HBO Max | Release Date (Streaming): June 16, 2022
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 14 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1
Mixed:
10
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
katezoeJun 17, 2022
Latina in MIA...wokeness for PC doesn't translate (pun unintended) too good. As a film buff how can you top Spencer Tracey and Elizabeth Taylor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Jun 16, 2022
Designed for Latino audiences and to some extent for modern audiences.
The exaggeration of its representation is the clearest example of this.
I don't really see it as a bad thing, but it doesn't really add anything significant to the mix
Designed for Latino audiences and to some extent for modern audiences.
The exaggeration of its representation is the clearest example of this.
I don't really see it as a bad thing, but it doesn't really add anything significant to the mix either.

Perhaps for those interested in this take of this story, and I think mostly for those who have never seen the Spencer Tracy and Steve Martin versions, this film will seem sufficiently relevant, and more than anything else, they will get the light comedy I think they are hoping for, but since those versions already exist and I personally think they are much better, given the situation, this one wouldn't even get into the conversation.

I will never tell you not to watch something, because your opinion is what counts more than anything else, but I really believe you won't miss a thing if you just let it slide.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
vanojan4Jul 25, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Andy Garcia, Gloria Estefan and the rest of the cast were awesome. Pedro Damian especially stole every scene he was in. With such a great cast and great concept, it should have been a slam dunk. But it just wasn't!

Biggest problem for me by far was that it immediately devolved into 4th wave feminist porn. It was honestly painful just how bad the male characters were written and treated by their female counterparts. Absolutely NO ONE respected the father. He was being crapped on from every angle and his wife just couldn't wait file for divorce and take him to the cleaners. What does he do? Starts tripping over himself to "win back" their approval.

The fiance was hands down one of the worst caricatures I've ever seen. Absolutely no voice, no personality or any desires of his own. His whole reason for being was to say "yes" to his future wife's every whim and occasionally regurgitate some of the cringiest political talking points.

The grooms father, despite being an extremely successful businessman, was portrayed as the village idiot being played for a fool and robbed blind by multiple women. Because that makes sense, right?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
siki11683Jun 17, 2022
Another ruined remake that misses out on all the wonderful things that established the magic of the originals
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MetacriticOnurJul 22, 2022
bad
[ bad ]

adjective, worse, worst;(Slang) bad·der, bad·dest for 36.
not good in any manner or degree.
bad
[ bad ]

adjective, worse, worst;(Slang) bad·der, bad·dest for 36.
not good in any manner or degree.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
royalguy07Jul 27, 2022
I found it charming and resonant enough to earn its ending and feel good aspects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Macatawa1964Jun 18, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Who doesn't love Andy Garcia? Plus Gloria Estefan is all that as his wife. This is a beautiful movie. The best I have seen this year.
I love the format. It has been done many times. This was highly entertaining and fun. Everything clicked. Like a Swiss watch the timing was perfect. The acting was stellar and believable. Fun for everyone. Great casting. Great scenery. Great location.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews