop laughing all the way through this movie. If you are a fan of Eurovision, you will really love this movie. It has some great cameos from previous winners. Ultimately, Will Ferrell just has funny bones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DuvandJul 1, 2020
The movie was very much for the Eurovision fan and the music was fantastic. It did drag on in parts but the overall feeling was up beat and charming with some laugh out loud moments. It showed the best of the Eurovision vibe and is notThe movie was very much for the Eurovision fan and the music was fantastic. It did drag on in parts but the overall feeling was up beat and charming with some laugh out loud moments. It showed the best of the Eurovision vibe and is not meant to be taken seriously but enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JaneyUKJul 1, 2020
Such an uplifting, cheesy, fun film.Just like the actual Eurovision Really enjoyed
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Girton1979Jul 1, 2020
Excellent entertainment and really funny. Brilliant Euro songs from the cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GoregLazerJul 1, 2020
It's a cute movie, that made you feel all of you emotions at least once. You can't hate this piece. A comedy classic is born.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrianSaviourJul 1, 2020
I liked it. Daft just like the real thing. It’s not up there with Elf but definitely worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mpopeyJul 3, 2020
Brilliant story, lots of heart. The songs are incredible and I expect they will hit the charts in the coming weeks. Lots of laughs, a real feel good film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheNOCOYetiJul 4, 2020
I really didn't expect to love this movie as much as I did but it grows on your very heavy. Everything draws you in, the settings, the characters, the situations and of course the music. The stars of the film certainly do their part to makeI really didn't expect to love this movie as much as I did but it grows on your very heavy. Everything draws you in, the settings, the characters, the situations and of course the music. The stars of the film certainly do their part to make it shine, Ferrell's typical comedy bits find a place in this film and come across okay, not great honestly but there are good moments. McAdams is truly the one who steals the limelight though, her acting as Sigrit is simply charming, I find myself rewatching small little parts where her accent or facial expressions (or both) are just so endearing I can't get enough of them. The stars seem like an unlikely pair at first glance but truly do work so well together and they sell the love story of the movie so proficiently that there is no question it is the real heart of the film and the reason I want to watch it over and over again. Overall, it's a treasure of a film which has so many perfect moments and genuinely good music with a few comedic attempts that fall flat but which don't ruin the film. I'd recommend to anyone who likes Ferrell, McAdams, Rom-Coms, and/or unique pseudo-musical type singing. Worth the watch. Also coming from an American with exactly zero knowledge of Eurovision prior to watching the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LeodecrescentJul 5, 2020
This movie was hilarious, great songs! The story is very straight forward but I didn’t mind it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FoxreviewJul 6, 2020
My COVID lockdown escape film with great tunes. Not to over analyse but enjoy. Ear worm songs and if Iceland enters with any of the songs then 2021 winner.... maybe should be. Battle is runner up that should gracefully take on financialMy COVID lockdown escape film with great tunes. Not to over analyse but enjoy. Ear worm songs and if Iceland enters with any of the songs then 2021 winner.... maybe should be. Battle is runner up that should gracefully take on financial burden of hosting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RedspawnsilverJul 6, 2020
Much better than expected! I was expecting a regular Will Ferrell movie, where I would half like it and half not, but I think he was actually paired with the write cast member this time with the beautiful Rachel McAdams and it all works outMuch better than expected! I was expecting a regular Will Ferrell movie, where I would half like it and half not, but I think he was actually paired with the write cast member this time with the beautiful Rachel McAdams and it all works out for the best! The two of them play off each other beautifully, and the only distraction is the age difference... but, this movie drew me in from the beginning, kept me enchanted with the witty humor from Dan Stevens, and this is a surprisingly good, if not great Will Ferrell movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TomHall1606Jul 7, 2020
An amazing film that reflects the whole heart and soul of Eurovision with its quirky songs and unique routines. Great to see countries such as Belarus/Iceland/Finland/San Marino are highlighted for a lengthy time compared to the usualAn amazing film that reflects the whole heart and soul of Eurovision with its quirky songs and unique routines. Great to see countries such as Belarus/Iceland/Finland/San Marino are highlighted for a lengthy time compared to the usual American films who only believe UK, Spain, Germany and France exist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews