Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: August 12, 2011
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 233 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
123
Mixed:
82
Negative:
28
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
MyffubsAug 12, 2011
Final Destination 5 is quite a bit of a mixed bag. There are elements present that suggest that it should be a better movie than it actually is, but looking at each of the series' sequels, it's quite an accomplishment that this one manages toFinal Destination 5 is quite a bit of a mixed bag. There are elements present that suggest that it should be a better movie than it actually is, but looking at each of the series' sequels, it's quite an accomplishment that this one manages to be as good as it is. The opening premonition (a bridge collapsing, if, for some reason, you don't already know) is easily the best sequence of any of the five Final Destinations. It's an amazing technological accomplishment that manages to create a palpable sense of dread; though you know the it's-only-a-premonition gotcha! is right around the corner, tension yields to pure fear as the bridge crumbles away in three dimensions. If you're an adrenaline junkie, this scene alone is well worth the admittedly bloated price of admission. The rest of the film doesn't live up to this sequence, but there are moments when the filmmakers know how to get under your skin, such as the well-advertised trapped-in-a-Lasik-chair and screw-on-a-balance-beam scenes. It's unlikely that you'll be able to guess the outcomes of the over-elaborate but still bizarrely jarring deathtraps the characters find themselves in. Much has been said about this entry's use of characterization, which, following every sequel, is understandable. Let's simply say that there *is* characterization. The characters are somewhat bland, but occasionally funny. The actors are all right, but wooden lines of dialogue (the ones that have been heard in each Final Destination film) still sound stilted. If nothing else, they convey full ranges of fear and terror, two emotions that likely won't serve them outside of the horror genre. The film includes some plot twists, but does little of interest with them; if you have seen the trailer, you know of one, and if you pay attention, the second one is frustratingly easy to guess. In the end, there's fun to be had here, but as a good number of the critic's reviews will tell you, you probably know whether you want to see Final Destination 5 or not. (A little forewarning to those who, like me, pick up on certain details: when the bridge collapses "for real," it collapses differently than in the premonition, which would, theoretically, change the order the characters "should" have died. The filmmakers don't make any use of this, so don't expect any curveballs of that sort. You can probably just regard it as what looks like a very expensive continuity error.) Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
6
tinar1Aug 21, 2011
This movie is only for fans, and it takes back the best of the franchise with a new little twist. The 3D it's a must see, because many scenes were made thinking on it. It shows.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
jdgreen1955Aug 24, 2011
Don't try to comprehend anything about this flawed story except that people die and they do so dramatically. While the acting is often forced and poorly executed, the horror, magnified by 3D, makes it worth the buck. If you think you haveDon't try to comprehend anything about this flawed story except that people die and they do so dramatically. While the acting is often forced and poorly executed, the horror, magnified by 3D, makes it worth the buck. If you think you have become numb and unaffected by horrific scenes of blood, guts and mayhem-this will truly be a testimony to that. Keep a tight grip on your popcorn or chair handles for you're in for one-hell-of- a ride. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
JAndertonSep 10, 2011
Better than the last two movies and a nice ending that I liked, the story still did lack some meaning since the girl "was not supposed to die". Keep decent continuity, please :( If you set rules (she survived the first time so she shouldBetter than the last two movies and a nice ending that I liked, the story still did lack some meaning since the girl "was not supposed to die". Keep decent continuity, please :( If you set rules (she survived the first time so she should survive again), you need to stick by them. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
katharineclarkJan 4, 2012
I love the original final destination. I think the sequels have been hit or miss. This one is no exception. However, this film is one of the better sequels and there were definitely some great scenes. It was thrilling but didn't take itselfI love the original final destination. I think the sequels have been hit or miss. This one is no exception. However, this film is one of the better sequels and there were definitely some great scenes. It was thrilling but didn't take itself too seriously. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
destroya1artAug 13, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was honestly boring the whole bridge scenario was too similar to FD2 with the whole freeway thing. and the cast was ok. not all that. Some kills are LAUGHABLE!!! the way a gymnast girl dies is so unbelievably stupid!!!! and many things were so cliched! this movie is just for the money there isn't really a story to it and its unnecessary. The ending has a TWIST though. it shows that FD5 actually takes place in the beginning of FINAL DESTINATION 1... which doesn't make much sense because The "coroner" tells everyone to be careful because he's seen the whole cheating death scenario, and you'll eventually die! yet if THIS movie takes place BEFORE FD1. HOW DOES THE CORONER KNOW EVERYTHING HE DOES?!?!? hmm maybe a mistake? or SOME TWILIGHT ZONE SHI+ GOING ON!!! /////// overall its ok, the film is laughable, not scary but its somewhat of a good time if you don't have anything better to do! than waste 15 dollars! GO SEE RISE OF THE PLANET OF THE APES!!! OR 30 MINUTES OR LESS! Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
ShiiraSep 13, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the incoming waves ripple nearby, an exhausted knight, recumbently inacitve on a rock-laden shoreline, starts to question the legitimacy of the cross, so proudly embossed on his chain mail vest, as he stares vacantly at god's kingdom, where from his vantage point on the primordial beach, sees only clouds and sky, and an eagle traversing across a gutted sky, recently secularized by the knives of devotional uncertainty. Next, he washes his face in the ocean, violently shaking off the **** from righteous hands which killed in god's name; red-stained hands that are guilty of spilling Muslim blood across a European battlefield. If Antonius Block, the skeptical mounted soldier in Ingmar Bergman's "The Seventh Seal", had the gift of premonition to foresee his own demise, like Alex Browning from the original "Final Destination", would he have bowed out of the crusade, and encourage his squire Jons, already a full-blown infidel, to do so likewise? For the sake of argument, let's say that Antonius cheated his ill-fated outcome, prompting death to come for the knight, who deserted the ongoing clash, thereby messing with the Grim Reaper's wicked designs. Newly informed by the "Final Destination" films, Antonius gets cast in a new light when death pays the knight a visit, solving, for some, a long-standing question as to why the shrouded figure comes for the crusader now, having just survived the most perilous of situations, only to be sentenced, somewhat unfairly, during peacetime. Like the bridge that collapses in "Final Destination 5", the unsavory side of life goes on, with or without Sam and his co-workers, as was the case with the Ninth Crusade, which when filtered through "Final Destination" and its sequels, continued on without the knight and his squire's participation. Antonius doesn't seem at all surprised by his black company, conceding that this expropriation was long in the making. "My flesh is afraid, but I am not," replies Antonius to death's question about his departure from the corporeal world, a blatant lie that directly addresses the disgraced knight's conflicting spirituality. Antonius, plagued with doubts about the existence of heaven, challenges the darkest adversary to a game of chess, in order to buy time for his devotional restoration, whose flagging conviction in god led to this crusader's resignation from the ranks of the soldiered brethren. For the knight, the visage on the witch's face, as the men prepare to burn the young girl at the stake, looks all-too-familiar. "Her poor mind is making a discovery," observes the squire. Antonius knows. He has seen the "emptiness", on the battlefield. Interestingly enough, "Final Destination 2" proposes the same godless diegesis as "The Seventh Seal", when during the film's opening credits, a talk-show guest differentiates death from the devil as the unseen malevolent force that struck down the survivors of Flight 180. Instead of chess, in essence, these captive participants are playing hide and seek. Of note, Clear Waters hides out at a mental hospital(and not a church). Moreover, tropes innate to this horror series can be applied retroactively to the Bergman classic. For the time being, death skips Antonius, intervening on the knight's behalf by agreeing to the proposed chess match, so as a result, Skat dies instead, when the black-robed figure fells the tree he was hiding in. It's really no different from the case of Billy, who in the original, gets decapitated near the rails, after Alex pulls Carter out of his car, which he left lying across the railroad tracks, just before the collision which prompts the errant scrap metal toward their once-headed friend's direction. The theater director, who runs off with a blacksmith's wife during his troupe's performance in a small hamlet, was slated to die anyways. Death skips him(and the married woman) because of the squire's calming influence on the cuckolded artisan. Jons also saves a mute girl from being raped and murdered by a corrupt clergyman. However, as death and Antonius near the endgame to their chess match, the black figure says, "No one escapes me,", but Jof and Mia, Skat's actors, give it a go, even though, like the "Final Destination" films, wind signifies death's presence, as they flee by horse and carriage, thanks to the knight who, once again, meddles with the plan by creating a distraction with knocked-over chess pieces. (Alas, the wind will return.) True to his word, Antonius and his friends follow death up a hill to their final destination; their hands interlocked, like a chain. It was predestined, but the knight changed death's plan. Jof sees them from afar. The actor may have been lying about seeing the Virgin Mary, but not this. To the knight's disappointment, in death, he's probably not going to light up like Patrick Swayze in "Ghost". Antonius Block won't be meeting the gymnast, or any of the other eviscerated victims in heaven. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
intruder313May 9, 2012
Probably the best of the bunch it what is ultimately a poor series of films. Some decent misdirections on the over-elaborate setups of the previous movie anyway,
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
asthobaskoroSep 30, 2011
Seriously there's no something new on this movie. Same old same old. Band of people cheating death and they're killed by death's ridiculous plan. But it still fun, still creepy for me especially 'cause the sound. Even got better score fromSeriously there's no something new on this movie. Same old same old. Band of people cheating death and they're killed by death's ridiculous plan. But it still fun, still creepy for me especially 'cause the sound. Even got better score from whole franchise, I still love the Roller Coaster. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
SinisterVortexFeb 10, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. FD5 shows hope for the series. As the first four installments progressed, the series seemed to be getting dumber and dumber as it went on. Firstly, I really liked the bridge collapse of the opening scene. Very intense, very dramatic (though not very realistic; there should have been a huge amount of wind that made the bridge oscillate for a few minutes. Instead, we see a small gust and then nothing). Secondly, I like the idea of the twist that if you take a life, you get to live the years that person would have lived. It's a fresh new take on a concept that was really getting stale after the first four movies. However, there seem to be just as many things to complain about as there are to commend. Firstly, the movie continues the not-so-time-honored tradition of using gore just for the sake of showing it. Instead of calculating its usage more so that it has a better impact every time it is shown, the movie just tosses blood all over the place most of the time, and some deaths seem almost as stupid as those in The Final Destination (don't even get me started on that movie!), for example the death scenes in the gym and the spa, which seemed so ridiculous that I wondered if the movie was making some strange attempt at humor. Secondly and lastly, the movie seemed to go by really fast. Maybe this is just me, but it seemed like the movie had less in it in general then previous installments have. Maybe I just lost track of time or something, but when the movie ended I didn't feel as though I'd just sat through a feature length flick. Overall, I can say FD5 is better then previous installments, and appears to be a hopeful restart to a series in need of rejuvenating. Though some of the death scenes are just stupid, the opening bridge scene and the intriguing murder twist make this movie one that is definitely worth seeing if you're an FD fan (otherwise maybe not so much). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
cabritaAug 30, 2011
Going into the movie I didn't know what to expect I hadn't seen the others so I had an open mind. After the first scene I thought the movie had a lot going for it.. Until they decided to go to cheap thrills for the rest of the movie. TheyGoing into the movie I didn't know what to expect I hadn't seen the others so I had an open mind. After the first scene I thought the movie had a lot going for it.. Until they decided to go to cheap thrills for the rest of the movie. They even made the movie so predictable they told you what order the characters were to die in. Although I do give the director credit for creating some suspense in some scenes where any other director would have failed. On this one the script and the story let him down Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Potter17Jan 27, 2012
This 'Final Destination' starts with an effective use of visual effects and thrilling sequences. But that does not make up for the bad acting and ridiculous dialogues that accompanies the entire movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
AkkharJan 10, 2012
Final Destination 5 is absolutely better then franchises previous two(FD 3 & 4) . The Bridge Scene was undoubtedly wonderful and its the second best accident scene (first being FD 2 car accident) of the franchise . The first half was soFinal Destination 5 is absolutely better then franchises previous two(FD 3 & 4) . The Bridge Scene was undoubtedly wonderful and its the second best accident scene (first being FD 2 car accident) of the franchise . The first half was so awesome . The first death was shown really well but after that all went kinda boring and too fast . It felt like the writer got really bored while he was writing it & also the director .It could have been am amazing film start to end but the second half was worst then FD 3 (FD 4 being the worst of all) . Cast was good , they played well but it wasn't enough . Like the first three film it wasn't so deep into the story . The whole movie was like a candy bar , You started slowly but suddenly you see its all gone .I gave 6 rating because I loved The Bridge scene and Its CGI quality so much. Without this scene I would give the film max 3.0 rating .BTW i loved the was they showed the last scene ...I was expecting this and they finally showed it this time . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
FIlmsareawesomeAug 28, 2011
Final Destination 5 was the worst of the entire collection, it was just horrible and painful to watch, the deaths were so stupid and didn't make sense a lot, especially candice's and isaac's, just stupid and boring, the only good part of theFinal Destination 5 was the worst of the entire collection, it was just horrible and painful to watch, the deaths were so stupid and didn't make sense a lot, especially candice's and isaac's, just stupid and boring, the only good part of the movie was the ending, nothing else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
alexandergreenSep 4, 2011
An often ridiculous film, as the Final Destination franchise usually is. The opening bridge collapse sequence wasn't as amazing as it could have been, unlike the rather fun motorway pile-up in Final Destination 2. Possibly the weakest of the group.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Captain_KirkAug 18, 2012
I was honestly expecting a lot more from this movie. Hearing that the producers claimed that this installment would be the darkest in tone since the first movie, I got pumped because it was great hearing that this movie wouldn't be go for theI was honestly expecting a lot more from this movie. Hearing that the producers claimed that this installment would be the darkest in tone since the first movie, I got pumped because it was great hearing that this movie wouldn't be go for the comedy route that the 4th movie took. Sadly, I was a little let down. The mediocre-to-bad acting was one thing, but the film had some jokes that I felt were a little forced and thus ruined whatever serious tone the film was going for. However, I must state that the use of 3D was surprisingly effective when I saw it in theaters. The death scenes are classic Final Destination as expected. There's some fun to be had here, but if the film took itself more seriously and perhaps different actors were chose for their roles, this could have been a really fun movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
SrPepeJul 8, 2018
Destino Final 5 es una película bastante regular, pero tiene un final excelente y épico.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
CraigAug 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, the overlong credits at the beginning are so annoying. It's not a bad film - not great either - it's just trying too hard to up the ante. All the death scenes looked predictable but then came across as unwilling to be what was expected, which results in being unrealistic. Obviously it's ludicris to use the word "realism" with a film about 'Death' stalking the characters, but you get my point! The formula is slightly changed in this 5th instalment by the added feature of 'how to evade Death' by murdering someone else - which is what the franchise needed, to be progressive. With a film like this, you're not going to worry about the acting (really hammed up in some places), but some of the action sequences - particularly the bridge collapse sequence - was really good. The use of 3D was quite effective as well, much better than the 4th film. And the whole film was much better than the 4th film in every way - the deaths were more gory, more imaginative (and more funny!) It's also great as a viewer to look in the background for hidden messages of what might come next or what has happened in previous films (like the plane and truck models in the office scenes - from films 1 and 2 respectively.) The ending (of which I guessed!!) will please fans of the franchise, seeing how the films overlaps. Overall, the film is not going to win any awards or be voted favourite film of the year, but it's a good popcorn flick, doesn't require too much strenuous attention to plot, and supplies laughs as well as the jumps! Enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
StonecutterFeb 3, 2012
Stupid Movie! I liked the first two. This one was dumb just dumb. Can i say dumb one more time. Stop making these movies. The first two movies where good. The only good thing about this movie was the end. That is why i gave it a 5 out of 10.Stupid Movie! I liked the first two. This one was dumb just dumb. Can i say dumb one more time. Stop making these movies. The first two movies where good. The only good thing about this movie was the end. That is why i gave it a 5 out of 10. It has a twist. So watch at your own risk you could be bored to death. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OfficialNov 3, 2013
"Final Destination 5", which is directed by Steven Quale, actually has some really good 3-D scenes. Quale, being a second-unit director on Avatar, has some experience with 3-D and really impresses us. The characters, surprisingly, are more"Final Destination 5", which is directed by Steven Quale, actually has some really good 3-D scenes. Quale, being a second-unit director on Avatar, has some experience with 3-D and really impresses us. The characters, surprisingly, are more sympathetic. That being said, the story is still ridiculous (although there are humor with the bloody scenes in some places) and it's gross as hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarkMusicMar 19, 2013
Personally The Final Destination ended with a better bang then this. This the only 3 things I liked were The Big Bridge Collapse, The Fight in the Kitchen, and The Twist Ending. The death in this one were terrible and boring and extremelyPersonally The Final Destination ended with a better bang then this. This the only 3 things I liked were The Big Bridge Collapse, The Fight in the Kitchen, and The Twist Ending. The death in this one were terrible and boring and extremely weak. Watch if you are a an of the series but watch in this order 3, 2, 4, 1, 5. The main reason we watch these films are for the deaths come on people the same film is basically the same just more clever deaths. Most clever deaths to me occured in The Final Destination but Final Destination 3 was written better. I do say watch but expect nothing amazing. 5-6 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KivaJun 11, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked it. I saw it in 3d and it was interesting. The deaths were unrealistic but it was enjoyable as a film. I really liked in the end that shows all the deaths from all the movies. To conclude, it was a brilliant idea what happened in the end of that film as it was a prequel of the first film. That really shocked me Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
emeraldcitySep 4, 2014
This is a film that explores that area if 'what if things went left instead of right'-and ends up with some funny results without intending to be funny. is that a good thing? Maybe. Death can only take on the tenor of a joke if we areThis is a film that explores that area if 'what if things went left instead of right'-and ends up with some funny results without intending to be funny. is that a good thing? Maybe. Death can only take on the tenor of a joke if we are overexposed to it. The film makes it a laugh to see someone get molten tar poured all over their head. Wouldn't be so funny in real life though. The film has you wondering what will happen next. The only thing I don't like is anything to do with eyeballs. Got that to-unfortunately. Gots that and stuff with tiny needles, large metal tools as well as entire cars coming down on peoples heads. Gimme some popcorn I think I love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoJul 21, 2015
This was the last I saw of the series, and I liked "a little" . if you liked the series so sorry but the sagas are well , if you can not really almost did not hold five films for cinema a few disasters .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ErikTheCriticOct 11, 2018
It's certainly one of the better ones in the series, with some pretty inventive deaths.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews