Paramount Pictures | Release Date: September 18, 1987
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 164 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
143
Mixed:
13
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SpangleFeb 20, 2016
A delightfully creepy and unsettling erotic thriller from director Adrian Lyne, Fatal Attraction features a great performance from Michael Douglas, as well as a top-notch and creepy turn from Glenn Close. Lyne does a great job creating aA delightfully creepy and unsettling erotic thriller from director Adrian Lyne, Fatal Attraction features a great performance from Michael Douglas, as well as a top-notch and creepy turn from Glenn Close. Lyne does a great job creating a creepy and unsettling atmopshere that really delivers in the end with a fantastic climax, but what deserves further attention is the build-up. Both well-written and well-directed, the build up to the pay-off really leaves you hanging on for more as you watch the story unfold. The characters are brilliantly crafted for max potential and what makes the film so effective in unsettling you is their authenticity. They feel like real people and this ultimately leads to the scares the film produces being that much more effective. Overall, it is not hard to see why audiences and critics alike took to Fatal Attraction, as it is a wonderfully crafted thriller that both truly gives you the chills. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
timoneJun 12, 2018
So I think people think that this is not the most popular film out there. Well, I disagree with them. Fatal Attraction is a great film about a man named Dan Gallagher who loves Beth but was obsessed by Alex Forrest who is not going beSo I think people think that this is not the most popular film out there. Well, I disagree with them. Fatal Attraction is a great film about a man named Dan Gallagher who loves Beth but was obsessed by Alex Forrest who is not going be ignored. Great acting, story and directing. Michael Douglas and Glenn Close had great acting skills especially Anne Archer. It had some thrills and drama that really does fill the story. It has some erotic scenes in it but it's not just about that, it's about the thrills that really does stick into you. I absolutely love it. I love the scenes that really does thrill. The scene where Dan wants revenge on Alex for kidnapping his son and the ending where he shoves her face in the bath of water killing her.

***WARNING/SPOILER ALERT***

This is not the original ending. What I found out that this is the alternative ending. The original ending is that after he wanted revenge on Alex Forrest and went to the police, the police are at Dan's house telling him that she is dead making him confused and realising that she killed herself telling them he didn't kill her but was arrested. Beth found the tape of Alex recorded her voice making her realize that she can't let go of Dan.

And there you have it. My mum had watch the ending with me watching what was happening. We watch the ending all the way through until we realize that Alex Forrest killing herself by cut her own neck with a sharp knife. Ouch. I actually know that the director told me that the ending that people are watching was not the original ending and told me and others to decide which ending is best for them. Not mention that my mum told me not to get upset and frightened by the bunny boiler where Beth found a dead rabbit in the pan and Dan know that Alex did this. As to say, I am not upset and frightened by that scene because I'm not a wuss. Anyways, that's Fatal Attraction. This is the film like most of the films that is thrilling and gripping that'll keep you on the edge of the seat. While Fatal Attraction is not popular to the audience. I recommend people who haven't seen it, give it a high rating of your life time. You will not regret it. I love it for it's acting, story and the directing. There is a film that is exactly the same thing which is directed by Clint Eastwood.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970May 13, 2018
An automatic classic of 1987. A thriller of cause and effect where ther chemistry Douglas and Close makes all the difference till last minute. Beware of imitations.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
FilipeNetoNov 14, 2020
I recently saw this film and I confess that I don't feel disappointed in my expectations. It is commonly regarded as a milestone in the sexy-thriller genre, and the enviable record of six nominations - which did not go beyond that - for theI recently saw this film and I confess that I don't feel disappointed in my expectations. It is commonly regarded as a milestone in the sexy-thriller genre, and the enviable record of six nominations - which did not go beyond that - for the Oscars (Best Film, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actress, Best Director, Best Editing and Best Adapted Screenplay), associated with the huge commercial success that it achieved, it kind of consolidated that status and guaranteed it a place in the history of cinema.

The film is about a man stuck in a monotonous but sincere marriage, who falls into the error of engaging sexually with an elegant and lonely woman he meets at work. Far from accepting that it was just a weekend affair, she decides to pursue him and take things to the last consequences. The story is very good and Adrian Lyne was able to develop it with coherence and logic, creating a dramatic tension that increases as the ending approaches and the characters' attitudes become more and more radical. The pace is perfect, there are no dead moments or scenes that seem out of place. There are some sex scenes, with some nudity, but it is nothing that shocked me, although it is normal that at the time they were considered quite bold. Everything seems perfect until we get close to the end, where the director truly loses his hand and makes a histrionic ending with some improbable ideas. I think that here, commercial logic and the bet on sensationalism prevailed.

Much of the success of this film rests on the enormous performance of the two central actors in the plot, Michael Douglas and Glenn Close. Both were experiencing a magnificent moment in their careers: Douglas would win Oscar that same year with "Wall Street" and Close, despite being little known and a risky bet on the part of the production, he had enormous talent, evident in how your character worked, loaded with psychological nuances and sudden changes in mood and feelings. If the two actors were able to stand out in isolation, they were incomparable together, with the ideal chemistry and a remarkable likelihood. Both achieved, with this film, one of the most iconic works of their lives (particularly Close). The film also features the participation of Anne Archer, impeccable in the role of the betrayed wife.

Being a film that bets so much on the story told and on the performance of the actors, I don't think it is surprising to be a film with such discrete production values. The film is good, but it does not stand out at this point: cinematography is the standard of the time it was made, and the sets and costumes, although they fit into the story, do not bring anything remarkable in themselves, apart from the relative monochromatic of Close's costume, almost always in white tones. The effects are almost nil and the Maurice Jarre soundtrack is definitely not the most interesting I've heard.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Regardless of how fearsome or eccentric Glenn Close and her character are, I find her fascinating. She's riveting. She allows for moments when you actually do feel for her, no matter how manipulative she has been. That's acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
heeldavidJun 7, 2014
Very brilliant thriller from Adrien Lyne, superb acting. This has got to be in my list of the best psychological thrillers. Michael Douglas and Anne Archer are great as the couple who are haunted by a wacko who is obsessed of Douglas'Very brilliant thriller from Adrien Lyne, superb acting. This has got to be in my list of the best psychological thrillers. Michael Douglas and Anne Archer are great as the couple who are haunted by a wacko who is obsessed of Douglas' character. Glenn Close is just so brilliant as Alex Forrest she totally stole the show Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AvidMovieManFeb 17, 2014
Superbly acted, well directed thriller that had me jumping out of my seat or hiding my eyes. Close and Douglas and Archer are riveting as the lead characters. The film brims with atmosphere and menace. The climax is terrifying andSuperbly acted, well directed thriller that had me jumping out of my seat or hiding my eyes. Close and Douglas and Archer are riveting as the lead characters. The film brims with atmosphere and menace. The climax is terrifying and realistic. My favorite film of all time, to be sure. With a lesson for those who cheat: you never know who you might hook up with who has a knife problem. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
TylerDurden900Jul 14, 2014
Fatal Attraction is a superb thriller with Douglss and Close. The movie is realistic and terrifiying because
of the intense suspense throughout the movie. This is one of the best thrillers from the 80's.
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysAug 22, 2015
A classic thriller with very memorable scenes, Fatal Attraction features great performances by Close and Douglas, a chilling score by Jarre, and very off-kilter direction by Lyne (in a good way).
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Ajax80Dec 14, 2020
Glenn Close and Michael Douglas have an unprecedented chemistry in this exquisitely written thriller, that has become an all time favorite.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
lasttimeisawMay 7, 2012
I made a promise to watch more Oscar-nominated performances from Glenn Close after ALBERT NOBBS (2011), the first one is this notoriously famous thriller-drama from the genre hotshot Adrian Lyne. The narrative is straightforward and ratherI made a promise to watch more Oscar-nominated performances from Glenn Close after ALBERT NOBBS (2011), the first one is this notoriously famous thriller-drama from the genre hotshot Adrian Lyne. The narrative is straightforward and rather inevitable. First of all, the film never fail to keep the appearance engaging and captivating while bypassing a severe flaw in its avowed mantra, it always takes two persons to exert an immoral affair, but eventually the punishment usually always falls on the woman, even grants a pretext of psychopath, a tacky happy ending does fling an anticlimax and one might find himself stuck in a moot situation, who we should feel more sympathetic? So, the moral support is preferably unstable, the film fulfills an educational motive and emblematizes itself as an immaculate prototype of monogamic conformity and a wake-up call to warn all the horny married-man. However the real gem lies in the sterling cast, which has been against all odds to generate a great deal of fidelity to stimulate the flares of lust, possession and destruction (frilled with a somewhat pretentious family value). Close and Archer both received their Oscar nominations, Lyneâ Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
OriginalDangerSep 1, 2020
Fatal Attraction is a 1987 thriller starring Michael Douglas, Glenn Close and Anne Archer.... Michael Douglas's character named Dan Gallagher meets some bird with blonde hair in a Japanese restaurant. When his wife leaves for a day or two heFatal Attraction is a 1987 thriller starring Michael Douglas, Glenn Close and Anne Archer.... Michael Douglas's character named Dan Gallagher meets some bird with blonde hair in a Japanese restaurant. When his wife leaves for a day or two he has an affair with the same lady played by Glenn Close but Dan's (Douglas) wife returns along with her daughter but Alex (Glenn Close) won't let the affair slide so starts making Dan's life a misery even though he's made it abundantly clear he's married and not interested.... She kills the family pet which is a rabbit, pours acid on the family car, sends Dan a tape full of profanities and even attempts to kill Dan's wife at the end in the bathroom and snatches the daughter from school leaving the mother running around frantically trying to find her.... Fatal Attraction in some places makes little sense because if Dan Gallagher (Michael Douglas) knew he was married and it was wrong then why do it? Secondly did he ring his wife from Alex's apartment or did she phone him and if so wouldn't that be suspicious to begin with dialling from another number? Some parts make no sense but Fatal Attraction is a rollercoaster ride of suspense, betrayal and guilt.... Glenn Close at times is annoying and creepy but the rest of the cast are fairly likeable especially Anne Archer, great film all in all with terrific acting especially from Michael Douglas and Anne Archer, great directing by Adrian Lyne.... Contains scenes of a sexual nature, violence and strong language. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Apr 17, 2019
There's a damned good reason why this is the first title uttered out of anyone's mouth when they're asked to provide an example of a "stalker thriller." It's because this is the THE example. Interestingly enough, whenever anyone mentions theThere's a damned good reason why this is the first title uttered out of anyone's mouth when they're asked to provide an example of a "stalker thriller." It's because this is the THE example. Interestingly enough, whenever anyone mentions the film, they always recount the most climactic occurrences (i.e. the rabbit scene, the ending, the sex scenes, etc.) But what no one else seems to mention is how much of this movie succeeds on the basis of quiet. Generally speaking, this movie is only intermittently bombastic, featuring just a handful of scenes that one would call "trailer moments" today. The rest of the movie consists of characters stealthily investigating dark, urban landscapes, awkwardly trying to sidestep one another through phone conversations, and attempting to maintain a way of life that's become threatened somehow. It's a surprisingly cerebral movie, in a sense. So much so that I was worried that the eventual descent into madness was going to feel jarring and overly cinematic (Glenn Close's performance really is that unassuming in the beginning). Like clockwork, though, things do indeed spiral into something twisted, off-kilter, and -- most importantly -- eerily real. The very legitimate criticism lobbed towards the Michael Douglas character was real as well for me, but upon watching the film, I guess I no longer see the point in addressing something that the movie so clearly addresses itself. Contrasting the popular criticism levied against the film in this regard, I really don't believe the movie lets Michael Douglas get away with any of the mistakes he makes. That's what this whole movie is about, right? How making one simple mistake ends up nearly ruining his life? He's even, straight up, told by a cop how bad he messed up. Isn't this how cautionary tales work? I digress, I suppose, but the point remains; in my eyes, this isn't a movie that's looking to be an indictment upon toxic femininity or toxic masculinity. This is simply a thriller, posing the very essential question that many thrillers pose; "wouldn't this be a terrible situation to go through?" And, to be sure, it is. But it's also a damn entertaining watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PanchogulJan 6, 2021
Un intrigante Thriller que actualmente es un clásico consagrado y que llevó a Glenn Close al estrellato, no hay nada malo con esta cinta, pero si no le pongo un 10 es porque a mi parecer tarda muchísimo en arrancar y debido a eso la películaUn intrigante Thriller que actualmente es un clásico consagrado y que llevó a Glenn Close al estrellato, no hay nada malo con esta cinta, pero si no le pongo un 10 es porque a mi parecer tarda muchísimo en arrancar y debido a eso la película habría sido un poco menos larga. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
fifi3Jan 17, 2020
I think was a pretty decent movie but it failed to grip me. Maybe because I just watched You on Netflix, but this plot was just whatever to me. It was mildly entertaining, but not a film I want to see over and over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews