Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 27, 1997
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 690 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
630
Mixed:
38
Negative:
22
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
mikeonkokNov 14, 2013
My favorite movie....................................................................................................................
....................................................
....................................................
My favorite movie....................................................................................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................

ace cuts no doubt.

it really is 2good

great film

like i said my favorite of all time no joke no doubts true stuff
Expand
178 of 181 users found this helpful1783
All this user's reviews
9
Gripa1992Dec 31, 2012
The fact that this movie is listed as a crime thriller is a crime in of itself, because Face/Off is easily one of the best comedies the 1990's has to offer. The movie is full of so many insane elements that are so damaging to the senses, it'sThe fact that this movie is listed as a crime thriller is a crime in of itself, because Face/Off is easily one of the best comedies the 1990's has to offer. The movie is full of so many insane elements that are so damaging to the senses, it's impossible to turn away. Based solely on the merit of comic relief and sheer entertainment, Face/Off scores a 9 in my book for reasons that are beyond our tangible world. Expand
47 of 48 users found this helpful471
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 25, 2013
Poetically violent action, magnetically brilliant lead performances, and an undeniably ingenious premise culminate in John Woo's "Face/Off," an action movie that never ceased to impress, entertain, and fulfill my hopeless masculine dreams.
47 of 48 users found this helpful471
All this user's reviews
9
ingie44Mar 29, 2014
Ha! I love this film. Nic cage actually rides a burning boat THROUGH another BURNING BOaT! How can anyone not love that? Best Nic Cage film hands down.
42 of 43 users found this helpful421
All this user's reviews
10
Zanessa250QIJul 24, 2015
....................................................................................................................................95,96 and 97's are the peak of carrer of cage.............. Face/Off is an awesome thriller of action and in....................................................................................................................................95,96 and 97's are the peak of carrer of cage.............. Face/Off is an awesome thriller of action and in the same year Cage did the spectacular Con Air both of 97's Exactly one year after the Masterpiece "The Rock 1996" Expand
35 of 36 users found this helpful351
All this user's reviews
10
mtackett11Dec 11, 2015
Innovative story, breathtaking action and some memorable characters make Face Off a real classic. Travolta and Cage put on a show and John Woo's action is breathtaking.
35 of 36 users found this helpful351
All this user's reviews
10
ericaNov 20, 2010
movies too often try to be realistic, the big brother of movie form. Face off, is a movie that moves beyond realism to the sublimely ridiculous. The fantasy of a five year old on crack. What sort of genuisly muddled mind come up with a plotmovies too often try to be realistic, the big brother of movie form. Face off, is a movie that moves beyond realism to the sublimely ridiculous. The fantasy of a five year old on crack. What sort of genuisly muddled mind come up with a plot that simutaneoulsy dumbs and enthrawls a watchers mind? John Travolta shines in a way you would never expect, but possibly this means he shines in nicholas cages skin. How am i to review when i am so confused. This confusion is the genuis, the genuis is the twist and turn the yes and the no of the watchers mind. The idea of identity, the idea of it being lost with ones name and body, the value of face. The value of ones face lost. What is really important? what really are you beyond the skin, face off to your expectactions, face off to the revelations, face off, because this movie asks, beyond face, what do you have to prove? Expand
58 of 60 users found this helpful582
All this user's reviews
10
diogomendesAug 7, 2014
Basically, this movie is just extraordinary. Nicolas Cage and John Travolta are top-notch and the story is also pleasant. A great achievement for Hollywood.
58 of 60 users found this helpful582
All this user's reviews
10
masudaly103Oct 9, 2014
This is hands down one of the best action movies ever made in America. The actors get into their respective roles and play them like a charm. Tremendous action sequences. Tremendous screenplay. Tremendous writing. If the sight of a bald manThis is hands down one of the best action movies ever made in America. The actors get into their respective roles and play them like a charm. Tremendous action sequences. Tremendous screenplay. Tremendous writing. If the sight of a bald man kissing his sister doesn't bother you, or even if it does, I'd say you better watch this film as this is a must watch! Expand
58 of 60 users found this helpful582
All this user's reviews
10
clinteastwooMay 11, 2016
........................................................................................................................................................Very good Sci Fi Flick Action
26 of 27 users found this helpful261
All this user's reviews
9
The3AcademySinsJun 7, 2016
One of the most fun, entertaining, and surprisingly touching action movies that I have ever seen! I had a blast while I was watching this with my friends. If you are looking for an amazing 1990s action movie, look no further. I wish that theOne of the most fun, entertaining, and surprisingly touching action movies that I have ever seen! I had a blast while I was watching this with my friends. If you are looking for an amazing 1990s action movie, look no further. I wish that the fight scene at the end of The Revenant was like the final fight in Face/Off. Expand
23 of 24 users found this helpful231
All this user's reviews
10
Paratroop62May 13, 2015
Face/Off is a modern masterpiece in a nutshell for those who have seen it and those who haven't.
Cage and Travolta are brilliant, the action choreography is astonishing and the plot is ingeniously
sublime. Face/Off is an action fans dream
Face/Off is a modern masterpiece in a nutshell for those who have seen it and those who haven't.
Cage and Travolta are brilliant, the action choreography is astonishing and the plot is ingeniously
sublime. Face/Off is an action fans dream come true and personally I think it is the best action thriller John
Woo has made in his career.
Expand
59 of 62 users found this helpful593
All this user's reviews
9
jonslowJan 8, 2019
คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค
16 of 29 users found this helpful1613
All this user's reviews
10
Appendage7Jan 16, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nicolas Cage and John Travolta spent two weeks together before filming to learn how to play each other. They decided on specific gestures and vocal cadences for each character that could be mimicked Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
10
RobwinzDec 11, 2020
Face/Off is actually a brilliant movie and it's honestly a masterpiece and a half. The movie's got such an amazing story with such a strong script.

The movie's got some brilliant performances from all of the cast, especially from Troy
Face/Off is actually a brilliant movie and it's honestly a masterpiece and a half. The movie's got such an amazing story with such a strong script.

The movie's got some brilliant performances from all of the cast, especially from Troy (Nicholas Cage) and Sean (John Travolta). Those two are honestly amazing in their roles throughout this movie.

The dialogue which is given from each character throughout this movie is all honestly very strong dialogue. All of the dialogue is beautifully received and given from each character in this movie.

Also, the movie's got some brilliant humour from start to finish throughout this movie. All of the humour throughout this movie always hits and it never fails, especially from Nicholas Cage, he's honestly hilarious.

The movie's got some brilliant pacing towards each main moment, which ends up happening throughout this movie. Also, all of the scenes are all well built up and non of them feel rushed or too slow in any sort of way.

The cinematography from the two cinematographers called Gary Capo and Oliver Wood both do a brilliant job on capturing these moments so well.

Finally, the action sequences throughout this movie are all well choreographed. They're also very entertaining to watch when they happen and they're all well built up with the brilliant pacing.

The makeup artist who's called Tate Steinsiek does such a brilliant job on making the graphic look come to life. He makes it look so realistic and he did such a great job on making it look the way it does.

Overall, Face/Off is actually a brilliant movie and it's even a masterpiece and a half. The movie's got such an amazing story, brilliant performances, strong dialogue, brilliant humour, brilliant pacing, brilliant cinematography, well choreographed action sequences and a brilliant makeup artist.

I'd honestly recommend Face/Off if you're wanting to watch a brilliant Action/Crime movie. This is the one for you, it's honestly worth the watch.
Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
10
ExcommunicadoJan 18, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After escaping from the prison, Archer steals a beige Volvo. In The Rock (1996), Nicolas Cage's character says he drives a beige Volvo. In Con Air (1997), the second of the "trilogy," Cameron Poe drops the dead body of "Pinball" from the plane, and it falls onto a beige Volvo. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
Maxilla328May 14, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Costume designer Ellen Mirojnick made over 200 boots for the movie - some metal, some plastic. The metal boots weighed about 25 pounds each. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
Obstinate177May 14, 2021
{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●●
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
Veranda44May 9, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the film, Castor Troy gives Sean Archer's daughter a balisong knife. In Kick-Ass (2010), Nicolas Cage's character gives his daughter two balisong knives. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
CarnivalApr 19, 2021
avcbdhfjkgloptoiuyyenqmwexazsckcmorkfofjfokspoekfkfkkwjwjdmkvkvmgmjgfkkfjkfkkfklok
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
BaskApr 23, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The two main characters' blood types reflect their antagonistic nature. Sean Archer's blood type is O negative, the universal donor, reflecting Archer's role as a police officer dedicated to serving the community. Castor Troy's is AB positive, the universal recipient, someone who takes from society without giving anything back. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
ProlificApr 25, 2021
▪••••●●●■••●●■●●■•••●●■••●●■••●●■•••●●■••••■●■●■●●■■●●■■●●■■••••●●■■••●●••■■●●●●●
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
oustApr 26, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the narrative behind Castor Troy being Adam's father: Castor Troy had a threesome with Sasha and Deitrich and Adam had been conceived. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
DefameApr 30, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Entire Film: 56 Demises Character's Tally Castor Troy (Cage): 16 Sean Archer (Travolta): 16 Dietrich (Nick Cassavetes): 6 Sasha (Gina Gershon): 2 Dubov (Chris Bauer): 6

Included among the American Film Institute's 2001 list of 400 movies nominated for the top 100 Most Heart-Pounding American Movies.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
Aversion68May 3, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. John Woo let Nick Cassavetes write a lot of his own lines for the movie. ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,............... Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
AssonanceMay 4, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Audio/visual unsynchronised (around 14 mins) Near the beginning of the film, when Castor Troy turns round and sees his brother Pollux Troy being pinned down by cops, the camera zooms in on Pollux's face as he shouts "CAS!". However judging by the lip movement and expression of Pollux, it's obvious that the word was dubbed over the video. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
Chassis28May 7, 2021
Nick Cassavetes (Dietrich) would direct Dominique Swain (Jamie) in Alpha Dog (2006) 9 years later.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
Spar154May 9, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A brilliant film that serves as a showcase for acting talents

I loved this movie as it not only has brilliant action moments but it also gives John Travolta and Nicholas Cage a chance to display their fantastic acting talents.Travolta plays Sean Archer,a member of the FBI who has been trying to take down Castor Troy(Cage)in revenge for the unintentional murder of his son.After catching up with Castor,Sean does enough to put him into a coma.However,Castor left a few surprises and Sean is forced to take Castor's face in order to infiltrate a prison and to retrieve codes from Castor's brother Pollux (Alessandro Nivola)in order to stop a bomb going off. When Castor wakea from his coma, he realises what has happened to his face and forces the medical team to graft Sean's face onto his.He then destroys the evidence.What follows is a lot of action set pieces as Cage battles to get his face,and his life back from Travolta.

Firstly,John Woo has done an amazing job directing this. The way that he can make something so ugly like a gunfight seem so beautiful (see shootout in Castor's pad). Also the camera angles are not too hectic and all over the place like in most action movies but always give you the best view and this makes the action scenes a joy to watch.

Secondly, both leads are amazing in this film and in my opinion this film mainly serves as a showcase for Travolta and cage's acting talents. They play both parts brilliantly. Travolta succeeds more in playing the bad guy relishing that more than the family man and Cage plays both family man and cold blooded killer amazingly. The supporting cast are all phenomenal too and do great jobs.

I give this movie a 10/10, it is a joy to watch and also has a lot of memorable quotes "I could eat a peach for hours."
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
DiameterApr 28, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Revealing Mistakes (at around 2h 10 mins) When Castor is being loaded onto the after being harpooned, his hand drops to his side and then moves back up even though he is supposed to be dead. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Chignon24May 10, 2021
Aagterhjjgfghhhhhhhhhhh.....,,,,,,.....+×÷=@#$%^&*().,?!
'":;▪○●□■☆⊙°•¤♤♡◇♧¿¡》《●●■■▪°•••{}[]°°°▪▪▪¡
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
dabble26May 12, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Incomparably brilliant concept ! Cage and Travolta star in a fast-paced action/thriller in which the characters, Sean Archer and Castor Troy, switch faces in order to bring the other one down. The movie begins with a suspense-filled that is indeed a tear-drop scene that will keep any audience watching the movie until the very end. The story is amazing and beats any action movie to date OTHER THAN The Rock, which also stars Cage and former Bond star Sean Connery. That and this film are my two favorite movies ever made and are true masterpieces. Action seems to never stop, especially during the last scenes that takes a shootout at a chapel out to sea in a boat chase (which is one of the best action scenes in any action movie in my opinion), and finally ensing in a mano a mano Face-off between Archer and Troy on the beach that is truly a sight to behold. If any action movie will catch your interest, this is it.

Forget Bond, the action movie genre has a new king.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Dysphoric22May 13, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. SYNOPSIS

FBI agent Sean Archer (Travolta) knows how to capture elusive terrorist Castor Troy (Cage). He'll become him. Archer undergoes a futuristic surgery and has Troy's face mapped onto his, then infiltrates the terrorist's world to discover his deadly secrets. But as much as Archer looks and acts like Troy, he doesn't really know him. He never figures Troy will retaliate and force the doctors to transform him into Archer. Now nobody knows they have switched identities except for the 2 men. Now the agent faces a shattering nightmare: his adversary is living with his family. (Paramount)
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Carouse97May 13, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sean Archer: [over a car phone in a stolen car] Eve, listen to me. The man you think is your husband isn't.

Dr. Eve Archer: Who is this?

Sean Archer: Listen. Take Jamie. Go to your mother's. Don't tell him where you're going, just go!

Dr. Eve Archer: Whoever you are, don't call again!
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
Lanyard980Aug 7, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sean Archer, un agent FBI foarte dur, dur, încă se întristează pentru fiul său mort, Michael. Archer crede că ucigașul fiului său este inamicul său jurat și un criminal foarte puternic, Castor Troy. Într-o zi, Archer l-a încolțit în cele din urmă pe Castor, cu toate acestea, lupta lor l-a bătut pe Troy rece. În timp ce Archer respiră ușor în urma capturării inamicului său, află că Troia a plantat o bombă care va distruge întregul oraș Los Angeles și toți locuitorii săi. Din păcate, singura altă persoană care îi cunoaște locația este fratele lui Castor, Pollux, și acesta refuză să vorbească. Soluția, un medic specializat în operații, care poate tăia fețele oamenilor și poate așeza fața unei persoane pe o altă persoană. Archer este supus uneia dintre aceste operații pentru a vorbi cu Pollux. Cu toate acestea, Castor Troy își recapătă cumva conștiința și acum își dorește să se răzbune pe Archer pentru că i-a luat fața. Troy nu numai că distruge misiunea lui Archer, ci și viața sa personală. Archer trebuie să-l oprească din nou pe Troia. Cu această ocazie, este personal. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
NancyB.May 6, 2006
I'm a middle aged woman and this is my favorite movie of all time. The acting by Travolta and Cage is brilliant, as they assume each other's mannerisms and intonation. John Woo's directing is lively, yet thoughtful and poetic. I'm a middle aged woman and this is my favorite movie of all time. The acting by Travolta and Cage is brilliant, as they assume each other's mannerisms and intonation. John Woo's directing is lively, yet thoughtful and poetic. I have been left with several enduring images, such as Cage alighting from the car with his overcoat blowing in the breeze as he saunters to the beat of the music. That single image makes it clear that he is a bad guy who feels on top of his universe. The action scene of shooting at the penthouse is bloody and violent, yet artful. I think this is Travolta's best work ever. Joan Allen as his wife was a great casting choice. His daughter's transformation throughout the film was fun to watch. I think the reason I loved this film is that it is an interesting story, well-acted, superbly directed and it shows the emotional side of the characters as well. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AbolishAug 17, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 매우 강인한 FBI 요원인 Sean Archer는 여전히 그의 죽은 아들 Michael을 애도하고 있습니다. 트로이는 한가한 퇴근 시간에 아들과 함께 회전 목마를 타고 있는 아처를 회전 목마에서 죽이려는 악명 높고 위험한 테러리스트를 시도합니다. 트로이는 소총으로 아처를 쏘지만 총알은 아처를 관통하여 그의 아들을 관통합니다. Archer는 그의 잃어버린 아들과 Troy의 사악함만을 상기시키는 암살 시도의 흉터를 남깁니다. Archer는 그의 살인자, 그의 맹렬한 적, 교묘한 주모자 Castor Troy를 붙잡아 아들의 기억에 대한 복수를 원합니다. 어느 날, 아처는 마침내 캐스터를 궁지에 몰아넣었지만, 그들의 말다툼으로 인해 트로이는 혼수상태에 빠진다. 아처는 마침내 적의 포획에 대해 안도의 한숨을 쉬면서 트로이가 로스앤젤레스의 상당 부분을 파괴할 폭탄을 설치했다는 음모를 풉니다. 불행히도 그 위치를 알고 있는 유일한 다른 사람은 Castor의 형제 Pollux이며 그는 콩을 흘리기를 거부합니다. 솔루션은 그 사람의 얼굴을 제거한 후 그 사람의 얼굴을 다른 사람에게 이식할 수 있는 특수 수술 의사입니다. Archer는 Pollux를 속여 폭탄의 위치를 ​​밝힐 수 있도록이 안면 이식 수술을받습니다. 그러나 캐스터는 어떻게든 의식을 되찾고 얼굴을 제거한 아처를 쫓는다. 트로이는 아처의 임무는 물론 사생활까지 망쳐놓고 아처의 집으로 이사를 가 아처라는 신분으로 신분을 위장한다. 아처는 트로이를 완전히 막아야 합니다. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Capricorn87Sep 8, 2021
*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:
☆°•☆°•☆°•☆°•☆°•☆°•☆°•☆°•☆°•☆°•☆°•☆
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Missile44Sep 10, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Šons Ārčers, ļoti nelīdzens FIB aģents, joprojām sēro par savu mirušo dēlu Maiklu. Trojs ir bēdīgi slavens, kaitīgs terorists, kurš kādu dienu mēģina nogalināt Arčeru karuselī, kamēr viņš kopā ar dēlu brauc pa karuseli vienā no nesteidzīgajām darba dienām. Trojs nošauj Arčeru ar šauteni, bet lode iet caur viņu un ieiet viņa dēlā. Arčers no slepkavības mēģinājuma ir atstājis rētu, kas viņam tikai atgādina zaudēto dēlu un Trojas ļaunumu. Arčers vēlas atriebt sava dēla piemiņu, sagūstot savu slepkavu, savu zvērināto ienaidnieku, netveramo izdomātāju Kastoru Troju. Kādu dienu Arčers beidzot ir nostūrējis Kastoru stūrī, tomēr viņu strīds ir novedis Troju pie komas. Kad Arčers beidzot atvieglo elpu pār ienaidnieka sagūstīšanu, viņš atklāj sižetu, ka Trojs ir uzlicis bumbu, kas iznīcinās lielu daļu Losandželosas. Diemžēl vienīgā persona, kas zina tās slēptuvi, ir Kastora brālis Pollukss, un viņš atsakās pupas izliet. Risinājums ir īpašu operāciju ārsts, kas pēc personas sejas noņemšanas var uzpotēt cilvēka seju kādam citam. Arčeram tiek veikta šī sejas transplantācijas operācija, lai pievilinātu Polluksu atklāt bumbas atrašanās vietu. Tomēr Kastors kaut kā atgūst samaņu un gaida Arčeru par sejas noņemšanu. Troja ne tikai grauj Arčera misiju, bet arī viņa personīgo dzīvi, viņš pārceļas uz Arčera mājām un uzņemas savu identitāti Arčera aizsegā. Arčeram vienreiz un uz visiem laikiem jāatsakās no Kastora. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RindApr 23, 2021
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,-----,,,,,,,-----,,,,,,,-----,,,,,
::::::::::::::::::::::::
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
ConsortApr 24, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The jump from the oil rig was 70 feet. They called in a stuntman who specialized in high dives. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
9
timoneNov 9, 2018
For the fact that I'm getting really giddy about laughing at somebody's reactions I decided that I'm really am giddy about laughing my @$$ off reviewing this Looney Tuney action flick Face/Off. That's right. It's about as over-the-top as itFor the fact that I'm getting really giddy about laughing at somebody's reactions I decided that I'm really am giddy about laughing my @$$ off reviewing this Looney Tuney action flick Face/Off. That's right. It's about as over-the-top as it gets and many people in the world don't care because they enjoyed it and loved it for it's perfect cheesy action and intense violence. To me, I love everything about it and John Travolta and Nicolas Cage done really well in this. The premise I know what y'all thinking. It's ridiculous but who f£$king cares? They literally playing each other by putting their faces on each other after Sean Archer captures Castor Troy. John Travolta and Nicolas Cage played hilarious in their roles and I come to the point of laughing my f£$king @$$ at Castor Troy played by Nicolas Cage and yes, John Travolta. It's like I've been teasing my stepdad about Piggy Bear which Crunch Bandicoot says and saying what Sam the Eagle from The Muppets saying "The mussal's of this messal has refuse to touch my feet. Would you please rub my tudsies? Thank you." just to tease my friends. The hospital scene where Sean's and Castor's faces get switched over doesn't bother me at all cause I got over it much like the broken bones and when people don't know that Sean and Castor had switched identities they'll be confused. That's how over-the-top this movie really is. The best thing about this movie is the speedboat chase at the end and when people are on the edge of their seats through the scene they are gripped for how amazing this scene really is. Now that is just awesome despite the stuntmen showing. Face/Off is a fantastically made action film for it's beautiful shots with intense violence and intense action and hilarious moments with John Travolta and Nicolas Cage. Now I know that you think it's a science fiction action flick but I don't see why it's sci-fi. Well, it just isn't science fiction until I've seen these two changing their faces. This is the kind of film that you don't have to think, you just enjoy. It's a film that will make you thrilled and laugh and don't care how ridiculous the story is and just enjoy it for it's entirety. Give it a watch and see if you wanna take it's face... off. Expand
13 of 17 users found this helpful134
All this user's reviews
10
DeanomiteFeb 2, 2020
Decided to revisit this after Cinemassacre did a Cage match, and it definitely is very Cagey, I love when he does an impression of Travolta doing an impression of him. The worst is Travolta doing the creepy face rub, the rest of the movie isDecided to revisit this after Cinemassacre did a Cage match, and it definitely is very Cagey, I love when he does an impression of Travolta doing an impression of him. The worst is Travolta doing the creepy face rub, the rest of the movie is pinnacle Woo/Cage. Cage dressed as a priest molesting an alter girl in opening scene is worth the movie. Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeFeb 1, 2016
I like to call Face/Off a well-done movie that's worth giving a million copies to and an enjoy-it-at-home feeling that actually works to call it a movie.
6 of 30 users found this helpful624
All this user's reviews
6
JacobMar 27, 2014
The film has an interesting concept and some fun action but it is just alright. Its not just Nicholas Cage's acting that knocks it down but the length. This movie drags on way too long for my taste. Someone said it best the mirror sceneThe film has an interesting concept and some fun action but it is just alright. Its not just Nicholas Cage's acting that knocks it down but the length. This movie drags on way too long for my taste. Someone said it best the mirror scene should have been the climax. Expand
4 of 32 users found this helpful428
All this user's reviews
6
TyranianApr 8, 2019
A crazy action film with over the top acting, writing and visuals. Quite fun.
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
8
AndremaxDec 1, 2018
It's a quite ambitious for a movie that hopes nothing more than action. Face/Off is dramatic, visceral, funny, philosophic in certain meters, but a bit exceded about emotional which really hopes in a movie in genere. Beyond all, it's aIt's a quite ambitious for a movie that hopes nothing more than action. Face/Off is dramatic, visceral, funny, philosophic in certain meters, but a bit exceded about emotional which really hopes in a movie in genere. Beyond all, it's a perfect oportunity to shows Cage and Travolta's versatility Expand
2 of 22 users found this helpful220
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeMay 13, 2017
It's 90's action at it's best. It was silly, unbelievable, it had some plot holes and the acting was over the top, it was cheesy and predictable and it had unnecessary explosions, but it was very entertaining. Any action movie fan shouldIt's 90's action at it's best. It was silly, unbelievable, it had some plot holes and the acting was over the top, it was cheesy and predictable and it had unnecessary explosions, but it was very entertaining. Any action movie fan should watch this movie. Expand
1 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
5
cmykJan 29, 2014
I generally dislike Cage's acting in just about anything so a positive review on any flick he's in is saying a lot. Face/Off has an interesting storyline, albeit a bit far-fetched. It's an alright way to pass your time if you've got an hourI generally dislike Cage's acting in just about anything so a positive review on any flick he's in is saying a lot. Face/Off has an interesting storyline, albeit a bit far-fetched. It's an alright way to pass your time if you've got an hour or two to spare. Expand
1 of 31 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysSep 28, 2013
A pretty good action movie, and Woo is good at them. The plot is a little unrealistic, and I think the popular saying "YOU DON'T SAY" is a very relevant answer to that question, as Nick Cage is in this movie! I liked it for the most part, andA pretty good action movie, and Woo is good at them. The plot is a little unrealistic, and I think the popular saying "YOU DON'T SAY" is a very relevant answer to that question, as Nick Cage is in this movie! I liked it for the most part, and it's worth a watch in the long run. Expand
2 of 74 users found this helpful272
All this user's reviews
0
MattC.Oct 6, 2005
How many poor souls this movie has hoodwinked! Epic hams Cage and Travolta maul the scenery; they do not act as much as make spectacles of themselves. The plot is riveted with as many bulletholes as there are at the end of a cliched Woo How many poor souls this movie has hoodwinked! Epic hams Cage and Travolta maul the scenery; they do not act as much as make spectacles of themselves. The plot is riveted with as many bulletholes as there are at the end of a cliched Woo action scene. Once second Cage is on an oil rig in the ocean-- the next he is on dry land. Enough with the doves, Woo; it's tired. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
gracjanskiFeb 7, 2021
John Woo..that means countless illogical scenes, a lot of slow motion, that makes the movie too long and style style style. Of course the story is stupid. The only good thing in this movies are John Travolta and Nicolas Cage.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
6
amheretojudgeJan 16, 2018
so why don't we trade back..

Face/Off

The concept will take its time to let it sink in but before you do, you find yourself already enjoying these characters of John Woo which offers kick back to the movie and bursts it out of the door.
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
3
Tyrant719Jun 15, 2021
After watching this movie and reading the reviews, I finally realize why ignorant **** like Transformers and The Fast & Furious franchise make money. How can you people actually try to defend this movie as some sort of craft and not justAfter watching this movie and reading the reviews, I finally realize why ignorant **** like Transformers and The Fast & Furious franchise make money. How can you people actually try to defend this movie as some sort of craft and not just action stereotypes thrown together? The acting is not intentionally bad. If these actors were doing these performances as some sort of ironic disrespect of the material, I might respect it. In retrospect, however, both Travolta’s and Cage’s careers have shown that this is the result of them ACTUALLY TRYING. That’s embarrassing to say the least. Typical of two privileged Hollywood types who have found a way to entrench themselves in the system. The ONLY entertainment value this movie has is watching it to make fun of it. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
3
Steven1981Mar 18, 2020
Face/Off... John Travolta and Nicolas Cage star in this action blockbuster, Travolta being the good guy thinks it's a good idea to swap faces with villain Castor Troy (Cage) in order to stop him. The plan worked but this film was executedFace/Off... John Travolta and Nicolas Cage star in this action blockbuster, Travolta being the good guy thinks it's a good idea to swap faces with villain Castor Troy (Cage) in order to stop him. The plan worked but this film was executed poorly, the action was good but silly in some parts, the quotes are forgettable and most of the characters are annoying as hell. Nicolas Cages performance is crap, well over the top and dumb. John Travolta's acting was superb but he couldn't stop this film being crap. Directed by John Woo (Broken Arrow, Hard Target) this film sinks like the Titanic in so many ways. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
3
OriginalDangerSep 7, 2020
Face/Off is a 1997 action, crime thriller that stars Nicolas Cage and John Travolta... Travolta stars as FBI agent Sean Archer and is in pursuit of Castor Troy (Nicolas Cage) and wants to capture him, kill him or whatever but in order toFace/Off is a 1997 action, crime thriller that stars Nicolas Cage and John Travolta... Travolta stars as FBI agent Sean Archer and is in pursuit of Castor Troy (Nicolas Cage) and wants to capture him, kill him or whatever but in order to capture him he must become him but laser surgery procedure to remove his face and have Troy's face and vice versa. Face/Off is full of explosions, chases, shootouts, bad language, blood and violence in traditional John Woo fashion... Director John Woo puts loads of action scenes into Face/Off but it's way over the top and silly. It's also depressing and Nicolas Cage is horrible in the movie and John Travolta is better but it's still a horrible movie even with the over the top violence and Gina Gershon in the movie looks out of place to me. She was just ridiculous and Dominique Swain was excellent in the film but all in all completely stupid film and very depressing and way over acted and over the top. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
3
jamesmitchell28May 3, 2021
It starts off well but as soon as their faces swap, it sinks real low. John Woo's action sequences were not enough to salvage this violent, overwrought mess. It gets worse when one who's in a different face, meets his wife in one lousyIt starts off well but as soon as their faces swap, it sinks real low. John Woo's action sequences were not enough to salvage this violent, overwrought mess. It gets worse when one who's in a different face, meets his wife in one lousy sequence. This movie just sucks! Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
[Anonymous]Sep 25, 2005
Damn near perfect action movie. In the days of Matrix bullettime, this one holds its own ground. When the action isn't rolling, there's something else filling the screen, particularly the way Troy and Archer fill the gaps in each Damn near perfect action movie. In the days of Matrix bullettime, this one holds its own ground. When the action isn't rolling, there's something else filling the screen, particularly the way Troy and Archer fill the gaps in each other's lives. Cage and travolta are perfect in each other's roles, or themselves, or...just watch it! Nearly puts Mi2 to shame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JodyM.Dec 5, 2006
This is one of my favourite movies of all time, sure it may be cliched, but I still love it. The action was intense and the story was solid. And Matt, if your going to give it a zero, please justify. You have to some extent, but come on! A zero!?!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatC.May 4, 2006
The most startling thing is Travolta and Cage playing each other as they swap roles in the movie. I don't remember much else about the movie, just that those boys can act!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrayOct 7, 2005
Easily the best of Woo's American works. Emotionally powerful as well as being chock full of great action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Celestial91Sep 15, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best non-stop action from the Master himself

John Woo has proved it again. No-one does it better than him. It's a symphony of action, drama, suspense, thrills and superb acting from Cage and Travolta. All is blended wonderfully with a music-score that makes the final outcome simply perfect ! I worship you, Master Woo !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SextetSep 16, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Action Incarnate

While many films live on for their atmosphere and morals, this will be remembered for its pure, unbridled action. Director John Woo's mastery of cinematic action is exemplified in this two hour thrill ride as John Travolta and Nicholas Cage clash in a mano a mano battle to the death. Dealing with themes of obsession and the devastating effects of vengeance, Face/Off is a masterclass in high octane film-making which manages never to stray into the absurd or the excessive. The sheer level of acting talent holds the film above others in its genre, as Travolta plays Cage playing Travolta and vice versa, tangled in a brutal battle of wits game of cat and mouse which culminates in an adrenaline fueled finale like no other.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DugongOct 18, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nothing but praise...

There are few films which are both entertaining and inspiring. There are fewer films which are transcendant enough that you have to go online and write a glowing review. Face/Off's plot may initially discourage a few people from watching it- if we're honest, it's completely implausible and will remain that way for eons. However, when you watch it you'll be astoundingly pleased. John Woo pulls off some fabulous directing feats. The gun fight in an aircraft hanger is filmed in slo-motion and with exaggerated sounds. It is tricky to expound, but brilliant to observe. Ditto for the shootout in the church, the shootout outside the church, the loft shootout, the prison escape, the boat chase & the beach tussle. Sure this film is filled with guns, big bangs and loads of high speed action, but its so much more than that. It's a veritable eye and ear feast. Compound that with in my opinion the greatest soundtrack ever, you have a film that you'll want to watch regularly and enjoy as much as the first day you saw it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews