Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 27, 1997
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 594 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
538
Mixed:
37
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Zanessa250QIJul 24, 2015
....................................................................................................................................95,96 and 97's are the peak of carrer of cage.............. Face/Off is an awesome thriller of action and in....................................................................................................................................95,96 and 97's are the peak of carrer of cage.............. Face/Off is an awesome thriller of action and in the same year Cage did the spectacular Con Air both of 97's Exactly one year after the Masterpiece "The Rock 1996" Expand
20 of 20 users found this helpful200
All this user's reviews
10
mtackett11Dec 11, 2015
Innovative story, breathtaking action and some memorable characters make Face Off a real classic. Travolta and Cage put on a show and John Woo's action is breathtaking.
19 of 19 users found this helpful190
All this user's reviews
10
mikeonkokNov 14, 2013
My favorite movie....................................................................................................................
....................................................
....................................................
My favorite movie....................................................................................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................
....................................................

ace cuts no doubt.

it really is 2good

great film

like i said my favorite of all time no joke no doubts true stuff
Expand
114 of 116 users found this helpful1142
All this user's reviews
10
ericaNov 20, 2010
movies too often try to be realistic, the big brother of movie form. Face off, is a movie that moves beyond realism to the sublimely ridiculous. The fantasy of a five year old on crack. What sort of genuisly muddled mind come up with a plotmovies too often try to be realistic, the big brother of movie form. Face off, is a movie that moves beyond realism to the sublimely ridiculous. The fantasy of a five year old on crack. What sort of genuisly muddled mind come up with a plot that simutaneoulsy dumbs and enthrawls a watchers mind? John Travolta shines in a way you would never expect, but possibly this means he shines in nicholas cages skin. How am i to review when i am so confused. This confusion is the genuis, the genuis is the twist and turn the yes and the no of the watchers mind. The idea of identity, the idea of it being lost with ones name and body, the value of face. The value of ones face lost. What is really important? what really are you beyond the skin, face off to your expectactions, face off to the revelations, face off, because this movie asks, beyond face, what do you have to prove? Expand
53 of 54 users found this helpful531
All this user's reviews
10
diogomendesAug 7, 2014
Basically, this movie is just extraordinary. Nicolas Cage and John Travolta are top-notch and the story is also pleasant. A great achievement for Hollywood.
53 of 54 users found this helpful531
All this user's reviews
10
masudaly103Oct 9, 2014
This is hands down one of the best action movies ever made in America. The actors get into their respective roles and play them like a charm. Tremendous action sequences. Tremendous screenplay. Tremendous writing. If the sight of a bald manThis is hands down one of the best action movies ever made in America. The actors get into their respective roles and play them like a charm. Tremendous action sequences. Tremendous screenplay. Tremendous writing. If the sight of a bald man kissing his sister doesn't bother you, or even if it does, I'd say you better watch this film as this is a must watch! Expand
52 of 53 users found this helpful521
All this user's reviews
9
Gripa1992Dec 31, 2012
The fact that this movie is listed as a crime thriller is a crime in of itself, because Face/Off is easily one of the best comedies the 1990's has to offer. The movie is full of so many insane elements that are so damaging to the senses, it'sThe fact that this movie is listed as a crime thriller is a crime in of itself, because Face/Off is easily one of the best comedies the 1990's has to offer. The movie is full of so many insane elements that are so damaging to the senses, it's impossible to turn away. Based solely on the merit of comic relief and sheer entertainment, Face/Off scores a 9 in my book for reasons that are beyond our tangible world. Expand
37 of 38 users found this helpful371
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 25, 2013
Poetically violent action, magnetically brilliant lead performances, and an undeniably ingenious premise culminate in John Woo's "Face/Off," an action movie that never ceased to impress, entertain, and fulfill my hopeless masculine dreams.
36 of 37 users found this helpful361
All this user's reviews
9
ingie44Mar 29, 2014
Ha! I love this film. Nic cage actually rides a burning boat THROUGH another BURNING BOaT! How can anyone not love that? Best Nic Cage film hands down.
35 of 36 users found this helpful351
All this user's reviews
10
Paratroop62May 13, 2015
Face/Off is a modern masterpiece in a nutshell for those who have seen it and those who haven't.
Cage and Travolta are brilliant, the action choreography is astonishing and the plot is ingeniously
sublime. Face/Off is an action fans dream
Face/Off is a modern masterpiece in a nutshell for those who have seen it and those who haven't.
Cage and Travolta are brilliant, the action choreography is astonishing and the plot is ingeniously
sublime. Face/Off is an action fans dream come true and personally I think it is the best action thriller John
Woo has made in his career.
Expand
43 of 46 users found this helpful433
All this user's reviews
9
The3AcademySinsJun 7, 2016
One of the most fun, entertaining, and surprisingly touching action movies that I have ever seen! I had a blast while I was watching this with my friends. If you are looking for an amazing 1990s action movie, look no further. I wish that theOne of the most fun, entertaining, and surprisingly touching action movies that I have ever seen! I had a blast while I was watching this with my friends. If you are looking for an amazing 1990s action movie, look no further. I wish that the fight scene at the end of The Revenant was like the final fight in Face/Off. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
clinteastwooMay 11, 2016
........................................................................................................................................................Very good Sci Fi Flick Action
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
NancyB.May 6, 2006
I'm a middle aged woman and this is my favorite movie of all time. The acting by Travolta and Cage is brilliant, as they assume each other's mannerisms and intonation. John Woo's directing is lively, yet thoughtful and poetic. I'm a middle aged woman and this is my favorite movie of all time. The acting by Travolta and Cage is brilliant, as they assume each other's mannerisms and intonation. John Woo's directing is lively, yet thoughtful and poetic. I have been left with several enduring images, such as Cage alighting from the car with his overcoat blowing in the breeze as he saunters to the beat of the music. That single image makes it clear that he is a bad guy who feels on top of his universe. The action scene of shooting at the penthouse is bloody and violent, yet artful. I think this is Travolta's best work ever. Joan Allen as his wife was a great casting choice. His daughter's transformation throughout the film was fun to watch. I think the reason I loved this film is that it is an interesting story, well-acted, superbly directed and it shows the emotional side of the characters as well. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DeanomiteFeb 2, 2020
Decided to revisit this after Cinemassacre did a Cage match, and it definitely is very Cagey, I love when he does an impression of Travolta doing an impression of him. The worst is Travolta doing the creepy face rub, the rest of the movie isDecided to revisit this after Cinemassacre did a Cage match, and it definitely is very Cagey, I love when he does an impression of Travolta doing an impression of him. The worst is Travolta doing the creepy face rub, the rest of the movie is pinnacle Woo/Cage. Cage dressed as a priest molesting an alter girl in opening scene is worth the movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Appendage7Jan 16, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nicolas Cage and John Travolta spent two weeks together before filming to learn how to play each other. They decided on specific gestures and vocal cadences for each character that could be mimicked Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ExcommunicadoJan 18, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After escaping from the prison, Archer steals a beige Volvo. In The Rock (1996), Nicolas Cage's character says he drives a beige Volvo. In Con Air (1997), the second of the "trilogy," Cameron Poe drops the dead body of "Pinball" from the plane, and it falls onto a beige Volvo. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
jonslowJan 8, 2019
คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค คลาสสิค
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
timoneNov 9, 2018
For the fact that I'm getting really giddy about laughing at somebody's reactions I decided that I'm really am giddy about laughing my @$$ off reviewing this Looney Tuney action flick Face/Off. That's right. It's about as over-the-top as itFor the fact that I'm getting really giddy about laughing at somebody's reactions I decided that I'm really am giddy about laughing my @$$ off reviewing this Looney Tuney action flick Face/Off. That's right. It's about as over-the-top as it gets and many people in the world don't care because they enjoyed it and loved it for it's perfect cheesy action and intense violence. To me, I love everything about it and John Travolta and Nicolas Cage done really well in this. The premise I know what y'all thinking. It's ridiculous but who f£$king cares? They literally playing each other by putting their faces on each other after Sean Archer captures Castor Troy. John Travolta and Nicolas Cage played hilarious in their roles and I come to the point of laughing my f£$king @$$ at Castor Troy played by Nicolas Cage and yes, John Travolta. It's like I've been teasing my stepdad about Piggy Bear which Crunch Bandicoot says and saying what Sam the Eagle from The Muppets saying "The mussal's of this messal has refuse to touch my feet. Would you please rub my tudsies? Thank you." just to tease my friends. The hospital scene where Sean's and Castor's faces get switched over doesn't bother me at all cause I got over it much like the broken bones and when people don't know that Sean and Castor had switched identities they'll be confused. That's how over-the-top this movie really is. The best thing about this movie is the speedboat chase at the end and when people are on the edge of their seats through the scene they are gripped for how amazing this scene really is. Now that is just awesome despite the stuntmen showing. Face/Off is a fantastically made action film for it's beautiful shots with intense violence and intense action and hilarious moments with John Travolta and Nicolas Cage. Now I know that you think it's a science fiction action flick but I don't see why it's sci-fi. Well, it just isn't science fiction until I've seen these two changing their faces. This is the kind of film that you don't have to think, you just enjoy. It's a film that will make you thrilled and laugh and don't care how ridiculous the story is and just enjoy it for it's entirety. Give it a watch and see if you wanna take it's face... off. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeFeb 1, 2016
I like to call Face/Off a well-done movie that's worth giving a million copies to and an enjoy-it-at-home feeling that actually works to call it a movie.
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
8
AndremaxDec 1, 2018
It's a quite ambitious for a movie that hopes nothing more than action. Face/Off is dramatic, visceral, funny, philosophic in certain meters, but a bit exceded about emotional which really hopes in a movie in genere. Beyond all, it's aIt's a quite ambitious for a movie that hopes nothing more than action. Face/Off is dramatic, visceral, funny, philosophic in certain meters, but a bit exceded about emotional which really hopes in a movie in genere. Beyond all, it's a perfect oportunity to shows Cage and Travolta's versatility Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeMay 13, 2017
It's 90's action at it's best. It was silly, unbelievable, it had some plot holes and the acting was over the top, it was cheesy and predictable and it had unnecessary explosions, but it was very entertaining. Any action movie fan shouldIt's 90's action at it's best. It was silly, unbelievable, it had some plot holes and the acting was over the top, it was cheesy and predictable and it had unnecessary explosions, but it was very entertaining. Any action movie fan should watch this movie. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
6
JacobMar 27, 2014
The film has an interesting concept and some fun action but it is just alright. Its not just Nicholas Cage's acting that knocks it down but the length. This movie drags on way too long for my taste. Someone said it best the mirror sceneThe film has an interesting concept and some fun action but it is just alright. Its not just Nicholas Cage's acting that knocks it down but the length. This movie drags on way too long for my taste. Someone said it best the mirror scene should have been the climax. Expand
3 of 27 users found this helpful324
All this user's reviews
5
cmykJan 29, 2014
I generally dislike Cage's acting in just about anything so a positive review on any flick he's in is saying a lot. Face/Off has an interesting storyline, albeit a bit far-fetched. It's an alright way to pass your time if you've got an hourI generally dislike Cage's acting in just about anything so a positive review on any flick he's in is saying a lot. Face/Off has an interesting storyline, albeit a bit far-fetched. It's an alright way to pass your time if you've got an hour or two to spare. Expand
1 of 27 users found this helpful126
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysSep 28, 2013
A pretty good action movie, and Woo is good at them. The plot is a little unrealistic, and I think the popular saying "YOU DON'T SAY" is a very relevant answer to that question, as Nick Cage is in this movie! I liked it for the most part, andA pretty good action movie, and Woo is good at them. The plot is a little unrealistic, and I think the popular saying "YOU DON'T SAY" is a very relevant answer to that question, as Nick Cage is in this movie! I liked it for the most part, and it's worth a watch in the long run. Expand
2 of 59 users found this helpful257
All this user's reviews
0
MattC.Oct 6, 2005
How many poor souls this movie has hoodwinked! Epic hams Cage and Travolta maul the scenery; they do not act as much as make spectacles of themselves. The plot is riveted with as many bulletholes as there are at the end of a cliched Woo How many poor souls this movie has hoodwinked! Epic hams Cage and Travolta maul the scenery; they do not act as much as make spectacles of themselves. The plot is riveted with as many bulletholes as there are at the end of a cliched Woo action scene. Once second Cage is on an oil rig in the ocean-- the next he is on dry land. Enough with the doves, Woo; it's tired. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
TyranianApr 8, 2019
A crazy action film with over the top acting, writing and visuals. Quite fun.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
amheretojudgeJan 16, 2018
so why don't we trade back..

Face/Off

The concept will take its time to let it sink in but before you do, you find yourself already enjoying these characters of John Woo which offers kick back to the movie and bursts it out of the door.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
Steven1981Mar 18, 2020
Face/Off... John Travolta and Nicolas Cage star in this action blockbuster, Travolta being the good guy thinks it's a good idea to swap faces with villain Castor Troy (Cage) in order to stop him. The plan worked but this film was executedFace/Off... John Travolta and Nicolas Cage star in this action blockbuster, Travolta being the good guy thinks it's a good idea to swap faces with villain Castor Troy (Cage) in order to stop him. The plan worked but this film was executed poorly, the action was good but silly in some parts, the quotes are forgettable and most of the characters are annoying as hell. Nicolas Cages performance is crap, well over the top and dumb. John Travolta's acting was superb but he couldn't stop this film being crap. Directed by John Woo (Broken Arrow, Hard Target) this film sinks like the Titanic in so many ways. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
[Anonymous]Sep 25, 2005
Damn near perfect action movie. In the days of Matrix bullettime, this one holds its own ground. When the action isn't rolling, there's something else filling the screen, particularly the way Troy and Archer fill the gaps in each Damn near perfect action movie. In the days of Matrix bullettime, this one holds its own ground. When the action isn't rolling, there's something else filling the screen, particularly the way Troy and Archer fill the gaps in each other's lives. Cage and travolta are perfect in each other's roles, or themselves, or...just watch it! Nearly puts Mi2 to shame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JodyM.Dec 5, 2006
This is one of my favourite movies of all time, sure it may be cliched, but I still love it. The action was intense and the story was solid. And Matt, if your going to give it a zero, please justify. You have to some extent, but come on! A zero!?!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatC.May 4, 2006
The most startling thing is Travolta and Cage playing each other as they swap roles in the movie. I don't remember much else about the movie, just that those boys can act!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrayOct 7, 2005
Easily the best of Woo's American works. Emotionally powerful as well as being chock full of great action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
OriginalDangerSep 7, 2020
Face/Off is a 1997 action, crime thriller that stars Nicolas Cage and John Travolta... Travolta stars as FBI agent Sean Archer and is in pursuit of Castor Troy (Nicolas Cage) and wants to capture him, kill him or whatever but in order toFace/Off is a 1997 action, crime thriller that stars Nicolas Cage and John Travolta... Travolta stars as FBI agent Sean Archer and is in pursuit of Castor Troy (Nicolas Cage) and wants to capture him, kill him or whatever but in order to capture him he must become him but laser surgery procedure to remove his face and have Troy's face and vice versa. Face/Off is full of explosions, chases, shootouts, bad language, blood and violence in traditional John Woo fashion... Director John Woo puts loads of action scenes into Face/Off but it's way over the top and silly. It's also depressing and Nicolas Cage is horrible in the movie and John Travolta is better but it's still a horrible movie even with the over the top violence and Gina Gershon in the movie looks out of place to me. She was just ridiculous and Dominique Swain was excellent in the film but all in all completely stupid film and very depressing and way over acted and over the top. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews